Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams
Formerly Lync

Overview

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Beyond expectation

9 out of 10
January 17, 2024
Limited features for business collaboration find it lacking in terms of advanced features.Business depend heavily on communication tools …
Continue reading

Great Software!

9 out of 10
December 16, 2022
We use Skype for Business to work with employees all across the country. The instant chat feature allows our staff to ask a quick question …
Continue reading

Skype Review

6 out of 10
March 21, 2022
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the …
Continue reading

Skype keeps employees connected!

8 out of 10
February 16, 2022
I use Skype for Business daily. It is very easy to use and allows me to easily and effectively communicate with other employees across the …
Continue reading

Skype for Business - Review

7 out of 10
January 26, 2022
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The …
Continue reading

Meeting and a collaborative Tool

9 out of 10
December 25, 2021
Have a quick video conversation with colleagues for project coordination that the market is solving problems. Thanks to Skype for …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 17 features
  • Desktop sharing (189)
    8.8
    88%
  • High quality audio (188)
    8.0
    80%
  • High quality video (183)
    7.7
    77%
  • Low bandwidth requirements (180)
    6.6
    66%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

What is GoTo Connect?

GoToConnect, from GoTo, is a cloud-based business phone system with built-in web-based video conferencing solutions. It includes features such as call analytics, call recording, softphone, fax to email, voicemail to email, and desktop integration.

Return to navigation

Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

Features related to the performance, reliability & compatibility of web conferencing and webinar (online events) software.

7.6
Avg 8.0

Screen Sharing

Features related to remote screen sharing capabilities.

8.5
Avg 7.9

Online Meetings / Events

Features related to hosting and attending meetings and events online.

7.8
Avg 8.2

Online Events Collaboration

Features related to collaboration between attendees during web conferences, webinars, and other online events.

8.6
Avg 8.4

Online Events Security

Features related to the security of meetings and other events held via web conferencing/webinar software.

8.1
Avg 8.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was a unified communications tool superseded by Microsoft Teams.

For personal use, Skype Desktop and Mobile apps are still available for download, but for business functionality the vendor now fully supports Microsoft Teams as the replacement for Skype for Business.

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Reviewers rate Live chat highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(2582)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 103)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 16, 2022

Great Software!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Skype for Business to work with employees all across the country. The instant chat feature allows our staff to ask a quick question without it getting lost in an email.
  • The ability to update our status
  • Our status automatically being updated based on our Outlook calendar
  • Being able to create a group
  • Conversation section should be able to be cleared out
  • Chat feature needs to allow for more text
  • Copy and pasting feature does not always work well
Skype for Business has worked well for us. We will continue to use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used to have Skype as the main internal chat tool at the company. I remember liking it since the beginning - it is very easy to use, and I had complete familiarity with my personal account for many, many years. The fact that it is integrated with all the other Microsoft applications makes it very useful; I am always connected to the people in my organization. We use it internally for daily chatting, file exchange, and virtual meetings. The only "problem" I could see is the interface - compared to Microsoft Teams' look and feel, Skype is not really nice (but we could just only notice later!).
  • Instantaneous messaging.
  • Emojis
  • Video calls.
  • Activity records.
  • Notifications (email and app notifications).
  • Customization of user's display (colors, photo, quick links etc).
  • Export chat records.
  • No video recording expiration.
  • Voice -to-text for chat messages.
  • Better meeting/call schedule experience.
Skype for Business is absolutely useful - I wouldn't know how to work with a team without it. Simply essential for reaching out to people in your organization, having a voice and video calls, exchange files. One of the best scenarios I can pick to describe how important this tool is for the organization is the records we have of all communications - all users have a full history of their chats and interactions that have many benefits, but peace of mind is my favorite. Honestly, the only scenario I can think that Skype/Teams are not very much appropriate is when the communication is more email-like. In this case, an email will always be email - people tend to be more concise, and there's no explicit pressure on the reply.
Pavel Khan Opu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business has become our organization's de facto standard for internal communication across our departments. It lets us share screens, make voice and video calls, and update office status. It has screen-sharing, file transfer, video calling, and group calling, we use Office 365, and Outlook handles email and calendars. I appreciate how the uncluttered dialer and lightning-fast contact recognition are consistent across all of our devices and how easy it is to navigate. Its unique emojis are instantly recognizable and memorable and have many more characters. This program's features—including texting, calling, and integrating with international and local lines—make it worthwhile for professionals without overwhelming them.
  • It is an installation-friendly, scalable communication tool.
  • It enables more accessible internal communication, safe content sharing, and collaboration.
  • Very interactive, with a wide range of functions, including informal workplace instant messaging.
  • The intuitiveness with which one can interact with the software has fantastic UI and video call quality.
  • It cannot communicate with an offline user, and sometimes, calling lags.
  • It is necessary to make improvements to the group functionality.
  • The chat history is erased upon closing the chat window; it's less functional than Zoom.
Skype for Business is a popular video, voice calls, IM, and file-sharing app. It's fast, easy to use, and has moderate colors for online meetings. Easy to use and the go-to app for texting and calling. Its processing logic makes it a reliable tool for negotiating tasks with teams or partners. Synchronizing a joint calendar for several accounts (personal, business, and subscription) needed a big picture of workflow for remote work.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business helps us to drive technical calls by screen sharing with the whole team, and for communication within the team by means of chat, file sharing, voice calls, etc.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Chat function.
  • File sharing.
  • Status setting.
  • Offline email messages.
  • Launch time of desktop application.
  • It displays one user name multiple times with all the conversations, I would like to see it as one chat window.
  • Overall performance should be made fast.
Skype for Business is well-suited for technical calls that require screen sharing and providing demos to clients.
March 21, 2022

Skype Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the organization seamlessly moved from another product to Skype. The migration and transition was extremely satisfying feeling.
The functionality is well integrated with other Office 356 programs
  • set do not disturb during meeting after check the show me as do not disturb when i share my desktop it is available in Skype for business settings inside the status.
  • you can record all video's chatting very easily in case you need to remember conversation than you will get it all with the help of video recorder and also you can set resolation.
  • you can open easily Skype meeting calendar in your outlook directly
  • we can share power point and word files for viewing your team members it is very useful feature.
  • Documentation is not the best. It has t
  • Messaging is not available in chronological order which is not easy to comprehend
  • Sometimes users have not been able to make video calls, the need to restart the Skype app, unable to send messages. these issues have to be fixed first.
Well suited:
  • Direct integration with outlook
  • allows external communication
  • recording all video meetings is easy

Not well suited
  • Bandwidth issues when you compare it to zoom
  • people have been facing many problems as Skype is mixing the status updates
    Timestamp sync issues
  • Timestamp sync issues
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Skype for business for almost all business meetings, being an international organization and having to work with colleagues mostly outside of the country skype for business is one of the tools which is part of the startup list in our desktops, workstations, and laptops some of us use it even in our handheld devices. The only feature which was missing in the version which our company was using is the ability to transfer files this is one of the most used tools/software for most of us.
  • conference calls
  • messaging with notification
  • syncing with outlook calendar
  • status settings
  • organization of contacts
  • conversation history
  • connection to corporate directory
  • organization charts
  • file sharing
  • task tracking as a group
  • multi screen sharing
  • Multiple presenters
  • connection with other productivity applications
Organization of meetings were a cakewalk when I started using Skype for business back in 2014, I was able to check the calendars of colleagues when I try to schedule a meeting, this was so easy and precise, there was no need to check back with each of them for their availability and so on. Proposing a new time by tentatively accepting the meeting invite is something which I first learned on Skype for business we have always felt that the file transfer option could have been added for better track of conversations and the related documents which are shared over one platform itself.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The majority of our meetings are conducted with Skype for Business. There are different features you can benefit from including the ability to present your desktop or PowerPoint slides, as well as using a whiteboard for drawings.
  • Video conferencing
  • Instant messaging
  • Desktop presentation
  • Integration with Exchange server
  • From my experience, the offline instant messaging is not good
  • Client applications on mobile devices suffer performance issues
  • There are problems when the number of people in a single session goes over 300
Skype for Business is well suited in the following scenario: when in an online meeting with a fixed number of people discussing some issue and there is a need to add other people in the meeting you can just do it with a simple add button, which has made it really easy compared to in-person meetings. The integration with Microsoft services like Exchange and Active Directory is really good.
Muhammad Hossain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is imperative that we use it in our organization during this uncertain time. A good thing about Excel and Outlook is how well they work with each other. During a meeting, switching between mobile and desktop is smooth. At the start of a meeting, useful reminders or notifications are sent. The interface is reminiscent of a sequence of Google Docs and GoToMeeting. I can do so much with this software and with my colleagues. It’s easy to tag people in chats using the Android app, which is user-friendly. Messages can be made “important” to get everyone’s attention. When I left Zoom for Microsoft, security concerns were a major factor in my decision. Connecting to my email provider is convenient, and the software is easy to use.
  • Sharing presentations amongst participants and integration with other Microsoft products is a great feature.
  • Each team has multiple channels for different topics and excels at graphical input.
  • Other apps also help improve workflow, and participants can easily add their content and comment on it.
  • More emoticons for messages and faster client upgrades would be nice.
  • With low bandwidth internet connections, it appears that platform integration is problematic.
  • Automatic transcription of audio and presence sharing between Skype and Microsoft Teams would be nice features.
Skype is ideal for us because we rely on Microsoft products. We can make calls online with this tool as it is smooth and has one-on-one talks. Meetings of a size it is common in any enterprise. It also provides a way to communicate with the group and ask questions without interrupting the meeting’s flow.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Have a quick video conversation with colleagues for project coordination that the market is solving problems. Thanks to Skype for Business, the flexibility of our meetings has been improved. I can use it on my android or laptop. It is portable, so I can use it no matter where I am. It greatly expands our contact methods from sharing to team management, everything is concentrated in one area. It simplifies everything. As opportunities for working from home increase, organizations will benefit from implementing this approach. The collaboration feature is great, allowing the team to collaborate in real time. Very suitable for working from home.
  • One of the most powerful and useful application for online meetings and conferences.
  • Skype for Business user interface is simple, clear and easy to use.
  • It is easier for customers further away to use them, then this will be a better platform.
  • It integrates with outlook to enable you to schedule meetings with multi participants.
  • It's also fine to search for older messages.
  • The most downside of Skype is that it charges for calls to other landlines and networks.
  • It does not automatically update the location.
  • More people can enter at times, but the voice is not always clear.
I really support meeting in the office or at home - Skype for Business help me save time and improve my work. This programming is based entirely on a graph, so everyone can learn easily. Since there is no need to consider security, it has a good advantage in documents sharing.
Aononna Tazin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use this tool because it is compatible with all Microsoft products. We used to use Skype for Business (formerly Lync), now part of Microsoft Teams, to call and text our colleagues. We still use Skype for Business, but we don't use it nearly as much as we'd like to. Using it is more enjoyable because of its unique features, and it works seamlessly with Microsoft Outlook and other office applications. The UI is simple and easy to understand. With one click, we can join a team or chat with someone in groups, rather than open an app, search for the person, and then call or text them.
  • Organizations will appreciate the simple user interface and seamless integration with other Microsoft products with this excellent instant messaging app.
  • Teams can have multiple channels for different topics and make video calls and phone calls, and all communication is well organized within each Team.
  • Sharing documents is as simple as dragging and dropping them into a chat window. We can form our groups in a precise manner.
  • Integration with third-party apps and the ease with which it can be escalated to higher levels of communication also aid in streamlining workflow.
  • The conference call quality could be better, and it is expensive compared to other similar apps.
  • There are problems with connectivity in large meetings and the number of people who can attend is restricted.
  • File sharing and VoIP use a lot of bandwidth. Searching for old messages is a problem right from the start. Unfortunately, the search function is not practical.
Skype for Business is perfect for companies and organizations that already use Microsoft. One-on-one conversations and online calls are possible with ease thanks to this tool. No matter how many people are involved in the meeting, it will be successful. Microsoft Teams has proven to be highly adaptable in our experience with it.
Dushyant Pathak (DKP) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for [Business] is the default communication tool used across our organization for all parallels - Tech, Finance, HR. Even interviews for our firm are done via the platform. A major part of our office infrastructure depends on Office 365 suite and [using] Outlook for mails and calendars. Thus, the need was for an instant communication platform, customizable for enterprise, that could integrate well with these, and what better option than another Microsoft product. Skype makes it easy to reach out to any person within the firm via just her/his name or email ID, start instant chats, retrieve them via outlook, share screens, video calls, and voice calls - all of which are used roughly 20-30 times a day on average by an average employee. For an organization with over 90000 employees, a tool that could integrate well with the existing Outlook infrastructure, and provide a means for communication, voice and video calls, screen sharing, and office status (Available/Busy/OOO etc), Skype was the best possible option. Noteworthy that Skype for [Business] was started being used at a time when MS Teams was not launched yet.
  • Instant messaging to anyone who we know only by name/email. Even if they're offline, they get the message in missed convos and a notification automatically goes to them via Outlook mail. All conversations are saved and accessible via Outlook.
  • Video and voice calls are a norm in the WFH scenario, and an average employee has around 4-5 calls a day. Skype gives notifications for upcoming meetings, allows easy scheduling via outlook calendar, and its audio/video quality [is] reasonably good compared to the amount of data it consumes.
  • Status availabilities - in the WFH scenario, you could be off for lunch, out of office, busy, sharing screens - and might not want to be disturbed. Skype allows you to do that, and in case you're off, ensures that you know that you have missed messages.
  • Screen sharing - we have to share screens at least once or twice a day with a coworker when working on some issues/features, and Skype easily lets us do that. One of the best things about Skype is that the screen can be shared without being on a video/voice call - which is of immense advantage because oftentimes, you could prefer sharing the screen, while it [is] too noisy to talk.
  • Skype's UI leaves a lot to be desired, especially considering newer platforms like Zoom, Teams, Slack, Meet, and so on. It's slow and lacks many features that are now de facto in the newer communication apps.
  • Skype calendar also is often buggy - meeting times do not get updated on the calendar even if the correct time does come up on the Outlook calendar.
  • It does not give you the option to mute chats - oftentimes, you want to keep some group chats on mute without leaving them entirely.
  • Closing off a chat before it's saved will remove it from Skype history. You'd need to go search for it on Outlook mail.
Appropriate: Firms using Microsoft suite of products. Large enterprise organizations. Orgs where ease of use is more important than more features. Where sharing a screen without video calling is often required. Less appropriate: Startups and small companies that can experiment with newer age tools, and especially those working with the much more popular Google workspace had better stick to Meet/Slack.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business makes it easy for us to connect and collaborate with coworkers and vendors: via message conversations and voice or video calls. We can also use SFB to exchange files quickly. The good thing about skype for business is that you can install it on a variety of platforms e.g. IOS/Android/Windows
  • The application on windows 10 is lightweight. No CPU/Memory hogging
  • Simple and easy to use interface
  • Can be deployed in Cloud/Hybrid/on-prem
  • Skype for business messages on Apple watch
  • ability to mask/disable sending sensitive messages containing credit card numbers.
  • Would be nice to get the option of using WebUI
Organizations needing VoIP/Video/IM/Collaboration tool from Microsoft that are unable to use a cloud product due to compliance. SFP is perfect as you can deploy it in onprem/hybrid setup.
July 29, 2021

Skype 4 life

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is] used for messaging between users where users can see each others status and understand how likely your message will be answered. We escalate calls to full two way voice from messages, we also conference other people in with a drag and drop action that is very easy. We can escalate the call to full video conferencing with multiple users. We can also share our screens and uses can control each others desktops.
  • See users status before contacting them
  • Have a good idea that the will respond before you reach out to them
  • Good quality of voice
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to escalate to higher forms of communication
  • Integration to other platforms
  • Presence shared between Skype and ms teams
  • Faster upgrades to clients
[With Skype for Business (formerly Lync)] contacting team members is easy so you can get help at the click of a button. You can escalate that message to a voice call easily. You can then share your screen to users again at the touch of a button. You can drag and drop other users into calls and conferences when you need further input getting the tasks completed quickly and efficiently.
Firaz Peer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this tool across the entire organization as it integrates well with other Microsoft products that we use. This integration is great as it allows information (like availability, contact details, etc) to be shared across platforms. One can join a meeting in Teams or chat with someone with just a click rather than going through multiple steps of opening a new app, looking for the person, and then calling/messaging them.
  • Integration across other Microsoft products is great feature.
  • All communication is well organized within individual Teams and each team can have multiple channels for different topics.
  • Integration with third party apps also helps improve workflow.
  • Doesn't seem to work well with low bandwidth internet connections.
  • Automatic transcription of audio would be a nice feature to have.
  • More emoticons to react to messages would be nice.
This tool is really well suited for businesses and organizations that are already invested in the Microsoft ecosystem. While the quality of voice calling isn't the best for low bandwidth internet connections, this tool offers a great alternative to email, where messages and action items can easily get lost.
June 13, 2021

Okay app for IM

Sushant goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for business was the foremost used instant messaging and video calling software used in my organization.
Previously it was used by whole organization but now it is limited to various teams in the organization, as another software are being used now.
Skype is used to share messages between colleagues, teammates any internal team messages. It is very easy to install and use.
  • Very good instant messaging app f[o]r organi[z]ations with minimal UI.
  • Easy to make video calls, phone calls.
  • One can share screen with everyone you are calling, helpful in case of showing presentation or giving lectures.
  • We can even make calls to particular phone number through Skype for Business.
  • Can share documents and files over Skype for Business app.
  • In todays scenario it is bit costly compared to other similar apps available in market.
  • UI is way too old. It needs redevelopment.
  • Searching old messages is problematic from [the] start of using this app. Search doesn't work good.
  • Number of person able to attend meeting is limited.
It is well suited for every organization either it be small, medium or large who ever can afford it. Overall it is good app to start with but [a] little bit expensive.
Organization which just started functioning or are new comers which doesn't have big funding or budget can avoid Skype for Business as their instant messaging app and can opt for any other cheap apps.
Adam Jackson FGCLP MAHRI | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is currently being used throughout all departments in the entire organization. It is used as the front end communications application, whether it be for internal calls, external calls, message bank, or instant messages. It is also used for video conferencing, which has been especially useful during lockdowns and times that staff have had to work from home.
  • Strong VOIP capabilities
  • Address book
  • Video conferencing
  • Obviously relies on an internet connection
  • Some settings are not very intuitive when needing to change them
Skype for Business does the job it is designed for adequately and admirably. Our organization uses it to ensure all staff are able to contact each other via their work phone numbers, no matter whether they are working in the office, at home, or somewhere else entirely. To this end, it is very effective.
May 19, 2021

The Hype of Skype

Heather Hicks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype [for Business (formerly Lync)] was used in my organization for secure state employee messaging and videos calls. It addressed the need for live instant communication between employees for collaboration and discussion.
  • Skype is a great widely used platform quick message platform.
  • Office 365 Connected
  • Allows Screen Sharing
  • Connectivity issues. Frequent Freezing,
  • It seems to require a lot of bandwidth. Our computers don't have a lot of RAM.
  • Large Files take a very long time to share.
[Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is well suited for] quick messages to ask a colleague a question, collaboration on a project, meetings, Screen Sharing, simple presentations It covers quite a lot of needed communication.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization used Skype as the main messaging application across the entire organization globally for all employees. They are installed by default on all user machines and used as the primary instant messaging software for communication between teams and employees.
  • Established name
  • Simple and easy to use
  • Call quality is good
  • Not as many features as some other software
For simple communication via instant messaging and audio calls, Skype is more than adequate and does the job well. There are also integration options for other Microsoft products that will be useful. If the environment requires more collaboration tools aside from chat and calls, there may be other more suitable options to consider.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype is used to communicate between teams in our organization from last 2 years. There are couples of softwares, which are used by our organization but most of the time we use Skype for chat, video conferencing, screeen sharing etc. We discuss our day working plan, our ideas and which team will work on which project all these discussions are made on Skype.
  • Skype uninterrupted live screen sharing
  • Skype uninterrupted live video conferencing.
  • File sharing on Skype.
  • Write messages through voice command.
  • Location sharing.
  • They should provide Skype light version for computers also.
I feel Skype has every feature which is required for communication in any organization, if they make there system version little bit light and fast that is very good for users. And there are some scenarios where i found some bugs in Skype, some times when any of our team member is sharing there screens the screen is not visible to other members. This issue we face many times.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used across the organisation for VOIP telephony, instant messaging, screen sharing and video. As a collaboration tool it has been used for meetings, one to one calls and quick messaging.
  • Instant messaging is clear, quick, and easy to use.
  • Internal telephony call quality on Skype for Business is generally quite good.
  • Screen sharing is easy to do including selecting specific monitors if you happen to be using more than one.
  • Probably the biggest area is the video element as it has historically struggled in this area.
  • The need to be forced to federate with another organisation by providing yours and enabling the other organisation settings is a bit tedious but once done, allows for simple collaboration between third-parties.
  • Functionality wise, as it's an older product and being superseded by MS Teams, it feels as if it's run its course but was very good for what it does/did at the time.
For instant messaging without going into depth it's very quick and simple and the CPU footprint is quite low and therefore easily able to run on older hardware. The audio only capability has always been very good, but the video aspect where you have more than one person on video does seem to struggle. It's understandable given the codec has been in operation for a number of years but for basic collaboration it has served the purpose pretty well and until forced to migrate, most companies will happily continue to use it.
May 12, 2021

Good value

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used across the whole organization. It was used to chat instantly with anyone, schedule video or voice calls. It was also very helpful because it allowed people to see each other's set up situation (busy, available, away, etc.), so you pick the people easier to reach out according to their availability.
  • Instant chat
  • Share documents
  • Meetings across the globe
  • The files you sent on Skype can sometimes be not accessible
  • The file size limitation is restricting
Skype for Business can be used in conjunction with Outlook, so the calendars and schedules are synced. The best areas of use are scheduling meetings, instant chatting with people, creating teams for team work to exchange information and share files online.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used it as a company wide instant messaging tool and also for some file and screen sharing. It allows users to see if other users are online and get a quick response to a question. It was also used to send files, images and screen shares quickly while on the phone as well.
  • Shows status if available, away or in a meeting
  • Instant messaging
  • File share
  • Call quality
  • Does not tie into Microsoft ecosystem in the same way teams does
  • Sometimes status seem slow to update
It does what you ask it to in terms of an instant messaging tool. You are able to do group messages, screen shares, see status among the other basics. It does not have a lot of frills but gets the job done the way you would expect it to.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Skype for Business is used in Orange Business Services across all Russian offices. This is one of primary collaboration tools and it enables voice and video calls, messaging with attachments, meetings and screen sharing for workers. It also contains corporate directory to find the right person to communicate with. It is configured to allow both PSTN and office calls as well as voice calls to our business partners with federation installed.
  • Messaging is ok.
  • Voice calls of good quality.
  • Meetings work fine .
  • Excellent corporate directory.
  • Messaging has a poor history.
  • We have troubles with meetings with great number of participants.
  • Sometimes communication is not stable enough but it might be network issues.
Good solution when budget is not very large. It covers all basic business collaboration needs can be deployed for large organization when meetings don't require a great number of participants and video requirements are not so strong. Can be easily integrated with Microsoft Outlook/Exchange and with MS Active directory to enable corporate directory navigation.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Skype for Business across the whole organization to share information and get updates on anything related to work. It makes the communication among us streamlined and enjoyable. we can send files, pictures, and screen sharing during the video call to share our work or presentation. It is makes working from home much easier.
  • can do messaging with picture and video sharing options
  • screen sharing during video call is very convenient
  • program is stable rarely has downtimes
  • this shouldn't be a complaint but i wish Skype has better emotes
It fulfills our needs for daily communication at work. The video and audio quality is pretty good and the improved and accessible screen sharing comes in handy during virtual meetings. You can do a meeting with up to 100 people and no time limit in free version.
Tigran Petrosyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is used by our entire organization. The main purpose for using Skype for Business are video calls, although it is used as a messenger as well. As pandemic starts and some workers started to work remotely it is used more and more often. Skype for Business is also used when there are large meetings, in which representatives from different divisions discuss the strategy and challenges of our company.
  • It is very easy and intuitive to use.
  • You can have calls or video calls using Skype for business. Also you can share your screen which is really important for my work.
  • It is integrated with other programs. For example if you have a missed call, you receive a message in outlook and you know that someone called you.
  • You can change your status in Skype for Business. For example if you have a very important work to do, you can change your status to "busy," or to "not disturb". If someone is in a call you can also see that and wait till that person ends the call if you want to discuss something with him.
  • You can transfer contacts that you call most to favorites, so it would be faster and easier to contact them.
  • You can share your screen and give control to another person, if that person wants to add or show you something in a file that you shared.
  • The quality of audio is good, but noise cancelling is not the best in Skype for Business.
  • When you share your screen in a video call, your computer starts lagging and sometimes large files stop responding.
If you have a large firm, with lots of employees and you have a lot of calls, in which more than 2 people should be included I think Skype for Business is the right choice for you. Otherwise I will simply recommend Skype or other programs that are free to download and use. Also if you are working in a place, where there is a lot of noise, maybe Skype for Business would not be the best choice for you as its noise cancelling features are not best.
Return to navigation