Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams
Formerly Lync

Overview

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Great Software!

8 out of 10
May 04, 2024
There are no problems so far. This software comes in handy when other organizations request to be used for meetings and they don't …
Continue reading

Beyond expectation

9 out of 10
January 17, 2024
Limited features for business collaboration find it lacking in terms of advanced features.Business depend heavily on communication tools …
Continue reading

Great Software!

9 out of 10
December 16, 2022
We use Skype for Business to work with employees all across the country. The instant chat feature allows our staff to ask a quick question …
Continue reading

Skype Review

6 out of 10
March 21, 2022
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the …
Continue reading

Skype keeps employees connected!

8 out of 10
February 16, 2022
I use Skype for Business daily. It is very easy to use and allows me to easily and effectively communicate with other employees across the …
Continue reading

Skype for Business - Review

7 out of 10
January 26, 2022
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 21 features
  • Desktop sharing (191)
    8.9
    89%
  • Meeting initiation (182)
    8.8
    88%
  • High quality audio (191)
    8.6
    86%
  • High quality video (185)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

What is Lifesize Video Conferencing?

Lifesize is a web conferencing platform focused on making video conferencing systems and video conferencing apps work well together, while still being easy-to-use. Their platform incorporates web conferencing software with meeting room devices and wireless screen sharing.

Return to navigation

Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

Features related to the performance, reliability & compatibility of web conferencing and webinar (online events) software.

7.9
Avg 8.1

Screen Sharing

Features related to remote screen sharing capabilities.

7.9
Avg 8.0

Online Meetings / Events

Features related to hosting and attending meetings and events online.

8.6
Avg 8.3

Online Events Collaboration

Features related to collaboration between attendees during web conferences, webinars, and other online events.

8
Avg 8.4

Online Events Security

Features related to the security of meetings and other events held via web conferencing/webinar software.

7.6
Avg 8.4

VoIP system collaboration

Team collaboration via cloud phone system

7.8
Avg 8.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was a unified communications tool superseded by Microsoft Teams.

For personal use, Skype Desktop and Mobile apps are still available for download, but for business functionality the vendor now fully supports Microsoft Teams as the replacement for Skype for Business.

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Reviewers rate Calendar integration highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(2582)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 167)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team currently works remotely with no physical office. In order to collaborate effectively we needed a solution that allows us to meet virtually and share information (files, documents) in real-time. Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams provides this solution perfectly...especially because we were already using Microsoft Office/Microsoft 365 tools.
  • Planned and impromptu virtual meetings that require sharing of "visual" information with other team members. Check in and project meetings using Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams are easy to schedule and execute.
  • Interactive collaboration and communication with remote team members. When you need to interact collaboratively with one or more person, Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams is arguably just as good as meeting in person...whether you use Video and Audio or just Audio. Also integrated chat which can be both active and passive works great. Modern communication for the modern world.
  • Integration with Microsoft 365 documentation related tools. It is easy to organize, manage, and share documents from the Microsoft suite of tools such as PPTs, XLSs, DOCs, etc.
  • Integration with Outlook (which is technically part of MS 365) is excellent. Email is not dead just yet so having a tool like Microsoft Teams that makes email even more useful and productive is great. Scheduling and managing meetings and activities and email threads are easy with Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams.
  • There is something about Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams' overall layout that seems kind of clunky/old school...like it could use a UI makeover
  • This might be a non-issue moving forward, but the integration process from Legacy to Go Forward applications was a bit painful and disjointed. Normally, there is one go forward tool and you migrate to it from the legacy tool and then that go forward tool just releases new updates vs going from Skype for Business to Teams (Classic) to Teams (New).
  • The control bars sometimes seem to have issues. For example, the share control bar/button seems to get in the way of the browser tabs when sharing so you have to minimize or resize the whole browser page and move it away from the Share button to be able to get to the browser tab that the Share button covers. And then the small floating control bar to see who is talking and houses the quick access mute control button sometimes disappears (or gets buried) from the top shared screen and is hard to get back to easily get on and off mute.
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams is a remote/virtual team collaboration tool must have...especially if you already use Microsoft tools. Of course, since it now part of an MS 365 subscription, it really doesn't make sense to use anything else. It is easy to use and just works. I'm not sure how anyone who works with digital files/documents and needs to work with other people doing similar work can be effective without such a tool. Of course, there are a number of alternatives like Zoom or Webex, but why pay or use another separate tool if you don't need to. :-)
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams, is primarily used to have online and hybrid meetings. This is used primarily to overcome the flexible working policies at my organisation. Since some people work from home for various reasons, or travel as part of the work, it is necessary to have a robust/reliable platform to conduct remote meetings. Generally, the features of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams, are used for this purpose, although some of the collaborative features of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams, are used to work on documents/spreadsheets remotely and in real-time.
  • Manage high load of participants - especially when conducting a webinar and with external parties
  • Allow secure meetings to prevent unauthorised attendees - this is particularly useful for sensitive discussions
  • Leave voice messages to colleagues who are unable to attend to a call
  • Consistency of experience - at times the software can bug out and input devices cannot be detected. This can be quite problematic when time is limited.
  • Interface and terminology. There are so many terms used and overcomplicated aspects (teams and channels etc.).
  • Wider control of permissions and administrative aspects (e.g. preventing others from admitting unauthorised attendees)
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams, is generally suitable for small to medium meetings, which it does well and sharing is easy. I would say very large meetings prove to be more difficult. Aspects which I think are poor is the inability to view all attendees at once in the 'gallery' mode which can be frustrating when trying to get visual feedback. Further, the inability to 'pop out' some aspects (e.g. chat; or the gallery of participant videos when recieving shared content) can be quite frustrating.
January 17, 2024

Beyond expectation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Limited features for business collaboration find it lacking in terms of advanced features.Business depend heavily on communication tools and any technical issues often lead to disruption in productivity targets.Need to follow regulatory compliance before using the product and ensure the procedure needs to follow without breaking any Compliance. Sometimes the usage may also depend on Internet connectivity.
  • Communication is free of cost
  • File and screen sharing facilities
  • Video conferencing
  • Skype for business
  • Translator
  • Security and privacy concerns
  • Depends on internet connection
  • Lack of advanced features
  • Large meeting may sometimes disrupt based on connectivity
  • Missing of end to end encryption
It allows everyone to make calls using Internet. Screen sharing is very easy during calls without any difficulty. Setting up a meeting is done in fraction of seconds.Allows additional features for businesses and advanced technology capabilities. Compatibility feature is available to ensure communication regardless of the usage during meetings.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used to have Skype as the main internal chat tool at the company. I remember liking it since the beginning - it is very easy to use, and I had complete familiarity with my personal account for many, many years. The fact that it is integrated with all the other Microsoft applications makes it very useful; I am always connected to the people in my organization. We use it internally for daily chatting, file exchange, and virtual meetings. The only "problem" I could see is the interface - compared to Microsoft Teams' look and feel, Skype is not really nice (but we could just only notice later!).
  • Instantaneous messaging.
  • Emojis
  • Video calls.
  • Activity records.
  • Notifications (email and app notifications).
  • Customization of user's display (colors, photo, quick links etc).
  • Export chat records.
  • No video recording expiration.
  • Voice -to-text for chat messages.
  • Better meeting/call schedule experience.
Skype for Business is absolutely useful - I wouldn't know how to work with a team without it. Simply essential for reaching out to people in your organization, having a voice and video calls, exchange files. One of the best scenarios I can pick to describe how important this tool is for the organization is the records we have of all communications - all users have a full history of their chats and interactions that have many benefits, but peace of mind is my favorite. Honestly, the only scenario I can think that Skype/Teams are not very much appropriate is when the communication is more email-like. In this case, an email will always be email - people tend to be more concise, and there's no explicit pressure on the reply.
Pavel Khan Opu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business has become our organization's de facto standard for internal communication across our departments. It lets us share screens, make voice and video calls, and update office status. It has screen-sharing, file transfer, video calling, and group calling, we use Office 365, and Outlook handles email and calendars. I appreciate how the uncluttered dialer and lightning-fast contact recognition are consistent across all of our devices and how easy it is to navigate. Its unique emojis are instantly recognizable and memorable and have many more characters. This program's features—including texting, calling, and integrating with international and local lines—make it worthwhile for professionals without overwhelming them.
  • It is an installation-friendly, scalable communication tool.
  • It enables more accessible internal communication, safe content sharing, and collaboration.
  • Very interactive, with a wide range of functions, including informal workplace instant messaging.
  • The intuitiveness with which one can interact with the software has fantastic UI and video call quality.
  • It cannot communicate with an offline user, and sometimes, calling lags.
  • It is necessary to make improvements to the group functionality.
  • The chat history is erased upon closing the chat window; it's less functional than Zoom.
Skype for Business is a popular video, voice calls, IM, and file-sharing app. It's fast, easy to use, and has moderate colors for online meetings. Easy to use and the go-to app for texting and calling. Its processing logic makes it a reliable tool for negotiating tasks with teams or partners. Synchronizing a joint calendar for several accounts (personal, business, and subscription) needed a big picture of workflow for remote work.
Kanchan Chandnani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype is an easy to install and reliable to use software to interact with one or a number of users at a time.
  • Video calls
  • Perfect screen sharing
  • HD voice calls
  • Less data security.
  • Voices can be interrupted easily.
  • High internet connection required.
It is very easy to use and can be used for day-to-day client communication in companies as it provides easy screen sharing. I don't think it is appropriate while connecting large audiences in one frame, I hope the company will work on this ASAP and improve it with no time.
Khairul Islam Tonmoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Skype for Business as one of the best ways to connect. We can use it anywhere, boosting communication. It is excellent for chats, calls, and videoconferencing, but I can also remotely access other users' desktops to help them as if I were there. The adaptability of the meetings held by our organization has vastly improved as a direct result of this development. We can use it on our laptops or desktop computer and phone. Skype for Business's ability to be set up on mobile devices and laptops is one of its most appealing features. As far as tools go, Skype for Business is right up there.
  • Easy group formation.
  • Office 365-compatible.
  • Interviews are easy to start.
  • Remote screen-sharing is easy.
  • Excellent sound quality and user-friendly.
  • Cross-platform synchronization is possible.
  • Sometimes login takes too long.
  • Video calls need more bandwidth.
  • Screen sharing is causing the host trouble.
Skype for business is a secure, high-quality communication tool. It's easy to start a meeting with anyone quickly, or we can schedule it. We can connect with our international customers at a cost significantly lower than regular calls. Another benefit is allowing participants to share documents without ending the meeting quickly. It integrates with Outlook calendar, but meeting schedule changes won't appear until the application is restarted.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business helps us to drive technical calls by screen sharing with the whole team, and for communication within the team by means of chat, file sharing, voice calls, etc.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Chat function.
  • File sharing.
  • Status setting.
  • Offline email messages.
  • Launch time of desktop application.
  • It displays one user name multiple times with all the conversations, I would like to see it as one chat window.
  • Overall performance should be made fast.
Skype for Business is well-suited for technical calls that require screen sharing and providing demos to clients.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In my role, Skype has been useful for team meetings and gatherings. During the work from home part of my employment, it was a necessary tool, as my role included skype calls in order to help internal employees with general tech issues.
  • Easy Communication.
  • Simple to use when set up.
  • Good user interface.
  • Good integration with other Microsoft product like Outlook.
  • Connection issues can be hard to diagnose when they come up(as some knowledge of server information may be needed to reestablish as the connection troubleshooting options on the sky are not as user-friendly as the rest of the platform.
  • Some issues setting up camera/sound could use more info on troubleshooting options with playback sound, video, etc.
  • Statuses sometimes are unreliable and do not display correctly .
Skype is useful for collaborations across distances, including work from home, as well as a more convenient way to communicate with a large group of people. Skype is also useful to communicate with specific parties quickly, rather than relying on cellular service in areas where not as available. Skype is less useful if the team does not use computers , tablets, smartphones, etc in daily workflow as it would rarely be used.
March 21, 2022

Skype Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the organization seamlessly moved from another product to Skype. The migration and transition was extremely satisfying feeling.
The functionality is well integrated with other Office 356 programs
  • set do not disturb during meeting after check the show me as do not disturb when i share my desktop it is available in Skype for business settings inside the status.
  • you can record all video's chatting very easily in case you need to remember conversation than you will get it all with the help of video recorder and also you can set resolation.
  • you can open easily Skype meeting calendar in your outlook directly
  • we can share power point and word files for viewing your team members it is very useful feature.
  • Documentation is not the best. It has t
  • Messaging is not available in chronological order which is not easy to comprehend
  • Sometimes users have not been able to make video calls, the need to restart the Skype app, unable to send messages. these issues have to be fixed first.
Well suited:
  • Direct integration with outlook
  • allows external communication
  • recording all video meetings is easy

Not well suited
  • Bandwidth issues when you compare it to zoom
  • people have been facing many problems as Skype is mixing the status updates
    Timestamp sync issues
  • Timestamp sync issues
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Skype for business for almost all business meetings, being an international organization and having to work with colleagues mostly outside of the country skype for business is one of the tools which is part of the startup list in our desktops, workstations, and laptops some of us use it even in our handheld devices. The only feature which was missing in the version which our company was using is the ability to transfer files this is one of the most used tools/software for most of us.
  • conference calls
  • messaging with notification
  • syncing with outlook calendar
  • status settings
  • organization of contacts
  • conversation history
  • connection to corporate directory
  • organization charts
  • file sharing
  • task tracking as a group
  • multi screen sharing
  • Multiple presenters
  • connection with other productivity applications
Organization of meetings were a cakewalk when I started using Skype for business back in 2014, I was able to check the calendars of colleagues when I try to schedule a meeting, this was so easy and precise, there was no need to check back with each of them for their availability and so on. Proposing a new time by tentatively accepting the meeting invite is something which I first learned on Skype for business we have always felt that the file transfer option could have been added for better track of conversations and the related documents which are shared over one platform itself.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Skype for Business daily. It is very easy to use and allows me to easily and effectively communicate with other employees across the organization. Skype also allows me to connect with coworkers via voice and video calls and also provides the capability of sharing my desktop for enhanced efficiency.
  • Communication with coworkers.
  • Multiple channels of communication.
  • Ability to see coworkers status easily.
  • Chat rooms could be better integrated.
  • Sending attachments could be more seamless.
  • Integrate better with email systems.
I would highly recommend Skype for Business for other business users. It has great benefits in helping users in an organization stay connected while still providing the ability to multitask. It also is nice to have the ability to turn any conversation into a group chat if there are other people that need to be included in a discussion. It is extremely helpful that conversation history is saved for users to refer to.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The majority of our meetings are conducted with Skype for Business. There are different features you can benefit from including the ability to present your desktop or PowerPoint slides, as well as using a whiteboard for drawings.
  • Video conferencing
  • Instant messaging
  • Desktop presentation
  • Integration with Exchange server
  • From my experience, the offline instant messaging is not good
  • Client applications on mobile devices suffer performance issues
  • There are problems when the number of people in a single session goes over 300
Skype for Business is well suited in the following scenario: when in an online meeting with a fixed number of people discussing some issue and there is a need to add other people in the meeting you can just do it with a simple add button, which has made it really easy compared to in-person meetings. The integration with Microsoft services like Exchange and Active Directory is really good.
Muhammad Hossain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is imperative that we use it in our organization during this uncertain time. A good thing about Excel and Outlook is how well they work with each other. During a meeting, switching between mobile and desktop is smooth. At the start of a meeting, useful reminders or notifications are sent. The interface is reminiscent of a sequence of Google Docs and GoToMeeting. I can do so much with this software and with my colleagues. It’s easy to tag people in chats using the Android app, which is user-friendly. Messages can be made “important” to get everyone’s attention. When I left Zoom for Microsoft, security concerns were a major factor in my decision. Connecting to my email provider is convenient, and the software is easy to use.
  • Sharing presentations amongst participants and integration with other Microsoft products is a great feature.
  • Each team has multiple channels for different topics and excels at graphical input.
  • Other apps also help improve workflow, and participants can easily add their content and comment on it.
  • More emoticons for messages and faster client upgrades would be nice.
  • With low bandwidth internet connections, it appears that platform integration is problematic.
  • Automatic transcription of audio and presence sharing between Skype and Microsoft Teams would be nice features.
Skype is ideal for us because we rely on Microsoft products. We can make calls online with this tool as it is smooth and has one-on-one talks. Meetings of a size it is common in any enterprise. It also provides a way to communicate with the group and ask questions without interrupting the meeting’s flow.
Jian Groenewald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Skype as part of Microsoft teams, business issues that this addresses since covid began it has been the new "meeting" standard and is used on a daily basis to connect with colleagues and clients.
  • Video playback is excellent.
  • No robotic voices or disconnects with sound.
  • Ease of use.
  • Would like to see more gifs added as well as improved emojis.
  • A place in which you could save templates within the app for ease of access.
  • Voice note functionality for PC and not just mobile.
Its well-suited for all my needs at this point. I wish though that connecting the app (from the corporate profile) to your personal phone would be a bit easier for people who do not have mobile phones with google suites on it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Have a quick video conversation with colleagues for project coordination that the market is solving problems. Thanks to Skype for Business, the flexibility of our meetings has been improved. I can use it on my android or laptop. It is portable, so I can use it no matter where I am. It greatly expands our contact methods from sharing to team management, everything is concentrated in one area. It simplifies everything. As opportunities for working from home increase, organizations will benefit from implementing this approach. The collaboration feature is great, allowing the team to collaborate in real time. Very suitable for working from home.
  • One of the most powerful and useful application for online meetings and conferences.
  • Skype for Business user interface is simple, clear and easy to use.
  • It is easier for customers further away to use them, then this will be a better platform.
  • It integrates with outlook to enable you to schedule meetings with multi participants.
  • It's also fine to search for older messages.
  • The most downside of Skype is that it charges for calls to other landlines and networks.
  • It does not automatically update the location.
  • More people can enter at times, but the voice is not always clear.
I really support meeting in the office or at home - Skype for Business help me save time and improve my work. This programming is based entirely on a graph, so everyone can learn easily. Since there is no need to consider security, it has a good advantage in documents sharing.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The system is used across our internal organization which has 3 geographically distinct locations in the USA. We frequently use it for conferences with vendors, suppliers, and key opinion leaders. It is intuitive to use, loads easily, and allows one to display presentations, edit same, share other information and see the various members on the 'call'.
  • Sharing presentations amongst participants
  • Participants can bring in additional materials easily, comment on same
  • Very good at graphical input
  • To avoid multiple people speaking at once and talking over each other, it would be helpful to have a hand raise function for speakers
  • Graphics can sometimes be slow in loading, so a provision for uploading presentations to each of the participants could avoid lags due to slow internet connectivity
Good for multiple site team interactions, information sharing, and joint collaborative decision making. Everyone can see/hear the same information at the same time. Comments can be made and challenged together, assuring buy-in and consensus.
Aononna Tazin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use this tool because it is compatible with all Microsoft products. We used to use Skype for Business (formerly Lync), now part of Microsoft Teams, to call and text our colleagues. We still use Skype for Business, but we don't use it nearly as much as we'd like to. Using it is more enjoyable because of its unique features, and it works seamlessly with Microsoft Outlook and other office applications. The UI is simple and easy to understand. With one click, we can join a team or chat with someone in groups, rather than open an app, search for the person, and then call or text them.
  • Organizations will appreciate the simple user interface and seamless integration with other Microsoft products with this excellent instant messaging app.
  • Teams can have multiple channels for different topics and make video calls and phone calls, and all communication is well organized within each Team.
  • Sharing documents is as simple as dragging and dropping them into a chat window. We can form our groups in a precise manner.
  • Integration with third-party apps and the ease with which it can be escalated to higher levels of communication also aid in streamlining workflow.
  • The conference call quality could be better, and it is expensive compared to other similar apps.
  • There are problems with connectivity in large meetings and the number of people who can attend is restricted.
  • File sharing and VoIP use a lot of bandwidth. Searching for old messages is a problem right from the start. Unfortunately, the search function is not practical.
Skype for Business is perfect for companies and organizations that already use Microsoft. One-on-one conversations and online calls are possible with ease thanks to this tool. No matter how many people are involved in the meeting, it will be successful. Microsoft Teams has proven to be highly adaptable in our experience with it.
Dushyant Pathak (DKP) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for [Business] is the default communication tool used across our organization for all parallels - Tech, Finance, HR. Even interviews for our firm are done via the platform. A major part of our office infrastructure depends on Office 365 suite and [using] Outlook for mails and calendars. Thus, the need was for an instant communication platform, customizable for enterprise, that could integrate well with these, and what better option than another Microsoft product. Skype makes it easy to reach out to any person within the firm via just her/his name or email ID, start instant chats, retrieve them via outlook, share screens, video calls, and voice calls - all of which are used roughly 20-30 times a day on average by an average employee. For an organization with over 90000 employees, a tool that could integrate well with the existing Outlook infrastructure, and provide a means for communication, voice and video calls, screen sharing, and office status (Available/Busy/OOO etc), Skype was the best possible option. Noteworthy that Skype for [Business] was started being used at a time when MS Teams was not launched yet.
  • Instant messaging to anyone who we know only by name/email. Even if they're offline, they get the message in missed convos and a notification automatically goes to them via Outlook mail. All conversations are saved and accessible via Outlook.
  • Video and voice calls are a norm in the WFH scenario, and an average employee has around 4-5 calls a day. Skype gives notifications for upcoming meetings, allows easy scheduling via outlook calendar, and its audio/video quality [is] reasonably good compared to the amount of data it consumes.
  • Status availabilities - in the WFH scenario, you could be off for lunch, out of office, busy, sharing screens - and might not want to be disturbed. Skype allows you to do that, and in case you're off, ensures that you know that you have missed messages.
  • Screen sharing - we have to share screens at least once or twice a day with a coworker when working on some issues/features, and Skype easily lets us do that. One of the best things about Skype is that the screen can be shared without being on a video/voice call - which is of immense advantage because oftentimes, you could prefer sharing the screen, while it [is] too noisy to talk.
  • Skype's UI leaves a lot to be desired, especially considering newer platforms like Zoom, Teams, Slack, Meet, and so on. It's slow and lacks many features that are now de facto in the newer communication apps.
  • Skype calendar also is often buggy - meeting times do not get updated on the calendar even if the correct time does come up on the Outlook calendar.
  • It does not give you the option to mute chats - oftentimes, you want to keep some group chats on mute without leaving them entirely.
  • Closing off a chat before it's saved will remove it from Skype history. You'd need to go search for it on Outlook mail.
Appropriate: Firms using Microsoft suite of products. Large enterprise organizations. Orgs where ease of use is more important than more features. Where sharing a screen without video calling is often required. Less appropriate: Startups and small companies that can experiment with newer age tools, and especially those working with the much more popular Google workspace had better stick to Meet/Slack.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business makes it easy for us to connect and collaborate with coworkers and vendors: via message conversations and voice or video calls. We can also use SFB to exchange files quickly. The good thing about skype for business is that you can install it on a variety of platforms e.g. IOS/Android/Windows
  • The application on windows 10 is lightweight. No CPU/Memory hogging
  • Simple and easy to use interface
  • Can be deployed in Cloud/Hybrid/on-prem
  • Skype for business messages on Apple watch
  • ability to mask/disable sending sensitive messages containing credit card numbers.
  • Would be nice to get the option of using WebUI
Organizations needing VoIP/Video/IM/Collaboration tool from Microsoft that are unable to use a cloud product due to compliance. SFP is perfect as you can deploy it in onprem/hybrid setup.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for business used to be our sole communication tool within our organization. It offers the best video calling and conferences experience. We use this extensive company-wide. It is easily integrated with outlook and other office apps. It has a simple UI with a minimalistic feel to it. It lacks many features that are being offered in most of the communication tools these days. It has quite a classic appeal to it.
  • Integration with outlook
  • Alerts and missed conversation notification
  • Saves conversation in mail
  • Ability to configure time for online availablity
  • Great for video calls
  • No dark mode
  • Updates are not regular
  • No noise cancellation feature in calls
  • Cluttered chat windows
  • Cant send large files
  • No stickers or GIFs support in chat
Skype for business can be best suited for video calls. It has a very simple UI. However, it lacks many basic features such as noise cancellation, live captions, recalling a sent message. Search within the chat is very bad and not at all optimized. None the less it works smoothly on any device.
July 29, 2021

Skype 4 life

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is] used for messaging between users where users can see each others status and understand how likely your message will be answered. We escalate calls to full two way voice from messages, we also conference other people in with a drag and drop action that is very easy. We can escalate the call to full video conferencing with multiple users. We can also share our screens and uses can control each others desktops.
  • See users status before contacting them
  • Have a good idea that the will respond before you reach out to them
  • Good quality of voice
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to escalate to higher forms of communication
  • Integration to other platforms
  • Presence shared between Skype and ms teams
  • Faster upgrades to clients
[With Skype for Business (formerly Lync)] contacting team members is easy so you can get help at the click of a button. You can escalate that message to a voice call easily. You can then share your screen to users again at the touch of a button. You can drag and drop other users into calls and conferences when you need further input getting the tasks completed quickly and efficiently.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business is the only and primary tool for communication amongst team
members and with the clients. It is used for having quick chats and long meetings.
Sharing the contents while the meeting is going is an effortless and a very useful feature.
So basically it is used for communicating across an organization. Just search a name and you are right away connected to the colleague.
  • Meeting scheduling
  • Calendar integration helps in looking at schedules of team members
  • Screen sharing, Desktop sharing helps quickly share the work we are working on
  • Integration with Other market tools helps SHARE work being done on them
  • [I feel it] Must have feature to grab the screen shot and share right away while meeting is in progress
  • More stability on low bandwidth connections
  • An appstore to connect with market tools such as DevOps etc
Skype for Business gives confidence that all business-related communications are safe and delivered to exact and intended persons.
We were looking for a conference feature for connecting with colleagues or adding additional colleagues while we are on call with one colleague. Earlier this was not possible. Skype's update helped us a lot in this.
Earlier there was no feature of sharing specific screen due to which entire desktop were shared and hence compromised privacy. But Skype update added that great feature.
Gavin Scott-Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Communication is a hard problem to solve. Everyone communicates, but everyone also does it differently.

We used to utilize Skype for Business (formerly Lync) before making a switch to Microsoft Teams. Skype for Business (formerly Lync) allows teams of people to video conference, chat, and keep in touch. Its methodologies are rapidly becoming out of date as the service declines in users as more and more people make the switch.
  • Video conferencing (very few connection problems)
  • Chat has historical data
  • Signed in users tracking
  • Chats are broken into several threads instead of one persistent thread
  • Link sharing and document sharing are a major problem
  • Groups and collaboration need improvement
If you just want a reliable video conferencing software, Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is good. They have multi-platform support and very seldom did I experience any drop outs or major issues.

However this software is aging and Microsoft has moved all focus onto Microsoft Teams, which has 95% of Skype's old features and is gaining new features every week. If you are looking for a full-featured communication platform, Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is not it. You might try looking at some other software.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[My company] has been using Skype for Business for all the conversation, meetings, video conferencing, internal chit-chat etc. [It] is one of the best web and video conferencing software I have [ever] used. [...]
  • Best tool for conversation within the whole organization.
  • Video conferencing is very amazing.
  • Very very user-friendly.
  • Sharing documents over chat is very simple.
  • You can create your groups in a very proper way.
  • Very simple to use.
  • No additional training is required to use this tool.
  • You can show your status as available, busy, away, do not disturb, In [the] meeting, etc as your convenient and work.
  • We can share our screen and can take control as well of others.
  • We can show only one window to the others and can do our other works in other windows at the same time.
  • Sometimes if [...] you have another window, like watching any video [and] you don't touch the mouse, [...] Skype will show your status as away[...].
  • Sometimes it takes [a] little more time to log in.
  • Meeting creation and sending [invitations are a] little tough.
  • Your status will show [as] 'away' just after 4-5 minutes if you don't touch the mouse, no matter your window is open and watching something else. It is its biggest con.
I [have been] using Skype for Business [for the] last 2 years [at] my current company. This is one of the best chit-chat and video conferencing software where you can talk within the whole organization. [...] Since my profile is 'Technical Associate" I used to get all the critical requests on Skype for Business. This tool is very simple and user-friendly. Sharing documents are very easy. We can show of status as available, busy, in meeting, do not disturb, away as per your [convenience]. [The] color feature is also available as per the status. Sharing [the] screen with others and taking command is one of the best and easiest features in Skype for Business.
Return to navigation