TrustRadius
Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.Pick up your SLACK!Slack has become one of the most important software programs that we use. It's used throughout our business to communicate with our team on all projects. It's really helped us stay organized whereas before we would communicate through email, text, Facebook Messenger, etc. Before it was a giant mess to find where information/files were located and now it's all managed through Slack.,Ease of Use Price Functionality App,Notifications - for some reason, notifications have been a little bit of a challenge for us where they don't pop up right away. Naming functionality - everything is lowercase and one word which can make you go a little crosseyed when trying to read a name.,10,Time savings Organization Collaboration in real time,HipChat,Emma, QuickBooks Online, Google DriveSlack- The App that Smiles BackWe currently use Slack in a couple of different ways. Our IT Department was struggling with internal communication. Email was our primary system and it made it difficult to identify important messages as they funneled into our inbox. Our first implementation was directed at curbing this use of email. We found the move beneficial, and then eventually used Slack for microlearning, integration with other systems, training, and sharing documentation. Notifications via smartphones made it an advantageous way to contact colleagues. We also setup a Slack team for communication and direction for student workers within our organization, and have begun testing it for operational communications across campus. We believe it will improve overall communication, training strategies, and customer service.,Integrations are a plus. We use Zapier on campus to interface with other SaaS systems, CRMs and ERPs. The integration capabilities make it an effective collaboration and communication tool. Slack provides multiple modes of communication. You can setup channels for specific topics, send direct messages to an individual team member, or setup groups. The desktop app is nice in that it provides effective notifications, and makes it easy to share documents with other team members. Multiple teams allow you to segment your communication and collaboration initiatives.,Finding some of the advanced features or preferences can sometimes be clunky and not intuitive. When trying to verify effective communication to team members, it would be nice to have "read receipts" similar to iOS Messages.,10,One of the metrics we have watched over the years is our average resolution time. Prior to two years ago when collaboration was accomplished via email, phone calls, or visiting offices within the department, our average resolution time was around 72hrs. Over the past year we have reduced that to around 48hrs. While not quantifiable, the reduction in email noise has allowed our technicians to prioritize more effectively, and provide important information to colleagues in a timely manner. We know that these factors have improved overall service. Prior to our use of Slack we typically had weekly staff meeting that ran 2-3 hours in length. Today we meet bi-monthly, or even once a month since Slack allows us to post updates on projects, and note outages/emergency issues that have appeared.Awesome for Internal CommunicationsWe use it across the whole organization for internal communication, but are just started to use it for external communication with our clients as well. It addresses the problem of communication delays very well and also helps enhance our culture with add-ons like GIFs, memes and other tools. It's great!,Notifications Add-Ons Tagging Mobile,Customization Integrations,9,More efficient communication More communication options Better culture,Microsoft Lync,HubSpot, HubSpot CRMDon't Slack... Get Slack!Slack is used by my entire organization as an internal communication tool. We use it to track projects and discuss them. Slack has significantly cut down on the number of internal emails and has done a great job of helping us keep information about specific clients or projects all in one place.,Ability to add different "channels" to track different projects or clients. This way you aren't searching through threads of unrelated messages for information. Search functionality allows you to search all of your channels and find information quickly. Ability to share emojis and gifs makes communicating fun.,I would like to be able to preview documents uploaded onto slack. It would be great to preview a PDF or word doc without having to download and open it. I wish I could mark certain messages as unread so I can come back to them easily later.,10,Because Slack is a free tool, we haven't seen any negative impact. It does allow us to spend less time reading emails and trying to figure out what's happening with a project which means we can spend more time doing the actual work.,HubSpot, HubSpot CRMSlack - easy team communicationSlack was being used as a way to communicate among specific teams of people. They also have community boards that the whole agency had access to, to share noteworthy content.,The gif generator is fun and makes conversations interesting. It's simple and intuitive.,The interface was a little difficult to get use to. Sometimes I wouldn't see notifications, so people would go unanswered for long periods.,7,It consolidated communication among team members, making it faster and easier. It ended up being another app that we had to use within the company so I'm not sure how well it ended up integrating with the other apps they were using. Communication was fun and people were more inclined to interact with each other outside of their specific teams.,Basecamp and Trello,Trello, Adobe Photoshop, Google Drive
Unspecified
Slack
2012 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Slack
2012 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 100 of 2012 Slack ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 100)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dustin Brackett profile photo
September 28, 2016

User Review: "Pick up your SLACK!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Use
  • Price
  • Functionality
  • App
  • Notifications - for some reason, notifications have been a little bit of a challenge for us where they don't pop up right away.
  • Naming functionality - everything is lowercase and one word which can make you go a little crosseyed when trying to read a name.
Read Dustin Brackett's full review
Rick Murphy profile photo
June 03, 2016

User Review: "Slack- The App that Smiles Back"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrations are a plus. We use Zapier on campus to interface with other SaaS systems, CRMs and ERPs. The integration capabilities make it an effective collaboration and communication tool.
  • Slack provides multiple modes of communication. You can setup channels for specific topics, send direct messages to an individual team member, or setup groups.
  • The desktop app is nice in that it provides effective notifications, and makes it easy to share documents with other team members.
  • Multiple teams allow you to segment your communication and collaboration initiatives.
  • Finding some of the advanced features or preferences can sometimes be clunky and not intuitive.
  • When trying to verify effective communication to team members, it would be nice to have "read receipts" similar to iOS Messages.
Read Rick Murphy's full review
Amber Klein profile photo
September 06, 2016

User Review: "Don't Slack... Get Slack!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to add different "channels" to track different projects or clients. This way you aren't searching through threads of unrelated messages for information.
  • Search functionality allows you to search all of your channels and find information quickly.
  • Ability to share emojis and gifs makes communicating fun.
  • I would like to be able to preview documents uploaded onto slack. It would be great to preview a PDF or word doc without having to download and open it.
  • I wish I could mark certain messages as unread so I can come back to them easily later.
Read Amber Klein's full review
Michael Trujillo profile photo
August 08, 2016

"Slack Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Connect via API to other products.
  • History and search options.
  • Adding of gifs and screenshots.
  • Video chat becomes choppy when there are over 3 people.
  • Being an employee and contractor, switching between accounts could be easier.
  • New users find it difficult to start conversations.
Read Michael Trujillo's full review
Steve Surya profile photo
August 04, 2016

User Review: "Slack is effective for communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • First of all, having a App for Mac really helps a lot. I started using Slack on the web initially but then moved to Slack App for my Macbook. It's fast and shows notifications whenever there is a message.
  • It helps with sharing documents. The documents can be shared and saved to Slack cloud.
  • Creating channels helps a lot. We can invite other team members and our clients within channels to communicate with them.
  • Mobile app for Slack works great as well.
  • Voice Communication: As of now Slack does not offer Voice calls. But this is a necessary feature. If Slack team can bring this functionality, it would be great.
  • If I have to join a channel of a client, I have to login to a different team. But if slack could offer a way to add anyone from a different team right into our team, then it would be easy.
Read Steve Surya's full review
Tyler Mangum profile photo
July 29, 2016

Slack Review: "Well, it works."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Slack has a rather strong file sharing program. There are better programs for sharing huge files, but sharing links, pictures exc. are extremely easy and fast.
  • Slack's options for customized groups, one on one and full company messaging are paralleled by no other that I've found. Contacting who you need to and documenting it in such a quick manner is something my company values a whole lot.
  • Every now and then Slack will throw a fit and disconnect randomly for no more than two minutes at a time. It's annoying, but it doesn't break the entire deal down considering it's short lived tantrum.
Read Tyler Mangum's full review
John Dezember profile photo
July 22, 2016

Review: "Don't be a Slacker with Office Communication"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • High Availability - As our communication hub, it is important that the service is always on; Slack is always on!
  • Nice Apps - The Slack website is nice, but the desktop and mobile apps are top-notch and get frequent updates with new features.
  • Approachable Design - Clean lines, great use of color, and only showing options that you need right then make Slack easy for anyone to use.
  • The emoji in the selection box are too small.
Read John Dezember's full review
Kristina Quinones profile photo
July 19, 2016

Slack Review: "The must have communication tool for remote teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There's virtually no learning curve! Our company's transition to Slack as the team chat software of choice was quick and painless.
  • It's easy to focus on what's important with the available options for joining, leaving, and muting channels.
  • Administration of a team account is very easy! It's easy to manage user and temporary user permissions.
  • Make channel management even simpler. If you want to clean up a channel, you need to go into the archives from the web interface and delete the messages. Even though you can do this in bulk, a channel with lots of messages takes a significant of time to clear because you have to wait for messages to load when the previous batch is deleted.
  • You cannot change a channel from being invite only to public to the whole team.
Read Kristina Quinones's full review
Jordan Squire profile photo
March 10, 2016

Slack Review: "Industry leader...with a matching price tag"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reduces the number of emails sent and received.
  • Very easy to create new groups of users based on interests, job roles, problem triage, or for virtual meetings.
  • Chatroom style conversations.
  • May different Slack Bot integrations to other enterprise tools.
  • Fairly easy to create your own Slack Bots.
  • Fair amount of control on the number and "loudness" of alerts and notifications.
  • Desktop / phone / browser apps.
  • Push notifications to phone if messages go unread for a certain amount of time.
  • Desktop app uses a lot of system memory.
  • Cost per user is a quite a bit higher than competitors.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
Lauren Harradine profile photo
June 20, 2016

User Review: "Give Me Some Slack"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows you to organize your conversations on the main page.
  • Allows you to message people directly when you have a more personal question or need one-on-one communication.
  • You can also upload image content without blocking the entire chat. It's collapsible but also allows you to open the original in a separate window.
  • SlackBot is a chat service for usability and user questions.
  • Allows you to tag directly to pages and such. Pretty nifty feature.
  • Ability to use add-on applications for your personal, specific needs. These include polls, summarized Google Analytics, fitness competitions between teams, and more. Fabulous.
  • Many of the features are fun and incredibly helpful, but not easily discoverable or innate. This is evidenced by the NEED for SlackBot and the initial user tutorial, but at least there's something there to help!
Read Lauren Harradine's full review
Billy Barker profile photo
April 28, 2016

Review: "Pick up the Slack, use a better office communication app"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Channels make it easy to quickly communicate something with an entire team. You save time by not having to type out every recipient.
  • Direct messages are great. Everyone is use to texting others on their phone, with Slack you basically text co-workers. This is just so much better.
  • /giphy is the best thing ever. It's always over used, but always fun. We have a great work environment and this feature just adds to it.
  • I honestly have no cons, I like everything about Slack, it's simple to use and does everything I need.
Read Billy Barker's full review
Brendon Brown profile photo
April 12, 2016

User Review: "Slack - signing email's death warrant."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time to ditch email. Slack is first and foremost a beefed-up chat client. Think IRC with tons of power, great in-chat photo and video sharing, and tons of integrations. Using channels, your project manager can direct topics and project discussion.
  • Slack is open toward modern web integrations - to automate everything into a Slack channel. There are tons of ways of reflecting project progress into your slack channels - which means you can most likely automatically keep everyone updated via your project management software.
  • Setting your team up with Slack is supremely easy and straightforward. It's a quick install; Slack sets you up with a company.slack.com domain and streamlines inviting your team by using company domain emails and and a very well-designed on-boarding tutorial.
  • I don't know if Slack could improve.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
Kelly Kranz profile photo
March 18, 2016

Review: "Team communication is a breeze with Slack"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Direct messaging. We used to use Google chat but that kept us in our email browser way to long. The history of the chat also wasn't convenient to find.
  • You do GIFS really well.
  • A simple pet peeve of mine is that the channel names don't allow for spaces. There has to be dashes. For example "OverGo-studio" instead of OverGo Studio.
Read Kelly Kranz's full review
Chuck Ellis profile photo
March 18, 2016

Review: "Cut your team some communication slack...with Slack. (puns!)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick response communication.
  • Lots of cool plugin support.
  • Great mobile app.
  • Ability to close media previews sent by others and have it stay closed when you return to that channel.
  • Task assignments would be cool.
  • Calendar planning along with task assignments would also be epic.
Read Chuck Ellis's full review
Sheila Champion profile photo
March 18, 2016

Review: "Slack isn't slack in functionality at all!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows communication to a large audience all at once so many individuals may communicate in a 'conversation'.
  • Allows 'direct message', personal communication between individuals.
  • Since information is written as opposed to verbally shared, Slack provides a good history of what has been communicated.
  • I find it non-intuitive to attach a file to share with others.
  • The 'View Raw' feature is a great feature but I have to go through two steps to 'View Raw' a Snippet. It would nice to just have one step.
  • I sometimes have difficulty finding information after I've searched for in the Slack channels. I'm pretty certain it is in Slack but just don't see it in the results.
Read Sheila Champion's full review
Josh Studzinski profile photo
March 15, 2016

Review: "Slack is the way to go to get your whole team involved"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It integrates with a lot of other technology that we use including Basecamp, Google Calendar, and Giphy.
  • It makes work more fun and brings us all together. It is nice to see all the communication across teams.
  • It helps me as a manager stay on top of my team.
  • I wish I could Slack something over to my email or email someone directly through Slack real quick.
  • Integrate my calendar better into Slack.
  • Would be great to integrate HubSpot into Slack to call contacts and have more sales conversations on Slack.
Read Josh Studzinski's full review
Hugo Pineda profile photo
March 10, 2016

Review: "Slack: the perfect instant messaging platform for organizations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Slack is intuitive to use for everyone, it provides a clean user interface which allows users to easily start conversations, and get notified when new messages arrive.
  • Slack allows users to send screen shots of their computers, this is particularly helpful when reporting bugs to the engineering team because the images are previewed in the conversation area
  • It works perfect as it is. If they are planning on new features I think video calls will be the game changer they need and Google Hangouts will have a strong competitor.
Read Hugo Pineda's full review
D'Ana Guiloff profile photo
March 09, 2016

User Review: "How do you Slack off?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real-time interaction.
  • Reactions & emoji integration.
  • Very easy to spin up a new slack team.
  • It needs a single sign-on to be able to easily manage multiple teams. Not specifically tied to email address.
  • It would be great if there was a pause button/AFK messaging. Sometimes you just need to step away and messages that are sent need to be halted so the person on the other end knows they aren't going to be getting an immediate response.
  • Tagging (other than hashtags). Some way for individual users to tag conversations so when they are searching back through their chats they can pinpoint a conversation about a specific topic. We have gotten around this by having a room for everything, but that gets overwhelming with 110+ rooms on a single team to keep track of.
Read D'Ana Guiloff's full review
Patrick Walls profile photo
March 08, 2016

User Review: "Slackin' off is a good thing."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrating outside software like Twitter, Google Drive, and Skype allow for sharing of files, tweets, and video communication right in the platform.
  • The speed of communication eliminates the need for email and can reduce inbox clutter.
  • Channels allow for varying conversations without interrupting other conversations.
  • Better link embedding (similar to Facebook in a post) would be nice.
Read Patrick Walls's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (51)
7.3
Gantt Charts (16)
6.3
Scheduling (34)
7.2
Workflow Automation (43)
6.2
Mobile Access (91)
8.8
Search (90)
7.7
Visual planning tools (20)
7.0
Chat (100)
9.4
Notifications (99)
8.7
Discussions (96)
9.1
Surveys (38)
7.5
Internal knowledgebase (44)
8.5
Integrates with GoToMeeting (24)
7.7
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (43)
7.8
Integrates with Outlook (19)
7.2
Versioning (33)
7.2
Video files (69)
7.8
Audio files (69)
7.8
Document collaboration (57)
7.3
Access control (52)
8.4
Advanced security features (40)
8.2
Integrates with Google Drive (49)
8.2
Device sync (56)
8.6

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No