SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
196 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 79)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Mike Saedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is an Excellent Performance Monitoring Tool for SQL Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

I feel like this needs a little more work and more details. Indexing recommendations from DPA are usually good, but the table level tuning advisors I feel do not provide enough details to help much. If they expanded this area this would help the tool out a lot.
Read Mike Saedi's full review
Pat Groce | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

DPA in Govenment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes, I make recommendations weekly. When load tests are performed DPA is used to solve problems which arise.
Read Pat Groce's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Try it out if you want happy customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

These are quite handy in terms of picking up the queries that can be addressed immediately. Also, because of the intuitive design, most of the time even the resources who are not really experienced with the database performance tuning aspects can use the tool to suggest improvements. This would not require the Senior resources on the team to be involved with such cases all the time, and that helps strategically for the business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA Pros and Cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes, we use this on a regular basis to tune queries and add indexes based on the Tuning advisor. It will help us see bad query design and provide a better overall experience to our end users. The goal here is to have all green, but there are many developers that write queries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Top of Class Database Performance Monitoring and Tuning Advisor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

We regularly utilize the Tuning and Query Advisors provided by DPA. As a software development shop we have access to the deployment team that can modify queries as needed. We often use both the performance data to identify problematic SQL statements/queries, we then package those along with the tuning and query advisor suggestions/recommendations from DPA and send to our development team. Recently we've started allowing developers direct access to DPA to review the results in real time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Key to knowing true DB performance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes, the tool provided significant detail in highlighting the performance-related metrics for each query and provided insight on areas to focus on to fine-tune the queries. We have been able to use this tool for a wide-ranging number of queries which has improved overall system performance and user satisfaction.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2020

SolarWinds DPA is a great tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Table tuning has helped us demonstrate to our vendor the areas where they can improve the code.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

DPA: The Advance DBA Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes it is. When working on problematic queries and possible indexes and tuning steps then comparing them with possible troubleshooting given in performance tab really helps in leading right direction
Read this authenticated review
Steven Pangilinan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Real ROI that added a 9 to our uptime.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Definitely, we're able to benefit from Table Tuning Advisors. This is what allows us to reallocate funds for computing resources and reinvest in development. This feature also allows us to address training resource allocation since we know who the stars are and who needs improvement. It helps us become a better team.
Read Steven Pangilinan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer helps you become the best DBA you can be.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

As mentioned previously, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer's main advantages lie in its database tuning and query adviser section. SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer generates suggested queries and indexes in a script format so that all you need to do is copy and paste them into your database manager and execute them, with minor changes, such as names, etc.
SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer makes it easier for those that don't have a lot of experience with SQL queries, and allows any business to improve the performance of their databases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

SolarWinds DPA review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

This definitely helped us. Like I mentioned previously, whenever developers write any SQL queries it needs to be tested in Dev environment. When it was pushed in prod, there were issues with slow performance. Table Tuning Advisors helped us in these scenarios, giving us a better idea and recommendations to run the tuning against a specific table in our DB.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

One of the BEST at-a-glance database monitoring tools out there.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Given that the majority of our databases run purchased applications, we are unable to modify queries. We CAN and do manipulate indexes and server resources to improve performance. The Table Tuning Advisor has helped in these situations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Invaluable, Trusted Performance Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

The Table Tuning feature is new in v11. It is sometimes used. Often its information is repetitive, making new revelations hard to spot - some "acknowledged" marker would help make this page more useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

DPA user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

We have not yet used it but we are excited to find out how this will help us in our performance tuning.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Stop buying hardware to improve your SQL server performance. Try DPA first!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Very helpful in indexing.
In terms of inefficient queries, suggestions still not precise enough, still need expertise in order to rewrite the queries and more precise suggestions would be great...
Read Dave Cheng's full review
Kev Shawhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2019

Solar Winds DPA provides the best trend charts

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes, I use the tuning recommendations on a weekly basis. My organization has benefited because this helps us to properly optimize our SQL queries. And best of all, I am able to use the SolarWinds charts to show our management team where these tuning recommendations are making an immediate difference for the end-user experience. Again, the trend charts make it easy to explain to non-technical people.
Read Kev Shawhan's full review
Mohamed Shameer | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Life saver!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Database Performance Monitor Tuning

Yes, we find missing indexes from the table tuning advisor created in production. We have seen performance improvements.
Read Mohamed Shameer's full review

About SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer (DPA) enables deep visibility into database performance and expert advice for performance optimization and tuning.

What can you monitor with DPA?
  • Oracle
  • Oracle Exadata
  • Oracle EBS
  • Microsoft SQL Server
  • Azure SQL Database
  • Azure SQL Database Managed Instance
  • MySQL
  • DB2
  • SAP ASE
  • Aurora
  • MariaDB
DPA monitors physical, virtual, and cloud-based databases (including Microsoft Azure and Amazon RDS)

What makes DPA stand out:

  • Quick, easy, and reliable performance troubleshooting available in real time and historically

  • Machine learning anomaly analysis to bring intelligence to go beyond traditional threshold based analysis
  • Find inefficient workloads, aggregated by table, for indexing opportunities—an “X marks the spot” tuning analysis
  • Cross-platform database support for a single-pane-of-glass view into your environment
  • Blocking analysis: what is blocking and a hierarchy of what is being blocked, plus overall impact
  • PerfStack™ integration with other SolarWinds products for more complete visibility (applications, servers, storage, hypervisor, network, and more)
  • Agent-less architecture with the ability to scale from a few instances to thousands, low 1% average overhead

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Features

Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureTuning advisors for queries, workload, and indexes aggregated at the table level
Has featureCorrelated resource metrics for easy diagnosis of hardware constraint impacts on end-users
Has featureDetailed blocking analysis for contention bottlenecks
Has featureI/O activity tracking at the drive/mount and file level
Has featureAlerts and reports
Has featureDPA Central to manage large and/or distributed environments
Has featureAlways On Availability Group and RAC insights

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Screenshots

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Videos (2)

Azure Database Support Overview

Watch Product Overview

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Downloadables

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager (VNQM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds User Device Tracker

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Competitors

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, AWS Marketplace app
Mobile Application:No