SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 194)

Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Customer Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used across our whole organization. It allows us to use one pane of glass to see both Network and Server issues across our organization. This is important to allow our NOC to watch many systems/interdependencies without watching multiple systems. It also allows us to keep recent configurations of our network gear, for survivability.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

The best set of tools for your network monitoring needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use NPM in addition to other SolarWinds modules to manage all of the devices for the MDOT Intelligent Transportation Systems statewide. It is being used by our staff and other agencies to assist with construction projects, network planning and integration, and reporting to compare against systems utilizing the devices.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network "Magnificent Performance" Monitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company provides maintenance and break-fix services for outdoor, carrier-scale transportation technology networks. With SolarWinds, we are able to get in front of issues when devices fail or otherwise invisible network issues occur, before our clients even start to notice the problems. With over 500 outdoor locations statewide and thousands of devices to support, NPM allows us both a birds-eye view of network health and an on-the-ground, detailed perspective into individual devices, subnets, and segments of the network and how they perform.
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Matthew A. Osmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

A mature, customization monitoring solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds NPM for all server and network device monitoring. We have two instances; one for our corporate environment, and one for our "critical" network segments. NPM is managed by two members of the Enterprise Applications team, with input from a cross-functional monitoring team, which has members from all areas of IT operations (and a representative from InfoSec). NPM is used both for alerting and performance monitoring.
Read Matthew A. Osmond's full review
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My SolarWinds Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds NPM was introduced into my environment recently and exclusively for virtual machines, especially our two data centers located in different states with domains to troubleshoot network slowness, major bottlenecks, the average response time, and latency between the data access between two data centers. Currently, it is implemented in some of the data centers in the network which are critical to day to day life. It addresses the network latency, the response time between the data centers, memory usage, and the bandwidth. Our team generates reports based on data collected from the logs.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
Keith Gulledge | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the bomb!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use NPM for monitoring the up/down status of all of our Cisco switches/router (350 devices). We use it to monitor the bandwidth usage of all of the critical ports (server ports, uplinks, Internet links...). We also use it to monitor stack ports for stack switches. We get email notifications on all up/down statuses.
Read Keith Gulledge's full review
Bradley Friars | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Works great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds is used at our company for monitoring several different sites for our clients. When we get a notification it sends us an email that will auto-generate a ticket for us to investigate. Therefore, it streamlines our process and notifies our team much faster than constantly checking mailboxes. Drilling down is simple as well and all the metrics are easy to find a quick to understand.
Read Bradley Friars's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Good tool for network performance monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor about 2 years ago. The tool provides a good view of the network, managed by our company. It's used by the IT ops department, It helps to discover network bottlenecks in real-time. In case of failure, detailed info can be provided for the relevant team. With all this they are able to reduce MTTR.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Alessandro Piras | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

An irreplaceable tool for complex networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a network architect consultant, I manage the monitoring and SLAs of the CRIF group's network--a network of over 1000 multi-vendor nodes. SolarWinds Orion NPM allows me to monitor all network devices with proactive managed alarms. It also allows me to analyze traffic in case of network issues thanks to the Live performance feature. Configuration of a new device to monitor is very simple, and it's very easy to create custom detailed reports to help the management have a global view of the network and traffic status.
Read Alessandro Piras's full review
Esam Alaslmy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Great product, and I hope they never stop making better.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We mainly use SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor to have a visibility on the load of our servers and network bandwidth. We use it to monitor all of our network devices and servers across all of our 4 sites. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor helps us to know if anything goes wrong within the environment. Also, the alerts feature adds a great value for us to handle the problem quickly. For example, when a critical server CPU utilization goes high, we get an immediate alert to check the issue. Another example is that when VPN connection is lost to a remote site, we instantly receive an alert that the remote router is down so we can act fast to get the service back.
Read Esam Alaslmy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the magic bullet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, for us, is used for the monitoring of servers, networking equipment and other devices. The only department that uses it is information technology. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor helps us manage what's going on in the environment and also keeps an eye for any machines that go offline anytime during the day or night. Before SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor it was all hit and miss as to when we knew devices were in trouble.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Solarwinds NPM at my currently company is only being evaluated and utilized by a small subset of our whole organization. We are currently deploying and utilizing NPM and NCM as a proof of concept to gain support for an eventual full migration to the remaining aspects of our team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All the information you need to diagnose your network in one place.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor our radio and fiber infrastructure. We have a wide range of equipment and have been impressed by the ease with which we have been able to add most of these to the NPM environment. We monitor interface status for connectivity and usage, with alarms being monitored by in-house engineers, who have been able to pick up on changes in trends and escalate as needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Well worth your time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

NPM does a great job of establishing baselines and creating reporting that I can show to my management to prove we are out of bandwidth. I like to think of NPM and NCM as one product because they essentially do all the functions you need together.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor: THE leader in network monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is being used primarily by the Network Team to monitor for various alerts directly related to the network infrastructure. There is a limited number of other teams within our organization that use it mainly to monitor bandwidth and CPU utilization. We have a lot of infrastructure. Without NPM we could have extended outages. It allows us to see issues and address them right away.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds simply works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization. The product helps the IT department monitor systems and applications, which would allow IT to respond and address issues more timely and in a proactive manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize SolarWinds NPM to monitor our internal and client networks. It is currently only used by a single department (or business unit) but we supply regular reports to many other teams and clients. It directly addresses the needs of being able to monitor and troubleshoot a diverse range of hardware.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

A highly recommended network management tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SolarWinds NPM to monitor our whole borough (200+ sites). We use it on a daily basis to manage, monitor, and audit our entire network infrastructure. It keeps us one step ahead on most days and helps us with great insight into our network. If you're looking to get more visibility, better alerting, or help with general monitoring, SolarWinds NPM will help you 'see' your network; we highly recommend SolarWinds NPM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds Network Performance monitor is used within the IT department at our institution. The network and server managers have administrative rights within it and then the helpdesk has read only rights. This allows the helpdesk access to see if a ticket should be escalated due to a larger issue. This solution provides visibility for our team across the infrastructure and allows us to be more proactive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds NPM is being used by several teams in our IT department including the networking team and various application support teams. It is used to proactively monitor the network, look for outages, and troubleshoot application performance issues for our end users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds NPM is used by our IT department to monitor network performance and track outages and network congestion. It is an essential part of our organization's network management system. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor allows me to see the network as a whole as well as look at specific parts to diagnose issues and troubleshoot outages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Network Performance Monitoring for the Admin with no time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Solarwinds NPM has been a very helpful tool, we use it to monitor devices and network links and the performance and uptime of these and to be honest, without it I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. We utilize this from an IT departmental side as well as feed data to our development team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

NPM for a medium size business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds NPM has been very helpful for our org. Previously, we had no visual on our network. We often had to get alerted by users who only sometimes report a problem. We were essentially operating blind. Now that we have NPM we can be proactive. NPM offers alerts for not only when a site is down but when a site is experiencing bandwidth issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM. Great product!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It’s is being used across the whole organization. We use it to monitor all of our devices. We added our servers, switch bridges, and access points. SolarWinds NPM helps us monitor our infrastructure and are able to fix an issue quickly if the device slows down. A really great product.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (171)
8.7
Network monitoring (190)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (167)
8.4
Alerts (189)
9.3
Network capacity planning (150)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (105)
7.5
Network mapping (156)
7.7
Customizable reports (174)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (122)
7.7
Hardware health monitoring (176)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No