SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 123)

Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

The best set of tools for your network monitoring needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

NetPath has been a valuable asset and a good addition to NPM. It has helped save a lot of time to identify connectivity issues visually in a single path which has led to quicker resolution to issues. This has been beneficial for us to identify issues particularly with the ISP's at our remote locations.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network "Magnificent Performance" Monitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

We have not fully utilized NetPath, but given its on-premise monitoring potential, we are excited to implement it for our local network. The large scale of our network and the presence of multicast video traffic on it means that we regularly have network bottlenecks, and being able to use NetPath to identify those bottlenecks before they cause issues would be immensely valuable.
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Matthew A. Osmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

A mature, customization monitoring solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

My organization has not yet made much use of NetPath. I would like to make more use of it going forward. I believe this will be useful as some services move to SaaS (we are primarily on-premises). I have found NetPath useful in the past; for example, it helped us find a bad route which caused severe latency downloading updates from a particular vendor.
Read Matthew A. Osmond's full review
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My SolarWinds Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

My organization uses Netpath to find how much network traffic enters into the specific node in the clustered environment and how much it reaches to the destination. We have production machines and reporting machines which each cluster to 8 nodes across the data centers. With Netpath, we can pinpoint network traffic at each node and the data latency if it exists in one of the nodes, possible causes, and how to eliminate them. It gives accurate information and possible resolutions in a graphical method which is easy to understand in large environments where a large number of nodes bind in a cluster environment.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Good tool for network performance monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

We are having integration with a lot of vendors, from different geolocations. After every downtime, we need to contact vendors, share findings, and start troubleshooting. In many cases, we discover that there is a possible network issue (this was the top answer from almost every vendor during 2018). One by one we covered all critical endpoints with netpath and now have a clear picture about network health. Checks can be done every minute, but I suggest to do it every 5 minutes. In the case of a 1-minute check, there will be data loss, because sometimes it takes more than 1 minute to complete the check.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All the information you need to diagnose your network in one place.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

The visual analysis of the NPM interface constantly allows us to detect faults before clients are aware. This is due to the availability of monitoring of things like temperature, CPU usage and interface status in most cases, but our tier one engineers have each developed their own strategy for reading the data available in NPM, providing good outcomes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Well worth your time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

Netpath helped us by figuring out we didn't need 10G links to Amazon, and that our main 1g pipe was enough for the next few years, saving multiple thousands of dollars a year. We actually were able to provide redundancy to the circuits in lieu of purchasing a bigger circuit. This was in no small part due to NetPath's functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds simply works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

I don't think our organization uses this feature. But the feature sounds attractive and could help us diagnose technical problems from a network point of view.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

A highly recommended network management tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

NetPath can often give you a nice visual traceroute and can help you visually see where there is a bottle kneck. It also offers live insight or historic, which can help you see where your network is going slow and often why. It's simple to set up and doesn't require too much extra config, so it's worth looking into for a quick oversight.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

This is a feature I have setup for a few cloud services we rely on. It has been helpful to receive alerts when there is higher than expected latency and to be able to see where this is originating from, whether internal or external. Several times since implementing this feature we have been alerted prior to the external provider of a particular issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

While the NetPath tool has a lot of great potential. We just have not implemented it. In the test scenarios I have set up, it works quite well. It needs someone to give it attention and maintenance to get the value.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

We use NetPath to monitor our connections outside of our intranet. It provides a very good look into connection speeds and allows us to troubleshoot and prevent network outages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

NPM for a medium size business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

I have begun to use NetPath. It detected the devices I input into Network Performance Monitor and created a basic map of our network. This helped with a visualization of our network. I can now provide this to anyone in my company. No matter how tech savvy they may or may not be.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

NPM - Forecast your network.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM NetPath

NetPath is a must have on your organization. It allows you to see an overall view of how your traffic flow from the Solarwinds to another point on the network. We use it all the time for troubleshooting and to evidence ISP issues.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (171)
8.7
Network monitoring (190)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (167)
8.4
Alerts (189)
9.3
Network capacity planning (150)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (105)
7.5
Network mapping (156)
7.7
Customizable reports (174)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (122)
7.7
Hardware health monitoring (176)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No