SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 119)

Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Customer Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

We very much benefit from these tools to help us identify if a particular device or link is being overworked or underutilized. NPM does a fairly good job looking at our Cisco and Juniper infrastructure. However, we also have Palo Alto Firewalls and I have seen NPM fail to report accurate CPU utilization for this platform. I would love to see strength added to strength to improve PA reporting.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My SolarWinds Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

Solar Winds NPM Network Insights quickly find if the firewall exposed to any vulnerabilities to the outside environments. We also benefitted in determining the health and performance of virtual ports and virtual servers and their communication and troubleshoot with minimal time and high accuracies in our fast environment.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
Alessandro Piras | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

An irreplaceable tool for complex networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

The capacity to have data correlation to find some network issue is very valuable, and the Network Insights function embedded in SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor is a great tool to understand the current status of the whole network with a synoptic view.
Read Alessandro Piras's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All the information you need to diagnose your network in one place.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

The availability of network insights has greatly reduced the number of locations that have to be searched to find the status of various aspects of the network. Being able to find all needed information in one place is a great plus point for NPM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Well worth your time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

We have benefited from this greatly, especially in our branch offices that IT folks rarely visit, we can get environmental monitoring, and plan our trips out to replace gear accordingly, or immediately. Depending on the situation, that is.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds simply works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

I don't think our organization uses this feature either. But the feature sounds attractive and could help us diagnose technical problems from a network point of view.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

A highly recommended network management tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

Yes, we rely on SolarWinds NPM every day for better visibility, and it helps us to make decisions and be more proactive than ever. We're able to see trends and common occurring stats, to help us best prevent downtime and make the end-user unaware of back end issues. With greater insight, we create a more reliable network.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

I honestly don't know what Network Insights does for us. I don't use it directly though it may effect some of the reports that I view on a regular basis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

NPM - Forecast your network.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

We use it for all the devices that we have. Arubas, Cisco, HP, Dell, Fortinet, Palo Alto. Great for knowing the health of everything just in the dashboard.
Read this authenticated review
Deirra J. Footman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

NPM is a valuable tool for Network Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

The Health monitoring has helped us be proactive in replacing gear that is failing before it causes an outage for our users. The temperature alerts also allow us to identify and address environmental issues before they have a negative impact on the network equipment. The performance piece has helped us in our long-term planning.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
Dwain Erhart | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

How we use SolarWinds NPM, and some of the features you will find helpful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Network Insights

We monitor all of our switches with SolarWinds - we tried a more expensive and dedicated solution, but we found it cumbersome and less of a value than what we already had in SolarWinds. Looking at packet loss, bandwidth charts, response time, etc. is very helpful. We have had instances where our bandwidth was significantly reduced on T1 equipment, and we found that there were issues with ice build up and attenuation. We couldn't explain the causes of the issue, but the chart was instrumental in getting the cable replaced by the provider.
Read Dwain Erhart's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (171)
8.7
Network monitoring (190)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (167)
8.4
Alerts (189)
9.3
Network capacity planning (150)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (105)
7.5
Network mapping (156)
7.7
Customizable reports (174)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (122)
7.7
Hardware health monitoring (176)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No