SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 181)

Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My Opinion on SolarWinds SAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Once you have it dialed in and have everything you want it is great to monitor the different pieces of our environment. It's easy to log in and see what systems are critical and what has alerts. We use it heavily to send out an e-mail when there is an issue. The thresholds are easily configured to add overhead if needed for storage or CPU/memory.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Without SolarWinds, our downtime would double if not triple. SolarWinds not only alerts us of issues immediately, but it does so very effectively by only alerting you of major issues and only alerting the right people. Its ability to not only watch locally hosted devices but also off-site and cloud devices make it a must-have for any large network.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

In most regards I'm a fan of the product and mostly because it gets me that single pane of glass. But it doesn't come easy. It takes some work and cooperation from all the teams especially in a larger environment to get everything sorted. If you take the time to create custom views you can make some functional application specific dashboards. Being able to tie in the heath of our Cloud products side by side with our on-prem servers. Application owner get useful dashboards regardless of where the assets sit in the world.
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

After the implementation and all almost all the servers to SolarWinds, now we can see the big picture of how our infrastructure health is. The complication in the beginning was that we started just used the SNMTP and not the agents. After a couple of days the information that we got from SNMTP was not complete so we decided to install the agents in the critical and the new servers. So now we have more realistic and detailed information, that helps the company a lot to understand how the platforms are working, and understand when a failure happens.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A cost-effective solution for your small or enterprise business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Our administrators love using Solarwinds because they can view our entire environment from a single pane of glass. Solarwinds ease of use is also second to none. It can scan and automatically add a new server or network nodes into Solarwinds to monitor them as well - which saves our admins from having to do manual scans or entries. It is a huge time saver for us.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

SolarWinds allowed for a few members of staff to track a number of systems in various locations, as well as remind us of systems that are out there that are rarely used. Easy to implement and get going and grow into additional features and complexity. Very handy, and great to have consolidated views of systems, issues, performance, etc. The implementation is really easy which is great as to not add a great deal of additional burden to a team.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Ramon Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

Awesome, works great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Well in a positive way, to have our customers happy we manage the application of our customers and we make sure the uptime and resources are not being bottled cap.
Read Ramon Gomez's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Having Server and Application Monitor being integrated into a single tool is a great convenience. Being able to have an integration with the other SolarWinds applications like NPM, Netflow, Virtualization manager is vital is seeing the whole picture of your environment and helps with making my troubleshooting sessions easier and less stressful.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

SolarWinds SAM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

We currently run over 100 virtual servers ranging from Server 08 to 19 as well as Redhat. We can monitor all the servers at one time, group them by OS and determine instantly if the servers are operational.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A slightly recommended product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

We currently monitor on-premise assets (servers, network hardware, etc.) with great success. We are only just entering the cloud space, however, and have not taken advantage of the additional capabilities.
Read Derek Benson's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Good tool for application monitoring, with its limits

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Covering on-premise/hosted/cloud infra, and I see that it can be monitored from one tool. Always good idea to cover everything under one umbrella. Details are more connected and searching data is easy when some anomalies appear. Also, teams are working around one source of data and it makes process more fast and reliable.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Just starting . .

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

I haven't much seen the impact yet as we've just began using it, but from what I've seen it's not a bad tool to have just not sure if we will use it forever.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

SolarWinds SAM has helped us to centralize the monitoring and management of all remote systems we support, as well as providing a single tool where each responsible team is able to access the metrics relevant to them, on-demand. It's extensive reporting capabilities and automation options have also helped us to reduce the effort required for daily predefined checks as well as has improved the reporting towards our end-users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Having a single monitoring tool for the majority of our application has greatly enhanced the transparency of our IT ecosystem. A "single pane of glass" to view the health of our applications is beneficial to our entire operations department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

Our organization relies heavily on the Orion suite to monitor the health of our entire enterprise. It's seen slow adoption to other organizations within our enterprise, however when someone sees the value, it is quickly adopted by the whole team. As an example, we've used it when we had a patch released that caused services to crash in our application. We quickly added a restart script as a trigger action for these systems, which kept our applications running from a user perspective while development identified the bug, and re-released the the patch.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Helps You Sleep at Night

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

We only use SolarWinds to monitor server and applications on-premise. We have 95% of our servers virtualized, and our SolarWinds environment is physical. We do this to keep the monitoring outside the virtual environment and we can also dedicate more server resources to support the SolarWinds application. It allows us to get more granular results and query the server and application environment more regularly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

With the ability to monitor our application, we're now able to address issue much quicker than before when there's a multi-application process that is having issue.

We're also able to see the forecast of the servers and we're able to predict when they will need to be upgraded or in maintenance due to their status and/or usage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is definitely a useful tool to monitor any change and any sign of outages. It has the ability to alert and raise a flag when there is any potential risk to our system. The tool is decent but I am concerning that the new generation of AI would replace it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor: a must have tool for IT departments everywhere.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Single Platform

For our organization, SAM is primarily used for on-premise monitoring. Some of our major applications are remotely hosted and we do very little cloud-based. We cannot directly monitor remotely hosted servers, so we have some limitations there, but we try to offset that by monitoring other areas. Understanding the capabilities of SAM, I have no doubt that when we do make a move to the cloud, it will be there to provide insight into overall operations.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English