SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
139 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 107)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Easy to use and budget-friendly help desk tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Service Desk as our Helpdesk support tool to manage and address all IT issues for our entire organization. Additionally, it is utilized by our Facilities department to manage all facilities issues and requests. Solarwinds Service Desk gives us a single platform to understand what issues our end users are having and be able to report on them to our senior management. We also take advantage of the inventory functions of Solarwinds Service Desk to track warranty status as well as being the reporting for budgeting as our laptop and desktops are aging.
  • Good inventory reporting
  • Easy to use
  • Budget friendly
  • Metric reporting needs improvements
Solarwinds Service Desk is a low-cost tool that allows a company to get all of the functions of help desk tracking and ticketing without a major investment. Solarwinds Service Desk is easy to use and very easy to set up. If you are looking for a fast and inexpensive ticketing system this is the one for you.
Overall, they are responsive to our support requests. We have had some uneven response times, over 24 hours before hearing from our assigned support person, but in general, the support is timely. The support team is knowledgeable and the overwhelming majority of our issues are resolved during the first contact.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk was the right choice for our service desktop needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Solarwinds Service Desk across our whole corporation, this includes approximately 750 users. Solarwinds Service Desk is the first stop for any issues or requests our users have. We log every issue or request fr tracking and auditing purposes. It is used to follow an employee and thier equipment from the hiring process through the termination process. We also use it to track all of our software and hardware assets.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk is so customizable. Pretty much anything you can think of you can do with it. The interface and what you can do with it is very powerful.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk has lots of integrations with other systems and they are constantly adding more.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk has very strong reporting capabilities. Because of everything it indexes, you can report against literally anything.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk can have a steep learning curve. We came from an older help desk system that was not as feature-rich so we struggled to understand all of the features at first.
  • Even though Solarwinds Service Desk is very flexible there are still areas that we wish we had more control over. Things like renaming fields or rearranging certain layouts can be challenging.
  • Implementing Solarwinds Service Desk can be a daunting task. The hours they provide for help with the initial configuration is definitely not enough, you'll need more.
Solarwinds Service Desk is miles above our old service desk system. The searching capabilities make it easy to find what you are looking for and the more you use it and the more data you feed it, the better it gets. It definitely is a learning system and the more you and your users work with it the more you'll get out of it. If your users are not tech-savvy, they may need some additional training on the system. But my advice is to keep the forms and workflows simple, at least what is end user-facing. You can always allow the technicians to add additional information in the background.
I have had nothing but positive experiences with the Solarwinds Service Desk support staff. They are always quick to help answer any questions we may have. Usually, any issues we have are our own misunderstanding and not a problem with the product. The Solarwinds Service Desk implementation team was also great, very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is used by multiple technical support teams within the University. The primary reasons for selecting Solarwinds Service Desk were its ability to assist in asset management as well as being HIPAA compliant.
  • Asset management
  • Ticket management
  • Lack of public-facing site for general solutions or tips
  • Doesn't auto-assign trouble ticket to individual well
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for organizations with multiple divisions that provide support, require the ability to manage assets, and are HIPAA compliant.
At times, they reference online support pages that don't provide enough details (i.e., single sign-on with Microsoft ADFS).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

Why I would Choose Solarwinds ServiceDesk For My ITSM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds ServiceDesk for our technical support agents, including network operations and developers. We also use it to manage our onboarding and purchasing requests. It is generally used by the IT department and HR staff for new hires, technical support and purchasing. We have implemented the self service portal, which is showing some corporate adoption. This tool has helped to address ticket management and tracking for all types of requests that come to our team.
  • Asset management is done well with this tool. We can track ownership of equipment and help track warranty for replacements.
  • Ticket tracking with time spent on requests is also done quite well—we use this a lot to report back to the executive as to how the business is doing.
  • Building the service catalog is quite easy as well. You can really do a lot with automation and conditions to make sure certain types of requests get to the right teams to be completed.
  • Adding the ability to update incidents from the problem tickets is a great new feature just enabled this past week! Love this one.
  • Reporting could be a lot better. Currently, only being able to see PDF files with charts that don't include time spent on calls in any meaningful way. I end up exporting tickets and creating my own reports.
  • Tagging for automation needs improvement. Smart suggestions don't offer any value. I haven't seen any smart suggestions pop up for known solution articles, so that's somewhat lackluster.
  • The synchronization between Azure and Samanage has never worked properly. We have worked with tech support and still had to manually update user information.
Solarwinds is very easy to set up from the start. We have added groups and technicians to those groups for easy ticket assignments, and asset management tracking is very useful. It's a young tool with a lot of room to grow in terms of automation, but I really like it.
The support team is one of the best that I've ever had to work within all my years of working in the IT field. They are quick to respond and very helpful with any and all questions. They also offer proactive support! I asked a question about a feature earlier this week that I was told was not available, but the next day, that same tech reached out to me directly to let me know that the feature I wanted IS now available. Great, professional service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

Finally an ITSM solution built with integration in mind!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has used Samanage since 2015 and have not looked back since. We transitioned from a BMC platform offering. At first, we rolled out the software to support both information technology and administration requests. Over time, we have expanded the offering to Human Resources as well. It allows our employees to have a one-stop-shop for support requests.
  • Service catalog
  • Workflow and approvals
  • Single sign-on
  • API
  • Email Addresses are used as a unique identifier. As a result, an email address can only belong to one single Samanage environment. If supporting external users, you may run into overlaps.
  • Workflows have room for improvement as it relates to dynamic input and conditional logic.
From an asset management standpoint, it is well suited for IT-related equipment. We use it to track all physical nodes across the infrastructure. However, it is not built to support non-IT assets very well (e.g. keys, badges, etc.). The offering is very IT-centric for what is marketed as a solution to be used "beyond IT."
The support team is always very responsive. Escalations take place as deemed necessary.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

Great out of the box solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented SWSD as our IT services ticketing solution to replace our former ticketing software with a more modern solution. Since implementing it 1 year ago, it has taken off and is now starting to be used by other business units outside of IT for managing workflows, intake of new work, and tracking metrics of work.
  • Self service
  • Automation
  • Reporting
  • Asset management
  • CMDB
  • Alerting
  • BI integration
Great out of the box cloud-based solution that is easy to implement and easy to maintain and administer. Well suited for any company that is looking for a solution that does not require a full-time administrator to maintain the platform but offers easy to configure workflows and integrations. Maybe less suited for enterprise-level organizations.
Issues come up with any solution, it is to be expected. The SWSD support team has always been great at responding to and resolving any issues that come up. Our dedicated support manager has changed a few times over the course of the year, but they are always available to help us if we have questions or need suggestions for best practices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Solarwinds is a great work order system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Service Desk for our IT Helpdesk. Our end-users create work orders that are then assigned out through our staff and tracked to completion. We also use it to track problem areas within our company to find where we can improve our technology performance.
  • Clear Incident viewing
  • Ease of use
  • Easy structure to follow
  • Work order details should be primary over comments.
We have really enjoyed having Solarwinds implemented as our IT Help Desk software and can see it easily being used to track all of our maintenance work orders as well. I can see where it might have some limitations in some settings, but for us, it is well suited.
Any questions I've had for support of the Solarwinds product have been answered quickly and to our satisfaction. We've never had an issue with getting things taken care of by the Solarwinds staff.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Solarwinds works for us!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It addresses Incident mgmt, change mgmt, purchase orders, and device management mainly for our organization. Allows for everything to be on 1 platform.
  • Notifications and integrations: communicates notices well.
  • Automations: several ways of setting up automations.
  • New ticket notification: refreshes up-to-date tickets which is a newer feature.
  • I'd like to see more notification options in change management.
  • Solarwinds could improve on reporting features and ease of use.
Solarwinds ticketing system has nice features for being able to filter and save filters to easily be able to see which tickets you are looking for. The support team and account reps are very good at responding in a timely manner to issues or questions. It really depends on what expectations a company has as to whether or not Solarwinds would be a good fit for them.
I'm generally satisfied with Solarwinds and I think it would be a good fit for the right company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

SolarWinds Service Desk is Great for Small Business, Lacks Intelligent Workflows and Automations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses SolarWinds Service Desk across the entire organization, being used by 800+ employees. The primary purpose for using Service Desk is for information technology issues and requests. Employees can report issues with their computers, the network, servers, etc. and can request new hardware, software, password resets, new accounts, permissions, and anything else supported by the information technology department.
  • Self-service portal.
  • Simple setup and configuration.
  • Ease of use.
  • Asset management.
  • Workflows.
  • No canned responses.
  • Ticket details are on multiple tabs instead of one page.
  • Automation rules are limited.
SolarWinds Service Desk is a decent ITSM platform and is very affordable, making it well suited for small businesses. Additionally, the setup and configuration are simple so an experienced administrator, team lead, and manager level employee should have no issues managing Service Desk. If you are looking for more complexity with workflows, automation rules, and customization, SolarWinds Service Desk isn't for you.
SolarWinds support for Service Desk is a bit lacking. They are slow to respond to requests that require higher tier support. Their in-product support chat feature is nice and if the issue is a low tier one, it does the job. Details about issues on the platform are lacking when compared with other competitors but you do have the ability to sign up for outage notifications, which is helpful. Overall, their support could use improvement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk is a full-service product.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All incidents and service requests for IS are reported in Solarwinds Service Desk. Records are most often opened by IS staff, however, we have a few employees that prefer to use the portal and submit records themselves. Solutions are also available to both employees and IS staff for knowledge base articles. In IS, we are using the Problem and Change modules of Solarwinds. Solarwinds has really helped us document issues and changes effectively and efficiently. IS also utilizes the inventory portion of Solarwinds to document all our desktop and laptop computers. Solarwinds Service Desk has enabled me to really pull information from our incidents and requests which has helped guide decisions. We have also improved our communication with end users through the use of automated emails and the portal.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk is easy to use. We had to do only minimal training to institute Solarwinds throughout our organization.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk categorizes our incidents, which makes it much easier for management to make decisions on training needs for our employees.
  • Solarwinds Service Desk allows us to track the details around our incidents. This has helped in problem identification and certain improvement justification.
  • Incident creation flow could be improved. The incident creation form is organized well, however, it requires a lot of mouse use. It would improve ease and help reduce omitted information if a staff member could tab through all the fields in the order in which they are positioned.
I really think the Solarwinds Service Desk portal is very well organized. Our users once there can pretty easily find what they need and complete it. Request and incident creation are very intuitive. The portal also allows users to access any records they have opened so they can stay informed of progress.
I would like to see the mobile app become more useful. Currently, you can only create a new incident and view incidents. And the details of an incident are no included. I'd like the incident to be more comprehensive as well as offer access to the modules of Solarwinds.
Support is very knowledgeable and expedient most of the time. However, we have a few issues that we continue to experience that they are not able to resolve. In their defense, they are not able to replicate two of the issues even though the issue consistently happens to us. We also use IE as our default browser and often times we have issues the Chrome users do not have.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used mainly for the Asset Management portion. We track our notebooks, PC servers, and virtual Servers by Serial numbers, warranty, age, specs, and software licenses. It can also track licensing contracts and maintenance renewals. It also tells us what users are associated with each piece of equipment along with who is currently logged on to each machine along with the current IP.
  • Track assets.
  • Track warranties.
  • Track maintenance contracts.
  • Track user and equipment locations.
  • Better reporting.
  • Easily querying of data
  • Better support
For companies over 100 employees, it will resolve most of your people and equipment tracking needs.
Certain individuals in support were more snarky than helpful with yes or no answers. I felt as if I was playing 20 questions with them to get an answer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

One Service Desk to rule them all.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Solarwinds Service Desk across the company for incident and service requests. Departments currently using the Solarwinds Service Desk are Information Technology, Loan Support, Loan Application Support, Facilities, CRM/Salesforce Team, Development Support, Telecom Department, and Marketing. Each of these departments works on different requests so having it all in one system integrated saves a lot of back and forth and decreases the resolution time.
  • Ease of use
  • Automation
  • Collaboration between departments
  • Agent User Interface (been consistently improving though)
  • Portal customization
  • Automation
The Solarwinds Service Desk is a strong tool for collaboration and organization of incidents and service requests, giving you the ability to manage or enforce procedures and policies creating a consistent and reliable response. From a customer support standpoint, this does wonders being able to keep your employee or client well informed on their request.
Using their chat feature, I always receive a response within 10-20 minutes and usually get a satisfactory resolution shortly after.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

A robust ticket system that helps streamline many business functions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used to accept tickets in IT, Marketing & Communications, HR & Recruitment, Payroll, Safety, and Building Maintenance. Users from across the organization have access to submit tickets and service requests. Business problems solved: streamline onboarding/offboarding of employees in collaboration with HR/Payroll teams. Portal for submitting requests to all departments to manage requests more efficiently. Service requests built with approval processes to save time. Inventory is also being used to track computers. I will definitely be renewing and recommending it to others.
  • Approval processes can be built into service requests.
  • Inventory management: lifecycle tab, can attach/link computers to tickets.
  • Can tag other departments who don't have access to a category and provide access to the ticket via the tag. Excellent for collaboration.
  • Closing tickets: can't disable email notifications based on categories. Creates problems when closing tickets from vendors.
  • Service requests: no ability to add tasks.
  • Service requests on the portal: Format could be more user-friendly when submitting these.
Solarwinds is great when you need approvals. Once approvals are completed, an automated process can be set up, which is a real time saver. For example, when a manager submits a ticket for a new hire, HR needs to approve. Once approved, we spin off two new tickets: one to Payroll and one to IT for set up. Inventory management is excellent with the lifecycle tab.

Online chat support is effective with quick responses. The dedicated success manager is excellent, very responsive, addressing questions, and issues well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Nice platform at a cost

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Service Desk throughout our organization. The platform allows us to monitor work coming into each department and gauge problems that arise. We can easily pull reports to track the number of tickets and areas they tickets live in. Departments that use Solarwinds include Accounting, Compliance, Talent Management (HR), Talent Development (Training), support departments for sales, and IT. We've been able to cut down on calls flowing through different areas and can reference old tickets to see how frequently an issue happens.
  • Ease of Use
  • Filters
  • Branding/Customization
  • Time Tracking
  • Customization of Changes
  • Faster Support
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for ticket management in many areas. It allows customization of roles, categories, sub-categories, required fields.

Restricting roles can become difficult. Example: Our HR department uses the system and sensitive information can go to their department so other departments are restricted from viewing their tickets. Testing has to be done to ensure it is locked down appropriately and training of staff is very repetitive on how to accurately move tickets from one department to another because of the restrictions we have set in place.
When Solarwinds purchased Samanage we noticed a change in support. Response times were slower--we're talking DAYS. I love the chat feature but have had experiences where I have to follow-up each day. Another issue we experienced was an issue with emails coming into Solarwinds Service Desk for one of our departments--the response was very slow, so slow that we ended up removing the department from Solarwinds and coming up with a different solution because their day-to-day job was impacted.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

SolarWinds Service Desk review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds Service Desk across multiple departments for various collaboration needs and workflows. It was originally used for out IT support desk but quickly expanded from there. The solution has notably improved over the past couple of years, particularly within the mobile application, and is very useful for task management and reporting.
  • Task management.
  • Collaboration.
  • Communication.
  • Simplify workflows.
  • Streamline ticket versus service request.
  • Simplify photo attachments in the messaging blocks.
The solution is well suited for an IT help desk, facilities task management, and misc shop floor requisitions.

It could use improvement from an IT perspective with including a network scanner, asset management, and cost management. These are all things that the system offers but we do not use it for currently.
When we have contacted SolarWinds Service Desk support via the online chat the representatives there have been surprisingly knowledgeable and helpful. Whether we need help with a business challenge in the system, or are exploring a new process that we are investigating they are very receptive and helpful. I'd also commend the timeliness of their follow ups to questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

The best service desk I've ever used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Service Desk for service and support requests in IT, Human Resources, Facilities, Marketing, and Graphic Design. It helps us gather information for requests and organize work for teams to address based on issue priority. It also solves a frequent need for form-driven workflows, which was a crucial reason for selecting the product.
  • Form-driven workflows help us easily create repeatable processes that get done consistently.
  • Having an integrated asset inventory makes it very easy to connect people, assets, and support requests for ongoing reference.
  • Automation via the API allows us to avoid manual work for tasks ranging from renaming a request based on entered data to having one request kick off more specific tickets for departments (e.g. a New Hire request automatically kicks off a New Computer request and a Keys and Badge request).
  • Automation of request status is clunky. As far as we've seen, we can't set the automation based on who is assigned to the request, so we've had to work around it by using roles.
  • Contracts is off on its own and isn't integrated with assets.
SolarWinds Service Desk has been great for our small IT team - easy to use and powerful enough to grow into more complex functionality. It's also been especially helpful for our Graphic Design team, which is similarly small and receives many requests that it has to track through a predefined process. Our HR team has valued it as a way to convey information to IT and Facilities when people join or leave the organization.
We've had nothing but positive experiences with everyone with whom we've interacted, from our account managers to customer support to community management. They're all committed to having a great product that serves their customers' needs and making any process as easy as possible.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

Didn't meet expectations.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software was intended to be used by our user base to launch help desk tickets that our support services team could respond to. We decided to remove this software from our company based on the lack of support we were receiving from Solarwinds sales and technical team. The help desk support software was not working correctly and lacked a good user interface for our technical team.
  • Easily launch a ticket.
  • Easy to access from any computer system.
  • Support desk interface needs to be redesigned, more friendly.
  • More detailed information in tickets before they are submitted.
If it were to be redeveloped, I could see it being used in any help desk support area.
Part of the reason why we discontinued this software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Solarwinds Service Desk for helpdesk incident response and user support, including user self-help via an extensive catalog of how-to documents in addition to the ability for users to search the system for similar issues. Though currently in use primarily by the IT department, we are in the process of building out HR workflows for on- and off-boarding of employees.
  • Easily allows multiple technicians to manage and track helpdesk tickets.
  • The ability to customize the system is very nice.
  • A very good end-user portal for tracking their tickets and self-help
  • Incident automation is limited compared to other systems.
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for incident workflows, which are very useful, especially where multiple people are involved at different levels (e.g. from approving requests to being assigned specific tasks within the workflow). Unfortunately, the implementation of automation is limited compared to systems we have used in the past and often leaves us unable to automate simple and routine tasks.
We have not had any need to contact support, but have found their online forums very beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk--a game changer for our University!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially purchased Solarwinds Service Desk solely for our Information Technology department. The popularity quickly grew and it is now used in various departments across our University to create a universal/seamless service desk. These other areas include facilities, housing, business office, HR, legal, etc. Incidents can easily be routed between departments and we find that very helpful!
  • Transparency--giving our customers the power to communicate and receive updates is essential and this tool does an excellent job of that.
  • Self Service--a full-functioning service catalog and knowledge base is the key to any successful service desk!
  • Intuitive yet simplistic design--this tool is very easy to navigate while also being packed full of features.
  • Chat support--this is actually just beginning to roll out, but development is still needed. This has the potential to be a major means of communication once fully functional.
  • Certification--these are huge in our industry. It would be nice for SolarWinds to create a web-based training that took new technicians through the platform and focused on using the tool and best practices. A nice little certification at the end means a lot to entry-level technicians.
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for any organization that is looking to offer a modern, highly functional, and easy to navigate service desk. We have implemented it across almost our entire University and it has become instilled in our business processes. It does a great job and our customers are very happy using and navigating the platform!
Customer support is very responsive. Chat support is available to system administrators and they usually respond back fairly quickly. This team also does a great job of rolling out continual improvements, system modifications, and quality of life improvements. Every time I see the new announcements I am excited to see what has been improved or expanded upon!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Service Desk is being used by our IT dept. to:
  1. Open tickets
  2. Track tickets
  3. Initiate service requests
  4. List hardware inventory
This resource allows us to track all IT-related incident requests to ensure our end users are receiving the proper support. Likewise, the inventory section allows IT to quickly glance at all the devices we have and observe the various specifications associated with those devices.
  • Generate Tickets
  • List Inventory
  • Generate reports
  • List risks associated with the various hardware devices in our inventory
  • Track the flow of an open ticket
  • I'd like to be able to rename a device in the inventory section
Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for the professional who is looking for a singular hub for all IT service desk management. This platform has exponentially increased our response time for our end users. Before Solarwinds, our IT dept. had used various notepads to track "Tickets," which lead to less accountability as well as lost items.
I haven't really needed support for the application so I can't truly judge the support. However, in speaking with our representative, I have found Solarwinds staff to be very insightful and willing to accommodate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Service Desk Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It deals with internal helpdesk queries. Centralizing our workload and providing a brief overview of daily helpdesk stats.
  • Reasonably simple interface.
  • Some useful function to automate some of our incoming queries.
  • No MFA, this is a must and we have been asking for this for two years.
  • limited ability to edit incidents within the list view. In some cases, you will need to either mass edit, or drill into the incident themselves.
  • It would be good to have the ability to send your changes via email and have it record them to the system.
We primarily use Service Desk for managing helpdesk tickets, helpdesk reporting, and maintaining system changes. The main concern is the inability to use MFA and restricting users to only being able to log with only a username and a password. This is particularly important for administrator accounts.
Generally, it's been good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk - Easy, breezy, beautiful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it to track both IT incidents and requests within our organization. Previously we didn't have any single source to both view and track tickets, and Solarwinds SD was able to centralize this and allow our users a easy method to place tickets. This is primarily with the IT department with plans to expand outward.
  • Incident management.
  • Problem management.
  • Asset management.
  • ITIL processes.
  • Chat (is there just can be improved upon).
  • Clear sectional breakdown between INC and REQ.
Solarwinds Service Desk's ease of use is easily its top selling point. Where other products may have a large learning curve, Solarwinds Service Desk blows the stigma of "hard to use" ticketing systems out of the water. If you've ever used a social media platform before, you can use Solarwinds Service Desk.
Support is quick and easy to access. You can start a chat with their support team from any of the pages, makes it really simple!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Solarwinds Service Desk is easily an amazing software, could use a couple tweaks though.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Service Desk to manage all of our IT Support requests. We have 2 users who use it to address issues among the institution. Users will email Support Requests into our Service Desk and we will address them. We also use this for any change requests for hardware or software maintenance. With this service desk we can keep better track of resolution times and who is doing what on which workstation. We also use this for inventory management rather than use the bot we use other assets as it is less invasive and we don't have to install anything on every workstation. More work on our side but we also have more detail and only exactly what we need for each asset.
  • Support Requests
  • Change Requests
  • Service Monitor
  • Solutions
  • Change due date from overview more easily.
  • Track repetitive requests automatically.
Receiving and managing tickets, this software does this very well. More so than other ITSM software I've used. Also, change requests are a breeze as well. Something it doesn't do well is asset management. We elect not to have to install software on every workstation so we have to use other assets in the program and its clunky and difficult to edit items quickly or easily. The import from CSV is nice though.
I would give it a solid 8. The software is wonderful and easy to use but it could use a couple of extra features and more easily change due dates on the ticket overview. The software is solid and easy to use though and already has tons of great features. The due date and the other assets being easier to manage would make this 10/10.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Great ITSM and ITAM Tool!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Solarwinds Service Desk as our main ITSM and ITAM tool. Its used throughout the company and specific groups have more accessibility for views on specific incidents or trends for better visibility. It allows us to manage tickets for incidents and also service requests. We can also manage our assets as well.
  • Ease of use.
  • Filtering of incidents.
  • Modern UI.
  • ITIL standardization for tickets. (Incident vs Request)
  • Granular settings.
  • More customization on Automations.
For smaller companies or environments, it greatly excels. It has basic to intermediate functionality that addresses basic functions for managing tickets and assets. It could use some more granular settings in different portions for a larger enterprise environment. It meets the demands but could use more bells and whistles. The recent improvements are better.
They do respond back and assist very quickly with common questions. If there is an outage or a big issue that occurs with SWSD, they can sometimes take longer to respond or reply with a resolution regarding the issue. Most of the time they'll reply back with a notice stating that they have notified their engineering team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Low cost and easy to use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds for our entire organization. It works well and was an easy-to-learn system. We are using it for our employees to submit tech tickets which require repair.
  • Easy portal to manage.
  • Quick customer support.
  • Low cost.
  • It works well for our needs.
It works well for our remote users to submit tickets via email and respond back to us.
Customer support always responds quickly to our requests.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (94)
8.8
Expert directory (55)
6.9
Service restoration (56)
6.5
Self-service tools (84)
7.5
Subscription-based notifications (66)
7.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (74)
8.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (85)
6.5
Configuration mangement (72)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (79)
7.0
Policy and contract enforcement (61)
6.9
Change requests repository (63)
8.2
Change calendar (43)
7.1
Service-level management (71)
7.6

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is a cloud-based service desk for IT or any other department.

A single platform for service management, IT asset management and configuration management, Service Desk is ITIL-ready and complete with Incident, Problem, Change, and Release Management capabilities. Advanced reporting modules empower users to analyze trends, monitor service quality, and continuously improve service management processes.

SolarWinds Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureSelf-Service Portal
Has featureSoftware and Hardware Inventory Tracking
Has featureRobust and Flexible Reporting
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureContract and License Tracking
Has featureIntegration with Over 200 Applications
Has featureCode-Free Customization
Has featureSLA Management

SolarWinds Service Desk Screenshots

SolarWinds Service Desk Video

SolarWinds Service Desk Integrations

Zendesk, OneLogin, Zapier, Google Apps, Salesforce

SolarWinds Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Live Chat
Forum/Community

SolarWinds Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Support for 40+ Languages