SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
110 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 02, 2020
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

This is a very important tool as its helps in areas where expensive SAN storage is capitalized for the virtual environment. Its saves processor and ram over utilization and has helped us expand the life of the hardware between refresh. We will continue to leverage it as we plan our virtual roll-outs in the future.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Capacity planning is quite powerful because you can find out when you are running out of resources as well as how many VMs you can fit
This includes the what-if analysis that use 5 key metrics. Telling you the date for a possible outage, it's really helpful and gives an in depth view on the actions to take with different priorities
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

It allows us to better predict our storage growth.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2020
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

The virtual capacity planning and management capabilities in SolarWinds Virtualization Manager enable you to efficiently plan, manage, budget, purchase and report on the capacity of shared resource pools in your virtualized environment.
Yes our oraganization is much benifited with having the solarwind virtualization manager.The snapshot feature to Pdf is much use ful and presentable to track the curren status and showcase the user how the stats been running and figured.The prediction for project what is going to come and whats the situation in current status is a acceptable capacity of it
Read Swathi Aljala's full review
July 17, 2020
Neil Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We have used this heavily when the SQL DBA's request extra resources on a regular basis
Read Neil Taylor's full review
April 22, 2020
Brian Ambarita | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

When the customer has a several VM, sometimes they don't use the capacity wisely (a big resource for small application, and smaller resource for hectic server). With the SolarWinds, you can make it effective.
Read Brian Ambarita's full review
May 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been used to run several different "what-if" scenarios. These scenarios have allowed us to provide executive level management reports on specific scenarios for various projects, including growth due to new departments, purchases, and other similar types of tasks for spinning down projects and departments. Overall, the ability to forecast growth patterns for year over year growth has allowed for better budget number approvals.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We have not currently used this but look forward to exploring. This will be a vital tool for budgetting and also ensuring the company is aware of predicted future spend is needed.
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

It has helped us to plan for future expansion of our install base.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Enables the team to see storage issues before they arise. Delve deeper into resource consumption patterns and trends, and record and report them appropriately.
It is more convenient for the team with VMAN to show future investment requirements to support anticipated IT growth.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We haven't used this tool--I will have to look into this and see how we can benefit from this.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We keep a close eye on our environment and have not had to use this capability much. It is nice that it does give us the ability the create scenarios and what would happen to our environment if they do occur. It could be useful in forecasting what our environment should be like in the future.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We have utilized this feature to plan for future projects or expansion projects based on need. By having the capability to put in these what-if details it allows us to show leadership in an easy to view fashion what impact changes being made by projects being proposed will have on our environment.
Read this authenticated review
July 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

I have not used this feature yet. I am not sure if others here have used it or not. I think a lot of companies are too busy getting things setup and working, and then fixing problems. Seldom do you have the time and resources to really evaluate and plan for the future
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

I knew that capability existed. I never really leveraged it though. My environment doesn't really change all that often, and we're small enough that we don't often have too many cooks in the kitchen. Therefore, changes to our virtual environment are pretty limited in not only frequency but to who is actually allowed to make such changes. I never really explored the "what-if" scenarios provided by VMAN. Never really thought I'd need it, so I guess we never really explored how to get any value out of that feature.
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We can see if there is a high CPU issue with network devices.
The graphs are pretty detailed and we have increased some links from 1Gig to 10Gig with the help of SolarWinds.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Some of the tools on the storage front were critical in how much time we had left on our storage. It really helped determine when it was time. Moving the monitoring from one storage system to another was easy. Excellent Value.
Read this authenticated review
July 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Capacity planning is always an exercise in over-estimating growth, fighting with finance to fund your wild estimates, and then having to "settle" for something closer to budget with the hopes that you'll be able to make it. VMAN watches your environment, measure how your specific environment operates, and then allows you to enter your OS requirements and/or expand your hosts to see what new VMs you can support.

Stop defending your decisions with your gut and experience. Use data-driven decisions to get the hardware you need.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

We have used capacity planning scenarios against several of our production hosts to gauge how long the current resource will last. We have some expansions coming up in our production environment and VMAN has been fantastic in giving us an insight into just how much of a resource will be needed based on the current configuration and inventory.
Read Rob Bates's full review
November 16, 2018
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Capacity

Capacity planner has been a very useful tool to estimate growth and budget. For instance, when we knew about upcoming projects and estimated the number and size of VMs required, we use this info as an input to the capacity planner. The output was the upgrades in terms of memory, processing and storage required. What-if scenarios are used and the outputs are used by technical team and management to make the best decision on the what projects to select, what projects to drop and what budget is required for VM infrastructure upgrades.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review

What is SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)?

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM)

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No