SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2020

Get a better picture with SolarWinds Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

SolarWinds VMAN has provided us with increased uptime as we have been able to see issues as they start happening, such as a service spiking in resources used, underperforming hardware, or resources being over-allocated to a specific virtual machine. The reporting has provided more of a proactive response to issues within our deployments as opposed to reactive. No longer being reactive allows us to get ahead of user issues, and more frequently before users know there are issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Brief but to the point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

Has moved our focus from troubleshooting to projects. The ability to switch on/off VMs, manage VM snapshots, and change CPU memory/resources and VM migration.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Awesome product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

It has definitely increased the speed and effectiveness of our response to problems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

SolarWinds Virtualization manager: a flexible way to manage your virtual environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

It provides us great information on if systems have been sized correctly and when to adjust the virtual machine accordingly. The ability to see which VMs have a snapshot helps us keep them to a minimum to prevent issues from a storage perspective. When VMs have large snapshots, it can cause problems with virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Virtualization Manager consolidates the views of many environments into one easy-to-use solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

It consolidates the view of our virtual environments into one portal and in those views makes it easy to find details on different aspects of the environment. This has allowed us to better keep an eye on what is happening in the environment and quickly track down cause and provide a resolution to the problem.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Current version isn't what it used to be!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

With v7.1, I could see how a VM or host was performing currently, as well as what the historical performance of the server was to identify abnormalities. This would give me a place to start diagnosing issues or making environmental changes to remediate. While I knew the capability existed to have VMAN initiate changes to our virtual environment (and even make them proactively, if we configured it to do so) I prefer to make the changes myself through the normal virtual interface than to have a 3rd party app do that blindly. Call me a control freak, but.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been designed to reduce downtime and fix issues faster. This is crucial in preventing down time. This helps with retaining your job/position. The reporting feature is extremely helpful when requesting new resources/storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Trying to wrangle your private cloud environment? Never send a child to do the work of a VMAN!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

Everything is virtual, right? Wrong. That host is running on hardware in some data center. VMAN gives you insights into the physical health of your hardware. Failed RAID controller? VMAN can show it to you. Problems with a fan or other hardware? No problem.

VMAN also gives you insights into cluster performance so you can know whether you are stressing the CPU allocation (over-commit is OK, but not too much!) or memory allocated. Storage under duress? You can see IOPS and other performance metrics.

If you need visibility into your virtual environment, VMAN is the way to shed some light on that black box.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

VMAN is the Man

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

We have regained control of our extensive VM environment, we're spotting host and VM issues far quicker than we ever have done in the past. We can manage VMs direct through the Orion console too, which gives a quick turn around if an issue needs addressing.
Read Rob Bates's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Look forward to using long term

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

Downtime is money. Product is its website so being able to proactive monitor the entire estate allows us to minimise downtime and keep on top of all the BAU whilst spending more time on project work further improving the infrastructure.

Also massive improvement for our internal systems which benefits our end users maximising productivity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Virtualization Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

It showed us when one of our hosts CPUs were not working properly.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Essential for a solid Virtual environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

Most of the common issues with VMs are RAM overload, not enough processing power, or virtual disk full. These minor issues can hardly be detected by checking on every virtual server OS. With SolarWinds VMAN these issues are detected and shown on the dashboard. With custom alerts on certain thresholds, emails or text messages will be sent out to control the issue before the service/application goes down.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Jez Marsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds VMAN Review - A service provider perspective.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

If your host to guest ratios are not balanced, you could have a lopsided provision. This could lead to hardware failures, as one host is heavily utilised, whilst others are not. VMAN considers this, and will recommend moving guests between hosts accordingly, leading to longer service life for your host servers. With VMAN you can schedule the movement of guests between hosts, and have the software action the move itself, without the need to have an engineer action this change.

Whilst it's clearly sensible to have an engineer check the move was successful after the fact, you can rely on VMAN to get this job done.
Read Jez Marsh's full review
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager helps buisness go forward

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

VMAN saves time and man power. I can do the work of two or three with the product at my disposal. I fin it to be very helpful and an asset to the organization. VMAN has given insight, save time and money, as well as become a standard for skills required to have now going forward.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
Austin Nickens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Great starting tool but not not the best for automation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

It has helped identify issues and resolve some things. One of the more major drawbacks is its inability to identify specifically what the issue is. I.E. if you want a notification if one of your esxi hosts enters a warning state. You will get an alert if someone enables SSH on the host to do maintenance. It would be great if it identified the actual cause of the alert instead of "Red" or "Yellow" for its status. Granted you could mute the host but even if you don't its nice to know the actual issue before you login to vcenter otherwise its just hey there is a problem but i dont know what it is.
Read Austin Nickens's full review
Turnor Wootton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Our VMan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

We recently went through an effort to further integrate Hypervisor into our existing VMware environment. VMan allowed for the smooth planning of necessary resources that were required to migrate from one technology to the other, There are no specialized skill sets required for an administrator to work within both virtual spaces. The information is clearly displayed and the issues on either are clearly identified.
Read Turnor Wootton's full review
Jennifer Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager - Good to GO - Go NOW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has definitely reduced downtime. We have triggered notifications when disk space utilization reaches 80 %, giving us plenty of time to react to a server or workstation.

The CPU Ready state and Data Store I/O is such a great tool to assist in fine tuning resources allocated to the clients. The tools have allowed me to manage the efficiency of the environment and to better manage the resources that I purchased and promised that would work! The tools tell me when we have excess or garbage in the environment, thus allowing me to get rid of the trash before it impacts performance.

Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Swathi Aljala | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Can handle it in a single glass pane

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager has been utilized since we started having a large percentage of our servers move from physical to virtual. It helps us manage the servers and get important statistics from them. A lot of our server team also use it for troubleshooting and capacity planning.
Read Swathi Aljala's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2018

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager great for monitoring your Virtual Environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager Impact

At one point multiple Virtual Machines were having issues including our Email and skype for business servers which our essential to our organization. I was able to use Virtualization Manager to discover that the host they were on was getting maxed out and was able to migrate machines to another host to relieve the workload on the host that they were on.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review

About SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)

SolarWinds® Virtualization Manager (VMAN) is an intuitive tool for monitoring, performance management, capacity planning and optimization.

Complete visibility into your environment

Manage both VMware and Microsoft environments - on-premises or in the cloud - with a single tool. VMAN also visualizes how your virtualization connects to application, server, and storage infrastructure for faster troubleshooting.

Clear path to maximize performance

Get insight into the performance, capacity, configuration, and usage of your virtualized infrastructure, including hosts, VMs, clusters and datastores. VMAN delivers recommendations to address active or potential performance issues.

Address virtualization issues efficiently

VMAN can execute a variety of management actions, including power on/off, suspend, reboot a VM, or take and delete snapshots. You can migrate VMs to a different host, and VM disks to a different data store.

Reclaim resources for improved performance

Reclaim virtual resources instantly with VM sprawl alerts and recommendations. VMAN can automatically find idle, stale, and zombie VMs as well as orphaned VMDKs to free up storage space. VMAN can guide you in right-sizing your VMs to recapture CPU and memory resources for further savings.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Features

Has featureHypervisor specific active alerting
Has featureVirtual machine resource planning
Has featureActionable recommendations for remediation of active and predicted VM performance
Has featureVisibility into VM Sprawl reclaims resources
Has featureRemediate issues without having to log in to a hypervisor
Has featureIntuitive dashboards that highlight the most important issues

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Screenshots

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Video

View an overview of SolarWinds Virtualization Manager and some of its key features including dashboards, alerts, performance monitoring, capacity planning, and VM sprawl.

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Downloadables

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Integrations

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Competitors

Dynatrace, Nutanix AOS, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo), VMware vROps

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No