Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
206 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 54)

Dan Sarauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Spiceworks, all the spice and none of the heartburn.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Teamwork has many features that I wish Spiceworks had, but Spiceworks has the price that can't be beaten. There are some things that would make it better, but those are things that I can train my technicians on and we can live without the operational cost associated with Teamwork.
Read Dan Sarauer's full review
Barrett Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Spiceworks is a great free option

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not looked at anything recently due to how well Spiceworks has been working. Other parts of campus are using other programs that one day may be forced upon us. At the moment we are very happy with what we are using and will not be looking elsewhere if we do not have to.
Read Barrett Ford's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Spiceworks tool for inventory auditing of hardware and software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We love the JitBit side of things for the help desk component of our system. We have a lot more customization available with JitBit vs. the Spice works application. The features for JitBit are the ones we are looking for, and as such, we have moved our ticketing to JitBit Solution. Spiceworks continues to provide good inventory management.
Read this authenticated review
BART HUNTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Hey Security Practitioners! Here is the perfect free tool to install for performing a risk analysis on your network!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I searched for other free network scanners on the web, but they could not compare to what I got with Spiceworks. Other free scanners I found were:
1. Limited in the number of devices it could scan on your network. This would not work for us.
2. Provide a trial period for their scanners. This would not work because we needed something permanent with all the features working.
3. Were difficult to install. You needed a high level of linux/unix experience to get their solution to work.
4. Required a small agent installation on every device you wanted to scan. This was out of the question since we couldn't touch every desktop to install their agent.
Read BART HUNTER's full review
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Great Free Product

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • LogMeIn Central, Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) and SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management
We are in the process of looking at Remote Monitoring & Management tools as we are growing so rapidly. We have been checking out demos & reading reviews of these other applications and they are way more feature-rich than Spiceworks - however, they come at a cost and will probably have a bunch of features that we aren't going to use. Spiceworks was great while we were small, and used in conjunction with WSUS, Ninite, VNC, etc it has done its job but we now need a more comprehensive solution that encompasses multiple solutions into one single system.
Read Sam Othman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Spiceworks is an awesome community with great tools and features.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks does so many things in a variety of ways that it is hard to compare it to other products. Keep in mind that freeware has limits, but if the Spiceworks tools fit your need and management doesn't complain then go for it. Paid software has plenty of benefits, but you can't go wrong with the price and community that supports Spiceworks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Spiceworks: Need to know, Need to go

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks is a tremendous help when it comes to finding a solution to a problem in IT. The other search engines are a good tool but at Spiceworks, you can get down to the point and get answers from people who have more knowledge and experience than you. Then you can learn at the same time and grow your knowledge of whatever it is you were looking at.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Spiceworks for Spiceheads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks was free and already in place at the organization. Users are comfortable with the process and transparency offered.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

The best software that I didn't have to open a helpdesk ticket to get to work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I looked at a few other options a long time ago and never really found anything that was simple and effective like Spiceworks and that gave me the community of people that are passionate about IT. I had a Kace setup and it never really got off the ground because I needed someone to just figure that part out and never had the time to make it work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Spiceworks makes submitting and managing IT support requests a breeze!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks was a better solution for our team since it provided a quick and easy system for managing basic IT support requests. We didn't need something overly complex or customer facing, just something to better manage our internal needs. Because of this, something simpler and lower cost was a better solution for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Spiceworks Help Desk -- a basic ticketing system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The main commercial alternative product evaluated was Zendesk, which was not selected because of the price. The second alternative researched was the osTicket, which was not selected as it was complicated to configure. With hindsight, I would suggest using osTicket instead of Spiceworks, as Spiceworks' use of SQLite as a database instead of MySQL created multiple issues. Currently, our organization is looking into a solution called incident IQ, which is specifically targeted at K-12 organizations. During the Spiceworks selection, our understanding of our requirements for the ticketing system was limited. Spiceworks allowed us to train our personnel in use of the ticketing system for free as well as to better understand our needs. It is perfect for this purpose.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks: the best help desk and inventory program by far, and its FREE!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks was the best solution by far, and it was also free, so it was impossible to beat. Also the community of IT pros using Spiceworks is huge and makes it even more of a clear winner. When it comes to help desk and inventory software, there was not really any competition when comparing to Spiceworks.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks is a friend to the small IT shop

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used a specialized home based Notes database system prior to Spiceworks. That system was a kludge and outgrew what it originally was supposed to be. We had to make things work in it. Spiceworks is a generic system that while basic allows you to track your issues. It's a good system to use for a small shop.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Excellent Software, Outstanding Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Out of the software that I have listed above, Spiceworks was selected over the others solely based on price. That does not mean that Spiceworks is less effective, it is just that the others have different features, but you pay for those features. Purely as asset management, Spiceworks is excellent, and it suits my needs.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Spiceworks - build your IT HelpDesk services in minutes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Based on pervious experience with different solutions we were reviewing BMC Track-It, ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and a few less common solutions. We were comparing needed functionality vs deployment process vs price.
Spiceworks won based on two of three points.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Add a lot of Zing to your network with Spiceworks Inventory

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't evaluate any other inventory management software since I knew about Spiceworks Inventory before I came to this position. I had no need to evaluate any competing product. Spiceworks Inventory, in my opinion, fills a void in this market, which is why it has been so successful. Inventory software is either very expensive or very "dumb" in that you have to enter your assets manually.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks is worth it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Formstack was used prior to my start and it was not effective. Spiceworks has been the only product I have used in the last 3 years. It is cost effective, easy to set up and is loaded with features for the price (free). The inventory feature allows you to build device and user history that helps support management. Can't beat it for the price for a small organization.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
Erik Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Spiceworks is an Amazing Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have never seen anything like this, so I can't compare it to anything. I would recommend it to anyone that is just starting out, or to anyone that has been around for awhile. It's just an awesome tool.
Read Erik Hall's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (36)
8.8
Expert directory (31)
8.3
Subscription-based notifications (27)
8.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (29)
8.1
Ticket creation and submission (36)
9.2
Ticket response (35)
9.2
External knowledge base (34)
9.2
Internal knowledge base (31)
8.3
Customer portal (30)
8.8
IVR (7)
9.0
Social integration (18)
8.1
Email support (29)
8.6
Help Desk CRM integration (19)
7.9

About Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Competitors

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No