Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
206 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

BART HUNTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Hey Security Practitioners! Here is the perfect free tool to install for performing a risk analysis on your network!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Considering that we have a limited budget and resources for security tools, Spiceworks has had a positive ROI in our department because we can use it to perform risk analysis on our network without the overhead cost of purchasing a similar tool to perform this function.
  • The reporting feature of Spiceworks is great. You can create your own reports based on the criteria you want on your network, such as searching for workstations that run a particular operating system or systems running an outdated antivirus program.
  • The real-time monitoring is an important feature. I do not have to initiate a scan of the network after I have setup Spiceworks to scan a subnet. It will automatically scan the network and identify new systems being attached to your network.
Read BART HUNTER's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Spiceworks Works!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Spiceworks has been positive in the we are able to really monitor our responsiveness.
  • Spiceworks has been positive in that we are not able to see the responses sent by technicians in once place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Spiceworks: Need to know, Need to go

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has helped reduce time to solve a problem resulting in money saved.
  • It has helped learn new technologies.
  • It could help with its software but we don't use it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Spiceworks for Spiceheads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Streamline our ticket management (routing/automatic assignment).
  • Produced KPI reports on demand.
  • Zero cost = perfect ROI.
  • Powerful search function for past tickets based on ticket number or description etc.
  • Integrates well with SMTP email system.
  • Customization with add-on increases functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

The best software that I didn't have to open a helpdesk ticket to get to work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has helped us maintain our IT infrastructure better.
  • We have had a huge ROI as we still use the free version and have not removed the ads. I am sure we will do this at some point but it hasn't popped up yet.
  • I also finally have people using the helpdesk for about 90% of the issues in the business, we still see the occasional call, email or drop by for something. But usually, we also create a ticket.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Free can be better!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • There is no cost, so ROI is only based on setup time, which makes it cheap.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Spiceworks Help Desk -- a basic ticketing system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Spiceworks saves a significant amount of money for the organization of our size. I do not know the exact numbers quoted for alternative ticketing systems, but the amounts were significant.
  • Spiceworks does its job -- tickets are tracked, time spent by IT support is recorded, inventory is useful.
  • Troubleshooting and configuration is a long and arduous process due to the weak support and lack of configuration options. Many man-hours were spent on fixing issues with the ticketing system itself.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks: the best help desk and inventory program by far, and its FREE!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • On the positive side, Spiceworks has streamlined our inventory processes, and having everything within an app makes the IT teams' lives so much easier now.
  • On the positive side, Spiceworks has made getting support and tracking the status of your support request way better for everyone across our whole organization.
  • Also on the positive side, the lives of the IT support staff have been improved because it makes it easy to log all your support information in one place, and then also be able to search and find it later if you ever run into the same problem again down the line.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Excellent Software, Outstanding Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Spcieworks has saved me time looking for certain machines that might be online—positive.
  • Spiceworks is free, so I am able to manage my inventory for no cost —positive.
  • I can quickly look up what computer a user is logged into when troubleshooting over the phone. This is priceless—positive.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Spiceworks - build your IT HelpDesk services in minutes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • First of all - money saving. For our needs Spiceworks does what we want from the solution. We do not need to spend money for any other solution implementation, development, etc. Saved money can be easily transferred to more necessary resources.
  • Implemented solution gives the data for analyzing and optimizing IT support performance. Reduce number of tickets just by understanding the common issues and resolving root cause of the issues for past tickets. Based on received information upgrade business and IT procedures that allowed company to make more money.
  • Limited number of features and options due to free solution - doesn't allow us to make it better and to receive additional positive affect
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (36)
8.8
Expert directory (31)
8.3
Subscription-based notifications (27)
8.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (29)
8.1
Ticket creation and submission (36)
9.2
Ticket response (35)
9.2
External knowledge base (34)
9.2
Internal knowledge base (31)
8.3
Customer portal (30)
8.8
IVR (7)
9.0
Social integration (18)
8.1
Email support (29)
8.6
Help Desk CRM integration (19)
7.9

About Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Competitors

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No