Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
206 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

Dan Sarauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Spiceworks, all the spice and none of the heartburn.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses Spiceworks to track our IT inventory and help desk tickets along with the projects we have going in our department. We selected it because it has a broader community than our previous solution and offered better adoption and ease of use for our technicians.
Read Dan Sarauer's full review
Barrett Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Spiceworks is a great free option

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used it exclusively as a ticketing system to start with. As we have gone on and refined things we are slowly adding to it more and more. At the moment, the main use it still as a ticketing system, but we have recently added inventory information and started using the purchasing section of it. It is being used in the Department of Residence at the moment.
Read Barrett Ford's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Spiceworks tool for inventory auditing of hardware and software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT Dept is using Spiceworks. It provides us with a great level of detail right down to the memory in a workstation or laptop. The tool provides us with all the information we need to make informed decisions about hardware and software on any of our devices.
Read this authenticated review
BART HUNTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Hey Security Practitioners! Here is the perfect free tool to install for performing a risk analysis on your network!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use it to scan our entire network infrastructure. I use it primarily as a tool to inform me of our security posture. It identified gaps such as workstations without antivirus installed and even how many workstations running a particular operating system is on our network. This tool is very cost efficient (free to be exact) that a security practitioner can use to perform risk analysis. I highly recommend this for security administrators who have a limited budget but still need an effective tool to help in identifying security vulnerabilities on their network.
Read BART HUNTER's full review
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Great Free Product

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are mostly using Spiceworks to complete auditing and reporting across our network. IT automatically inventories all of our devices and lets us see at a glance the key metrics and measurements that we need to know. We can also put specific notes regarding each device to help us to keep track of things such as hardware faults/fixes/upgrades. We have over 250 devices and counting so it is critical we keep track of these types of things in a central location.
Read Sam Othman's full review
Sam Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Spiceworks Rulez!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Spiceworks for IT helpdesk ticket submission, reporting, and as a knowledge base repository. We are also using it to track purchases. It is used solely in IT as a way to keep IT issues at the forefront and as a way for users to keep in constant contact with the ticket owner.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
Jamie Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Spiceworks, can't miss!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks in a variety of ways.
It addresses our need to maintain software and hardware inventories, as well as deal with any of our help desk ticketing. We have, in the past used it in order to ensure that products and services are currently online. The other thing that it addresses is our ability to put any questions out to their community and have valuable feedback provided by community members.
Read Jamie Abraham's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Spiceworks Works!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spiceworks is being used to manage our general mailbox for our service team. Our mail program did not keep replies with the incoming messages, and messages could be deleted from our inbox and not be able to recover them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Free and Wonderful!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use this for both maintenance and IT for their free cloud ticketing system (on.spiceworks.com) in order to keep things organized. I also use it for asset tracking and am a member of their online community. This has been a blessing for us, as all of it is free. The community is also very knowledgeable, being able to help me with various problems I run into. Also, I am a member of what they call SpiceCorps, which is a local group of IT people who meet up periodically, just be social, share knowledge, and general friendship.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Spiceworks is an awesome community with great tools and features.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks as our help desk ticketing system and as a resource for learning and troubleshooting issues. The help desk ticketing tool is very useful and cost effective, it is free! The Spiceworks community has been great, there are a lot of technical professionals and the wealth of experience is tremendous.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Spiceworks - if I can use it, you can too!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks as a help desk/ticketing system for tracking problems, questions and feature requests throughout our entire organization. We have a few users that manage the ticketing system (myself included) and we encourage everyone at our company to submit all IT related concerns through Spiceworks. It helps us to address anything from a question on system usage to requests for new hardware, or software troubleshooting as well. It also gives us the opportunity to track these requests and see what issues are trending, and time spent on certain issues as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Spiceworks: Need to know, Need to go

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Spiceworks to help get answers on questions that I cannot seem to find answers for elsewhere. Spiceheads get together and help each other out and it is a wonderful thing. There is so much knowledge between the users that it is priceless. I use it here in the IT department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Spiceworks for Spiceheads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks to manage help desk tickets and prepare KPI reports on the type of issues faced by our internal users as well as the time it takes to resolve and the notes on the resolution. We also link KB articles where relevant. In addition, we also use Spiceworks to manage Contact Us tickets we receive from our website and combined with ticket rules, assign them automatically depending on the issue subject and category
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

The best software that I didn't have to open a helpdesk ticket to get to work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

WE have been using Spiceworks in our environment for about a decade to inventory hardware and software. We also rely heavily on the Helpdesk for internal users to open tickets for help with IT needs. This has been a great software to use in this way for multiple reasons. It has been great with getting more people in the IT department to be able to assign tickets and leave notes and other things that email just doesn't do.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Free can be better!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spiceworks is being used as an inventory management system for us. We use it to both track our count of devices and if devices are online. This has made life much easier with monitoring switches and servers without having to pay for a service. We have tried some paid services, but have found that this meets our needs currently. We also use this as our ticketing system since it pulls in all the inventory automatically.
Read this authenticated review
Martha Batruny | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2019

Most effective and powerful ticketing platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I would say Spiceworks is very easy to set up. It is no doubt simple but most functional tool. It's clean, clear and polished interface is highly appreciable. It consists of incredibly amazing monitoring features. It is indeed incomparable free IT software with plenty of benefits. It works more than our expectations. It comprises of a variety of customization options with wonderful performance.
Read Martha Batruny's full review
Leonard Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Spiceworks works best for smaller MSPs.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spiceworks was used as a help desk system, inventory management, as well as a knowledge base center. It helped us manage customer tickets as well as assign workflow for each tech. Techs were assigned a ticket, they commented on each ticket, and they provided documentation for that particular issue. We were able to discuss tech issues with other people using Spiceworks which helped us solve issues faster.
Read Leonard Johnson's full review
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Just a thought

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Well, we used it for monitoring device switches. We were in the process of looking around for something to use. This free version was a good start. The problem we had was just finding something to do what we wanted since our network is pretty large.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Spiceworks makes submitting and managing IT support requests a breeze!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks to manage all IT support requests for our team. Since we recently expanded our team and users are across the entire United States, we needed a better solution to manage these requests. Previously users would text, email, AND call for assistance which did not allow for easy tracking of requests for the IT team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Spiceworks Help Desk -- a basic ticketing system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks (on premises, not the cloud version) as a ticketing system across our entire organization. One of our locations is also using Spiceworks Inventory to keep track of workstations, printers, and other devices. We have more than 10+ IT support techs, 1000+ users submitting tickets, and 10000+ supported devices (1 for 1 school district). Users submit tickets via email. IT support mostly uses the web interface; the mobile app is used less often. Management tracks time spent on tickets via reports. Nothing groundbreaking --a normal ticketing system in a mid-size organization.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks: the best help desk and inventory program by far, and its FREE!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks for two purposes: for its inventory tracking capabilities to keep track of all our our IT infrastructure, and also we heavily use the help desk feature across our whole organization, which allows us to manage and track support issues and their solutions all within one central place, and to easily recall past issues and their solutions.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Spiceworks is a friend to the small IT shop

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spiceworks as our help desk ticketing solution. We tried it for Inventory and the scanning slows down the network. If you scan your network do it during off hours so not to impact your users. However the Help Desk ticket software is great as well as linking to the spiceworks.com site. Spiceworks.com has a great forum to get answers for your tech issues.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Excellent Software, Outstanding Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization encourages the use of open source software when it can be used to cut costs. We were testing multiple asin set management softwares, and I was asked to test Spiceworks as I had experience with it. I set up a virtual server, installed Spiceworks and began to test. Let me say from the start that scanning in all the devices it in my plans took an incredible amount of time, but now that they are scanned in, it is not that bad. Spiceworks is built and maintained by all of the "spiceheads" on the Spiceworks forums, and they are very proud of what they have built, as well they should be. This software, in my opinion, is second only to PDQInventory for asset management.
Read Michael Timms's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (36)
8.8
Expert directory (31)
8.3
Subscription-based notifications (27)
8.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (29)
8.1
Ticket creation and submission (36)
9.2
Ticket response (35)
9.2
External knowledge base (34)
9.2
Internal knowledge base (31)
8.3
Customer portal (30)
8.8
IVR (7)
9.0
Social integration (18)
8.1
Email support (29)
8.6
Help Desk CRM integration (19)
7.9

About Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Spiceworks offers a set of free tools for IT network management and help desk support ticketing. The inventory management system essentially provides comprehensive device information for asset management. The Spiceworks Network Monitor provides information on observed IT for problem tracking and server performance monitoring. And finally, the Spiceworks Help Desk Software lets IT personnel stay on top of issues across the network with a ticketing system. Help desk roles with role-based permissions and notifications allow tasks to be allocated across team members. If the user wishes to host Spiceworks apps and tools locally, then they are free. For cloud-based service, Spiceworks bills $12 per IT user per month, or $10 monthly per user if paid annually.

Spiceworks was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Austin, Texas, also with a European headquarters in London (since 2012), and is generously backed by multiple investors, most notably Goldman Sachs.

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Competitors

Spiceworks Ziff Davis Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No