SCOM Reviews

93 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

SCOM a good but dying product.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCOM is used to monitor all our Windows servers and their services. Those include:

- AD
- SQL
- Exchange
- Azure
- Lync
- Office 365
- Windows 10
- Windows File Services
- Windows IIS
- Windows Servers
- DNS

It is currently critical to our Windows monitoring throughout the company. The fact that the SCOM licenses are included with SCCM licenses is a plus for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Exceptional enterprise management software for Windows OS!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Microsoft System Center Operations Manager as a data center monitoring system, but only for operating systems developed by Microsoft. We are also utilizing aggregated servers to monitor multiple networks across our internal Windows domain. Since SCOM provides some rudimentary monitoring metrics for OS-related services we are using these to stay aware of the performance, configuration, and security situation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

System Center Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Microsoft Systems Center Operations Manager in our organization mainly for event management and monitoring. It is used for all the server infrastructure and services.
Read this authenticated review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

SCOM to manager all your systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Microsoft Systems Center Operations Manager in our organisation mainly for event management and monitoring. We are able to integrated Operations Manager with multiple systems from different vendors and can apply actions if appropriate. Along with this, we use Operations Manager with Squared Up to provide different teams with dashboards to provide clean views for their systems.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Good product to monitor your Microsoft landscape

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft System Center Operations Manager is being used for our office automation department that manages not all, but many user-related services and servers. To be able to manage efficiently and monitor the landscape of servers, System Center Operations Manager is used and has been for a couple of years now. It is a big product so it mainly makes sense if you have quite a few servers and/or services to monitor.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

SCOM offers a good monitoring solution for Microsoft environments

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCOM is currently being used to manage and monitor Microsoft Windows, Linux/UNIX, and iSeries environments. It is currently used by the Infrastructure team to gain visibility over CPU, disk, network reach-ability. It is the de-facto monitoring system for the enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Lightweight and helpful product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCOM helps us in many ways. According to the software and application that our institute needs, this helps you to check and monitor and give proper support to the dedicated application or software.
Read this authenticated review
Joe Spradlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Microsoft Systems Center Operation Manager, pricey & powerful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We installed and configured Microsoft System Center Operations Manager back in 2013 and have been using it ever since. We purchased both Microsoft SCCM and SCOM. Both take time to set up and configure properly for your individual environments. We are a small business with approximately 170 workstations and around 17 servers, so both products are a bit overkill for us, but it is really nice to have the technology that the big guys use and take advantage of all the power they provide to our IT Department. We use SCOM primarily as a watchdog to monitor servers and workstations and keep us abreast on how they are performing. It monitors processor and memory usage as well as hard drive storage consumption. It also lets us know if a server goes off-line and send us an email so we can attend to the issue proactively.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Nishant Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

SCOM - A complete suite of solutions for supporting an Infrastructure's complex issues

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCOM is being used by our IT department in order to perform monitoring of our Infrastructure resources like physical servers, virtual serves, and network resources. The alert produced by SCOM helps us identify the root cause of the problem and quick resolution can be provided to it. SCOM also helps to look at the performance and alert view of a particular resource on a back date for audit purpose.
Read Nishant Arora's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Is SCOM fit for your monitoring requirements ?

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

System Center Operations Manager is used as the major monitoring tool for all the infrastructure alerts and application alerts. Whenever some new feature goes live in the production environment, SCOM is also configured to raise alarms on any unwanted happening on those apps or infrastructure components. SCOM helps my organization cater to our need for a monitoring dashboard and CI's health data sourcing tool from different components of the production environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2019

SCOM Monitors Everything

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is our go-to when it comes to monitoring our entire data center. We have two data centers in active mode with more than 600+ servers and we have about 15 users using SCOM. I decided to implement SCOM because of its integration with virtual and physical servers, including SAN and network equipment from almost all the top brands. Another big plus for us were the workflows. You can create workflows so when SCOM detects an issue, it can auto execute tasks to solve the issue.
Read this authenticated review
Andrey Perepelitsyn | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

Great monitoring extension for your System Center

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

System Center Operations Manager is used across IT departments of our organization. It provides monitoring capabilities for our on-premise infrastructure and part of Azure-based VMs across the VPN gateway. SCOM helps us to monitor our hosts 24*7 and address issues immediately when an alert is triggered. Flexible configuration of SCOM allows us to set different threshold for alert in prod and non-prod environments
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
Fabrizio Volpe | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

System Center Operation Manager in a Medium Sized Company, a review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is a System Center Operations Manager (SCOM) 2012 deployment used to monitor and support a four nodes Hyper-V cluster (Windows Server 2012 R2). The company uses it in conjunction with other System Center products, like Data Protection Manager and Virtual Machine Manager. All the production servers are virtual and running on the above solution (last count was over 100 virtual machines). SCOM is not in use for the management of workstations or clients.
Read Fabrizio Volpe's full review
Rogee Fedeleon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2016

SCOM 2012 Review from a sort of smart guy.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SCOM to monitor our servers and network devices. It is used mainly by the technical IT staff. Other than the hardware, we also use it to monitor services and certain event log messages. We also use SA Vision Live Maps to visually represent our environment. There are several flat screen TVs in strategic areas (including our 24 hour help desk), that display the SA Vision Live Maps view. When a monitor goes red it is reflected in the Live Maps view and the appropriate team is notified.

For the network monitoring component we use Jalasoft Xian Network Manager which also works in conjunction with SCOM. We do not use the native SCOM network monitoring feature as Jalasoft does a better job of monitoring the network objects.

Read Rogee Fedeleon's full review
Brody Kilpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2015

Operations Manager from a System Center Expert

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

System Center Operations Manager is being used to monitor our Microsoft Windows, VMWare, HP hardware, and critical application environments. We have been successful in monitoring in-house applications as well products we have purchased through native, purchased, free (community) and in-house developed management packs. It is being used primarily by our IT organization, but we also have some people outside of IT that use System Center Operations Manager. We have used System Center Operations Manager to increase the stability and reliability of our IT organization as well as automatically correct issues it discovers.
Read Brody Kilpatrick's full review
Roman Yuferev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2015

Best centralized monitoring platform!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In fact, we are developing custom monitoring solutions on the System Center Operations Manager(SCOM) platform for our customers and, of course, we are using it to monitor our IT infrastructure. So my feedback will include both parts. We have many cases, when SCOM helps our enterprise customers to address the following problems:
1. Address Availability and Performance issues of the hardware and software components of IT infrastructure (e.g. Exchange, SharePoint, SQL Server)
2. Monitor custom services, created inside organization.
3. Detect IT services outages and quickly resolve it
SCOM is not just a tool - it's IT monitoring platform with great extensibility options and it can solve much more problems with right customization.
Read Roman Yuferev's full review
Murad Akram | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2015

SCOM or not to SCOM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using System Center Operations Manager 2012 R2 to manage and monitor our Windows and Linux platform as well as using SCOM APM to monitor multiple .NET and JAVA applications.
Read Murad Akram's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

SCOM is the Bomb!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company just finished up a proof of concept of Systems Center Operations Manager. We are going to adopt SCOM for monitoring the health of our Team Foundation Servers and SQL Servers. We decided to take a look at SCOM due to some issues we had with our TFS Servers which resulted in severe latency throughout the system. We realized that we needed to get a better handle on monitoring the system health. Our goal is to have a holistic view of the system, to be able to predict and correct issues before they happen, or at the early warning signs of degradation. We need to be able to capture various performance metrics and retain a history to establish the baselines of what healthy looks like and understand when and why the system trends away from that healthy baseline. Keeping our development shops running at their top pace is vital to our business. TFS and SQL are the lifeblood of our SDLC, therefore the development teams efficiency rely on these systems. Long term goal is to roll out SCOM to other areas of the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

For Large Windows Enterprises with Resources there is No Better Asset Management Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SCOM is essential in managing our 15,000+ desktops and 3,000+ laptops across our enterprise in 17 countries and over 30 locations. We do asset management, Windows and security updates patching as well as software deployment. Recently in the last two years we have been working on utilizing SCOM to also manage our enterprise servers across four data centers and have been migrating off WSUS to deploy updates and patches.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2016

SCOM - Bigger than the sum of its parts

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use SCOM within the IT Department to provide Event Alert Management across our whole server estate. Each sub team will have there own alerts and for me particularly as the DBA team we have the SQL packs installed to provide additional information about the Instances on servers. From my point of view we use this system primarily for Alert Management. We have it set up to send an email warnings when disk space is low and if an instance is offline and also for performance metrics that might need further investigation (such as high wait times).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (19)
7.7
Database monitoring (21)
7.6
Threshold alerts (21)
8.1
Predictive capabilities (18)
6.9
Application performance management console (18)
6.6
Collaboration tools (17)
5.4
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (19)
7.3
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (17)
6.6
Virtualization monitoring (18)
7.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (20)
8.4
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (20)
8.1
IT Asset Discovery (17)
7.8

About SCOM

Microsoft's System Center Operations Manager (SCOM) is a monitoring and application performance management option. It supports both datacenter and cloud-based systems monitoring, and can recommend possible root causes or corrective actions when impactful thresholds are crossed on the monitored environment. SCOM also features adjustable thresholds for alerts, as well as a variety of prebuilt monitoring integrators with additional third-party integrators available.

SCOM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No