TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.,Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage. Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent. Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.,Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting. In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed. Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.,9,It has helped improve reporting capabilities from traditional to modern ways to view data. It has helped in terms of using new maps and charts for devices availability and which is unique and insightful. Interactive features attracted our client to look up business intelligence and other areas.,9,8,9,9,9Tableau fits our needs as a small companyAt Vinyl we use Tableau to develop dashboards for insight into our business. It houses most of our day to day reporting and we are now developing our KPI system on it.,Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL Ease of use and administration Relatively small footprint for hardware Reasonable pricing,Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database,9,We recently reduced our licensing due to scaling down the company and Tableau had a reasonable process to accommodate us. The most recent version we use (10.4) has been much more reliable - looking forward to the 2018 version that we will implement next month. Many times changes in version cause our analysts headaches by changing small things we don't always catch at first and we don't have the means to run a test environment for all of them.,8,8,9,9,9Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!Tableau Server is being used at Ellie Mae as a platform for not only sharing enterprise level Tableau dashboards created by our BI developers, but also as a location to host business specific data sources for end users to create their own ad-hoc visualizations.,Allows for easy sharing of data and actionable insights with an extremely user-friendly visual interface Acts as an environment to implement and enforce data governance with centralized and certified data sources Easy to deploy, scale to our specific needs, and monitor,Enterprise level implementation is very pricey Dashboard layout changes if the screen resolution of the Tableau developer is different from the end user's screen resolution Embedding is limited and difficult,8,Quick implementation Slow adoption High deployment cost Skilled developers necessary,7,10,8,10,10Usable Analytics for the Right Price!Tableau Server is the backbone for emergency preparedness analytics for the Louisiana State Department of Health. As the lead agency for public health and medical services during an emergency, we collect a large amount of near real-time information from over 1,500 healthcare facilities. This data includes operational statuses, power statuses, fuel usage and needs, and census/bed availability. Tableau takes this data stream and transforms it into user-friendly visualizations for staff both in the field and in the State Emergency Operations Center. On a day-to-day basis, Tableau provides tools and interactive maps to our state trauma network so that they can determine the most appropriate facility for high risk patient routing.,Summarize complex data in an easy to understand format. Very fast idea/need to realization timelines. Ability for end users to interact with data sets, giving them filters, groupings and other tools to get the data they need.,Tableau's mapping capabilities are "almost there". We would love to have Tableau able to function as our sole GIS product. Each version of Tableau brings us closer to that goal. We would like to have the ability to schedule data transfers. The new Data Prep tool is step in that direction. We still have need to produce lists of summarized data. Making this process a little more straightforward would be nice.,10,We believe that our deployment of Tableau Server has had a large positive ROI for emergency preparedness. While not formally calculated, we have done comparisons with other leading analytics vendors, and there is no competition - Tableau Server is clearly the value leader. The major contributor to our positive ROI has primarily been the time to deployment and the time to adoption for critical visualizations and dashboards.,8,10,9,9,9,20,1,Easy access to critical resource dashboards in one environment. Tableau combines data from multiple applications into one dashboard to monitor resource utilization in user-defined areas and user-selected hospitals. Dashboards that allow staff to interact with certain data sets, using the powerful visualization tools in Tableau. Data-driven maps that allow trauma network managers to identify appropriate hospitals based on the trauma location and service status within user-defined areas. Data maps include hospital status details in a pop-up when hovering over the map point.,We have been able to extend the functionality of the mapping capabilities of Tableau beyond what is normally available. Using data-based calculations, we have been able to provide end-user interactive capabilities to specify location areas and hospital resources. We are able to use Tableau for data listings that enable us to manage compliance with other vendor usage limitations. We are able to use Tableau to identify duplicates in databases. This allows staff to keep databases current and error-free.,We would like to expand the use of Tableau's mapping functionality. We would like to extend the use of the Tableau mobile app by our regional coordinators. We are working at automating and pushing visualization updates to other applications.,10,No,Price Product Usability Analyst Reports,We wouldn't change a thing. Now that we know more about the potential competitors, the more Tableau server stands out. As indicated earlier, it has consistently demonstrated high value to our developers and end-users.,Third-party professional services,No,Change management was a small part of the implementation and was well-handled,User acceptance. This was really an issue of providing training and showing how regional coordinators managing hospital resources could use Tableau. There were no other significant issues. The implementation went smoothly and timely.,10,No,10,No,We had an issue with a particular mapping capability. We wanted to be able to map hospitals state-wide, provide a pop-up of service status upon hovering over the map point, and allow the end-user to specify the location of a trauma and use a slider function to define hospitals located within a radius in miles of hospitals. Tableau support was able to provide a solution, and this dashboard is a key resource used by our state-wide trauma network to provide routing suggestions to EMS agencies.,Dragging and dropping data variables to quickly and easily create visualizations Tableau's "Show Me" function that suggests visualization types based on the data source. Easily mapping data that doesn't have latitude/longitude in the data set. Tableau can use county and/or zip code to quickly provide a map of the data.,The mapping function in Tableau continues to improve, but it can't accommodate the use of layers as data filters just yet. Tableau is not really meant for the generation of lists from data. We've found ways to do it, but it takes someone with technical skills.,Yes,10Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual AnalyticsTableau Server is being used across multiple business platforms at Wells Enterprise. We have used it as our primary analytics tool and as our primary catalyst to provide self-service analytics to all business platforms. Our most active departments currently include Revenue Managment, Finance, Sales, Quality Assurance.,Tableau Server is a must-have if you want to easily foster an environment of collaboration of dashboards and analytics built by your end users. Tableau Server has a strong and very flexible security model. Upgrades and maintenance of Tableau Server are fairly painless. Tableau Server provides a one-stop-shop for Tableau Desktop users to find data to work with.,Content Discovery can be challenging. Unless users have security to data sources or dashboards, they often don't know they are there. Tableau Server doesn't natively support the ability to send PDF versions of dashboards to users that aren't Tableau Server users. An open source project was developed called VizAlerts that provides a workaround for this, but it should really just be built into the product. There are no phone numbers to call if you need support. The only way to contact Tableau Support is via email. If we have an urgent problem we typically need to reach out to our account executive to get appropriate attention.,10,Our corporate quality team was able to attribute a 10% improvement in the number of customer complaints to the increased visibility that Tableau was able to provide their team.,8,9,9,8,10
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
574 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

Tableau Server
574 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 91 of 574 Tableau Server ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 91)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sachin Basappa profile photo
November 02, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server is compatible and flexible in terms of data connection and usage.
  • Tableau Server has the option of configuring on-site or cloud, which is excellent.
  • Tableau Server is economical and easily adaptive in nature.
  • Tableau Server could be made more flexible in terms of data connection and ease of use in terms of documenting.
  • In Tableau Server, the workbook folder itself should be made available with share options to web embed.
  • Groups should be enhanced with more test case scenarios so organizations can easily follow the protocols.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Eli Massey profile photo
October 31, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau fits our needs as a small company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access to our data sources such as MS SQL and MySQL
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Relatively small footprint for hardware
  • Reasonable pricing
  • Better exposure of the engine components for diagnostics and reporting
  • Having to uninstall the product and reinstall to upgrade is odd and cumbersome
  • Bring the command line options into a modern web admin interface with better information like backup processes and history
  • Admin reporting on use of data sources and ability to search out dependencies in the database
Read Eli Massey's full review
Shoaib Yari profile photo
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for easy sharing of data and actionable insights with an extremely user-friendly visual interface
  • Acts as an environment to implement and enforce data governance with centralized and certified data sources
  • Easy to deploy, scale to our specific needs, and monitor
  • Enterprise level implementation is very pricey
  • Dashboard layout changes if the screen resolution of the Tableau developer is different from the end user's screen resolution
  • Embedding is limited and difficult
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie profile photo
October 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Usable Analytics for the Right Price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Summarize complex data in an easy to understand format.
  • Very fast idea/need to realization timelines.
  • Ability for end users to interact with data sets, giving them filters, groupings and other tools to get the data they need.
  • Tableau's mapping capabilities are "almost there". We would love to have Tableau able to function as our sole GIS product. Each version of Tableau brings us closer to that goal.
  • We would like to have the ability to schedule data transfers. The new Data Prep tool is step in that direction.
  • We still have need to produce lists of summarized data. Making this process a little more straightforward would be nice.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
David Vander Leest profile photo
October 12, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server is a must-have if you want to easily foster an environment of collaboration of dashboards and analytics built by your end users.
  • Tableau Server has a strong and very flexible security model.
  • Upgrades and maintenance of Tableau Server are fairly painless.
  • Tableau Server provides a one-stop-shop for Tableau Desktop users to find data to work with.
  • Content Discovery can be challenging. Unless users have security to data sources or dashboards, they often don't know they are there.
  • Tableau Server doesn't natively support the ability to send PDF versions of dashboards to users that aren't Tableau Server users. An open source project was developed called VizAlerts that provides a workaround for this, but it should really just be built into the product.
  • There are no phone numbers to call if you need support. The only way to contact Tableau Support is via email. If we have an urgent problem we typically need to reach out to our account executive to get appropriate attention.
Read David Vander Leest's full review
Dan Colbert profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The visuals are beautiful and powerful, and the interface is easy to understand.
  • The Tableau REST API provides a very functional programmatic interface between our web app and the back-end server.
  • We use Tableau Server for Linux, which greatly simplifies the installation and maintenance of the server architecture.
  • While I have some thoughts for improvements in the Tableau Desktop application, the server environment is a powerful, growing, and improving software. No significant cons.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Ryan Akana profile photo
September 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - The One Stop Shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau makes it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place.
  • The ability to leverage the software with the company's growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau Server is the same from day one when we purchased the software, and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely well for an organization with such large growth.
  • The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.
  • I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (TXT, CSV, Excel, PDF, or other) that I can either email, place onto a network share, or other transfer method.)
Read Ryan Akana's full review
Sandeep Munagala profile photo
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Experience with Tableau"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Saves plenty of time in Development Work.
  • Better Visualization
  • Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases, if not create your data set, using WDC functionality
  • Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.
  • Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will encourage more usage in our company
  • Enabling the XML format of the dashboard will help easily share the dashboard, like in COGNOS
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes profile photo
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "An essential part of our service offering."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs.
  • Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism.
  • Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.
  • .\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled.
  • Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract
Read Brett Mendes's full review
Satish Dharmarajan profile photo
September 04, 2018

Review: "If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having access to the server, the report developer only needs to send a link to the report to her audience, not the entire physical file or data behind it.
  • The reports are dynamic. As the data behind them changes, the developer is not forced to send new reports each time.
  • The reports remain dynamic. This allows for the user to look at what is pertinent to them and not necessarily a static version of the report. They can apply necessary filters as needed.
  • The report user also has the ability to create their own Tableau reports using the data exposed to them through the dashboard. Self-empowered users are that much more effective in their own work product!
  • Scaling Tableau Server comes with a big price tag.
  • In an organization that does not already have Tableau as its enterprise reporting tool, driving adoption is very tough. People tend to slink back into the comfort of excel analyses.
Read Satish Dharmarajan's full review
Charles Bryan profile photo
August 23, 2018

Tableau Server: "Big Fan Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible deployment
  • Ease of administration
  • Security controls
  • Would love the ability to manage/maintain a uniform business semantic layer for consolidation of business rules/logic
  • The interface with folders/projects/workbooks is difficult to navigate and not intuitive
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock profile photo
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self service publishing - Before Tableau Server, most reporting was done by central report writers on a request basis, and the backlog never ended. Now a great deal of the reporting is "self service" within the departments, freeing IT Business Intelligence (BI) staff to focus on the reporting tasks requiring more expertise.
  • It is VERY easy for folks to publish their creations from Tableau Desktop directly to Tableau Server.
  • Starting with "template" projects, many users don't have to have Tableau Desktop but can simply "clone" the template (data connections "baked in") and create new dashboards with nothing more than their browser. This is very cost effective.
  • We have created several Enterprise Mobile Applications for iPhones/iPads and it is very easy to integrate analytics provided by Tableau Server into our custom in-house applications. This GREATLY simplifies the development of sophisticated mobile BA tools.
  • They are already moving toward not requiring any special desktop software to create dashboards from scratch. It will be nice when they finally get there. The biggest hassle we have with getting new Tableau users installed is that Tableau Desktop requires Admin rights on the PC to install. We don't generally allow that, so end users have to get PC support staff involved to do that installation. All of that goes away when Web UI users of Tableau Server can do everything folks with Tableau Desktop can do in terms of creating new projects from scratch.
  • Tableau Server could be "Dockerized" allowing easier installation. Containerization is the wave of the future as opposed to "Full Stack" installations.
Read Don Babcock's full review
Matt Fette profile photo
August 10, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server allows our Business Analysts to customize existing dashboards or connect to published data sources to do their own what-if analysis with needing our BI group to intervene to get them what they want. Careful thought, you need to get their adhoc results validated.
  • Tableau Server allows users to save filter settings and to save various workbooks/dashboards as favorites, either for themselves or publicly for all users to use.
  • Tableau Server allows the ability to subscribe to a dashboard and receive updates.
  • Tableau Server allows you to access the statistical data regarding what users are accessing, who is accessing it and how often, very useful
  • Tableau Server allows you to monitor the status of data source refreshes and to view errors that may have occurred.
  • Tableau server has an extravagant set of commands that allow you script many day to day reports, backups, etc.
  • Enhanced ability for end consumers to do ad-hoc analysis using near/pseudo English what if's. This is huge. We create dashboards working with end users. Afterward the business has some changes and the dashboards do not unless we/IT changes them. So the dashboards we develop pretty much follow the 80/20 Pareto rule. Over time, they only temporarily cover the most integral 20%. Unfortunately the other 80% can usually be ball parked.
  • The DB write-back capability that just came out in 2018.2 sounds very cool. Hopefully it's well documented and not too complex to implement/use.
  • Fix the TSM upgrade script for 2018.2. This is probable not the right forum.
Read Matt Fette's full review
Michael Tam profile photo
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A world of visualizations at your fingertips."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to create neat visualizations in a professional way.
  • Easy to publish workbooks to Tableau server for global access
  • Different ways to group and slice the data
  • Custom SQL are not intuitive when dealing with Cloudera connections
  • Simple data tables are harder to create than complex visualizations
  • Large extracts are not very performant
  • Cubes are not supported on Tableau
Read Michael Tam's full review
Justin Pulley profile photo
October 30, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server is the best of the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User management; you have a plethora of options built in (LDAP, Domain, SAML, etc.) for SSO and user management.
  • Dashboard Hosting; you have the option to host your dashboard in a few different ways. You can embed it as part of a larger web page, have it emailed automatically, or view it directly on the server.
  • Web Editing; while not as robust as a full fledged desktop I can see that it is edging that way. The web editing is great for fast, small, on the fly edits during a working session with a customer.
  • Installation; the latest iteration was an absolute nightmare to install. It failed to install several times.
  • Web Editing; while it is okay at small edits it would be a very nice feature to have an integrated solution that is as robust as desktop.
  • User Management; in certain aspects user management could use a small boost. Have a setting that allows Active Directory / LDAP based users be removed/deleted from the server automatically instead of forcing a script be written and deployed. If the user no longer exists in the AD or LDAP group they should be removed vice set to inactive as an option.
Read Justin Pulley's full review
Yigael Chetrit profile photo
October 29, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Serves Organizations Well!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Centralized reporting
  • Role-based security
  • Data visualizations
  • Animated time series visualizations
  • Custom filtering
  • Easier D3 integration
Read Yigael Chetrit's full review
Kishore Ummadisetti profile photo
October 15, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau is an easy to use yet powerful analytics tool. We have created 100+ dashboards for our clients in a short time.
  • Tableau supports multiple data connectors to pull data from almost any database, and CRM tools. We are able to pull data into Tableau from multiple databases.
  • If your business is looking at a tool to put data in the user's hands and avoid IT requests overhead around reporting, Tableau is the tool.
  • It is not easy to subscribe to dashboards or send e-mails outside of Tableau users. We have to use open source solutions like VizAlerts to make this happen. I believe for a tool like Tableau this should be an out of box solution.
  • Even though Tableau is an easy to use tool, there is still a solid learning curve to get familiar with the use of Tableau. One should invest a good amount of time to get an organization to adapt to Tableau, especially if the organization hasn't already used similar tools already.
  • Tableau Desktop is powerful. Tableau Web Portal provides a lot of the same functionality as Tableau Desktop, yet there are lots of gaps.
  • Data blending is one of the more powerful features. However, this only works with limited data. If you are blending a million rows of a data source, we found it very difficult to blend.
Read Kishore Ummadisetti's full review
Thomas Cook profile photo
September 28, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Democratizes information. Any user can share information.
  • The community is supportive.
  • Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed.
  • The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find.
  • The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration.
  • Backup and restore is slow.
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Duran Roberts profile photo
September 13, 2018

Tableau Server: "Tableau review for in home medical visit company use."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Geo-mapping
  • Data drill-down
  • Sharing dashboards online
  • Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc.
  • More Graphs and Charts
  • Better color customization
  • Maybe a search bar for tools or other items
Read Duran Roberts's full review
David Brotton profile photo
August 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Controls over who can see what report
  • One place for everything
  • Custom controls over various datasources
  • Better mobile
  • Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers
  • A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources
Read David Brotton's full review
Sharon Graves profile photo
August 10, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts.
  • Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance.
  • Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.
  • As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
Bob Ladd profile photo
July 16, 2018

"Laddy's Tableau Server Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info.
  • It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance.
  • The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.
  • Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards.
  • Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client.
  • It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
Michael Downs profile photo
July 13, 2018

"Tableau Server Review from a daily user."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly get a feeling on how a line of business is performing by looking at a page.
  • Out of the box easy to use, setup and produce visual data.
  • Numerous ways to visually show the same data.
  • Tabular reports could be expanded.
  • Ability to quickly produce drill-down reports for quick numbers vs. visual displays.
  • The ability for any staff to have access to only view reports at no additional cost.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Anand KK profile photo
November 02, 2018

"Tableau Server Admin Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward
  • The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances.
  • The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.
  • Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux.
  • Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment.
  • Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.
Read Anand KK's full review
Scott Peterson profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Flexible easy to use analytics platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics.
  • Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine.
  • Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.
  • Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server.
  • More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.
Read Scott Peterson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (74)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (62)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (75)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (73)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (44)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (70)
7.8
Publish to Web (66)
8.9
Publish to PDF (66)
7.8
Report Versioning (54)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (67)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (67)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (50)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (73)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (71)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (72)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (43)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (59)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (47)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (39)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (51)
7.6
REST API (29)
8.1
Javascript API (25)
8.0
iFrames (30)
7.6
Java API (7)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.8

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server allows organizations to deploy self-service analytics with a scalable, secure, enterprise-grade platform.

The vendor says key benefits include:

  • Deploy the way that makes the most sense for your organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux even integrate with your existing security and authentication protocols.
  • Provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, reports and dashboards, all with the scalability and security requirements you require.
  • Automate processes and workflows.
  • Manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights.

In other words, Tableau Server aims to give you the visibility, security and controls you need to empower your people with data. The vendor says Tableau helps organizations of all sizes unleash the power of their two most valuable assets: their data and their people. The product aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese