TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau - The One Stop ShopWe use Tableau Server as the main repository for all reporting needs for the entire organization. It is used by all parts of the organization from IT to Human Resources. About 90% of the data is pulled from our various SQL databases within the organization. With less than 10% of the data coming from external resources such as clients/vendors that are merged into some of our reports. We also use Tableau to pull data for some of our third party applications since Tableau provides so many options for connecting to different data sources. We also use Tableau to create reports for data that resides in Microsoft SharePoint. It has basically become the one stop shop for all our reporting needs. We are looking forward to Tableau adding a scheduling feature to produce extracts from their application some day soon in the near future, wink, wink! =-) I will also say this that the software from an administrator is level is very simple and easy to maintain. There are a few maintenance items that must be completed such as running tab admin - cleanup since there is so much information that is stored in the cache of the Tableau server but you can schedule that to run on its own. It easily integrates with Active Directory making it easy for us to manage user permissions to the various projects in Tableau. We manage all permissions at the project level and we do not go below that as it become a nightmare if you were to do that at the report level. Save yourself some time and headache by managing it at the project level. Tableau allows you to setup a PROD, QA and DEV environment under one license, which is nice. When we perform an upgrade we will normally copy our PROD server and rename it to QA server to perform the upgrade. Once the QA environment is upgraded we have a few of our analyst from the different parts of the organization perform rigorous testing to ensure reports, functionality, processes and so on are working correctly in order to avoid any interruption to the business. Once everything has been signed off by the testers we perform a back up of our PROD server and after perform the upgrade. We haven't had any issues with our Tableau servers ever and we are always on the latest releases for Tableau. We perform two to three upgrades in a year in order to take advantage of all the latest and greatest that Tableau has to offer in order to give you an idea of how easy it is to upgrade Tableau.,Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau make it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place. The ability to leverage the software with the companies growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau server is the same from day one when we purchases the software and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely for an organization with such a big growth. The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.,I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (txt, csv, Excel, PDF or other) that I can either email, place on to a network share or other transfer method).,10,Tableau is costly but I will say this: You get what you pay for when it comes to Tableau, Tableau Desktop and other Tableau products. I haven't been disappointed with anything Tableau has done or has to offer.,10,10,10,10,10Experience with TableauWhen I started with GOGO, Tableau was one of the BI tools used across the companym where we have distributed usernames to multiple people for their development or usage. I played a key role to enable Tableau as Enterprise tool with AD Authentication (OKTA Integration,) which helped increase a huge traffic to the Tableau Server. Most of the departments like Finance, Supply Chain, Airline customers, etc., use Tableau. Only department that I see we are lagging in is HR. HR is looking forward to automate the dashboards but due to connectivity issues with Workday (as Tableau doesn't have a Workday connector) we are unable to automate the dashboards. Supply Chain department are very much impressed with the tool as they have lot of work reduced at their end. Also, they have better tracking of the vendor details & gap analysis of the stock purchase which saved good amount of money for the company by avoiding penalties for late delivery.,Save plenty of time in Development Work. Better Vizulization Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases if not create your data set using WDC functionality Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.,Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will help more usage in our company Enabling the xml format of the dashboard will help easy transportation of sharing dashboard like COGNOS has,10,We have standardized to use Tableau as BI Tool across the company which saved money by killing other BI tools Enabling Tableau as a enterprise tool which helped in saving resource time on user support for various tools,10,7,10,8,10An essential part of our service offering.We use it as a part of an Analytics-as-a-Service offering for our clients. Clients purchase the service and we create an analytic database that brings together a number of source systems supporting customer service operations, from that database analyses are run based on various hypotheses and visualized using Tableau Server, which clients have purchased seat licenses to log in to and interact with. The administration is handled by myself and my team. The business problem being addressed is not specific to customer service operations, but we utilize it exclusively within that environment; namely, that 5-6 source systems (Automated Call Distributor, Workforce Management System, Quality Assurance System, Customer Satisfaction Surveys, Customer Relationship Management, etc.) are interdependent and yet exist in silos. While all of them are required to operate a CX operation, one can only look at the effectiveness of an operation through the lens of the individual systems. We design a data model to allow querying of data across systems in order to create a full "customer journey" so that the customer experience can be seen from start to finish.,Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs. Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism. Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.,.\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled. Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract,10,We've created an entire revenue stream with Tableau Server as an essential element; a few years ago analytics wasn't even something that clients paid for and now it's several hundred thousand dollars per year in revenue.,10,8,9,9,9If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!At Rollins, the Tableau Server is used within the Marketing area and primarily with the intent of sharing dashboards/ analyses with the Marketing Leadership Team and at times with leadership outside Marketing. It allows us to share analyses, with the option to dive deeper where necessary and based on the audience/ questions of interest.,Having access to the server, the report developer only needs to send a link to the report to her audience, not the entire physical file or data behind it. The reports are dynamic. As the data behind them changes, the developer is not forced to send new reports each time. The reports remain dynamic. This allows for the user to look at what is pertinent to them and not necessarily a static version of the report. They can apply necessary filters as needed. The report user also has the ability to create their own Tableau reports using the data exposed to them through the dashboard. Self-empowered users are that much more effective in their own work product!,Scaling Tableau Server comes with a big price tag. In an organization that does not already have Tableau as its enterprise reporting tool, driving adoption is very tough. People tend to slink back into the comfort of excel analyses.,9,7,8,8,3,5Big Fan ReviewTableau Server is used today as our BI system of choice, primarily for analytical purposes. That is, our healthcare analysts use Tableau for ad-hoc analysis purposes. However, we likely will be converting our standard BI solution to Tableau in the near future.,Flexible deployment Ease of administration Security controls,Would love the ability to manage/maintain a uniform business semantic layer for consolidation of business rules/logic The interface with folders/projects/workbooks is difficult to navigate and not intuitive,9,Development time is significantly less in Tableau relative to many competitor platforms. We have numerous examples where we have transitioned existing assets to Table and done so in 10-20% of the original development time. Big ROI factor there. Training and ease of use is simple. Not a large learning curve. Server deployment could not be easier.,7,7,7,8,10
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
521 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

Tableau Server
521 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 70 of 521 Tableau Server ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 70)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
September 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - The One Stop Shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau make it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place.
  • The ability to leverage the software with the companies growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau server is the same from day one when we purchases the software and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely for an organization with such a big growth.
  • The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.
  • I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (txt, csv, Excel, PDF or other) that I can either email, place on to a network share or other transfer method).
Read Ryan Akana's full review
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Experience with Tableau"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Save plenty of time in Development Work.
  • Better Vizulization
  • Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases if not create your data set using WDC functionality
  • Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.
  • Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will help more usage in our company
  • Enabling the xml format of the dashboard will help easy transportation of sharing dashboard like COGNOS has
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "An essential part of our service offering."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs.
  • Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism.
  • Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.
  • .\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled.
  • Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract
Read Brett Mendes's full review
September 04, 2018

Review: "If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having access to the server, the report developer only needs to send a link to the report to her audience, not the entire physical file or data behind it.
  • The reports are dynamic. As the data behind them changes, the developer is not forced to send new reports each time.
  • The reports remain dynamic. This allows for the user to look at what is pertinent to them and not necessarily a static version of the report. They can apply necessary filters as needed.
  • The report user also has the ability to create their own Tableau reports using the data exposed to them through the dashboard. Self-empowered users are that much more effective in their own work product!
  • Scaling Tableau Server comes with a big price tag.
  • In an organization that does not already have Tableau as its enterprise reporting tool, driving adoption is very tough. People tend to slink back into the comfort of excel analyses.
Read Satish Dharmarajan's full review
August 23, 2018

Tableau Server: "Big Fan Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible deployment
  • Ease of administration
  • Security controls
  • Would love the ability to manage/maintain a uniform business semantic layer for consolidation of business rules/logic
  • The interface with folders/projects/workbooks is difficult to navigate and not intuitive
Read Charles Bryan's full review
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self service publishing - Before Tableau Server, most reporting was done by central report writers on a request basis, and the backlog never ended. Now a great deal of the reporting is "self service" within the departments, freeing IT Business Intelligence (BI) staff to focus on the reporting tasks requiring more expertise.
  • It is VERY easy for folks to publish their creations from Tableau Desktop directly to Tableau Server.
  • Starting with "template" projects, many users don't have to have Tableau Desktop but can simply "clone" the template (data connections "baked in") and create new dashboards with nothing more than their browser. This is very cost effective.
  • We have created several Enterprise Mobile Applications for iPhones/iPads and it is very easy to integrate analytics provided by Tableau Server into our custom in-house applications. This GREATLY simplifies the development of sophisticated mobile BA tools.
  • They are already moving toward not requiring any special desktop software to create dashboards from scratch. It will be nice when they finally get there. The biggest hassle we have with getting new Tableau users installed is that Tableau Desktop requires Admin rights on the PC to install. We don't generally allow that, so end users have to get PC support staff involved to do that installation. All of that goes away when Web UI users of Tableau Server can do everything folks with Tableau Desktop can do in terms of creating new projects from scratch.
  • Tableau Server could be "Dockerized" allowing easier installation. Containerization is the wave of the future as opposed to "Full Stack" installations.
Read Don Babcock's full review
August 10, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server allows our Business Analysts to customize existing dashboards or connect to published data sources to do their own what-if analysis with needing our BI group to intervene to get them what they want. Careful thought, you need to get their adhoc results validated.
  • Tableau Server allows users to save filter settings and to save various workbooks/dashboards as favorites, either for themselves or publicly for all users to use.
  • Tableau Server allows the ability to subscribe to a dashboard and receive updates.
  • Tableau Server allows you to access the statistical data regarding what users are accessing, who is accessing it and how often, very useful
  • Tableau Server allows you to monitor the status of data source refreshes and to view errors that may have occurred.
  • Tableau server has an extravagant set of commands that allow you script many day to day reports, backups, etc.
  • Enhanced ability for end consumers to do ad-hoc analysis using near/pseudo English what if's. This is huge. We create dashboards working with end users. Afterward the business has some changes and the dashboards do not unless we/IT changes them. So the dashboards we develop pretty much follow the 80/20 Pareto rule. Over time, they only temporarily cover the most integral 20%. Unfortunately the other 80% can usually be ball parked.
  • The DB write-back capability that just came out in 2018.2 sounds very cool. Hopefully it's well documented and not too complex to implement/use.
  • Fix the TSM upgrade script for 2018.2. This is probable not the right forum.
Read Matt Fette's full review
September 13, 2018

Tableau Server: "Tableau review for in home medical visit company use."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Geo-mapping
  • Data drill-down
  • Sharing dashboards online
  • Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc.
  • More Graphs and Charts
  • Better color customization
  • Maybe a search bar for tools or other items
Read Duran Roberts's full review
August 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Controls over who can see what report
  • One place for everything
  • Custom controls over various datasources
  • Better mobile
  • Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers
  • A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources
Read David Brotton's full review
August 10, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts.
  • Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance.
  • Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.
  • As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
July 16, 2018

"Laddy's Tableau Server Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info.
  • It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance.
  • The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.
  • Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards.
  • Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client.
  • It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
July 13, 2018

"Tableau Server Review from a daily user."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly get a feeling on how a line of business is performing by looking at a page.
  • Out of the box easy to use, setup and produce visual data.
  • Numerous ways to visually show the same data.
  • Tabular reports could be expanded.
  • Ability to quickly produce drill-down reports for quick numbers vs. visual displays.
  • The ability for any staff to have access to only view reports at no additional cost.
Read Michael Downs's full review
September 17, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server and IT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are using third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports, Tableau was very quick and interactive to visualize the data in graphical way.
  • It would be better if tableau can work like Microsoft SSRS report works. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter but in tableau there is lot of limitation to pass parameters.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
September 07, 2018

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visualizations
  • Adhoc Analysis
  • Self-service analytics
  • Easier functionality for external facing server
Read Gabriel Horwitz's full review
September 04, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "It's fine"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel
  • Quick analytics
  • Usage stats
  • I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server.
  • The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier
Read Robert Cosgrove's full review
September 03, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great tool for growing a company through unified metrics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Able to create different data sources in a single report.
  • Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.
  • Upload from the desktop to the server if more the 3 different data sources exist is slow and sometimes the connection resets.
  • The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.
Read Arik Yelovitch's full review
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great Tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use.
  • Installations and upgrades have always run smoothly.
  • Flexibility in the types of data sources.
  • Would like to see a lower cost licensing model for casual users.
Read Grant MacDonald's full review
July 13, 2018

Review: "Tableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Since we're a healthcare organization, we're sensitive to security and privacy of information. Tableau provides delicate control of contents in terms of visibility in dashboards and helped us effectively prevent potential information breach issues. It was easy to integrate Tableau server with our active directory to control delicate privilege of data access depending on clinical specialty and roles.
  • Since we have a variety of data sources from different systems, electronic health records, claim system, patient administrative system, radiology imaging system, etc., harmonizing those sources and building and managing robust data connections in one environment is critical and Tableau is very good at that.
  • Tableau provides great monitoring tools to manage bandwidth, performance, cleaning up unused data extract and report.
  • Tableau server's computational efficiency of managing metadata is good but it provides very minimum functions from the standpoint of server managers. As we add more data sources such as big data and external systems outside our organization, its importance becomes bigger.
  • The new alert function on Tableau dashboard is promising, but it is only provided at a server level, not at a Desktop level. In addition, it only provides minimum alerting reconfigurability. I understand it is a new function as proof of concept and look forward to seeing it goes advances.
  • Tableau server is good at monitoring usage of existing reports but provides little about monitoring data extracts and their data pipelining status.
  • A new feature of integration with AWS is exciting but need to keep watching how it works well.
Read this authenticated review
September 04, 2018

"My Tableau server review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Architecture of the Tableau Server is very simple and easy to implement. It can be easily scaled up/scaled down based on the business needs
  • The licensing concepts of user based/CPU core based is best in standards. We can choose based on our needs
  • Tableau DB connectors. It connects all types of data sources available and it is also made very simple and powerful
  • Too many releases of Tableau Server products. Maybe it could be half yearly so that we can plan for the upgrades of our server as needed
  • Two Node installation should support high availability by making the repository in both nodes
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server is a great addition to Desktop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Shares data sources very well.
  • Solid security at the folder and file level.
  • Recently added a "read-only" licensing option.
  • Performance can be problematic when using MS SQL stored procedures as a published data source on Tableau Server. We've only tried this twice, but it has failed spectacularly under two completely different situations.
  • Maintenance upgrades are extremely slow. That may be improving in version 2018.2.
  • New subscription pricing models are more expensive than the discontinued perpetual licensing model.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server - great times!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Standardized reporting across teams/projects
  • Easily access summary level reporting with the ability to get to the account level detail within a few clicks
  • Easy to share reports with the many export features
  • The formatting is always difficult and never translates exactly when publishing from desktop to server
  • Customization using the command line is more difficult than it should be
  • It'd be nice to be able to copy group permissions between sites
Read this authenticated review
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Small made Mighty with Tableau Server!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Auto refresh setup is a few clicks, and default selections make routine updates to dashboard development a breeze.
  • Intuitive, rapid development of visuals for all stages of business analysis; easy to learn, teach and realize RoI of purchase in 3-6 months.
  • Robust visual recommendations result in responsive, high impact deliverables to meet ad-hoc requests.
  • Highly customizable actions and filters for high interactivity and rapid end user adoption from anywhere business needs to get done.
  • Pop-up tips for new viewers regarding features like subscriptions, alerts, etc to encourage engagement.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the best solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to build.
  • The Linux version is very stable.
  • Upgrades fast.
  • We can't open admin web because of the certificate issue.
  • It needs automatic backup and recovery.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Data visualizations made easy"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting through Tableau Server is just a matter of few clicks. Anyone with the correct user access can we the dashboards instantaneously.
  • Using dynamic filtering, users can access the relevant sections of the reports without the need for any admin re-configuration.
  • Thus far I have not seen Tableau generated reports being mobile responsive.
  • Some of the navigation required to access workbooks, folders and projects can quickly get messy.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Great product but not Cheap"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to install and to set up
  • Navigation is a breeze
  • Security settings are great
  • Better alert scheduling
  • Cheaper licences cost
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (53)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (44)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (54)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (52)
8.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (31)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (49)
7.9
Publish to Web (47)
8.9
Publish to PDF (50)
8.0
Report Versioning (39)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (43)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (49)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (48)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (35)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (52)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (52)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (52)
8.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (27)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (43)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (33)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (26)
6.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (35)
7.6
REST API (16)
8.2
Javascript API (14)
8.2
iFrames (16)
7.8
Java API (7)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.9

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server allows organizations to deploy self-service analytics with a scalable, secure, enterprise-grade platform.

The vendor says key benefits include:

  • Deploy the way that makes the most sense for your organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux even integrate with your existing security and authentication protocols.
  • Provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, reports and dashboards, all with the scalability and security requirements you require.
  • Automate processes and workflows.
  • Manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights.

In other words, Tableau Server aims to give you the visibility, security and controls you need to empower your people with data. The vendor says Tableau helps organizations of all sizes unleash the power of their two most valuable assets: their data and their people. The product aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese