TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGA BI tool that's unlike most others out thereIt was not sufficient for us to create a Tableau file that could be read by the free reader and sent to our customers. We wanted the ability to provide our visualizations online without the data ever leaving our control. The only way to do so was to set up a Tableau Server instance and then provide our model onto the server for access by our customers.,It provided a way for us to host our visualizations and avoid distributing out the data. We could manage external users on this system. We were able to create one model but then limit which users could see various "views" of the data based upon what product was purchased.,The licensing model was very expensive and required us to continually buy more seats all of the time. Long run, it's best for very small teams or when you get over the ~100 user mark, you can buy a server license which avoids the per-seat issue. Keep in mind that you still need to purchase the Tableau Desktop license for each of your data scientists/engineers who will be developing the visualizations ON TOP of these costs. We had to contract with a 3rd party to establish and manage an IIS server since that is the requirement for Tableau Server. It was unlike anything else that we were using. Tableau will tell you that the license grants you the ability to have three instances (dev, staging, prod), but in reality you likely won't use more than dev & prod, as the workflow was rather awkward for us.,7,Looker,7,6,Atlassian Confluence, JIRA Software, Front, Slack, WordPress, WooCommerceEasy visualisations with TableauMany departments use it - finance, supply chain, IT for better visualisation of key reports and dashboards; also for drill down of data.,User experience Easy to build,Performance Lacks in slice and dice capability,7,Numerify,7,7,ServiceNow, InVision, Skype for BusinessMy Tableau Server "Spiell"We use Tableau Server in our whole Organization as a one-stop shop for all things data. Dashboards and reports are generated, published and subscribed to users including leadership to assist them in making the pertinent decisions with respect to their KPI's, metrics, expenses, and research. We really depend on this system for these and many other initiatives.,The ease of use - you don't have to spend countless of hours training users how to maneuver around the product. It is straightforward and self-explanatory. Ease of administering - I never took any formal training for this tool but have become rather good in creating groups with pertinent access and the role level security and administration is phenomenal. You can fashion your security just the way you want it. Updating and deploying the system is earth-shattering - it is very flexible and the cost is rather transparent. While it is easy to deploy and administer, it is also a very powerful monitoring and management tool as well.,Alerting - is one area that tableau could improve on. I have submitted this as an enhancement feature, there is no way yet to state that when an account is reached a predetermined threshold, you can send an alert to a group to make decisions or act accordingly. Some other functionality that you have to use add-on tools to accomplish.,10,MicroStrategy Analytics and Pentaho,10,8,MS SharePoint, Innotas, BMC FootPrints Service CoreTableau - A Program Ahead of its PeersTableau is being used across my organization as a primary tool for product management or sales metrics tracking for different business units. Reports are generated quickly and it links fairly nice with SalesForce.,Aesthetic value of reports generated is a plus. Intuitive system, not overly complex but not too simplistic either. Reliable platform, haven't had many notable issues of crashes, security penetration, or misinformation.,Tutorials don't always help 100% - typically you have to go through their support team for special integrations. Once set up however, things run efficiently. You need to have reliably fast internet, otherwise it can get overloaded and you can possibly lose data.,10,Smartsheet,9,9My Tableau AssessmentI used Tableau to extract data from a Google Analytics API to help create dashboards for an ad-hoc analysis to showcase any pinpoints in traffic, average page duration, and segmentation of the data. Tableau worked with the analytics canvas tool to be able to tap into other API software. It is being used by my team, but other organization team members are still trying to get it. It helps to roll-up the data from Excel to something robust.,Visualizations - everything from a heat map to pie chart and in between Mass data - file size importing is important to work with, and big data sets have it all Databases - SQL backend to make an application more robust,Cost - expensive Too many features - more support Space - really a lot of space on the computer,9,Excel,10,10
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
575 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

Tableau Server
575 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 575 vetted Tableau Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (51-75 of 91)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
January 25, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "A BI tool that's unlike most others out there"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was not sufficient for us to create a Tableau file that could be read by the free reader and sent to our customers. We wanted the ability to provide our visualizations online without the data ever leaving our control. The only way to do so was to set up a Tableau Server instance and then provide our model onto the server for access by our customers.
  • It provided a way for us to host our visualizations and avoid distributing out the data.
  • We could manage external users on this system.
  • We were able to create one model but then limit which users could see various "views" of the data based upon what product was purchased.
  • The licensing model was very expensive and required us to continually buy more seats all of the time. Long run, it's best for very small teams or when you get over the ~100 user mark, you can buy a server license which avoids the per-seat issue. Keep in mind that you still need to purchase the Tableau Desktop license for each of your data scientists/engineers who will be developing the visualizations ON TOP of these costs.
  • We had to contract with a 3rd party to establish and manage an IIS server since that is the requirement for Tableau Server. It was unlike anything else that we were using.
  • Tableau will tell you that the license grants you the ability to have three instances (dev, staging, prod), but in reality you likely won't use more than dev & prod, as the workflow was rather awkward for us.
It is a good solution for smaller internal teams (or larger teams who can afford the CPU license) who want to democratize visualization capabilities across their organizations. By making data available universally through the server, users can publish models to everyone and then have them update to the entire organization automatically as the data comes in or gets updated. Put another way, this is a user-centric solution within your organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Easy visualisations with Tableau"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many departments use it - finance, supply chain, IT for better visualisation of key reports and dashboards; also for drill down of data.
  • User experience
  • Easy to build
  • Performance
  • Lacks in slice and dice capability
  • Suited for better visualisations for reports and dashboards and for basic drill down.
  • Not so great with slice and dice data.
Read this authenticated review
Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP profile photo
November 14, 2017

User Review: "My Tableau Server "Spiell""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server in our whole Organization as a one-stop shop for all things data. Dashboards and reports are generated, published and subscribed to users including leadership to assist them in making the pertinent decisions with respect to their KPI's, metrics, expenses, and research. We really depend on this system for these and many other initiatives.
  • The ease of use - you don't have to spend countless of hours training users how to maneuver around the product. It is straightforward and self-explanatory.
  • Ease of administering - I never took any formal training for this tool but have become rather good in creating groups with pertinent access and the role level security and administration is phenomenal. You can fashion your security just the way you want it.
  • Updating and deploying the system is earth-shattering - it is very flexible and the cost is rather transparent.
  • While it is easy to deploy and administer, it is also a very powerful monitoring and management tool as well.
  • Alerting - is one area that tableau could improve on. I have submitted this as an enhancement feature, there is no way yet to state that when an account is reached a predetermined threshold, you can send an alert to a group to make decisions or act accordingly.
  • Some other functionality that you have to use add-on tools to accomplish.
It is well suited for any industry. I would speak specifically for Healthcare since that is where I am right now! It does a great job getting the length of stay of patients and accounting information out to the leaders that need them and in a timely matter as well. It also reports on many metrics that we observe and track in our industry to keep us compliant.
Read Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP's full review
Chris Metropulos profile photo
June 13, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A Program Ahead of its Peers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used across my organization as a primary tool for product management or sales metrics tracking for different business units. Reports are generated quickly and it links fairly nice with SalesForce.
  • Aesthetic value of reports generated is a plus.
  • Intuitive system, not overly complex but not too simplistic either.
  • Reliable platform, haven't had many notable issues of crashes, security penetration, or misinformation.
  • Tutorials don't always help 100% - typically you have to go through their support team for special integrations. Once set up however, things run efficiently.
  • You need to have reliably fast internet, otherwise it can get overloaded and you can possibly lose data.
Any persons involved in viewing, managing, or manipulating analytics regarding products, quantities, sales, weights, and more should consider Tableau. On the sales side especially it's nice to pull up reports real time when discussing with remote sales members' performance. Less appropriate may be a marketing group or engineering group within a company. I feel there are alternate platforms that could help more task-oriented roles.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review
No photo available
June 29, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "My Tableau Assessment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Tableau to extract data from a Google Analytics API to help create dashboards for an ad-hoc analysis to showcase any pinpoints in traffic, average page duration, and segmentation of the data. Tableau worked with the analytics canvas tool to be able to tap into other API software. It is being used by my team, but other organization team members are still trying to get it. It helps to roll-up the data from Excel to something robust.
  • Visualizations - everything from a heat map to pie chart and in between
  • Mass data - file size importing is important to work with, and big data sets have it all
  • Databases - SQL backend to make an application more robust
  • Cost - expensive
  • Too many features - more support
  • Space - really a lot of space on the computer
Suited well for seeing the data on a high level and while working with different types of forms. Some areas of improvement are more support to assist with and how there are limited opportunities to play around with it unless you pay a lot of money to secure a license on it.
Read this authenticated review
Heidi Hiemstra profile photo
April 10, 2017

User Review: "Tableau Server will Serve you Well"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The University of Kentucky has implemented Tableau server at the enterprise level to deliver operational and analytical reports and visualizations. This includes both public-facing summary reports and secure project folders used by individual colleges, business units and other work teams. There are currently over 1,400 registered users across the university supported by a central IT and analytics team, as well as designated "Superusers" across the institution who manage Tableau project folders and publish their own workbooks.
  • Easy for non-technical users to learn how to access and manipulate reports
  • Workbook editing features provide a lot of customization potential without having to buy desktop -- as long as the defined data source does not change
  • Wide variety of role and content-based permissions settings
  • Great for distributed enterprise implementation and support -- lots of flexibility and use can be tailored lots of ways to meet the needs of different user groups
  • Love that all the user and content data is easily available for analysis.
  • More ways to organize content would improve. For instance, sub folders within the project folders would assist greatly.
  • Tags used to label and organize should be able to be assigned and managed at the project level. Having just one set for a big, distributed implementation like ours makes them useless.
  • Either updates need to be bundled more and released less frequently, or Tableau workbooks need to work in any version of Tableau Server and Desktop. A big challenge with our distributed approach is that some desktop users want to do every update, but IT can't be updating the server every month. It should not be a problem to have different versions on server and desktop, but neither product allows earlier versions to open files generated in new one
Well suited to just about any reporting need. We've been able to replace numerous other reporting packages with Tableau Server & Desktop. The only function Tableau lacks is the ability to produce multi-page, formatted, printable reports. Some folks really do need the long paper version.
Read Heidi Hiemstra's full review
Elvin Cheng profile photo
December 27, 2016

User Review: "Our experience by using Tableau Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It is being used] by our purchase department for analyzing major material price. The visualization capability performs well for big data and BI areas. We also use other enterprise BI solutions, but only Tableau Desktop and Server can support our visualization needs. We use Tableau Server to show highly complex and large analyzed data for several purchase staff [members] and executives.
  • Easy to use
  • Mobile device support
  • Good investment return
  • Lacks some functions in enterprise BI like robust scheduling reporting.
  • Cannot build data source when you use a browser to create a new report.
  • Monitoring capabilities are not comprehensive.
I strongly recommend using it on big data analyzing scenarios. It's not a reporting system. If you want enterprise BI, please don't consider it. It is very suitable for self-service power users. And, IT staff won’t waste much effort implementing and managing it. The cost of Tableau Server is ok.
Read Elvin Cheng's full review
Nhung Nguyen profile photo
December 02, 2016

User Review: "Tableau Server experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau server is being used across the whole company to produce financial statements, marketing reports and to control productivity.
  • Great visualization
  • Able to connect with many databases
  • Automatically update data
  • Be able to set up a security filter
  • Extracted data failed sometimes
With big data, it can not publish to a server in a live connection and it forces us to extract it. The problem here is we have to refresh the extract manually.
Read Nhung Nguyen's full review
No photo available
April 21, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tabeau the BI-Giant"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau server is the backbone of all BI reporting in my current company and also in my previous company. We have users across the globe using tableau every day to view their KPIs and make effective business decisions. Tableau's ease of use and powerful visualization makes it an obvious choice for our business users to use it as the front end BI application for all major data-driven decisions.
  • Scalability: one can easily add workers to the primary computer and thus increase performance of the enterprise tableau server.
  • Security: Tableau server allows user to define security on multiple levels (server, site, project and workbook).
  • Distribution: makes it easy to distribute tableau dashboards across the organization since it's web based.
  • Making any change to the tableau infrastructure needs a restart of tableau server.
  • Extract refresh once started cannot be canceled.
  • License management is not possible using tableau server.
  • Tableau server is well suited for hosting tableau dashboards showcasing KPIs and other business specific metrics.
  • It is extremely helpful when it comes to refreshing tableau extracts on a schedule
  • Tableau server is totally not able to track the licensed tableau desktop users which makes license management a pain
  • Tableau should also improve the way tableau server scales up and down on a user managed cloud without forcing the user to restart it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 21, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is Awesome"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau Server to deliver out of the box dashboard on our hosting software. It's used both in a production scenario and in our SaaS offering. We also use it to showcase custom dashboards for those who already have a site or server license. Our sales teams like it to turn medium sized deals into larger deals.
  • Heat mapping
  • Accessability to data sets directly
  • Could use with programming shell; able to do mild SOAP API programming
  • Could use with programming shell; able to do mild RESTAPI programming
  • A bit expensive for initial engagement without a trusted referral
It's a bit too complex for average users to understand intuitively. We have a specific person at our company that is trained, and that limits the exposure of the Tableau platform to internal colleagues and stakeholders. Tableau really shows well, and when you get it right, it's the best around.
Read this authenticated review
Sergio Martinez profile photo
October 13, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Data at a Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is currently used internally by our organization and externally to select clients. It allows us to answer high-level business KPIs related to client data we manage. It has helped reduce many manual efforts to collect data by allowing us to centralize and make it accessible on a recurring/automated schedule.
  • Connects to disparate data easily
  • Reduces the need for IT personnel to extract custom datasets
  • Compresses and visualizes large amounts of data for quick display
  • Helps keep dashboards organized
  • Allows for flexibility by making published dashboards accessible anywhere
  • Cost
  • Limited functionality of executing stored procedures and analytical cubes]
  • Would like to see a stronger partnership with AWS and Azure
Well suited for advanced analytics and managing disparate data sets into a central location. Cost constraints have held us back in bundling with our own external platform due to the need to license every connection.
Read Sergio Martinez's full review
Jonathan Drummey profile photo
March 02, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Getting the most out of small data in healthcare"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • For cases of "tell me something about X" for a data set I've never seen before such as data collected about blood transfusions, Tableau is fantastic at helping to make sense of the data and creating insights.
  • In cases where the data is really messy, even though Tableau does not do full ETL it speeds up the analysis and distribution of analytics process by an order of magnitude or more over Excel, which is a huge win for us.
  • Tableau's ability to aggregate at a variety of levels via table calculations is something that I haven't een done in other BI products (except via a ton of SQL), it makes a number of advanced computations easier for users to accomplish.
  • Tableau's model for filtering and sorting is based on the individual worksheet. Though extensions have been made over time for filtering at the dashboard level, the level of functionality for filtering and sorting at the dashboard level isn't where I'd want it to be.
  • Dashboard layout has definitely improved with version 8.0, and it's not quite the pixel perfect rendering that I want.
If you're in an organization that is all about having absolute command and control over the data and how it's used, Tableau may not be for you. Tableau has a commitment to democratizing data and an incredible focus on the user experience that is very much in line with our organizational values and goals. Tableau has made a business tool that is easy to use, incredibly powerful, and delightful to use. Doing exploratory analysis of fresh data with Tableau is like skiing in fresh powder, and Tableau Desktop is my favorite piece of software, ever.
Read Jonathan Drummey's full review
Andrew Porter profile photo
March 01, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - Enterprise Data Visualization Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used in conjunction with Tableau Desktop to provide visualization for a clients' CRM system. It sits on top of a data warehouse consisting of SQL Server, Splunk, and Hadoop data stores. The client uses Tableau to provide reports on KPIs such as churn rates, acquisition / bounty, and marketing effectiveness. While Tableau Server is used directly by performance assurance and marketing departments, its data and reports are disseminated throughout the company as the de-facto source of CRM reporting. The biggest challenge that Tableau Server addresses is the need for a robust hub for data visualization and ad hoc analysis.
  • Tableau Server can be up and running within 30-60 minutes on a clean install since their installation wizard is extremely easy to use.
  • Tableau Server is easily administered by a small technical team of 1-3 people. The majority of administrative needs can be addressed through the web application directly. Others can be configured easily in configuration files or utilities.
  • High level business users LOVE the rich, interactive visualizations that are possible using Tableau. No experience is needed to interact with and draw meaningful conclusions from your data using the web application.
  • Analyst-level users can quickly learn to use Tableau Desktop in harmony with Tableau Server. With Tableau Desktop, users can create/modify reports and draw even deeper analysis.
  • The Tableau Community and Forums are extremely active. However, Tableau Support is also proactive in terms of troubleshooting issues. They are responsive, follow up, and work on a first name basis.
  • In Tableau Desktop / Tableau Server you can add micro-ETL processing, mapping, and other business rules directly in Tableau reports. This quickly becomes a danger to undermine existing back-end systems and their business logic. To avoid this, enforce concrete rules and structure for where business rules live.
  • The Tableau ecosystem is fantastic and flexible, but there is a learning curve. Creating meaningful reports is difficult and it takes time to learn.
  • Tableau Server introduced such a fast moving paradigm to reporting and visualization that it flipped our business users and technical team upside down. Suddenly we saw the millions of ways we could be slicing and dicing our data. Tableau Server opens up enormous windows for creativity and out of the box thinking. It's important to slow down and define a vision and long term goals for the reporting suite.
  • Tableau does not offer any solution for version control on its workbooks / dashboards / reports.
  • There is no clear way on how to QA/test Tableau reports given that it is primarily GUI-driven.
Whether or not to recommend Tableau Server entirely depends on the needs in hand.

Tableau Server is a commitment. It is well suited for a diverse, large audience of consumers that are supported by a full-blown technical team of administrators and developers. The primary benefit of Tableau Server over Tableau Desktop is that your data published from Tableau Desktop is available dynamically through a web application to all users. If a small to mid-size company is interested, I would suggest simply getting a Tableau Desktop license as a low-risk entry point. Tableau Desktop is a single application that one technical person with direct access to the data warehouse can utilize to build reports on their own computer. These local dynamic reports can be emailed or turned into .pdfs.

In short, a key question to ask is: how large is the user base that will consume reports and how actively will they interact with the data? Tableau Server offers high levels interaction and may be overkill for a smaller company with more basic reporting needs. Tableau Desktop is a low-cost alternative for a single user to own and distribute visually rich yet non-interactive reports manually via email.
Read Andrew Porter's full review
Mashhood Syed profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Yes, Tableau can make you feel "Tab - Blue" At Times"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allows you to quickly visualize your data.
  • Great for viewing data that has geospatial elements.
  • Easy to share with others via publishing to Tableau Server.
  • Not a one stop shop for summarizing large data sets (>1 million rows).
  • Does not work well with Teradata (in my experience). There was a host of connectivity issues that were logged by Tableau support as bugs/defects that were going to be addressed.
  • Performance is solely based on the amount of RAM your individual machine running the client app has (I would regularly see the Out of Memory error when trying to connect to Teradata).
  • Requires customization in order to force a refresh of the the webpage when publishing the dashboard on Tableau Server (data refreshes in the background but webpage does not update at the same time).
Some additional details on the Tableau project I worked on at Southern California Edison (SCE):


During implementation, I was heavily involved with the Tableau consultants, stakeholders, and project managers to make sure that all requirements were met. I did testing myself and signed off on testing that others did. I provided my manager with constant feedback on our progress. We were able to get Tableau installed in one month based on a very aggressive deadline set by management. During this phase, I spent countless hours side by side with Tableau consultants to describe the performance issues we were facing at the time. Here are two of the main hurdles we faced during implementation: One of the main issues we faced was the use of Custom SQL to build our visualizations. Because the roles within my team were highly segmented, we preferred using Custom SQL vs. connecting live to the data. The reason for this is because I was tasked with building the visual. I was not tasked with building the query. The DBA I worked with would hand me the query and I would build the visual from there (creating the necessary calculated fields and formatting the data). Tableau advises its clients against the use of Custom SQL for performance reasons. In addition to performance, there are other drawbacks. We would notice that certain functions in the SQL statements themselves would not get translated correctly into Tableau’s Native SQL (there are workarounds for this). This issue was starkly apparent when connecting to Teradata. Towards the end of my role at SCE, I was working daily on improving the connection to Teradata. Before I left, I was able to take certain reports built in Business Objects and build them in Tableau (but this was only accomplished when connecting live to the data). Another issue was refreshing certain dashboards that were meant to run 24/7. Tableau has the capability to refresh the data behind the visual as frequently as every 5 minutes (I believe). But that refresh does not update the visual. In order for the refreshed query to update the visual, you are required to force the browser to update on an interval of your choosing. It is only with this combination that you can come close to seeing what is happening in real time. The workaround for this issue was to create an .html file that had the URL of the dashboard, which was published to Tableau server embedded in it. From here, you simply double click on the .html file and you would have your dashboard updating both the data (handled by Tableau Server) and the visual (handled by the browser).


Here is a list of the data sources that I would connect to when building visualizations:
1. MS SQL Server
2. Oracle
3. MS Excel
4. Teradata
5. MS Access

Data Blending – There were several instances where business requirements made it necessary to join data from two separate data sources (i.e. - MS SQL Server and Oracle or MS SQL Server and MS Excel). Tableau has an intuitive capability to recognize a data blend. This will be indicated by the use of the link icon next to the primary data source (it looks like an infinity sign). The ability to blend data together was very appealing in the conceptual sense. But there are limitations on the number of rows that you can blend together (I noticed a significant deterioration in performance after 100k rows). This seemed to always be our problem at the SmartConnect Operations Center. We would relentlessly push Tableau’s performance only to find out that our local machine didn’t have the RAM necessary to do what we wanted, or that Tableau was not intended for that specific application. Regardless, I learned a tremendous amount about how the application behaves in different scenarios.


Incremental Refresh – Sometimes it can be useful to use a Tableau generated extract. This is essentially a mini-Tableau database. My manager tasked me with building a report that would store historical data. The purpose of this report was to keep a running total of certain events in the network. The benefit of this report would be that it would automate a manual process that the end users were responsible for on a daily basis. Prior to the implementation of this new report, the end users were tracking the historical data using MS Excel. The challenge I faced was to find a way to store data from the daily query results. Because the original data source did not store historical data, it was necessary for me to take advantage of the “Incremental refresh” option available in Tableau. I do not advocate this method if the daily query results are on the scale of several hundred records or greater. This solution was feasible because the number of records were less than 100 per day. In addition, I worked with the end users and their team lead to create a backup method to get to the final row count in the instance that the Incremental Refresh option failed.


Experience with Teradata – SCE’s 5 million meter network produces around 15 million records per day in just one its tables. The data warehouse team built a set of views that could be accessed within the Teradata schema. After several attempts to connect to Teradata (unsuccessfully) using Custom SQL, I worked with both Tableau’s technical staff and SCE’s DW team to diagnose the problem. We spent multiple WebEx sessions documenting application behavior under various scenarios. Initially, my thoughts were that the problem was that the client application was trying to connect to a View versus a hard coded table. But Tableau assured me that the client application has no problem connecting to views. In this instance, the workaround was to connect live to the data. This worked on certain tables (with several joins in place) but not all. Finally, I was able to re-build a few reports taken from Business Objects. In order to do this, I extracted the SQL from the BO reports and then connected live to the same tables. The result was a visual that came very close to what was found in BO. The report reflected data that was aggregated in the form of a percentage. The percentage represented the performance of a particular district over a time interval (i.e. – 98.99% over a 3 day period).


Integration with ArcMap – The SmartConnect Operations Center’s business requirements made it necessary for me to find ways to enhance the mapping capability within Tableau. The default background map that is offered by Tableau falls short in the areas of zooming and satellite imagery rendering. Therefore, Tableau offers its users the ability to connect to a geospatial (WMS) server. To Tableau’s credit, the steps and information needed to connect to a WMS server are very simple. If you have the URL of the WMS, then you can connect to the server. In my experience, the biggest problem with using the layers from various WMS servers is in the rendering of the image. If your application requires a certain level of detail and/or the ability to zoom in to a certain extent, you may find that the static image stops rendering at a certain zoom level. In the SOC’s application, it was necessary to validate the latitude and longitude of meters in the field and their proximity to other meters (aka – the “mesh” network in wireless meter terminology) by visual inspection. When I left the SOC, I was in high-level discussions between Tableau’s technical team and SCE’s GIS team regarding the rendering of the different layers available through SCE’s internal WMS servers.
Read Mashhood Syed's full review
Craig Rosenblum profile photo
February 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A Report in multiple dimensions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Tableau as a reporting platform for our customer. We chose Tableau because of its versatility and its amazing ease of use. The later probably the main driver, because it is so easy to create different visual graphs, we use it in ways that we might not otherwise. The result is that we are able to exceed our customers' expectations in terms of reporting with very little maintenance.
  • You can "easily" add equations to the data that is displayed in your charts.
  • We are able to provide "real time" reporting in Tableau. As the data in our service process occurs, it updates the report.
  • We particularly like the mapping function. Again, we can easily provide data points in a map format in a multiple ways with dynamic icons.
  • Great support.
  • Drill down function: You can select a data field and drill down into the underlying data.
  • Well, the viewer does not provide "drill down" capability. One of the nice features is the ability to drill down into the data that is displayed on the chart. It is easy to send someone the viewer to review a report, but it lacks this functionality.
It is well suited in cases where the reporting format can be standardized and involves a high volume of data inputs. It may be too much "horsepower" for something that can be managed in an Excel format.
Read Craig Rosenblum's full review
Rajat Jain profile photo
May 25, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - A new way to Visualize data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau server is being used by data visualization team to create highly visual dashboards and then accessing the dashboards from any location and any device. One need not share heavy Excel based dashboards which take ages to open and access can not even be controlled. With Tableau server one does not need to go back to the development team if they want to see a different view or need more drilled down information. Views can be edited and modified from any location and any device after the dashboard has been published to Tableau server.
  • Tableau server is incredibly fast to deploy and easy to manage different permission levels for different roles and individuals
  • Tableau server helps to share dashboards via cloud and it can be connected to live data sources so that the dashboard gets updated automatically when the data is refreshed. This was not possible with traditional dashboards.
  • Tableau server enables integration of dashboards with existing enterprise applications so that data can be used by various departments to analyze business issues.
  • Tableau server allows safe and secure connection to virtually any data source.
  • The pricing plans should be made more affordable for small and medium businesses and continuous emphasis should be on reducing high maintenance costs which range from 20-25%.
  • Tableau server is very user friendly and does not require much of technical expertise after the initial data preparation has been taken care of or if you are using basic data sources like a csv or an Excel file (which is highly unlikely to happen with an enterprise). So, there is still a need for someone with good technical skills to create the initial database and integrate it with Tableau server.
  • It has a limited set of capabilities when it comes to advanced statistical or predictive features. So, Tableau server is best used to describe and analyse the past events but fails to predict the future events.
  • Integration with other enterprise systems and applications is not possible and even customization is out of question.
  • There is no provision for efficient reporting by scheduling reports and notifying the users once a new report has been generated. Also, data security is enabled by providing database access to the users which itself poses a threat to data security.
Tableau Server is great when it comes to data visualization and ease of manipulating the report without knowing any coding but as the size of the enterprise increases, Tableau server becomes an expensive proposition. One can not maintain a repository of previous reports and dashboards published which is a very basic requirement for any enterprise software.
Read Rajat Jain's full review
Alec Guerenstein profile photo
April 08, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - A wonderful platform when conditions are met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is being rolled out as a platform to publish corporate (IT-developed) dashboards. It is also used for publishing data sources available for power users to feed into their visualizations. Tableau Server fulfills the need to communicate performance dynamically, as well as fostering the concept of "a single truth" based on information tailored for analyst consumption.
  • Strength 1. Dashboards & visualization rendered in a browser looks almost the same as the original design in Tableau Desktop. As a developer, the last thing you want is to realize your published dashboard is a distorted reflection of your original design.
  • Strength 2. Permission control. Although a bit more complex than other products (note I say "complex" and not "complicated"), Tableau Server provides great object and role-based permission control. Highly customizable.
  • Strength 3. Workbooks decoupled from their sources for reuse (not mandatory but best practice). Although source/s can be monolithically embedded in a workbook for refreshing, they can be deployed as "stand-alone" sources (live or extracted) to be used and reused to feed into multiple workbooks.
  • Strength 4. User-credentials management. Admins have the option to manage users and user groups via ad-hoc internal functionality or leveraging an existing Active Directory infrastructure. For large organizations, the latter allows adding a security layer by moving credential-granting responsibilities away from Tableau Admin's scope to an organization-wide security department.
  • Data Governance. Adding functionality to make it easier to manage fields in a centralized manner, having a centralized data dictionary with synonyms, an impact analysis tool, etcetera, would be a big asset for large organizations (or smaller ones that do manual information lineage control).
  • Simpler permission interface. Some improvements done recently, but still missing some functionality to see the big picture instead of having to review calculated user permissions at object level (project, workbook), same for data sources and a combination of the three.
  • A graphic interface to see how extract schedules are designed to flow (using serial/parallel sequencing and priority values), as well as a report to show plan execution on a particular date or time-frame (highlighting where the extract failed).
Although it is very hard to say when is Tableau Server the best option for an organization embracing the visual analytics wave, I included below a few points I consider relevant to any decision process.
First, the obvious: is Tableau Desktop the best tool for building organization dashboards? Does it cover all needs or falls short on some particular requirements that may become rather impractical when designed in Tableau?
Second: Out of the current (or expected) reports/dashboards, how many are (or will be) shared? Is it just a few, with the balance of them being in a tabular-format ? Do they require or would thy benefit from viewer comments or filtered shared views?
Third: Who will design visualizations and what's their complexity? Is it the IT department, a set of Power-users or a Reporting Expert? What's the weight of each of those roles in the overall dashboard inventory?
While the above only scratches the surface in the decision process, please think of it just as a bullet list on points you don't want to miss in your journey to a productive decision.
Read Alec Guerenstein's full review
Pooja Takavale profile photo
March 29, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Visualise BIG data - Be Realistic Be A Tableauite!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Server is used for the data visualisation in my [current] project. I used to work on data visualisation projects, and so I came across Tableau Server and found it very simple and easy to use, and very user friendly. I was impressed by the tool. It took me less time to get acquainted to the tool and I could do my work without any hurdles. There were chunks of data that I had to represent and work on, on a daily basis. I used Tableau to generate reports and user-readable charts and graphs. It was so easy to visualize BIG data in no time!
  • I liked that it is self manageable, so I can access Tableau outside and inside of the VPN of the organization.
  • The workbooks it generates can be shared online via its cloud online feature. It made it easy to share amongst the team.
  • It is easy to access after sharing a workbook, and works in a fashion similar to a web browser.
  • Data storage is easier and manageable.
  • Security is the main concern for me when it comes to sharing it online in the cloud.
  • More detailed documentation is a need. API documentation is missing.
  • There is an integration issue when it comes to social integration among the different zones of users.
Yes, clean data visualisation is done in a simpler way and can be more efficient for the company if they want to store large amounts of data systematically and represent the same. I felt very impressed because the data that I needed to represent was large and Tableau was a perfect tool for me to work with. I would strongly recommend that others use the Tableau tool.
Read Pooja Takavale's full review
Sudhakar Kamanboina profile photo
March 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - Solution for the BIG data Analytics !!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau server is used by my team, vRealization Operations Management. It is used to analyze the metric data collected from different entities of a data center. Tableau made our life easy in showing the respective entity data in the UI. Tableau is being accepted by my team and department. Sooner it will be accepted across the departments.
  • Displaying highly customizable graphs
  • Aggregating unstructured data and establishing a relationship among them
  • Realtime analytics of data and updates on the fly
  • Adding social integration with Tableau
  • More good API descriptions
  • Platform independent and backward compatible
It is suited in scenarios where the user wants to know the status of anything without much interaction. Tableau provides a single window for all of the components of the system, and abstracts the complexity of management. Data demands Tableau and its visualization of data across the systems.
Read Sudhakar Kamanboina's full review
Charles Boicey profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau Helping Healthcare"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We have a quality department responsible for gathering large volumes of quality data (are the correct medications being dispensed at the correct time, etc). This department had been using Excel spreadsheets to create visualizations of the data for sharing with other parts of the organization. The switch to Tableau allowed this team to build excellent visualizations much more quickly and easily. It essentially reduced the required cycle time form 30 days to 5/6 days. The tool is also used by other hospital departments like epidemiology.
  • Tableau made it possible to offer a self-service BI solution. We really wanted to have a BI / visualization solution that empowered the end-users to do their jobs as well as possible without having to involve the IT department. Tableau democratizes the visualization process by allowing users to build the visualizations they need with no IT assistance required.
  • The Tableau Server UI is quite basic. It's a drag-and-drop metaphor which is very easy to understand by end users. The design enables users to do what they need to do with a minimum of complication and clutter.
  • New releases tend to very substantive with lots of new features rather than just bug fixes. For example, upgrading to Version 8 provided us with 10 new pre-built visualizations and some statistical tools that customers had been asking for. They are very good at listening to their user base.
  • Product is quite affordable compared to some competitive products.
  • The product itself is great. The only issue has been the high cost of the annual conferences which we try to attend. Conference passes are in the $1,500 range.
Tablea is a strong Clinical/Business Intelligence application. Tableau is a good fit for healthcare organizations.
Read Charles Boicey's full review
Mel Stephenson profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - Everything You Need To Know"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tableau's core strength is how easy it is to use. This was a key attraction to me in the early stage and remains a key consideration for many who want to visualise and understand the data in which they are subject matter experts without it requiring them to become experts in the software tool itself. As you use it more and more you also realise that while Tableau is deceptively simple to use it also has real depth and real power.
  • This ease of use addresses a key business problem for many organisations which is that other solutions will require people who know a lot about databases but little about the data to produce solutions for people who truly understand the data but aren't database administrators. Tableau places very little demand at all on IT departments, many of whom are overworked and have long request queues to satisfy. Tableau allows the IT departments to work on the provision of simplified data connections with helpful metadata, leaving end users able to access the data, design and share meaningful dashboards from that data with anyone they wish in their organisation. This approach is very powerful and very productive.
  • In browser animations
  • Speed of rendering dashboards - this is getting faster all the time but it is there and can be a consideration. When we're so used to web pages rendering almost instantly it can feel unusual to wait 2-3 seconds for something to render on screen.
  • auto update - Tableau does not automatically render new points if the underlying data changes. The browser page has to be manually or programatically refreshed to display new data.
Read Mel Stephenson's full review
Mike Gabour profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: Simple and Elegant Visualizations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simple and elegant analytics.
  • Speed to value.
  • Scalability – ability to start with a Desktop dashboard and seamlessly move to a server version when ready.
  • Ability to do simple calculations.
  • Ability to investigate and clean data sets quickly and easily.
  • Dynamic data connection options.
  • Unable to write information back to a database (example: what if analysis engine).
  • Difficult to perform complex table calculations.
  • Challenging to join different tables or views and perform meaningful calculations.
Read Mike Gabour's full review
David Shi profile photo
February 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - the Gold Standard"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Currently Tableau Server is used to rapidly develop and distribute ad-hoc reporting to limited to senior level stakeholders, as such it's currently mainly used by finance department users.

It addresses the problem of slow development process of traditional SSRS based reports and lack of flexibility and self-discovery.

  • One version of the truth, instead of passing around Excel workbooks which are prone to errors and lack of updates. A universal 'version' is used and is automatically updated based on new information fed by the data warehouse.
  • Ease of integration with active directory allowing user level access restrictions based on existing infrastructure, as well as flexibility to easily override user level restrictions if needed.
  • Intuitive interface, gold standard amongst a myriad of other products.
  • Pricing can be a bit daunting compared to a desktop license, it should be cheaper.
Rapid deployment of dashboards/reports is where Tableau Server would be most well suited.
Read David Shi's full review
Charles Hooper profile photo
July 07, 2015

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau from a BI consultant view."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I work with many organizations, all using Tableau Sever differently. Some implementations are department oriented, and, some are total enterprise installations.
Tableau Server facilitates the secure, controlled, sharing of work done my Tableau Desktop analysts and developers.
  • Ease of use - connecting to different data sources, and, in visualizing data.
  • Rapid and intuitive analysis.
  • Easy to share (Tableau Server)
  • In Tableau Desktop version 8.1, a direct interface to the 'R' open source statistical library was implemented. This allows for a major enhancement in the ability to do high-end statistics. I would love to see an interface where I did not, also, have to know 'R' syntax. But, for now, this enhancement is great!
I've been to Tableau Customer Conferences. The passion of the customer base is like no other...
Read Charles Hooper's full review
Carl Ek profile photo
February 12, 2016

Tableau Server: "My Tableau Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it across the organization: dashboards for company-wide financial and department-specfic reporting.
  • Connection to different data sources
  • Quick setup for default visualizations
  • Easy to construct dashboards, and easy to share and publish.
  • Speed. If tables are large it can be very slow.
  • Usage can result in many database connections active
  • Some of the defaults are not easily modified.
Quick prototype reports: well suited.
Folks who aren't into visual charts and want spreadsheets: not well suited.
Read Carl Ek's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (74)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (62)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (75)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (73)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (44)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (70)
7.8
Publish to Web (66)
8.9
Publish to PDF (66)
7.8
Report Versioning (54)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (67)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (67)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (50)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (73)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (71)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (72)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (43)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (59)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (47)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (39)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (51)
7.6
REST API (29)
8.1
Javascript API (25)
8.0
iFrames (30)
7.6
Java API (7)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.8

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server allows organizations to deploy self-service analytics with a scalable, secure, enterprise-grade platform.

The vendor says key benefits include:

  • Deploy the way that makes the most sense for your organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux even integrate with your existing security and authentication protocols.
  • Provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, reports and dashboards, all with the scalability and security requirements you require.
  • Automate processes and workflows.
  • Manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights.

In other words, Tableau Server aims to give you the visibility, security and controls you need to empower your people with data. The vendor says Tableau helps organizations of all sizes unleash the power of their two most valuable assets: their data and their people. The product aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese