TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau Helping HealthcareWe have a quality department responsible for gathering large volumes of quality data (are the correct medications being dispensed at the correct time, etc). This department had been using Excel spreadsheets to create visualizations of the data for sharing with other parts of the organization. The switch to Tableau allowed this team to build excellent visualizations much more quickly and easily. It essentially reduced the required cycle time form 30 days to 5/6 days. The tool is also used by other hospital departments like epidemiology. Tableau made it possible to offer a self-service BI solution. We really wanted to have a BI / visualization solution that empowered the end-users to do their jobs as well as possible without having to involve the IT department. Tableau democratizes the visualization process by allowing users to build the visualizations they need with no IT assistance required. The Tableau Server UI is quite basic. It's a drag-and-drop metaphor which is very easy to understand by end users. The design enables users to do what they need to do with a minimum of complication and clutter. New releases tend to very substantive with lots of new features rather than just bug fixes. For example, upgrading to Version 8 provided us with 10 new pre-built visualizations and some statistical tools that customers had been asking for. They are very good at listening to their user base. Product is quite affordable compared to some competitive products.,The product itself is great. The only issue has been the high cost of the annual conferences which we try to attend. Conference passes are in the $1,500 range.,9,10,Self service BI model. Minimal server support required. Minimal user support required. Minimal time for users to become proficient. Cycle time reduced from 30 days to 5/6 days.,9,YesTableau - Everything You Need To KnowTableau's core strength is how easy it is to use. This was a key attraction to me in the early stage and remains a key consideration for many who want to visualise and understand the data in which they are subject matter experts without it requiring them to become experts in the software tool itself. As you use it more and more you also realise that while Tableau is deceptively simple to use it also has real depth and real power. This ease of use addresses a key business problem for many organisations which is that other solutions will require people who know a lot about databases but little about the data to produce solutions for people who truly understand the data but aren't database administrators. Tableau places very little demand at all on IT departments, many of whom are overworked and have long request queues to satisfy. Tableau allows the IT departments to work on the provision of simplified data connections with helpful metadata, leaving end users able to access the data, design and share meaningful dashboards from that data with anyone they wish in their organisation. This approach is very powerful and very productive.,In browser animations Speed of rendering dashboards - this is getting faster all the time but it is there and can be a consideration. When we're so used to web pages rendering almost instantly it can feel unusual to wait 2-3 seconds for something to render on screen. auto update - Tableau does not automatically render new points if the underlying data changes. The browser page has to be manually or programatically refreshed to display new data.,10,,10,The year we implemented Tableau the cost of purchasing Server and Desktop represented just 5 weeks' worth of that year's increase in net profits that our 8 person team delivered over the previous year so we regarded the ROI on Tableau to be 5 weeks. Nowadays, I think there are a few basics to any business: such as phones, email, website, CRM, accounts package etc and BI must be in that list. Turning off Tableau in the company would be like turning off the lights - we could probably cope but it would be pretty miserable and we would be nowhere near as effective or efficient.,25,1,Sales Order analysis - margin maintenance, sales per month per salesperson, sales by channel, bonus calculations for salespeople and how that relates to previous years Stock control - we relate the stock holding to the moving average of sales to influence what should be ordered from suppliers so that stock holding is expressed in time not in units, we can see seasonality in products so that we can adjust what to order, we can ensure that the right amount of stock is held - too much and we're tying up capital that could be at bank, too little and we won't be able to fulfil orders to customers wasting profit opportunities. Technical Support analysis - we can see immediately warranty returns that are spending longer than expected at a particular stage of the warranty process which we can rectify in a timely fashion, we can see whether it is more effective to spend more on a particular component or less in order to lower the overall cost of warranty support and see what will productively improve the mean time between failure of a machine Financial analysis - we use Tableau to monitor the basic financials of sales/revenues, COGS, AR, AP, as well as running totals of sales and net profit during the FY compared to forecast which we find to be a really useful way of keeping us focused throughout the year on delivering against the target. In essence, we use it pretty much everywhere. It takes so little effort to connect to relevant data and to start turning it into something that is easy to understand and represents the situation correctly that there's never a hesitation about whether it's worth that effort.,,Implemented in-house,9,Online training Self-taught,10,It is easy enough to use without training but I would say that we're not all James Bond and us mere mortals do benefit from some instruction. The on demand training on the Tableau website is very good and really helps you get going quickly. In my case I also took the Tableau training and certifications at the customer conferences. Now, as a Tableau Partner, we deliver training to lots of organisations and I've lost count of the number of times we've had people chime in throughout the day "Oh, I didn't know you could do that - that's so good!".,No,10,9,10,9,Sage CRM Sage 200 Accounts Our timekeeping system (tracks attendance and punctuality Google Analytics,No,Tableau operate a very simple pricing model and maintain a consistent policy of not discounting. This was certainly my experience when I first purchased Tableau and it hasn't changed in the years since. The upside of this is that if you're trying to evaluate the value offering of the product you don't have to consider some arbitrary point at which you would buy it and then see if you can get it for that. It either represents a meaningful ROI to you at its list price or it doesn't. The downside is you can't tell your boss "I spent this much but I got this much off".,YesTableau: Simple and Elegant VisualizationsSimple and elegant analytics. Speed to value. Scalability – ability to start with a Desktop dashboard and seamlessly move to a server version when ready. Ability to do simple calculations. Ability to investigate and clean data sets quickly and easily. Dynamic data connection options.,Unable to write information back to a database (example: what if analysis engine). Difficult to perform complex table calculations. Challenging to join different tables or views and perform meaningful calculations.,9,10,Speed to value. We were able to move rapidly from a proof-of-concept on the desktop version to the server version based on the excellent results we saw very early on.,YesTableau - the Gold StandardCurrently Tableau Server is used to rapidly develop and distribute ad-hoc reporting to limited to senior level stakeholders, as such it's currently mainly used by finance department users.It addresses the problem of slow development process of traditional SSRS based reports and lack of flexibility and self-discovery.,One version of the truth, instead of passing around Excel workbooks which are prone to errors and lack of updates. A universal 'version' is used and is automatically updated based on new information fed by the data warehouse. Ease of integration with active directory allowing user level access restrictions based on existing infrastructure, as well as flexibility to easily override user level restrictions if needed. Intuitive interface, gold standard amongst a myriad of other products.,Pricing can be a bit daunting compared to a desktop license, it should be cheaper.,8,8,9,QlikView and MicroStrategy Analytics,Microsoft SQL Server, Infor SunSystems, MicroStrategy AnalyticsTableau from a BI consultant view.As a consultant, I work with many organizations, all using Tableau Sever differently. Some implementations are department oriented, and, some are total enterprise installations. Tableau Server facilitates the secure, controlled, sharing of work done my Tableau Desktop analysts and developers.,Ease of use - connecting to different data sources, and, in visualizing data. Rapid and intuitive analysis. Easy to share (Tableau Server),In Tableau Desktop version 8.1, a direct interface to the 'R' open source statistical library was implemented. This allows for a major enhancement in the ability to do high-end statistics. I would love to see an interface where I did not, also, have to know 'R' syntax. But, for now, this enhancement is great!,10,,10,As a consultant, it is my clients that benefit. NDAs prevent my disclosing details.,1,1,I am a BI consultant - use Tableau for my clients (retail, manufacturing, healthcare, education, etc.) Ease of use - allows users that are not technical, but, know their business, to gain insights.,,Implemented in-house,10,Online training Self-taught,10,It is easy to get started - new users can be productive quickly with an hour of web based, free training. The real power of Tableau is tremendous - not sure anyone could ever learn it all!,No,10,No. Tableau is not an "integrate with" type of tool. It connects to all kinds of data sources to enable rapid and intuitive ad hoc query and analysis, as well as building analytic views/dashboards for sharing.,I did not negotiate - felt the price I paid was more than fair.
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
592 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Tableau Server
592 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 592 vetted Tableau Server reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-97 of 97)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Charles Boicey profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau Helping Healthcare"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We have a quality department responsible for gathering large volumes of quality data (are the correct medications being dispensed at the correct time, etc). This department had been using Excel spreadsheets to create visualizations of the data for sharing with other parts of the organization. The switch to Tableau allowed this team to build excellent visualizations much more quickly and easily. It essentially reduced the required cycle time form 30 days to 5/6 days. The tool is also used by other hospital departments like epidemiology.
  • Tableau made it possible to offer a self-service BI solution. We really wanted to have a BI / visualization solution that empowered the end-users to do their jobs as well as possible without having to involve the IT department. Tableau democratizes the visualization process by allowing users to build the visualizations they need with no IT assistance required.
  • The Tableau Server UI is quite basic. It's a drag-and-drop metaphor which is very easy to understand by end users. The design enables users to do what they need to do with a minimum of complication and clutter.
  • New releases tend to very substantive with lots of new features rather than just bug fixes. For example, upgrading to Version 8 provided us with 10 new pre-built visualizations and some statistical tools that customers had been asking for. They are very good at listening to their user base.
  • Product is quite affordable compared to some competitive products.
  • The product itself is great. The only issue has been the high cost of the annual conferences which we try to attend. Conference passes are in the $1,500 range.
Tablea is a strong Clinical/Business Intelligence application. Tableau is a good fit for healthcare organizations.
Read Charles Boicey's full review
Mel Stephenson profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - Everything You Need To Know"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tableau's core strength is how easy it is to use. This was a key attraction to me in the early stage and remains a key consideration for many who want to visualise and understand the data in which they are subject matter experts without it requiring them to become experts in the software tool itself. As you use it more and more you also realise that while Tableau is deceptively simple to use it also has real depth and real power.
  • This ease of use addresses a key business problem for many organisations which is that other solutions will require people who know a lot about databases but little about the data to produce solutions for people who truly understand the data but aren't database administrators. Tableau places very little demand at all on IT departments, many of whom are overworked and have long request queues to satisfy. Tableau allows the IT departments to work on the provision of simplified data connections with helpful metadata, leaving end users able to access the data, design and share meaningful dashboards from that data with anyone they wish in their organisation. This approach is very powerful and very productive.
  • In browser animations
  • Speed of rendering dashboards - this is getting faster all the time but it is there and can be a consideration. When we're so used to web pages rendering almost instantly it can feel unusual to wait 2-3 seconds for something to render on screen.
  • auto update - Tableau does not automatically render new points if the underlying data changes. The browser page has to be manually or programatically refreshed to display new data.
Read Mel Stephenson's full review
Mike Gabour profile photo
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: Simple and Elegant Visualizations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simple and elegant analytics.
  • Speed to value.
  • Scalability – ability to start with a Desktop dashboard and seamlessly move to a server version when ready.
  • Ability to do simple calculations.
  • Ability to investigate and clean data sets quickly and easily.
  • Dynamic data connection options.
  • Unable to write information back to a database (example: what if analysis engine).
  • Difficult to perform complex table calculations.
  • Challenging to join different tables or views and perform meaningful calculations.
Read Mike Gabour's full review
David Shi profile photo
February 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - the Gold Standard"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Currently Tableau Server is used to rapidly develop and distribute ad-hoc reporting to limited to senior level stakeholders, as such it's currently mainly used by finance department users.

It addresses the problem of slow development process of traditional SSRS based reports and lack of flexibility and self-discovery.

  • One version of the truth, instead of passing around Excel workbooks which are prone to errors and lack of updates. A universal 'version' is used and is automatically updated based on new information fed by the data warehouse.
  • Ease of integration with active directory allowing user level access restrictions based on existing infrastructure, as well as flexibility to easily override user level restrictions if needed.
  • Intuitive interface, gold standard amongst a myriad of other products.
  • Pricing can be a bit daunting compared to a desktop license, it should be cheaper.
Rapid deployment of dashboards/reports is where Tableau Server would be most well suited.
Read David Shi's full review
Charles Hooper profile photo
July 07, 2015

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau from a BI consultant view."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I work with many organizations, all using Tableau Sever differently. Some implementations are department oriented, and, some are total enterprise installations.
Tableau Server facilitates the secure, controlled, sharing of work done my Tableau Desktop analysts and developers.
  • Ease of use - connecting to different data sources, and, in visualizing data.
  • Rapid and intuitive analysis.
  • Easy to share (Tableau Server)
  • In Tableau Desktop version 8.1, a direct interface to the 'R' open source statistical library was implemented. This allows for a major enhancement in the ability to do high-end statistics. I would love to see an interface where I did not, also, have to know 'R' syntax. But, for now, this enhancement is great!
I've been to Tableau Customer Conferences. The passion of the customer base is like no other...
Read Charles Hooper's full review
Carl Ek profile photo
February 12, 2016

Tableau Server: "My Tableau Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it across the organization: dashboards for company-wide financial and department-specfic reporting.
  • Connection to different data sources
  • Quick setup for default visualizations
  • Easy to construct dashboards, and easy to share and publish.
  • Speed. If tables are large it can be very slow.
  • Usage can result in many database connections active
  • Some of the defaults are not easily modified.
Quick prototype reports: well suited.
Folks who aren't into visual charts and want spreadsheets: not well suited.
Read Carl Ek's full review
Sridhar Akkineni profile photo
February 12, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - The Big Boss of Visualization tools."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is an excellent visualization tool we use here. I believe for the fourth year, Tableau is a leader in the Magic Quadrant for Business Intelligence and Analytics Platforms Report by Gartner. We use Tableau in several departments for reporting. The charts, maps and web-interface of Tableau are very user friendly.
  • Charts
  • In-built maps
  • Extract based reporting
  • Server maintenance
  • User maintenance should be much easier ( For ex: Maintaining common users b/w Tableau Sites)
  • Fail Over Setup
  • Patch Releases are TOOOO Often.
Well suited for visualization, when users are expecting great quality for their charts, maps and other graphical forms.
Not suited for reporting on huge DWH, when users are expecting scheduled reports.
Read Sridhar Akkineni's full review
George McCarrolle profile photo
September 30, 2015

Tableau Server Review: "To Server or Not to Server, that is the question!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Tableau to support numerous departments across the entire organization. We have plans to deploy the server to other departments over the next few quarters. We use Tableau mainly as a information tool for our teams. We have built several dashboards to display critical information to stakeholders in that particular area. The ease of setup and the ease of maintaining the server allows us to concentrate on our users rather than on the server.
  • Mobile and Browser based access across multiple devices and OS
  • End user ease of use
  • Rapid development and deployment of user new content
  • Extracts can be somewhat difficult to deploy if developing off a local machine with limited resources
  • Advanced skills needed to fully exploit the capabilities of the product
  • Programming syntax issues, no standard based off another language
Tableau Server is a great platform for performing analytics within your company. The off the shelf basic capabilities will allow any individual to produce informative dashboards. I personally believe we are at the beginning of a new age of analytics, not just business intelligence analytics but analytics in general due to this great tool.
Read George McCarrolle's full review
Dwight Taylor profile photo
April 17, 2015

Tableau Server: "Tableau 8 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau server provides central access to interactive business intelligence. Specifically, Tableau server delivers interactive insight into company performance using web browsers, tablets and mobile devices. Tableau server is the preferred Data Visualization engine.
  • The advances in computer CPU and Memory have left most software titles behind. Tableau Server 9 took the first step toward leveraging the advances in computer hardware. From leveraging multi-core CPUs to parallel request processing, the performance improvement will be noticeable to all Tableau Server 8 users.
  • Previous Tableau Server versions have suffered from an ability to be categorized as Enterprise Ready. Tableau Server 9 improves on this gap in the following areas. Improved cluster configuration, a new Cluster Controller, standby Repository capabilities and a new File Store process which resolves the previous restrictions on the number of Data Engine Nodes allowed in a cluster.
  • The web interface of Tableau Server 9 has been totally overhauled in an effort to boost access to dashboards. The new interface accomplishes this through an improved workflow, easier access to resources and an improved management interface. Tableau Server 9 presents the user with entry points to the main features of Tableau server in one screen, not a trivial accomplishment. In my opinion, well designed user interfaces invite users to explore. Tableau server 9 excels at this.
  • Tableau Server 9 has a lot of room to improve it's Administrative Views. For Tableau to be such a powerful Data Visualization engine, the Administrative Views out of the box have much to be desired.
  • Tableau Server 9 would also benefit greatly from an enhancement to it's dashboard scheduling and distribution capabilities.
  • Tableau Server 9 would also benefit greatly from threshold alerting. This would deliver actionable insight as opposed to just insight.
I would highly recommend a Tableau solution for any colleague in the market for a Data Discovery & Visualization solution. Here are the questions I would ask in selecting the appropriate Data Discovery & Visualization vendor.
  • What is the Total Cost of Ownership for On-Prem versus Cloud (is available)?
  • What is the average time to market for an organization of relative size?
  • What is the learning curve for Excel users?
  • Is the solution ideal for the technical elite or can it be used by non-technical business analysts?
  • How does a Self-Service implementation model look?
Read Dwight Taylor's full review
Anish Koppula profile photo
April 20, 2015

Review: "Tableau Server - Good for Visual Representation of the data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Quick visual representation of factual data.
  • Drill down/Drill up and flexible slice/dice of the information.
  • Easy exports of data extracts and Excel based reports for additional processing.
  • No statistical procedures embedded in the software.
  • Tends to become slow when connected to a database table with a large data set.
Read Anish Koppula's full review
Nelson Davis, MSCE, EIT profile photo
February 26, 2015

Review: "Tableau Server - A Powerful Tool to Democratize Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Rapid fire analysis: the ability to ask questions and find answers rapidly of the data on the fly.
  • Dashboarding: taking different views or sheets and bringing them to one screen where they can then interact with one another.
  • Integrated mapping: rather than layering on top of Google Maps through complex coding, Tableau gives you the ability to look at geospatial data simply and quickly with both point maps and filled maps.
  • Data Blending: taking data from different sources (even different DB types) and bringing it into visualizations together.
  • Putting the ability to do analysis in the hands of the user
  • Can be a bit buggy every so often.
Tableau Software and Tableau Server make doing analysis enjoyable, insightful, and fun. Putting new capabilities in to the hands of users and allowing them do their own analysis is a fantastic solution to unlocking data.
Read Nelson Davis, MSCE, EIT's full review
Kevin Owens profile photo
June 21, 2014

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau Helps us Compete"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Passenger we use Tableau Server to combine datasets about all apsects of our communities. This includes, contract, billing, web site performance and email tracking data. We are using across the organization for different purposes and different use cases. For us, it allows for a one-stop view of disparate data sets, while also using that data to track the company's and client's performance.
  • Combination of disparate data-sets
  • Graphical view of data
  • Ease of use for user management and permissions
  • Data Blending- which is an area they are looking into
  • Dashboard Exports and Custom Formats
We specifically asked about it's ability to combine different data sets and how easy it was to self-administer. We had a very bad experience with another vendor and didn't want to repeat the same mistakes. For all teams out there, be sure that your team can maintain the solution without the vendor.
Read Kevin Owens's full review
Torry Johnson profile photo
October 19, 2013

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is a great analytics platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Connect easily to several data sources and can join data across sources.
  • Particularly good at finding useful insights in large data sets - very flexible.
  • Server solution is good for dissemination of data and reporting, but isn't the strongest part of the product.
  • Automatic data type recognition can be troublesome; some geographic data points aren't recognized as such and require time-consuming manual mapping
  • Alerts in the server platform would be a great addition. As is it's not a proscriptive product.
Read Torry Johnson's full review
No photo available
September 12, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - a great reporting solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tableau as an enterprise reporting tool. We are using Tableau for reporting against our new DW. It will provide one source of truth of our data.
The graphs are easy to create and very attractive. The dashboards help tell a story about our data.
  • Graphs are easy to create!
  • Data connections are easy to use - and when your data is not formed well you can write custom queries.
  • Great user experience! Our users love the tool.
  • It is not easy to determine when using sets would be useful.
  • Complicated calculations are a little hard to troubleshoot.
  • Extracts! Killing an extract would be useful and currently no easy way to do this.
Overall status on a data set is perfect in Tableau, plus you can drill into an area to look at more detail.

A report with 'just' numbers is better created elsewhere. Tableau is for visualizations! I can hardly think of a report that couldn't use a visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 03, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Probably the best interactive data visualization and business intelligence tool exits in the market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At first we started using in a pilot project then usage spread across different projects.
  • Easy to use.
  • Relatively easy to integrate with project native code.
  • Very robust. I have never seen it fail.
  • Performance/Cost is high.
  • It could have a more competitive pricing schema.
  • Cloud base services/solution for small enterprises, individual users.
For any data mining operations, business intelligence, executive dashboards, and enhanced live data representations I believe Tableau is a must tool. It is definitely cost efficient in the long term.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 27, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is Highly Recommended"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by the entire organization. We used to use IBM Cognos for our BI but it doesn't provide good visualizations. Tableau organizes information more efficiently and visualize it very effectively through tabular reports, charts, dashboards, etc. It provides each user with insights they need in order to improve business processes. It enables users to make better decisions at all levels of the organization on a regular basis. It makes us gain a complete view and real-time actionable insight into customer shopping behavior across all channels.
  • User-friendly
  • Efficient
  • Fast
  • Automatic generation of twbx for Tableau reader users
It is well suited to medium to large organizations that have large data to analyze. We are now in the information age and Tableau Server is necessary to make us more informed decisions for the business.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Fast to deploy, easy to love!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Tableau Server is used across our organisation to share insights and enable users to quickly access reports and demonstrate capabilities to our clients. We also use Tableau Server as a training tool for our staff.
  • Distributing business intelligence across the organisation
  • Enabling collaboration on analytics and data visualisation
  • Managing user access to information by integrating with existing security models
  • Empowering end users to share their data stories
  • Providing governed data access to the entire organisation
  • Customising the end user interface
  • Being more restrictive by default with regard to user access
Tableau Server is well suited for organisations that want to enable staff across all levels to contribute to the data analysis process and who value insights from all of its members. It also suits organisations who want to ramp up their server quickly and who combine fast decision making with software that only requires short deployment cycles. It won't be as appropriate to use in environments where collaboration is frowned upon and where the control and access to valuable data is to remain in the hands and heads of a select group.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the clay for big data - the forms are endless."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Tableau to serve a variety of data purposes. The beauty of Tableau is it's ability to be adapted for purposes across the entire organization. For us, Tableau solves unique business problems for every department. Whether you need a high level business update on how the entire company is doing or something related to a specific account -- Tableau usually has the answer.
  • Versatility -- there are endless ways to visualize data
  • Adaptability -- all departments have unique business questions/challenges. Given the proper concision around the question, Tableau can usually be manipulated to have an answer.
  • Immediacy -- Tableau Server is quick, simple as that.
  • Some of the best use cases for Tableau come from building custom views out of the raw data sources. Tableau does not save custom views built in this fashion -- they have to be rebuilt each time which can be painfully time consuming.
  • Data manipulation -- much of the time data has to be exported into excel in order to see things the right way.
The reporting made available in Tableau is often utilized by companies that do not directly own that Tableau account instance. It does not serve as a UI or API for those external stake-holders. Rather, the account owner must manually generate and send reports. It is less appropriate for providing on demand reporting and a controlled user interface for external clients. However, Tableau remains very well-suited to internal data uses of all kinds.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2014

Review: "Tableau Server - Solid, still evolving to become a true enterprise solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used as user friendly ad-hoc reporting tool for end users who may or may not have a technical background. The vendor provided on demand training is very well done and someone who has never heard of Tableau can become a functional Tableau user in about a day. It is a nice, flexible tool to complement OBIEE 11g, the enterprise BI tool. It is available to any department within the bank and is being used by roughly 30 or so different groups within the bank. There are about 3,000 Tableau Server users currently, with substantial user growth projected by year end. Each of these groups have their own unique website on Tableau Server and site administrators control who can see what. This can be done on an individual basis, or on a group basis. Also, a member of site A can not access site B.
  • Tableau Server is a great tool for sharing meaningful reports. Members of a site simply access their site through their web browser, and then can view reports that drive business decisions. The navigation is very user friendly and the learning curve is minimal, even for someone who has never used a BI tool before.
  • Reports housed on Tableau Server are either made out of a "live" data connection or a data extract, where data is brought in in memory. Within Server, it is very easy to set up your extract report to be refreshed based on whatever timeframe suits you (daily, weekly, monthly etc). It is easy to control how up to date the data in the reports are for site members viewing the reports.
  • Site administrators within a site manage and control the permissions within the site. There is a three tier hierarchy within the content that's published to a Server site (Project level, Workbook level, View level) and site admins can quickly and easily control which members have access to which content within the site.
  • There is no easy way to extract a Tableau site user list. (It can be done with using Tableau Desktop) but having an icon to export a user list to Excel seems like a simple enhancement that could go a long way.
  • From a system admin perspective, there is no way to kill a task within Server. We ran into an issue where the subscription feature (an option where a user can have reports emailed to them on a schedule they determine) was gumming up our background task processors. The subscriptions would never execute, though it would hog the associated background task processor. Without having a simple kill task button, the system admins would have to stop processes and restart the actual Windows Server. It was a pain.
  • Tableau Server vendor support can be frustrating at times. The turnaround time is inconsistent, it's almost like the luck of the draw for who gets assigned to your case. Many times they give canned copy/paste replies until you can get a WebEx session to show them what's going on.
Tableau Server is still a product that's not very mature. It is great for quick ad hoc analysis. Site members can do more than just login and view a report. Depending on their rights/permissions, they can actually interact with the reports (click drop down boxes, radio button filters, set customized views and save them etc). However as an enterprise level BI solution it still has some limitations. All of the data connections that start the report developing process occur at the local machine level. Once the report is published to the Server site, managing the security from a enterprise perspective is a challenge. Things such as metadata layers are not as robust as the bigger enterprise options.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 22, 2013

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The best feature of Tableau is that it is easy to use. It gives those with an analytical mindset the ability to analyze data without having to navigate technical obstacles such as SQL, coding, etc.
  • Quick dashboarding with easy to use drill down & drill across. Setting up an enterprise quality dashboard is pretty simple and there is a lot of functionality that can be incorporated using actions to allow for drill downs, filtering, etc.
  • Implementation is a breeze. Tableau is quick to implement and upgrade. Unlike traditional BI Suites that have months-long implementation cycles, Tableau is pretty quick. Additionally, it does not need to sit on top of a data warehouse it can be fed via Access, Excel, or text - which makes it perfect for ad hoc analysis as well
  • Ipad reporting seems to be a pain point for all BI sytems, Tableau included. In previous roles, we had more issues with security (internal to our company), but it seems like you have to download large files to the iPad to run the visualizations/dashboards, which can be a challenge for a mobile workforce.
  • Blended data sets were always tricky in Tableau. It is pretty simple to get them up and running, but advanced features always seemed to be challenging.
  • We had some issues using Essbase/Multi-Dimensional Sources, early on, but the Tableau support team was quick to churn out a solution.
Tableau is a great tool to consider if you want full-blown reporting without the headaches of a nightmarish BI Suite implementation. The cost can be restrictive if you have a large number of users, but in most cases it is worth it to get key data out to your customers quickly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2013

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: The successful democratization of visual data analytics."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The product provides a very easy to use method to develop insightful visualizations.
  • The product also provides a very easy method for sharing visualizations.
  • None come to mind.
The annual customer conference is well worth the cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2012

Tableau Server Review: "Strong visualization capabilities. Good for SMB."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • In some ways, this depends on company size. For a mid-sized company like us, this is a very good solution. But if we were a large enterprise, it would certainly make more sense to use something more appropriate to a large organization like Business Objects.
  • Tableau is a huge improvement over what we had. It’s now easy to drag and drop elements to create very compelling visual reports. It’s also quite easy for users to create powerful reports without having to know SQL.
  • Distribution of reports company-wide (by publishing to server and having users view reports through desktop or reader) is also great, and a huge improvement to the very manual process we had before.
  • The data engine does an extract every morning from our data warehouse to update the data sets . This automatic data sync and report refresh capability is extremely helpful.
  • Being able to connect different data sets – so some direct to our data warehouse, some in spreadsheets (like budgets) has been very helpful.
  • The converse of the automatic data sync mentioned as a plus, is that it was a little difficult to set up. Initially we could not make Tableau sync with our data warehouse and we needed help from them, which they wanted to charge us for. It turned out that the problem was on our side – we’d done the installation incorrectly, so not their fault – but this was painful.
  • Tableau does not work well with cubes that were used to speed up reporting in our DW. We have a columnar database, Vertica, for some parts of our DW as well and it remains to be seen how those will integrate with Tableau, although I don’t expect any issues here.
  • Some features that are natively available in SQL are not available in Tableau (temporary tables)
  • They release a new version every three weeks, which creates some management overhead for us. In particular, we have experienced some versioning problems where different versions of the product do not talk to each other correctly.
Tableau allows disparate parts of the organization to download their own data from other applications and import it into Tableau for department-specific analysis. For example, the web analytics team uploads data from Omniture, and the Budget/Finance teams upload various data sets from Excel spreadsheets to gain specific insights. Being able to marry all of these with data direct from our data warehouse in one online interface is tremendously helpful.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (80)
8.7
Report Formatting Templates (68)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (81)
8.1
Formatting capabilities (79)
8.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (50)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (76)
8.3
Publish to Web (72)
9.1
Publish to PDF (72)
8.1
Report Versioning (59)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
8.5
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
7.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (73)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (73)
8.5
Predictive Analytics (55)
7.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (79)
8.1
Role-Based Security Model (77)
7.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (78)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (48)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (65)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (52)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (44)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (57)
7.9
REST API (33)
8.3
Javascript API (30)
8.1
iFrames (34)
7.8
Java API (7)
7.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.9
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.6

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server allows organizations to deploy self-service analytics with a scalable, secure, enterprise-grade platform.

The vendor says key benefits include:

  • Deploy the way that makes the most sense for your organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux even integrate with your existing security and authentication protocols.
  • Provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, reports and dashboards, all with the scalability and security requirements you require.
  • Automate processes and workflows.
  • Manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights.

In other words, Tableau Server aims to give you the visibility, security and controls you need to empower your people with data. The vendor says Tableau helps organizations of all sizes unleash the power of their two most valuable assets: their data and their people. The product aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese