Tableau Server Reviews

708 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 94)

Matt Fette | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have 55 licenses for Tableau Server. The licenses are dispersed across the organization . . . Executive Suite, Finance, Sales, Marketing, Supply Chain, Operations, QC, etc. We collect much more data in our DW than we are currently asked to report or visualize via Tableau. That being said, we have Tableau workbooks with dashboards that allow our data consumers to analyze customer profitability, product, brand & category performance, overall state of the business, fulfillment performance, etc. Our operations group uses Tableau workbooks and dashboards to forecast SKU demand and adjust pick location designations, etc. The product is very ingrained in our organization.
Read Matt Fette's full review
Subhadipto Poddar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used by our department to visualize displays. The transportation department uses it to visualize different performance parameters like congestion, delay, and other measures across the state. It is also being used to work in collaboration by different research groups at Iowa State University. Tableau server is also used to visualize different accident hotspots in the state of Iowa.
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
Michael Tam | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Tableau - A world of visualizations at your fingertips.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to help our clients visualize their usage data from different angles. It is being used by a handful of people across the organization. It helps expose our big data hosted on Cloudera clusters to display them in a unique way.
Read Michael Tam's full review
Kishore Ummadisetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Tableau as the primary BI tool for Accurate organization. We used Tableau for creating dashboards, and we integrate those into our Clients portal using JS API. We also use the tool internally across all departments for data analysis and to build self-service reports/dashboards.
Read Kishore Ummadisetti's full review
Thomas Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server across the organization. It started in a business unit (Revenue Cycle, which handles healthcare billing, coding, claims, etc.) to help share information. From there it was shared with other business units, and Revenue Cycle also played a role as a center of excellence and consulting. Five years later it was absorbed by the main IT organization. Now we are in the process of rolling out, formalizing, and organizing that same role.
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Duran Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Tableau review for in home medical visit company use.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is being used across our entire organization for data analytics and reporting. The business problem it addresses is our business requirements, meaning us being able to keep a close watch on whether we're hitting our goals that were in the contracts with our clients.
Read Duran Roberts's full review
Sharon Graves | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used across the organization as our Data Analytics tool of choice. This product empowers our end users to explore data on their products or efforts and make key decisions to improve their customers' experiences. This frees up our BI / BA analytic teams to perform deeper dives into the data.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
Bob Ladd | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

Laddy's Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
Michael Downs | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Tableau Server Review from a daily user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau for eight lines of business. It gives each department a glance at their activity and compares it to previous quarters. We also provide an agency-wide section that is used for annual stats. It gives each department a way to get data on their own and knowing that the data is coming from one source, and most importantly that the numbers will be consistent.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Anand KK | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Tableau Server Admin Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire organization of internal users and external users use the Tableau dashboards hosted on Tableau Server. We use Tableau to address health care analytics data.
Read Anand KK's full review
Gabriel Horwitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used as an analytical solution that provides dashboards and analytics to all functions. It is being used heavily by the data analytics team that provides analytics for teams such as HR, Technology, Sales etc. It addresses business problems by creating visualizations for datasets and allowing analyses to be easily digested.
Read Gabriel Horwitz's full review
Arik Yelovitch | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2018

Great tool for growing a company through unified metrics

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We created different reports and dashboard for reporting on sales, existing policies breakdowns as well as monitoring agent and partner performance.
We also gather data from Athena to present reports on traffic sources, etc.
Read Arik Yelovitch's full review
Grant MacDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Great Tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used to display data from several data sources into easy to read charts and graphs. We are a manufacturing company and it allows us to visualize the data.

It is being used primarily by the Manufacturing support team.
Read Grant MacDonald's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau to aggregate data from a lot of different systems. It brings it all together to a single place where users can build and access reports and dashboards to gain insight into different areas of the business. The insight gained through Tableau across systems is essential to our business functions and would take much more time and effort to do manually.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Tableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a healthcare system that consists of hospitals, clinics, affiliated providers, and an insurance company. We developed a dashboard and reporting environment to support business intelligence for the two major areas: business and clinical. Business reports are for leadership, management, and finance. Clinical reports are for physicians, clinical champions, clinical departments, medical directors, and clinical researchers. We wanted to automate the data extraction and report development processes with the best productivity, since they have been developed with different technologies and toolkits which caused inefficiency in maintaining analyst and computer resources.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Tableau as an embedded reporting solution

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used in a single product using the in-line version in a web application. It is a huge selling point to the application suite as it allows the users to see the effectiveness of using the application. The visualizations are powerful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Tableau Server is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At the moment just a small group is using it. However, we hope after we have more workbooks set up and people see the benefits, the user base will expand to the whole department and then organization. It allows for quick dissemination of the usual data and quick question answering, as well as consistent outputs within our group.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.2
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.0
Publish to Web (80)
8.4
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.1
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.5
REST API (37)
7.5
Javascript API (34)
7.4
iFrames (38)
6.7
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese