Tableau Server Reviews

708 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (76-94 of 94)

David Shi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2016

Tableau - the Gold Standard

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently Tableau Server is used to rapidly develop and distribute ad-hoc reporting to limited to senior level stakeholders, as such it's currently mainly used by finance department users.

It addresses the problem of slow development process of traditional SSRS based reports and lack of flexibility and self-discovery.

Read David Shi's full review
Charles Hooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2015

Tableau from a BI consultant view.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a consultant, I work with many organizations, all using Tableau Sever differently. Some implementations are department oriented, and, some are total enterprise installations.
Tableau Server facilitates the secure, controlled, sharing of work done my Tableau Desktop analysts and developers.
Read Charles Hooper's full review
Carl Ek | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

My Tableau Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used it across the organization: dashboards for company-wide financial and department-specfic reporting.
Read Carl Ek's full review
Sridhar Akkineni | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

Tableau - The Big Boss of Visualization tools.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is an excellent visualization tool we use here. I believe for the fourth year, Tableau is a leader in the Magic Quadrant for Business Intelligence and Analytics Platforms Report by Gartner. We use Tableau in several departments for reporting. The charts, maps and web-interface of Tableau are very user friendly.
Read Sridhar Akkineni's full review
George McCarrolle | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

To Server or Not to Server, that is the question!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Tableau to support numerous departments across the entire organization. We have plans to deploy the server to other departments over the next few quarters. We use Tableau mainly as a information tool for our teams. We have built several dashboards to display critical information to stakeholders in that particular area. The ease of setup and the ease of maintaining the server allows us to concentrate on our users rather than on the server.
Read George McCarrolle's full review
Dwight Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2015

Tableau 8 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server provides central access to interactive business intelligence. Specifically, Tableau server delivers interactive insight into company performance using web browsers, tablets and mobile devices. Tableau server is the preferred Data Visualization engine.
Read Dwight Taylor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

Show your data with pride!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used within my organization to present users with an easily understandable visualization of our very large data sets. These data sets include web log information, customer information, and transaction information. By using Tableau, we are able to present this data in a number of formats including tabular format as well as various charts and graphs. Because the charts and graphs are interactive, the user experience has been received very well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

A BI tool that's unlike most others out there

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was not sufficient for us to create a Tableau file that could be read by the free reader and sent to our customers. We wanted the ability to provide our visualizations online without the data ever leaving our control. The only way to do so was to set up a Tableau Server instance and then provide our model onto the server for access by our customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

Easy visualisations with Tableau

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Many departments use it - finance, supply chain, IT for better visualisation of key reports and dashboards; also for drill down of data.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Owens | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2014

Tableau Helps us Compete

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Passenger we use Tableau Server to combine datasets about all apsects of our communities. This includes, contract, billing, web site performance and email tracking data. We are using across the organization for different purposes and different use cases. For us, it allows for a one-stop view of disparate data sets, while also using that data to track the company's and client's performance.
Read Kevin Owens's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2017

Tabeau the BI-Giant

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is the backbone of all BI reporting in my current company and also in my previous company. We have users across the globe using tableau every day to view their KPIs and make effective business decisions. Tableau's ease of use and powerful visualization makes it an obvious choice for our business users to use it as the front end BI application for all major data-driven decisions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2017

Tableau is Awesome

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server to deliver out of the box dashboard on our hosting software. It's used both in a production scenario and in our SaaS offering. We also use it to showcase custom dashboards for those who already have a site or server license. Our sales teams like it to turn medium sized deals into larger deals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2017

My Tableau Assessment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Tableau to extract data from a Google Analytics API to help create dashboards for an ad-hoc analysis to showcase any pinpoints in traffic, average page duration, and segmentation of the data. Tableau worked with the analytics canvas tool to be able to tap into other API software. It is being used by my team, but other organization team members are still trying to get it. It helps to roll-up the data from Excel to something robust.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2016

Tableau - a great reporting solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Tableau as an enterprise reporting tool. We are using Tableau for reporting against our new DW. It will provide one source of truth of our data.
The graphs are easy to create and very attractive. The dashboards help tell a story about our data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2016

Tableau is Highly Recommended

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is being used by the entire organization. We used to use IBM Cognos for our BI but it doesn't provide good visualizations. Tableau organizes information more efficiently and visualize it very effectively through tabular reports, charts, dashboards, etc. It provides each user with insights they need in order to improve business processes. It enables users to make better decisions at all levels of the organization on a regular basis. It makes us gain a complete view and real-time actionable insight into customer shopping behavior across all channels.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

Tableau is the clay for big data - the forms are endless.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Tableau to serve a variety of data purposes. The beauty of Tableau is it's ability to be adapted for purposes across the entire organization. For us, Tableau solves unique business problems for every department. Whether you need a high level business update on how the entire company is doing or something related to a specific account -- Tableau usually has the answer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2014

Tableau Server - Solid, still evolving to become a true enterprise solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is being used as user friendly ad-hoc reporting tool for end users who may or may not have a technical background. The vendor provided on demand training is very well done and someone who has never heard of Tableau can become a functional Tableau user in about a day. It is a nice, flexible tool to complement OBIEE 11g, the enterprise BI tool. It is available to any department within the bank and is being used by roughly 30 or so different groups within the bank. There are about 3,000 Tableau Server users currently, with substantial user growth projected by year end. Each of these groups have their own unique website on Tableau Server and site administrators control who can see what. This can be done on an individual basis, or on a group basis. Also, a member of site A can not access site B.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.2
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.0
Publish to Web (80)
8.4
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.1
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.5
REST API (37)
7.5
Javascript API (34)
7.4
iFrames (38)
6.7
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese