Tableau Server Reviews

708 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 105)

Subhadipto Poddar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Access from any device
  • Worksheets can be managed online
  • Can change and visualize new stuff
  • Easy to use
  • Public server gives first few lines free of charge
  • Free lines are limited to 10 million per single connection
  • Premium is expensive
  • New data sources cam be published from Tableau Desktop
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
Michael Tam | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Tableau - A world of visualizations at your fingertips.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to create neat visualizations in a professional way.
  • Easy to publish workbooks to Tableau server for global access
  • Different ways to group and slice the data
  • Custom SQL are not intuitive when dealing with Cloudera connections
  • Simple data tables are harder to create than complex visualizations
  • Large extracts are not very performant
  • Cubes are not supported on Tableau
Read Michael Tam's full review
Justin Pulley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2018

Tableau Server is the best of the best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User management; you have a plethora of options built in (LDAP, Domain, SAML, etc.) for SSO and user management.
  • Dashboard Hosting; you have the option to host your dashboard in a few different ways. You can embed it as part of a larger web page, have it emailed automatically, or view it directly on the server.
  • Web Editing; while not as robust as a full fledged desktop I can see that it is edging that way. The web editing is great for fast, small, on the fly edits during a working session with a customer.
  • Installation; the latest iteration was an absolute nightmare to install. It failed to install several times.
  • Web Editing; while it is okay at small edits it would be a very nice feature to have an integrated solution that is as robust as desktop.
  • User Management; in certain aspects user management could use a small boost. Have a setting that allows Active Directory / LDAP based users be removed/deleted from the server automatically instead of forcing a script be written and deployed. If the user no longer exists in the AD or LDAP group they should be removed vice set to inactive as an option.
Read Justin Pulley's full review
Kishore Ummadisetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Tableau is definitely a leader in BI, yet there is lot to catch up on.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau is an easy to use yet powerful analytics tool. We have created 100+ dashboards for our clients in a short time.
  • Tableau supports multiple data connectors to pull data from almost any database, and CRM tools. We are able to pull data into Tableau from multiple databases.
  • If your business is looking at a tool to put data in the user's hands and avoid IT requests overhead around reporting, Tableau is the tool.
  • It is not easy to subscribe to dashboards or send e-mails outside of Tableau users. We have to use open source solutions like VizAlerts to make this happen. I believe for a tool like Tableau this should be an out of box solution.
  • Even though Tableau is an easy to use tool, there is still a solid learning curve to get familiar with the use of Tableau. One should invest a good amount of time to get an organization to adapt to Tableau, especially if the organization hasn't already used similar tools already.
  • Tableau Desktop is powerful. Tableau Web Portal provides a lot of the same functionality as Tableau Desktop, yet there are lots of gaps.
  • Data blending is one of the more powerful features. However, this only works with limited data. If you are blending a million rows of a data source, we found it very difficult to blend.
Read Kishore Ummadisetti's full review
Thomas Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Democratizes information. Any user can share information.
  • The community is supportive.
  • Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed.
  • The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find.
  • The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration.
  • Backup and restore is slow.
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Duran Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Tableau review for in home medical visit company use.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Geo-mapping
  • Data drill-down
  • Sharing dashboards online
  • Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc.
  • More Graphs and Charts
  • Better color customization
  • Maybe a search bar for tools or other items
Read Duran Roberts's full review
David Brotton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Controls over who can see what report
  • One place for everything
  • Custom controls over various datasources
  • Better mobile
  • Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers
  • A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources
Read David Brotton's full review
Sharon Graves | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts.
  • Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance.
  • Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.
  • As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
Anand KK | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Tableau Server Admin Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The installation, upgrading and migrating to new hardware is straightforward
  • The Tableau Server admin can adjust the server processes to make it tailor-fit for the organization, hence increasing the dashboard and query performances.
  • The core-based licensing and user-based licensing of Tableau Server is very useful based on the required scenario.
  • Support for Exasol Data Connections in Tableau Server for Linux.
  • Publish Document Covering Tableau Server Architecture on 2018.2 with HA environment.
  • Improve historical reporting for extract schedules on Tableau Server.
Read Anand KK's full review
Scott Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Flexible easy to use analytics platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics.
  • Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine.
  • Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.
  • Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server.
  • More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.
Read Scott Peterson's full review
Shaheed Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2018

Tableau Server and IT

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.
  • It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
Robert Cosgrove | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

It's fine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel
  • Quick analytics
  • Usage stats
  • I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server.
  • The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier
Read Robert Cosgrove's full review
Arik Yelovitch | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2018

Great tool for growing a company through unified metrics

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Able to create different data sources in a single report.
  • Easy integration between the desktop app and the server.
  • Upload from the desktop to the server if more than 3 different data sources exist is slow, and sometimes the connection resets.
  • The desktop app consumes a lot of battery on a MacBook Pro.
Read Arik Yelovitch's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's good at doing what it is designed for: accessing visualizations without having to download and open a workbook in Tableau Desktop. The latter would be a very inefficient method for sharing our metrics, so I am glad that we have Tableau Server to serve this function.
  • Publishing to Tableau Server is quick and easy. Just a few clicks from Tableau Desktop and a few seconds of publishing through an average speed network, and the new visualizations are live!
  • Seeing details on who has viewed the visualization and when. This is something particularly useful to me for trying to drive adoption of some new pages, so I really appreciate the granularity provided in Tableau Server
  • I think the UI of how projects and folders within projects are managed could use some improvement. The organization is pretty straightforward, but it's designed for a large amount of content. Accessing a simple dashboard from one published workbook requires clicking into a Project then clicking into the dashboard to actually see the content. It's hard to describe without seeing it, but it always feels like there was an extra, unnecessary click. Seems minor, but this is an annoyance I and my colleagues face many times through the day.
  • There seems to be some formatting issues between what's built in Tableau Desktop (TD) and Tableau Server (TS), e.g., if I format some filters over a background in TD, they show up very legibly with the background as white against the color background. But when published the same filters could have the color of the background and no way to change it to white, and the font has less contrast for some reason. Seems minor, but it wastes a lot of time retrying then re-publishing just to get something to work as expected. The view in TD should be exactly the same as TS.
  • As far as I can tell, there's no way to put a clone of a certain dashboard into multiple projects/folders and have any updates propagate to those clones. Also as far as I can tell, there's no feature that tracks where the same dashboard has been published in multiple places. That means if I have a dashboard that I need to show in multiple places so those teams can access it in their native location with their other content contextual to them, I have to maintain a record of all the places I've published and re-publish to all whenever updates are made. And if it turns out the solution is there in the product, then the UI is clearly pretty dense because I haven't found it whereas this was an intuitive setting to find on a competitor BI tool I have used. I think this should be improved in the product since it's often necessary to manage the same content across multiple locations so various teams are accessing their single location relevant to them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's extremely intuitive to use the visualizations. Users can manipulate and construct meaning and additional questions from the data quickly.
  • Tableau is very flexible -- it's completely data source agnostic. It will take data from any source.
  • Our development team learned it very quickly.
  • While it took little time for our data analysts to crank out visualizations, it did take some time(longer than I expected) for our technology operations team to configure the server to share the sizes.
  • The server update process is rather cumbersome -- requires a full uninstall/re-install.
  • Again, while it took our data analysts next to no time to start creating, I've been in other organizations that have struggled with the feature-rich interface and complexity of the Tableau client. So, it requires the right personnel, with dedicated time, to fully leverage the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Tableau as an embedded reporting solution

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite.
  • Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF.
  • Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.
  • Default dates parameters do not work.
  • Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user.
  • Desktop customization software is buggy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2018

Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portal

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data.
  • Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal.
  • Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way.
  • Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.
  • It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid.
  • It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server.
  • It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more).
  • You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios.
  • The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only.
  • It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Tableau Server is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick access to data in one place that is easy to find
  • Ability for inexperienced users to interact with the data
  • Easy sharing, downloading. Everyone can get what they want.
  • Management of users is easy
  • Editing a workbook in Server has gotten much better, but it would be nice to add even more Desktop-like functionality.
  • Not being able to get rid of the Default project is annoying.
  • When tasks fail, send an email to the admin instead of just a notification in server.
  • Would be great to be able to purchase more licenses within Server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

My Tableau server review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Architecture of the Tableau Server is very simple and easy to implement. It can be easily scaled up/scaled down based on the business needs
  • The licensing concepts of user-based/CPU core based is best in standards. We can choose based on our needs
  • Tableau DB connectors. It connects all types of data sources available and it is also made very simple and powerful
  • Too many releases of Tableau Server products. Maybe it could be half yearly so that we can plan for the upgrades of our server as needed
  • Two Node installation should support high availability by making the repository in both nodes
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very well organized.
  • Menus are clear to understand.
  • The product works without issues.
  • Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues.
  • One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team.
  • Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Tableau Server is a great addition to Desktop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Shares data sources very well.
  • Solid security at the folder and file level.
  • Recently added a "read-only" licensing option.
  • Performance can be problematic when using MS SQL stored procedures as a published data source on Tableau Server. We've only tried this twice, but it has failed spectacularly under two completely different situations.
  • Maintenance upgrades are extremely slow. That may be improving in version 2018.2.
  • New subscription pricing models are more expensive than the discontinued perpetual licensing model.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.1
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.2
Report Formatting Templates (75)
6.9
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
7.9
Publish to Web (80)
8.3
Publish to PDF (79)
7.5
Report Versioning (65)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
7.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
7.9
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
7.9
Role-Based Security Model (85)
7.9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
7.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.2
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.4
REST API (37)
7.3
Javascript API (34)
7.3
iFrames (38)
6.6
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.6

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese