Tableau Server Reviews

692 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 105)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Insight into data from multiple systems in a single place

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for aggregation across multiple systems
  • Allows reports and dashboards to be self serve for end users
  • Allows for ad-hoc reporting
  • Initial setup of data sources can be time consuming.
  • Some native connectors didn’t work as well for us like Salesforce. We had to build our own ETL process.
  • Setting up permissions originally was burdensome.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Tableau as an embedded reporting solution

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Powerful visulizations that can be customized with the desktop suite.
  • Can be scheduled for emails or exported to PDF.
  • Supports many different charts graphs and has plenty of filtering options.
  • Default dates parameters do not work.
  • Not a lot of room for custom queries to the end user.
  • Desktop customization software is buggy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2018

Review by a technician that embeds reports in a web portal

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows non-technical data scientists and analysts to approach and visualize data.
  • Allows reports prepared by non-technical analysts to be readily adapted by technicians into an always-live web portal.
  • Its "extract" capability, although imperfect, can help to digest and visualize larger amounts of data in a moderately performant way.
  • Consume hardware resources like crazy. It is implemented using a raft of heavy technologies, including Postres, Java, Apache httpd, and more.
  • It has decent support for tabular data, but this support is somewhat rigid.
  • It nags end users to upgrade their desktop versions frequently, even though this risks compatibility errors with the server.
  • It's a significant resource hog. To some degree this is understandable, but it is largely due to its use of many heavyweight technologies (Postgres, Java, Apache httpd, and more).
  • You can't change its use of port 443 when using SQL, forcing extra deployment complexity (e.g. proxy servers) in many deployment scenarios.
  • The look and feel of their "story" feature is surprisingly hard to customize (beyond basic style elements) -- it's "a row of blocky buttons" only.
  • It's geographic maps are fairly basic, and the UI controls for navigating them are clumsy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Tableau Server is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick access to data in one place that is easy to find
  • Ability for inexperienced users to interact with the data
  • Easy sharing, downloading. Everyone can get what they want.
  • Management of users is easy
  • Editing a workbook in Server has gotten much better, but it would be nice to add even more Desktop-like functionality.
  • Not being able to get rid of the Default project is annoying.
  • When tasks fail, send an email to the admin instead of just a notification in server.
  • Would be great to be able to purchase more licenses within Server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very well organized.
  • Menus are clear to understand.
  • The product works without issues.
  • Their technical support sometimes doesn't understand the issues.
  • One technician may know the product very well and another technician may not know the product well enough and has to engage a different team.
  • Their licensing is very strict, doesn't give me many options and if you run into any issues, you have to contact the licensing team via email and only email.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Data consolidation and visualizations done right

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One of the main features of this product is the ease of generating reports. Dashboards can be shared among team members instantaneously.
  • Scheduling and alert notifications can be easily configured to help managers find out critical information in a timely fashion.
  • Some of the reports and dashboards generated by Tableau Server are not fully mobile responsive.
  • We have had several issues with Tableau being unable to communicate with other data sources and servers, possibly arising through some authentication failures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Tableau has been a great tool for us, has room to improve too!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy connection to SQL Server. Easy creation of SQL statement, data source for reporting. Easy drag and drop report creation
  • Flexible report formats
  • Easy to set permissions on a per User basis
  • We use Tab CMD extensively; documentation is poor (specifically on how to format some exports - a topic we recently had to rerseach).
  • We leverage xtab reports a lot, and we run into the 16 column limit
Read this authenticated review
Dan Colbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The visuals are beautiful and powerful, and the interface is easy to understand.
  • The Tableau REST API provides a very functional programmatic interface between our web app and the back-end server.
  • We use Tableau Server for Linux, which greatly simplifies the installation and maintenance of the server architecture.
  • While I have some thoughts for improvements in the Tableau Desktop application, the server environment is a powerful, growing, and improving software. No significant cons.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Ryan Akana | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2018

Tableau - The One Stop Shop

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Various connections to different data sources all in one product. We have so many different data sources within our organization. Tableau makes it easy for us to have all of our reporting in one place.
  • The ability to leverage the software with the company's growth. We have acquired three companies in the last 3 years. Our company has grown from 800 to 1500 plus employees in that short amount of time. Our Tableau Server is the same from day one when we purchased the software, and that was 6 years ago. We haven't need to buy additional cores as we have eight cores right now and we are doing extremely well for an organization with such large growth.
  • The process of how one manages permissions to the different projects saves IT time and resources.
  • I would really like to have the ability to schedule a report as an extract (TXT, CSV, Excel, PDF, or other) that I can either email, place onto a network share, or other transfer method.)
Read Ryan Akana's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Saves plenty of time in Development Work.
  • Better Visualization
  • Flexibility to connect to plenty of databases, if not create your data set, using WDC functionality
  • Easy Server maintenance & very quick releases by Tableau.
  • Workday connectivity will help easy integration for HR department & this will encourage more usage in our company
  • Enabling the XML format of the dashboard will help easily share the dashboard, like in COGNOS
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

An essential part of our service offering.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Set up and administration are very easy. It takes little time to implement and structure according to the business needs.
  • Broad customization is possible through the use of embedded analytics. Even without that - simple tweaks such as replacing the landing page logo with a company logo and modifying the logos within the standard tableau server interface allow for enough customization to ensure professionalism.
  • Permission structures are thoughtful. It's not challenging to create groups of users that are able to access only the elements appropriate for them to be viewing.
  • .\tabadmin cleanup is an essential function that would benefit from an automated run option through the configuration menu. Currently a batch or bash script must be created and scheduled.
  • Tableau Server extracts are currently very good, but occasionally if a user needs to run a full refresh from within the server environment it can end up appearing to have worked, but bad data has still made its way through. the only solution for this that we have found thus far is to actually re-publish the workbook with a fresh extract
Read Brett Mendes's full review
Satish Dharmarajan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having access to the server, the report developer only needs to send a link to the report to her audience, not the entire physical file or data behind it.
  • The reports are dynamic. As the data behind them changes, the developer is not forced to send new reports each time.
  • The reports remain dynamic. This allows for the user to look at what is pertinent to them and not necessarily a static version of the report. They can apply necessary filters as needed.
  • The report user also has the ability to create their own Tableau reports using the data exposed to them through the dashboard. Self-empowered users are that much more effective in their own work product!
  • Scaling Tableau Server comes with a big price tag.
  • In an organization that does not already have Tableau as its enterprise reporting tool, driving adoption is very tough. People tend to slink back into the comfort of excel analyses.
Read Satish Dharmarajan's full review
Charles Bryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2018

Big Fan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible deployment
  • Ease of administration
  • Security controls
  • Would love the ability to manage/maintain a uniform business semantic layer for consolidation of business rules/logic
  • The interface with folders/projects/workbooks is difficult to navigate and not intuitive
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self service publishing - Before Tableau Server, most reporting was done by central report writers on a request basis, and the backlog never ended. Now a great deal of the reporting is "self service" within the departments, freeing IT Business Intelligence (BI) staff to focus on the reporting tasks requiring more expertise.
  • It is VERY easy for folks to publish their creations from Tableau Desktop directly to Tableau Server.
  • Starting with "template" projects, many users don't have to have Tableau Desktop but can simply "clone" the template (data connections "baked in") and create new dashboards with nothing more than their browser. This is very cost effective.
  • We have created several Enterprise Mobile Applications for iPhones/iPads and it is very easy to integrate analytics provided by Tableau Server into our custom in-house applications. This GREATLY simplifies the development of sophisticated mobile BA tools.
  • They are already moving toward not requiring any special desktop software to create dashboards from scratch. It will be nice when they finally get there. The biggest hassle we have with getting new Tableau users installed is that Tableau Desktop requires Admin rights on the PC to install. We don't generally allow that, so end users have to get PC support staff involved to do that installation. All of that goes away when Web UI users of Tableau Server can do everything folks with Tableau Desktop can do in terms of creating new projects from scratch.
  • Tableau Server could be "Dockerized" allowing easier installation. Containerization is the wave of the future as opposed to "Full Stack" installations.
Read Don Babcock's full review
Matt Fette | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server allows our Business Analysts to customize existing dashboards or connect to published data sources to do their own what-if analysis with needing our BI group to intervene to get them what they want. Careful thought, you need to get their adhoc results validated.
  • Tableau Server allows users to save filter settings and to save various workbooks/dashboards as favorites, either for themselves or publicly for all users to use.
  • Tableau Server allows the ability to subscribe to a dashboard and receive updates.
  • Tableau Server allows you to access the statistical data regarding what users are accessing, who is accessing it and how often, very useful
  • Tableau Server allows you to monitor the status of data source refreshes and to view errors that may have occurred.
  • Tableau server has an extravagant set of commands that allow you script many day to day reports, backups, etc.
  • Enhanced ability for end consumers to do ad-hoc analysis using near/pseudo English what if's. This is huge. We create dashboards working with end users. Afterward the business has some changes and the dashboards do not unless we/IT changes them. So the dashboards we develop pretty much follow the 80/20 Pareto rule. Over time, they only temporarily cover the most integral 20%. Unfortunately the other 80% can usually be ball parked.
  • The DB write-back capability that just came out in 2018.2 sounds very cool. Hopefully it's well documented and not too complex to implement/use.
  • Fix the TSM upgrade script for 2018.2. This is probable not the right forum.
Read Matt Fette's full review
Thomas Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server is a good tool for sharing content within the organization but still has some flaws

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Democratizes information. Any user can share information.
  • The community is supportive.
  • Auditing has always been lacking. The repository has some information, but being able to see what is clicked and what filters are used is needed.
  • The UI has improved over the years, but finding content is still hard. People keep looking at custom portals or embedding content since it is hard to find.
  • The 2018.2 upgrade is onerous and we have been putting it off. Not just because of tabadmin to tsm changes but also because o the updater not making the upgrade seamless. I have to reset every configuration.
  • Backup and restore is slow.
Read Thomas Cook's full review
Duran Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Tableau review for in home medical visit company use.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Geo-mapping
  • Data drill-down
  • Sharing dashboards online
  • Better ways to move dashboard items, like when all items need to be moved 2 x or y radius to the right, down, etc.
  • More Graphs and Charts
  • Better color customization
  • Maybe a search bar for tools or other items
Read Duran Roberts's full review
David Brotton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Big data management across multiple platforms made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Controls over who can see what report
  • One place for everything
  • Custom controls over various datasources
  • Better mobile
  • Updates are hard, but we try to wait until data source first couple after release, always end up getting connection issues back to our servers
  • A user activity dashboard - more than what data sources
Read David Brotton's full review
Sharon Graves | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau server is an easy to use / powerful tool for visual analytics. Users who are not familiar with technologies can easily create beautiful visualizations to convey the impacts of their products and efforts.
  • Tableau server allows our executive members to have quick easy access to our KPI measures to know how our business is performing at a glance.
  • Tableau server empowers our BI / BA team to dive deeply into our data, and summarize, visualize the significant facts in views that are easily consumed and understood.
  • As with any tool there are areas that can be improved/enhanced. However, Tableau has been a fairly full coverage robust application. I do not have any gaps at this time.
Read Sharon Graves's full review
Bob Ladd | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

Laddy's Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info.
  • It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance.
  • The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.
  • Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards.
  • Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client.
  • It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
Michael Downs | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2018

Tableau Server Review from a daily user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly get a feeling on how a line of business is performing by looking at a page.
  • Out of the box easy to use, setup and produce visual data.
  • Numerous ways to visually show the same data.
  • Tabular reports could be expanded.
  • Ability to quickly produce drill-down reports for quick numbers vs. visual displays.
  • The ability for any staff to have access to only view reports at no additional cost.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Scott Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Flexible easy to use analytics platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tableau Server does a good job of making data easily accessible for consumers of data and analytics.
  • Tableau Server is very easy to populate with data using extracts and storing that in the hyper data engine.
  • Tableau is very fast for viewing complicated analytics - even better when using extracts.
  • Tableau Online would be better if it used Encryption at rest and in transit - this would allow my organization to use it instead of managing our own VM in Azure with Tableau Server.
  • More color palettes would be nice for both Tableau Server and Desktop.
Read Scott Peterson's full review
Shaheed Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2018

Tableau Server and IT

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We were using a third party tool to visualize data in SSRS reports. Tableau is very helpful to visualize the data. Tableau visuals are easy to develop and need a very minimal amount of IT support.
  • It would be better if Tableau could work like Microsoft SSRS reports work. Through SSRS , we can call the Stored procedures and pass the parameter, but in Tableau there are a few constraints.
Read Shaheed Ahmad's full review
Robert Cosgrove | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

It's fine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sharing reports- I use Tableau because it can display information better than Excel
  • Quick analytics
  • Usage stats
  • I don't like how I have to have the desktop and server synced in order to post new reports. I can update my desktop Tableau but I have to wait for some IT guy to update the server.
  • The navigation to finding workbooks could be easier
Read Robert Cosgrove's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.9
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.2
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.9
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.2
Publish to Web (80)
8.6
Publish to PDF (79)
7.7
Report Versioning (65)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.7
Javascript API (34)
7.6
iFrames (38)
7.0
Java API (7)
5.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.8

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese