Tableau Server Reviews

705 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Reviewing Tableau Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

8

We use it on-prem. We have an internal site for users to access. We are also able to internally connect on a mobile device or through VPN.

We are now looking into adding multiple sites for our clients so they can't access other data.

Read this authenticated review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

10
Tableau was installed on-prem.
  • We installed it on a windows server OS.
  • People are creating content in Desktop Tableau then publishing it onto the server.
  • End users consult the dashboards through a web browser with LDAP authentication.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

8
Integration of the Tableau Server with the database is a very simple process. It requires you to give some publish permission to the server. Existing systems in our environment, like the SMTP server and the Active directory system, can easily integrate with it. The Tableau Server doesn't require an advanced process to integrate with existing systems.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

10
Tableau Server is used on-premises for interactive report creation and visualization. We have creator licenses and viewer licenses. The viewers are individuals that don't know how to create Tableau visualizations but want interactive control over what they are looking for. The creator licenses create real-time visualizations and content.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

10
We implement the measurement methodology for a selected topic, prepare (preprocess) the data, connect to data sources, gather the data in to a Tableau DB, produce reports, present them, share them with the respective audience and finetune the model if necessary, as a result, the client managers or analysts end up with a new data gathering path, data preprocessing scripts and Tableau story, shared with the report consumers.

One remark to the cloud vs. on-prem usage -- the companies are not usually sure about whether to got for cloud or on premises version and want to investigate all cons and pros, calculate TCO etc. At the end, usage of BI in a cloud or on-premises is usually boiled down to a few topics, none of them being performance, price, or supportability in a production: today the most decisive factors are whether the firm should send sensitive data out of its IT perimeter, how to assure GDPR compliance, and security as e.g. available certification ISO27001 certifications.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Tableau Server: A No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

9
We are using it on-premises given its' need to access sensitive data only available on our VPCs, which makes it easier to manage when granting access to data in sensitive environments. I have personally deployed to Tableau Servers that weren't on-prem, and have found the user experience to be nearly indistinguishable.
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Subhadipto Poddar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

7
As stated before we are using Tableau Server on the premises to collaborate with different parts of a research group, as well as with different research groups to produce different measures for different projects. Currently we are not using Tableau Server in the cloud but we are planning to do so in near future.
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

9
We have a cloud database using Amazon EMR. The built-in connector in Tableau Desktop allows easy connection to our database and selection of table by searching the table name. This is then used to simply publish into Tableau Server and either require authentication if access should be restricted to those with database credentials, or the results can be published with embedded credentials, so that anyone with access to the page/folder/project in Tableau Desktop can see the content.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

8
Tableau Server is being to used to provide up to the minute reports and visualization for end users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

9
We host our Tableau sever (ritualized) on-prem. Given the nature of the sensitive and often confidential data we are analyzing with Tableau, we felt the on-prem solution suited us better than a cloud-based solution. The local solution also gave us much more flexibility to connect with various data sources as well. In our view, this maximized our implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Eli Massey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2018

Tableau fits our needs as a small company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

8
We run an on-premise system on a VM at our data center that runs quite well with minimal hardware. It has had a few issues during upgrades that have caused some problems in the past but more recently it has been much better.
Read Eli Massey's full review
Henry Yennie | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Usable Analytics for the Right Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

8
We are using Tableau Server for these primary activities:
  1. Creating interactive maps that allow our trauma referral agency to quickly determine the distance from an accident to the right trauma resource (it allows us to operate within the "golden hour" principle - that the first hour after a trauma is the most critical to the ultimate survival of the patient).
  2. We have consolidated data on hospital resources (bed availability by bed type, wait times in Emergency Departments, bed holds in Emergency Departments, and the status of other critical resources) into one dashboard that is easily accessible to our regional coordinators and trauma networks on the Tableau mobile app. We are pulling data together from several screens in the primary applications.)
Read Henry Yennie's full review
Dan Colbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

9
  • iFrame integration with our front-end web app
  • Using templates we design, we replicate custom client visuals using a combination of Python and the REST API
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

10
We migrated on-prem to Azure Cloud a year back. We have a lot of use cases where Tableau Server on Azure Cloud talks to AWS for lot of requests. Integration with other portals is made easy by hosting it on Cloud.
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Charles Bryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2018

Big Fan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

7
Was not permitted to deploy originally because we supported no Windows servers. That roadblock has been cleared and now that a Linux version of the server software is available, we're good. Utilizing Tableau online is not an option in the healthcare space due to HIPAA and other regulatory restrictions.
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Integration

10
It is being used with data from ServiceNow to get a handle on what we are doing and how long it takes to provide a quantitative foundation for effort management/project prioritization.

Tableau analytics are revealing many previously "hidden" costs or service deficiencies so that they can be effectively eliminated or improved.
Read Don Babcock's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.9
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.1
Publish to Web (80)
8.5
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.6
Javascript API (34)
7.5
iFrames (38)
6.8
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese