Tableau Server Reviews

705 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Reviewing Tableau Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

7
Technical support is good but sometimes the turnaround time for an answer can be a little long.
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Tableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
Tableau has great online video resources to learn how to use Tableau Desktop. I have not utilized any video resources regarding Tableau Server, but I have utilized Tableau's own documentation which has been helpful.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
Online user training is great. You get lots of free videos for base Tableau usage. The production value is great for these clips and being numerous and short, it's easy to go at your own pace. I also experienced the online classes (for administration). The online courses that I took were always of good quality with good teachers. The content and exercises were adequate for my needs. I also consulted the free product documentation. It is among the best product documentation that I've consulted so far in my line of work. Information is sometimes wrapped in useless sentences in technical documentation but it is not the case with Tableau. The documentation makes it easy to find what you are looking for.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
It has all the video content available on the Tableau site (providing explanations of each feature in detail) and also Tableau Server installation documents available in the site. It also has lacking technical support. They address all queries to the best they can, but they take more time to address the query because of time zone differences.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

9
Tableau technical support is great. They will do screen sharing or email suggestions or talk on the phone. The only complaint I have on Tableau Sever's technical support is that support takes at least a few hours to get back to you. Sometimes the delay can be more than a day or two. The product documentation and online community make implementing the software easy.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
In my view, the best way to resolve an issue is to visit the community web, read through issues and ask for help. I did not have to contact the tableau technical support. Online training, data, demos, as well as product documentation, are professionally prepared. The community is very helpful and in all cases helped to resolve what I needed.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Tableau Server: A No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
Working with support on an issue I was running into wasn't the greatest experience. That being said, the documentation and community around Tableau is actually quite helpful, so the need to ever leverage support is already pretty small, which leaves the extremely difficult and unusual cases for support.
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
I have used online training quite a bit. It is quite helpful, but at times it is quite difficult to find an answer to specific questions. I spend a lot of time hunting for an answer. I think that's just because the product is so feature dense. But, that has been my experience, whereas with some other SaaS products I use with similar complexity, I'm able to find help documentation much faster. This is an improvement area, but it's certainly not bad.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
Tableau is a complex product. It does require dedicated personnel to fully leverage it. Our data analytics team took very little time to get up to speed with the Tableau client. They primarily used the online resources to do this. So far, they have not run into a question that they have not been able to answer using the online training and documentation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

8
They are very good, my only concerns are the contact support via email and only email because you have to wait for them to reply back to you.
Read this authenticated review
Shoaib Yari | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
Everything you need to become a Tableau Expert is available for free online. I have gone through both Tableau Server and Tableau Desktop documentations and found them to be invaluable. I have also gone through all the training videos and online whitepapers, both of which are great supplementary material. Tableau tech support is also readily available via the customer portal to answer any questions or concerns.
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Usable Analytics for the Right Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

9
Early in the deployment, we utilized technical support services for server installs. After deployment, we have used informal conversations with sales reps and sales engineers to discuss how to accomplish certain complex transformations. Tableau representatives have always been courteous, timely and knowledgable. We often take advantage of "Tableau days" with other Tableau users in the community.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
Dan Colbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

9
With only a few examples to the contrary, the support from the company and community are outstanding. We seldom come across an issue for which we don't eventually find a resolution.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
Wow.. this is a very big advantage to learn, share, support Tableau. I have learned a lot through online training, documents, community, etc. I have also been to one of the Tableau Conferences, which was awesome. All the sessions were knowledgeable. Technical Support is great, they are fast in responding to the issues according to the priority.
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

An essential part of our service offering.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

9
One of the primary reasons for choosing Tableau over something like Lookr is that Tableau has a much more robust online presence with regard to training resources. I use a lot of the documentation and check the forums for answers to my questions regularly, but the availability of independent training through blogs and courses on Udemy (for example) are one of the things that sets it apart from other BI tools.
Read Brett Mendes's full review
Charles Bryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2018

Big Fan Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
I've had very good experiences with Tableau support on all front. Support community is outstanding.
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
The online training is good and I ran a user group in-house for a year. The first place we'd send new users is to the beginner tutorials on Tableau. After that, we only had to "fine tune" things to suit our particular enterprise style.
Read Don Babcock's full review
Matt Fette | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tableau Server Supporting Resources

10
Tableau has excellent resources available for support, training, etc. For the most part we are able to find our own solutions using Google and Tableau's knowledge base and user community forum. The online tutorials are excellent for getting started.
Read Matt Fette's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.9
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.1
Publish to Web (80)
8.5
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.6
Javascript API (34)
7.5
iFrames (38)
6.8
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese