TrustRadius
Tealium iQ is a tag management system for enterprise web sites from San Diego company Tealium, an application promised to reduce the complexity of deploying, embedding and managing tags to a sub-technical level for marketing professionals. Tealium iQ is promised to improve and harmonize activities dependent on the data layer for cross-channel marketing, such as increasing page performance and loading speed, improving time to market, achieving standardized data, and freeing up time that might have been spent coding without a tag system. A free 30 day trial is available.Become Agile!Tealium allows us to free up our developer's time and quickly add and remove vendors tags to our website. We recently considered it to add tags to our apps as well (this is included in your subscription to Tealium), but have so far not taken that step. The support you receive from Tealium is excellent if you need to customize a tag beyond the standard implementations. This flexibility allows marketers to run vendor tests and even do A/B tests between vendors all within the Tealium dashboard. Our company wouldn't be nearly as agile marketing-wise without Tealium.,Allows us to stay nimble and focus on limited developer resources to other more critical development tasks. By have the flexibility to add, but also to remove tags easily, you can ensure your site speed doesn't suffer from forgotten tags still on the site.,A lot of tags are almost plug and play, but some complex tags (e.g., Sitecatalyst) do require assistance from Tealium's support team. That being said rarely has this help spilled over into billable support hours. It is usually covered by our standard support agreement, which is offered to all clients. The Tealium support team is very available to support us on a daily basis.,9,Tealium is an essential tool for us. We'd be blind without it.,,Hotjar, ion interactive, Vindicia CashBox,21-30 vendorsAn easy to use tag management tool backed by a friendly, helpful support team!Tealium iQ Tag Management System is being used on our main company website and a replatforming project. The decision was made to move from Google Tag Manager to Tealium iQ Tag Management System based on a group evaluation of several tag management solutions including Google Tag Manager, Tealium, and Adobe Tag Manager. Tealium iQ Tag Management System is used primarily by our marketing team to deploy analytics tags quickly without having to wait on IT capacity and deployment schedules. However, our IT team occasionally uses Tealium to deploy JavaScript that has vendor dependencies, and QA testing tools. For example, we have a Jira tag that is deployed only on our QA environment that allows our QA team to easily create tickets from the website instead of having to switch to another window or tab.,The user interface is easier to use and organizationally more helpful than that of other tag management solutions. The versioning system provides a nice diagram to minimize confusion when trying to trace a particular change/version The Tealium support team is by far one of the biggest benefits. The are friendly, helpful, and quick to respond. We've had some bad experiences with vendors that thought they knew GTM but ended up breaking our site several times. With Tealium, it is their product, and they know it best. We haven't had any site problems as a result. The Teamium team is great at onboarding. They do an analysis of current analytics tagging and suggest a tagging strategy for the UDO. The UDO is a universal data object that holds relevant data for any given page. This is the same concept as Googel TagManager's data layer. However, the Tealium team is right there guiding the implementation team through the process. They then end with an audit and training to make sure everything is good to go live. There is no endless Googling about what might be the best way to implement something. Tealium's tag marketplace is where you can find a smorgasbord of vendor tags. We only ran into one vendor tag they didn't have from an obscure vendor. Their solution to this: they were happy to write us a tag and add it to the tag marketplace! Tealium really does pamper their clients and are always willing to help.,Really the only thing I can think of is that the js templates for custom containers are hard to find. The casual marketing user would probably never find it unless they researched it. But then again, our marketing department usually isn't changing these. Just one of those things that as a developer, you have to remember how to do or make a note of. This one is minor and based on the perception of certain individuals on our marketing team and didn't apply to me. After the launch of Tealium iQ Tag Management on our site, there was some confusion over a poorly performing third party tag. It was thought (wrongfully) that the Tealium servers were causing the performance problems with data not being sent to said third party. However, this was not the case at all. The Tealium servers were managing and delivering the JavaScript for the tag just fine. It was the final delivery of the data to the third party servers (via a pixel tag) that was causing the issue. So maybe the weakness here was that there was a broader misunderstanding of how Tealium iQ Tag Management actually worked.,10,Faster answers into unknowns and best practices. With Tealium support, you can ask an experienced implementation engineer and get quick answers. We used to spend a lot of time churning on researching answers to questions we weren't sure about. We can now focus more on strategy and actionable data. Increased efficiency between IT and marketing teams by not being bound to IT deploy schedule. By giving tagging power to marketing, IT has taken on a supportive role with fast turn around. Tealium iQ Tag Management has increased employee efficiency in our marketing department. Marketers are able to get tags deployed faster, and get the data they need to make actionable marketing decisions. Tealium iQ Tag Management has increased employee efficiency in our IT department. The IT team is able to focus on features and stability rather than routine maintenance of analytics tags. Tealium iQ Tag Management has increased employee efficiency in our QA department. Our QA team is able to log bugs faster with tools we deployed through Tealium iQ Tag Management on some of our QA environments. Our QA team may soon also be using Tealium iQ Tag Management to do automated testing.,Google Tag Manager and Adobe DTM,11-20 vendorsTealium: Because Autotagging SucksRentPath is using Tealium to completely rebuild our tagging system. Our websites are currently tagged through autotagging or WebTrends, which are managed by our devs, and they don't maintain it well. Our team falls under the data department, and we're using Tealium to retag all our sites and make our data cleaner and easy to understand.,User interface is simple and easy to understand Our deployment engineer and account manager have been outstanding resources for us Gives us the flexibility to put our data into a readable, understandable format before it gets stored in our data warehouse Puts data in the hands of a data team instead of developers,Biggest issue: I wish it were easier to define click events in Tealium without using jQuery. If there were something in the interface that allowed us to pull in the code we need to define these events without relying on our devs. It would be nice if only one person were allowed in a profile at a time. If someone's in there, please lock out other people. Please alphabetize the dropdown list of available variables in the data layer! It's very frustrating to hunt through a list of 100+ variables to find the one I need.,9,The tagging process is much more streamlined. I have a job. :) Employee efficiency has definitely improved.,,2,,Moving data to the hands of data rather than development Streamlining our tagging Making our data easy to understand for the end user,We pretty much use it the way it's intended. We do have to use a bit more custom JavaScript than I would like.,We might use AudienceStream We might use Tealium for cloud storage of our data,9,Implemented in-houseGreat Tag Management ToolWe use Tealium IQ across our numerous eCommerce web sites to deploy and manage tags. It has shortened our deployment cycle and taken away the dependency on IT and web site builds.,Quick deployment and rollback of tags. Ease of new tag deployment with canned implementations. Ease of user management. Good debugging tools.,Extensions can be difficult for some to get their head around. Sometimes end users don't understand the important difference between adding a tag and adding to the UDO.,8,More timely implementation Better use of IT resources. Easier to fix issues.,Google Tag Manager,Ensighten,TagMan,5,2,7Tealium Tag ManagementOur organization uses Tealium on behalf of our clients to help cut down on development hours and keep tag management in the hands of our analytic's team. In general, the tool is only used by our analytics team. This allows us to leverage our analytics experts knowledge to efficiently tag multiple site elements when and how we would like saving time and money in tag management and deployment.,Creates an easy wizard interface to deploy tags that any one can follow. Makes tags easily customizable for your business needs. Provides outstanding support and training on the tool.,Web companion has some room for improvement. The labeling system could be improved to help organization of multiple rules and tags.,8,Saved money on development hours and time of deployment,3,9
Unspecified
Tealium iQ Tag Management System
98 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tealium iQ Reviews

Tealium iQ
98 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 98 vetted Tealium iQ reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 39)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kelly Saux profile photo
July 13, 2018

Tealium iQ Review: "Become Agile!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tealium allows us to free up our developer's time and quickly add and remove vendors tags to our website. We recently considered it to add tags to our apps as well (this is included in your subscription to Tealium), but have so far not taken that step. The support you receive from Tealium is excellent if you need to customize a tag beyond the standard implementations. This flexibility allows marketers to run vendor tests and even do A/B tests between vendors all within the Tealium dashboard. Our company wouldn't be nearly as agile marketing-wise without Tealium.
  • Allows us to stay nimble and focus on limited developer resources to other more critical development tasks.
  • By have the flexibility to add, but also to remove tags easily, you can ensure your site speed doesn't suffer from forgotten tags still on the site.
  • A lot of tags are almost plug and play, but some complex tags (e.g., Sitecatalyst) do require assistance from Tealium's support team. That being said rarely has this help spilled over into billable support hours. It is usually covered by our standard support agreement, which is offered to all clients. The Tealium support team is very available to support us on a daily basis.
Anyone with an ecommerce site that partakes in paid marketing campaigns will undoubtedly benefit from Tealium iQ Tag Management System. If you care about data, analytics, and tracking, chances are you'll find the tool very valuable.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
David Gailey profile photo
November 03, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "An easy to use tag management tool backed by a friendly, helpful support team!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tealium iQ Tag Management System is being used on our main company website and a replatforming project. The decision was made to move from Google Tag Manager to Tealium iQ Tag Management System based on a group evaluation of several tag management solutions including Google Tag Manager, Tealium, and Adobe Tag Manager. Tealium iQ Tag Management System is used primarily by our marketing team to deploy analytics tags quickly without having to wait on IT capacity and deployment schedules. However, our IT team occasionally uses Tealium to deploy JavaScript that has vendor dependencies, and QA testing tools. For example, we have a Jira tag that is deployed only on our QA environment that allows our QA team to easily create tickets from the website instead of having to switch to another window or tab.
  • The user interface is easier to use and organizationally more helpful than that of other tag management solutions.
  • The versioning system provides a nice diagram to minimize confusion when trying to trace a particular change/version
  • The Tealium support team is by far one of the biggest benefits. The are friendly, helpful, and quick to respond. We've had some bad experiences with vendors that thought they knew GTM but ended up breaking our site several times. With Tealium, it is their product, and they know it best. We haven't had any site problems as a result.
  • The Teamium team is great at onboarding. They do an analysis of current analytics tagging and suggest a tagging strategy for the UDO. The UDO is a universal data object that holds relevant data for any given page. This is the same concept as Googel TagManager's data layer. However, the Tealium team is right there guiding the implementation team through the process. They then end with an audit and training to make sure everything is good to go live. There is no endless Googling about what might be the best way to implement something.
  • Tealium's tag marketplace is where you can find a smorgasbord of vendor tags. We only ran into one vendor tag they didn't have from an obscure vendor. Their solution to this: they were happy to write us a tag and add it to the tag marketplace! Tealium really does pamper their clients and are always willing to help.
  • Really the only thing I can think of is that the js templates for custom containers are hard to find. The casual marketing user would probably never find it unless they researched it. But then again, our marketing department usually isn't changing these. Just one of those things that as a developer, you have to remember how to do or make a note of.
  • This one is minor and based on the perception of certain individuals on our marketing team and didn't apply to me. After the launch of Tealium iQ Tag Management on our site, there was some confusion over a poorly performing third party tag. It was thought (wrongfully) that the Tealium servers were causing the performance problems with data not being sent to said third party. However, this was not the case at all. The Tealium servers were managing and delivering the JavaScript for the tag just fine. It was the final delivery of the data to the third party servers (via a pixel tag) that was causing the issue. So maybe the weakness here was that there was a broader misunderstanding of how Tealium iQ Tag Management actually worked.
The scenarios where a tag management solution is appropriate are:

  • Your marketing team needs to move faster on actionable data than your IT team can deploy tags.
  • You want to give your marketing team the power and responsibility of managing and deploying analytics tags.
  • Vendor tags are interfering with site performance or uptime and you wish to have an easy "off" switch.

One key question to ask is: "Do I need assistance with the technical implementation of the data layer?". And if you do, "how much assistance?". Another question is "does our marketing team need direction on a data layer or tagging strategy?" Tealium excels at these areas because of their excellent support before, during, and after implementation.
Read David Gailey's full review
Courtney Craig profile photo
October 01, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium: Because Autotagging Sucks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RentPath is using Tealium to completely rebuild our tagging system. Our websites are currently tagged through autotagging or WebTrends, which are managed by our devs, and they don't maintain it well. Our team falls under the data department, and we're using Tealium to retag all our sites and make our data cleaner and easy to understand.
  • User interface is simple and easy to understand
  • Our deployment engineer and account manager have been outstanding resources for us
  • Gives us the flexibility to put our data into a readable, understandable format before it gets stored in our data warehouse
  • Puts data in the hands of a data team instead of developers
  • Biggest issue: I wish it were easier to define click events in Tealium without using jQuery. If there were something in the interface that allowed us to pull in the code we need to define these events without relying on our devs.
  • It would be nice if only one person were allowed in a profile at a time. If someone's in there, please lock out other people.
  • Please alphabetize the dropdown list of available variables in the data layer! It's very frustrating to hunt through a list of 100+ variables to find the one I need.
If developers manage tagging and it's going to stay that way, they can just implement tags in the code. That might be easier than learning an interface. Tealium is better for data analysts who don't know or don't have access to code, but want to manage tagging.
Read Courtney Craig's full review
Steve Moon profile photo
November 11, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Great Tag Management Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tealium IQ across our numerous eCommerce web sites to deploy and manage tags. It has shortened our deployment cycle and taken away the dependency on IT and web site builds.
  • Quick deployment and rollback of tags.
  • Ease of new tag deployment with canned implementations.
  • Ease of user management.
  • Good debugging tools.
  • Extensions can be difficult for some to get their head around.
  • Sometimes end users don't understand the important difference between adding a tag and adding to the UDO.
For tag management it is simple and comprehensive.
Read Steve Moon's full review
David Campanella profile photo
August 19, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium Tag Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organization uses Tealium on behalf of our clients to help cut down on development hours and keep tag management in the hands of our analytic's team. In general, the tool is only used by our analytics team. This allows us to leverage our analytics experts knowledge to efficiently tag multiple site elements when and how we would like saving time and money in tag management and deployment.
  • Creates an easy wizard interface to deploy tags that any one can follow.
  • Makes tags easily customizable for your business needs.
  • Provides outstanding support and training on the tool.
  • Web companion has some room for improvement.
  • The labeling system could be improved to help organization of multiple rules and tags.
Tealium is a best in class tag management system that is integrated well across a multitude of vendors and plug ins. Tealium makes tag management simple and easy to use for anyone in your company. However, it is an investment of both time and money to train and understand how to use the tool effectively.
Read David Campanella's full review
Mark Jaggers profile photo
August 19, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Best system out of the 3 we tried/used"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just rolled Tealium out as a Global solution. Previously one region was using Tealium, another was using Ensighten and another was using Google Tag Manager. Rolling Tealium out allowed us to have a global solution and also made it easier for our regions to manage their own tags since Tealium has a great user interface.
  • A large number of existing vendor templates to make it easy to roll out new tags quickly
  • A robust data layer
  • Excellent user interface
  • Great customer support and large community
  • While the UI is great, it can be a little overwhelming. I am not sure there is much that can be improved. I think it just requires some good training.
Tealium IQ is for more that just adding tags to a site. If you just need to add basic tags to a site, then Tealium may be overkill. Tealium is much more than just a tag management system.
Read Mark Jaggers's full review
Jeremy Myers profile photo
April 15, 2015

User Review: "Tealium iQ is the best TMS out there."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tealium iQ on all of our ecommerce properties for US and Europe and are planning to expand to all remaining markets in the next year. We acquired Tealium to both clean-up our tracking and allow for launching tags without having to go through IT.
  • User-interface. We have found the UI to be very intuitive which has made it easier to get use to and features like the color-coding of changed elements and labels make using the tool very eary.
  • Extensions. These are an incredibly powerful way to enrich and power our data layer.
  • Customer service. Our AM is terrific. He's very responsive and always bends over backwards to help.
  • Mobile interface. I had to make a change recently from my phone and it required pinching and zooming on the desktop site.
I feel a rating of 10 would mean that I would recommend Tealium 100% of the time, but there are scenarios where I would recommend a free solution. For example, if a user doesn't have budget for a paid solution or if he/she is only using Google Analytics. For every other scenario that comes to mind, I WOULD recommend Tealium.
Read Jeremy Myers's full review
Max Andresen profile photo
September 30, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tealium to manage all of the tracking on our site. It loads in all of the tracking tags to the site and manages them all.
  • Organizes tags
  • Deciding how and when to load those tags
  • Loads tags quickly.
  • I wish it grabbed the data and ran the tracking on their servers instead of the clients device.
I believe Tealium is well suited for a large website with many tracking tags. I don't believe it would be very useful for small sites with little tracking.
Read Max Andresen's full review
Adam Schnaare profile photo
August 19, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Fairly new, but impressed"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We support our clients that use this software.
  • Correctly categorizes the main functions of the system.
  • Provides the key value of abstraction.
  • I don't see any mobile/tablet support for the iQ. It would be great to see a subset of the features available on other devices.
  • The UI relies a little too heavily on popups.
I don't know the costs of this project, but if the company doesn't have the budget, analytics might need to be introduced into the organization before using this. But then I'm sure this would prove its value very quickly.
Read Adam Schnaare's full review
Nathan Normand profile photo
April 16, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this to implement tags in a more efficient way and avoiding waiting on our IT releases to push changes to production.
  • Allows for easy tag management
  • Organization of tags so you know where and what to look for
  • Pretty intuitive if the data layer is set up properly
  • I would say a quick and easy way to have jQuery pre written for extended tracking functionality that may be a common request. Users would then just fill in the missing pieces based off of their site design
Read Nathan Normand's full review
Vijayraghav Nerella profile photo
April 16, 2015

User Review: "My Impressions of Tealium IQ"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by Marketing and Support departments for managing Web Analytics tags. Makes it much easier for business users to directly manage tag configurations. Enables use of growing number of marketing tags on a very large site and leveraging the new innovative marketing technologies that are being built.
  • It is feature rich, you have features for all kinds of uses
  • the granularity of configs that are sometime needed by web analytics tags is possible to do. Many can be done with little programming/JS skills
  • amazing number of partners and reliable partnership with CDNs
  • Single Sign On integration with our corporate website is missing. If we had this, people don't need to create separate accounts on tealium. makes it compliant to corp information security policy
  • too many features and possibility which can be overwhelming for most users (other than power user). Feels like it needs long learning curve.
Best for managing web analytics tags. Not sure about its use for dynamic content delivery like Test and Target
Read Vijayraghav Nerella's full review
Paul Dunphy profile photo
April 16, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Cleaning bloated code base"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision to move from a back-end server side analytics to client side based software. To help with the deployment the decision was made to leverage Tealium and create a robust UDO so that we can clean up the code base of hard coded analytics & third party tags. After a year of implementation, we have Tealium deployed sitewide and are close to having strong UDO through out the website. Tealium has been very beneficial as well as quite the learning experience.
  • Code once deploy to myriad of other tags
  • One dashboard to manage all tags
  • Cleans up code on site.
  • Better notifications when the Tealium code is updated. We had system issues because we were unaware of Tealium updates.
Tealium is very strong in the number of pre-existing third party tags. Virtually all of the tags we've needed have been available.
Read Paul Dunphy's full review
David Parker profile photo
April 15, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium works great for us, and here's why"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to implement lines of code on our website for Adometry, Adobe Test & Target, Floodlight tags, etc. It's simply a tool for us to use versus having to use our dev team to implement. It is currently only used by our marketing department for our website but can and may be expanded to other initiatives.
  • Instant access to the code implemented on our site
  • Allows us to get the data from across multiple channels
  • Removes the dev cycle from getting changes made
  • As an intermediate user, it's complex to understand where to start when something needs to be implemented.
  • Switching between tabs works, but wonder if it could be improved upon when building out your data needs.
  • Some input fields allowed me to input wrong javascript that goes against how it should be built...should have a checker.
While I'm sure Tealium could be useful for any size organization, I'd say it is more useful for a large company with a wealth of customers whereas it may not be as valuable for a smaller company.
Read David Parker's full review
Matthew Rogers profile photo
April 15, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium rocks."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially Tealium solved our tag management issue. We had pixels all over the place on our web site with no central management system. Updates required a manual search and replace scenario. Tealium easily handled that. Tealium is very stable. No issues with delivery at all. Tealium is also very polished on the front-end of the software. For a very complex system, it is quite intuitive. We have just scratched the surface of the software. From event tracking to building audience personas, Tealium can be a much greater company asset by providing user data to allow us to make better marketing decisions.
  • Tag management.
  • Provide a stable and reliable tag delivery.
  • Multiple tag configuration with rollback ability.
  • A Tealium certification program is needed to realize the full potential of the software. This would be a professional asset as well for marketing careers.
  • More detailed daily delivery reports with as much details as possible regarding tag failures.
Tealium well suited for tag management.

Key question to ask during selection process is to ask who will manage Tealium in-house. True management of tags will require someone with technical ability and who is comfortable with HTML and JavaScript.
Read Matthew Rogers's full review
Jer Tippets profile photo
April 15, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium Tag Management has changed the way we run our business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Tealium Tag Management is used across our entire company. We use it to implement everything from basic marketing tags, to our in house and third party analytics platforms and even to add content to the site instead of jumping through the hoops with our CMS.

Tealium allows us one place to do everything we need to do. It allows us to do it quickly and efficiently.

  • Tealium has a clean, easy to use interface to help you get the job done right the first time.
  • Tealium makes it easy to make sure the right tag is setup and won't cause problems on the site.
  • The interface can get slow when you start to have a lot of tags setup on a profile. Once you hit 600+ tags in a profile, it takes a long time to do anything.
  • The tag templates are awesome, and allow us do anything we need with a tag. But are COMPLICATED to modify.
Tealium is great for any organization that has a lot of tags to manage. If a site only has a handful of tags to manage (a dozen or less) Tealium Tag Management would be overkill, but if you have multiple sites, and dozens or even hundreds of tags, this is the tool to make your life easier.
Read Jer Tippets's full review
Zach Cochran profile photo
April 14, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium - best choice for enterprise tag management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tealium across all business units. We're not completely deployed (we've got a lot of properties), but we're getting close. We still need to get mobile integrated; that's all deployed directly. As for business problems, it's a key part of data standardization.
  • Versioning and rollback features are excellent.
  • Many tags are supported out of the box.
  • The data layer is powerful and easy to populate.
  • Custom tags can be complex; using extensions to populate data layer objects to feed custom tags is tricky.
  • Mobile SDK?
At the enterprise level, I would recommend Tealium above any other. That's not to say it's perfect, but it's ahead of all the other competition. The others either aren't robust enough (BrightTag) or are too developer-focused (Ensighten).
Read Zach Cochran's full review
Matthew DiAntonio profile photo
April 08, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium - an excellent choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tealium is used across the organization. We have centralized our tag management and deployment process through Tealium. In addition, we leveraged the tool for data extraction for additional analysis.
  • Excellent Service
  • Robust control of tags
  • Unified Data Object is a game changer
  • Support portal is gated which can be a little annoying
If you have dozens (or hundreds) of tags that need management - Tealium Tag Management Suite is the tool for you. If you have a smaller selection - this would be overkill.
Read Matthew DiAntonio's full review
Areef Ahamad profile photo
February 26, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium - Excellent product and great customer support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tealium across all brands and platforms. Currently, we have Tealium on 7 major retail brands. The platforms include desktop, mobile and mobile apps.
  • User friendly i.e. better than programmer freindly
  • Excellent customer support
  • Easy contract terms
  • Tealium is relatively easy to set up. Just like any other software installation, it neads planning and coordination between the Analysts, Programmers, Analytics Implementation Manager and Tealium Manager/Programmer.
  • The documentation can be improved
  • Need more customer training
Overall Tealium is a great tag management solution.
Read Areef Ahamad's full review
Aaron Chiles profile photo
April 24, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium in the Enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tealium is used for tag management of our tracking, attribution, and retargeting tags. This is a joint partnership between Marketing and IT.
  • Versioning
  • GUI for Tags
  • Tag Marketplace
  • Design and User Interace
It is excellent in B2C and commerce environments. Enterprise features, like SSO, are in-progress and we're excited about the future developments.
Read Aaron Chiles's full review
Elijah Lovejoy profile photo
April 16, 2015

Tealium iQ: "Tealium review -- enterprise use case"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
deployment of various tags across our website
  • huge "app store" for tags
  • rollback
  • support a wide range of roles
  • single sign-on
support large scale deployment of an open-ended number of tags
Read Elijah Lovejoy's full review
Russ Vander Wiel profile photo
April 16, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Early user, but impressed so far"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are starting with privacy compliance for EU. Next phase is getting after tag management. It will be eventually used across the entire company globally. We are going to use it as a critical element for establishing a data management layer for digital marketing.
  • Tag management administration
  • Business rules that map to our complex site structure and domains
  • Provides foundation for data management strategy
  • not enough experience to say
Well suited to a complex web environment with many third party and cloud marketing partners
Read Russ Vander Wiel's full review
Kevin Chen profile photo
April 16, 2015

User Review: "Tealium IQ is a great product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Love TIQ, very powerful and advanced. However, sometimes I feel like I have barely scratched the surface. There are a lot of functions. I don't even know if this is best practice to do that. Will be cool to have some video tutorial to teach people how to use Tealium.

  • Very powerful. It is able to connect a lot of tags
  • Significantly reducing our development time
  • Easy to QA
  • Video Tutorial. System is too complicated
Read Kevin Chen's full review
Diego Saenz profile photo
April 14, 2015

Tealium iQ Review: "Tealium at a Glance"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tealum is used to track e-Commerce conversions.
  • Accessible to non-technical users; removes my development team from the tagging process.
  • Turn-key integrations with Google Analytics, AdWords and over 700 partners.
  • Every bit of code delivered by Tealium can be served from a CDN (like Akamai), which means it can potentially load much faster than a tool requiring server-side technology.
  • Database Connectors ( i.e. MySQL ).
Tealium is not well suited for real-time segmentation and conversion optimization.
Read Diego Saenz's full review
Jacob Walker profile photo
December 04, 2014

Tealium iQ Review: "Tag Management Done Right"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an agency, we manage aspect of the platform based on the direction of our clients. That can be anything from implementation development, to regular management and creation of tags within the console.

The tool is used mostly by the Analytics department and for our clients its addresses the challenge of limited IT bandwidth and need for multiple tags to help track different partners.
  • Ease of use. This tool is very easy to use and the interface is very user friendly. Tealium also provides a comprehensive user learning community to help answer most questions that can up during any point of the user process.
  • Powerful. The tool is beyond powerful, you can not only manage tags for your site, but you can use the tool to solve a multitude of site side issues without the need for complicated development or IT resources.
  • Support. The support that comes from Tealium is unmatched. Any issue or challenge you have, your account manager is right there to help you. The response rate and turnaround on solutions is great and they make you feel like they generally care the success of your implementation.
  • There are limitations on what you can find in the learning community. So rare or unique issues will usually not be resolved by doing a search on your own, which requires reaching out to your rep for support. It would be nice if there was documentation in the learning community to help with these scenarios.
If your company has the financial resources to partner with Tealium, there is no reason not to. With the options they have currently and the product road map they have in place, Tealium could be a one a stop solution for everything from tag management to real time data warehousing/analytics. I do highly recommend choosing one or 2 people within your organization to be responsible for management of the console. Because you can publish changes directly to your live site, it can get messy if you have to many cooks in the kitchen and a lack of continuity on the organization/process for regular management.
Read Jacob Walker's full review
Mark Fiske profile photo
October 03, 2014

Tealium iQ Review: "Holy Grail of Marketing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tealium IQ to implement the hundreds of tags across our global properties, and leverage the Tealium AudienceStream product to enable real-time marketing across all of our on-site and off-site digital marketing channels. The product is in use across the organization - from product to marketing and development.
  • Ridiculously awesome client services and support. Tealium listens to feedback, implements changes and is truly a partner in marketing.
  • Tag library. The comprehensive tracking tag library makes it easy to find and configure tags - even comparing your implementation to the 'stock' tags in the system.
  • Flexibility and features. The system is constantly evolving. The product today is much more featured than the product a week ago, a month ago, and a year ago. Tealium is clearly invested in developing the best product possible and will do whatever it takes to meet needs.
  • It's not free.
  • SMBs. Tealium was built from the ground up to meet the needs of enterprise businesses with marketing challenges. The current product might not be the best for your five man shop with simple marketing needs.
Tealium is particularly well-suited to enterprise organizations looking to take action on a 360 view of their customer without being locked into another organization's "cloud".
Read Mark Fiske's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (3)
10.0
Tag library (3)
10.0
Tag variable mapping (3)
10.0
Ease of writing custom tags (3)
7.0
Rules-driven tag execution (3)
10.0
Tag performance monitoring (3)
9.0
Improved page load times (3)
9.0
Mobile app tagging (2)
9.0
Library of JavaScript extensions (3)
9.0
Event tracking (3)
10.0
Mobile event tracking (2)
10.0
Data distribution management (2)
9.0
Universal data layer (3)
10.0
Automated error checking (1)
8

About Tealium iQ

Tealium iQ is a tag management system for enterprise web sites from San Diego company Tealium, an application promised to reduce the complexity of deploying, embedding and managing tags to a sub-technical level for marketing professionals. Tealium iQ is promised to improve and harmonize activities dependent on the data layer for cross-channel marketing, such as increasing page performance and loading speed, improving time to market, achieving standardized data, and freeing up time that might have been spent coding without a tag system. A free 30 day trial is available.
Categories:  Tag Management

Tealium iQ Competitors

Tealium iQ Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No