TestComplete Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-45 of 45)

Gonzalo ROBLES | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2017

KaliosTest and TestComplete

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kalios enhances and simplifies test development
  • Test scenarios maintenance is simplified by Kalios
  • Good performance while executing tests
  • TestComplete needs nearly the last version of testcomplete (Our PLM is working on a very old firefox version...)
Read Gonzalo ROBLES's full review
Hassan Arshad | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2017

TestComplete not so Complete

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Documentation is pretty thorough and awesome.
  • There is a good tech support that responds in due time.
  • Integration with CI.
  • Good basic framework.
  • Object Spy is awesome.
  • Better interface for dynamic web app.
  • Mobile app automation requires considerable improvements.
  • There are many objects like the text area and dropdowns that are not captured correctly.
  • Xpaths require improvements, these are sometimes very difficult to use if there are no accessibility ids defined.
Read Hassan Arshad's full review
Sachin Gulmadagkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2017

TestComplete - What's good and What's not. Why did we choose it?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SoapUI and Selenium Integration
  • Test Execute for executing tests on Virtual Machines
  • Support of 6 different programming languages
  • Cheaper than UFT of TOSCA Suite
  • 95% automation can be done without programming
  • Good Cross Browser Testing Functioalities
  • No support for Linux or Mac
  • No support of Windows Mobile
  • Once the project is created in one languages, cant be changed
  • Error handling can be improved
Read Sachin Gulmadagkar's full review
Eric Kabuss | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Availability and Performance: Testcomplete

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Test complete is the most stable tool I have ever had to do this job. I use it to test Internal Fat, mainstream but also Saas and other Internet applications.
  • Com Object Testing is more stable than image recognition (but good image recognition is paramount for Citrix, and so on)
  • I need to test Citrix (deployed apps and desktop) and for now TestComplete cannot do the job because image recognition is not good enough
  • A way to store the encrypted password of many users would be also appreciated
Read Eric Kabuss's full review
Farid Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2015

SmartBear TestComplete review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supports applications of almost all varieties.
  • Supports scripting capability with various types of scripting languages.
  • Keep themselves updated with technologies and trends going on to compete in the market with other competitors.
  • Can come up with some built-in Data Driven OOP generic framework, which have the ability to read/write data from/to external sources, and storing that data as record/record-set, as well as base script to connecting different types of databases....which can take input as parameter both from Keyword test and scripting test.
  • I don't know if it's possible to implement a keyword test with OOP paradigm, but it would be better to have support to implement in that way.
  • In teh KeywordTest Ediior not all condition making and looping statements are available...better to have more functionality there.
Read Farid Ahmed's full review
Boris Tam | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2015

Automated Software Testing Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to select mapped objects and perform actions on them. This allows users to automate processes and save a bunch of time.
  • Provide detailed log reports of script compilations. This makes it easy to find errors in code and see what actions were performed when the script was run.
  • Link functions, variables, and classes. This makes TestComplete a useful tool for testers to script tests.
  • Terminating test runs: Stop test runs just a few seconds after the user clicks the stop button.
  • Some printlogs in a test log, do not show a call stack, which makes it difficult for users to find script fails and fix issues.
  • Allow users to bookmark lines so users can go back to parts of code and edit them.
Read Boris Tam's full review
Yuliya (Julia) Cherkasova | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2015

TestComplete review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wide variety of supported UI objects.
  • XML comparer is very easy to use.
  • Excellent technical support.
  • Good performance at test execution.
  • Automation team had a few challenges with object recognition during the test run. Especially after the windows updates. As soon as SmartBear found that certain Windows updates break functionality, a notification to the customer would be great.
Read Yuliya (Julia) Cherkasova's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2018

Nice tool for desktop, still lacks support for some mobile app types

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Recognizing Delphi VCL controls, except TVirtualTreeview, but TC Folks once showed me how to automate this as well and it's ok now.
  • Clean testcase structure etc. and helpful IDE
  • Supports Delphi script for writing clean test Code and doesn't force you into recording everything.
  • It rarely crashes and given that the Task at Hand really Needs intimate Knowledge of the inner workings of the platforms supported, this is surely no easy task!
  • No support for testing Delphi Firemonkey apps on mobile platforms yet and no clear indication of whether this will be delivered in the future and if so, when.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

Meets my needs for a price I like.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete has a good variety of low-level functions that give us the flexibility to create our own functions that really meet our needs. We have built up a significant 'common' script library that includes functions for interacting with fields, checking data, and even a re-written object search that has made working with new environments easy!
  • With floating user licenses, we are able to be really flexible in our development environments. We can easily switch servers and run scripts from different locations to test network timings and environment setup with relative ease.
  • Using a backend of SQL (rather than Excel documents) to handle test cases, we are easily able to scale our tests. We can have any number of TestExecute licenses running the same project and the SQL will provide each script with the data it needs to run the specified job.
  • Having never used anything like TestComplete before joining my company, it wasn't exactly the easiest application to pick up. The code examples online (particularly the SQL ones) were a little difficult to get the hang of. I was greatly helped by having a guy on my team who had worked with TestComplete for a few years, but the onboarding was a little rough.
  • We've run into various errors over the years involving memory leaks (which required a hotfix patch) and even scripts written in TestComplete not running in TestExecute. While these have always been addressed by patches (or new major versions in the case of the TestExecute issues), it has occasionally required some clever work-around in order to get it to do what we need.
  • We have encountered many issues running TestComplete in an RDP session to a virtual machine. The RDP window needs to be open at all times and cannot be minimized. This may be a technological limitation, but it would be really convenient if we could run 'headless' scripts as scheduled tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

Great for interface testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User interface testing
  • Keeping up with browser developments
  • Identifying behavior changes in the interface
  • The licensing system is unwieldy, particularly when it comes to removing a license from a dead machine.
  • The stand-alone test runner, TestExecute, really needs a function for setting local variables and parameters.
  • Adding exception handling for scripts would be very useful.
  • Adding a 'pause for human interaction' script element (other than inserting a breakpoint) would be highly useful for certain tests.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

TestComplete Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use even by non-technical people.
  • UI automation made easy.
  • Object spy is really good for finding object's properties and methods.
  • Region checkpoints don't have anymore the option to directly crop the area of interest.
  • Only one global object repository.
  • Sometimes (very rarely) crashes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Personal Opinion on TestComplete

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supports multiple languages.
  • Can create performance tests from scripts used for automation test.
  • Supports all current major browsers.
  • TestComplete sometimes hangs and it could last for several hours without moving on from the current test case.
  • It should allow the user to make a checkpoint when running several test cases to keep track of tests that need to be updated or fixed.
  • Should have an option to save all the variables used in the test case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Testing Everything

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Testcomplete can support a variety of interfaces, scripts, applications and can be used with being a trained programmer which is a big advantage.
  • In some cases there are buttons and menus which are not recognized by testcomplete, these cases forced us to use mouse coordinates and positions or other workarounds to get the task done. It would be great if the recognition of buttons and menus would be more robust and we wouldn't need to look for workarounds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

A lapsed user returns

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Object recognition and maintenance is easy to work with.
  • I love how powerful the product is simply by allowing script code to enhance the recorded steps.
  • Upgrades have never been a problem. All of my projects have worked flawlessly from one new version to another.
  • We desperately need it to work on Macs as well as Windows.
  • I would appreciate an easier method of editing image comparison masks.
  • We currently have to develop our own reports for viewing the history of a particular test over time. This information is vital for helping us track down when a bug started. Some means of being able to parse various logs from build runs would be a huge plus.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

TestComplete Tried and Tested

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • First of all it has great documentation, online and in the Help files, and a great lively community ready to step up an help.
  • Great support from SmartBear if need be.
  • Plenty of features that allow great depths of automation to be done.
  • Runs well in projects with a high number of scripts.
  • One of the downsides is the relatively slow autocomplete function in the Script Editor. Could be a bit faster, but is still usable and I tend to use it 95% of the time.
  • TestComplete, by default, has a white theme with black text. This can become tiresome after several hours of using it. Luckily the script editor is customizable, but unfortunately the rest of the application is not.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

Our TestComplete Experience

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cross-browser testing
  • Adjusting current tests for several sites
  • Reduces time spent on manual site regressions
  • Steep learning curve
  • Outdated documentation on the SmartBear site
  • Not getting answers to issues through the SmartBear knowledge base
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2017

TestComplete Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TestComplete would be easy to learn for a user with no programming experience. The keyword tests make recording and editing very easy.
  • The user can have direct control over how objects are mapped and how they are named. This is very helpful for organization.
  • The tree structures used for the tests in the projects, for name mapping, and even within the tests keep everything very organized and easily accessible.
  • TestComplete seems to have a hard time mapping smaller objects in my company's software. In the main window, there are some controls and buttons but TestComplete only sees the pane they are located in and not the actual buttons. To get around this I have to tell it to click at a certain location within the pane instead of telling it to click on a button. Mapping works perfectly for every other software I test in except the software developed in my company. It is easy to work around but I had to switch monitors recently and redo all of those locations because the resolution had changed. Also for certain popup windows it will default to a location within the window rather than click the OK button and I have to go back and tell it to insert an action for the button because it does not map the button at first. It would be nice if the name mapping were a little more particular.
  • Often when I record a new portion of a test or make other changes, the preview pane will revert to "default" height and I have to resize it so it big again and I can see what I am looking at. This is annoying, it would be nice if the preview pane always remembered its size.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2017

"It's fiiine..." ©

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a decent tool to use. Can't say anything particularly outstanding.
  • IDE is horrible. Feels like you using Word 97.
  • More flexibility in running tests through the console (for a CI usage). I know that you can do it through a COM object, but still feel that it might be an easier/better process.
  • It is very slow. Especially the spy tool. Even reducing application scope with filters and turning off some unused plugins/modules does not help (on i7 + 16Gb ram). A workaround is using a special empty VM to develop your tests, but it's a pain and inconvenience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Great Automation tool for any size of team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Test Automation
  • Logging and tracking
  • Shared projects
  • Not having the ability to test on a Mac or against Safari browsers is a big downfall. This is the only thing that I wish TestComplete would address based on my current use and needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Positive, productive tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Robust and complete coverage for all UI elements including third party components that we use from Syncfusion.
  • Support is responsive.
  • Frequent updates to software which typically includes useful additions and fixes.
  • It's a complex code that takes time to come up to speed.
  • It can be a bit slow to run the tests, but we are exploring the parallel options it offers.
  • There can be difficulties on virtual machines due to resolution issues, etc.
Read this authenticated review

About TestComplete

TestComplete is designed to help testers and developers easily manage, run, and analyze automated GUI tests across multiple devices, platforms, and environments - enabling teams to improve software quality and speed up time to delivery.

According to the vendor, key business benefits include:
  • Easy-to-use for All Experience Levels: Use the powerful record and playback feature to run tests or choose from multiple programming languages such as Python, VB.NET, or JavaScript to write your own.
  • Instant Access to Real Environments in the Cloud: Get real-time access to the latest devices, resolutions, browsers and operating systems in our cloud lab. Run tests in parallel across more than 1500+ remote environments to improve test speed and coverage.
  • Robust Object Recognition for UI Testing: Automate anything you have seen on the user interface. With TestComplete's robust object identification engine, you can choose from over 50K object properties across more than 500 control types, including all major frameworks and third-party controls.
  • Built for Continuous Testing: Easily integrate TestComplete with test automation framework tools, CI systems such as GIT or Mercurial, or Test Management platforms like Jira or QAComplete.

TestComplete Features

Has featureScriptless Testing
Has featureData-Driven Testing
Has featureCross-Browser Testing
Has featureFunctional Testing
Has featureRegression Testing
Has featureParallel Testing

TestComplete Integrations

TestComplete Competitors

Progress Telerik UI, Sauce Labs, Selenium, Unified Functional Testing (formerly HP UFT), Ranorex

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TestComplete Pro$3,500 / $7000Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Platform$1,000 / $2,500Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Web$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Mobile$1,299 / $2,598Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Desktop$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License

You can buy the TestComplete Pro Bundle or individual TestComplete Modules based on your needs. The TestComplete Pro Bundle comes with the TestComplete Platform, all three modules, (Desktop, Web, and Mobile) as well as the TestExecute add-on. TestComplete also has additional add-ons: -TestExecute -HP Quality Center Connector - Environment Manager

TestComplete Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TestComplete Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No