TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGLearned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school.Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.),Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling. Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update. As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.,Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license. The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL. Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.,10,JMP Pro,My role was a little disconnected from this. I don't know but I'd imagine it created a lot of visibility to where money was being lost in manufacturing.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,Have not used anything but Spotfire.,JMP Pro, AnacondaA Fresh Way to Present DataTIBCO Spotfire is currently only used by myself. I work for a small geophysics start-up and I'm one of 5 employees total. We collect lots of numbers during geophysical surveying and as a result we process lots of data in the office. While half the job is collecting the values and interpreting them, the other half is presentation and explanations of the data we collect and being able to show its relevance to our clients' situations.,Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office. Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect. User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.,The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.,10,Google Drive and Microsoft Office 365,Self-taught,No. Spotfire is the first TIBCO product any of us have used.,Google Drive, Microsoft Office 2016, ArcGISEasy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic dataWe use TIBCO Spotfire primarily as a lab, but it is also used throughout the department for varying purposes. Our use of it in the lab is to create complex, three dimensional statistical graphs that would otherwise require a very specialized and expensive program. Even with the specialized program, TIBCO Spotfire does a much better job at presenting the data and allowing customization.,Customization - can change anything about an image from the color to the layout. Much easier than Microsoft products! User friendly - no tutorial or instruction manual necessary. Great data organization - very easy to display even the most complex data in an understandable way.,Sometimes it is difficult to import data from things like Microsoft Excel. It would be nice to have multiple different export file types so that Spotfire can be more compatible with more programs.,8,GeneralCOST Estimator for Excel, Isentia.Buzznumbers and Cashier Live,Faster data output. More consistent displays. More universal use across the office.,Online training Self-taught,We have only used TIBCO Spotfire.,Microsoft 365 Business, Apple iCloud, MATLABOverviewTIBCO is being used as an important tool for data visualization techniques. Data Science team has been exclusively using the TIBCO software for data visualization for quite some now. Also the services offered by TIBCO Spotfire are quite satisfying and reliable.,Dashboard Charts Visualization,Quite satisfying Perfect No improvements required,8,Better results Accurate results Useful,Self-taught,No other products were integrated but was directly usedPowerful Analysis Program Worth Paying ForOnly optimisation engineers in countries around the world have access to Spotfire. We use it so analyse drilling trends, identify errors in data and hazardous events that have occurred. I am the only user in Australia for my company.,Great marking and colouring options to highlight necessary data. Particularly helpful in scatter plots with segment colouring options. The details visualisation allows quick analysis of multiple parameters to identify trends Adding calculation columns are easy and simple to write if more data is required. Refreshing of data from source is also helpful.,I find it difficult to view large scale data on x-y scatter plots where multiple data needs to be viewed on the x-axis. We generally put depth drilled on the y-axis and up to 3 variables on the y-axis but Spotfire does not view this data very well. Ability to auto calculate a trend line by selecting two points of data on x-y scatter plot would be useful for viewing. The print preview button doesnt save the last setting so when printing multiple landscape views I had to change my options every time. Just a bit tedious. Don't really understand trellis options yet but still learning on this.,8,,Limited experience but so far great program and saved many hours of analysis over Excel.,Self-taught,No.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 213 of 491 TIBCO Spotfire ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David Glennon profile photo
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Learned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for creating the visualizations to go with data, especially if you can already picture how you want to represent it. Not so good if you have to do any actual stats on the data, unless you're going to integrate python scripts.
Read David Glennon's full review
Abigail Bowden profile photo
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Fresh Way to Present Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is best suited for creating accurate, well designed data presentation images like graphs, tables, charts, and is especially useful for collaborative work because you can share it with a coworker and both be working on it. The only other alternative I can think of is Google Sheets, but Spotfire is far more advanced and on a professional level.
It is less appropriate for those who don't deal with a lot of data presentation in their work or where the data presentation in graph form is not the key focus.
Read Abigail Bowden's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very well suited for data that has multiple variables or data categories that need simultaneous display. It can be a little overkill for simple graphing; however, even then it offers more control and customization than other Excel or spreadsheet programs. It is also much better at 3D display than Microsoft Excel.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Tarang Gujar profile photo
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Overview"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The TIBCO Spotfire software is completely relevant and useful in the various data visualization techniques
Read Tarang Gujar's full review
Ellie Lock profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Analysis Program Worth Paying For"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for parameter analysis and range box and whisker plots for drilling formations.
Not good for holistic view of drilling campaigns and presenting data to the customer. Print preview needs to be clearer images and larger definition for power point and word documents.
Read Ellie Lock's full review
Kimberly Bartholomew profile photo
September 26, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Information Systems that students use Spotfire for real-world data analysis."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for large datasets from most of the popularly used data sources.

Learning curve takes some time. Good for an educational setting.
Read Kimberly Bartholomew's full review
Mathew Dusharm profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Trust, Automation, Reliance...TIBCO Spotfire."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When exporting a visualization to an image, an image will now use the visual theme of the analysis, and the image is exported in a higher resolution than before. There are also right-click context menu option to export an image to a .png file, and also to copy the visualization image to the clipboard so it can be pasted into a document or presentation. Great visualization techniques.

Improves clustering algorithm techniques. More agile development.
Read Mathew Dusharm's full review
Kripesh Kutty profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smart, secure enterprise class analytics platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for historical data analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires consolidating the data rapidly changed in a real-time manner.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
Quang-Hoa Hong profile photo
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Oil and Gas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Like all analytical tools Spotfire is dependent on the quality of data going into it. You can easily spot out discrepancies in data and correct them.
One weakness is becoming caught up in correcting data while hampering your progression.
Read Quang-Hoa Hong's full review
Jeffrey Molloy profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire help handle the chaos."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We deal with a number of situations where Spotfire is useful. There is analysis of student patterns, safety incidents, and I am interested in showing how exploratory data analysis can be performed with multiple methods. Multidimensional data has become far more prominent in current instrumentation.
Read Jeffrey Molloy's full review
Andrew Pruet profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire with TERR and Python"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited: drilling through lots of categorical data that is linked to numeric data. Interactive maps. Interactive plots. Using data, analytics, and visualization in sync.

Bad: lots of user inputs, heavy script development (no version control), big data (everything stored in memory and begins to lag with > 2 gigs of data loaded)
Read Andrew Pruet's full review
Kyle Jordison profile photo
July 23, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Engineers and Geologists Getting Along"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Spotfire is well-suited for any industry or situation. I can't think of any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.
Read Kyle Jordison's full review
Germán Mandrini profile photo
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Precision Ag"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I used this software when I worked in Pioneer Hi-bred. I like it so much that now I'm using it in my Ph.D. and recommending it to my professors and people on my team. They are starting to use the map options, to map all the trials we are conducting in different parts of the world and filter them according to different options like crop, year, country, state, etc.
Read Germán Mandrini's full review
Christopher Belis profile photo
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is a nice tool when you want to complete different data sources together; with interactivity when selecting data. Honestly, this seems more marketing and finance oriented, with some weaknesses and limitations with geodata or when you really want to get very deep in data mining. This remains possible but a lot of configuration is needed, and sometimes the result is not that good. But for basics in BI, this is a nice tool, with a very good price!
Read Christopher Belis's full review
Alex Walton profile photo
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Quick and easy access to data, with web portal to share information. being able to take manual reporting out of the equation is really great as well. I have found that while the tool is highly custom, there is less development resources available online, so there is a bit more self solving required with this tool as the community matures.
Read Alex Walton's full review
John Steinhauser profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Makes Big Data a Little Less Overwhelming"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Awesome for evaluating large sets of data. Not as much when you're looking at just 1 or 2 relationships in your data.
Read John Steinhauser's full review
Arun Kumar profile photo
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "On the spot"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well Suited: Spotfire analysis models can be used in Streambase for streaming data analysis.
Read Arun Kumar's full review
Obiageli Nnaji profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Analytics at your fingertips"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very suitable for visuals, easy to use, intuitive, doesn’t need programming skills, easy to drill down to details, reports can be exported in different formats
Read Obiageli Nnaji's full review
Elena Rouco Chas profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It’s suited to create reports with large amounts of data.
Read Elena Rouco Chas's full review
Elisa Andujar profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a good tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is a great tool to create dashboards. It can be a data scientist's tool as well as a tool for building visual analytics.
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
Alvaro Calle Cordon profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for big data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need to do exploratory data analysis on big data, this tool is a way to go. However, you will lack some freedom if you come from programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot or d3.js. One of the most amazing things is the load-on-demand characteristic of Spotfire
Read Alvaro Calle Cordon's full review
Sudha Govindaraju profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "TIBCO software is one of the best data analytics tools- Wanna know why??"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Best tool for data visualization. Spotfire has proven to be a very useful tool while presenting our data in a way that it is clearly understood by the listeners.
Read Sudha Govindaraju's full review
Gauthier Vasseur profile photo
August 27, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire offers smooth learning curve and quick wins for more focus on business analytics goals and less on technology"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
No photo available
October 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire - Review and analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

With all software, there are pros and cons. Same is the case with TIBCO Spotfire. It has its own advantages and disadvantages. It comes with its own cost. It is very appropriate for simple crystal clear dashboards and visualizations. It is less suitable when it has to be integrated with Java. There are some issues with it lacking training material and support, it is difficult to figure this out. It is time consuming to solve these problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO Analytics review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO is well suited for creating individual reports from data across different parts of an organization. It acts as a stand-alone tool with features for analytics and reports. It is very good for business users who need to create reports themselves from raw data. There are some drawbacks when it comes to getting data from integrated or automated systems. If it can become a part of other software, it would go miles. It has great flexibilities to customize dashboards.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions