TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire in Precision AgI am doing a Ph.D. working with precision agriculture and variable rate technology. Since response patterns are variable and change by field, year, genotype, I use Spotfire to dynamically graph the response and detect those patterns. It's a powerful tool for data exploration.,Explore data and detect patterns Provide suggestions for different types of graphs that could be done,Many times I want to use the same data but show different years in different tabs and I would like to have the option of applying different filters by a tab. Fitting curves could have more options for differential equations and show the parameters with more decimals (or at least give the possibility to the user),10,Self-taught,I'm more an independent user of Spotfire now. I used it in my previous work in Pioneer and I like it that's why I use it at my actual work at the university. But it is not being used by the organization. I am starting to teach people how to use it and hopefully, they will get better at it. Now they ask me to do maps and plots for them.,QGISVery nice quality for a small price!Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.,Getting info from several data sources Unlimited quantity of data Interactive dashboarding,Available on Windows only Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure,7,Online training Self-taught,NoSpotfire: the Wild West of BI ToolsWe are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions,Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results. Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data. Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.,Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality. Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.,7,Tableau Desktop and IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We have not intergrated with other TIBCO tools in my current project.,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Slack, Skype for BusinessSpotfire will "light" up your dataWe are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights. It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.,Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst. Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.,Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well. Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files. More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.,10,,Self-taught,No other integrations, but something we might consider in the future.,Microsoft Office 2016Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye.Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.,Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts. Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.,High-dimensionality data source Near real-time analytics,8,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,We have been using TIBCO Spotfire with another TIBCO product namely TIBCO StreamBase LiveView. We are using both products in our in-house fraud detection platform. We are able to capitalize on Spotfire strong visualization and analytical capabilities to analyze data stream which has been pre-processed by the StreamBase LiveView. Thus, we are able to visualize huge amount of data in near real-time.,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO StreamBase, SAS Business Intelligence,Not Sure
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
380 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
380 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 169 of 380 TIBCO Spotfire ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 169)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Precision Ag"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I used this software when I worked in Pioneer Hi-bred. I like it so much that now I'm using it in my Ph.D. and recommending it to my professors and people on my team. They are starting to use the map options, to map all the trials we are conducting in different parts of the world and filter them according to different options like crop, year, country, state, etc.
Read Germán Mandrini's full review
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is a nice tool when you want to complete different data sources together; with interactivity when selecting data. Honestly, this seems more marketing and finance oriented, with some weaknesses and limitations with geodata or when you really want to get very deep in data mining. This remains possible but a lot of configuration is needed, and sometimes the result is not that good. But for basics in BI, this is a nice tool, with a very good price!
Read Christopher Belis's full review
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Quick and easy access to data, with web portal to share information. being able to take manual reporting out of the equation is really great as well. I have found that while the tool is highly custom, there is less development resources available online, so there is a bit more self solving required with this tool as the community matures.
Read Alex Walton's full review
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire will "light" up your data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire excels at connecting to multiple data sources and linking them together for insights that were previously unknown. It's a nice tool for data, metrics, analytics, visualizations, etc. It doesn't quite have the flexibility of Excel to make calculations across sheet easily, so some understanding and setup of your data structure must be done in preparation. Once you have the data set up in a format that's fit for Spotfire, you'll be trying to move all your reporting to it!
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for simplifying (preprocessed/cleaned) data aggregation, performing descriptive analytics, and visualization of information in dynamic charts or augment information with geographical information in maps. However, sometimes it might have some problems when trying to handle incomplete data set with a couple of fields containing some null or empty values.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Best suited for real-time integration monitoring. Helps in immediate decision making. Least suited- When you don't have to make complex visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Visualization Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Good for static data sets, would like to learn more about analytics on time series data
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "When you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming ahead"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For me, Spotfire is perfect for situations where analysis must be shared interactively between different areas, geographies, etc. Automation of reports to avoid the trap of "chasing a different rabbit" every month due to different presentations of the data. I'm not sure though if, due to costs, Spotfire would suite a small company.
Read this authenticated review
June 22, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Young Engineer's Perspective on Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for rapidly generating helpful visualizations
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for users who work heavily with large data sets, and who want to showcase important KPI’s at a high level of the large data sets to other individuals. It is an amazing tool to streamline reporting, analyzing, and measuring data.

It is not well suited for very small data sets, nor individuals who are not capable of spending 10-15 hours learning how to Use it.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is well suited for storytelling.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is an excelent tool. I used it as a complement to Excel. It has very nice and complete chart options and allows the user to run complex pivot tables of long and heavy data tables. I work a lot with pivots and Excel crashes if you use pivots of more than 70 columns and 250 MB.

The web option is also great. You can send the attendees of a meeting a link with the report and they access to a "read-only " version of the report. It is not necesary to attach a file to an email, as the link itself is enough.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for Historical Data (after fact) analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires to consolidate/visualize the data rapidly changed in the RealTime manner (on the second level)
Read yixiang Shan's full review
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Reporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I particularly like TIBCO Spotfire because it is easy to understand how to use it. I learned on my own and didn't take much time. I use it to report KPIs related to Information Security, I add the reference link directly to issues in the different tools, making really easy to consume for leaders who want to understand what issues are contributing to low scores in the report.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
November 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire-ood and bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO is great when pulling data from many different sources, and being able to review and compare together. TIBCO works well with certain data sources, but if you are using Microsoft Access, you have to use an alternative because it does not work well. Also, calculations are somewhat hard to create.
Read Chelsea Philpot's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Honest and Fair"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for use when using "big data" and multiple views of data are needed.

TIBCO Spotfire is not desired for simple data sets that are being used in a single graph.
Read Justin Ricker's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "User-friendly, intuitive and easy... What more could you ask for?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is great for analyzing large data sets with multiple detailed fields for a single row, so you can look at the same rows of data with different views. It is also easy to bin columns to create roll-up fields in order to facilitate this drill-down feature, and join data tables to do this as well. For small-scale analyses where some manual manipulation is required, Spotfire would not be the desired tool.
Read Emilie Wheeler's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Dashboard Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If the data is stored in Teradata and the user wants to create a dashboard with visualizations, TIBCO Spotfire is a perfect product. However, if the data is stored in DB2 on the mainframe, connecting to the data is a little more complicated. I would prefer to write custom SQL that points to DB2 on the mainframe, but this doesn't seem to be possible.
Read Matthew Bass's full review
September 11, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Meets Our Needs, Across the Organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is good for data analytics in a simplified format.
Read Tim Daciuk's full review
December 05, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Business Transforming Product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spectacular at visualizing large sets of data. Not as useful in statistical analysis although it is improving rapidly. I continue to be amazed at the speed of the application though. Much faster than Power BI or Tableau, although the data cleaning and transformation ability isn't as good in Spotfire. If speed of application delivery is your goal, it's hard to beat Spotfire.
Read Peter Wolf's full review
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Great For Data Visuals!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

*Helps take many different databases and connect them into a seamless visual display.
*Allows non-users of data (executives etc.) to be able to quickly grab what's important to them without having to spend a lot of time interpreting.
*Creates dynamic visualizations to allow for on-going update of data without having to "re-run" reports
Read Brett Domeny, MBA's full review
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Eats Excel for Lunch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Honestly, I use Spotfire whenever I can. It has made my job a lot easier, especially when I have to handle large datasets. I absolutely love the software. The cons I described previously, if improved would make the user experience even better.
Read Zsolt Vigh P.Eng's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Tibco Interview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited : Integrate files and new data.

Less appropriate : Integrating .XLSX isn't always easy because data types are not recognized.

Read Helene Ear's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire offers flexibility and continues to provide valuable enhancements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Spotfire is well suited to report data that is in a data warehouse. Spotfire has not been easy to learn. Education was presented, but I do not believe there are enough examples to fix everyone's use.
Read Melissa Heil's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Efficiency and Analytical Powerhouse in One Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The ease with which one can quickly create visuals for presentations has been one of the biggest strong points in my experience.
Read John Michael Callen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.4
Customizable dashboards (138)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (114)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (139)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (144)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (102)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (128)
7.9
Publish to Web (105)
8.2
Publish to PDF (123)
7.6
Report Versioning (18)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (76)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (145)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (130)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (109)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (117)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (97)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (109)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (83)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (54)
6.2
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (66)
6.7
REST API (5)
7.2
Javascript API (5)
7.0
iFrames (3)
6.7
Java API (3)
6.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (6)
6.3
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
8.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions