TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGVery nice quality for a small price!Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.,Getting info from several data sources Unlimited quantity of data Interactive dashboarding,Available on Windows only Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure,7,Online training Self-taught,NoSpotfire: the Wild West of BI ToolsWe are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions,Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results. Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data. Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.,Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality. Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.,7,Tableau Desktop and IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We have not intergrated with other TIBCO tools in my current project.,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Slack, Skype for BusinessTransfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye.Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.,Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts. Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.,High-dimensionality data source Near real-time analytics,8,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,We have been using TIBCO Spotfire with another TIBCO product namely TIBCO StreamBase LiveView. We are using both products in our in-house fraud detection platform. We are able to capitalize on Spotfire strong visualization and analytical capabilities to analyze data stream which has been pre-processed by the StreamBase LiveView. Thus, we are able to visualize huge amount of data in near real-time.,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO StreamBase, SAS Business Intelligence,Not SureWhen you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming aheadThe main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.,Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc. As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments. Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs. With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization. Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable. Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.,The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value. For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly. The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement,9,Tableau Desktop,Online training Self-taught,No integration so far. We only use R and SQL databases. with it.,RStudio, PostgreSQL, Bizagi Digital Business PlatformA Young Engineer's Perspective on SpotfireTraditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion,Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas,Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R),10,Self-taught
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
368 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
368 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 142 of 368 TIBCO Spotfire ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 142)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.
Read Christopher Belis's full review
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions
Read Alex Walton's full review
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "When you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming ahead"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.
Read this authenticated review
June 22, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Young Engineer's Perspective on Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Traditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spotfire is available for all of the employees in my organization, but only about 10% of them use it. I believe the relatively low percentage of users is due to the individual’s need for it, the learning curve, and lack of training available. For the users who do utilize Spotfire in my organization, we have been able to leverage amazing dashboards to gain efficiency and an in-depth understanding of key analytics.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TIBCO is currently being used for real-time tracking. Like other software, Spotfire is more for visualizations. At the same time those visualizations help us in picking out only related data. Currently, it is being used to address supply chain problems that most industries face - assisting them with inventory management and logistics
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used TIBCO Spotfire to develop dashboards for audit-related projects. We also used the product to perform exploratory data analyses on a variety of internal investigations in connection with malicious Insider activities.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily
Read yixiang Shan's full review
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Reporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
November 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire-ood and bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spofire is used throughout out the company for metrics and KPIS, etc. Spotfire is very helpful, because it can correlate and pull in many data sources to be able to analyze.
Read Chelsea Philpot's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Honest and Fair"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization, and it encompasses several departments. The product allows us to utilize our current databases to create visualizations to easily depict data.
Read Justin Ricker's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "User-friendly, intuitive and easy... What more could you ask for?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TIBCO Spotfire is being used throughout the organization by various teams to analyze data, create workflow and performance management dashboards for leadership, and create easier solutions for regular reporting by the analysts. It addresses Excel's limitations with handling large data sets, performing calculations on those large data sets (quickly), and creating drill-down, interactive charts.
Read Emilie Wheeler's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Dashboard Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by multiple departments across Norfolk Southern. We have been developing dashboard type front ends for users using other tools for over a year now. TIBCO Spotfire has provided us with a tool that will allow us to deploy our dashboards to many users at one time utilizing the web client.
Read Matthew Bass's full review
September 11, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Meets Our Needs, Across the Organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spotfire is being used by several departments across the organization. Spotfire provides us with the ability to create visualizations and dashboards from the data that we have collected. In addition, it allows us to build and deploy complex predictive models. The business problems that it solves are: 1) what are the characteristics of our device performance and can we see/understand aberrations in that activity, and; 2) what do our financials look like and how are we as an organization performing, what are the issues we face, and, can we project/forecast upcoming performance and issues.
Read Tim Daciuk's full review
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Great For Data Visuals!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Spotfire for holistic business analysis. While we lack a centralized system database, Spotfire allows us to connect the right data points for comprehension in ways we would not have otherwise.
Read Brett Domeny, MBA's full review
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Eats Excel for Lunch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nexen is using Spotfire across the whole organization. We primarily use it to handle large volumes of data and to build visualizations and dashboards. I have also used it extensively in the past to analyze large data sets, build out custom expressions, and use the statistical engines within the software to better understand data relationships.
Read Zsolt Vigh P.Eng's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Tibco Interview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it as a used vehicles rating tool. I integrate and parameter data which are based on Excel files and 14 other colleagues are using it only to see data online, they manipulate a few filters to refine their search.
Read Helene Ear's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire offers flexibility and continues to provide valuable enhancements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses TIBCO Spotfire to create visualizations for customers using our software.
Read Melissa Heil's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Efficiency and Analytical Powerhouse in One Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spotfire is used by several technical teams and across all asset divisions to quickly and efficiently conduct data analysis and visualizations.
Read John Michael Callen's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "We use Spotfire"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Spotfire to create a product for our customers that gives them insight into their business operations, on both the clinical and financial perspective. Our use-case is different, because we create and deliver generic dashboards; then when the customer logs in, the information link obtains the data specific to that customer, based on their login. This prevents the wrong customer seeing the wrong data. Given our use-case, I'm not convinced that Spotfire was the right choice as a solution, but we have been able to make it work and I have been impressed with the functionality and flexibility that Spotfire provides.
Read Tracey Gray's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great product with more great potential!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Spotfire is a great tool. I didn't use it in my previous role, but I started using it almost 3 years ago when I moved into my current role. All the teams in this organization heavily rely on Spotfire on a daily basis and, from what I hear, it is spreading to more of the organization. We use it from production analysis to research projects.
Read Kirk Ashdown's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is an exceptional new analytics tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently Spotfire is being used by the Global Sourcing organization with the aim of it being expanded throughout the organization. If it becomes popular enough, it will likely be implemented throughout the company on a more holistic basis. It is used currently for analysis, reporting and strategizing as far as indirect procurement.
Read David Schuster's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "1st Year of Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for both ad-hoc analysis and for creating dashboards that are used at various levels.
Read Ross Pate, PMP's full review
January 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Spotfire to create an analytics platform for our software that we give access to our customers.
Read Sterling Weed's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.4
Customizable dashboards (135)
8.2
Report Formatting Templates (111)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (136)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (140)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (101)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (127)
7.8
Publish to Web (104)
8.2
Publish to PDF (120)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (75)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (141)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (129)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (107)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (114)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (95)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (107)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (82)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (54)
6.2
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (65)
6.7
REST API (4)
6.8
Javascript API (5)
7.0
iFrames (3)
6.7
Java API (3)
6.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (5)
6.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
8.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions