TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSmoke the competition with Spotfire!Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.,Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard. Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool. Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability. The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company. It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.,The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users. Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy. Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.,10,Definitely positive, but I’m not in charge of that.,Self-taught,It was not integrated.,Microsoft 365 BusinessFast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable priceTIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.,Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports Very good technical support Very good price with top performance,Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products Confusing documentation Not very comprehensive user access rights,10,QlikView, Microsoft SQL Server and Tableau Server,TIBCO Spotfire is allowing to get comprehensive information from databases at a real competitive price, with great customer support.,Self-taught,We have not integrated Spotfire with other products from TIBCO,RapidMiner Studio, DISCO,10,3,Integrating in More Departments to help them to have better information,Pharmacy cost control, Oncology actvity (patients taken care, quality control), Geriatrics activity report,We are still in deployment phase but doctors are beginning to see that they can take profit of the date they create everyday,10,6,5,,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,No, the decision was very good,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Although documentation is vast, it's very difficult to know what add-on or package you need to deploy. We install 2 times products not needed loosing a lot of time. Anyway, support is good and helping It was not easy to know what product and options we needed,7,10,Yes,Needed to use forecast predictions but didn't work on server. After providing logs and screenshots, Support engineer gave me the solution in 1 step,Fast and easy creation of new reports, powerful and fast filters. Easy-to-use time series graphic forecasting,Some add-ons are not included and not easy to integrate Time series Forecasting is only available on a graphic basis, not number Possible to integrate with R, but need to spend a lot of time to use scripts,Yes, but I don't use it,9Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualizationTIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.,TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models. TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations. The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.,The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive. Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier. Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.,9,Tableau Desktop, Qlik Sense, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner and Domo,The ROI from Spotfire has generally been positive. After digesting the healthy up front cost, analysts have come to rely on the software more than most any other software product besides perhaps Excel. The initial time spent on Spotfire looked like it might turn out to be a waste of money. But after putting the time in, Spotfire saves analysts time and thereby money. Perhaps the most positive return on investment from Spotfire is the automated reports, eliminating analyst effort.,Online training Self-taught,We have not specifically purchased any other add-on products to Spotfire. With that said, we are considering looking at Spotfire X. In addition, we are thinking of using Spotfire for more data wrangling, location analytics, real-time graphics, and real-time streaming of data. Of these, I think the two most important items that will save time are making the data wrangling tasks more automated and making the real-time streaming of data actually real-time streaming of data. Accomplishing these two tasks is more difficult than what it sounds.,Tableau Desktop, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner, JMP Pro, Domo, Qlik SenseLearned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school.Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.),Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling. Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update. As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.,Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license. The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL. Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.,10,JMP Pro,My role was a little disconnected from this. I don't know but I'd imagine it created a lot of visibility to where money was being lost in manufacturing.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,Have not used anything but Spotfire.,JMP Pro, AnacondaA Fresh Way to Present DataTIBCO Spotfire is currently only used by myself. I work for a small geophysics start-up and I'm one of 5 employees total. We collect lots of numbers during geophysical surveying and as a result we process lots of data in the office. While half the job is collecting the values and interpreting them, the other half is presentation and explanations of the data we collect and being able to show its relevance to our clients' situations.,Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office. Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect. User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.,The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.,10,Google Drive and Microsoft Office 365,Self-taught,No. Spotfire is the first TIBCO product any of us have used.,Google Drive, Microsoft Office 2016, ArcGIS
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 233 of 537 TIBCO Spotfire ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 233)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Paul E. Everett profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smoke the competition with Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard.
  • Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool.
  • Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability.
  • The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company.
  • It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.
  • The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users.
  • Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy.
  • Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.
Read Paul E. Everett's full review
David Baltar Boilève profile photo
December 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Fast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports
  • Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports
  • Very good technical support
  • Very good price with top performance
  • Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products
  • Confusing documentation
  • Not very comprehensive user access rights
Read David Baltar Boilève's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models.
  • TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations.
  • The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.
  • The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive.
  • Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier.
  • Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.
Read Thomas Young's full review
David Glennon profile photo
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Learned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling.
  • Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update.
  • As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.
  • Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license.
  • The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL.
  • Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.
Read David Glennon's full review
Abigail Bowden profile photo
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Fresh Way to Present Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office.
  • Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect.
  • User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.
  • The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.
Read Abigail Bowden's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization - can change anything about an image from the color to the layout. Much easier than Microsoft products!
  • User friendly - no tutorial or instruction manual necessary.
  • Great data organization - very easy to display even the most complex data in an understandable way.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to import data from things like Microsoft Excel.
  • It would be nice to have multiple different export file types so that Spotfire can be more compatible with more programs.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Julie Sebby profile photo
January 07, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for Mid to Large Enterprises"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Users get a better understanding of data when they see it in Spotfire, as opposed to Excel. Spotfire visualizations also have several functions like zoom sliders and hierarchies that are a significant improvement over charting in Excel.
  • Spotfire integrates with coding languages like IronPython, HTML, CSS and R in order to dramatically expand the out of the box functionality.
  • Features like property controls make the application dynamic and interactive in ways that Excel is not. These same features also make the application more efficient.
  • The application is not efficient when building large projects. There are many small features that could make building large projects faster like the ability to add more than one filter or property control at a time. Also, users shouldn't have to expand and collapse every single table in the Filter panel or in the Add filters dialog (when adding filters in a Text Area).
  • TIBCO has been slow to add in features that users have requested for years, like the ability to edit join operations. It's there now, but we waited years for that feature. The information designer hasn't seen an overhaul (or even any new features) in over 5 years.
  • Increasing the release frequency has resulted in a lower quality product. TIBCO lauded the "completely redesigned" user interface of Spotfire 10, but it's not a complete redesign and looks sloppy.
Read Julie Sebby's full review
Matthew Thadeio profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simplicity and effectiveness are crucial to data organization!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The user-friendly platform is easy to navigate.
  • Excellent customer service and support as well as tutorials.
  • Easy-to-understand tables that allow you to easily organize complex data sets into something more understandable.
  • Professional development opportunities for education professionals and the capabilities of using TIBCO for improvement.
Read Matthew Thadeio's full review
Marco J. Morelli profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Entry level user"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use
  • Visualization
  • Handling of samples. We would have liked something closer to a laboratory information management system, where samples could be tracked before sequencing. Even tracking the position of a vial in a fridge/rack would be useful for us.
  • Documentation
Read Marco J. Morelli's full review
Ellie Lock profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Analysis Program Worth Paying For"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great marking and colouring options to highlight necessary data. Particularly helpful in scatter plots with segment colouring options.
  • The details visualisation allows quick analysis of multiple parameters to identify trends
  • Adding calculation columns are easy and simple to write if more data is required. Refreshing of data from source is also helpful.
  • I find it difficult to view large scale data on x-y scatter plots where multiple data needs to be viewed on the x-axis. We generally put depth drilled on the y-axis and up to 3 variables on the y-axis but Spotfire does not view this data very well.
  • Ability to auto calculate a trend line by selecting two points of data on x-y scatter plot would be useful for viewing.
  • The print preview button doesnt save the last setting so when printing multiple landscape views I had to change my options every time. Just a bit tedious.
  • Don't really understand trellis options yet but still learning on this.
Read Ellie Lock's full review
Kimberly Bartholomew profile photo
September 26, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Information Systems that students use Spotfire for real-world data analysis."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spotfire allows for many different types of data sources.
  • The ability to choose what filters to apply to a chart is a user-friendly way to share the information with stakeholders.
  • The chart types are varied.
  • Liked the ability to tie charts together to the same legend or filters.
  • Would like to see more chart types supported.
  • Would like more tutorials or YouTube video tutorials.
  • The Cloud version menu and navigation were a bit hard to understand.
Read Kimberly Bartholomew's full review
Pablo Lacerda Silva profile photo
January 12, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Data Analytics Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spotfire allows me to integrate multiple sources of data into a single database.
  • Spotfire plotting allows me to look at five variables at the same time.
  • Spotfire allows me to instantly switch between different variables and visualize them.
  • Ternary diagrams are missing, and it currently requires some awkward manipulation of two dimensions using trigonometry to display such a diagram.
  • Displaying photos associated with data points, besides the tooltip, is currently beyond the skills of regular users.
Read Pablo Lacerda Silva's full review
Kripesh Kutty profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smart, secure enterprise class analytics platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good user management
  • Good visualizations
  • Easier to lean and share
  • More custom visualization support
  • Something like Microsoft Power BI where they have a whole community from where custom visualizations can be downloaded and used within a few clicks. This is for users to use different visualizations other than what comes out of the box.
  • Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
Quang-Hoa Hong profile photo
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Oil and Gas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to look at multiple types of data at the same graph
  • Ability to post data onto a map to better visually compare them
  • Ease of use when manipulating data on a graph
  • More built-in functions for basic users to manipulate data within the software (sort of like Excel vlookups, match, and index functions)
Read Quang-Hoa Hong's full review
Rajat Wadhwani profile photo
December 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simply Powerful for Data Visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great variety of charts/graphs which one can choose to visualize data
  • Platform to code in Iron Python makes it really powerful.
  • Very well integrated with other platforms.
  • Takes great deal of time to understand each and every functionality.
  • The application sometime crashes if a database is huge
  • Need a plugin to export live data and update as the data flows
Read Rajat Wadhwani's full review
Dave Williams profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data discovery in minutes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to add new JDBC data sources and expose data for analysis
  • Easy to create multiple visualizations and link them between dependent data and filters
  • Easy to extend with Python Scripting
  • Date handling and creating hierarchies very good.
  • Axis scaling is not easy to achieve logical values especially with multiple scales
  • Prompts for data selection inputs to a query is not user friendly and requires work to build into analysis
  • No versioning or autosave exists on creation and library
Read Dave Williams's full review
Jeffrey Molloy profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire help handle the chaos."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spotfire can handle large datasets by design.
  • Visualizations are linked, so one view can be used to establish the critical data, but different views can be used to present and clarify the data for different stakeholder groups.
  • Because data can be integrated from different sources, recent information that may not be fully probated can be included in an analysis with established data.
  • There are times when I want to look at local data quickly, but every time I start up Spotfire it hijacks my web browser to require login to the Cloud. This design is particularly vexing if I have no internet access. I understand that this is the design, but it does not mean I have to like it.
  • Startup can be slow.
Read Jeffrey Molloy's full review
Andrew Pruet profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire with TERR and Python"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automating building decline curves for oil and gas wells.
  • Reading and writing to and from Oracle database with Python or information links within Spotfire.
  • Looking at competitor data across the Permian Basin. Utilizing IHS data to see every well in the Permian Basin.
  • Spotfire’s TERR and bass R are not totally compatible, especially for CRAN packages.
  • IronPython does not run transactions sequentially which can make development difficult.
  • IronPython API reference material is terrible and of virtually no use.
  • General bugs with Spotfire itself. Example: restarting Spotfire can cause certain things to start working sometimes.
Read Andrew Pruet's full review
Kyle Jordison profile photo
July 23, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Engineers and Geologists Getting Along"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Spotfire allows quick visualization of large and often complex data sets.
  • Spotfire allows the integration of data from differing oil and gas disciplines that serves as a bridge for analysis, discussion and presentation.
  • Spotfire allows us to look for relationships in our data from different angles quite easily. If we can dream it, we can do it with Spotfire.
  • I wish that Spotfire had a better method of producing a probability distribution chart. I have been through the online workflows, but still wind up using Excel for this most of the time.
  • While I have gotten better with the Custom Expressions, it would be nice to have them simplified a bit more.
Read Kyle Jordison's full review
John Steinhauser profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Makes Big Data a Little Less Overwhelming"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Handles large data sets.
  • Creates great visualizations.
  • Combines multiple data sets and helps me compare them.
  • Navigating the coding is a bit challenging.
  • Editing data sets in Spotfire would be nice. You can only look at data you input into the program.
  • Exporting visualizations to powerpoint only lets you make a whole slide. Making a well scaled image would be awesome.
Read John Steinhauser's full review
Arun Kumar profile photo
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "On the spot"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visualisations such as scatter plots, density plots, and table manipulation and presentation, are very good and useful
  • Regression analysis: training, evaluation and prediction aspects are presented in a very intuitive manner
  • Ability to creation customised user controls using the text area, and also the filters based on the table content are very good aspects
  • Forecasting: Currently we are not able to download forecasted values, nor are we able to see the values using tooltip. Even Excel is able to do a better job for this particular aspect.
  • Classification Tree: Presently there is no graphical output; possible to use r code, but it's cumbersome
  • Logistic Regression: They need to provide users with the choice to either create one model for a single class (based on user choice,) or create a model based on two models (for both classes) and use of method such as Bayesian posterior probability calculations.
Read Arun Kumar's full review
Obiageli Nnaji profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Analytics at your fingertips"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TIBCO Spotfire is user friendly. You don’t need programming experience to be able to work with Spotfire
  • Ability to easily generate different types of visuals for your process/equipment.
  • Very easy to drill down to details using Spotfire
  • On Demand feature is very helpful
  • Easy to swap columns. Data may come in very unstructured
Read Obiageli Nnaji's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (197)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (169)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (193)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (202)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (150)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (181)
7.9
Publish to Web (151)
8.3
Publish to PDF (177)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (112)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (208)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (184)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (158)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (160)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (133)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (149)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (119)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (83)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (99)
7.1
REST API (29)
6.6
Javascript API (30)
6.7
iFrames (19)
6.2
Java API (23)
6.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (29)
6.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions