TrustRadius
TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that utilizes predictive analytics. In addition to data viz, it includes data wrangling capabilities, predictive analytics, location analytics, and real-time streaming analytics.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGTIBCO software reviewI support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.,Visualizing data Simple tool to analyse and show UI Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.,They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.,10,Tableau Desktop,Used to improve business process Helps to understand growth Modern UI makes everyone ready to analyse quickly,,We use to integrate with SharePoint where data resides and more powerful with connectivity and visualize live data.Great Tool! Some improvements are still possibleWe use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.,Easy visualization Importing data is easy Can code and make changes,Better visualization More user modification functionality Better connectivity with different datasets,7,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,Not yet used,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BIGreat Data Visualization SoftwareIt is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.,Visualizing your data--there's no better platform Building custom dashboards to view your data,Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.,10,Helped save downtime costs Helped screen deals to maximize ROI,Self-taught,NoneOverall a very good product with potential improvementsI used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.,Easy chart creation Very good recommended charts Easy storytelling function,UI design Data preprocessing features,9,Tableau Desktop,Online trainingSpotfire New UserSpotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.,Data Visualization Data Analytics Mobile access, Multiple Platforms,Lacking embedded BI and production reporting,7,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,No we have not,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft AccessTibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT GuruTIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily,It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required. It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data. It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.,Spotfire is still kind of "data pulling" strategy based application, the user defines SQL like data fetching command, and also the refresh rate, the Spotfire tries to periodically re-run those "queries", although it does have some data cache mechanism, for rapidly changing data, this strategy's performance sometimes is bad, especially when the data source is not well designed but with large amount of data (an Oracle database with big table without too much index while those columns needs be queried). The Spotfire should improve to better connect with the other data stream /data pushing based API/Systems, also allowing the end user to define "basic data query" and the "delta data query" and "what mechanism is used to determine the delta",8,Tableau,Oracle Database, TIBCO Enterprise Message Service, Oracle WebLogic Application Server,Online training Self-taughtReporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.,It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics. You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users. The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.,The scale of colors to be used in graphics could be improved. If you compare with other products such as Power BI, the look'n feel doesn't look as friendly as in Power BI. I really don't know if this is possible, but in our case, it requires local users to be created, maybe it could be synced with Active Directory?,8,,Splunk Enterprise, Microsoft Power BI,Online training,No,Product Features Product Usability Third-party Reviews,I would focus more on agility and the ability to automatically gather data from different type of sources. In our case, we are just importing excel files, we still have to try if we can automatically feed the tool with the data. I think agility is a key differentiator in these times where everything is dynamic.Spotfire-ood and badSpofire is used throughout out the company for metrics and KPIS, etc. Spotfire is very helpful, because it can correlate and pull in many data sources to be able to analyze.,Providing information on Spotfire training. Examples of ways you can use Spotfire with analytical data.,Hard to use for people, because it is not intuitive. Expressions, IF statements, etc. are hard for people to grasp, because they are not like Access, or SQL.,8,,Microsoft Access, Microsoft BI,Online training In-person training Self-taughtHonest and FairTIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization, and it encompasses several departments. The product allows us to utilize our current databases to create visualizations to easily depict data.,Allows for easy creation and utilization of data visualizations. Easy to setup folders and permissions to allow several users to access data. The ease of use allows for users to access and utilize data to make strategic decisions throughout the organization.,Understanding the full benefits of the program takes time and experience. Some SQL language requires different setting/filters/statements than Teradata. Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.,9,,Online training In-person training,,20,Data Integration. Marketing and Sales.,Large Data Visualization. Displaying data results and trends. Creating Dashboards for users that encompass different and multiple data points.,Displaying Data for non-traditional data users. Integrating data sets from different departments data.,8,8,,10,Not Sure,Product Features Product Usability,I would not have changed a thing! Great product that offers wonderful support and features!,Vendor implemented Implemented in-house,Yes,Identifying the correct users as initial users. Training the identified users.,9,8,Not at this time.,I created customized themes.,10,No,TIBCO Software went above and beyond during our initial training exercises. The trainers provided very detailed steps that have proven to be a great success.,General Data Visualizations. Integrated SQL Feature. Creating multiple visualizations on a single page.,The geographic mapping feature (although it is my favorite featured offered). The SQL language used has discrepancies with typical Teradata SQL language.,9,9,8,9User-friendly, intuitive and easy... What more could you ask for?TIBCO Spotfire is being used throughout the organization by various teams to analyze data, create workflow and performance management dashboards for leadership, and create easier solutions for regular reporting by the analysts. It addresses Excel's limitations with handling large data sets, performing calculations on those large data sets (quickly), and creating drill-down, interactive charts.,Spotfire can ingest extremely large data sets very quickly. We use Spotfire to analyze data sets of 5 million + rows - a feat Excel 2010 cannot handle. It is very easy to join tables and insert columns (VLOOKUP) in Spotfire. Spotfire is very user-friendly, and management loves to see the big picture, but then having the option to drill-down to the granular level of data as well.,We would like to be able to automatically reload data for Spotfire Library files for our Consumers, who do not have access to reload the data, without having to purchase another "module" or license.,9,Tableau Desktop,Microsoft Access, Microsoft Dynamics CRM,Online training,8Excellent Dashboard ToolIt is being used by multiple departments across Norfolk Southern. We have been developing dashboard type front ends for users using other tools for over a year now. TIBCO Spotfire has provided us with a tool that will allow us to deploy our dashboards to many users at one time utilizing the web client.,Great visualizations Easy to use once data connection/information links are established Scalable to multiple users via web client,Difficult to create data connections using custom SQL Limited support of DB2 connections (DB2 on the mainframe) Limited support of network connected documents on a shared drive,7,Microsoft Access and Microsoft Power BI,Microsoft Access, Microsoft Power BI, Teradata Database,Online training,8Business Transforming ProductI am able to quickly gain access to data of all types. It is able to dynamically develop visualizations that are both visually appealing and drive business decision making. I have developed many reports and dashboards that display operations performance to operators, managers, and leaders. The variety of available visualizations is vast, and it can satisfy most needs.,There are some visualizations that it is incapable of rendering including circular genome maps.,9,10,Online training In-person training Self-taught,5,9,I began using this product with zero training whatsoever. I found this to be an effective approach as I was able to dive in head first.,100,2,Dashboard Creation. Data Mining. Results Communication. Data accessibility for general users. Statistical Analysis.,8,Don't know,5,7,9,9,We would like to integrate Spotfire with our in-house dashboarding system to enable users to create their own dashboards.Spotfire is Great For Data Visuals!We use Spotfire for holistic business analysis. While we lack a centralized system database, Spotfire allows us to connect the right data points for comprehension in ways we would not have otherwise.,It helps us visualize and connect data into meaningful relationships quickly. Has the abilities to implement quite complex statistical models or down to just simple charts to help review connected or manually loaded data. Easy to use and learn. Great help topics and training tools available from TIBCO.,Could help to have better mobile support for on the go analysis of visualizations. Cloud architect support would be helpful to be able to manipulate and create new visuals when away from my desktop. Would be helpful at times to be able to connect more one-on-one with an individual vs. videos and help documentation.,9,Tableau,Adobe Analytics, Adobe Photoshop, Sitecore Web Content Management,Online training Self-taught,10,I would not recommend this approach. The online training got me a lot further, faster. You can certainly figure it out but the immediate impact after taking just a few weeks of training was a lot higher than trying to hack my way through the tool. The help section, though, is very good but just takes more time to piece together the topics.,Visualization creation Self selector creation SQL functions Database and information link creation User interface,Advanced features but not cumbersome.,No,8Spotfire Eats Excel for LunchNexen is using Spotfire across the whole organization. We primarily use it to handle large volumes of data and to build visualizations and dashboards. I have also used it extensively in the past to analyze large data sets, build out custom expressions, and use the statistical engines within the software to better understand data relationships.,Building data visualizations is infinitely easier with Spotfire compared to Excel. Manipulating data in charts is another huge strength of Spotfire. Trellising data, removing data on the fly and coloring data trends based on different variables is incredibly easy. The mapping feature allows you to build dynamic dashboards. I barely use IHS Accumap anymore now that I have built out my own visual dashboards using the GIS mapping feature.,Custom expressions can be cumbersome to learn and are not entirely intuitive. Some simple coding tasks in Excel are a lot harder to do in Spotfire. Not having the ability to set y axis intervals like you can in Excel for charts can be a bit frustrating at times.,9,,Online training Self-taughtTibco InterviewWe are using it as a used vehicles rating tool. I integrate and parameter data which are based on Excel files and 14 other colleagues are using it only to see data online, they manipulate a few filters to refine their search.,The best part of Spotfire is that we can integrate different kinds of files in order to complete every table Spotfire provides a better view of the inconsistent data and gives us many possibilities to hide or to treat only the correct data Besides displaying classical and representative graphics, we can also configure the project as an online app by adding buttons, by giving the consumers the possibility to switch between different tabs, as with a classical website.,It misses the possibility to enter or fill new data manually. We can display new fields but it's not possible to save the information that we fill and that we generate..,9,,In-person training Self-taught,7,It was easy to learn without training but all the functionalities weren't easy to find a the first sight. I had a fast and very useful presentation of the tool before using it.Spotfire offers flexibility and continues to provide valuable enhancementsMy organization uses TIBCO Spotfire to create visualizations for customers using our software.,Visualizations can be created in a reasonable amount of time. Customers can create their own unique visualizations. Visualizations can be shared with other users.,Our analysis is made up of multiple DXPs. It would be nice if there was an easy way to set a date filter and have it apply to all DXPs. It can be updated on one DXP and shared to the others so customers do not have to constantly change the date. The same applies to filters, but need to have an indicator if a filter is being applied. Very difficult to trouble shoot when I have an issue. Probably will get better the more experience I get with using Spotfire. Enhance the Print (Export to HTML) like the Export to PDF was enhanced.,7,Team Foundation Server, HP UFT, Microsoft SQL Server,In-person trainingEfficiency and Analytical Powerhouse in One ToolSpotfire is used by several technical teams and across all asset divisions to quickly and efficiently conduct data analysis and visualizations.,The speed with which the tool can be used to create presentation-grade visuals. Quickly being able to provide insight and derive correlations from large data sets while being able to filter/manipulate data on the fly. Providing a spatial to graphical interface.,I think from my team's perspective, trying to find a better means of data storage has been a major issue. Creating databases that include all necessary data yet don't slow the application down so much that it is essentially unusable has been a challenge.,9,ArcGIS and Microsoft Excel,ArcGIS,In-person training,9We use SpotfireWe are using Spotfire to create a product for our customers that gives them insight into their business operations, on both the clinical and financial perspective. Our use-case is different, because we create and deliver generic dashboards; then when the customer logs in, the information link obtains the data specific to that customer, based on their login. This prevents the wrong customer seeing the wrong data. Given our use-case, I'm not convinced that Spotfire was the right choice as a solution, but we have been able to make it work and I have been impressed with the functionality and flexibility that Spotfire provides.,Flexibility - the ability to modify the HTML of text areas and the use of JavaScript and Iron Python Visualization - the number of options available,Lack of QA of documentation. Sometimes, the documentation appears to have been written by an engineer, without the end user in mind. Steps are assumed/missing so it makes it difficult to follow and frustrating.,6,,In-person trainingGreat product with more great potential!Spotfire is a great tool. I didn't use it in my previous role, but I started using it almost 3 years ago when I moved into my current role. All the teams in this organization heavily rely on Spotfire on a daily basis and, from what I hear, it is spreading to more of the organization. We use it from production analysis to research projects.,I love that we can connect it straight to our database so that the data is continuously updated. I have used Spotfire to automate some of my repetitive weekly responsibilities and it has given me hours back in my week. There are so many functions that Spotfire can do that I haven't even been able to learn all of them. There are endless possibilities.,I wish that there was a way to put a background color to the visualizations. I take screen shots and put them in reports, but it's white on white which doesn't make for a very interesting report. I have tried to do an automated weekly email of visualizations that I put on a report, but I have to open the report and take screen shots because they don't have the same formatting when it comes in the email. Disappointing when you spend a lot of time getting the formatting just right. I wish that there were stacked area charts. That is the only visualization that I have wished to use and been unable to.,9,,SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management,Online training In-person training Self-taught,9,9,I would not recommend this to others unless they have the time to use Google for discussion boards and YouTube. There are a lot of moving parts in different areas that I think would be difficult and slow going if they had no training. I do believe though that if someone had a basic knowledge of the functionality, then they could then go to self taught to fill in gaps here and there as they expand their skills.Spotfire is an exceptional new analytics toolCurrently Spotfire is being used by the Global Sourcing organization with the aim of it being expanded throughout the organization. If it becomes popular enough, it will likely be implemented throughout the company on a more holistic basis. It is used currently for analysis, reporting and strategizing as far as indirect procurement.,Easily reads in multiple data formats GUI to alter and customize visualizations is user friendly Having the data cached in memory makes the application very fast,Integration with external data analysis tools/languages like R and Python Predictive analytics features like decision trees and Bayesian networks Ability to set up data pipelines to Hadoop clusters,9,,SAP HANA,Online training,81st Year of SpotfireWe use it for both ad-hoc analysis and for creating dashboards that are used at various levels.,Pulls in data from a variety of sources Quick and nice looking visualizations Filtering and slicing up data to see different metrics,Limited variety of specializations Limited ability to set some preferences (lines on tables, how labels appear, etc.) Some features are buried in non-intuitive places,9,,Online training Self-taught,8,It's easy for simple visualization and analysis; it's difficult to learn customizations (Dials instead of KPIs, linking multiple tables, custom expressions).Spotfire ReviewWe are using Spotfire to create an analytics platform for our software that we give access to our customers.,Great analytics tool Self service BI Custom HTML/JavaScript/Python,More visually dynamic Ease of use,7,,Tableau Desktop,In-person training,6Tibco Spotfire is the best product I've ever usedIt is being used for reporting purposes by reporting team. it addresses several business problems like crunching numbers and making sense with the data easily and in a better way,crunching numbers calculations customization,printing option is currently missing and the reports through spotfire are not printer friendly instead of using code for customization, we would like to see easy to use built in functions and drag and drop interface for performing difficult tasks exporting to different sources without losing the formatting,10,Toad Data Point and Tableau Desktop,Toad Data Point,Online training,10Spotfire ReviewTIBCO is being used to implement BI solutions for our clients working across departments. It allows us to show every KPI of interest coming from different source systems.,It allows us to access data from different source systems. It gives the user the possibility to access different analysis from a single access point.,Spotfire needs to be more customizable. Labels are not resizable and often don't show in charts. JavaScript is not fully supported.,4,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, Microsoft IIS, Microsoft SQL Server, SAS Visual Analytics and IBM Cognos,In-person training Self-taught,3,I would recommend others get training.getting insight to make decisionsIn R&D we have different departments, and we use Spotfire for our studies in the electronic Trial Master file (eTMF) department to see the cleanliness and completeness of eTMFs. We also use it to measure progress towards KPIs and targets, and to prioritize actions.,It's very easy to filter data you want, and what you want to see Lot of visualization options It's very fast,enabling various scripts like Python etc should be a built-in feature of Spotfire,8,,Online training In-person training
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
655 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
655 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 655 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (126-150 of 287)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
No photo available
September 07, 2018

TIBCO software review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.


  • Visualizing data
  • Simple tool to analyse and show UI
  • Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.
  • Easy visualization
  • Importing data is easy
  • Can code and make changes
Better integration with different data types
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.
  • Visualizing your data--there's no better platform
  • Building custom dashboards to view your data
Appropriate any time you are looking at data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.
  • Easy chart creation
  • Very good recommended charts
  • Easy storytelling function
Sales and finance visualization
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Spotfire New User

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.
  • Data Visualization
  • Data Analytics
  • Mobile access, Multiple Platforms
Generally good for visualization and reporting, but not practical for Qlik users.
Read this authenticated review
yixiang Shan profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for Historical Data (after fact) analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires to consolidate/visualize the data rapidly changed in the RealTime manner (on the second level)
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Patricio Santirso profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.
  • It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics.
  • You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users.
  • The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.
I particularly like TIBCO Spotfire because it is easy to understand how to use it. I learned on my own and didn't take much time. I use it to report KPIs related to Information Security, I add the reference link directly to issues in the different tools, making really easy to consume for leaders who want to understand what issues are contributing to low scores in the report.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Chelsea Philpot profile photo
November 13, 2017

Spotfire-ood and bad

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spofire is used throughout out the company for metrics and KPIS, etc. Spotfire is very helpful, because it can correlate and pull in many data sources to be able to analyze.
  • Providing information on Spotfire training.
  • Examples of ways you can use Spotfire with analytical data.
TIBCO is great when pulling data from many different sources, and being able to review and compare together. TIBCO works well with certain data sources, but if you are using Microsoft Access, you have to use an alternative because it does not work well. Also, calculations are somewhat hard to create.
Read Chelsea Philpot's full review
Justin Ricker profile photo
October 30, 2017

Honest and Fair

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization, and it encompasses several departments. The product allows us to utilize our current databases to create visualizations to easily depict data.
  • Allows for easy creation and utilization of data visualizations.
  • Easy to setup folders and permissions to allow several users to access data.
  • The ease of use allows for users to access and utilize data to make strategic decisions throughout the organization.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for use when using "big data" and multiple views of data are needed.

TIBCO Spotfire is not desired for simple data sets that are being used in a single graph.
This is probably my most enjoyed analytical feature the product offers. This has proved to be very useful for me and my team by using geographical points with data sets.
Read Justin Ricker's full review
Emilie Wheeler profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used throughout the organization by various teams to analyze data, create workflow and performance management dashboards for leadership, and create easier solutions for regular reporting by the analysts. It addresses Excel's limitations with handling large data sets, performing calculations on those large data sets (quickly), and creating drill-down, interactive charts.
  • Spotfire can ingest extremely large data sets very quickly. We use Spotfire to analyze data sets of 5 million + rows - a feat Excel 2010 cannot handle.
  • It is very easy to join tables and insert columns (VLOOKUP) in Spotfire.
  • Spotfire is very user-friendly, and management loves to see the big picture, but then having the option to drill-down to the granular level of data as well.
Spotfire is great for analyzing large data sets with multiple detailed fields for a single row, so you can look at the same rows of data with different views. It is also easy to bin columns to create roll-up fields in order to facilitate this drill-down feature, and join data tables to do this as well. For small-scale analyses where some manual manipulation is required, Spotfire would not be the desired tool.
Read Emilie Wheeler's full review
Matthew Bass profile photo
October 26, 2017

Excellent Dashboard Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by multiple departments across Norfolk Southern. We have been developing dashboard type front ends for users using other tools for over a year now. TIBCO Spotfire has provided us with a tool that will allow us to deploy our dashboards to many users at one time utilizing the web client.
  • Great visualizations
  • Easy to use once data connection/information links are established
  • Scalable to multiple users via web client
If the data is stored in Teradata and the user wants to create a dashboard with visualizations, TIBCO Spotfire is a perfect product. However, if the data is stored in DB2 on the mainframe, connecting to the data is a little more complicated. I would prefer to write custom SQL that points to DB2 on the mainframe, but this doesn't seem to be possible.
Read Matthew Bass's full review
Peter Wolf profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I am able to quickly gain access to data of all types. It is able to dynamically develop visualizations that are both visually appealing and drive business decision making.
  • I have developed many reports and dashboards that display operations performance to operators, managers, and leaders.
  • The variety of available visualizations is vast, and it can satisfy most needs.
Spectacular at visualizing large sets of data. Not as useful in statistical analysis although it is improving rapidly. I continue to be amazed at the speed of the application though. Much faster than Power BI or Tableau, although the data cleaning and transformation ability isn't as good in Spotfire. If speed of application delivery is your goal, it's hard to beat Spotfire.
The mapping works as expected. You provide underlying data that corresponds to a latitude and longitude, and the visualization is created. The WMS functionality works very well if you would like to layer on some other type of geo-spatial information. My biggest complaint is in the geocoding. Spotfire won't recognize cities, states, or countries unless it is configured at the enterprise level on the server. At our company, it isn't configured, so I have to manually enter coordinates.

The mapping functionality continues to improve in Spotfire with additional features being added at each new release.
Read Peter Wolf's full review
Brett Domeny, MBA profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for holistic business analysis. While we lack a centralized system database, Spotfire allows us to connect the right data points for comprehension in ways we would not have otherwise.
  • It helps us visualize and connect data into meaningful relationships quickly.
  • Has the abilities to implement quite complex statistical models or down to just simple charts to help review connected or manually loaded data.
  • Easy to use and learn. Great help topics and training tools available from TIBCO.
*Helps take many different databases and connect them into a seamless visual display.
*Allows non-users of data (executives etc.) to be able to quickly grab what's important to them without having to spend a lot of time interpreting.
*Creates dynamic visualizations to allow for on-going update of data without having to "re-run" reports
Read Brett Domeny, MBA's full review
Zsolt Vigh P.Eng profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexen is using Spotfire across the whole organization. We primarily use it to handle large volumes of data and to build visualizations and dashboards. I have also used it extensively in the past to analyze large data sets, build out custom expressions, and use the statistical engines within the software to better understand data relationships.
  • Building data visualizations is infinitely easier with Spotfire compared to Excel.
  • Manipulating data in charts is another huge strength of Spotfire. Trellising data, removing data on the fly and coloring data trends based on different variables is incredibly easy.
  • The mapping feature allows you to build dynamic dashboards. I barely use IHS Accumap anymore now that I have built out my own visual dashboards using the GIS mapping feature.
Honestly, I use Spotfire whenever I can. It has made my job a lot easier, especially when I have to handle large datasets. I absolutely love the software. The cons I described previously, if improved would make the user experience even better.
Read Zsolt Vigh P.Eng's full review
Helene Ear profile photo
October 31, 2017

Tibco Interview

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as a used vehicles rating tool. I integrate and parameter data which are based on Excel files and 14 other colleagues are using it only to see data online, they manipulate a few filters to refine their search.
  • The best part of Spotfire is that we can integrate different kinds of files in order to complete every table
  • Spotfire provides a better view of the inconsistent data and gives us many possibilities to hide or to treat only the correct data
  • Besides displaying classical and representative graphics, we can also configure the project as an online app by adding buttons, by giving the consumers the possibility to switch between different tabs, as with a classical website.

Well suited : Integrate files and new data.

Less appropriate : Integrating .XLSX isn't always easy because data types are not recognized.

Read Helene Ear's full review
Melissa Heil profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses TIBCO Spotfire to create visualizations for customers using our software.
  • Visualizations can be created in a reasonable amount of time.
  • Customers can create their own unique visualizations.
  • Visualizations can be shared with other users.
Spotfire is well suited to report data that is in a data warehouse. Spotfire has not been easy to learn. Education was presented, but I do not believe there are enough examples to fix everyone's use.
Read Melissa Heil's full review
John Michael Callen profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by several technical teams and across all asset divisions to quickly and efficiently conduct data analysis and visualizations.
  • The speed with which the tool can be used to create presentation-grade visuals.
  • Quickly being able to provide insight and derive correlations from large data sets while being able to filter/manipulate data on the fly.
  • Providing a spatial to graphical interface.
The ease with which one can quickly create visuals for presentations has been one of the biggest strong points in my experience.
Read John Michael Callen's full review
Tracey Gray profile photo
October 30, 2017

We use Spotfire

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire to create a product for our customers that gives them insight into their business operations, on both the clinical and financial perspective. Our use-case is different, because we create and deliver generic dashboards; then when the customer logs in, the information link obtains the data specific to that customer, based on their login. This prevents the wrong customer seeing the wrong data. Given our use-case, I'm not convinced that Spotfire was the right choice as a solution, but we have been able to make it work and I have been impressed with the functionality and flexibility that Spotfire provides.
  • Flexibility - the ability to modify the HTML of text areas and the use of JavaScript and Iron Python
  • Visualization - the number of options available
We are deploying generic visualizations so that the data that is shown is based on the customer's login information rather than deploying a Spotfire environment for each customer. As stated previously, Spotfire does not appear to be well suited for this use case; we've been able to make it work, but there are other products that may have a more straight-forward approach. However, if we had a single-threaded approach where we were deploying visualizations for one data warehouse, Spotfire appears to be well-suited for that approach.
Read Tracey Gray's full review
Kirk Ashdown profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is a great tool. I didn't use it in my previous role, but I started using it almost 3 years ago when I moved into my current role. All the teams in this organization heavily rely on Spotfire on a daily basis and, from what I hear, it is spreading to more of the organization. We use it from production analysis to research projects.
  • I love that we can connect it straight to our database so that the data is continuously updated.
  • I have used Spotfire to automate some of my repetitive weekly responsibilities and it has given me hours back in my week.
  • There are so many functions that Spotfire can do that I haven't even been able to learn all of them. There are endless possibilities.
We have a database with everything from production to pressures and temperatures to item specific data which all links to Spotfire so that we can run analysis on just about anything, and it has helped us to see unthought of relationships, and change our processes to be more accurate and efficient. I have not found anywhere where it wasn't helpful.
Read Kirk Ashdown's full review
David Schuster profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Spotfire is being used by the Global Sourcing organization with the aim of it being expanded throughout the organization. If it becomes popular enough, it will likely be implemented throughout the company on a more holistic basis. It is used currently for analysis, reporting and strategizing as far as indirect procurement.
  • Easily reads in multiple data formats
  • GUI to alter and customize visualizations is user friendly
  • Having the data cached in memory makes the application very fast
I think that this tool is currently the best on the market for descriptive analytics and reporting. It is exceptionally user-friendly and intuitive when it comes to customizing visualizations and managing data inputs. I would like to see it used in more advanced analytics applications utilizing R and Python with compatibility with Hadoop clusters.
Read David Schuster's full review
Ross Pate, PMP profile photo
October 26, 2017

1st Year of Spotfire

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for both ad-hoc analysis and for creating dashboards that are used at various levels.
  • Pulls in data from a variety of sources
  • Quick and nice looking visualizations
  • Filtering and slicing up data to see different metrics
Excellent for visualizations and analysis.
Read Ross Pate, PMP's full review
Sterling Weed profile photo
January 02, 2018

Spotfire Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire to create an analytics platform for our software that we give access to our customers.
  • Great analytics tool
  • Self service BI
  • Custom HTML/JavaScript/Python
Best suited for analytics projects, not as well suited for embedding and deploying.
The mapping tool in Spotfire is a very powerful tool, however it is not as easy to use or as straightforward as other tools that I have used such as Tableau. Although, once you understand how to create the visualization/maps, some powerful analytics can be created from those maps.
Read Sterling Weed's full review
Rajesh Rampilla profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for reporting purposes by reporting team. it addresses several business problems like crunching numbers and making sense with the data easily and in a better way
  • crunching numbers
  • calculations
  • customization
we, at our organization specifically use it for finance data like budgeting and looking at month end stuff. It is well suited for reporting on large amounts of data and also for showing trends and forecasting the data and the main reason for us to use this tool is the user has all the power to slice and dice data however they want the report to be generated. it is not appropriate for printing the reports but then again by doing some manual configurations one can also solve this printing issue by properly formatting while the reports are under development.
Read Rajesh Rampilla's full review
Giorgio Dal Checco profile photo
November 01, 2017

Spotfire Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is being used to implement BI solutions for our clients working across departments. It allows us to show every KPI of interest coming from different source systems.
  • It allows us to access data from different source systems.
  • It gives the user the possibility to access different analysis from a single access point.
It is not good when you need custom visualizations.
Read Giorgio Dal Checco's full review
Dr Manan Trivedi profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In R&D we have different departments, and we use Spotfire for our studies in the electronic Trial Master file (eTMF) department to see the cleanliness and completeness of eTMFs. We also use it to measure progress towards KPIs and targets, and to prioritize actions.
  • It's very easy to filter data you want, and what you want to see
  • Lot of visualization options
  • It's very fast
It is well suited when you want to present visual data to management, and i would say also to end users because of details on demand and raw data.
Read Dr Manan Trivedi's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (248)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (215)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (243)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (255)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (183)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (229)
7.9
Publish to Web (190)
8.3
Publish to PDF (226)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (140)
7.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (261)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (228)
8.5
Predictive Analytics (195)
7.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (200)
8.4
Role-Based Security Model (167)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (185)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (143)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (102)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (121)
7.5
REST API (45)
7.4
Javascript API (45)
7.3
iFrames (33)
7.1
Java API (36)
7.1
Themeable User Interface (UI) (44)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (38)
7.1

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian