TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire Desktop ReviewSpotfire is being used by our company. We have tested this product for over a few years now and educated others on Spotfire as well. It assists all groups to create a dashboard in a quick manner even if an employee is lacking the SQL ability they have learned to use Spotfire for a data visualization for current spreadsheets.,Data Visualization Recommendations Pulls in data quickly User-friendly interface,The scheduling needs improvement Better Predictive Analytics More interactive visualizations built in,8,Tableau Desktop,SAP Crystal Reports, SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management, Informatica Enterprise Data Integration,In-person training Self-taught,2,As long as you are passionate about learning and have in depth knowledge of software and connecting to a database and have previously created dashboards or other reporting through another product then you should be able to progress just fine. There are some helpful Blogs when you google as well and some you tube videos that can help as well.Spotfire - complex and customizedWe implement it for our clients, it's one of the most popular technologies we currently offer.,Possibility of introducing custom functionality is much better than any other BI tool Able to do complex calculations,Some performance issues with large amounts of data Many simple or annoying little things that remain unsolved for years, even though regularly posted on Tibco Community Even with the latest version, the look and feel is a bit outdated,8,PowerBI and Tableau,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,3,It was not easy. I learned from more experienced colleagues' materials.TIBCO Spotfire - Practical OutlookWe use Spotfire to design Enterprise-wide dynamic end-to-end automated reporting and analytics solutions. We were able to significantly reduce the TCO and eliminate bottlenecks associated with the use of some legacy tools like Excel, PowerPoint, etc. On the other hand, Spotfire lacks some esthetics, doesn't offer all modern chart types, and could be difficult and expensive to learn.,Data input automation Automated data transformation procedures Relatively easy to implement,Types of charts and tables Availability of basic statistical functions Lack of good documentation and examples beyond basic,6,,Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,The product is not easy to learn and unless you have a relational database background, it may be quite counterintuitive. The best way to learn this product is to start building visualizations and have someone around who can answer your questions. Online help is not very useful but [you] may get lucky and find some examples online.Spotfire - All in one tool for reporting, analytics and dashboardsTibco Spotfire is used extensively at our organisation and by our clients to leverage and gain insights into large quantities of data. We primarily use it for data exploration, reporting, predictive analytics and data segmentation. With Spotfire we are able to build comprehensive dashboards quickly and efficiently without the need for specialist BI developers.,Quickly build reports from large quantities of data and then publish those reports via the web player. Ability to work with data sets in different formats, i.e. data aggregation or SQL queries are not required. Out of the box analytics that makes it easy for business users to gain insights into their data. Ability to leverage R scripts in Spotfire.,Easier functionality of Python scripts. Stability improvements are required, software has a tendency to crash. Easier optimisation of reports for the web player especially where large data sets are involved.,10,,10,Spotfire is used company wide by approximately 30 consultants. We have a few data scientists that makes use of the more advanced features.,10,10,10,10,8,10A week with Tibco - so WORTH it!Tibco Spotfire is the supported tool for accessing an Oracle data warehouse. The data stored in the warehouse is all of our historical human resources data from across the enterprise (we have several operating companies under our brand umbrella) and the warehouse is "fed" every day with new transactions coming from each company's HCM system. We do ad-hoc reporting with Spotfire, build dashboards for analysis, and generally use it to answer any business question that may come up where we need the employee data.,Visualizations - it isn't just a data extraction tool but charts and tables can be easily built. Dashboards - I've put together sample dashboards in just a few hours. External Data - very easy to pull in data from different data sources - Oracle tables, Excel, etc..,Visualizations - while it is a strength it is also a weakness. We currently use another tool for dashboarding and we will move to Spotfire because it is more powerful but the actual charts in the other product are more appealing. Set up - we are responsible for setting up our own joins, information links, elements, etc. This is overwhelming for beginning users. SQL - It is hard to debug issues with the SQL. I often find myself copying the SQL into another tool to decode and build and then will copy it back to Spotfire.,8,None,SQL Developer, Oracle BI Foundation Suite,In-person training,9
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 538 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (126-150 of 237)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Desktop Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by our company. We have tested this product for over a few years now and educated others on Spotfire as well. It assists all groups to create a dashboard in a quick manner even if an employee is lacking the SQL ability they have learned to use Spotfire for a data visualization for current spreadsheets.
  • Data Visualization Recommendations
  • Pulls in data quickly
  • User-friendly interface
  • The scheduling needs improvement
  • Better Predictive Analytics
  • More interactive visualizations built in
Spotfire is well suited for the business user that understands data and can query SQL and connect to a database. It is meant to be utilized as a data visualization tool for summarizing and not detail level. The option is there, however you must be aware of the space a user needs for all the data that is being reviewed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - complex and customized"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement it for our clients, it's one of the most popular technologies we currently offer.
  • Possibility of introducing custom functionality is much better than any other BI tool
  • Able to do complex calculations
  • Some performance issues with large amounts of data
  • Many simple or annoying little things that remain unsolved for years, even though regularly posted on Tibco Community
  • Even with the latest version, the look and feel is a bit outdated
High complexity of analysis, and highly customized.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Practical Outlook"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to design Enterprise-wide dynamic end-to-end automated reporting and analytics solutions. We were able to significantly reduce the TCO and eliminate bottlenecks associated with the use of some legacy tools like Excel, PowerPoint, etc. On the other hand, Spotfire lacks some esthetics, doesn't offer all modern chart types, and could be difficult and expensive to learn.
  • Data input automation
  • Automated data transformation procedures
  • Relatively easy to implement
  • Types of charts and tables
  • Availability of basic statistical functions
  • Lack of good documentation and examples beyond basic
When consumers of dashboards are looking for efficiency and information at their fingertips, ready to self-serve and not extremely picky on the esthetics of Spotfire dashboards. The more the user base is focused on results and convenience rather than look and feel of dashboards and charts, the more tech-savvy the user base is, the happier they will be.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - All in one tool for reporting, analytics and dashboards"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is used extensively at our organisation and by our clients to leverage and gain insights into large quantities of data. We primarily use it for data exploration, reporting, predictive analytics and data segmentation. With Spotfire we are able to build comprehensive dashboards quickly and efficiently without the need for specialist BI developers.
  • Quickly build reports from large quantities of data and then publish those reports via the web player.
  • Ability to work with data sets in different formats, i.e. data aggregation or SQL queries are not required.
  • Out of the box analytics that makes it easy for business users to gain insights into their data.
  • Ability to leverage R scripts in Spotfire.
  • Easier functionality of Python scripts.
  • Stability improvements are required, software has a tendency to crash.
  • Easier optimisation of reports for the web player especially where large data sets are involved.
Spotfire may not be appropriate for mission critical reporting, e.g. financial reporting.

Well suited to enable business users to quickly build, change and enhance reports.
Works great in the states - however does not work well in Africa.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A week with Tibco - so WORTH it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is the supported tool for accessing an Oracle data warehouse. The data stored in the warehouse is all of our historical human resources data from across the enterprise (we have several operating companies under our brand umbrella) and the warehouse is "fed" every day with new transactions coming from each company's HCM system. We do ad-hoc reporting with Spotfire, build dashboards for analysis, and generally use it to answer any business question that may come up where we need the employee data.
  • Visualizations - it isn't just a data extraction tool but charts and tables can be easily built.
  • Dashboards - I've put together sample dashboards in just a few hours.
  • External Data - very easy to pull in data from different data sources - Oracle tables, Excel, etc..
  • Visualizations - while it is a strength it is also a weakness. We currently use another tool for dashboarding and we will move to Spotfire because it is more powerful but the actual charts in the other product are more appealing.
  • Set up - we are responsible for setting up our own joins, information links, elements, etc. This is overwhelming for beginning users.
  • SQL - It is hard to debug issues with the SQL. I often find myself copying the SQL into another tool to decode and build and then will copy it back to Spotfire.
It may not be suited for the inexperienced user simply because of the complexity of the setup. But that is more likely due to the way our company supports the product (that everyone is on their own). But once all of the setup is complete, creating reports and charts is pretty easy and quick.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are testing Spotfire to become a TIBCO partner and offer their products to our customers.
  • Very easy to use charts and modify its properties.
  • A lot of different types of charts.
  • An interface very visual and intuitive.
  • Using of marked records is a little bit confusing.
  • Legends in chart has too many options and could be confusing to read for the user.
  • Sometimes is a little bit difficult and not intuitive to find an option in the main menu.
It could be useful if you need a tool for visualizations only, but it is a little bit poor if you need a tool for ETL.
Its visualization is very similar to other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 28, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only a small portion of the organization has system access. The analytics team uses Spotfire to analyze product data and support manufacturing investigations.
  • It's really easy to create interactive visualizations
  • Can quickly merge different data tables and manipulate the data using pivots and other transformations
  • Great design and aesthetics
  • Sometimes runs slowly when working with large data sets
  • It's difficult to add additional files after you've already performed a transformation on the data
Spotfire is really powerful at analyzing data. You can easily create interactive dashboards to gain insight. The wizard is useful because it suggests visualizations based on your selected data set.
The geographic visualizations are very powerful because they allow the user to drill down on the data and link various data sources. It's easy to create new maps and perform interactive analysis. One of the most useful features is being able to connect the data to real-world scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good overall product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire to build an integrated solution with our product suite.
  • Good visual Analytics
  • Good integration API.
  • Better documentation.
  • Adding more chart types.
It is very good tool for third party integration. TIBCO has great Mashup API and software development API for extracting data through SOAP based API.

The GIS integration is exemplary as well.
The GIS in Spotfire is way ahead of similar products I have used. The layer support for GIS in Spotfire makes it really unique.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent way to slice and dice your data and answer your questions!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire across our business as a default analytics tool to make decisions across all functions in our business from Finance to engineering. The capabilities Spotfire provides us with has been very helpful and powerful for our users to be able to help ask relevant questions and be able to answer them with a few clicks of a button.
  • Merge data from disparate data sources into a single tool.
  • Visualize data of all kind
  • I would like to see some capabilities around emailing static reports.

Spotfire is very well suited in situations where there is large amounts of data and a wide variety of users need to access it in different depths.

It is less suited for static/daily reports that need to mailed out to users.

Very powerful and simple to use for end users who want to quickly plot data and geographically visualize. Tibco enables non-technical users to easily build data analytics with little involvement from IT, allowing IT to focus on critical business solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 08, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire feedback"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used as a dashboard construction tool. Dashboard report is fixed and responsibility is shared with business counterparts. As far as they can access to modifications if needed and they are able to drive any variants of each report. Spotfire allows this strategy of reporting management and avoids any specific developments like previous coded solutions.
  • Spotfire accepts information from either an Excel Table or a database
  • Spotfire allows rapid design of a report sheet with pre-organised forms and views
  • Spotfire is equipped with filters , easy to manage, in case of dynamic analysis as a sample.
  • no idea
  • no idea
  • no idea
Spotfire is well suited as a rapid reporting design tool, to get rapidly a sheet view of data analysis and repeatable views integrating evolutions of the month or any refresh into the data source. But it is important to keep the data source model to allow any refresh. The model is accessible in a second hand with a web application interface.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2017

User Review: "Tibco spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by my previous organization for translational research. It addressed the problem of data analytics and visualization. I recently used a paper (which is accepted) where I also used TIBCO Spotfire 6.5 and other analytics and programming took for data analytics to create a visualization and do data analytics.
  • Visualization
  • Analytics
  • Data management
  • Images to put
  • Legends to visualize
  • API uses iron python instead of python which is different and complex
For biopharmaceutical data analytics it is good to use. For omics office and Genomics research it is not good.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Versatile Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm working in the commercial excellence department and we use Spotfire sales and activity reports across 6 different affiliates, we also use the tool to create our own calculation engine of some targeting processes.
  • Dynamic tool
  • Implementation of different data sources
  • Multi environment options
  • Resolution depends of the environment used
  • Friendly use of dimensions
As i said we have used TIBCO Spotfire for some different kinds of sales and activity reports using our own database coming from our CRM and internal sales tools in an "easy" way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to analize KPI coming from several departments. It allows us to show every KPI of interest coming from several source systems.
  • Allow to analize KPI coming from several source systems
  • Allows us to create easy to read and interactive analysis
  • Different dashboards can be set up to have a single access point
  • More ways to customize charts might be needed
  • Better integration with javascript might be needed
  • Customizable lable for values in chart might be needed
I think it is well suited in a big company where there is the need to carry on data analysis in a new, more productive way
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Amazing tool to discover hidden stories in your data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for ongoing clinical data review. It makes it much easier compared to static patient profiles
  • Very user intuitive
  • You can select specific data points and dive deep
  • Visually pleasing
  • Very presentable and story telling
  • Data loading is slow
  • If data is not embedded, I am seeing issues with a few visualizations
Spotfire is more suitable for ongoing data review and investigations. It is great for visually presenting complicated data.

It is not so great for data manipulation when compared to SAS or R.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "I recommend Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a preferred BI tool for analyzing and reporting data. Spotfire has made a steep change in the quality and quickness of making data available at all levels in the organization
  • Connecting to sources.
  • Visualizing data.
  • Dashboards.
  • Filter/mark data to see trends.
  • Exporting charts to reports.
  • More control on visualization features.
  • Iron Python scripts & training.
Scenarios where you want to connect to multiple data sources, modify, split, pivot, transform data and visualize and share. It covers almost all aspects of a good dashboard. The help manual could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for reporting and creating meaningful visualizations.
  • Recommends visualizations for you
  • Mapping capabilities - though having pre-set coordinates would be nice
  • Filtering on historical dates and timelines
  • Mapping capabilities - coordinates, additional layers
  • Calculations and formulas to be more user-friendly, like Excel
Creating quick graphs and timelines is really good. Could use a bit more on user friendliness on the graphical tables. I like the idea of them but don't find them as easy to create.
Read this authenticated review
Brock Robertson profile photo
July 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Satisfied with Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Tapstone, Spotfire is primarily used to quickly visualize and amalgamate data used by other programs or from Excel documents that is stored in bulky table formats that are not optimally useful in their raw state. Spotfire aids in our ability to quickly summarize data into useful information, and point us in the direction of a useful drill down.
  • Spotfire's marking capibilities on line charts make it very easy to identify associated points on cluttered line graphs.
  • Spotfire's filtering makes it very easy to boil analyses down to specific subsets of data, and then build them back up to whole again.
  • Spotfire has the capability to link to many different data sources, making it relatively easy to keep an analysis up to date by linking to a live data source.
  • As an Excel user, it is an odd transition to shift from thinking in terms of cells to thinking in terms of tables and columns. Some things that would be intuitively easy with Excel (adding 4 random cells from a document by clicking on each of the 4 cells) become much more complicated when you have to think in terms rows and tables only.
  • When linking multiple live data sources together, then adding calculated columns to those data sources, then moving columns from one data table to another in one project, Spotfire can take a long time to open a project. It is also relatively easy to end up with a document that does not calculate the intended results in the most efficient way, and methods to troubleshoot inefficiencies are not always immediately obvious.
  • Scatter plot line formatting could be more customizable. By default, Spotfire wants to use the same line type for each series in a scatter plot, and it is not easy for this user to figure out if there is a way to change line types per series on a chart.
I would definitely recommend Spotfire to a colleague that has a large set of raw data and wants to quickly consolidate that set of data into meaningful graphs or charts - especially if the data as a whole is likely to bring up questions that could be addressed by drilling deeper into more specific categories of data. It also appears to be especially useful for keeping somewhat repetitive and common analyses live and quickly accessible.
The mapping features in Spotfire are a convenient way to add a quick visualization to an existing Spotfire analysis. The ability to add many layers, adjust transparencies / colors, the ability to add tooltips, and to color, size, and shape by just about anything are very useful. However, some of the customization is inferior to a geographic mapping specific software such as ArcGIS. The specific functionality that I wish was more customizable is the labels - such as being able to customize angle of text, whether it is in a text box, where each individual label shows up on a map, etc.
Read Brock Robertson's full review
Cal Humphrey profile photo
March 23, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data Analytics in a Click"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used extensively across several departments within the company. Spotfire is used to create reports used throughout the company. The engineering department uses it mostly for analyzing data. Spotfire allows us to quickly manipulate and analyze data that we are unable to do in Excel. The vast amount of data we deal with often crashes Excel. Spotfire allows us to import the data and create charts, reports, maps, and other visualizations in a few clicks that would have taken hours in Excel. The amount of time saved by using Spotfire makes it a very important tool to our department.
  • The ability to import and analyze very large amounts of data very quickly.
  • The ease of creating professional looking charts and reports.
  • A simple user interface that makes it easy for new users to pick up using the basics, but still offers experienced users almost endless possibilities.
  • The mapping capabilities are lacking. I would like to have a greater ability to manipulate the appearance of the data on the map.
  • I have also noticed that some functions are limited in their use if using data linked to a SQL database. This is referring to actual functions like if one is trying to create a calculated column.
  • It would be nice to be able to create an additional data table within Spotfire based on linked data from multiple sources.
Our company receives daily flowback reports. These are combined in a Spotfire tool that allows us to easily see trends with the well that we are unable to see in the raw data from the daily reports. We also have a tool that allows us to map current rig activity as it related to our current acreage position.
The zoom feature only allows preset levels. A more robust zoom feature would improve the mapping by allowing the user to see only the specified area.
Read Cal Humphrey's full review
Michael Cares profile photo
June 30, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire is outstanding"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used in the whole organization for every kind of analysis (from sales to supply) and replaced all other solutions we had.
  • Predictive Analytics for trading and pricing
  • Visual Analytics
  • OLAP
  • More visual alternatives
[It's] Very good at visualizing large sets of data. We continue to be amazed at the speed of the application and reliability though. We have had no outages, although we had several release updates. Enterprise functionality is very good (e.g. templates for CI). Data cleaning and transformation ability is good. The web client could have more features and Active Directory Integration could be improved.

Read Michael Cares's full review
Roberto Jimenez profile photo
April 17, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire was effective in a SAP-driven procurement-related business application"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by a specific department, namely Procurement. It is used to raise visibility of performance metrics as well as historical data housed in SAP BW HANA. An example of historical data is volume and price information. Spotfire enables us to quickly drill down into a specific material and understand how much product we have purchased and at what price.
  • Spotfire is oriented to the design of dashboards, not single visualizations. There is no need to design visualizations and then take them to a different "worksheet" where the layout needs to be further designed. I like the ability to design visualizations in the same place where these will be consumed, i.e., as dashboard elements.
  • Markings and Bookmarks are two powerful elements of Spotfire. Markings make the sharing of filters across visualizations intuitive and flexible. Bookmarks are extremely powerful, allowing you to create stories and share insights based on custom views.
  • The in-memory engine is super fast. As long as the data is loaded in the workbook, calculations are extremely fast.
  • Cross-tables are very easy and powerful in Spotfire.
  • My biggest disappointment with Spotfire is the way the SAP BW connector works. It is not possible to transfer 'key' values from SAP BW to Spotfire, and the data table update routine is not clear, well documented, or straightforward.
  • The calculations syntax is not very intuitive and in some cases, very complicated. The calculation editor does not give you good feedback as to why your calculation syntax is off.
  • Designing dashboards for multiple devices is a headache. There is no built-in way to design for different layouts and ensure dashboards can be consumed seamlessly on monitors, laptos, and portable devices.
TIBCO Spotfire can be easily deployed in a number of enterprise settings, ranging from small companies to large organizations. I used Spotfire in a small five-user setting, but I know it is being used by large enterprises as well.
It does not provide intuitive feedback when WMS layers do not charge properly or errors occur. It experiences lag when rendering large datasets or handling complex geometries. When dashboards with geographic components work well, they are priceless. However, lots of trial and error time is consumed on the back end to produce the result, to the point that it's often easier to settle for a dashboard without geographic context, or if the dashboard is not too complex to create it on the ArcGIS API.
Read Roberto Jimenez's full review
Masoud Charkhabi profile photo
March 22, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Strong Software, Support could be better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for exploratory data analysis prior to formal modeling. Also used for visualizing model results and simulations.
  • Allows exploration of multiple datasets that are connected in different ways.
  • Allows fast preliminary exploration of a dataset.
  • Allows for the exploration of the results of large simulations and experiments.
  • Hard to integrate with scripting languages, for example python, matlab, R.
  • Not clear how to handle in-memory and out-of-memory processing for large scale data.
  • Documentation could be better.
The software is powerful and user-friendly. The support could be better, both the account team and technical support.
provides layering, interaction, integration with remaining analysis, could be better if provided analytical calculations such as distance calculations, although I believe these are provided in the premium product.
Read Masoud Charkhabi's full review
Roy Carter profile photo
March 10, 2017

"Tibco Spotfire is kind of awesome but not for the faint of heart or easily frustrated"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across Chevron in multiple different applications. We have a Chevron Spotfire Users Day conference which highlights many of the problems currently being addressed with Spotfire. Any issue that has loads of data is using Spotfire.
  • Providing multiple different avenues to connect to structured data and providing the option to sit on top of the data or embedding data into the analysis.
  • Location analytics (maps) have been greatly improved in the latest versions of Spotfire.
  • Very steep learning curve.
  • Although I am an advanced user, it can be daunting for a new user. Almost too much functionality. Too bad there is not a Spotfire basic for the new user.
  • Area charts like in Excel are missing.
  • Any analysis that utilizes more than a few hundred data points will benefit from Spotfire.
  • Any analysis that you don't know what you are looking for. You can easily create multiple different views to analyze data.
  • Any analysis using structured data currently residing in databases
  • Advanced users can do on-the-fly analysis of data which is very impressive
  • Not useful for basic graphs. Leave that to Excel.
Read Roy Carter's full review
Chris Speights profile photo
March 06, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Somewhat experienced user review (but still have much to learn)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to blend data from various databases and data sets. It's widely used across the business, but not exclusively. It provides the ability to make correlations between various data sources, that may otherwise appear unrelated.
  • Connecting to various data sets, the ability to have the data connections in the information designer is a huge plus.
  • The ability to set up and manipulate the query in information designer and use it over and over.
  • The ability to add columns and/or rows from data sources.
  • It could be more flexible with the formatting of the analytics.
  • I do not like that if a mistake is made in the path of a file, you must replace the data and do all the transformations over. Seems it would make more sense to provide a place to just correct the path.
  • The ability to do more than one transformation at a time would be nice. For example, changing column names.
Spotfire in general is very easy to consume data and provide graphical representations. The only time it seems less appropriate is when you have a report that must remain static (like month end reports).
Read Chris Speights's full review
Rodrigo Eiras profile photo
February 15, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Your data needs Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Nowadays, we only use it to support users that we have sold it to. Currently, we don't have an internal development on Spotfire in our company.
  • TIBCO Spotfire can advance very well on the mature analytics curve. We can diagnose, measure and predict using OOB functions or extend the power of Spotfire developing application in R to be processed by TERR.
  • The interface is very clean is much easier to understand for endpoint clients, like a business user. They can start analysing data very fast!
  • Spotfire can publish and share users insights very fast. It provides some nice collaboration tools to work together with your colleagues and make nice and beautiful results.
  • Would be nice if mapchart were able to use custom images instead of default shapes. Most of customers ask for this.
  • The interface could be more flexible instead of the "window like" arrangement. I mean, it will be nice if we can overlap some components.
  • The transformations need some easier way to edit. I know it's not easy to implement but many customers ask for this, indeed.
Spotfire can perform very well when working on in-memory data. It is very fast and in most of scenarios I had, Spotfire worked very well.
The above comment is not true when working in an SAP environment, specially BW. The hierarchies are very complicated to fetch and in Brazil we have lots of companies using it. We really need some enhancements on that.
Read Rodrigo Eiras's full review
No photo available
May 19, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Data Analysis for Data Users"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire as an internal tool (within our business group) for analysis and integration of large energy industry data sets. As we add new types of data to these data sets, we can easily create new data visualizations in Spotfire.

We also use Spotfire to deliver self-service data visualization to our clients.
  • Spotfire is very good at combining data from multiple sources, such as from database queries, files, and web-based data sources. We make use of data from all of these sources, and this is a key feature.
  • Spotfire provides a good expression language for performing calculations using the data that has been loaded into a Spotfire document. The expression language makes it easy to write calculations that can be reused. Additionally, expressions can be stored in document properties, providing a centralized set of calculations for easy (and error free) reuse throughout a Spotfire document.
  • The IronPython scripting language makes it possible to create fully-automated work flows, automate the creation of standard visualizations, and provide user-specific Spotfire documents.
  • Although the IronPython scripting language is very useful, you need to understand the Spotfire API to make full use of the scripting language. The API documentation could be improved to be more readable and understandable.
  • The scatter plots need to be able to support multiple data sets on both the X and Y axes, and the axes labels should have more options, such as which side of the plot the labels appear on.
Spotfire is very useful in basic exploration of a data set - grouping and organizing data, quickly spotting trends in data, and then giving basic statistics for a data set. It is much better than Excel for this task, as categories and identifiers do not need to be created manually.

Another use is "what-if" scenarios. It is very easy to create document property controls in Spotfire to vary the inputs to standard calculations and view the results of those change in real-time in multiple visualizations.
The geographic visualizations in Tibco Spotfire simplify the task of blending numerical and location data, and creating map based displays of statistics. A very useful feature is the ability to have multiple layers tied to different data tables - I've used these to create theme-based maps. The geographic visualizations can also be fully scripted to create analytical work flows, and direct the user experience. Being able to add WMS layers is also a plus. Finally, any image can be used as a map, to create specialized interactive plots and diagrams.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (201)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (172)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (197)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (206)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (153)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (184)
7.9
Publish to Web (154)
8.2
Publish to PDF (180)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (113)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (212)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (188)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (160)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (162)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (135)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (151)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (121)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (85)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (101)
7.1
REST API (30)
6.7
Javascript API (31)
6.7
iFrames (21)
6.5
Java API (24)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (31)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (23)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions