TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGStrong Software, Support could be betterUsed for exploratory data analysis prior to formal modeling. Also used for visualizing model results and simulations.,Allows exploration of multiple datasets that are connected in different ways. Allows fast preliminary exploration of a dataset. Allows for the exploration of the results of large simulations and experiments.,Hard to integrate with scripting languages, for example python, matlab, R. Not clear how to handle in-memory and out-of-memory processing for large scale data. Documentation could be better.,8,,Tableau Desktop, BizNet Excel Suite, IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,8,Yes [the product was easy to learn without training]. I did have a TIBCO consultant help me though. Some of the advanced visualizations were harder to learn how to configure.,20,8Tibco Spotfire is kind of awesome but not for the faint of heart or easily frustratedSpotfire is used across Chevron in multiple different applications. We have a Chevron Spotfire Users Day conference which highlights many of the problems currently being addressed with Spotfire. Any issue that has loads of data is using Spotfire.,Providing multiple different avenues to connect to structured data and providing the option to sit on top of the data or embedding data into the analysis. Location analytics (maps) have been greatly improved in the latest versions of Spotfire.,Very steep learning curve. Although I am an advanced user, it can be daunting for a new user. Almost too much functionality. Too bad there is not a Spotfire basic for the new user. Area charts like in Excel are missing.,10,,Online training In-person training,7,8,NO!! Unless you are a genius and very patient, I would not try to tackle Spotfire without copious amounts of training. The learning curve on this sucker is crazy steep. It took me about a year to become a solid basic user and a few more years to step up to an advanced level where I can confidently train others.Somewhat experienced user review (but still have much to learn)We use Spotfire to blend data from various databases and data sets. It's widely used across the business, but not exclusively. It provides the ability to make correlations between various data sources, that may otherwise appear unrelated.,Connecting to various data sets, the ability to have the data connections in the information designer is a huge plus. The ability to set up and manipulate the query in information designer and use it over and over. The ability to add columns and/or rows from data sources.,It could be more flexible with the formatting of the analytics. I do not like that if a mistake is made in the path of a file, you must replace the data and do all the transformations over. Seems it would make more sense to provide a place to just correct the path. The ability to do more than one transformation at a time would be nice. For example, changing column names.,10,,Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,I am a hands on learner...I must use the software and try to make it apply for my purposes if I am ever to understand it. Not everyone works this way. Usually in a training environment, it takes too much imagination to understand how the examples can apply. Or, if you can ever get to the same level of knowledge to manufacture the same analytics.Your data needs Spotfire!Nowadays, we only use it to support users that we have sold it to. Currently, we don't have an internal development on Spotfire in our company.,TIBCO Spotfire can advance very well on the mature analytics curve. We can diagnose, measure and predict using OOB functions or extend the power of Spotfire developing application in R to be processed by TERR. The interface is very clean is much easier to understand for endpoint clients, like a business user. They can start analysing data very fast! Spotfire can publish and share users insights very fast. It provides some nice collaboration tools to work together with your colleagues and make nice and beautiful results.,Would be nice if mapchart were able to use custom images instead of default shapes. Most of customers ask for this. The interface could be more flexible instead of the "window like" arrangement. I mean, it will be nice if we can overlap some components. The transformations need some easier way to edit. I know it's not easy to implement but many customers ask for this, indeed.,10,Tableau Desktop and Qlik Sense,Cisco Data Virtualization, TIBCO StreamBase, TIBCO BusinessWorks,Online training Self-taught,10,I do not recommend learning without training. If the user is an IT guy or some expert in data, ok, can be done. Usually business users needs training. I do not recommend starting by themselves.TIBCO Spotfire - a great data visualization toolTIBCO Spotfire is used across our entire organization. We use the software to join the many databases and other data sources we maintain in easy to use dashboards. The dashboards are customized based on the end user. This methodology ensures that all interested parties have the most up to date and accurate information without the need to open multiple software packages.,Spotfire is excellent at taking multiple data sources and combining them into a single space where they can be viewed through various charts, tables, and other visualizations. Filtering allows the user to drill down to exactly the data that needs to be used for a specific analysis. The ability to add calculated columns in Spotfire allows users to combine data sets quickly and easily without having to change the source data.,The ability to use complex formatting in certain visualizations is lacking. For example, on a line chart you can choose to make all lines solid, or all lines dashed, but not a combination of the two. Novice users may not realize that certain data is being filtered out of their analysis. A large symbol somewhere on the page indicating that filters are being applied may prevent incorrect analysis.,10,Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Access,In-person training,8
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 491 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (126-150 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Masoud Charkhabi profile photo
March 22, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Strong Software, Support could be better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for exploratory data analysis prior to formal modeling. Also used for visualizing model results and simulations.
  • Allows exploration of multiple datasets that are connected in different ways.
  • Allows fast preliminary exploration of a dataset.
  • Allows for the exploration of the results of large simulations and experiments.
  • Hard to integrate with scripting languages, for example python, matlab, R.
  • Not clear how to handle in-memory and out-of-memory processing for large scale data.
  • Documentation could be better.
The software is powerful and user-friendly. The support could be better, both the account team and technical support.
provides layering, interaction, integration with remaining analysis, could be better if provided analytical calculations such as distance calculations, although I believe these are provided in the premium product.
Read Masoud Charkhabi's full review
Roy Carter profile photo
March 10, 2017

"Tibco Spotfire is kind of awesome but not for the faint of heart or easily frustrated"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across Chevron in multiple different applications. We have a Chevron Spotfire Users Day conference which highlights many of the problems currently being addressed with Spotfire. Any issue that has loads of data is using Spotfire.
  • Providing multiple different avenues to connect to structured data and providing the option to sit on top of the data or embedding data into the analysis.
  • Location analytics (maps) have been greatly improved in the latest versions of Spotfire.
  • Very steep learning curve.
  • Although I am an advanced user, it can be daunting for a new user. Almost too much functionality. Too bad there is not a Spotfire basic for the new user.
  • Area charts like in Excel are missing.
  • Any analysis that utilizes more than a few hundred data points will benefit from Spotfire.
  • Any analysis that you don't know what you are looking for. You can easily create multiple different views to analyze data.
  • Any analysis using structured data currently residing in databases
  • Advanced users can do on-the-fly analysis of data which is very impressive
  • Not useful for basic graphs. Leave that to Excel.
Read Roy Carter's full review
Chris Speights profile photo
March 06, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Somewhat experienced user review (but still have much to learn)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to blend data from various databases and data sets. It's widely used across the business, but not exclusively. It provides the ability to make correlations between various data sources, that may otherwise appear unrelated.
  • Connecting to various data sets, the ability to have the data connections in the information designer is a huge plus.
  • The ability to set up and manipulate the query in information designer and use it over and over.
  • The ability to add columns and/or rows from data sources.
  • It could be more flexible with the formatting of the analytics.
  • I do not like that if a mistake is made in the path of a file, you must replace the data and do all the transformations over. Seems it would make more sense to provide a place to just correct the path.
  • The ability to do more than one transformation at a time would be nice. For example, changing column names.
Spotfire in general is very easy to consume data and provide graphical representations. The only time it seems less appropriate is when you have a report that must remain static (like month end reports).
Read Chris Speights's full review
Rodrigo Eiras profile photo
February 15, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Your data needs Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Nowadays, we only use it to support users that we have sold it to. Currently, we don't have an internal development on Spotfire in our company.
  • TIBCO Spotfire can advance very well on the mature analytics curve. We can diagnose, measure and predict using OOB functions or extend the power of Spotfire developing application in R to be processed by TERR.
  • The interface is very clean is much easier to understand for endpoint clients, like a business user. They can start analysing data very fast!
  • Spotfire can publish and share users insights very fast. It provides some nice collaboration tools to work together with your colleagues and make nice and beautiful results.
  • Would be nice if mapchart were able to use custom images instead of default shapes. Most of customers ask for this.
  • The interface could be more flexible instead of the "window like" arrangement. I mean, it will be nice if we can overlap some components.
  • The transformations need some easier way to edit. I know it's not easy to implement but many customers ask for this, indeed.
Spotfire can perform very well when working on in-memory data. It is very fast and in most of scenarios I had, Spotfire worked very well.
The above comment is not true when working in an SAP environment, specially BW. The hierarchies are very complicated to fetch and in Brazil we have lots of companies using it. We really need some enhancements on that.
Read Rodrigo Eiras's full review
Adam Seibel profile photo
January 20, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - a great data visualization tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across our entire organization. We use the software to join the many databases and other data sources we maintain in easy to use dashboards. The dashboards are customized based on the end user. This methodology ensures that all interested parties have the most up to date and accurate information without the need to open multiple software packages.
  • Spotfire is excellent at taking multiple data sources and combining them into a single space where they can be viewed through various charts, tables, and other visualizations.
  • Filtering allows the user to drill down to exactly the data that needs to be used for a specific analysis.
  • The ability to add calculated columns in Spotfire allows users to combine data sets quickly and easily without having to change the source data.
  • The ability to use complex formatting in certain visualizations is lacking. For example, on a line chart you can choose to make all lines solid, or all lines dashed, but not a combination of the two.
  • Novice users may not realize that certain data is being filtered out of their analysis. A large symbol somewhere on the page indicating that filters are being applied may prevent incorrect analysis.
Spotfire is well suited for combining data in different formats, spreadsheets and databases for example, into a single data set that can then be used for the basis of an analysis. Spotfire isn't well suited for generating high level presentation materials (i.e. board of directors presentations) because of it's lack of complex formatting.
Read Adam Seibel's full review
Jason Alley profile photo
January 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Quick Review of Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly being used by our reservoir engineers and production guys out in the field. But we are doing an in-house training next month that will go out to the organization.

It addresses cost analysis, production surveillance, data management and exploration.
  • As an agnostic platform it gives you the ability to connect to many different data sources so that you can maximize your analysis through hosting all necessary avenues of data in one location.
  • Gives you the ability to drill down to uncover hidden insights within the data.
  • Uses R which gives the user the ability to create models using advanced data functions to tackle complicated business problems.
  • The main thing I hear [about] is the aesthetics on some of the charts because they are used to seeing it a certain way in Excel and having more control.
  • Being able to modify the details that are involved in the source information.
  • Multiple scales on the line chart.
Spotfire works wells with tables that are nicely represented in rows and columns. Especially large amounts of data that may come from many different sources. With the quick work of relational data, one can create a robust table and reduce the manual work hours of retrieving and organizing data by hours. Smaller amounts of data that require a lot of cell to cell calculations that could be easier handled within Excel.
Read Jason Alley's full review
Isak Nuhić profile photo
January 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire For Automotive Manufacturing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire accross the whole organization. We are using it in Operations, Finance, Purchase, Sales, HR and IT - it was extremely useful for visualising machine stoppages, OEE and scrap tracking. We are also making 90% of our monthly report using Spotfire. With Spotfire we found a perfect tool to give managers quick and precise overview of business processes and they can respond quickly to any new developments.
  • Integration of different data sources.
  • Great user experience - easy to implement and use.
  • Interactivity.
  • I would like to have more ability to calculate things (not just trough calculated columns).
  • Ability to somehow implement hard inputs for visualizations.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for well structured data - no matter the format (excel, sql...). If you have a problem where you want more calculation (also if you want user inputs) before visualization, then it cannot be done in Spotfire - you need to do it in SQL or somehow else before transferring to Spotfire.
Read Isak Nuhić's full review
Taras Gorishnyy profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very good visualization tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to rapidly visualize data and build interactive dashboards in connection of other data science tools such as R. It is useful in many use cases in analytics.
  • Visualization is very quick and interactive
  • Connection to modeling tools such as R and SAS is very important. We need functionality to run R code out of Spotfire dashboards and read a wide range of native format files
  • Server client and cloud options are very important for easy sharing of end products
  • I would like better data management capabilities, e.g. ability to do joints, selection, variable transformations in a more streamlined way. Some functionality exists, but it is still somewhat limited and cumbersome.
  • Ideal tool for visualization of both data and models
  • Less good as standalone analytics tool; does not have powerful functionality that data scientists will need for model development
Read Taras Gorishnyy's full review
Cordell Yin profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is an excellent data visualization and data analytics tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Handles large data sets very well (ie. thousands to millions of rows of data)
  • Gives users flexibility on creating the types of visualizations they can create based on what questions they ask.
  • Can easily integrate with data sources, for example, connecting directly to databases.
  • Makes it easy for a user to spot trends or outlying data and identify it.
  • Empowers user with the ability see the data in a different way and make decisions.
  • Out-of-the-box, Spotfire does not do actual data analysis well, meaning it is really not meant to be used for complex calculations of data.
  • Requires a 3-tiered architecture (Oracle Database, Application Server, and thick client) for setting up.
  • It does not have a strong curve-fitting engine.
I've been around and used this application for many years. It is a great tool for data visualization, data dashboarding, tracking information, etc. It is just a very flexible data analytics tool.

One thing that has remained constant is that you need to realize it's a very expensive tool as well. Many small companies are shut out without budget. They also used to require a 3 year commitment up front, and it would of course be licensed per user, plus annual license and support for the server, database etc... not sure if this is still the case. I am fortunate not to have to worry about that.
Currently our company is using version 6.5 but will be upgrading in the near future. Tibco continues to improve on features.
Read Cordell Yin's full review
Paul Marusak profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Oil and Gas Engineer Using Data to Answer Tough Questions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We acquired a small number of licenses across our company within the past year. We have trained those employees on the software, and the software is being used on an individual basis for data analytics and visualization. We have also partnered with Blue River Analytics, an oil and gas consulting firm. They are assisting us in implementing business intelligence solutions to help us communicate internal and external data within the company. Internal data includes production volumes, expenses, revenues, and capital expenditures. External data is largely based around IHS data.
  • A new user can pick up this software, and quickly link it to an Excel workbook. From that point the software is very intuitive, and visualizations are quickly generated.
  • The software can easily be taken to the next level, and allow users to create dashboards for business intelligence.
  • Ultimately the software can address complex problems through the use of R scripting.
  • Adding infographic functionality to allow users to create aesthetically pleasing visuals.
  • Allow users to use multiple windows from the same visualization so that two computer screens can be used.
It is best for users that are seeking a quick visualization tool that doesn't require a lot of training. This tool is not appropriate for organizing data, but great for understanding it. It is just as integral to my workflows as excel.
Read Paul Marusak's full review
Olga Polyakov profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in a K4 - 12, bilingual, international school in Colombia"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TiBCO Spotfire Platform is being used by Colegio Nueva Granada to provide access to data from a variety of sources to teachers, administrators and other school staff. A variety of dashboards are available to teachers to monitor student performance in the classroom and on standardized tests. Dashboards for tracking trends in school metrics are available to administrators to track trends and monitor progress towards school improvement objectives.

The problem that Spotfire solves is decreasing the burden in gathering actionable data so educational staff are able to make data-informed decisions about their teaching strategies in the classroom. Furthermore, accreditation standards are very data focused, and Spotfire helps us achieve those standardized at higher levels.
  • Merge data from a variety sources into a single data table
  • Easy user interface for the author and the end-users
  • Customer technical support
  • Innovation with new releases
  • Filter elements added into text boxes do not have the name of the filter above them as they do in the filter menu.
  • Calculated columns in the receiving table are not available as columns on which one can match during a merging process unless they were calculated using a data table transformation.
  • The legend icon for graphics is hidden until you scroll over it. Inexperienced users don't know it is there.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for interactive use. It is not well suited for report generation. When we provide graphics for printed reports, we can not export them from Spotfire. We have to export the base data table into Excel and recreate the graphic. This is understandable, since the two goals are very distinct, and I'm not sure it would be possible to meet both needs at the same time.
Read Olga Polyakov's full review
Stephen Willliams profile photo
January 16, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Struggling first time Spotfire user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by multiple departments, primarily to display reports about production and drilling data. Many of the reports and charts are it provides are visible on the company's intranet.
  • Handles working with large amounts of data. I access a relative small database with about 5000 records. I have to chart multiple features of the data and use Spotfire together with Access to accomplish this.
  • Filter and groups data. Grouping and filtering data in charts on the fly helps make sense of data.
  • Easy to update data.
  • I have yet to get into using vba and programming with Spotfire. My company is a version or two behind the latest version of Spotfire and I find the training material on line for Spotfire is focused on the current version of Spotfire, so getting the examples of work with our version has been challenging.
[TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for] Live reporting of data, if one has a few specialist programmers who are good with working with large data, for analysing large datasets.
Read Stephen Willliams's full review
Gustavo Arreola profile photo
January 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a great BI tool and the company is very happy with the results given by this tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization. [It is] addressing inventory, delivery material, customer satisfaction, invoicing, and AP/AR issues. We are using it in all these areas and we are working on more dashboards for more areas.

As an international company for the moment we started with US and we are working on Mexico and Central America.

  • Give us a fancy way to present information
  • Give us a quick way to detect issues
  • Give us the possibility to drill down inside the information as needed
  • In the inventory side to detect materials with inventory days more that expected according the type of each material
  • In the billing side, give us the visibility to know the amount to be finalized and detect the areas with more opportunities
  • In the financial side, is important to know how the company (and each department) is doing against the budget and YAGO

Is well suited to analyze information and drill down the information as needed, to detect areas with issues or gains. It is user-friendly, users prefer to use this tool once they can be more productive.

Is less appropriate in the case when presented in different devices automatically (we need work on the development side).

Read Gustavo Arreola's full review
Elias Chaves profile photo
December 28, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is worth it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used company-wide within the technical department for troubleshooting analysis/process condition management.

TIBCO Spotfire has been wonderful to visualize data quickly and differently and is now essential to help troubleshoot any current issues and to prevent reoccurring issues.

  • Quick to use/high visibility.
  • Easy to filter out any unnecessary data.
  • Easy to present data to other groups such as maintenance to resolve issues.
  • Graphs are superb!
  • If possible use some of Excel's formulas in the cells.
  • The ability to monitor input data and if data is added, Spotfire would recognize it and alert that data is now modified.
TIBCO Spotfire is very well suited for process engineers in the chemical industry.
Read Elias Chaves's full review
Deenadhayalan Jayaraman profile photo
December 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Self review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Security : Here we can design the row level security based on the user who logs into the system. even row level security can be build for huge data set(millions of records), By keeping actual data-table in cache we can bring live data for security table and applying restriction on already cached data(no waiting time)
  • Using HTML & J-Script
  • Using of Python script: All the property can be controlled thru Python scripting. with single click event we can in-work python scripts which execute dynamically.
  • Doesn't support cube/Hyperion data source directly.
  • In-DB connection are not flexible, wont support embedding or adding calculated columns.
TIBCO Spotfire is overall stable and provides reliable visualization. More can be explored using R predictive language.
Read Deenadhayalan Jayaraman's full review
Mithun Mathews profile photo
December 15, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Day in Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • R engine for Predictive modeling is Fantastic.
  • Ability to use HTML and Java Script to make dashboard like a true webpage.
  • Ability to use Java scrip to build custom visualization like Speedometer.
  • Over functions to Slice and Dice Data are very Efficient, Calculations columns are easy to understand and use.
  • Ability to have Text area, [for example] floating text area within visualizations.
  • A GUI for creating joins between tables would be good add on.
  • Ability to change joins on the fly.
Engineering applications are better reported using Spotfire, specially things like Production Forecast, Decline curve Fits and refitting it to measure against actual production. [It gives the] Ability to write back data to database using 3rd party add ons, or simple r script / iron python.
Read Mithun Mathews's full review
No photo available
May 19, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Data Analysis for Data Users"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire as an internal tool (within our business group) for analysis and integration of large energy industry data sets. As we add new types of data to these data sets, we can easily create new data visualizations in Spotfire.

We also use Spotfire to deliver self-service data visualization to our clients.
  • Spotfire is very good at combining data from multiple sources, such as from database queries, files, and web-based data sources. We make use of data from all of these sources, and this is a key feature.
  • Spotfire provides a good expression language for performing calculations using the data that has been loaded into a Spotfire document. The expression language makes it easy to write calculations that can be reused. Additionally, expressions can be stored in document properties, providing a centralized set of calculations for easy (and error free) reuse throughout a Spotfire document.
  • The IronPython scripting language makes it possible to create fully-automated work flows, automate the creation of standard visualizations, and provide user-specific Spotfire documents.
  • Although the IronPython scripting language is very useful, you need to understand the Spotfire API to make full use of the scripting language. The API documentation could be improved to be more readable and understandable.
  • The scatter plots need to be able to support multiple data sets on both the X and Y axes, and the axes labels should have more options, such as which side of the plot the labels appear on.
Spotfire is very useful in basic exploration of a data set - grouping and organizing data, quickly spotting trends in data, and then giving basic statistics for a data set. It is much better than Excel for this task, as categories and identifiers do not need to be created manually.

Another use is "what-if" scenarios. It is very easy to create document property controls in Spotfire to vary the inputs to standard calculations and view the results of those change in real-time in multiple visualizations.
The geographic visualizations in Tibco Spotfire simplify the task of blending numerical and location data, and creating map based displays of statistics. A very useful feature is the ability to have multiple layers tied to different data tables - I've used these to create theme-based maps. The geographic visualizations can also be fully scripted to create analytical work flows, and direct the user experience. Being able to add WMS layers is also a plus. Finally, any image can be used as a map, to create specialized interactive plots and diagrams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used as an Enterprise level Business Intelligence Platform.Our data is being fed from various different ERP's and a ETL team is transforming the data in a way it can be consumed by spotfire.
During the design phase the spotfire and ETL teams come together and create a model where certain things will be handle in spotfire and most of them in the warehouse.
Spotfire is a very robust tool, pulling lots of data with less columns ,makes no harm and gives ideal results.
  • Spotfire has a great Geo Analytics platform where Geo-coding is automatically performed from version 6.0 and complex geoanalytics problems can be solved in combination with the Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) engine, if the company has R language expertise
  • Spotfire has some cool inbuilt functions available through which we do not have to do manual calculations like Total,%Cumulative Sum,YOY,MOM QOQ kind of stuff, and lots other functions which make life simpler
  • Iron python scripting is an advantage but, of course, tricky initially if you do not have experience, but it can simplify users' lives if used properly
  • Scheduled updates and caching. If we are trying to get the dashboards up in a flash , this feature is useful
  • One more important thing in the latest version, is the business author piece on the web player where business users can develop their own stuff on Web, this is a good start and hope to see this developed further
  • Spotfire is coming up with new Mobile Metrics platform, i.e. it is responsive on mobile devices
  • Also there is a new KPI chart which can be very useful for Executive reporting.
  • Customizability on the Analyst end: Spotfire is a good tool, but there are a few points where it should improve. I cannot hide an object like a tab or visualization r
  • Data Load speed at the analyst level, I somehow feel when i try to load data in the analyst level it loads slow and while using at webplayer because of the schedule updates it runs fast. I know there is the caching concept, but it is unlike QlikView whichgives a great performance with the desktop version as well. I would expect the same to happen here

Suitable Key questions to buy/use TIBCO Spotfire:


Do you have an enterprise data warehouse ready and are looking for a BI tool which can get you results fast with less development?


Do you have a group of analyst who are good at Excel type reporting and can learn a new tool and do better reporting?


Do you have a group of data analysts who want to study data to identify patterns in it?

Are you looking for a tool/technology company which takes customer feedback and incorporates them into the tool quickly?

Are you looking for a tool whose tech forum is increasing?

Apart from the above questions, if your team has basic programming skills , they can utilize the power of Java Script/Iron Python and R language to make wonders in spotfire.

Ideally any scenario is possible in Spotfire, but do not consider this as data Transformation tool, basic transformations are possible ,but typically its a reporting tool which can tell the story of your data effectively.

My purpose to use the software is short development cycles sometimes overnight if data is there.

Spotfires Map Chart has inbuilt geo coding.As long as you Country,state & city within your data, integration map chart to the fines details is pretty easy.
It offers different types of Charts, and also offers different layers to be overlaid on the map.We can overlay a Feature or marker layer.
For example
1.you want to show how the sales are in the US by state, you can overlay the Feature layer on the base Map.
2.Now you want to see all the costcenter offices in each state by lat long positions, you can see them in the Marker Layer, as each markers.
There is a lot of scope of taking these maps to the next level by using R functions too...

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Industry!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the organisation in a number of departments. It is used on a variety of platforms including self-service and managed IT platforms. It is used largely as a reporting tool. It is used to create dashboards, applications and it is used for forecasting.
  • It is very easy to use.
  • It is interactive.
  • It is a robust tool.
  • It manages large amounts of data well.
  • In the creation of information links - this needs to be made more robust to allow for more complex SQL queries.
  • In Data Preparation - Ability to stage data.
  • How Document Properties are organised can be improved.
Spotfire is well suited for rapid development. It is fantastic as a managed platform. It has a great interface for managing users and permissions. It does version control brilliantly. You can also track or log users' usage. It is a self-contained tool. On the flip side, Spotfire is expensive and takes a while to set up. Upgrading requires system downtime. Spotfire does not have a robust user-driven community.
I use the mapping visualizations a lot as client like to see the geographical spread of their business. I have also used it to show seating plans. It's a very flexible visualization. It also can be connected to Esri shape files to produce custom shapes on a the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: Easy to Dive in, A Little Harder to Master"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire across our entire organization, but the primary purpose is for trouble shooting the process. Our engineering groups have linked Spotfire to the myriad of data sources used throughout our company to get a comprehensive view of the process and the various impacts different events have on the process. We have used Spotfire to clearly and definitively show performance differences between units that are creating the same product. Migrating Pareto charts for yield impacts from Excel to Spotfire was very easy, and now our Pareto charts are interacting through Spotfire.
  • Creating aesthetically pleasing visualizations is immensely easier than Excel. Also, the Spotfire interface is similar enough to Excel that our engineers did not have any trouble learning the new software.
  • Slicing the data to perform different aggregations is one of the most elegant aspects of Spotfire. The GUI that drives the underlying SQL server is designed and implemented very well. It appears like a normal "What You See Is What You Get", but all of the commands performed using the mouse can be found as properties within the analysis file, allowing easy modifications of the default properties.
  • Spotfire is very fast. It utilizes multi-threading to perform calculations on and rendering of hundreds of thousands of records in seconds and never interrupts the GUI, allowing the user to merrily continue working on the analysis.
  • Several of the visualizations are visually similar to what a user would be familiar with if they have used Microsoft Office charts. However, the Spotfire versions do not allow for the customization of some of the basic appearance properties. For example, there is a visualization that looks like a table, but you are not able to change the text alignment within the cells (I believe the latest version of Spotfire has added this feature).
Once you understand the data format that is most desirable for Spotfire visualizations, there isn't much that it is not able to do. Even if the data is not in a good format, there are built-in functions and tools to massage the data into the correct format. Spotfire is best suited for very quick aggregations of data. For example, if you want to see the sales numbers by year, quarter, month, et cetera, it's as simple as changing a couple of parameters in the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 19, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Amazing tool for analyzing data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by the exploration team at our small exploration and production company. It simplifies our data analysis and creates more in-depth opportunities for data that previously seemed useless. We can easily keep track of large amounts of data and visually display results in a useful way. The mapping component is a huge help in focusing our exploration efforts where we have the best understanding of the geology.
  • Easily plot data and edit graphs - much more capable than Excel.
  • Mapping is a key feature.
  • The support is outstanding, great customer service.
  • The software is not intuitive. Finding menus can be a challenge.
  • Help options are limited.
We do a lot of simple cross plots. These are a pain and time-consuming in Excel. In Spotfire, you can look at every aspect of data in a quick and easy way. Changing the size, color, and shape of points is easy and filtering through data is very simple. One click and you have a new cross plot, there is no highlighting necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire a great data discovery starting place"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire across the organization to visualize diverse oil and gas datasets together to enable performance-based analytics across multiple functions (drilling and completions, base business/operations, finance, asset development, and procurement/supply chain management).
  • Quickly visualizing large data sets
  • Excellent data discovery platform
  • Quick drill down capabilites
  • Python knowledge required even for basic functional utilization
  • Very well suited for visualizing coherent data sets.
  • Excel provides easier implementation of calculations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 07, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in the Spotlight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are a few groups that use Spotfire throughout our company. My particular group - Supply Chain - uses it for things like spend, contracting, and well count data. It helps us to look at a variety of different data points quickly, and to narrow down into specific categories and groupings much more easily than if we pulled the information from the raw data source.
  • Visualizations: clear, user-friendly, multiple options.
  • Web player: great to share information across company, especially with those that don't use the desktop version.
  • Layout: lots of options, you can personalize the page to look however you need it to.
  • Bookmarks: it can be difficult to use bookmarks, and sometimes hard to keep track of which ones I have worked and which I haven't (even though it gives me a time update).
  • Formatting between a desktop screen and a laptop screen: the view always is more condensed on our laptops, and I'm not really sure why - it would be great if it looked the same!
  • Well suited when there is a lot of data or you want to show a variety of visualizations.
  • Not well suited with a little bit of data or if you don't have time to set up the visualizations how you want them to look. Sometimes if you have a lot of different data sources, it can also be confusing. Be sure that calculated columns are how you want them to be!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "My thoughts on Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

[It's used] across the whole organization. During the downturn people across the company have started using Spotfire with Terradata as a go-to tool to mine data from our existing systems. With Spotfire we can quickly connect to multiple tables and quickly analyze the data. In addition, Spotfire is more stable than Excel.

We have looked at Tableau and Microsoft BI as well. The visualizations are a little snazzier, but in my opinion Spotfire has more usability and it has more options for data crunching.

  • Ease of use and you can change filters on the fly. I've created visualizations in a few seconds during presentations based on feedback from the audience
  • It's more stable and doesn't crash my computer like Excel does.
  • Add more visual themes
  • Make the visualizations look more refined
Combining large data sets
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use. I can quickly build a prototype to show business users what their data will look like.
  • General training. When I was new to Spotfire I took a few of their training classes. They were very good and covered a lot of information.
  • Flexibility in reporting. The ability to filter and mark your data allows any user the ability to start at a high level and quickly and easily drill down to a small data set.
  • HTML content. I would like to be able to easily insert visualizations into a text area.
  • Filtering dialog content across multiple tables. This is always hard to set up across multiple tabs and tables.
  • Report templates. You can start from another report or apply styles now but there is no way to start a new report with a group of setting already applied.
  • Visualization. Spotfire is behind some of the other vendors in the number of charts available to use in a report. There are no gages or area charts.
Spotfire does a good job at providing a method of creating a guided analysis that takes a user through multiple steps of an analysis. It is also good at rapid development of quick reports.

The tool was designed for interactive access and does not have the ability to burst custom reports out to a large number of users.
After becoming familiar with the different settings I found the mapping visualization very easy to use. The layers make it easy to show different information in a single map. This has allowed us to create a number of different views with it including origin and destination maps with a line between the two and an arrow indicating the direction. Our users love these visualizations and the impact they have on a report. They also like the new feature that allows them to mark an area using the radius of a point on the map.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions