TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfireSpotfire is being used as an Enterprise level Business Intelligence Platform.Our data is being fed from various different ERP's and a ETL team is transforming the data in a way it can be consumed by spotfire. During the design phase the spotfire and ETL teams come together and create a model where certain things will be handle in spotfire and most of them in the warehouse. Spotfire is a very robust tool, pulling lots of data with less columns ,makes no harm and gives ideal results.,Spotfire has a great Geo Analytics platform where Geo-coding is automatically performed from version 6.0 and complex geoanalytics problems can be solved in combination with the Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) engine, if the company has R language expertise Spotfire has some cool inbuilt functions available through which we do not have to do manual calculations like Total,%Cumulative Sum,YOY,MOM QOQ kind of stuff, and lots other functions which make life simpler Iron python scripting is an advantage but, of course, tricky initially if you do not have experience, but it can simplify users' lives if used properly Scheduled updates and caching. If we are trying to get the dashboards up in a flash , this feature is useful One more important thing in the latest version, is the business author piece on the web player where business users can develop their own stuff on Web, this is a good start and hope to see this developed further Spotfire is coming up with new Mobile Metrics platform, i.e. it is responsive on mobile devices Also there is a new KPI chart which can be very useful for Executive reporting.,Customizability on the Analyst end: Spotfire is a good tool, but there are a few points where it should improve. I cannot hide an object like a tab or visualization r Data Load speed at the analyst level, I somehow feel when i try to load data in the analyst level it loads slow and while using at webplayer because of the schedule updates it runs fast. I know there is the caching concept, but it is unlike QlikView whichgives a great performance with the desktop version as well. I would expect the same to happen here,9,,8,We have more than 800 users and user types mainly include Analysts who develop the dashboards, CIO Office, Metric Managers, and field executives.,9,8,8,Self-taught,yes it was easy to learn, but the advantage of working with a different BI tool, you can get hold of this too fast, over a period of time there were hurdles but we used to have intermediate sessions from the company on the new features and releases, there is also a lot of webinar series organized by the company, joining them once a month solves many technical problems.Ofcourse there is the TIBCO forum, where most of your encountered problems are already discussed. If its a new problem we need to get creative and read the documentation which is good.,2000,20,Track weekly progress Actionable insights from the data Predict the future outcomes,8,8,8,8Tibco Spotfire ReviewWe use TIBCO Spotfire to create dashboards and visualize the available data. Before TIBCO Spotfire we used Cognos.The company recently started using TIBCO Spotfire. After a review of our project they will decide to go further with the software and possibly create more dashboards with the application.,Nice colors Customize a table with scripting Multiple tabs,The HTML isn't working that well More information about scripting would be nice Exporting a visualization to Excel with color coding would be nice. The colors in your table visualization are lost after an export to Excel,7,,IBM Cognos, Oracle BI Foundation Suite,Online training,8,8Spotfire in Industry!TIBCO Spotfire is used across the organisation in a number of departments. It is used on a variety of platforms including self-service and managed IT platforms. It is used largely as a reporting tool. It is used to create dashboards, applications and it is used for forecasting.,It is very easy to use. It is interactive. It is a robust tool. It manages large amounts of data well.,In the creation of information links - this needs to be made more robust to allow for more complex SQL queries. In Data Preparation - Ability to stage data. How Document Properties are organised can be improved.,7,PowerBI, Tableau, SSRS and Lavastorm Analytics Engine,Microsoft Power BI, Lavastorm Analytics Engine,Online training Self-taught,6,Yes, it was easy to learn and I will recommend this approach. Get training - it's a bonus.,10Amazing tool for analyzing dataSpotfire is used by the exploration team at our small exploration and production company. It simplifies our data analysis and creates more in-depth opportunities for data that previously seemed useless. We can easily keep track of large amounts of data and visually display results in a useful way. The mapping component is a huge help in focusing our exploration efforts where we have the best understanding of the geology.,Easily plot data and edit graphs - much more capable than Excel. Mapping is a key feature. The support is outstanding, great customer service.,The software is not intuitive. Finding menus can be a challenge. Help options are limited.,10,Excel,Self-taught,I would not recommend trying to figure this out without support.TIBCO Spotfire a great data discovery starting placeWe are using Spotfire across the organization to visualize diverse oil and gas datasets together to enable performance-based analytics across multiple functions (drilling and completions, base business/operations, finance, asset development, and procurement/supply chain management).,Quickly visualizing large data sets Excellent data discovery platform Quick drill down capabilites,Python knowledge required even for basic functional utilization,8,,Online training In-person training Self-taught,6,6,Yes
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 538 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (151-175 of 237)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
April 12, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used as an Enterprise level Business Intelligence Platform.Our data is being fed from various different ERP's and a ETL team is transforming the data in a way it can be consumed by spotfire.
During the design phase the spotfire and ETL teams come together and create a model where certain things will be handle in spotfire and most of them in the warehouse.
Spotfire is a very robust tool, pulling lots of data with less columns ,makes no harm and gives ideal results.
  • Spotfire has a great Geo Analytics platform where Geo-coding is automatically performed from version 6.0 and complex geoanalytics problems can be solved in combination with the Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) engine, if the company has R language expertise
  • Spotfire has some cool inbuilt functions available through which we do not have to do manual calculations like Total,%Cumulative Sum,YOY,MOM QOQ kind of stuff, and lots other functions which make life simpler
  • Iron python scripting is an advantage but, of course, tricky initially if you do not have experience, but it can simplify users' lives if used properly
  • Scheduled updates and caching. If we are trying to get the dashboards up in a flash , this feature is useful
  • One more important thing in the latest version, is the business author piece on the web player where business users can develop their own stuff on Web, this is a good start and hope to see this developed further
  • Spotfire is coming up with new Mobile Metrics platform, i.e. it is responsive on mobile devices
  • Also there is a new KPI chart which can be very useful for Executive reporting.
  • Customizability on the Analyst end: Spotfire is a good tool, but there are a few points where it should improve. I cannot hide an object like a tab or visualization r
  • Data Load speed at the analyst level, I somehow feel when i try to load data in the analyst level it loads slow and while using at webplayer because of the schedule updates it runs fast. I know there is the caching concept, but it is unlike QlikView whichgives a great performance with the desktop version as well. I would expect the same to happen here

Suitable Key questions to buy/use TIBCO Spotfire:


Do you have an enterprise data warehouse ready and are looking for a BI tool which can get you results fast with less development?


Do you have a group of analyst who are good at Excel type reporting and can learn a new tool and do better reporting?


Do you have a group of data analysts who want to study data to identify patterns in it?

Are you looking for a tool/technology company which takes customer feedback and incorporates them into the tool quickly?

Are you looking for a tool whose tech forum is increasing?

Apart from the above questions, if your team has basic programming skills , they can utilize the power of Java Script/Iron Python and R language to make wonders in spotfire.

Ideally any scenario is possible in Spotfire, but do not consider this as data Transformation tool, basic transformations are possible ,but typically its a reporting tool which can tell the story of your data effectively.

My purpose to use the software is short development cycles sometimes overnight if data is there.

Spotfires Map Chart has inbuilt geo coding.As long as you Country,state & city within your data, integration map chart to the fines details is pretty easy.
It offers different types of Charts, and also offers different layers to be overlaid on the map.We can overlay a Feature or marker layer.
For example
1.you want to show how the sales are in the US by state, you can overlay the Feature layer on the base Map.
2.Now you want to see all the costcenter offices in each state by lat long positions, you can see them in the Marker Layer, as each markers.
There is a lot of scope of taking these maps to the next level by using R functions too...

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2017

"Tibco Spotfire Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire to create dashboards and visualize the available data. Before TIBCO Spotfire we used Cognos.The company recently started using TIBCO Spotfire. After a review of our project they will decide to go further with the software and possibly create more dashboards with the application.
  • Nice colors
  • Customize a table with scripting
  • Multiple tabs
  • The HTML isn't working that well
  • More information about scripting would be nice
  • Exporting a visualization to Excel with color coding would be nice. The colors in your table visualization are lost after an export to Excel
It is good to give a quick view of data. There does not need to be much handled to get a nice result. There are still a few things to improve. But the tool is easy to work with. After a few introduction videos are you able to start with the application.
The upgrade Spotfire made last time are very useful! The 7.8 upgrade has a lot of changes. Still there are a few things to improve like the use of Javascript. Further, I like the tool, it's very easy to learn and not that difficult to use. It's a good tool for new people or people who are new to BI.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Industry!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the organisation in a number of departments. It is used on a variety of platforms including self-service and managed IT platforms. It is used largely as a reporting tool. It is used to create dashboards, applications and it is used for forecasting.
  • It is very easy to use.
  • It is interactive.
  • It is a robust tool.
  • It manages large amounts of data well.
  • In the creation of information links - this needs to be made more robust to allow for more complex SQL queries.
  • In Data Preparation - Ability to stage data.
  • How Document Properties are organised can be improved.
Spotfire is well suited for rapid development. It is fantastic as a managed platform. It has a great interface for managing users and permissions. It does version control brilliantly. You can also track or log users' usage. It is a self-contained tool. On the flip side, Spotfire is expensive and takes a while to set up. Upgrading requires system downtime. Spotfire does not have a robust user-driven community.
I use the mapping visualizations a lot as client like to see the geographical spread of their business. I have also used it to show seating plans. It's a very flexible visualization. It also can be connected to Esri shape files to produce custom shapes on a the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 19, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Amazing tool for analyzing data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by the exploration team at our small exploration and production company. It simplifies our data analysis and creates more in-depth opportunities for data that previously seemed useless. We can easily keep track of large amounts of data and visually display results in a useful way. The mapping component is a huge help in focusing our exploration efforts where we have the best understanding of the geology.
  • Easily plot data and edit graphs - much more capable than Excel.
  • Mapping is a key feature.
  • The support is outstanding, great customer service.
  • The software is not intuitive. Finding menus can be a challenge.
  • Help options are limited.
We do a lot of simple cross plots. These are a pain and time-consuming in Excel. In Spotfire, you can look at every aspect of data in a quick and easy way. Changing the size, color, and shape of points is easy and filtering through data is very simple. One click and you have a new cross plot, there is no highlighting necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire a great data discovery starting place"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire across the organization to visualize diverse oil and gas datasets together to enable performance-based analytics across multiple functions (drilling and completions, base business/operations, finance, asset development, and procurement/supply chain management).
  • Quickly visualizing large data sets
  • Excellent data discovery platform
  • Quick drill down capabilites
  • Python knowledge required even for basic functional utilization
  • Very well suited for visualizing coherent data sets.
  • Excel provides easier implementation of calculations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 07, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in the Spotlight"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are a few groups that use Spotfire throughout our company. My particular group - Supply Chain - uses it for things like spend, contracting, and well count data. It helps us to look at a variety of different data points quickly, and to narrow down into specific categories and groupings much more easily than if we pulled the information from the raw data source.
  • Visualizations: clear, user-friendly, multiple options.
  • Web player: great to share information across company, especially with those that don't use the desktop version.
  • Layout: lots of options, you can personalize the page to look however you need it to.
  • Bookmarks: it can be difficult to use bookmarks, and sometimes hard to keep track of which ones I have worked and which I haven't (even though it gives me a time update).
  • Formatting between a desktop screen and a laptop screen: the view always is more condensed on our laptops, and I'm not really sure why - it would be great if it looked the same!
  • Well suited when there is a lot of data or you want to show a variety of visualizations.
  • Not well suited with a little bit of data or if you don't have time to set up the visualizations how you want them to look. Sometimes if you have a lot of different data sources, it can also be confusing. Be sure that calculated columns are how you want them to be!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "My thoughts on Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

[It's used] across the whole organization. During the downturn people across the company have started using Spotfire with Terradata as a go-to tool to mine data from our existing systems. With Spotfire we can quickly connect to multiple tables and quickly analyze the data. In addition, Spotfire is more stable than Excel.

We have looked at Tableau and Microsoft BI as well. The visualizations are a little snazzier, but in my opinion Spotfire has more usability and it has more options for data crunching.

  • Ease of use and you can change filters on the fly. I've created visualizations in a few seconds during presentations based on feedback from the audience
  • It's more stable and doesn't crash my computer like Excel does.
  • Add more visual themes
  • Make the visualizations look more refined
Combining large data sets
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use. I can quickly build a prototype to show business users what their data will look like.
  • General training. When I was new to Spotfire I took a few of their training classes. They were very good and covered a lot of information.
  • Flexibility in reporting. The ability to filter and mark your data allows any user the ability to start at a high level and quickly and easily drill down to a small data set.
  • HTML content. I would like to be able to easily insert visualizations into a text area.
  • Filtering dialog content across multiple tables. This is always hard to set up across multiple tabs and tables.
  • Report templates. You can start from another report or apply styles now but there is no way to start a new report with a group of setting already applied.
  • Visualization. Spotfire is behind some of the other vendors in the number of charts available to use in a report. There are no gages or area charts.
Spotfire does a good job at providing a method of creating a guided analysis that takes a user through multiple steps of an analysis. It is also good at rapid development of quick reports.

The tool was designed for interactive access and does not have the ability to burst custom reports out to a large number of users.
After becoming familiar with the different settings I found the mapping visualization very easy to use. The layers make it easy to show different information in a single map. This has allowed us to create a number of different views with it including origin and destination maps with a line between the two and an arrow indicating the direction. Our users love these visualizations and the impact they have on a report. They also like the new feature that allows them to mark an area using the radius of a point on the map.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A great software for data visualization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Spotfire to visualize data and to make figures for manuscript publication.
  • It's flexible for visualizing the data and saves you a lot of time.
  • Allows you to make complex plots that would be difficult to make using other tools.
  • Making moving average plots is too difficult, and I have not found any helpful information through the "help" option in TIBCO Spotfire.
  • There are no 'basic' tutorials for the main functions, or at least I have not found them.
  • When I export a figure, the resolution is not good, regardless of the format used. This has created some problems when generating high-resolution figures for publication.
It gives you a lot of flexibility for data visualization, and it is intuitive most of the time. This flexibility in visualization helps you to better understand the data and make conclusions, so it's very well suited for understanding results of experiments, for example. As I mentioned before, it's also very good for data publication, as plots are beautiful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Best data discovery/analytics software on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being implemented in a very broad range of uses...engineering, finance, forecasting, and dashboards. It's being used across our organization and has made a great impact on our efficiency especially in data discovery! I highly recommend Spotfire for almost all use cases.
  • Data Discovery
  • Big data analytics
  • Forecasting
  • Statistics
  • Real-time modeling
  • Some changes in formatting
Anything to do with big data or data discovery.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Business analytics made simple!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was deployed a year ago in my organisation as the one single tool to replace various web applications, tools, software and other stuff for data analytics and advanced visualization. We started with one part of our value chain and it is now being deployed across the entire value chain namely sales, service, engineering and also the support functions.
  • Advanced visualization.
  • It can connect to all a variety of data sources and also integrate with other software like R, Python, Matlab etc., to enhance the usability.
  • Easy to publish for any user to view through a web player without any need to install software.
  • Some features or visualization demand that the data be embedded and it cannot work for external data.
  • Axis scale adjustments for multiple scales are not that great.
  • Exported visualizations to PDF or others don't look that good.
Spotfire is really well suited for handling any large amount of data or "big data" and it allows high customization with so many data connecting options or inbuilt data analysis and calculation. It may not be appropriate if you're looking for just a simple visualization tool given the cost of licensing!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 14, 2017

"New User of TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by our operations department. We are challenged to automate as many manual reports as possible with the tool.
  • Automated reports/dashboards with the ability to save to a PowerPoint.
  • Customizable visualizations.
  • Allows senior leadership to modify reports as they desire.
  • We are still learning more about this product and haven't seen many cons. More information on Information Links may be needed.
[It's well suited for] dashboard creation giving users the ability to modify the report on the fly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the leader in visualization game unless you have a Web Development Team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used instead of Excel by most users but then a few develop it into almost an application. It is used widely in the org.
  • Data integration with teh vast number of data sources.
  • Fast data rendering - no delay in data loading.
  • API for customization.
  • API is not well documented.
  • Licensing fees too high.
  • Client is heavy on the desktop hardware.
It is better than Tableau because of the API and the array of visuals it can support. Also the capability of using JavaScript is a plus. These capabilities allow companies to provide SAAS based on Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a very powerful and useful tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[it's] used for analysis of oil and gas properties and wells. It manages very large datasets (hundreds of thousands of wells.)

  • Used to visualize information in a specific manner.
  • Used to help make business decisions on the fly by showing dynamic information.
  • Managing massive datasets
  • Dynamically allowing analysis of information
  • Visualizing data
  • Pane sizing can be difficult
  • Formatting of fonts/info/data types is limited
  • Well suited for managing very large datasets.
  • Not as useful for purpose charting, whereby data is kept in a simple format.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Newbie"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] production data analysis as well as market intelligence.
  • Dashboards
  • Data Visualizations
  • Mapping
  • More user workshops, webinars and complimentary classes. Specifically on data visualization and tips and tricks.
Best used when large amounts of data wrangling is necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Unique tool for rapid visualization in high dimensions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm the sole user of Spotfire at the desktop for general data visualization and exploration. The vast majority of business problems I investigate are related to finance and banking.
  • Rapid visualization of data: Very little setup from data to visualization (even compared with Excel).
  • Extremely flexible visualization capabilities: Drag and drop features alone easily provide for visualization beyond 3-dimensions. Together with custom functions, Spotfire offers rapid high dimensional visualization capabilities.
  • Steep learning curve for the extremely rich drag-and-drop features that are not always obvious.
  • Steep learning curve for custom function capabilities that are not intuitive at all. TIBCO trainings are almost a must in order to take full advantage of these capabilities.
Rapid data visualization--especially at high dimensions--it's a unique strength of Spotfire. Anything well-defined and computationally involved can probably be better handled elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
Martin Thorsen profile photo
January 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - a solid BI application"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several different reports are generated for both internal and external use. Primarily we provide our customers with analytics based on the data which has been collected by the customers using our software platform. Internally we also have executive and trend reports which can tell us about the number of users on our platform, the usage of the platform, and trends.
  • When designing reports it is easy to change between the different the visual diagrams.
  • The formatting capabilities are extremely detailed, which makes the visual appearances the best in the business.
  • The export to PowerPoint feature works, but doesn't have the same visual appearance as the visuals in the report. Would be great if you could hand-pick or mark which visuals to include in the PowerPoint before actually exporting. This would keep the consistency of the PowerPoint reporting.
  • One feature which I have been missing is the ability to only show part of some data in a visualization, without using the zoom feature. Using the zoom shows the zoomslider, and limiting data or filtering data away changes the statistics which I would like to keep. So what I am looking for is something that doesn't have the zoom slider displayed, but works in the same way. This will for example make it possible to show 2015 and 2016, but not 2014 and 2017. If you could also enter a offset you could make it only look at two and one year back in time relative to the current year, without hardcoding which years to not show.
Spotfire is well suited for querying on very defined and "small" datasets. When querying from many data sources and when doing many computations in Spotfire, you lose valuable time when waiting for the report to finish. Therefore, ideally run Spotfire on a Data Warehouse or a cube where the majority of data is ready for reporting or where the majority of data is pre-computed.
Read Martin Thorsen's full review
Alex Naumov profile photo
December 17, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Robust visualization and analytics available for a small budget"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spotfire provides advanced visualization that can be further customized with custom expressions, which is a very powerful and versatile functionality. Coupled with property controls that allow users make various selections and changes to variables, this functionality allows creating pretty robust 'what if' scenarios. Such has multiple applications ranging from price analysis and price development to budgeting to cash flow to engineering.
  • Spotfire is very good at data transformations and enrichment. This allows aligning multiple otherwise disparate data sources and analyzing data from those data sources side by side and on the same view. That in turn provides deeper insight into data.
  • Spotfire offers a wide range of formula types including statistical formulas that allow for high degree of customization and flexibility in building visualizations and/or logic. This in turn again allows getting more insight into/from data.
  • Combination chart does not allow stacked bars along with a line. So, if the user does stacked bars i.e., based on one column but broken down with the column's individual values by color, then the line is not possible to do.
  • The statistical table of the box plot visualization, though very useful and customizable, cannot be formatted and the default formats aren't based on the columns' formats either.
  • Data transformations, though extremely useful and critical for data alignment for multiple data sources, cannot be changed once implemented for a data table. If changes are due, the entire data table must be re-done.
  • There are multiple bugs that either unexpectedly shut down a Spotfire session or otherwise interfere. For example, if a data table has data transformations and columns inserted from external tables and if such a data table is embedded then it may become un-refreshable. Sometimes, that can be corrected by selecting "Linked to Source", saving the file and re-opening. But sometimes, it becomes un-refreshable for good, meaning that the data table must be re-done from scratch.
  • If a column that is being used in any expression or as a matched column is deleted, the entire data table becomes embedded and will have to be re-done from scratch.
  • There's limited functionality to personalize visualizations with colors, shapes, fonts, etc.
Great with very large sets of data such as 1 to 10 million rows. Spotfire has very extensive capabilities including formulas, statistics, k means, regression and even custom programming. Visualizations are really easy and versatile too. I much prefer spotfire to Tableau.
Read Alex Naumov's full review
Richard Lake profile photo
December 12, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "I want this thing to hum"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for dashboarding, data visualization and scripting for statistical and predictive modeling. Most of our departments use it from operations, production, safety, to finance and corporate. We find a lot of value in the customization and development options of Spotfire and the TERR engine. The business problems being addressed via Spotfire range from the improvement in speed and accuracy in production forecast models to the variance reconciliation of realized and recognized cost models.
  • Data assimilation and aggregation
  • Data Visualization Style Offerings
  • Continuous version improvements
  • Unreasonably high priced TERR scripts; Need more templates with TERR scripts (forecasting, statistical scipts, etc.) and IronPython styling examples templates that are more reasonablly priced.
  • Would like the ability to map and save colors to particular data values across all visualizations.
  • Would like chronological movie play functionality to view chronological flows on map charts.
  • Would like more customized oilfield chart offerings like for example, 3D surfacing, geological logs, lithological facies clustering charts, tree diagrams, cross sectioning functionality, etc.
Well suited for quick data analysis with precalculated (SQL views) linked data. Spotfire slows down when too many internal calculated columns or scripts are embedded on the user end.
Read Richard Lake's full review
Adam Seibel profile photo
January 20, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - a great data visualization tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across our entire organization. We use the software to join the many databases and other data sources we maintain in easy to use dashboards. The dashboards are customized based on the end user. This methodology ensures that all interested parties have the most up to date and accurate information without the need to open multiple software packages.
  • Spotfire is excellent at taking multiple data sources and combining them into a single space where they can be viewed through various charts, tables, and other visualizations.
  • Filtering allows the user to drill down to exactly the data that needs to be used for a specific analysis.
  • The ability to add calculated columns in Spotfire allows users to combine data sets quickly and easily without having to change the source data.
  • The ability to use complex formatting in certain visualizations is lacking. For example, on a line chart you can choose to make all lines solid, or all lines dashed, but not a combination of the two.
  • Novice users may not realize that certain data is being filtered out of their analysis. A large symbol somewhere on the page indicating that filters are being applied may prevent incorrect analysis.
Spotfire is well suited for combining data in different formats, spreadsheets and databases for example, into a single data set that can then be used for the basis of an analysis. Spotfire isn't well suited for generating high level presentation materials (i.e. board of directors presentations) because of it's lack of complex formatting.
Read Adam Seibel's full review
Jason Alley profile photo
January 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Quick Review of Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly being used by our reservoir engineers and production guys out in the field. But we are doing an in-house training next month that will go out to the organization.

It addresses cost analysis, production surveillance, data management and exploration.
  • As an agnostic platform it gives you the ability to connect to many different data sources so that you can maximize your analysis through hosting all necessary avenues of data in one location.
  • Gives you the ability to drill down to uncover hidden insights within the data.
  • Uses R which gives the user the ability to create models using advanced data functions to tackle complicated business problems.
  • The main thing I hear [about] is the aesthetics on some of the charts because they are used to seeing it a certain way in Excel and having more control.
  • Being able to modify the details that are involved in the source information.
  • Multiple scales on the line chart.
Spotfire works wells with tables that are nicely represented in rows and columns. Especially large amounts of data that may come from many different sources. With the quick work of relational data, one can create a robust table and reduce the manual work hours of retrieving and organizing data by hours. Smaller amounts of data that require a lot of cell to cell calculations that could be easier handled within Excel.
Read Jason Alley's full review
Isak Nuhić profile photo
January 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire For Automotive Manufacturing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire accross the whole organization. We are using it in Operations, Finance, Purchase, Sales, HR and IT - it was extremely useful for visualising machine stoppages, OEE and scrap tracking. We are also making 90% of our monthly report using Spotfire. With Spotfire we found a perfect tool to give managers quick and precise overview of business processes and they can respond quickly to any new developments.
  • Integration of different data sources.
  • Great user experience - easy to implement and use.
  • Interactivity.
  • I would like to have more ability to calculate things (not just trough calculated columns).
  • Ability to somehow implement hard inputs for visualizations.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for well structured data - no matter the format (excel, sql...). If you have a problem where you want more calculation (also if you want user inputs) before visualization, then it cannot be done in Spotfire - you need to do it in SQL or somehow else before transferring to Spotfire.
Read Isak Nuhić's full review
Taras Gorishnyy profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very good visualization tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to rapidly visualize data and build interactive dashboards in connection of other data science tools such as R. It is useful in many use cases in analytics.
  • Visualization is very quick and interactive
  • Connection to modeling tools such as R and SAS is very important. We need functionality to run R code out of Spotfire dashboards and read a wide range of native format files
  • Server client and cloud options are very important for easy sharing of end products
  • I would like better data management capabilities, e.g. ability to do joints, selection, variable transformations in a more streamlined way. Some functionality exists, but it is still somewhat limited and cumbersome.
  • Ideal tool for visualization of both data and models
  • Less good as standalone analytics tool; does not have powerful functionality that data scientists will need for model development
Read Taras Gorishnyy's full review
Cordell Yin profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is an excellent data visualization and data analytics tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Handles large data sets very well (ie. thousands to millions of rows of data)
  • Gives users flexibility on creating the types of visualizations they can create based on what questions they ask.
  • Can easily integrate with data sources, for example, connecting directly to databases.
  • Makes it easy for a user to spot trends or outlying data and identify it.
  • Empowers user with the ability see the data in a different way and make decisions.
  • Out-of-the-box, Spotfire does not do actual data analysis well, meaning it is really not meant to be used for complex calculations of data.
  • Requires a 3-tiered architecture (Oracle Database, Application Server, and thick client) for setting up.
  • It does not have a strong curve-fitting engine.
I've been around and used this application for many years. It is a great tool for data visualization, data dashboarding, tracking information, etc. It is just a very flexible data analytics tool.

One thing that has remained constant is that you need to realize it's a very expensive tool as well. Many small companies are shut out without budget. They also used to require a 3 year commitment up front, and it would of course be licensed per user, plus annual license and support for the server, database etc... not sure if this is still the case. I am fortunate not to have to worry about that.
Currently our company is using version 6.5 but will be upgrading in the near future. Tibco continues to improve on features.
Read Cordell Yin's full review
Paul Marusak profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Oil and Gas Engineer Using Data to Answer Tough Questions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We acquired a small number of licenses across our company within the past year. We have trained those employees on the software, and the software is being used on an individual basis for data analytics and visualization. We have also partnered with Blue River Analytics, an oil and gas consulting firm. They are assisting us in implementing business intelligence solutions to help us communicate internal and external data within the company. Internal data includes production volumes, expenses, revenues, and capital expenditures. External data is largely based around IHS data.
  • A new user can pick up this software, and quickly link it to an Excel workbook. From that point the software is very intuitive, and visualizations are quickly generated.
  • The software can easily be taken to the next level, and allow users to create dashboards for business intelligence.
  • Ultimately the software can address complex problems through the use of R scripting.
  • Adding infographic functionality to allow users to create aesthetically pleasing visuals.
  • Allow users to use multiple windows from the same visualization so that two computer screens can be used.
It is best for users that are seeking a quick visualization tool that doesn't require a lot of training. This tool is not appropriate for organizing data, but great for understanding it. It is just as integral to my workflows as excel.
Read Paul Marusak's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (201)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (172)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (197)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (206)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (153)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (184)
7.9
Publish to Web (154)
8.2
Publish to PDF (180)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (113)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (212)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (188)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (160)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (162)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (135)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (151)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (121)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (85)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (101)
7.1
REST API (30)
6.7
Javascript API (31)
6.7
iFrames (21)
6.5
Java API (24)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (31)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (23)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions