TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGA great software for data visualizationWe are currently using Spotfire to visualize data and to make figures for manuscript publication.,It's flexible for visualizing the data and saves you a lot of time. Allows you to make complex plots that would be difficult to make using other tools.,Making moving average plots is too difficult, and I have not found any helpful information through the "help" option in TIBCO Spotfire. There are no 'basic' tutorials for the main functions, or at least I have not found them. When I export a figure, the resolution is not good, regardless of the format used. This has created some problems when generating high-resolution figures for publication.,10,Self-taught,It was relatively easy to learn, for the tools that I use. But I think an online or in-person training is required for more complex functions.Best data discovery/analytics software on the marketTIBCO Spotfire is being implemented in a very broad range of uses...engineering, finance, forecasting, and dashboards. It's being used across our organization and has made a great impact on our efficiency especially in data discovery! I highly recommend Spotfire for almost all use cases.,Data Discovery Big data analytics Forecasting Statistics Real-time modeling,Some changes in formatting,10,Tableau,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,10,Yes very intuitive and easy.Business analytics made simple!Spotfire was deployed a year ago in my organisation as the one single tool to replace various web applications, tools, software and other stuff for data analytics and advanced visualization. We started with one part of our value chain and it is now being deployed across the entire value chain namely sales, service, engineering and also the support functions.,Advanced visualization. It can connect to all a variety of data sources and also integrate with other software like R, Python, Matlab etc., to enhance the usability. Easy to publish for any user to view through a web player without any need to install software.,Some features or visualization demand that the data be embedded and it cannot work for external data. Axis scale adjustments for multiple scales are not that great. Exported visualizations to PDF or others don't look that good.,8,,Tableau Desktop, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,In-person training,7New User of TIBCO Spotfire ReviewTIBCO Spotfire is being used by our operations department. We are challenged to automate as many manual reports as possible with the tool.,Automated reports/dashboards with the ability to save to a PowerPoint. Customizable visualizations. Allows senior leadership to modify reports as they desire.,We are still learning more about this product and haven't seen many cons. More information on Information Links may be needed.,9,Business Objects and Tableau Desktop,Microsoft Access, Business Objects SRC,In-person training,8Spotfire is the leader in visualization game unless you have a Web Development TeamSpotfire is used instead of Excel by most users but then a few develop it into almost an application. It is used widely in the org.,Data integration with teh vast number of data sources. Fast data rendering - no delay in data loading. API for customization.,API is not well documented. Licensing fees too high. Client is heavy on the desktop hardware.,9,Tableau Server,Online training In-person training Self-taught,7,6,No it was no easy to learn online, not because I am not the [one] to self-learn but because their content is repeated and their terminology is shaky. There is a great, great need for streamlining.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 491 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (151-175 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
March 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A great software for data visualization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Spotfire to visualize data and to make figures for manuscript publication.
  • It's flexible for visualizing the data and saves you a lot of time.
  • Allows you to make complex plots that would be difficult to make using other tools.
  • Making moving average plots is too difficult, and I have not found any helpful information through the "help" option in TIBCO Spotfire.
  • There are no 'basic' tutorials for the main functions, or at least I have not found them.
  • When I export a figure, the resolution is not good, regardless of the format used. This has created some problems when generating high-resolution figures for publication.
It gives you a lot of flexibility for data visualization, and it is intuitive most of the time. This flexibility in visualization helps you to better understand the data and make conclusions, so it's very well suited for understanding results of experiments, for example. As I mentioned before, it's also very good for data publication, as plots are beautiful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Best data discovery/analytics software on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being implemented in a very broad range of uses...engineering, finance, forecasting, and dashboards. It's being used across our organization and has made a great impact on our efficiency especially in data discovery! I highly recommend Spotfire for almost all use cases.
  • Data Discovery
  • Big data analytics
  • Forecasting
  • Statistics
  • Real-time modeling
  • Some changes in formatting
Anything to do with big data or data discovery.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Business analytics made simple!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was deployed a year ago in my organisation as the one single tool to replace various web applications, tools, software and other stuff for data analytics and advanced visualization. We started with one part of our value chain and it is now being deployed across the entire value chain namely sales, service, engineering and also the support functions.
  • Advanced visualization.
  • It can connect to all a variety of data sources and also integrate with other software like R, Python, Matlab etc., to enhance the usability.
  • Easy to publish for any user to view through a web player without any need to install software.
  • Some features or visualization demand that the data be embedded and it cannot work for external data.
  • Axis scale adjustments for multiple scales are not that great.
  • Exported visualizations to PDF or others don't look that good.
Spotfire is really well suited for handling any large amount of data or "big data" and it allows high customization with so many data connecting options or inbuilt data analysis and calculation. It may not be appropriate if you're looking for just a simple visualization tool given the cost of licensing!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 14, 2017

"New User of TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by our operations department. We are challenged to automate as many manual reports as possible with the tool.
  • Automated reports/dashboards with the ability to save to a PowerPoint.
  • Customizable visualizations.
  • Allows senior leadership to modify reports as they desire.
  • We are still learning more about this product and haven't seen many cons. More information on Information Links may be needed.
[It's well suited for] dashboard creation giving users the ability to modify the report on the fly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the leader in visualization game unless you have a Web Development Team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used instead of Excel by most users but then a few develop it into almost an application. It is used widely in the org.
  • Data integration with teh vast number of data sources.
  • Fast data rendering - no delay in data loading.
  • API for customization.
  • API is not well documented.
  • Licensing fees too high.
  • Client is heavy on the desktop hardware.
It is better than Tableau because of the API and the array of visuals it can support. Also the capability of using JavaScript is a plus. These capabilities allow companies to provide SAAS based on Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 20, 2017

Review: "Tibco Spotfire, an intuitive and versatile way to look and analyze your data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used in our clinical development programs across our product development functions. It helps us display and monitor clinical trial related data.
  • Intuitive visualization
  • Support numerous visualization method
  • Can incorporate other programming language, such as R, to make the development more versatile.
  • Provide internet access to end users.
  • The language about how to use marking sometimes is confusing
  • Statistical analysis more depends on external language.
  • Information link sometimes doesn't behave as expected.
Visualization of clinical trial data listing and relative simply statistical analysis is well suited. Complex statistical analysis is less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 24, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a very powerful and useful tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[it's] used for analysis of oil and gas properties and wells. It manages very large datasets (hundreds of thousands of wells.)

  • Used to visualize information in a specific manner.
  • Used to help make business decisions on the fly by showing dynamic information.
  • Managing massive datasets
  • Dynamically allowing analysis of information
  • Visualizing data
  • Pane sizing can be difficult
  • Formatting of fonts/info/data types is limited
  • Well suited for managing very large datasets.
  • Not as useful for purpose charting, whereby data is kept in a simple format.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire well worth the investment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to quickly analyze large data sets. We start by combining the data from multiple public and private sources. The majority of the current business use has been for oil and gas M&A evaluations for clients. In the past, I have used it for oil and gas production engineering and well surveillance activities.
  • Connects to a wide variety of data sources quickly and easily for non- IT personnel.
  • Simple but powerful data transformation and cleanup tools.
  • Quick and easy visualization setup.
  • Built in tools to customize visualizations, process automation, and perform complex analytics.
  • No manual for new users converting from other platforms like Microsoft Excel. However, Tibco has over the last year significantly improved the availability of how tos through the Tibco Community forum, Blog, and Tips & Tricks web page.
  • Not able to correct or change data in the Spotfire environment. You must go to the data source to make corrections.
  • Tools and features offerings vary from Spotfire platforms (Desktop, Cloud, Enterprise, Web Client). So if you are working with different clients or departments that are on a differing platform, they may not be able to see or perform certain functions in an analysis.
  • Quickly and easily aggregating and visualizing simple or complex data sets into an analysis.
  • Provides both historical and real-time analytical capability.
  • Ability to visualize data on a map or custom diagram is a powerful tool.
  • Combine multiple data files into a single data file fast with the ability to transform the data in numerous ways.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great online training for basics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used for data analysis within my organisation. Mostly my department is using TIBCO Spotfire. During the engineering phase, it is used to analyse the behaviour of a chip, e.g. at different temperatures or for corner lots. In the mass production phase, it is used in case of problems. In [our] daily work, we use TIBCO Spotfire to provide weekly and monthly product data.
  • It can deal with a huge amount of data.
  • Different graphic charts can be chosen related to the data you want to show.
  • TIBCO Spotfire provides a good filtering system in order to show specific data.
  • Sometimes I cannot tell if the data shown is right. The possibility of tracking data would be good.
  • Some tables cannot be exported to MS Power Point.
  • When importing data from clipboard the automatic matching is wrong sometimes and if you do not realise this you have empty tables later.
TIBCO Spotfire can be used in case you know what result you want to get. You just feed Spotfire with necessary data and then it provides all kinds of graphical solutions [for] presenting your data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Big data made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to manage big data to analyze our assets.
  • Makes it very easy to manage large amounts of data.
  • Interactive dash boarding for effective visualization.
  • Allows linkage to database information for quick timely data access.
  • I would like to see the ability for more robust formatting for visualizations with the ability to format using right click rather than having to pull up properties every time.
  • I think more robust graphical interfaces to representing data and the associated labelling for those graphs. For example an easier way to provide cluster graphs.
  • On the visualization it would be nice to have the ability to hide the headers for the respective choice particularly the 'colour by' options.
[TIBCO Spotfire is well suited] When trying to view drivers and costs for a company where you want to compare the impacts of a change in one driver on the impacts on cost and on other drivers/costs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Using Spotfire to create analysis on the spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Spotfire to analyze incident data within my organization. It helps to bring data analysis to management in a clear visual way that tells a story of how the organization is performing by being able to merge data from multiple sources into one file using common fields to form the relationship.
  • Spotfire is great at letting you see the changes within the visualizations as you make them giving you the opportunity to be sure you are creating exactly what you want to see.
  • Having the ability to allow users to view your visualizations over an internet connection and still modify their view without actually making changes to the file is a great option.
  • The ability to use links to bring multiple data sources together helps to provide data that is useful to the end user.
  • There is a function limitation that does not allow you to create table visualizations/details on demand if your data is in a cube format.
  • Property controls are a great feature but creating a control that will limit the data is not always intuitive so you have to be very familiar with how to create the property controls and assign them.
  • It would be nice to have a little more control over how table/cross-table/summary tables are created, such as being able to create a table that has the same look and feel as if it were created in say Excel with the functionality of Spotfire.
I recommend Spotfire frequently to coworkers as it provides a lot of options for viewing data in a way that really allow you to make an analysis when the data is straight forward. I don't think it works as well when you have customers that are requesting a specific view that is not a part of the standard Spotfire package.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: great to use, easy to learn. Luckely, because the trainings are of poor quality"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment we are in a start-up of TIBCO Spotfire. We make daily reports about our production results, OEE, etc. Also [we use] dashboards for management. We are using it through the whole organization from CEO to Teamleader.
  • The drill down of data works very well. No static reports anymore, but fancy reports, from which you can check the details (by the drill down).
  • We haven't worked with it yet, but I expect the relations which can be found in the data can be very helpful.
  • I find it very useful that we can make one report with several datasources underneath. (I'm used to Business Objects, you couldn't do that very easy in that too.)
  • The courses aren't good. No documentation and I think it's called 'robotcourses'. You get to know what you can do with Spotfire (how to click), but principles, pros and cons aren't explained.
  • TIBCO could pay more attention to the dataset, how it's best organized to get the best results from your reports.
  • It would be helpful if the course could be held in Dutch.

Making trends is very easy to do with this tool in short time.

Making a kind of reports which you can make very easily with Business Objects ( a lot of numeric values on a page, with a small lettersize) is not easy to do and it doesn't look nice. It's not 'pixelperfect'.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "A Spotfire (not Spitfire) Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire for our internal analytics and are just about to roll out the access to our clients so they can see real time data. This tool is currently being used by 2 departments and within the next year will be rolled out across the firm to all divisions. We use it to make sure that our data is accurate and complete and to keep track of trends and staffing and financials. I personally did testing among several applications and Spotfire fits us the best. I highly recommend it and already have to friends that work for other companies who perform the same business function I do at companies where they work.
  • Drill Downs, the visualizations within Spotfire are fantastic. Our management and staff absolutely love the power it provides to really drill down into data to get more details on the information they are looking at.
  • We pull in data from several different tools on different platforms into one visualization. This was a must have for us.
  • User friendly - with simple training our users were able to be up and running to view and navigate any visualizations that were created for them. Creating the visualizations took more training. However the online training was really fantastic. Very well done and that is a huge plus with any new tool.
  • Pie chart labels, it would be great to get more options for sizing and placement.
  • It would be great to have some pre-defined themes. Right now you can have a white background or black for the visualizations which is really nice, but it would be great to have a few more options.
  • On the bar chart labels, it would be great to be able to maneuver or change those as well as the pie chart labels. I am duplicating this one as its not so easy to come up with Spotfire complaints, I really like this tool and am thrilled that we have it.
I think that for anyone who really wants to delve into their data they need TIBCO Spotfire. If anyone wants to make a really great presentation of data, Spotfire is the perfect tool. You can absolutely use this tool for something simple but it has so many capabilities I couldn't find any reason to not use this tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TIBCO Spotfire for our analytics department. It is a very helpful tool for visualizing data. It helps the organizations to understand their data patterns and take corrective actions to improve their outcomes.
  • Easy to use
  • Fast data retrieval
  • Very stable
  • Easy to colloborate with other users
  • Does not understand complex SQL queries
  • Can not write stored procedures
  • No email bursting option in desktop version
It is very easy to learn. The data can be transformed easily. The only hurdle I see is the meta data model between the SQL server and Spotfire. If we connect data from Spotfire to SQL server it lowers the sql server performance. Hence Spotfire created information tools which acts as a interface between Spotfire and SQL. The problem is every time the SQL data is refreshed or changed the information links are broken.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - software for data analysts"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spotfire is very simple to learn and to understand.
  • Spotfire is great to use as a tool to share patterns and trends and allow others less familiar with Spotfire to be able to simply search the data.
  • Data can be imported from external sources such as an ERP like SAP, Excel, or Access.
  • The simplicity of the software sometimes causes limitations to users not familiar with coding.
  • Online resources for learning and problem solving are sometimes few and far between.
Anyone with large quantities of data can make use of Spotfire. The data should be properly organized in a tabular format to begin with. Each line of data needs to have common columns or properties that define the data. I know many people in the oil and gas industry use Spotfire to track things ranging from work order compliance to well pressure and flow rate tracking.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 29, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a top performer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Importing Excel files was fantastically easy compared to other BI tools. Other tools required selecting the range of data in Excel and creating a table out of that prior to import. Others had multi-step processes. Accessing an Excel file in Spotfire was the easiest.
  • The recommended visualizations are fantastic for users who aren't as comfortable exploring data that they have possession of. This feature automatically suggests ways to visualize data enabling users to start exploring much sooner rather than figuring out how they could possibly 'see' their data.
  • Filtering schemes are one of my personal favorites. I often walk groups of people through several scenarios as we explore data together. To prepare for these sessions I like to have filtering schemes set up so that I can quickly choose a scheme that includes several filters that get instantly applied to a page. This is fantastic because it saves time and often provides a dramatic change to the visualization depending on the scheme I select. It's a really cool feature.
  • I feel that the overall look and feel of Spotfire can be improved. When put up against some close competitors, Spotfire beats them all in function but it's a bit lacking in polish. This isn't important to a user like myself but when projected on a huge display it doesn't look as modern as some competitors.
It's well suited to users who want a powerful visualization tool with proper analytical capabilities. It's less appropriate for users who want a super simple UI simply for data exploration and visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Newbie"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] production data analysis as well as market intelligence.
  • Dashboards
  • Data Visualizations
  • Mapping
  • More user workshops, webinars and complimentary classes. Specifically on data visualization and tips and tricks.
Best used when large amounts of data wrangling is necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Unique tool for rapid visualization in high dimensions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm the sole user of Spotfire at the desktop for general data visualization and exploration. The vast majority of business problems I investigate are related to finance and banking.
  • Rapid visualization of data: Very little setup from data to visualization (even compared with Excel).
  • Extremely flexible visualization capabilities: Drag and drop features alone easily provide for visualization beyond 3-dimensions. Together with custom functions, Spotfire offers rapid high dimensional visualization capabilities.
  • Steep learning curve for the extremely rich drag-and-drop features that are not always obvious.
  • Steep learning curve for custom function capabilities that are not intuitive at all. TIBCO trainings are almost a must in order to take full advantage of these capabilities.
Rapid data visualization--especially at high dimensions--it's a unique strength of Spotfire. Anything well-defined and computationally involved can probably be better handled elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 20, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is pretty intuitive, user friendly data analysis and visualization software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is a great tool for data analysis, visualization and decision making process.
  • Ease of data raw data import for analysis, accepts variety of data files.
  • Visualization, useful for presentations.
  • Access to custom calculations to add new columns
  • Better access to visualization feature, better graphical interface
  • Could make calculations easier to use, simplify the syntax for people with non-programming background
  • Application load times could be improved. Very often Spotfire hangs after 24 hours of use.
Very intuitive, shallow learning curve, ease of data import, handling, manitpulation...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great platform for everyday/live analytics."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in all departments of the company. I have gathered all our back end data through SQL in a central facility with Spotfire. We have everything from our accounting, land, operations, production, geology, asset, & reservoir [data in the system].
  • Automation of live data is very quick.
  • Easy to get used to.
  • Many ways to manipulate the data.
  • Some limitations on several visualizations that cannot be done with Spotfire.
  • Can create charts in Excel that cannot be replicated in Spotfire at this time.
  • Speed and efficiency with large data-sets is somewhat lacking.
It is well suited for oil & gas. I've used Spotfire in the last 4 companies I've worked for in O&G. It isn't necessary when dealing with simple/quick charts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

"Tibco Spotfire product review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Drill down capability; consistent design, filtering options.
  • Design customizability.
  • Limited tabular views.
  • Doesn't scale particularly well (screen size).
Read this authenticated review
Willy Nunn profile photo
April 07, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire keeps up the heat on readily accessible analytics for business users."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is currently in the implementation phase across multiple departments including sales, operations (manufacturing), process engineering, human resources, and materials management. Its original install was intended as a process engineering tool to investigate data relationships in process and manufacturing data. However, it's ease of use helped us grab much of the readily available business data to help find the hidden "details behind the data". We have found that its biggest value is collaborative use in a meeting environment where multiple individuals can work and drive actions from the data interaction abilities Spotfire provides.
  • Spotfire's interactive visualizations with drill-down capability make it extremely easy to gain insight from large data sets, and deliver that same ability to business users within minimal hand holding.
  • The ability of Spotfire to "mashup" data from disparate data sources creates agile analytics that can provide real business insight in a manufacturing environment (e.g. process data combined with quality data).
  • The strong capability of the web based platform relative to the traditional desktop platform makes it incredibly easy to disseminate analytics across multiple user groups.
  • Default visualizations and colors are visually appealing and allow for quick diving into the data rather than spending significant time fiddling with the setup to get the data to "look right".
  • The help files for building custom expressions within analytics files should be significantly updated to provide better usage examples. Frequently analysts have to look externally to find answers as to how to properly parse a custom expression.
  • Errors require more feedback to direct the user as to how to correct the root cause of the error.
  • Visualization builder should be context sensitive to prevent selections of incompatible data, or impossible axes, etc.
Spotfire is well suited to gain quick business value in an area where there is not a significant quantity of centralized data. Easy drag and drop importing of Excel data makes for rapid deployment in a work environment where the business is just starting to grow, and the importance of self-serve analytics is critical. This is especially true in an environment with a very lean IT work force where much of the data discovery needs to be done by the business users themselves.
Read Willy Nunn's full review
Luan Tran profile photo
March 18, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Just another review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used in R&D and Internal Audit to visualize data and enable our users to do data analysis.
  • Spptfore allows our users to 'discover' data patterns and to spot trends. We use it to perform financial fraud analytics
  • Spotfire allows our users to easily drill down on data across hierarchies.
  • Spotfire enables us to easily prototype a certain graph and data visualization for presentation.
  • Spotfire enables us to do data profiling when we don't understand the relationships between the data.
  • Product installation and product management is NOT as refined as some other enterprise tools
  • The 'programing interface' (e.g the formula screen, the user function screen) can be improve so that developers can easily program their code without having to strain their eyes to look for errors
  • At least with the version we are using, we need improvement on database connectivity and the entire data model organization. There is no obvious way to update the data model without throwing the entire thing out of the window.
Spotfire is not suited for 'canned' report and other more rigid visualization. Spotfire is also not very 'programmable' (as opposed to BI or Tableau).
Read Luan Tran's full review
Brent Meyers profile photo
March 01, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Robust data engine & standardized visualizations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

As a field consultant I deploy TIBCO Spotfire, develop data visualization reports/dashboards/templates, and provide on-site training and mentoring. Most of my clients use Spotfire as an enterprise reporting solution. I have also helped the vast majority of those same organizations deploy ad hoc analysis environments. The ad hoc use cases are typically inter departmental analysis projects.

Almost all of my clients select TIBCO Spotfire for it's ability to easily visualize data, merge disparate data sets, scale across an expanding enterprise, and handle data loading in a variety of methods. Additionally, I work with a large number of clinical research and life sciences firms who have read about the growing number of Spotfire extensions (custom add-ins) that are geared specially to their industry. This level of customization generates a great level of interest in Spotfire.

  • Data transformation. Pivoting, un-pivoting, aggregation, and numerous other data transformations can be achieved through a simple "Information Link" GUI or through custom SQL. Additional transformations, joins, calculation expressions can be achieved within the client as well.
  • Standardized visualizations. Spotfire provides all of the typical types of visualizations (bar charts, scatter plots, tree maps, geo, dashboards, etc.) in a clean standard format that is easily recognized by users.
  • Strong SaaS capabilities. Strong web-player out of the box that can be embedded and manipulated in your own site.
  • Robust use of data structure. Spotfire provides a range of options from importing spreadsheets to connecting to existing databases. Data can be merged within Spotfire via the GUI, pushed to the database, or return select data sets based on user actions.
  • Simple web and client interface. Intuitive interface for users and visualization report developers. Visualization options are limited for the sake of standardization
  • Depth of reporting capabilities. Simple enough for a casual user to develop simple reports, but powerful enough data transformation and calculation expressions to build complex reports.
  • One the greatest improvements with the latest versions of Spotfire (v6 and v7) is its ability to load enormous data sets. Spotfire was already the industry leader as an in-memory data visualization tool (as well as a hybrid data on-demand method), but it now supports numerous "big-data" data connections. This allows Spotfire to push demanding data processing into the database and return only the necessary metadata to build a visualization.
  • Visual user interface customization has improved dramatically with the latest Spotfire versions. Version 6 allowed for much more custom HTML/CSS/Java Script to produce unique visual solutions. Version 7 took that further by allowing a GUI (point and click) to modify nearly the entire user interface. Essentially you can alter the UI to the point that Spotfire begins to look like any webpage you like.
  • Error handling. The data engine and expression builder have almost no organic error handling or troubleshooting capabilities. Program errors, while minimal, are vague and appear spontaneously.
  • Training for data transformation user interface. On-site and online training for visualization report development is good, but data engine training is minimal at best.
  • Flexibility of visualization design. Design options are very limited and are not as powerful as Tableau or MS Excel 2010+.
  • While version 7 has provided extensive flexibility in modifying the user interface, the amount of flexibility in adjusting data visualizations is still limited.
  • Auto-save or version control. There is no auto-save or automated version control. The client will crash sporadically and all work is lost since the last file save.
  • Progressiveness of visualization designs. Spotfire lags behind its competitors in the range of visualization types and the options available to manipulate the current visualizations.
  • Standardization of design controls. Report authoring options that you would expect to be ubiquitous are not and those that are available are sometimes found in different locations.
  • Resource hog! Spotfire requires a good deal of memory, processing power, and efficiently tuned data sources. Spotfire v7 is especially demanding on memory and processing power. All versions will demand efficiently tuned in database sources. Poorly tuned databases will become a bottleneck in performance.
  • Upgrading can be challenging if you have custom extensions or Spotfire reports using complex operations (eg. large in-memory data, large number of tabs, complex logic, multiple data sources merging, etc.)
Fantastic data reporting, discovery, and analytics tool! Basic report development and sharing is simple and clean in design. Powerful and elegant visualization reports are possible, but require some time to learn the client and produce efficient data views within your databases.
The greatest strength of Spotfire is its ability to merge data from numerous data sources and easily visualize said data. Additionally, Spotfire allows several methods to load data to achieve optimal performance while also being able to analyze across data sets.
Don't like the stock visualizations in Spotfire? Spotfire now has the capability to display nearly any JavaScript visualization and connect it with your data. You can interact with the visualizations in the same manner as the organic Spotfire visualizations. On top of this, text areas within a Spotfire analysis can be used to curate your data and add further interactivity.
Read Brent Meyers's full review
Blake Humphries profile photo
October 07, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Oil and Gas"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to evaluate oil and gas developments across the country. It is used by a few different departments in the same fashion. We use it to look at trends and results from different drilling, completion and production.
  • We like being able to look at large data sets to analyze the data we already have.
  • The mapping tool is helpful.
  • Multiple tables with maps on a single visualization are very helpful.
  • Map labels are very limiting when looking at a large data set. Threshold on labels should be limitless.
  • Markers on maps shapes should have more options.
  • Zooming in on maps should be more smooth.
It is good with large datasets that have already been processed. The biggest issue we have with colleagues wanting to use Spotfire is the data going into the analysis has to be good to get good results.
Read Blake Humphries's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions