TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGTibco lets me get my job done.TIBCO Spotfire is used across my organization for data visualization and, I believe, very little for data analytics purposes. TIBCO Spotfire makes it easy to tell a story behind the messy data in a much cleaner and more understandable way, through its great visualization graphs and charts which are very responsive to any data changes.,Data visualization through a variety of charts and graphs. Data updates, data drill-down and data selections Web-based report sharing is very cool,Using JavaScripts/R scripts is not very easy or intuitive. Analytical full statistical functionality such as linear/non-linear regression, factor analysis, PCA, etc. could be more valuable.,8,sas and Platfora,In-person training,8BIWe use TIBCO Spotfire as a workplace standard where every employee in our department is using it daily for their routine. It meets our needs around visualization and decision making.,I like Spotfire for mostly unsupervised learning. We can easily build up charts and insights without applying stats of the data. In simple terms, " Spotfire is what - Technology overcome Strategy".,It cant be edited by the end user in web application part. Dynamic Scripting for visualization is missing part. Focusing more on the Statistics building algorithm part will be more useful.,8,,In-person training,8Get certificationTibco Spotfire is used in my company for different clients (energy mostly at the moment) and to develop business for other companies. It's focused on geo-localization data for the client. We use Tibco Spotfire to monitor the activity of the customers and we help the users to be confident with this tool in self-service BI scenarios.,Geo-localization is one of the strengths of this tool. Easy to use. Dashboard always available (linked to the source or embedded),It is not possibile to load XML files. In pie chart should be easier to set the category grouped as "Others". It would be helpful to insert a "fuel/liquid" chart to show the percentage of total as liquid.,9,Oracle Business Intelligence Enterprise Edition,Oracle Database 12c, Oracle Data Integrator, Oracle Data Warehouse,Online training,4Tibco Spotfire - Analytical ToolWe are an energy consulting firm and we use Tibco Spotfire to analyze streams of real-time energy trading data for deal analytics, forecasting and risk management. Spotfire is an amazing analytical tool which will help you pick up data from multiple databases and spreadsheets and create graphical and analytical diagrams that will help businesses in several ways to understand their systems throughput, number of exceptions, etc. One of the big advantages offered by the product is real-time analysis. There is no time lag between availability of trading data and analysis. The systems allows us to analyze large amounts of trading data in real-time.,It is restricted to input from databases and spreadsheets,9,9,We are able to better understand the flow of deal data and take corrective action wherever required to mitigate risk or improve forecasting accuracy based on real-time data. We can make constant adjustments in response to real-time changes in the data flow.,9TIBCO Spotfire Pros and ConsSpotfire is being used by the whole Technology business unit. The main problem I have with Spotfire is that I use version 6.5.2 with a flex server and I cannot upgrade to version 7.0 or 7.5 so as not to use my flex Spotfire server. Reporting using a link es one of the best advantages the tool has but version 6.5.2 does not allow you to change the back color of the charts and pivots and using HTML. The look & feel of the pivots and charts is not that good and the creation of calculated columns is hard to develop since it does not use excel logic. E.G. a simple date expression of "Last Month" in excel has to be generated as Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now()))On the other hand is an excellent tool to manipulate and report when you have more than 200.000 rows since excel collapses and Spotfire is still running,Spotfire is excellent to manipulate data sources with more than 200.000 rows of data. Excel collapses with more than 200.000 All courses of Spotfire are excellent and easy to follow. Spotfire has an excellent functionality at the "details-on-demand" section where you can click in any number of the pivot and you'll see all details in the already mentioned section,The charts and graphics are not as good as the one in excell the "expressions" to create calculated columns are not easy as the ones in excel. E.G. a simple excel expression for "last month" in Spotfire is Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow())) If you have a mistake creating expressions for calculated collumns the only help Spotfire gives you is the number of character that has the error. the distinct count option is not available,8,Tableau Desktop,Tableau Desktop, QlikView, PeopleSoft Financials,Online trainingVisual smorgasbord - feel like you're a savvy tech startup without the Seattle prices.It is used across the whole organization. Our department uses it primarily for productivity reports and for auditing purposes. Our transportation department uses it for real time reports that support transportation decisions and to track key areas. The accounting department uses it to track staff productivity and as an auditing tool. It gives clear visibility to the end users in our department on various issues.,On demand visualization with deep customization options. User friendly report builder that allows for novice users to build dashboards. Modern UI that produces usable reports relevant to the data.,Difficult to easily join 3+ tables without inputting SQL. Strange limitations on pivot tables; Ex: Hard to rename columns on pivot table to customize for the end user. Limitations on filtering for something not based on the data set. Ex: If I have 50k rows and want to filter a specific number range, it pulls that range from the data set rather than allowing manual input. This can cause performance issues with large data sets.,8,Oracle BI Foundation Suite,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite,In-person training Self-taught,7,It was fairly straight forward to learn basic data connection and report creating. Luckily there is a healthy online community of Spotfire users where you can trouble shoot issues as they arise. I would recommend the self taught angle to anyone who is savvy enough to find help when they encounter hurdles.Spotfire-- freedom to "play" with data and visualizationsSpotfire is currently only used by my department. We are using the software to bring in data from all of our assets, sort through the data, and create summaries about machinery running conditions. With the ability to compare parameters between similar pieces of equipment, my department can assess equipment health and drive future capital prioritization.,Spotfire gives you the ability to toggle between different visualizations easily, which helps the user see the data in new ways. Spotfire is a great tool for bringing in huge amounts of data and summarizing it in an easy way. I particularly like the tool's ability to un-pivot tables, which makes it easier to bring in data from sources that would typically need to be re-formatted. Spotfire allows you to trellis visualizations, which is an easy way to report the same type of metric for several distinct groups. For example, it's easy to pull engine utilization by month for every station, and generate a large report which this information, within a few clicks.,Sometimes the filtering schemes are confusing when moving from tab to tab within the program. It can be difficult to format everything to be presentable for the printable format. It's completely do-able to do this formatting, but it's not completely intuitive. I wish Spotfire had the ability to trellis data tables, so you could show the same information for different groups.,10,Microsoft Excel,In-person training Self-taught,10,Someone else had to show me the basics of how to bring information and set up the data, but once I understood how to do this, most of my learning was on my own trying to click through the program. This worked well for me, Spotfire makes it easy to "play" with visualizations, filters, etc. and once you know that anything you do in the program won't change the underlying data, it gives you a lot of freedom to learn by trying. I would absolutely recommend this to others (after getting help with the basic data import).Handly Tool for Data Visualization and AnalysisWe have been using TIBCO Spotfire quite extensively in our company to address the data analytics and visualization needs. Primarily it has come across as a handy tool across the department to represent data in a more easy and reliable way. We use it to run some very quick analysis on huge data sets.,Getting data through multiple modes is one of the key strengths of TIBCO Spotfire. Embedded option to code analysis through R/python/SQl makes the tool quite useful and handy. Geographical tagging is also quite useful & unique.,Some easy to use features is missing and/or unhighlighted.,8,Tableau Desktop,Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop,In-person training Self-taught,5,Yes. The best part of self taught learning was that TIBCO has a very live and vibrant online community. You can always go to the portal / forum and clear your doubts. You get to learn on each day. This feature has has helped a lot, not only me as beneficiary but multiple people across my organisation.,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,Not much of a change in selection process, but yes i would also look for future compatibility and usability of the product and its acceptance globally. Reviews do matter a lot from public in general, because they help us know the on - ground first hand usability / features of the product.,In depth Analysis Data visualization Geographical tagging Cloud sharing of file for those who do not have TIBCO Spotfire desktop installed or don't have a license for the same,Some easy modifications / manipulation to graphs and data sets More options required for data manipulation under the column properties header.,Yes,8Forget about charting in Excel when you have this amazingly intuitive and easy to use analytics tool!TIBCO Spotfire was used in my department for dashboarding in obtaining data insight from a large monthly variable dataset. There are many groups relying on TIBCO Spotfire for daily investment decision making. It really made a difference in pulling analytics in a very user-friendly and intuitive way from large amounts of data from all types of sources.,Intuitive, easy to use and build analytics platform Save dashboard - reuse it with different data Easily exportable to ppt, pdf etc,More online training would be great (similar to what Tableau has on LinkedIn or Youtube) Identify SMEs, certify them, have a forum for brainstorming "Did you know" mini-videos of how to do certain things in Spotfire,10,Excel,Snagit, Qualtrics, Jive, MindManager, JIRA Software,In-person training Self-taughtAwesomeDifferent departments, including (HR, OM, etc..). Each department has their own unique KPIs. At the moment we've encountered no problems, although it would be nice to allow the user (developer) more "freedom" when it comes to modify and generate custom analysis.,Data Visualization Summarize Data Decision Making Analyzing different KPIs Trends across time Categorical Analysis of our KPIs,Customization on Visualizations Give more freedom to developer The user is unable to customize certain parameters (such as fonts, colors, ect),10,None,SQL Developer,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,10,Yes, totally!! Intuitive, easy to use, the manual is well done and organize, so it gives you the possibility to consult specific points! A very nice product! Easy to learn how to use! Gives us the possibility to get data from different databases (which is a key point when working with different departments, because each has it's own system).,10,No,At our current project, the client wanted custom visualizations (not those currently present inside spotfire). For example, the wanted a full custom waterfall using jviz. We immediately communicated with the tibco spotfire team, and they help us design this full custom visualization. After it was finish, they offer support and help if something went wrongPowerful but needs to be prettierThe tool is being used in my department to show market trends in the commercial aviation space. This helps us look for emerging trends in the market that we may not be aware of.,The tool handles large data sets very well with its caching ability The tool can export large sets of data for further analysis by our subject matter experts The tool loads and saves work in the developer tool relatively fast,The tool does not have a very friendly user interface for development. The tool does not allow you to customize the UI of the analytics very easily to use your own font, style, color, etc. The tool cannot do some things that other tools, like Wave or Tabluea can. Drill down capability isn't always intuitive.,6,Wave and Tablue,Tableau Desktop,Online training Self-taughtEnhancing Spotfire CapabilitiesIt is predominately used for signal decision for regulator needs (GPVE) and for medical monitoring for Clinical Review for early assets and registration of new compounds. It addresses the need for exploration of clinical data for early dose adjustment, early signal of unexpected AE's, issues related treatment and dose response/non-response etc. It allows us to quickly take a look at what-if scenarios, and closing drill down subject, and perform 360 degree reviews.,Graphs are rendered perfectly Very customizable User friendly Share the results across the group very effectively,Data Loading capability instead of one dataset at a time Horizontal box plot with data points overlay able Filter Organization to be collapsed as default Radar plot, traffic light, area graph Should be able to use any variable from any dataset effortlessly on X-axis and Y-axis Able to create an answer set or specific dataset from different datasets available for a specific exploration.,9,Tabaleau and QlikView,JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SAS,In-person training,10Awesome data visualization toolTibco Spotfire is currently being used to replace adhoc reports from legacy applications. We also use it to build useful visualizations about utilization, performance metrics, etc. It is currently being adopted across the entire organization and about 5-6 departments use it now. It has allowed the company to have a tool that's interactive and doesn't require using another program to manipulate data.,Helps users build advanced visualizations and does a great job of allowing users to make changes as needed. Offers powerful data transformation tools which allows users to make changes to the data as needed without affecting the source data. Provides automation services to eliminate having to export/email a daily report manually.,Its a powerful tool but often lacks some very basic things like responsiveness when viewing visualizations on a different platform/resolution. This should be a feature included within the tool. The export options are minimal the pdf export leaves much to be desired. It requires reformatting or switching the page layout until you find the right format for your visualization. Spotfire chart features/functions are sometimes over complicated.,8,Oracle Access Management, Tableau Desktop,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,8,Yes, it was fairly easy to learn once you get passed the nuisances of the tool. I learned more by "playing" around in the tool.On-line Training experienceWe use Spotfire to analyze patient data from different sources including all phases of clinical trials and marketed data. We develop visualizations and explore the data for analysis.,Analyzing the data is very quick. We can easily identify the areas which we are interested in through visualizations. We can automate the process by developing the visualization so it reduces repeated work.,Handling huge amount of data. More online videos for understanding the critical topics. Help button in Spotfire with detailed explanations regarding programming topics.,9,,Microsoft Access, JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SAS,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,3,Learning Spotfire is ok as long as you have installed Spotfire on your machine and with proper material. However, I strongly suggest taking in-person training with Spotfire so that you can understand numerous tool options.Powerful and flexible software for analyzing large multi-parameter data sets.The software is very powerful and useful for in depth analysis of large volumes of data. It has multiple ways of visualizing and filtering data that helps to identify trends which are not visible in raw data. Spotfire is somewhat similar to MS Excel and compatible with it but has much greater flexibility and data visualizing power.,Data filtering is useful for customizing data sets. Multiple types of flexible visualizations help to discover important trends. Flexible data export function helps efficiently express the results.,Learning curve is rather steep. Some mutually-related functions and features can be grouped to make the software more intuitive. Pop-up hints may be useful especially for beginner users.,9,Online training,6,10Why Tibco SpotfireTibco Spotfire is being used across the organization for its analytical capabilities. It helps in doing predictive analysis, self-service BI and is an effective geo-analytical tool. Its near to real-time reporting helps do operational activities effectively.,Its recommendation engine for generating quick visual views and providing dashboard design & flow ideas Geo Analytics - Its Geo Analytical capabilities used in the Natural Resources industry are very helpful. Self-Service BI over the thin client. Their training videos and online community sites are the best! Its built-in support to scripting - Iron Python, TERR, JavaScript. Its basic ease of filter configurations and data mashups.,Its Server Administration! The node manager and server architecture is really good and makes sense. But when it comes to an administrator managing or building the environments, it becomes a nightmare. The logs need to be more descriptive and terms used should be user-friendly. While the KPI chart and Waterfall charts are a good addition to the visualisation stack, there is a lot of scope to add new visualisations in the kitty. Visuals that are available with jsViz - can be made a part of default visualization list or provide a template for those jsvis where users just need to feed in dimensions and measures. Images are limited to labels, tooltips or text area objects. Probably, object overlapping would give it a jazzy look. For example a background image for the whole page, currently we can only apply a background color via themes.,8,Tableau Server, QlikView, SAS Visual Analytics and Microsoft Power BI,SAS Visual Analytics, Tableau Server, QlikView,Online training In-person training Self-taught,1,10,I started working on Spotfire from version 5. It was pretty difficult to learn it back then but now with version v7.6, the tool doesn't seem that difficult to be adopted by the new resources and getting onboarded for this tool.,7Spotfire is a very handy software programTIBCO Spotfire is being used to analyze data sets. The graphs and tables created in TIBCO Spotfire are then used to improve the efficiency of our drilling rigs and the crews running them.,Compare a data set using multiple variables. Ease of use much better than other, similar products. Limiting and selecting specific data sets or variable types is very simple.,While it is very easy to understand the basics, some advanced options are difficult. Limited on the amount of ways you can compare different data points. Cannot bring two or more data sets into a single visualization easily.,8,Microsoft Exchange,8,8,Opinion about TIBCO SpotfireUsed by some departments who seem to really like it, and not by others who really do not because it doesn't truly "analyze" it just draws pretty pictures and takes a lot of time to get data cleaned up so Spotfire can use it. Used to visualize data geographically (mapping), by performance indicators, and data from various and different sources.,Makes pretty pictures out of data,The training modules need work. The audio goes way too fast. For most trainees, keeping up with what they are trying to do themselves on the screen while listening and watching a module that is now 5 steps ahead, means having to stop every 15 seconds to back up, and it gets exhausting and annoying after much time. Spotfire has lots of capabilities, and the redundancy built in means there are several ways to do the same thing. However, it also means the screen is so cluttered, and the icons so small, that it strains the eyes to see and use. Seems like the redundancy could be reduced to make the screen shot more user friendly and less eye straining.,3,,Self-taught,It was learn-able if you take the time, have the patience, and don't need to do anything else or get anything else done for a couple of weeks.Spotfire Desktop ReviewSpotfire is being used by our company. We have tested this product for over a few years now and educated others on Spotfire as well. It assists all groups to create a dashboard in a quick manner even if an employee is lacking the SQL ability they have learned to use Spotfire for a data visualization for current spreadsheets.,Data Visualization Recommendations Pulls in data quickly User-friendly interface,The scheduling needs improvement Better Predictive Analytics More interactive visualizations built in,8,Tableau Desktop,SAP Crystal Reports, SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management, Informatica Enterprise Data Integration,In-person training Self-taught,2,As long as you are passionate about learning and have in depth knowledge of software and connecting to a database and have previously created dashboards or other reporting through another product then you should be able to progress just fine. There are some helpful Blogs when you google as well and some you tube videos that can help as well.Spotfire - complex and customizedWe implement it for our clients, it's one of the most popular technologies we currently offer.,Possibility of introducing custom functionality is much better than any other BI tool Able to do complex calculations,Some performance issues with large amounts of data Many simple or annoying little things that remain unsolved for years, even though regularly posted on Tibco Community Even with the latest version, the look and feel is a bit outdated,8,PowerBI and Tableau,Online training In-person training Self-taught,8,3,It was not easy. I learned from more experienced colleagues' materials.TIBCO Spotfire - Practical OutlookWe use Spotfire to design Enterprise-wide dynamic end-to-end automated reporting and analytics solutions. We were able to significantly reduce the TCO and eliminate bottlenecks associated with the use of some legacy tools like Excel, PowerPoint, etc. On the other hand, Spotfire lacks some esthetics, doesn't offer all modern chart types, and could be difficult and expensive to learn.,Data input automation Automated data transformation procedures Relatively easy to implement,Types of charts and tables Availability of basic statistical functions Lack of good documentation and examples beyond basic,6,,Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,The product is not easy to learn and unless you have a relational database background, it may be quite counterintuitive. The best way to learn this product is to start building visualizations and have someone around who can answer your questions. Online help is not very useful but [you] may get lucky and find some examples online.Spotfire - All in one tool for reporting, analytics and dashboardsTibco Spotfire is used extensively at our organisation and by our clients to leverage and gain insights into large quantities of data. We primarily use it for data exploration, reporting, predictive analytics and data segmentation. With Spotfire we are able to build comprehensive dashboards quickly and efficiently without the need for specialist BI developers.,Quickly build reports from large quantities of data and then publish those reports via the web player. Ability to work with data sets in different formats, i.e. data aggregation or SQL queries are not required. Out of the box analytics that makes it easy for business users to gain insights into their data. Ability to leverage R scripts in Spotfire.,Easier functionality of Python scripts. Stability improvements are required, software has a tendency to crash. Easier optimisation of reports for the web player especially where large data sets are involved.,10,,10,Spotfire is used company wide by approximately 30 consultants. We have a few data scientists that makes use of the more advanced features.,10,10,10,10,8,10A week with Tibco - so WORTH it!Tibco Spotfire is the supported tool for accessing an Oracle data warehouse. The data stored in the warehouse is all of our historical human resources data from across the enterprise (we have several operating companies under our brand umbrella) and the warehouse is "fed" every day with new transactions coming from each company's HCM system. We do ad-hoc reporting with Spotfire, build dashboards for analysis, and generally use it to answer any business question that may come up where we need the employee data.,Visualizations - it isn't just a data extraction tool but charts and tables can be easily built. Dashboards - I've put together sample dashboards in just a few hours. External Data - very easy to pull in data from different data sources - Oracle tables, Excel, etc..,Visualizations - while it is a strength it is also a weakness. We currently use another tool for dashboarding and we will move to Spotfire because it is more powerful but the actual charts in the other product are more appealing. Set up - we are responsible for setting up our own joins, information links, elements, etc. This is overwhelming for beginning users. SQL - It is hard to debug issues with the SQL. I often find myself copying the SQL into another tool to decode and build and then will copy it back to Spotfire.,8,None,SQL Developer, Oracle BI Foundation Suite,In-person training,9Spotfire reviewWe are testing Spotfire to become a TIBCO partner and offer their products to our customers.,Very easy to use charts and modify its properties. A lot of different types of charts. An interface very visual and intuitive.,Using of marked records is a little bit confusing. Legends in chart has too many options and could be confusing to read for the user. Sometimes is a little bit difficult and not intuitive to find an option in the main menu.,7,,QlikView, Qlik Sense,In-person training,6,8Spotfire ReviewOnly a small portion of the organization has system access. The analytics team uses Spotfire to analyze product data and support manufacturing investigations.,It's really easy to create interactive visualizations Can quickly merge different data tables and manipulate the data using pivots and other transformations Great design and aesthetics,Sometimes runs slowly when working with large data sets It's difficult to add additional files after you've already performed a transformation on the data,8,IBM Cognos,Online training,7,7
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 630 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (151-175 of 280)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Binod Maharjan profile photo
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Tibco lets me get my job done."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across my organization for data visualization and, I believe, very little for data analytics purposes. TIBCO Spotfire makes it easy to tell a story behind the messy data in a much cleaner and more understandable way, through its great visualization graphs and charts which are very responsive to any data changes.
  • Data visualization through a variety of charts and graphs.
  • Data updates, data drill-down and data selections
  • Web-based report sharing is very cool
  • Using JavaScripts/R scripts is not very easy or intuitive.
  • Analytical full statistical functionality such as linear/non-linear regression, factor analysis, PCA, etc. could be more valuable.

Well suited for business presentations, data extraction, transformation, loading, etc.

Not well suited for data modeling.

Read Binod Maharjan's full review
Mohamed Madar Khan profile photo
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "BI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire as a workplace standard where every employee in our department is using it daily for their routine. It meets our needs around visualization and decision making.
  • I like Spotfire for mostly unsupervised learning.
  • We can easily build up charts and insights without applying stats of the data.
  • In simple terms, " Spotfire is what - Technology overcome Strategy".
  • It cant be edited by the end user in web application part.
  • Dynamic Scripting for visualization is missing part.
  • Focusing more on the Statistics building algorithm part will be more useful.
Spotfire plays a major role in understanding the data and is less suited for model building.
Read Mohamed Madar Khan's full review
Marco Teodori profile photo
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Get certification"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is used in my company for different clients (energy mostly at the moment) and to develop business for other companies. It's focused on geo-localization data for the client. We use Tibco Spotfire to monitor the activity of the customers and we help the users to be confident with this tool in self-service BI scenarios.
  • Geo-localization is one of the strengths of this tool.
  • Easy to use.
  • Dashboard always available (linked to the source or embedded)
  • It is not possibile to load XML files.
  • In pie chart should be easier to set the category grouped as "Others".
  • It would be helpful to insert a "fuel/liquid" chart to show the percentage of total as liquid.
It is very appropriate to the scenario in which I am working with it: Geo-localization of the data and in monitoring user needs.

I don't think it's very appropriate for a scenario of big data and large amount of data. Maybe it would be a little bit slow compared to others BI tools.
Read Marco Teodori's full review
Kenneth Dcouto profile photo
October 05, 2017

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire - Analytical Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are an energy consulting firm and we use Tibco Spotfire to analyze streams of real-time energy trading data for deal analytics, forecasting and risk management.
  • Spotfire is an amazing analytical tool which will help you pick up data from multiple databases and spreadsheets and create graphical and analytical diagrams that will help businesses in several ways to understand their systems throughput, number of exceptions, etc.
  • One of the big advantages offered by the product is real-time analysis. There is no time lag between availability of trading data and analysis. The systems allows us to analyze large amounts of trading data in real-time.
  • It is restricted to input from databases and spreadsheets
TIBCO spotfire offers a very clean geo map which is easy to use and great to work with.
Read Kenneth Dcouto's full review
No photo available
December 22, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Pros and Cons"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Spotfire is being used by the whole Technology business unit. The main problem I have with Spotfire is that I use version 6.5.2 with a flex server and I cannot upgrade to version 7.0 or 7.5 so as not to use my flex Spotfire server. Reporting using a link es one of the best advantages the tool has but version 6.5.2 does not allow you to change the back color of the charts and pivots and using HTML. The look & feel of the pivots and charts is not that good and the creation of calculated columns is hard to develop since it does not use excel logic. E.G. a simple date expression of "Last Month" in excel has to be generated as Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now()))

On the other hand is an excellent tool to manipulate and report when you have more than 200.000 rows since excel collapses and Spotfire is still running

  • Spotfire is excellent to manipulate data sources with more than 200.000 rows of data. Excel collapses with more than 200.000
  • All courses of Spotfire are excellent and easy to follow.
  • Spotfire has an excellent functionality at the "details-on-demand" section where you can click in any number of the pivot and you'll see all details in the already mentioned section
  • The charts and graphics are not as good as the one in excell
  • the "expressions" to create calculated columns are not easy as the ones in excel. E.G. a simple excel expression for "last month" in Spotfire is Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow()))
  • If you have a mistake creating expressions for calculated collumns the only help Spotfire gives you is the number of character that has the error.
  • the distinct count option is not available
Spotfire is excellent to manipulate and report based on large-scale data, more than 200.000 rows. It is less appropriate if you need high quality of charts, with different colors and labels, legends, etc. It is difficult to customize charts and pivots (e.g. headers font cannot be changed). All expressions for creating calculated columns are not that easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Visual smorgasbord - feel like you're a savvy tech startup without the Seattle prices."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. Our department uses it primarily for productivity reports and for auditing purposes. Our transportation department uses it for real time reports that support transportation decisions and to track key areas. The accounting department uses it to track staff productivity and as an auditing tool. It gives clear visibility to the end users in our department on various issues.
  • On demand visualization with deep customization options.
  • User friendly report builder that allows for novice users to build dashboards.
  • Modern UI that produces usable reports relevant to the data.
  • Difficult to easily join 3+ tables without inputting SQL.
  • Strange limitations on pivot tables; Ex: Hard to rename columns on pivot table to customize for the end user.
  • Limitations on filtering for something not based on the data set. Ex: If I have 50k rows and want to filter a specific number range, it pulls that range from the data set rather than allowing manual input. This can cause performance issues with large data sets.

I would say that it is well suited for users who want standardized reports with strong on demand visualizations. If you department has any report the end user receives and reviews in a standard format, I think you would be hard pressed to find a better suited program. There is a host of extended features and settings that allow for savvy users to dig deep and analyze a consistently changing dataset. Even though extensive customization is available, the UI is intuitive and user friendly enough to allow for non IT members to create engaging reports.

I believe it would be less appropriate for reports that are consistently tweaked/changed/altered by the end user, or for 'ad hoc' reporting. There is a learning curve to creating reports that end users may not have (this is company/department specific). If your department consistently pulls in 100k + records and applies filters after (which is not really the appropriate use of BI - but it happens), then Spotfire would likely not meet your needs.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire-- freedom to "play" with data and visualizations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is currently only used by my department. We are using the software to bring in data from all of our assets, sort through the data, and create summaries about machinery running conditions. With the ability to compare parameters between similar pieces of equipment, my department can assess equipment health and drive future capital prioritization.
  • Spotfire gives you the ability to toggle between different visualizations easily, which helps the user see the data in new ways.
  • Spotfire is a great tool for bringing in huge amounts of data and summarizing it in an easy way. I particularly like the tool's ability to un-pivot tables, which makes it easier to bring in data from sources that would typically need to be re-formatted.
  • Spotfire allows you to trellis visualizations, which is an easy way to report the same type of metric for several distinct groups. For example, it's easy to pull engine utilization by month for every station, and generate a large report which this information, within a few clicks.
  • Sometimes the filtering schemes are confusing when moving from tab to tab within the program.
  • It can be difficult to format everything to be presentable for the printable format. It's completely do-able to do this formatting, but it's not completely intuitive.
  • I wish Spotfire had the ability to trellis data tables, so you could show the same information for different groups.
Spotfire is well suited for huge data sets with several variables. It's also a fantastic tool for creating visualizations and analyzing data in a creative way. It is less appropriate for small data sets, in which a quick Excel analysis can get you all of the information you would need (simple min, max, average values, etc).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Handly Tool for Data Visualization and Analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using TIBCO Spotfire quite extensively in our company to address the data analytics and visualization needs. Primarily it has come across as a handy tool across the department to represent data in a more easy and reliable way. We use it to run some very quick analysis on huge data sets.
  • Getting data through multiple modes is one of the key strengths of TIBCO Spotfire.
  • Embedded option to code analysis through R/python/SQl makes the tool quite useful and handy.
  • Geographical tagging is also quite useful & unique.
  • Some easy to use features is missing and/or unhighlighted.
Well Suited -

  • For handling huge amount of data sets, it can handle this quite easily
  • For in-depth analysis, through multiple graphs / charts / tables.
  • For creating detailed visualizationa, so as to showcase only relevant data sets / graphs
  • For quick run-through analysis
  • To embed analysis through multiple data sources - may it be a file or an information link
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Forget about charting in Excel when you have this amazingly intuitive and easy to use analytics tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was used in my department for dashboarding in obtaining data insight from a large monthly variable dataset. There are many groups relying on TIBCO Spotfire for daily investment decision making. It really made a difference in pulling analytics in a very user-friendly and intuitive way from large amounts of data from all types of sources.
  • Intuitive, easy to use and build analytics platform
  • Save dashboard - reuse it with different data
  • Easily exportable to ppt, pdf etc
  • More online training would be great (similar to what Tableau has on LinkedIn or Youtube)
  • Identify SMEs, certify them, have a forum for brainstorming
  • "Did you know" mini-videos of how to do certain things in Spotfire
Very well suited for creating PowerPoint presentations that use the same type of charts for reporting and only the underlying data changes, not necessarily needing to reconnect to the data. Sometimes I do think users are not warned when certain filters are applied, this way running the risk of missing data sets. Otherwise, an amazing tool that made my life so much easier than the "prehistoric" Excel charting era...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 21, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Different departments, including (HR, OM, etc..). Each department has their own unique KPIs. At the moment we've encountered no problems, although it would be nice to allow the user (developer) more "freedom" when it comes to modify and generate custom analysis.
  • Data Visualization
  • Summarize Data
  • Decision Making
  • Analyzing different KPIs
  • Trends across time
  • Categorical Analysis of our KPIs
  • Customization on Visualizations
  • Give more freedom to developer
  • The user is unable to customize certain parameters (such as fonts, colors, ect)
Business Intelligence: We are working with different departments, including (HR, OM, etc..), each with their own characteristics, that is, different KPIs (key points of interest) to analyze, Spotfire gives us the chance to look at a very good amount of information at a glance! This allows us to offer our client the best solution for data visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful but needs to be prettier"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The tool is being used in my department to show market trends in the commercial aviation space. This helps us look for emerging trends in the market that we may not be aware of.
  • The tool handles large data sets very well with its caching ability
  • The tool can export large sets of data for further analysis by our subject matter experts
  • The tool loads and saves work in the developer tool relatively fast
  • The tool does not have a very friendly user interface for development.
  • The tool does not allow you to customize the UI of the analytics very easily to use your own font, style, color, etc.
  • The tool cannot do some things that other tools, like Wave or Tabluea can. Drill down capability isn't always intuitive.
Well suited for multiple data sets and large tables. Also, if you need to implement calculated columns or add control chart lines easily. This tool works well for those.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Enhancing Spotfire Capabilities"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is predominately used for signal decision for regulator needs (GPVE) and for medical monitoring for Clinical Review for early assets and registration of new compounds.
It addresses the need for exploration of clinical data for early dose adjustment, early signal of unexpected AE's, issues related treatment and dose response/non-response etc.

It allows us to quickly take a look at what-if scenarios, and closing drill down subject, and perform 360 degree reviews.
  • Graphs are rendered perfectly
  • Very customizable
  • User friendly
  • Share the results across the group very effectively
  • Data Loading capability instead of one dataset at a time
  • Horizontal box plot with data points overlay able
  • Filter Organization to be collapsed as default
  • Radar plot, traffic light, area graph
  • Should be able to use any variable from any dataset effortlessly on X-axis and Y-axis
  • Able to create an answer set or specific dataset from different datasets available for a specific exploration.
Well suited for: Dynamic interaction with the live data and bookmarking and tagging for future review. Can go back on dates of review on the fly. Show only relevant data as needed. Very strong admin and security model.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Awesome data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is currently being used to replace adhoc reports from legacy applications. We also use it to build useful visualizations about utilization, performance metrics, etc. It is currently being adopted across the entire organization and about 5-6 departments use it now. It has allowed the company to have a tool that's interactive and doesn't require using another program to manipulate data.
  • Helps users build advanced visualizations and does a great job of allowing users to make changes as needed.
  • Offers powerful data transformation tools which allows users to make changes to the data as needed without affecting the source data.
  • Provides automation services to eliminate having to export/email a daily report manually.
  • Its a powerful tool but often lacks some very basic things like responsiveness when viewing visualizations on a different platform/resolution. This should be a feature included within the tool.
  • The export options are minimal the pdf export leaves much to be desired. It requires reformatting or switching the page layout until you find the right format for your visualization.
  • Spotfire chart features/functions are sometimes over complicated.
Spotfire is well suited for building/creating dashboards or adhoc reports. It's also a great tool to use to measure performance. It's great for those who have knowledge of SQL/python and if you need to create/develop a tool for end users. If you don't have any knowledge of SQL/Python you may want to use a tool better suited for end users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "On-line Training experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to analyze patient data from different sources including all phases of clinical trials and marketed data. We develop visualizations and explore the data for analysis.
  • Analyzing the data is very quick.
  • We can easily identify the areas which we are interested in through visualizations.
  • We can automate the process by developing the visualization so it reduces repeated work.
  • Handling huge amount of data.
  • More online videos for understanding the critical topics.
  • Help button in Spotfire with detailed explanations regarding programming topics.
The heat map is widely used as it will help identify high probability risk areas. It is less utilized in creating regular listings, which are not very useful as Spotfire is more of a visualization tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful and flexible software for analyzing large multi-parameter data sets."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is very powerful and useful for in depth analysis of large volumes of data. It has multiple ways of visualizing and filtering data that helps to identify trends which are not visible in raw data. Spotfire is somewhat similar to MS Excel and compatible with it but has much greater flexibility and data visualizing power.
  • Data filtering is useful for customizing data sets.
  • Multiple types of flexible visualizations help to discover important trends.
  • Flexible data export function helps efficiently express the results.
  • Learning curve is rather steep.
  • Some mutually-related functions and features can be grouped to make the software more intuitive.
  • Pop-up hints may be useful especially for beginner users.

It is particularly useful for large multi-parameter data sets where trends are obscure.

It is less appropriate for small or relatively simple data sets.

At this time it is the best software for geographic visualization . It is clear, simple and intuitive. This feature helps mapping the data to geographic locations that makes them much more informative.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2017

User Review: "Why Tibco Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is being used across the organization for its analytical capabilities. It helps in doing predictive analysis, self-service BI and is an effective geo-analytical tool. Its near to real-time reporting helps do operational activities effectively.
  • Its recommendation engine for generating quick visual views and providing dashboard design & flow ideas
  • Geo Analytics - Its Geo Analytical capabilities used in the Natural Resources industry are very helpful.
  • Self-Service BI over the thin client.
  • Their training videos and online community sites are the best!
  • Its built-in support to scripting - Iron Python, TERR, JavaScript. Its basic ease of filter configurations and data mashups.
  • Its Server Administration! The node manager and server architecture is really good and makes sense. But when it comes to an administrator managing or building the environments, it becomes a nightmare. The logs need to be more descriptive and terms used should be user-friendly.
  • While the KPI chart and Waterfall charts are a good addition to the visualisation stack, there is a lot of scope to add new visualisations in the kitty. Visuals that are available with jsViz - can be made a part of default visualization list or provide a template for those jsvis where users just need to feed in dimensions and measures.
  • Images are limited to labels, tooltips or text area objects. Probably, object overlapping would give it a jazzy look. For example a background image for the whole page, currently we can only apply a background color via themes.
I have worked with multiple BI tools for data visualization, but the extensive customization with built-in scripting capabilities and ease of developing them are the best part for Tibco Spotfire. Of course, improvements are needed on the built-in visualization list, but it does offer you [the ability to] build your own visuals with JS at ease. These JS visuals can easily interact with the built-in visuals.
It's zoomins showing up specific layer details is cool feature. It should probably take the geo coding directly based on the city name or location name, but it needs us to add the geo coordinates. Its tibco supplied, but we have to configure them. Its not done automatically.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a very handy software program"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to analyze data sets. The graphs and tables created in TIBCO Spotfire are then used to improve the efficiency of our drilling rigs and the crews running them.
  • Compare a data set using multiple variables.
  • Ease of use much better than other, similar products.
  • Limiting and selecting specific data sets or variable types is very simple.
  • While it is very easy to understand the basics, some advanced options are difficult.
  • Limited on the amount of ways you can compare different data points.
  • Cannot bring two or more data sets into a single visualization easily.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for comparing trends and how efficient something is. It is very easy to manipulate the data inside a visualization to find what you are looking for.
I haven’t used the mapping feature of Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

User Review: "Opinion about TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by some departments who seem to really like it, and not by others who really do not because it doesn't truly "analyze" it just draws pretty pictures and takes a lot of time to get data cleaned up so Spotfire can use it. Used to visualize data geographically (mapping), by performance indicators, and data from various and different sources.
  • Makes pretty pictures out of data
  • The training modules need work. The audio goes way too fast. For most trainees, keeping up with what they are trying to do themselves on the screen while listening and watching a module that is now 5 steps ahead, means having to stop every 15 seconds to back up, and it gets exhausting and annoying after much time.
  • Spotfire has lots of capabilities, and the redundancy built in means there are several ways to do the same thing. However, it also means the screen is so cluttered, and the icons so small, that it strains the eyes to see and use. Seems like the redundancy could be reduced to make the screen shot more user friendly and less eye straining.

Any true analytical steps that Spotfire can do, Excel and SPSS can do better. Some things Excel and SPSS can do, Spotfire cannot do at all.

Spotfire can "use" data from many different data sources, but in order to use data from Excel, SPSS, etc., it has to be massaged all over again so Spotfire can use it. By the time you get done making the data usable by Spotfire, you could have three or ten other analyses done with conventional software.

Spotfire is most useful to make pretty pictures out of data to use in presentations to managers, customers, and other stakeholders. It doesn't actually improve the ability to analyze data, but does improve the way the data can help show and tell a story.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Desktop Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by our company. We have tested this product for over a few years now and educated others on Spotfire as well. It assists all groups to create a dashboard in a quick manner even if an employee is lacking the SQL ability they have learned to use Spotfire for a data visualization for current spreadsheets.
  • Data Visualization Recommendations
  • Pulls in data quickly
  • User-friendly interface
  • The scheduling needs improvement
  • Better Predictive Analytics
  • More interactive visualizations built in
Spotfire is well suited for the business user that understands data and can query SQL and connect to a database. It is meant to be utilized as a data visualization tool for summarizing and not detail level. The option is there, however you must be aware of the space a user needs for all the data that is being reviewed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - complex and customized"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement it for our clients, it's one of the most popular technologies we currently offer.
  • Possibility of introducing custom functionality is much better than any other BI tool
  • Able to do complex calculations
  • Some performance issues with large amounts of data
  • Many simple or annoying little things that remain unsolved for years, even though regularly posted on Tibco Community
  • Even with the latest version, the look and feel is a bit outdated
High complexity of analysis, and highly customized.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Practical Outlook"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to design Enterprise-wide dynamic end-to-end automated reporting and analytics solutions. We were able to significantly reduce the TCO and eliminate bottlenecks associated with the use of some legacy tools like Excel, PowerPoint, etc. On the other hand, Spotfire lacks some esthetics, doesn't offer all modern chart types, and could be difficult and expensive to learn.
  • Data input automation
  • Automated data transformation procedures
  • Relatively easy to implement
  • Types of charts and tables
  • Availability of basic statistical functions
  • Lack of good documentation and examples beyond basic
When consumers of dashboards are looking for efficiency and information at their fingertips, ready to self-serve and not extremely picky on the esthetics of Spotfire dashboards. The more the user base is focused on results and convenience rather than look and feel of dashboards and charts, the more tech-savvy the user base is, the happier they will be.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - All in one tool for reporting, analytics and dashboards"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is used extensively at our organisation and by our clients to leverage and gain insights into large quantities of data. We primarily use it for data exploration, reporting, predictive analytics and data segmentation. With Spotfire we are able to build comprehensive dashboards quickly and efficiently without the need for specialist BI developers.
  • Quickly build reports from large quantities of data and then publish those reports via the web player.
  • Ability to work with data sets in different formats, i.e. data aggregation or SQL queries are not required.
  • Out of the box analytics that makes it easy for business users to gain insights into their data.
  • Ability to leverage R scripts in Spotfire.
  • Easier functionality of Python scripts.
  • Stability improvements are required, software has a tendency to crash.
  • Easier optimisation of reports for the web player especially where large data sets are involved.
Spotfire may not be appropriate for mission critical reporting, e.g. financial reporting.

Well suited to enable business users to quickly build, change and enhance reports.
Works great in the states - however does not work well in Africa.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A week with Tibco - so WORTH it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is the supported tool for accessing an Oracle data warehouse. The data stored in the warehouse is all of our historical human resources data from across the enterprise (we have several operating companies under our brand umbrella) and the warehouse is "fed" every day with new transactions coming from each company's HCM system. We do ad-hoc reporting with Spotfire, build dashboards for analysis, and generally use it to answer any business question that may come up where we need the employee data.
  • Visualizations - it isn't just a data extraction tool but charts and tables can be easily built.
  • Dashboards - I've put together sample dashboards in just a few hours.
  • External Data - very easy to pull in data from different data sources - Oracle tables, Excel, etc..
  • Visualizations - while it is a strength it is also a weakness. We currently use another tool for dashboarding and we will move to Spotfire because it is more powerful but the actual charts in the other product are more appealing.
  • Set up - we are responsible for setting up our own joins, information links, elements, etc. This is overwhelming for beginning users.
  • SQL - It is hard to debug issues with the SQL. I often find myself copying the SQL into another tool to decode and build and then will copy it back to Spotfire.
It may not be suited for the inexperienced user simply because of the complexity of the setup. But that is more likely due to the way our company supports the product (that everyone is on their own). But once all of the setup is complete, creating reports and charts is pretty easy and quick.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are testing Spotfire to become a TIBCO partner and offer their products to our customers.
  • Very easy to use charts and modify its properties.
  • A lot of different types of charts.
  • An interface very visual and intuitive.
  • Using of marked records is a little bit confusing.
  • Legends in chart has too many options and could be confusing to read for the user.
  • Sometimes is a little bit difficult and not intuitive to find an option in the main menu.
It could be useful if you need a tool for visualizations only, but it is a little bit poor if you need a tool for ETL.
Its visualization is very similar to other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 28, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only a small portion of the organization has system access. The analytics team uses Spotfire to analyze product data and support manufacturing investigations.
  • It's really easy to create interactive visualizations
  • Can quickly merge different data tables and manipulate the data using pivots and other transformations
  • Great design and aesthetics
  • Sometimes runs slowly when working with large data sets
  • It's difficult to add additional files after you've already performed a transformation on the data
Spotfire is really powerful at analyzing data. You can easily create interactive dashboards to gain insight. The wizard is useful because it suggests visualizations based on your selected data set.
The geographic visualizations are very powerful because they allow the user to drill down on the data and link various data sources. It's easy to create new maps and perform interactive analysis. One of the most useful features is being able to connect the data to real-world scenarios.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (242)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (209)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (237)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (248)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (179)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (224)
7.9
Publish to Web (187)
8.3
Publish to PDF (221)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (137)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (254)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (221)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (191)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (196)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (164)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (182)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (141)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (100)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (119)
7.4
REST API (44)
7.3
Javascript API (44)
7.2
iFrames (32)
7.0
Java API (35)
7.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (43)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (37)
7.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian