TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
699 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (176-200 of 303)

Adam Seibel | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire - a great data visualization tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across our entire organization. We use the software to join the many databases and other data sources we maintain in easy to use dashboards. The dashboards are customized based on the end user. This methodology ensures that all interested parties have the most up to date and accurate information without the need to open multiple software packages.
  • Spotfire is excellent at taking multiple data sources and combining them into a single space where they can be viewed through various charts, tables, and other visualizations.
  • Filtering allows the user to drill down to exactly the data that needs to be used for a specific analysis.
  • The ability to add calculated columns in Spotfire allows users to combine data sets quickly and easily without having to change the source data.
  • The ability to use complex formatting in certain visualizations is lacking. For example, on a line chart you can choose to make all lines solid, or all lines dashed, but not a combination of the two.
  • Novice users may not realize that certain data is being filtered out of their analysis. A large symbol somewhere on the page indicating that filters are being applied may prevent incorrect analysis.
Spotfire is well suited for combining data in different formats, spreadsheets and databases for example, into a single data set that can then be used for the basis of an analysis. Spotfire isn't well suited for generating high level presentation materials (i.e. board of directors presentations) because of it's lack of complex formatting.
  • In-person training
Read Adam Seibel's full review
Jason Alley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2017

Quick Review of Spotfire

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly being used by our reservoir engineers and production guys out in the field. But we are doing an in-house training next month that will go out to the organization.

It addresses cost analysis, production surveillance, data management and exploration.
  • As an agnostic platform it gives you the ability to connect to many different data sources so that you can maximize your analysis through hosting all necessary avenues of data in one location.
  • Gives you the ability to drill down to uncover hidden insights within the data.
  • Uses R which gives the user the ability to create models using advanced data functions to tackle complicated business problems.
  • The main thing I hear [about] is the aesthetics on some of the charts because they are used to seeing it a certain way in Excel and having more control.
  • Being able to modify the details that are involved in the source information.
  • Multiple scales on the line chart.
Spotfire works wells with tables that are nicely represented in rows and columns. Especially large amounts of data that may come from many different sources. With the quick work of relational data, one can create a robust table and reduce the manual work hours of retrieving and organizing data by hours. Smaller amounts of data that require a lot of cell to cell calculations that could be easier handled within Excel.
Read Jason Alley's full review
Isak Nuhić | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2017

Spotfire For Automotive Manufacturing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire accross the whole organization. We are using it in Operations, Finance, Purchase, Sales, HR and IT - it was extremely useful for visualising machine stoppages, OEE and scrap tracking. We are also making 90% of our monthly report using Spotfire. With Spotfire we found a perfect tool to give managers quick and precise overview of business processes and they can respond quickly to any new developments.
  • Integration of different data sources.
  • Great user experience - easy to implement and use.
  • Interactivity.
  • I would like to have more ability to calculate things (not just trough calculated columns).
  • Ability to somehow implement hard inputs for visualizations.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for well structured data - no matter the format (excel, sql...). If you have a problem where you want more calculation (also if you want user inputs) before visualization, then it cannot be done in Spotfire - you need to do it in SQL or somehow else before transferring to Spotfire.
  • Online training
Read Isak Nuhić's full review
Taras Gorishnyy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2016

Very good visualization tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to rapidly visualize data and build interactive dashboards in connection of other data science tools such as R. It is useful in many use cases in analytics.
  • Visualization is very quick and interactive
  • Connection to modeling tools such as R and SAS is very important. We need functionality to run R code out of Spotfire dashboards and read a wide range of native format files
  • Server client and cloud options are very important for easy sharing of end products
  • I would like better data management capabilities, e.g. ability to do joints, selection, variable transformations in a more streamlined way. Some functionality exists, but it is still somewhat limited and cumbersome.
  • Ideal tool for visualization of both data and models
  • Less good as standalone analytics tool; does not have powerful functionality that data scientists will need for model development
  • In-person training
Read Taras Gorishnyy's full review
Cordell Yin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2016

Spotfire is an excellent data visualization and data analytics tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Handles large data sets very well (ie. thousands to millions of rows of data)
  • Gives users flexibility on creating the types of visualizations they can create based on what questions they ask.
  • Can easily integrate with data sources, for example, connecting directly to databases.
  • Makes it easy for a user to spot trends or outlying data and identify it.
  • Empowers user with the ability see the data in a different way and make decisions.
  • Out-of-the-box, Spotfire does not do actual data analysis well, meaning it is really not meant to be used for complex calculations of data.
  • Requires a 3-tiered architecture (Oracle Database, Application Server, and thick client) for setting up.
  • It does not have a strong curve-fitting engine.
I've been around and used this application for many years. It is a great tool for data visualization, data dashboarding, tracking information, etc. It is just a very flexible data analytics tool.

One thing that has remained constant is that you need to realize it's a very expensive tool as well. Many small companies are shut out without budget. They also used to require a 3 year commitment up front, and it would of course be licensed per user, plus annual license and support for the server, database etc... not sure if this is still the case. I am fortunate not to have to worry about that.
Currently our company is using version 6.5 but will be upgrading in the near future. Tibco continues to improve on features.
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
I haven't had too much experience with contacting customer service or support. I couple of times I had sent in questions with no response. I heard recently that in an agreement with Perkin Elmer, Tibco was going to leverage their support team to take over customer support.
I rate usability fairly high for a product of this kind. However, it's probably not something that research scientists can just pick up on their own without specific training.
Read Cordell Yin's full review
Paul Marusak | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2016

Oil and Gas Engineer Using Data to Answer Tough Questions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We acquired a small number of licenses across our company within the past year. We have trained those employees on the software, and the software is being used on an individual basis for data analytics and visualization. We have also partnered with Blue River Analytics, an oil and gas consulting firm. They are assisting us in implementing business intelligence solutions to help us communicate internal and external data within the company. Internal data includes production volumes, expenses, revenues, and capital expenditures. External data is largely based around IHS data.
  • A new user can pick up this software, and quickly link it to an Excel workbook. From that point the software is very intuitive, and visualizations are quickly generated.
  • The software can easily be taken to the next level, and allow users to create dashboards for business intelligence.
  • Ultimately the software can address complex problems through the use of R scripting.
  • Adding infographic functionality to allow users to create aesthetically pleasing visuals.
  • Allow users to use multiple windows from the same visualization so that two computer screens can be used.
It is best for users that are seeking a quick visualization tool that doesn't require a lot of training. This tool is not appropriate for organizing data, but great for understanding it. It is just as integral to my workflows as excel.
Read Paul Marusak's full review
Olga Polyakov | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2016

Spotfire in a K4 - 12, bilingual, international school in Colombia

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TiBCO Spotfire Platform is being used by Colegio Nueva Granada to provide access to data from a variety of sources to teachers, administrators and other school staff. A variety of dashboards are available to teachers to monitor student performance in the classroom and on standardized tests. Dashboards for tracking trends in school metrics are available to administrators to track trends and monitor progress towards school improvement objectives.

The problem that Spotfire solves is decreasing the burden in gathering actionable data so educational staff are able to make data-informed decisions about their teaching strategies in the classroom. Furthermore, accreditation standards are very data focused, and Spotfire helps us achieve those standardized at higher levels.
  • Merge data from a variety sources into a single data table
  • Easy user interface for the author and the end-users
  • Customer technical support
  • Innovation with new releases
  • Filter elements added into text boxes do not have the name of the filter above them as they do in the filter menu.
  • Calculated columns in the receiving table are not available as columns on which one can match during a merging process unless they were calculated using a data table transformation.
  • The legend icon for graphics is hidden until you scroll over it. Inexperienced users don't know it is there.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for interactive use. It is not well suited for report generation. When we provide graphics for printed reports, we can not export them from Spotfire. We have to export the base data table into Excel and recreate the graphic. This is understandable, since the two goals are very distinct, and I'm not sure it would be possible to meet both needs at the same time.
Spotfire supports a variety of data sources. Creating Information Links from an SQL database is easy, and those information links become the data source for TIBCO Spotfire in our setup.
Read Olga Polyakov's full review
Stephen Willliams | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2017

Struggling first time Spotfire user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by multiple departments, primarily to display reports about production and drilling data. Many of the reports and charts are it provides are visible on the company's intranet.
  • Handles working with large amounts of data. I access a relative small database with about 5000 records. I have to chart multiple features of the data and use Spotfire together with Access to accomplish this.
  • Filter and groups data. Grouping and filtering data in charts on the fly helps make sense of data.
  • Easy to update data.
  • I have yet to get into using vba and programming with Spotfire. My company is a version or two behind the latest version of Spotfire and I find the training material on line for Spotfire is focused on the current version of Spotfire, so getting the examples of work with our version has been challenging.
[TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for] Live reporting of data, if one has a few specialist programmers who are good with working with large data, for analysing large datasets.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
Read Stephen Willliams's full review
Gustavo Arreola | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2017

Spotfire is a great BI tool and the company is very happy with the results given by this tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization. [It is] addressing inventory, delivery material, customer satisfaction, invoicing, and AP/AR issues. We are using it in all these areas and we are working on more dashboards for more areas.

As an international company for the moment we started with US and we are working on Mexico and Central America.

  • Give us a fancy way to present information
  • Give us a quick way to detect issues
  • Give us the possibility to drill down inside the information as needed
  • In the inventory side to detect materials with inventory days more that expected according the type of each material
  • In the billing side, give us the visibility to know the amount to be finalized and detect the areas with more opportunities
  • In the financial side, is important to know how the company (and each department) is doing against the budget and YAGO

Is well suited to analyze information and drill down the information as needed, to detect areas with issues or gains. It is user-friendly, users prefer to use this tool once they can be more productive.

Is less appropriate in the case when presented in different devices automatically (we need work on the development side).

  • Online training
  • Self-taught
Read Gustavo Arreola's full review
Elias Chaves | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2016

Spotfire is worth it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used company-wide within the technical department for troubleshooting analysis/process condition management.

TIBCO Spotfire has been wonderful to visualize data quickly and differently and is now essential to help troubleshoot any current issues and to prevent reoccurring issues.

  • Quick to use/high visibility.
  • Easy to filter out any unnecessary data.
  • Easy to present data to other groups such as maintenance to resolve issues.
  • Graphs are superb!
  • If possible use some of Excel's formulas in the cells.
  • The ability to monitor input data and if data is added, Spotfire would recognize it and alert that data is now modified.
TIBCO Spotfire is very well suited for process engineers in the chemical industry.
  • In-person training
Excellent support.
Read Elias Chaves's full review
Deenadhayalan Jayaraman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2016

Spotfire Self review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Security : Here we can design the row level security based on the user who logs into the system. even row level security can be build for huge data set(millions of records), By keeping actual data-table in cache we can bring live data for security table and applying restriction on already cached data(no waiting time)
  • Using HTML & J-Script
  • Using of Python script: All the property can be controlled thru Python scripting. with single click event we can in-work python scripts which execute dynamically.
  • Doesn't support cube/Hyperion data source directly.
  • In-DB connection are not flexible, wont support embedding or adding calculated columns.
TIBCO Spotfire is overall stable and provides reliable visualization. More can be explored using R predictive language.
Spotfire connects to multiple datasources, but once they have been implemented thru an information link are more powerful than using In-DB connections.
Yes - Yes, we have installed to Spotfire 7.0.. so for all dashboard worked fine without any issues.
Read Deenadhayalan Jayaraman's full review
Mithun Mathews | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

A Day in Spotfire

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • R engine for Predictive modeling is Fantastic.
  • Ability to use HTML and Java Script to make dashboard like a true webpage.
  • Ability to use Java scrip to build custom visualization like Speedometer.
  • Over functions to Slice and Dice Data are very Efficient, Calculations columns are easy to understand and use.
  • Ability to have Text area, [for example] floating text area within visualizations.
  • A GUI for creating joins between tables would be good add on.
  • Ability to change joins on the fly.
Engineering applications are better reported using Spotfire, specially things like Production Forecast, Decline curve Fits and refitting it to measure against actual production. [It gives the] Ability to write back data to database using 3rd party add ons, or simple r script / iron python.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
Read Mithun Mathews's full review
Willy Nunn | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2016

Spotfire keeps up the heat on readily accessible analytics for business users.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is currently in the implementation phase across multiple departments including sales, operations (manufacturing), process engineering, human resources, and materials management. Its original install was intended as a process engineering tool to investigate data relationships in process and manufacturing data. However, it's ease of use helped us grab much of the readily available business data to help find the hidden "details behind the data". We have found that its biggest value is collaborative use in a meeting environment where multiple individuals can work and drive actions from the data interaction abilities Spotfire provides.
  • Spotfire's interactive visualizations with drill-down capability make it extremely easy to gain insight from large data sets, and deliver that same ability to business users within minimal hand holding.
  • The ability of Spotfire to "mashup" data from disparate data sources creates agile analytics that can provide real business insight in a manufacturing environment (e.g. process data combined with quality data).
  • The strong capability of the web based platform relative to the traditional desktop platform makes it incredibly easy to disseminate analytics across multiple user groups.
  • Default visualizations and colors are visually appealing and allow for quick diving into the data rather than spending significant time fiddling with the setup to get the data to "look right".
  • The help files for building custom expressions within analytics files should be significantly updated to provide better usage examples. Frequently analysts have to look externally to find answers as to how to properly parse a custom expression.
  • Errors require more feedback to direct the user as to how to correct the root cause of the error.
  • Visualization builder should be context sensitive to prevent selections of incompatible data, or impossible axes, etc.
Spotfire is well suited to gain quick business value in an area where there is not a significant quantity of centralized data. Easy drag and drop importing of Excel data makes for rapid deployment in a work environment where the business is just starting to grow, and the importance of self-serve analytics is critical. This is especially true in an environment with a very lean IT work force where much of the data discovery needs to be done by the business users themselves.
Spotfire has a growing portfolio of native support for varying data sources. On a business user level, importing data from different file type data sources is simple and straightforward. Building information links from SQL sources etc., requires a stronger bit of IT support to get full value, but once implemented, provides significant ease of use for the business. Real time data is not yet readily available and requires workarounds to implement.
Read Willy Nunn's full review
Luan Tran | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Just another review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used in R&D and Internal Audit to visualize data and enable our users to do data analysis.
  • Spptfore allows our users to 'discover' data patterns and to spot trends. We use it to perform financial fraud analytics
  • Spotfire allows our users to easily drill down on data across hierarchies.
  • Spotfire enables us to easily prototype a certain graph and data visualization for presentation.
  • Spotfire enables us to do data profiling when we don't understand the relationships between the data.
  • Product installation and product management is NOT as refined as some other enterprise tools
  • The 'programing interface' (e.g the formula screen, the user function screen) can be improve so that developers can easily program their code without having to strain their eyes to look for errors
  • At least with the version we are using, we need improvement on database connectivity and the entire data model organization. There is no obvious way to update the data model without throwing the entire thing out of the window.
Spotfire is not suited for 'canned' report and other more rigid visualization. Spotfire is also not very 'programmable' (as opposed to BI or Tableau).
Data connectivity from Spotfire is still very primitive when compared to other tools, and it doesn't seem to be well thought out. We use only Oracle DBMS so my experience is limited to Oracle.
1. It would have been nice to be able to pull data directly (native driver) from Oracle for faster performance instead of using the ODBC or JDBC driver.
2. Provide a 'built-in' data staging or caching area in Spotfire so that it doesn't hit the database every time we pull or update or refresh the data. I am not referring to report caching. If you cache the raw data, you can perform many operations without hitting the database.
3. It's a pain to 'update' the data model and change a validated report if we have to change the data source. For example, there's no easy way to look up where a column is used and if we update the column, what report or data elements are going to be affected.

Read Luan Tran's full review
Brent Meyers | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

Robust data engine & standardized visualizations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

As a field consultant I deploy TIBCO Spotfire, develop data visualization reports/dashboards/templates, and provide on-site training and mentoring. Most of my clients use Spotfire as an enterprise reporting solution. I have also helped the vast majority of those same organizations deploy ad hoc analysis environments. The ad hoc use cases are typically inter departmental analysis projects.

Almost all of my clients select TIBCO Spotfire for it's ability to easily visualize data, merge disparate data sets, scale across an expanding enterprise, and handle data loading in a variety of methods. Additionally, I work with a large number of clinical research and life sciences firms who have read about the growing number of Spotfire extensions (custom add-ins) that are geared specially to their industry. This level of customization generates a great level of interest in Spotfire.

  • Data transformation. Pivoting, un-pivoting, aggregation, and numerous other data transformations can be achieved through a simple "Information Link" GUI or through custom SQL. Additional transformations, joins, calculation expressions can be achieved within the client as well.
  • Standardized visualizations. Spotfire provides all of the typical types of visualizations (bar charts, scatter plots, tree maps, geo, dashboards, etc.) in a clean standard format that is easily recognized by users.
  • Strong SaaS capabilities. Strong web-player out of the box that can be embedded and manipulated in your own site.
  • Robust use of data structure. Spotfire provides a range of options from importing spreadsheets to connecting to existing databases. Data can be merged within Spotfire via the GUI, pushed to the database, or return select data sets based on user actions.
  • Simple web and client interface. Intuitive interface for users and visualization report developers. Visualization options are limited for the sake of standardization
  • Depth of reporting capabilities. Simple enough for a casual user to develop simple reports, but powerful enough data transformation and calculation expressions to build complex reports.
  • One the greatest improvements with the latest versions of Spotfire (v6 and v7) is its ability to load enormous data sets. Spotfire was already the industry leader as an in-memory data visualization tool (as well as a hybrid data on-demand method), but it now supports numerous "big-data" data connections. This allows Spotfire to push demanding data processing into the database and return only the necessary metadata to build a visualization.
  • Visual user interface customization has improved dramatically with the latest Spotfire versions. Version 6 allowed for much more custom HTML/CSS/Java Script to produce unique visual solutions. Version 7 took that further by allowing a GUI (point and click) to modify nearly the entire user interface. Essentially you can alter the UI to the point that Spotfire begins to look like any webpage you like.
  • Error handling. The data engine and expression builder have almost no organic error handling or troubleshooting capabilities. Program errors, while minimal, are vague and appear spontaneously.
  • Training for data transformation user interface. On-site and online training for visualization report development is good, but data engine training is minimal at best.
  • Flexibility of visualization design. Design options are very limited and are not as powerful as Tableau or MS Excel 2010+.
  • While version 7 has provided extensive flexibility in modifying the user interface, the amount of flexibility in adjusting data visualizations is still limited.
  • Auto-save or version control. There is no auto-save or automated version control. The client will crash sporadically and all work is lost since the last file save.
  • Progressiveness of visualization designs. Spotfire lags behind its competitors in the range of visualization types and the options available to manipulate the current visualizations.
  • Standardization of design controls. Report authoring options that you would expect to be ubiquitous are not and those that are available are sometimes found in different locations.
  • Resource hog! Spotfire requires a good deal of memory, processing power, and efficiently tuned data sources. Spotfire v7 is especially demanding on memory and processing power. All versions will demand efficiently tuned in database sources. Poorly tuned databases will become a bottleneck in performance.
  • Upgrading can be challenging if you have custom extensions or Spotfire reports using complex operations (eg. large in-memory data, large number of tabs, complex logic, multiple data sources merging, etc.)
Fantastic data reporting, discovery, and analytics tool! Basic report development and sharing is simple and clean in design. Powerful and elegant visualization reports are possible, but require some time to learn the client and produce efficient data views within your databases.
The greatest strength of Spotfire is its ability to merge data from numerous data sources and easily visualize said data. Additionally, Spotfire allows several methods to load data to achieve optimal performance while also being able to analyze across data sets.
Don't like the stock visualizations in Spotfire? Spotfire now has the capability to display nearly any JavaScript visualization and connect it with your data. You can interact with the visualizations in the same manner as the organic Spotfire visualizations. On top of this, text areas within a Spotfire analysis can be used to curate your data and add further interactivity.
Spotfire's data engine is its number one asset. It allows the ability to load and merge data from flat files, data bases, big data sources, and images. For example, a user can build a data table in Spotfire that comprises of data from an excel file, sas7bdat file, a query from a MS SQL data base, and a query from a Oracle data base.
Spotfire also has multiple methods to load data into an analysis. Data can be loaded into memory, fetched from a database on demand based on a user's actions, or push all of data integration into an external data source.
Using Spotfire's Information Designer allows non-technical users to build their own queries against data bases. It also allows for central management of queries. In other words, the data and logic being used across all analyses can be centrally managed, thereby standardizing your results.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Tibco is very responsive to each of our questions. They are quick to jump on webex and troubleshoot issues with techs and/or receive files to analyze on their own. On occasion, Tibco has pushed back on their willingness to recognize certain issues that we have located.
Out of the box, Spotfire is easily usable for simple report development and display in its web-player. Within 3-6 months complex reports can be built by dedicated developers. After 8-12 months, highly efficient, quick, and extraordinary reports can be developed by a developer. Significant work with your database team is required to produce quick reports that use a data connection with large data sets.
Yes - I've implemented or participated in 15+ upgrades, each one with zero down time. The most common challenges are compatibility issues with custom extensions, extensions or files built in significantly older versions of Spotfire (jumping 2 versions or .NET versions), and unique authentication configurations. Text areas and bookmarks can also pose problems when jumping into Spotfire v7.0+.
Highly recommend employing the Spotfire Qualification Tool and Application Profiling Tool to test visual/data differences between Spotfire files and performance.
Read Brent Meyers's full review
Blake Humphries | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2016

Spotfire - Oil and Gas

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to evaluate oil and gas developments across the country. It is used by a few different departments in the same fashion. We use it to look at trends and results from different drilling, completion and production.
  • We like being able to look at large data sets to analyze the data we already have.
  • The mapping tool is helpful.
  • Multiple tables with maps on a single visualization are very helpful.
  • Map labels are very limiting when looking at a large data set. Threshold on labels should be limitless.
  • Markers on maps shapes should have more options.
  • Zooming in on maps should be more smooth.
It is good with large datasets that have already been processed. The biggest issue we have with colleagues wanting to use Spotfire is the data going into the analysis has to be good to get good results.
Read Blake Humphries's full review
Ryan James | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2016

Spotfire Desktop

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to quickly evaluate large oilfield data sets. We gather mainly oil and gas well production and completion information pulled from IHS, drilling info, rig data and frac focus. We can quickly look at trends and cause and effects based on what different operators are doing. It has become a go to tool when building type curves and other technical materials.
  • Analyzes data very quickly.
  • Allows for easy manipulation of axis and plot/chart styles.
  • Handles large data sets with ease.
  • Formatting for presentations and output leaves much to be desired.
  • The ability to customize the appearance of outputs and visualizations is lacking and severely limited, especially when trying to conform to corporate branding.
  • It is missing many of the familiar functions and tools that are present in the Microsoft office suite and it could integrate better.
TIBCO Spotfire is great for analysis and number crunching; poor for outputting into client presentations.
Works with everything I've thrown at it so far.
Read Ryan James's full review
Elisa Westlund | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2016

Spotfire is Spot on with easy to use BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to deliver information to the sales organization and insights to the daily business.
  • Predictive analytic capabilities that are simple to execute.
  • Self guided analytics for all levels of users.
  • Cloud based platform simplifies delivery process, provides overall seamless insight across many departments with excellent data integration.
  • Need to have Excel output options for table and cross table charts.
  • Increased label options on the tree maps allowing customized series of informational display options.
  • Area charts and more visual art options.
TIBCO Spotfire is uniquely suited for mid size companies or departments that do not have sufficient internal IT departments capable of executing an entire ERP system.
Simple blending of multiple data sources.
Read Elisa Westlund's full review
Tuan Samidon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2016

Anzani trading group review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are reselling TIBCO Spotfire to big and medium companies by embedding it in our solutions or delivering directly to the business analysts. The main focus of Spotfire in our business is to provide a solution to replace reporting services for our customers with more interactive functionalities. In the end we chose Spotfire mainly for the costs.
  • Geo Localization. Very good because the geo mapping feautures are very strong.
  • Data integration. except for mdx but it can connect directly to many datasources without any difficulty
  • Data Vizualizations. With few clicks you can make a good output of a dashboard
  • OLAP integration.
  • Quality on the layout.
  • Drive the dashboard with custom filters like Penthao.
It works very fine on geo marketing solutions because it uses proprietary maps sources but it falls on the embedding solutions because it doesn't provide, for example the stylesheets. On the mobile [app] it does not represent a good solution due to a lot of layout problems. A lot of competitors are covering this side very well.
It connects to any data source without any issue but some improvement should be developed with the MDX integration. And another good things would be a tool for data manipulation that is more stronger regarding joins and so on.
Read Tuan Samidon's full review
Hilly Menke | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2016

SF from an R&D view

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco spotfire is used by our R&D department for the visualization of complex data. It is also used to create statistical workflows by staticians and make them available for all R&D members.
  • Visualizations are very good.
  • Makes analysis and explaining to others easy.
  • Filtering of data to view details of your complex data.
  • Creation of workflows using R, matlab and others.
  • Nice box plots. It would be great if we can export the table as a table or text. At present it can be only exported as a picture.
  • It would be nice if not only maps but also biological pictures like pathways were be available.
TIBCO Spotfire can be used for a lot of data but the data should be organized in the correct way to answer specific questions. The format of your data is important!
You connect can several datasources. You can easily add more information to the analysis, like rows, columns or an extra table.
Read Hilly Menke's full review
Miquel Puigvi Soldevila | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2016

Powerful but sometimes hard

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use tibco spotfire across the whole organization in order to mesure the performance of the business and different KPIs.
  • Analytic tools
  • Go in deep from the general picture to details
  • The different ways to show the data
  • Configure the access to different users
  • R is more powerful in statistics terms
  • Freehand joins is not enough
  • Connection with Google analytics should be direct
Tibco Spotfire Platform is less apropiate if we want information from Google Analytics.
It is not easy to merge different data sources using the information links.
Read Miquel Puigvi Soldevila's full review
Marco Ostorero Vinci | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

Good but improvable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform is used across the whole organization to solve any kind of needs related to data discovery and visualization.
  • Access realtime data and information
  • Integrate statistics with data analysis
  • Genearlly speaking, graphics could be improved in quality and typology
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform works well with realtime on fast data stores, but is not the better choice when working with a huge quantity of data on not-so-fast repositories.
There are a lot of specific connectors, but if you want to cache information you have to use ADS, that is not a Tibco product and has some problems.
Read Marco Ostorero Vinci's full review
William Baltrus | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

SpotfirePowerUserReview

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to deliver a business intelligence solution to our customers for their data which resides on our platform.
  • Access native SQL Database.
  • Joins to other data well.
  • Provides calculated options to enhance or correct data.
  • Functionality. Missing several key options.
  • Documentation. Not very user friendly or specific.
  • Assistance with specific data specific requirements is lacking.
TIBCO Spotfire is very good at combining data across clients.
SQL, Excel, Txt Formats along with internal reports
Read William Baltrus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2018

TIBCO Analytics review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used by certain departments in our organization. We are using it for analytics in understanding budgeting from various departments. It gives us clear visual analytics/reports during meeting discussions. Data is taken from various databases and systems and organized in the tool. We then create pie charts, bar graphs and spot charts in the tool. Each bar graph can be edited individually and modified. This makes it much more robust than advanced Excel.
  • Excellent visual design
  • Create different types of graphs, spot charts and regular charts.
  • Modify individual elements of a graph.
  • Import data from different sources to gather data.
  • TIBCO has limited integration with other software. This can be improved as it needs to become a full-fledged robust tool instead of a design replacement of Excel. One example is integration with automation tools so that it can become more functional.
  • It has the potential to have more features from design to development.
  • Increase APIs for integration so that it can become a part of other software. ( Excel, PPT, QTP, SEE Test)
  • It can also have web-based APIs to make it very unique.
TIBCO is well suited for creating individual reports from data across different parts of an organization. It acts as a stand-alone tool with features for analytics and reports. It is very good for business users who need to create reports themselves from raw data. There are some drawbacks when it comes to getting data from integrated or automated systems. If it can become a part of other software, it would go miles. It has great flexibilities to customize dashboards.
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Training helped us explore some of the basic features of the software. Also, as a get-go it made it an easier transition into beginning to use it. Some of the in-depth features were discovered later in the software. Integration with other data sources was the most important piece of it which was also discussed. We started with learning the tool and then going into in-depth analysis.
TIBCO was integrated with the online account opening tools that our organization analyses. We calculated the number of accounts being opened on a day to day basis. This was closely monitored after a software feature release or a marketing campaign. Failures and success both in account creation were calculated through this tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2018

Spotfire will "light" up your data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights.

It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.
  • Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data
  • Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst.
  • Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.
  • Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well.
  • Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files.
  • More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.
Spotfire excels at connecting to multiple data sources and linking them together for insights that were previously unknown. It's a nice tool for data, metrics, analytics, visualizations, etc. It doesn't quite have the flexibility of Excel to make calculations across sheet easily, so some understanding and setup of your data structure must be done in preparation. Once you have the data set up in a format that's fit for Spotfire, you'll be trying to move all your reporting to it!
  • Self-taught
Online training would have been beneficial to ask specific questions you have about individual analyses. I have been mostly self-taught which, at the beginning, is a little slower, but you are forced to quickly learn the best ways to design visualizations specific to your use case instead of general examples.
No other integrations, but something we might consider in the future.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (263)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (229)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (258)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (270)
7.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (197)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (244)
8.1
Publish to Web (202)
8.3
Publish to PDF (241)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (153)
7.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (276)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (242)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (208)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (213)
8.7
Role-Based Security Model (181)
8.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (199)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (156)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (110)
7.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (129)
8.0
REST API (53)
8.0
Javascript API (52)
7.9
iFrames (39)
7.7
Java API (44)
7.5
Themeable User Interface (UI) (53)
7.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (45)
7.8

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian