TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire DesktopWe use Spotfire to quickly evaluate large oilfield data sets. We gather mainly oil and gas well production and completion information pulled from IHS, drilling info, rig data and frac focus. We can quickly look at trends and cause and effects based on what different operators are doing. It has become a go to tool when building type curves and other technical materials.,Analyzes data very quickly. Allows for easy manipulation of axis and plot/chart styles. Handles large data sets with ease.,Formatting for presentations and output leaves much to be desired. The ability to customize the appearance of outputs and visualizations is lacking and severely limited, especially when trying to conform to corporate branding. It is missing many of the familiar functions and tools that are present in the Microsoft office suite and it could integrate better.,8,Excel,Microsoft Access, Microsoft SQL Server, SQL Server Integration Services,9,5Spotfire is Spot on with easy to use BITIBCO Spotfire is being used to deliver information to the sales organization and insights to the daily business.,Predictive analytic capabilities that are simple to execute. Self guided analytics for all levels of users. Cloud based platform simplifies delivery process, provides overall seamless insight across many departments with excellent data integration.,Need to have Excel output options for table and cross table charts. Increased label options on the tree maps allowing customized series of informational display options. Area charts and more visual art options.,9,Tableau Online, Qlik Sense, QlikView and MicroStrategy Analytics,Nielsen Digital Ads Ratings, Tableau Desktop,8,9Anzani trading group reviewWe are reselling TIBCO Spotfire to big and medium companies by embedding it in our solutions or delivering directly to the business analysts. The main focus of Spotfire in our business is to provide a solution to replace reporting services for our customers with more interactive functionalities. In the end we chose Spotfire mainly for the costs.,Geo Localization. Very good because the geo mapping feautures are very strong. Data integration. except for mdx but it can connect directly to many datasources without any difficulty Data Vizualizations. With few clicks you can make a good output of a dashboard,OLAP integration. Quality on the layout. Drive the dashboard with custom filters like Penthao.,8,,Microsoft SQL Server, Visual Studio.NET, Dundas BI,8,1SF from an R&D viewTibco spotfire is used by our R&D department for the visualization of complex data. It is also used to create statistical workflows by staticians and make them available for all R&D members.,Visualizations are very good. Makes analysis and explaining to others easy. Filtering of data to view details of your complex data. Creation of workflows using R, matlab and others.,Nice box plots. It would be great if we can export the table as a table or text. At present it can be only exported as a picture. It would be nice if not only maps but also biological pictures like pathways were be available.,10,Tableau Desktop,8,8Powerful but sometimes hardWe use tibco spotfire across the whole organization in order to mesure the performance of the business and different KPIs.,Analytic tools Go in deep from the general picture to details The different ways to show the data,Configure the access to different users R is more powerful in statistics terms Freehand joins is not enough Connection with Google analytics should be direct,8,Tableau Desktop,4,4
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 491 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (176-200 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ryan James profile photo
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Desktop"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to quickly evaluate large oilfield data sets. We gather mainly oil and gas well production and completion information pulled from IHS, drilling info, rig data and frac focus. We can quickly look at trends and cause and effects based on what different operators are doing. It has become a go to tool when building type curves and other technical materials.
  • Analyzes data very quickly.
  • Allows for easy manipulation of axis and plot/chart styles.
  • Handles large data sets with ease.
  • Formatting for presentations and output leaves much to be desired.
  • The ability to customize the appearance of outputs and visualizations is lacking and severely limited, especially when trying to conform to corporate branding.
  • It is missing many of the familiar functions and tools that are present in the Microsoft office suite and it could integrate better.
TIBCO Spotfire is great for analysis and number crunching; poor for outputting into client presentations.
Read Ryan James's full review
Elisa Westlund profile photo
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Spot on with easy to use BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to deliver information to the sales organization and insights to the daily business.
  • Predictive analytic capabilities that are simple to execute.
  • Self guided analytics for all levels of users.
  • Cloud based platform simplifies delivery process, provides overall seamless insight across many departments with excellent data integration.
  • Need to have Excel output options for table and cross table charts.
  • Increased label options on the tree maps allowing customized series of informational display options.
  • Area charts and more visual art options.
TIBCO Spotfire is uniquely suited for mid size companies or departments that do not have sufficient internal IT departments capable of executing an entire ERP system.
Read Elisa Westlund's full review
Tuan Samidon profile photo
March 04, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Anzani trading group review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are reselling TIBCO Spotfire to big and medium companies by embedding it in our solutions or delivering directly to the business analysts. The main focus of Spotfire in our business is to provide a solution to replace reporting services for our customers with more interactive functionalities. In the end we chose Spotfire mainly for the costs.
  • Geo Localization. Very good because the geo mapping feautures are very strong.
  • Data integration. except for mdx but it can connect directly to many datasources without any difficulty
  • Data Vizualizations. With few clicks you can make a good output of a dashboard
  • OLAP integration.
  • Quality on the layout.
  • Drive the dashboard with custom filters like Penthao.
It works very fine on geo marketing solutions because it uses proprietary maps sources but it falls on the embedding solutions because it doesn't provide, for example the stylesheets. On the mobile [app] it does not represent a good solution due to a lot of layout problems. A lot of competitors are covering this side very well.
Read Tuan Samidon's full review
Hilly Menke profile photo
February 25, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SF from an R&D view"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco spotfire is used by our R&D department for the visualization of complex data. It is also used to create statistical workflows by staticians and make them available for all R&D members.
  • Visualizations are very good.
  • Makes analysis and explaining to others easy.
  • Filtering of data to view details of your complex data.
  • Creation of workflows using R, matlab and others.
  • Nice box plots. It would be great if we can export the table as a table or text. At present it can be only exported as a picture.
  • It would be nice if not only maps but also biological pictures like pathways were be available.
TIBCO Spotfire can be used for a lot of data but the data should be organized in the correct way to answer specific questions. The format of your data is important!
Read Hilly Menke's full review
Miquel Puigvi Soldevila profile photo
April 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful but sometimes hard"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use tibco spotfire across the whole organization in order to mesure the performance of the business and different KPIs.
  • Analytic tools
  • Go in deep from the general picture to details
  • The different ways to show the data
  • Configure the access to different users
  • R is more powerful in statistics terms
  • Freehand joins is not enough
  • Connection with Google analytics should be direct
Tibco Spotfire Platform is less apropiate if we want information from Google Analytics.
Read Miquel Puigvi Soldevila's full review
Marco Ostorero Vinci profile photo
April 15, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good but improvable"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform is used across the whole organization to solve any kind of needs related to data discovery and visualization.
  • Access realtime data and information
  • Integrate statistics with data analysis
  • Genearlly speaking, graphics could be improved in quality and typology
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform works well with realtime on fast data stores, but is not the better choice when working with a huge quantity of data on not-so-fast repositories.
Read Marco Ostorero Vinci's full review
William Baltrus profile photo
March 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "SpotfirePowerUserReview"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to deliver a business intelligence solution to our customers for their data which resides on our platform.
  • Access native SQL Database.
  • Joins to other data well.
  • Provides calculated options to enhance or correct data.
  • Functionality. Missing several key options.
  • Documentation. Not very user friendly or specific.
  • Assistance with specific data specific requirements is lacking.
TIBCO Spotfire is very good at combining data across clients.
Read William Baltrus's full review
Colin McClelland profile photo
June 18, 2015

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "What Most Don't Know About Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Spotfire is used to create internal reports for sales and marketing efforts. It is also presented as a potential BI solution for clients.
  • Not only does Spotfire provide recommended visualizations based upon the data you want to look at, it will then build those visualizations for you, taking half the clicks as other BI tools.
  • Spotifire allows you to create detailed visualizations from multiple data sources and tables on the same page. You cannot do this with Tableau.
  • Spotfire automatically creates and populates a filter panel based on the columns of the tables you import. With Tableau you have to build each filter panel from scratch.
  • Spotire could advertise it's user community more so that more customers are aware of it.
If you only want to pay for what you currently need, are not sure how much you'll need to scale in the future (but don't want any restrictions) or if you're looking for a powerful predictive analytics engine embedded into a BI tool, than Spotfire is definitely a tool to consider. Since Spotfire's memory engine is not dependent upon Cores or Nodes (unlike Tableau), you don't have to estimate how much processing power you need or will need. You only buy what you need, and scaling as far and as wide as your organization demands is as easy as purchasing additional licenses.
Read Colin McClelland's full review
Michael Soliman profile photo
December 04, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Spot-On for Data Analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I particularly enjoy how Spotfire enables us to triage any problems fairly quickly. We can directly connect to a database, pull in a subset of data, and then quickly create visualizations to make judgments on problem severity. For example: we can grab server response data, create a bar chart and then quickly add standard deviation and average lines to the bar chart.
  • This could just be a problem of the (fairly old) version of Spotfire we're using, but being able to directly control database chunksize would be great. The desktop client seems fairly chatty, so you really feel the network latency when you are doing a direct connection with a database across the country.
Like any tool or service you are considering for your company, always go in with the expectation that some work will be needed to integrate it in a fully utilizable way. In my experience, things rarely work "out of the box" so I recommend internal beta-testing first (if time permits, of course) to start learning about the system. During that period, you will start to see how it will really fits in your business.

One key thing to remember is that Spotfire is a great analysis tool. If your company just wants numbers in a spreadsheet format, then you might want to stick with Excel or Crystal Reports. Don't buy a solution and then spend a year looking for a problem it can supposedly solve. ;)
Read Michael Soliman's full review
Shakeel Muhajir profile photo
November 09, 2014

User Review: "Insight into TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have helped Oil & Gas clients in implementing several Drilling, Completions, Production, Surveillance, Reserves and O & G Accounting Use Cases. Some of these analyses help users analyze near real-time data; others are previous day or weekly/Quarterly/Annual data. Data Relationships and Statistical analysis is another popular areas amongst Geologists, Engineers and Engineering Techs.
  • Enables you to visualize and analyze data.
  • Perform predictive analytics based on statiscal models.
  • Interaction with the data which enables slicing & dicing of the data based on specific requirements which can be very fluid and change from hour to hour
  • Share analyses with other team members, partners and vendors.
  • Connect to disparate data sources for analysis.
  • Run more interactive sessions/meetings without having to say, "I'll get back to you on that".
  • It's an interactive visualization and BI tool, so if you are looking to generate static formatted reports or invoices then this is probably not the tool you need.

Spotfire v6.x - Great improvement to the Map Chart. Another big improvement is being able to move parts of analysis from one dxp to another, which saves you a lot of time and enables multi-user development.

Spotfire professional v5.5 has a new architecture and built-in support for statistical modeling. There is a huge improvement in performance and broader statistical support.

Read Shakeel Muhajir's full review
Sandeep Varma profile photo
September 10, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is scalable, flexible, intuitive and extremely fast. We were having issues with Tableau performance and decided to trial Spotfire. We noticed the difference right away, and then when I played with the analytical abilities of Spotfire, we decided that Spotfire was the way to go. It's not as eye catching as Tableau but definitely more functional. It is probably the best and fastest data discovery tool in the market.
  • Analytics
  • Data Discovery since it's fast
  • Visualization
Tibco Spotfire is excellent for high speed/real-time analytics. I love the new Spotfire Cloud platform; have it hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS) and works really well. Statisticians will also love the product and I think of Spotfire as the next level of SPSS. There are a few visualization aspects I'd like them to improve as that's one aspect I prefer in Tableau.
Read Sandeep Varma's full review
Harry Gu profile photo
March 13, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire: "Integrating Spotfire with web applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spotfire makes it so easy to visualize a large amount of data in the graph of your choice. The filtering mechanism is simple while powerful. The interactive marking feature allows you to drill down to the data very quickly. Dynamic aggregation is really handy. All of these can be applied to one or more tabular data sets with no need of up-front dimensional modeling.
  • The architecture of the product is sound. A .net API can be used to customize existing or create new visualizations that can be deployed to Web Player and Spotfire Professional. Spotfire Server provides support for security, deployment and management of the library items and so on. Each of these server components are fully fault-tolerant and production ready.
  • For version 4.5 or earlier, the loading of the data was slow when the data set got larger. Version 5.0 or later should have made this much better, even though I didn't have a chance to use it.
  • Spotfire Server needed some polish. It was Java-based, in contrast to .net-based Web Player. The interfaces and documentation for customization and extension were poor.
  • Earlier versions did not have support for non-relational data, which was introduced in later versions.
Read Harry Gu's full review
Prabhu Ramamoorthy profile photo
October 18, 2013

"TIBCO Spotfire + analytics review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Visualization (presentation, reporting, slice and dice).
  • Analytics.
  • Ability to handle large and diverse data sets.
  • Customer interface.
  • The analytics interface could be improved.
  • Support for financial libraries and inbuilt libraries could be increased.
Spotfire is one of the leading tools for visualization and intelligence. It seems to have generated a lot of interest lately and is faring very well, including in many of the IT research reports.
Read Prabhu Ramamoorthy's full review
No photo available
November 18, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by my department. SW is addressing experiment data analysis and spec setting. We also use SW to create auto reports and publish for managers and engineering review. Major problems that we address are: problem with our product components, problems with the whole product, alignment between simulation and experiment, meeting quality and performance requirements.
  • Spotfire enables us to build holistic analysis platform: connection to data, basic analysis, advanced analysis, publishing of the results.
  • Analysis is interactive and data is interconnected across tables.
  • Easy programming of basic analysis functions.
  • I would like to keep visualization parameters unchanged when I switch source table in visualization to new table and new table has the same columns.
  • Information link is static. I would like to have an option to choose columns in info link interactively.
  • Heavy analysis may take a lot of resources on my desktop. I would like to have an alert when too much resources are consumed in order to reduce my template to match available computing resources.
Major value from Tibco is to analyze data stored in database, visualize results and publish report. It is well suited for big data, a lot of variables, and complex interaction. It is suitable for any analytical task: medical, finance, semiconductor, chemistry, pharamaceutical, operations, sales, science. Anywhere we learn from data to build product, solution, or business.
Read this authenticated review
Prem S. Kumar profile photo
August 29, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "An Always-On way to keep an eye on your Data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Excellent report-building tool, particularly for data sets/sources that contain more than the Excel-maximum 1.05 million rows per sheet.
  • Very simple to make calculations to data, either through predefined aggregation methods or through custom expressions.
  • Visually appealing GUI, designed with end-users in mind.
  • Provides a transition from Ad-Hoc-request-based data reporting to more "always on" real-time data tracking.
  • Able to import data from a variety of sources, from spreadsheet files to preexisting databases.
  • Details-on-Demand make it simple to drill-down to the raw data behind the visualization.
  • Very difficult to remove mistakes or inconsistencies in data from calculations.
  • If user has no previous experience with similar software, the learning curve is at least a month.
  • Lack of an automatic Save feature is problematic in case the software crashes.
In the area of Clinical Data tracking, Spotfire is an easy-to-learn,
visually appealing and powerful reporting tool. It has a cleaner and
less cluttered interface than Excel, yet offers a wider variety of
customizing options, including how and what data is displayed.
Details-on-Demand and tooltips are particularly noteworthy, as they
provide a quick snapshot of the data where it may be difficult to see a
pattern or other details.
Read Prem S. Kumar's full review
No photo available
September 27, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Cloud Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to analyze and present data related to production operations, as well as to forecast future business. The primary driver is resource optimization--we use Spotfire to track work in progress and resource allocation (specifically people/time), to ensure that staff are optimally deployed. We also use Spotfire to calculate and present performance metrics for individuals, products, and programs. Finally we use Spotfire to plan future resource needs by analyzing past performance. Spotfire is used by one department at the company, we have 2-3 authors who publish to the cloud for viewing by the larger team (50). Spotfire solves two key problems that Excel can't--it's easy to connect to data sources for live refresh, and it's easy to put things on the web so that many people can explore them at once.
  • Connects to every data source imaginable and does it quickly and efficiently, and is repeatable.
  • Presents an excellent blend of out-of-the-box visualizations and complete customization. I suspect most companies (including mine) are barely scratching the surface of what's possible with scripting, property controls, etc.
  • The coding for custom expressions is easy to learn for anyone comfortable writing formulas in Excel.
  • Help (F1) content seems somewhat outdated at times, and the company has yet to create an effective and useful space for the community to interact (the old pre-TIBCO forums were awesome!).
  • I wish there was a little more UI support and handholding for establishing & managing relationships between data tables, and for blending data sources in visualization.
  • It would be nice if it were possible to edit a data table after it was created (e.g. go back change what options were selected on import).
  • The colors still aren't amazing (but they get better with each release). Still a little too much focus on primary colors for default schemes.
  • Visualization export still needs work. As much as I wish everyone would go to the webplayer, sometimes you need something for a static report. The canned exports are not pretty.
Well suited for any use case involving presenting visuals from a large dataset, especially one where you'd like to be able to refresh the data source regularly. Less suitable for quick and dirty number crunching (give me the average of these 100 rows) -- Excel is often better for these.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - the best kept secret in Business Intelligence & Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The depth and extensibility of the Spotfire platform is being used to provide instant access and insight across multi-million row data sets with hundreds of data elements per row instantly to a complex organisation of multi foci users. We are able to provide a beautiful, intuitive and rich user experience through the deep technology layers of IronPython and out of the box functionality that we have not seen in Tableau, SAS or even Qlik. Underpinned by the T.E.R.R statistical engine for calculations and analytical modelling, we are helping to identify efficiencies and opportunities to improve the clinical service delivery, efficiency and cost across more than 90 hospitals.
  • Outstanding statistical underbelly based upon R without a bolt-on addition.
  • Beautiful interface and visual design out of the box with a lot of flexibility in embedding HTML and javascript.
  • Great and simple management of data and calculated/binned data columns.
  • Really simple security integration and configuration with in-house ICT infrastructure.
  • Very cost-effective in our experience, again much more so under the TOA for procurement compared to other platforms.
  • Tooltips require significant work in their flexibility of use compared to Tableau and Qlik e.g. Cannot easily customise value formats, cannot add any custom tooltips on text area elements, cannot interact with tooltip e.g. insert a checkbox in a tooltip that you can click.
  • Cannot individual style charting objects/visualisations i.e. if you dont want a line chart to have axis lines - then when setting the global themes... all axes have to be enabled/disabled - so theming is very limited and individual visualisation formatting is limited - but look and feel thankfully good out of the box so can get by on good looks... for a while.
  • Printing from the web player is almost unuseable - it fails completely with a dark themed analysis.
  • Inadequate session sharing - Qlik does this very well
  • Hierarchies are not drill through and you must show all values at each level AND this in the levels above which makes the axes labels unreadable when all expanded. SAS VA does the drill through the best of all the BI platforms on chart viaualisations in my opinion.
  • Tables are very poorly thought through. Cross tables have no deill down - all levels of the crosstable are always expanded which is hopeless for alot of data. All tables look and feel is poorly implemented - no width as a percentage, no proper dynamic auto width, no column min-width, issues with conditional formatting. But spotfire isnt alone in poorly implemented tables. And different styling features and options on each table - very inconsistent.
The more we explore the platform, the more scenarios we are finding we can use it for - from beautiful dynamic infographics through to complex statistical analyses. I would recommend it for almost any scenario where large data volumes, centralised governance, true analytics and beautiful look and feel is required! I do wish TIBCO would showcase these features in their demos - most of which are quite ugly! C'mon TIBCO... let the Spotfire butterfly shine just as bright as Tableau's pretty yet shallow interface!
Read this authenticated review
Siddharth Matta profile photo
October 03, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: Bringing Business on the right Spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reports that take hours to refresh data can be scheduled, making them available to users on a click.
  • Users can change filters on the fly, and get their answers in no time.
  • One visualization can cater to different types of user roles. A Store Manager would be interested to see store level details; an area manager would want to see all stores under his area, and likewise for Region/Zone managers. We can create one visualization that shows summary based on what level users choose from drop down - store or area or region or zone.
  • One can compare trending for sales of a product across all states, for example, by breaking down a visualization by state using the Trellis feature of Spotfire.
  • Defining hierarchy levels in Spotfire is very easy. One doesn't need to do any dimensional modelling, or build cubes for this.
  • Checkbox Filters: Filters just trigger report refresh the moment there is a change is list of values. This sometimes become painful in case of Checkbox filters. Suppose there are 10 values in a checkbox filter, and one wants to view data for only 3 out of 10 values. The moment one unchecks a value, spotfire starts loading the data. There is no way to control the loading/refresh of data only after all 7 values have been unchecked.
Read Siddharth Matta's full review
Avinash Yerra BOCP, OCA profile photo
January 16, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire-Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Capital Markets and Credit Loss Management areas both use Spotfire and we have proven results. Essentially we access big data from other systems like Bloomberg databases and then end users analyze this data to make business decisions. We have two or three dashboards are active for capital markets decision making.
  • Spotfire can access databases and build dashboards very well. Performance is good, because the data is cached. There are also excellent statistical tools.
  • Visualizations are generally good.
  • Scheduling and Distribution: Tools like Business Objects or Cognos have excellent distribution mechanisms. Tibco Spotfire does not allow you to distribute a report directly. You have to first create an XML file and then distribute it. It's possible to see and open the reports, but it does not have scheduling flexibility like other tools.
  • Excel Export and Enterprise support: Most people use Excel to analyze data but it's not possible to export the data to an Escel format.
I think the API needs to be updated in the tool.
Read Avinash Yerra BOCP, OCA's full review
No photo available
October 23, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Better than PowerPoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like the sum tables and the bar charts. I use it to input shapefiles and Excel files. It allows me to review large data and look for key elements. I use this in oil and gas. This program saves me time. I recommend it to ever customer I work with and help show them some demos online.
  • The Sum Tables. It allows great data review.
  • The bar charts help show totals and easy compare by date ranges
  • The map helps see the location of the data. I work with lease and mineral data.
  • User manual in pdf form.
  • Sometimes the program is a little advanced and I don't understand it.
  • I would like to see more teaching videos linked to each type of chart styles to help explain.
It works great with Excel data and large files. When working and comparing different elements I can not think of another software package that beats it. The only thing I wish it did a little better was link to ArcGIS directly and then I could edit the data in Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire - versatile BI tool for corporate reporting on data insights"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you consider the most recent version, then I have used a trial version of 7.5 to compare with a Tableau implementation. The earlier Spotfire version used on a detailed project level was 6.5. Version 7.5 in the cloud is easy to handle and provides an impressive quick dashboard that I like in terms of quick development and clarity in the design of a dashboard. This tool is good for corporate people in particular for KPI reports and dashboards. This is used to provide business solutions e.g., certain KPIs that are heavily dependent on data and insights generated out of data. We used it in a metric design for various pharma business milestones: trends, volume, speed, etc.
  • Easy to build dashboard instead of creating a metalayer unlike a universe design in Business Objects.
  • This tool can be handled by various types of users (not only by developers of Spotfire), to design a few quick analytic reports.
  • Analytics can be good with visualizations.
  • If you know SQL you can create any db query and put it into an information link then design the dashboard upfront in Spotfire desktop.
  • The server supports different databases and big data I guess.
  • What I could not find here is any specific dimension or measure being defined in a Spotfire layer.
  • Not sure yet - Does do the dimensional model internally or just consider the numeric as a measure and the non numeric as a dimension?
  • It would be nice if this tool could generate a design of a data model after the developer has created or defined the data points in the report.
  • Data visualizations are stronger in tableau than in Spotfire.
  • Dashboards can be rapidly developed in Spotfire.
  • If the report design needs more security and a long term consistent design of data layer then this may not be ideal.
  • I do not have much knowledge in server level information/configuration and in memory practice with this tool, so I can not comment on that now.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Morgan profile photo
October 19, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - A competent but not leading BI Viz Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simple at creating visualizations and dashboards
  • Visualizations were a little tired in their implementation; Tableau has more modern versions of the same
Read Paul Morgan's full review
phani balagam profile photo
June 25, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Mania"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are an advertising company, and Spotfire has helped our business in many ways. Its visualizations are very rich and of its data crunching abilities features have provided data insights very rapidly.
  • We use it primarily to track advertising campaign performance on behalf of clients. We are able to see at a glance which are the top-performing campaigns and which are performing less well. Based on this, we can then take necessary action plan for the campaigns.
  • We also use the product heavily to provide us with audience insight. We can track user impressions and clicks and re-target ads to people as they visit other websites. Ultimately we can crunch through lots of data to better understand what triggers a purchase decision.
  • Tibco Spotfire is good at handling big data, but I would like to see it handling the very biggest data. Data volumes are growing as there is more and more customer analysis and segmentation information and it's important to keep up with these volumes.
Read phani balagam's full review
No photo available
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Highly visual proximity to the data for an advanced analyst"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used to provide transparency to our ERP data for marketing/sales support, purchasing, and inventory management.
  • Spotfire provides a lot of proximity to the data. I can quickly throw up a dozen different visualizations to evaluate the data from multiple perspectives, with drill-down visualizations easily created and defined by data "markings" rules.
  • My favorite is the on-demand link capability, which enables me to easily trawl through data sets (where I've pre-defined a connection.)
  • Spotfire has excellent drill-down capability. Two clicks and you have set up a secondary visualization that explores a sub-set of the data from a different perspective.
  • Spotfire has a system of markings that can define what data shows up in what visualization or circumstance. It is very handy to rapidly explore the "corners" of your data, if you will, to see the odd features or characteristics of the data.
  • Flow of data. What I mean is, I end up with these large files with a dozen tabs where I'm splitting off a chunk of data, performing calculations in a cross-table, exporting and saving it as a .csv, re-importing it, doing more calculations, and then merging these results back into another data set. And then I'm only interested in a subset of this new data, but I'm opening up the entire massive report and adding a new tab to view it.
  • Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R. This isn't a "try-it-you'll-figure-it-out-as-you-go-along" application. At least, I never could.
  • Getting questions answered. The community, availability of experts, and easily-googled reference questions. Getting "OVER" statements correct can be tricky. Understanding how to approach a particular situation within Spotfire can be uncertain. The paid training, I thought, was excellent -- but it was relatively expensive, and (at least a year ago, maybe it's gotten better, because this has been consistent feedback) it seemed there should have been far more training freebies.
  • Spotfire is a nice all-in-one package (extraction, visualization, and heavier-hitting advanced capabilities) but we've hit a point where we want a dedicated ETL tool, and easier-to-use visualization tools for non-quant, non-analytics people. (But quantitative analysts like myself are the losers in this transition-- we really like our Spotfire!)

TIBCO Spotfire excels with providing proximity to data for visual exploration by advanced analysts. For this reason I like to use it for cleaning data sets --- I'm not just relying on some summary statistics, but I can rapidly highlight the unusual data points or kink in the graph and explore with several visualizations and then look at the underlying data rows. It's also highly extensible, including a pretty impressive range of management through relatively simple IronPython scripts.

In my experience, the people who prefer Spotfire are the more advanced analysts. They really like to explore what is happening and poke it from a bunch of angles. Regular business people, and simpler analysts, find it a little too complicated and not as "beautiful" in the graphics.

Read this authenticated review
Jesse Block profile photo
September 16, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is here to stay"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use the product daily to proactively monitor performance of our clients. Analysts log in, and the data is automatically populated for them. This has saved us many hours of filing through spreadsheets, and lengthy queries to look at data. The graphs, the drill-downs, the functionality, and the features have grown our ability to do a lot more without adding resources.
  • Excellent tool to visualize the data. The user experience is great as well, and the novice user is able to navigate with minimal training.
  • The speed with large datasets is a drawback. We have large amounts of data that flow through Spotfire every day, and would like to see Spotfire process the data faster.
Our use of Spotfire has expanded, and we continue to promote the use of the product within our company. The value is there, and we will continue to use this product.
Read Jesse Block's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions