TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire in a K4 - 12, bilingual, international school in ColombiaThe TiBCO Spotfire Platform is being used by Colegio Nueva Granada to provide access to data from a variety of sources to teachers, administrators and other school staff. A variety of dashboards are available to teachers to monitor student performance in the classroom and on standardized tests. Dashboards for tracking trends in school metrics are available to administrators to track trends and monitor progress towards school improvement objectives. The problem that Spotfire solves is decreasing the burden in gathering actionable data so educational staff are able to make data-informed decisions about their teaching strategies in the classroom. Furthermore, accreditation standards are very data focused, and Spotfire helps us achieve those standardized at higher levels.,Merge data from a variety sources into a single data table Easy user interface for the author and the end-users Customer technical support Innovation with new releases,Filter elements added into text boxes do not have the name of the filter above them as they do in the filter menu. Calculated columns in the receiving table are not available as columns on which one can match during a merging process unless they were calculated using a data table transformation. The legend icon for graphics is hidden until you scroll over it. Inexperienced users don't know it is there.,10,,10,5Struggling first time Spotfire userSpotfire is used by multiple departments, primarily to display reports about production and drilling data. Many of the reports and charts are it provides are visible on the company's intranet.,Handles working with large amounts of data. I access a relative small database with about 5000 records. I have to chart multiple features of the data and use Spotfire together with Access to accomplish this. Filter and groups data. Grouping and filtering data in charts on the fly helps make sense of data. Easy to update data.,I have yet to get into using vba and programming with Spotfire. My company is a version or two behind the latest version of Spotfire and I find the training material on line for Spotfire is focused on the current version of Spotfire, so getting the examples of work with our version has been challenging.,7,,Online training In-person training,7,6Spotfire is a great BI tool and the company is very happy with the results given by this toolTIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization. [It is] addressing inventory, delivery material, customer satisfaction, invoicing, and AP/AR issues. We are using it in all these areas and we are working on more dashboards for more areas. As an international company for the moment we started with US and we are working on Mexico and Central America.,Give us a fancy way to present information Give us a quick way to detect issues Give us the possibility to drill down inside the information as needed,In the inventory side to detect materials with inventory days more that expected according the type of each material In the billing side, give us the visibility to know the amount to be finalized and detect the areas with more opportunities In the financial side, is important to know how the company (and each department) is doing against the budget and YAGO,10,Birst,Birst,Online training Self-taught,10,Is easy to learn the first steps, however I needed coaching to improve my metrics and dashboards. Sometimes I feel it is not intuitive (when you are using it the first time). After that I sped up my developments, just at the beginning I felt lost. However, the Spotfire web help (communities) are very useful.,12,2,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Analyst Reports,Absolutely, but for us with all the knowledge that we have, we know that we'll choose again Spotfire.Spotfire is worth it!TIBCO Spotfire is being used company-wide within the technical department for troubleshooting analysis/process condition management.TIBCO Spotfire has been wonderful to visualize data quickly and differently and is now essential to help troubleshoot any current issues and to prevent reoccurring issues.,Quick to use/high visibility. Easy to filter out any unnecessary data. Easy to present data to other groups such as maintenance to resolve issues. Graphs are superb!,If possible use some of Excel's formulas in the cells. The ability to monitor input data and if data is added, Spotfire would recognize it and alert that data is now modified.,10,,In-person training,,10,NoSpotfire Self reviewSecurity : Here we can design the row level security based on the user who logs into the system. even row level security can be build for huge data set(millions of records), By keeping actual data-table in cache we can bring live data for security table and applying restriction on already cached data(no waiting time) Using HTML & J-Script Using of Python script: All the property can be controlled thru Python scripting. with single click event we can in-work python scripts which execute dynamically.,Doesn't support cube/Hyperion data source directly. In-DB connection are not flexible, wont support embedding or adding calculated columns.,8,,10,In the war of Tableau vs Spotfire, Spotfire gained lots of popularity with the help of flexible a UI representation.,8,8,Yes
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 538 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (176-200 of 237)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Olga Polyakov profile photo
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in a K4 - 12, bilingual, international school in Colombia"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TiBCO Spotfire Platform is being used by Colegio Nueva Granada to provide access to data from a variety of sources to teachers, administrators and other school staff. A variety of dashboards are available to teachers to monitor student performance in the classroom and on standardized tests. Dashboards for tracking trends in school metrics are available to administrators to track trends and monitor progress towards school improvement objectives.

The problem that Spotfire solves is decreasing the burden in gathering actionable data so educational staff are able to make data-informed decisions about their teaching strategies in the classroom. Furthermore, accreditation standards are very data focused, and Spotfire helps us achieve those standardized at higher levels.
  • Merge data from a variety sources into a single data table
  • Easy user interface for the author and the end-users
  • Customer technical support
  • Innovation with new releases
  • Filter elements added into text boxes do not have the name of the filter above them as they do in the filter menu.
  • Calculated columns in the receiving table are not available as columns on which one can match during a merging process unless they were calculated using a data table transformation.
  • The legend icon for graphics is hidden until you scroll over it. Inexperienced users don't know it is there.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for interactive use. It is not well suited for report generation. When we provide graphics for printed reports, we can not export them from Spotfire. We have to export the base data table into Excel and recreate the graphic. This is understandable, since the two goals are very distinct, and I'm not sure it would be possible to meet both needs at the same time.
Read Olga Polyakov's full review
Stephen Willliams profile photo
January 16, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Struggling first time Spotfire user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by multiple departments, primarily to display reports about production and drilling data. Many of the reports and charts are it provides are visible on the company's intranet.
  • Handles working with large amounts of data. I access a relative small database with about 5000 records. I have to chart multiple features of the data and use Spotfire together with Access to accomplish this.
  • Filter and groups data. Grouping and filtering data in charts on the fly helps make sense of data.
  • Easy to update data.
  • I have yet to get into using vba and programming with Spotfire. My company is a version or two behind the latest version of Spotfire and I find the training material on line for Spotfire is focused on the current version of Spotfire, so getting the examples of work with our version has been challenging.
[TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for] Live reporting of data, if one has a few specialist programmers who are good with working with large data, for analysing large datasets.
Read Stephen Willliams's full review
Gustavo Arreola profile photo
January 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a great BI tool and the company is very happy with the results given by this tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization. [It is] addressing inventory, delivery material, customer satisfaction, invoicing, and AP/AR issues. We are using it in all these areas and we are working on more dashboards for more areas.

As an international company for the moment we started with US and we are working on Mexico and Central America.

  • Give us a fancy way to present information
  • Give us a quick way to detect issues
  • Give us the possibility to drill down inside the information as needed
  • In the inventory side to detect materials with inventory days more that expected according the type of each material
  • In the billing side, give us the visibility to know the amount to be finalized and detect the areas with more opportunities
  • In the financial side, is important to know how the company (and each department) is doing against the budget and YAGO

Is well suited to analyze information and drill down the information as needed, to detect areas with issues or gains. It is user-friendly, users prefer to use this tool once they can be more productive.

Is less appropriate in the case when presented in different devices automatically (we need work on the development side).

Read Gustavo Arreola's full review
Elias Chaves profile photo
December 28, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is worth it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

TIBCO Spotfire is being used company-wide within the technical department for troubleshooting analysis/process condition management.

TIBCO Spotfire has been wonderful to visualize data quickly and differently and is now essential to help troubleshoot any current issues and to prevent reoccurring issues.

  • Quick to use/high visibility.
  • Easy to filter out any unnecessary data.
  • Easy to present data to other groups such as maintenance to resolve issues.
  • Graphs are superb!
  • If possible use some of Excel's formulas in the cells.
  • The ability to monitor input data and if data is added, Spotfire would recognize it and alert that data is now modified.
TIBCO Spotfire is very well suited for process engineers in the chemical industry.
Read Elias Chaves's full review
Deenadhayalan Jayaraman profile photo
December 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Self review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Security : Here we can design the row level security based on the user who logs into the system. even row level security can be build for huge data set(millions of records), By keeping actual data-table in cache we can bring live data for security table and applying restriction on already cached data(no waiting time)
  • Using HTML & J-Script
  • Using of Python script: All the property can be controlled thru Python scripting. with single click event we can in-work python scripts which execute dynamically.
  • Doesn't support cube/Hyperion data source directly.
  • In-DB connection are not flexible, wont support embedding or adding calculated columns.
TIBCO Spotfire is overall stable and provides reliable visualization. More can be explored using R predictive language.
Read Deenadhayalan Jayaraman's full review
Mithun Mathews profile photo
December 15, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Day in Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • R engine for Predictive modeling is Fantastic.
  • Ability to use HTML and Java Script to make dashboard like a true webpage.
  • Ability to use Java scrip to build custom visualization like Speedometer.
  • Over functions to Slice and Dice Data are very Efficient, Calculations columns are easy to understand and use.
  • Ability to have Text area, [for example] floating text area within visualizations.
  • A GUI for creating joins between tables would be good add on.
  • Ability to change joins on the fly.
Engineering applications are better reported using Spotfire, specially things like Production Forecast, Decline curve Fits and refitting it to measure against actual production. [It gives the] Ability to write back data to database using 3rd party add ons, or simple r script / iron python.
Read Mithun Mathews's full review
Willy Nunn profile photo
April 07, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire keeps up the heat on readily accessible analytics for business users."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is currently in the implementation phase across multiple departments including sales, operations (manufacturing), process engineering, human resources, and materials management. Its original install was intended as a process engineering tool to investigate data relationships in process and manufacturing data. However, it's ease of use helped us grab much of the readily available business data to help find the hidden "details behind the data". We have found that its biggest value is collaborative use in a meeting environment where multiple individuals can work and drive actions from the data interaction abilities Spotfire provides.
  • Spotfire's interactive visualizations with drill-down capability make it extremely easy to gain insight from large data sets, and deliver that same ability to business users within minimal hand holding.
  • The ability of Spotfire to "mashup" data from disparate data sources creates agile analytics that can provide real business insight in a manufacturing environment (e.g. process data combined with quality data).
  • The strong capability of the web based platform relative to the traditional desktop platform makes it incredibly easy to disseminate analytics across multiple user groups.
  • Default visualizations and colors are visually appealing and allow for quick diving into the data rather than spending significant time fiddling with the setup to get the data to "look right".
  • The help files for building custom expressions within analytics files should be significantly updated to provide better usage examples. Frequently analysts have to look externally to find answers as to how to properly parse a custom expression.
  • Errors require more feedback to direct the user as to how to correct the root cause of the error.
  • Visualization builder should be context sensitive to prevent selections of incompatible data, or impossible axes, etc.
Spotfire is well suited to gain quick business value in an area where there is not a significant quantity of centralized data. Easy drag and drop importing of Excel data makes for rapid deployment in a work environment where the business is just starting to grow, and the importance of self-serve analytics is critical. This is especially true in an environment with a very lean IT work force where much of the data discovery needs to be done by the business users themselves.
Read Willy Nunn's full review
Luan Tran profile photo
March 18, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Just another review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used in R&D and Internal Audit to visualize data and enable our users to do data analysis.
  • Spptfore allows our users to 'discover' data patterns and to spot trends. We use it to perform financial fraud analytics
  • Spotfire allows our users to easily drill down on data across hierarchies.
  • Spotfire enables us to easily prototype a certain graph and data visualization for presentation.
  • Spotfire enables us to do data profiling when we don't understand the relationships between the data.
  • Product installation and product management is NOT as refined as some other enterprise tools
  • The 'programing interface' (e.g the formula screen, the user function screen) can be improve so that developers can easily program their code without having to strain their eyes to look for errors
  • At least with the version we are using, we need improvement on database connectivity and the entire data model organization. There is no obvious way to update the data model without throwing the entire thing out of the window.
Spotfire is not suited for 'canned' report and other more rigid visualization. Spotfire is also not very 'programmable' (as opposed to BI or Tableau).
Read Luan Tran's full review
Brent Meyers profile photo
March 01, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Robust data engine & standardized visualizations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

As a field consultant I deploy TIBCO Spotfire, develop data visualization reports/dashboards/templates, and provide on-site training and mentoring. Most of my clients use Spotfire as an enterprise reporting solution. I have also helped the vast majority of those same organizations deploy ad hoc analysis environments. The ad hoc use cases are typically inter departmental analysis projects.

Almost all of my clients select TIBCO Spotfire for it's ability to easily visualize data, merge disparate data sets, scale across an expanding enterprise, and handle data loading in a variety of methods. Additionally, I work with a large number of clinical research and life sciences firms who have read about the growing number of Spotfire extensions (custom add-ins) that are geared specially to their industry. This level of customization generates a great level of interest in Spotfire.

  • Data transformation. Pivoting, un-pivoting, aggregation, and numerous other data transformations can be achieved through a simple "Information Link" GUI or through custom SQL. Additional transformations, joins, calculation expressions can be achieved within the client as well.
  • Standardized visualizations. Spotfire provides all of the typical types of visualizations (bar charts, scatter plots, tree maps, geo, dashboards, etc.) in a clean standard format that is easily recognized by users.
  • Strong SaaS capabilities. Strong web-player out of the box that can be embedded and manipulated in your own site.
  • Robust use of data structure. Spotfire provides a range of options from importing spreadsheets to connecting to existing databases. Data can be merged within Spotfire via the GUI, pushed to the database, or return select data sets based on user actions.
  • Simple web and client interface. Intuitive interface for users and visualization report developers. Visualization options are limited for the sake of standardization
  • Depth of reporting capabilities. Simple enough for a casual user to develop simple reports, but powerful enough data transformation and calculation expressions to build complex reports.
  • One the greatest improvements with the latest versions of Spotfire (v6 and v7) is its ability to load enormous data sets. Spotfire was already the industry leader as an in-memory data visualization tool (as well as a hybrid data on-demand method), but it now supports numerous "big-data" data connections. This allows Spotfire to push demanding data processing into the database and return only the necessary metadata to build a visualization.
  • Visual user interface customization has improved dramatically with the latest Spotfire versions. Version 6 allowed for much more custom HTML/CSS/Java Script to produce unique visual solutions. Version 7 took that further by allowing a GUI (point and click) to modify nearly the entire user interface. Essentially you can alter the UI to the point that Spotfire begins to look like any webpage you like.
  • Error handling. The data engine and expression builder have almost no organic error handling or troubleshooting capabilities. Program errors, while minimal, are vague and appear spontaneously.
  • Training for data transformation user interface. On-site and online training for visualization report development is good, but data engine training is minimal at best.
  • Flexibility of visualization design. Design options are very limited and are not as powerful as Tableau or MS Excel 2010+.
  • While version 7 has provided extensive flexibility in modifying the user interface, the amount of flexibility in adjusting data visualizations is still limited.
  • Auto-save or version control. There is no auto-save or automated version control. The client will crash sporadically and all work is lost since the last file save.
  • Progressiveness of visualization designs. Spotfire lags behind its competitors in the range of visualization types and the options available to manipulate the current visualizations.
  • Standardization of design controls. Report authoring options that you would expect to be ubiquitous are not and those that are available are sometimes found in different locations.
  • Resource hog! Spotfire requires a good deal of memory, processing power, and efficiently tuned data sources. Spotfire v7 is especially demanding on memory and processing power. All versions will demand efficiently tuned in database sources. Poorly tuned databases will become a bottleneck in performance.
  • Upgrading can be challenging if you have custom extensions or Spotfire reports using complex operations (eg. large in-memory data, large number of tabs, complex logic, multiple data sources merging, etc.)
Fantastic data reporting, discovery, and analytics tool! Basic report development and sharing is simple and clean in design. Powerful and elegant visualization reports are possible, but require some time to learn the client and produce efficient data views within your databases.
The greatest strength of Spotfire is its ability to merge data from numerous data sources and easily visualize said data. Additionally, Spotfire allows several methods to load data to achieve optimal performance while also being able to analyze across data sets.
Don't like the stock visualizations in Spotfire? Spotfire now has the capability to display nearly any JavaScript visualization and connect it with your data. You can interact with the visualizations in the same manner as the organic Spotfire visualizations. On top of this, text areas within a Spotfire analysis can be used to curate your data and add further interactivity.
Read Brent Meyers's full review
Blake Humphries profile photo
October 07, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Oil and Gas"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to evaluate oil and gas developments across the country. It is used by a few different departments in the same fashion. We use it to look at trends and results from different drilling, completion and production.
  • We like being able to look at large data sets to analyze the data we already have.
  • The mapping tool is helpful.
  • Multiple tables with maps on a single visualization are very helpful.
  • Map labels are very limiting when looking at a large data set. Threshold on labels should be limitless.
  • Markers on maps shapes should have more options.
  • Zooming in on maps should be more smooth.
It is good with large datasets that have already been processed. The biggest issue we have with colleagues wanting to use Spotfire is the data going into the analysis has to be good to get good results.
Read Blake Humphries's full review
Ryan James profile photo
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Desktop"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to quickly evaluate large oilfield data sets. We gather mainly oil and gas well production and completion information pulled from IHS, drilling info, rig data and frac focus. We can quickly look at trends and cause and effects based on what different operators are doing. It has become a go to tool when building type curves and other technical materials.
  • Analyzes data very quickly.
  • Allows for easy manipulation of axis and plot/chart styles.
  • Handles large data sets with ease.
  • Formatting for presentations and output leaves much to be desired.
  • The ability to customize the appearance of outputs and visualizations is lacking and severely limited, especially when trying to conform to corporate branding.
  • It is missing many of the familiar functions and tools that are present in the Microsoft office suite and it could integrate better.
TIBCO Spotfire is great for analysis and number crunching; poor for outputting into client presentations.
Read Ryan James's full review
Elisa Westlund profile photo
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Spot on with easy to use BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to deliver information to the sales organization and insights to the daily business.
  • Predictive analytic capabilities that are simple to execute.
  • Self guided analytics for all levels of users.
  • Cloud based platform simplifies delivery process, provides overall seamless insight across many departments with excellent data integration.
  • Need to have Excel output options for table and cross table charts.
  • Increased label options on the tree maps allowing customized series of informational display options.
  • Area charts and more visual art options.
TIBCO Spotfire is uniquely suited for mid size companies or departments that do not have sufficient internal IT departments capable of executing an entire ERP system.
Read Elisa Westlund's full review
Tuan Samidon profile photo
March 04, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Anzani trading group review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are reselling TIBCO Spotfire to big and medium companies by embedding it in our solutions or delivering directly to the business analysts. The main focus of Spotfire in our business is to provide a solution to replace reporting services for our customers with more interactive functionalities. In the end we chose Spotfire mainly for the costs.
  • Geo Localization. Very good because the geo mapping feautures are very strong.
  • Data integration. except for mdx but it can connect directly to many datasources without any difficulty
  • Data Vizualizations. With few clicks you can make a good output of a dashboard
  • OLAP integration.
  • Quality on the layout.
  • Drive the dashboard with custom filters like Penthao.
It works very fine on geo marketing solutions because it uses proprietary maps sources but it falls on the embedding solutions because it doesn't provide, for example the stylesheets. On the mobile [app] it does not represent a good solution due to a lot of layout problems. A lot of competitors are covering this side very well.
Read Tuan Samidon's full review
Hilly Menke profile photo
February 25, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SF from an R&D view"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco spotfire is used by our R&D department for the visualization of complex data. It is also used to create statistical workflows by staticians and make them available for all R&D members.
  • Visualizations are very good.
  • Makes analysis and explaining to others easy.
  • Filtering of data to view details of your complex data.
  • Creation of workflows using R, matlab and others.
  • Nice box plots. It would be great if we can export the table as a table or text. At present it can be only exported as a picture.
  • It would be nice if not only maps but also biological pictures like pathways were be available.
TIBCO Spotfire can be used for a lot of data but the data should be organized in the correct way to answer specific questions. The format of your data is important!
Read Hilly Menke's full review
Miquel Puigvi Soldevila profile photo
April 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful but sometimes hard"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use tibco spotfire across the whole organization in order to mesure the performance of the business and different KPIs.
  • Analytic tools
  • Go in deep from the general picture to details
  • The different ways to show the data
  • Configure the access to different users
  • R is more powerful in statistics terms
  • Freehand joins is not enough
  • Connection with Google analytics should be direct
Tibco Spotfire Platform is less apropiate if we want information from Google Analytics.
Read Miquel Puigvi Soldevila's full review
Marco Ostorero Vinci profile photo
April 15, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good but improvable"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform is used across the whole organization to solve any kind of needs related to data discovery and visualization.
  • Access realtime data and information
  • Integrate statistics with data analysis
  • Genearlly speaking, graphics could be improved in quality and typology
The TIBCO Spotfire Platform works well with realtime on fast data stores, but is not the better choice when working with a huge quantity of data on not-so-fast repositories.
Read Marco Ostorero Vinci's full review
William Baltrus profile photo
March 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "SpotfirePowerUserReview"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to deliver a business intelligence solution to our customers for their data which resides on our platform.
  • Access native SQL Database.
  • Joins to other data well.
  • Provides calculated options to enhance or correct data.
  • Functionality. Missing several key options.
  • Documentation. Not very user friendly or specific.
  • Assistance with specific data specific requirements is lacking.
TIBCO Spotfire is very good at combining data across clients.
Read William Baltrus's full review
Colin McClelland profile photo
June 18, 2015

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "What Most Don't Know About Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Spotfire is used to create internal reports for sales and marketing efforts. It is also presented as a potential BI solution for clients.
  • Not only does Spotfire provide recommended visualizations based upon the data you want to look at, it will then build those visualizations for you, taking half the clicks as other BI tools.
  • Spotifire allows you to create detailed visualizations from multiple data sources and tables on the same page. You cannot do this with Tableau.
  • Spotfire automatically creates and populates a filter panel based on the columns of the tables you import. With Tableau you have to build each filter panel from scratch.
  • Spotire could advertise it's user community more so that more customers are aware of it.
If you only want to pay for what you currently need, are not sure how much you'll need to scale in the future (but don't want any restrictions) or if you're looking for a powerful predictive analytics engine embedded into a BI tool, than Spotfire is definitely a tool to consider. Since Spotfire's memory engine is not dependent upon Cores or Nodes (unlike Tableau), you don't have to estimate how much processing power you need or will need. You only buy what you need, and scaling as far and as wide as your organization demands is as easy as purchasing additional licenses.
Read Colin McClelland's full review
Michael Soliman profile photo
December 04, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Spot-On for Data Analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I particularly enjoy how Spotfire enables us to triage any problems fairly quickly. We can directly connect to a database, pull in a subset of data, and then quickly create visualizations to make judgments on problem severity. For example: we can grab server response data, create a bar chart and then quickly add standard deviation and average lines to the bar chart.
  • This could just be a problem of the (fairly old) version of Spotfire we're using, but being able to directly control database chunksize would be great. The desktop client seems fairly chatty, so you really feel the network latency when you are doing a direct connection with a database across the country.
Like any tool or service you are considering for your company, always go in with the expectation that some work will be needed to integrate it in a fully utilizable way. In my experience, things rarely work "out of the box" so I recommend internal beta-testing first (if time permits, of course) to start learning about the system. During that period, you will start to see how it will really fits in your business.

One key thing to remember is that Spotfire is a great analysis tool. If your company just wants numbers in a spreadsheet format, then you might want to stick with Excel or Crystal Reports. Don't buy a solution and then spend a year looking for a problem it can supposedly solve. ;)
Read Michael Soliman's full review
Shakeel Muhajir profile photo
November 09, 2014

User Review: "Insight into TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have helped Oil & Gas clients in implementing several Drilling, Completions, Production, Surveillance, Reserves and O & G Accounting Use Cases. Some of these analyses help users analyze near real-time data; others are previous day or weekly/Quarterly/Annual data. Data Relationships and Statistical analysis is another popular areas amongst Geologists, Engineers and Engineering Techs.
  • Enables you to visualize and analyze data.
  • Perform predictive analytics based on statiscal models.
  • Interaction with the data which enables slicing & dicing of the data based on specific requirements which can be very fluid and change from hour to hour
  • Share analyses with other team members, partners and vendors.
  • Connect to disparate data sources for analysis.
  • Run more interactive sessions/meetings without having to say, "I'll get back to you on that".
  • It's an interactive visualization and BI tool, so if you are looking to generate static formatted reports or invoices then this is probably not the tool you need.

Spotfire v6.x - Great improvement to the Map Chart. Another big improvement is being able to move parts of analysis from one dxp to another, which saves you a lot of time and enables multi-user development.

Spotfire professional v5.5 has a new architecture and built-in support for statistical modeling. There is a huge improvement in performance and broader statistical support.

Read Shakeel Muhajir's full review
Sandeep Varma profile photo
September 10, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is scalable, flexible, intuitive and extremely fast. We were having issues with Tableau performance and decided to trial Spotfire. We noticed the difference right away, and then when I played with the analytical abilities of Spotfire, we decided that Spotfire was the way to go. It's not as eye catching as Tableau but definitely more functional. It is probably the best and fastest data discovery tool in the market.
  • Analytics
  • Data Discovery since it's fast
  • Visualization
Tibco Spotfire is excellent for high speed/real-time analytics. I love the new Spotfire Cloud platform; have it hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS) and works really well. Statisticians will also love the product and I think of Spotfire as the next level of SPSS. There are a few visualization aspects I'd like them to improve as that's one aspect I prefer in Tableau.
Read Sandeep Varma's full review
Harry Gu profile photo
March 13, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire: "Integrating Spotfire with web applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spotfire makes it so easy to visualize a large amount of data in the graph of your choice. The filtering mechanism is simple while powerful. The interactive marking feature allows you to drill down to the data very quickly. Dynamic aggregation is really handy. All of these can be applied to one or more tabular data sets with no need of up-front dimensional modeling.
  • The architecture of the product is sound. A .net API can be used to customize existing or create new visualizations that can be deployed to Web Player and Spotfire Professional. Spotfire Server provides support for security, deployment and management of the library items and so on. Each of these server components are fully fault-tolerant and production ready.
  • For version 4.5 or earlier, the loading of the data was slow when the data set got larger. Version 5.0 or later should have made this much better, even though I didn't have a chance to use it.
  • Spotfire Server needed some polish. It was Java-based, in contrast to .net-based Web Player. The interfaces and documentation for customization and extension were poor.
  • Earlier versions did not have support for non-relational data, which was introduced in later versions.
Read Harry Gu's full review
No photo available
December 28, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: Easy to Dive in, A Little Harder to Master"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire across our entire organization, but the primary purpose is for trouble shooting the process. Our engineering groups have linked Spotfire to the myriad of data sources used throughout our company to get a comprehensive view of the process and the various impacts different events have on the process. We have used Spotfire to clearly and definitively show performance differences between units that are creating the same product. Migrating Pareto charts for yield impacts from Excel to Spotfire was very easy, and now our Pareto charts are interacting through Spotfire.
  • Creating aesthetically pleasing visualizations is immensely easier than Excel. Also, the Spotfire interface is similar enough to Excel that our engineers did not have any trouble learning the new software.
  • Slicing the data to perform different aggregations is one of the most elegant aspects of Spotfire. The GUI that drives the underlying SQL server is designed and implemented very well. It appears like a normal "What You See Is What You Get", but all of the commands performed using the mouse can be found as properties within the analysis file, allowing easy modifications of the default properties.
  • Spotfire is very fast. It utilizes multi-threading to perform calculations on and rendering of hundreds of thousands of records in seconds and never interrupts the GUI, allowing the user to merrily continue working on the analysis.
  • Several of the visualizations are visually similar to what a user would be familiar with if they have used Microsoft Office charts. However, the Spotfire versions do not allow for the customization of some of the basic appearance properties. For example, there is a visualization that looks like a table, but you are not able to change the text alignment within the cells (I believe the latest version of Spotfire has added this feature).
Once you understand the data format that is most desirable for Spotfire visualizations, there isn't much that it is not able to do. Even if the data is not in a good format, there are built-in functions and tools to massage the data into the correct format. Spotfire is best suited for very quick aggregations of data. For example, if you want to see the sales numbers by year, quarter, month, et cetera, it's as simple as changing a couple of parameters in the visualization.
Read this authenticated review
Prabhu Ramamoorthy profile photo
October 18, 2013

"TIBCO Spotfire + analytics review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Visualization (presentation, reporting, slice and dice).
  • Analytics.
  • Ability to handle large and diverse data sets.
  • Customer interface.
  • The analytics interface could be improved.
  • Support for financial libraries and inbuilt libraries could be increased.
Spotfire is one of the leading tools for visualization and intelligence. It seems to have generated a lot of interest lately and is faring very well, including in many of the IT research reports.
Read Prabhu Ramamoorthy's full review
No photo available
November 18, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by my department. SW is addressing experiment data analysis and spec setting. We also use SW to create auto reports and publish for managers and engineering review. Major problems that we address are: problem with our product components, problems with the whole product, alignment between simulation and experiment, meeting quality and performance requirements.
  • Spotfire enables us to build holistic analysis platform: connection to data, basic analysis, advanced analysis, publishing of the results.
  • Analysis is interactive and data is interconnected across tables.
  • Easy programming of basic analysis functions.
  • I would like to keep visualization parameters unchanged when I switch source table in visualization to new table and new table has the same columns.
  • Information link is static. I would like to have an option to choose columns in info link interactively.
  • Heavy analysis may take a lot of resources on my desktop. I would like to have an alert when too much resources are consumed in order to reduce my template to match available computing resources.
Major value from Tibco is to analyze data stored in database, visualize results and publish report. It is well suited for big data, a lot of variables, and complex interaction. It is suitable for any analytical task: medical, finance, semiconductor, chemistry, pharamaceutical, operations, sales, science. Anywhere we learn from data to build product, solution, or business.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (201)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (172)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (197)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (206)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (153)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (184)
7.9
Publish to Web (154)
8.2
Publish to PDF (180)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (113)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (212)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (188)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (160)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (162)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (135)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (151)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (121)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (85)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (101)
7.1
REST API (30)
6.7
Javascript API (31)
6.7
iFrames (21)
6.5
Java API (24)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (31)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (23)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions