TrustRadius
TOPdesk is the flagship highly-modular cloud-based or installed ITSM service desk and asset management solution from the Dutch company of the same name, for enterprise companies.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/DY/sg/CARZX2SALMK8.JPEGTOPdesk is TOPs in the field of Helpdesk/Knowledge Base systems.The ECNO Shared Technology Services team uses TOPdesk as a one-stop ticket management and queue system for both our internal processes via Change Management, and for our external clients at 33 different school boards to enter support requests for our products and services. It provides both real-time monitoring of our current support requests shared between a team of 3 remote technicians, and allows historical data to be stored and accessed by both our clients and internal teams.,5,TOPdesk provides easy to customize reports based on user or organization designed selections, allowing the data stored inside the helpdesk solution to be extracted, analyzed, and acted upon. Using simple visual queries, any user is able to build data extracts on the fly Importation of data is easy to arrange and insert into the system. From existing support requests to a customer knowledge database, the data can be imported once, or as part of a constantly updating system for user changes, asset management, or user-facing data. The ability to reply to emails to update tickets, both as the person making the support request and as the person working on the support request, makes it much easier to keep everyone informed as to the progress of the tickets and the eventual resolution.,The initial setup curve is very high, with it being strongly recommended that you involve the company in the design and setup phases to be able to get the most out of the program. The complexity of the setup is more than offset by the functionality of the product.,10,TOPdesk has provided ROI of allowing our team more freedom to solve larger problems by directing users to Self-Service solutions through TOPdesk's self-service portal. The clear delimination of work status on tickets allows our team greater efficiency to collaborate on solutions and issues. By updating support requests and being able to update either just the assigned technician or updating the user on the steps to attempt. The Self-Service nature of ticket entry helps the members of our 33 different school board clients direct their tickets down specific pathways to either a solution, or allows us to direct the tickets to the team/technician responsible for the issue for a quicker resolution and less ticket churn between different teams.,JitBit Help Desk,9Customer sherpa can get you there, a journey together.After a lengthy review of our internal processes, procedures and systems we identified a need for an ITSM framework and application to help support it. All business requirements were defined and documented, prior to completing a formal RFP for a new platform. After a lengthy analysis TopDesk was able to meet all our documented requirements and deployment timelines. We are currently running TopDesk to manage how we work with IT requests for our 4000 users. Our current deployment is focused inside the IT department, but we have growing interest from other departments for workflow management and request tracking. We are on track to becoming a business partner with our departments and sites by improving IT's responsiveness, documenting expectations and over-communicating. Along with the platform we have defined 100 "cubed" mantra; 100% of all reactive issues will be tracked, 100% of all proactive work will be scheduled and 100% of IT work will be documented. We are now consistently getting IT done!,,Consulting approach to implementation Ease of use always on (Cloud),System is made up of modules which is good for the scalability, however, there is duplication of configuration effort if you have many of the modules. Ie. L1 and L2 tickets require all actions and events to be duplicated if they are the same. Survey module might be better suited as an integration with market leader engine. SSP forms could be more flexible if they were HTML capable to provide users a better UI Enable the ability to import and export forms, templates, configurations via a customer marketplace. We could upload a good template or rule and other customers could down load it and use it (with a few configuration changes) Knowledgebase articles could be HTML capable for improved user UI. Allow users to subscribe to KB articles and social media. Allow users to update their user profiles with additional details (ie cell #, social media links, education, courses etc.) Add education and training/courses to user profiles. This could provide organizations the ability to manage training. Add task management. Not everything is a ticket. Many department activities that are requested or managed do not need to be a support ticket. Often meetings generate tasks that could be added to Topdesk. A task could be attached to an operator with task name, description, due date, perhaps even a checklist. Then email templates can be added to notify the requestor when complete. Project module is lacking some of the basic details and metrics found in portfolio management (budget, summary, start date, target date, expenses, assets, time management). Project templates could be improved. Could use a time and expense management. Expenses, time by ticket, project, task and/or a simple timesheet and expense sheet for approvals. Finish the Asset modules to eliminate working with 2 asset modules.,8,It will allow us to change the IT culture towards service centric and project centric approaches. Dramatically improve self-service We should be able to do more, more quickly.,ServiceNow and Cherwell Service Management,9,3,Manage IT requests - never lose anything Manage staff workload Self-service for users,Non-IT departments responses to tickets and provide updates with being an operator,Asset management, cost tracking, contract tracking HR user onboarding and off-boarding Implement single Point of Contact Operator training and education/course management,9,SolarWinds N-central, LastPass, Microsoft 365 Business,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,We had a very detailed evaluation process with manage parts and a 8 hour vendor demo. If I had to do this again I would be more specific on the detailed features we were hoping for.Great product for ease of implementation, but back-end customization can be limited.We use it within IT for: Ticket management, change management, inventory control, and the self-service portal We are planning to onboard the maintenance department.,20,Change management request for cell phones with dual approval. Change management request for VPN access with dual approval. Inventory control with TOPsis scan.,More customizing flexibility in the SSP... ex.: iFrames. All change management approval process visible within the SSP during manager approvals.,8,It gives us a clear picture of our day-to-day activities. Able to generate reports for management. Giving end users the ability to solve the little problems via the SSP.,,7TOPdesk Review -- 10 years of TOPdeskWe use TOPdesk for incident, change and asset management internally and also for our B2B customer base. It gives us a central location to manage our global customer's issues and needs, and provides a simple way to delegate and track workflow. Additionally, the data we are able to report on allows us to pinpoint areas of improvement.,,Versatility. The ability to customize the interface. The ability to customize workflows for Incident and Change management is the best I have seen. The ability to segregate customer groups and manage them in one instance of TOPdesk is great.,Would love to see stronger Self Service functionality, such as AI. Would like to see TOPdesk further embrace customer management of the platform. This is a bit more subjective: The interface continues to improve, but I would like to see it be a bit more intuitive.,10,Increased efficiency. Enables proactive customer issue management. Fewer action plans and reparation work.,,9TOPdesk is the first thing I open in the morning...so it's on the top of my list on my desktop.We use it as our main ticketing system across the company. We used to use it with a previous company we owned. Tickets are either emailed to TOPdesk and a ticket is created automatically, or we manually create them. We also use it for our Change management approval process as well.,5,The ability to customize it. Ability to access anywhere there is an internet connection. Cost.,Maybe a little easier to customize. Fix the Canadian phone support number. I called a few times and it just rings and rings. Be able to drag and drop a pic into the comment area while updating a ticket.,7,Since this the first service desk I've used and it's the company's first ticketing system I can't tell if there is a positive or negative impact on ROI. TOPdesk is used daily, so it's definitely being used. We are slowing expanding its use. We started using the change management part of the system.,,6
Windows, Linux
TOPdesk
217 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TOPdesk
217 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 102 of 217 TOPdesk ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jason Barker profile photo
February 07, 2019

Review: "TOPdesk is TOPs in the field of Helpdesk/Knowledge Base systems."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TOPdesk provides easy to customize reports based on user or organization designed selections, allowing the data stored inside the helpdesk solution to be extracted, analyzed, and acted upon. Using simple visual queries, any user is able to build data extracts on the fly
  • Importation of data is easy to arrange and insert into the system. From existing support requests to a customer knowledge database, the data can be imported once, or as part of a constantly updating system for user changes, asset management, or user-facing data.
  • The ability to reply to emails to update tickets, both as the person making the support request and as the person working on the support request, makes it much easier to keep everyone informed as to the progress of the tickets and the eventual resolution.
  • The initial setup curve is very high, with it being strongly recommended that you involve the company in the design and setup phases to be able to get the most out of the program. The complexity of the setup is more than offset by the functionality of the product.
Read Jason Barker's full review
Peter Scantland profile photo
February 13, 2019

TOPdesk Review: "Customer sherpa can get you there, a journey together."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Consulting approach to implementation
  • Ease of use
  • always on (Cloud)
  • System is made up of modules which is good for the scalability, however, there is duplication of configuration effort if you have many of the modules. Ie. L1 and L2 tickets require all actions and events to be duplicated if they are the same.
  • Survey module might be better suited as an integration with market leader engine.
  • SSP forms could be more flexible if they were HTML capable to provide users a better UI
  • Enable the ability to import and export forms, templates, configurations via a customer marketplace. We could upload a good template or rule and other customers could down load it and use it (with a few configuration changes)
  • Knowledgebase articles could be HTML capable for improved user UI. Allow users to subscribe to KB articles and social media.
  • Allow users to update their user profiles with additional details (ie cell #, social media links, education, courses etc.)
  • Add education and training/courses to user profiles. This could provide organizations the ability to manage training.
  • Add task management. Not everything is a ticket. Many department activities that are requested or managed do not need to be a support ticket. Often meetings generate tasks that could be added to Topdesk. A task could be attached to an operator with task name, description, due date, perhaps even a checklist. Then email templates can be added to notify the requestor when complete.
  • Project module is lacking some of the basic details and metrics found in portfolio management (budget, summary, start date, target date, expenses, assets, time management). Project templates could be improved.
  • Could use a time and expense management. Expenses, time by ticket, project, task and/or a simple timesheet and expense sheet for approvals.
  • Finish the Asset modules to eliminate working with 2 asset modules.
Read Peter Scantland's full review
Dan Moncion profile photo
February 08, 2019

TOPdesk Review: "Great product for ease of implementation, but back-end customization can be limited."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Change management request for cell phones with dual approval.
  • Change management request for VPN access with dual approval.
  • Inventory control with TOPsis scan.
  • More customizing flexibility in the SSP... ex.: iFrames.
  • All change management approval process visible within the SSP during manager approvals.
Read Dan Moncion's full review
Jay Hamel profile photo
February 07, 2019

"TOPdesk Review -- 10 years of TOPdesk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Versatility. The ability to customize the interface.
  • The ability to customize workflows for Incident and Change management is the best I have seen.
  • The ability to segregate customer groups and manage them in one instance of TOPdesk is great.
  • Would love to see stronger Self Service functionality, such as AI.
  • Would like to see TOPdesk further embrace customer management of the platform.
  • This is a bit more subjective: The interface continues to improve, but I would like to see it be a bit more intuitive.
Read Jay Hamel's full review
Randy MacFarland profile photo
February 05, 2019

Review: "TOPdesk is the first thing I open in the morning...so it's on the top of my list on my desktop."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to customize it.
  • Ability to access anywhere there is an internet connection.
  • Cost.
  • Maybe a little easier to customize.
  • Fix the Canadian phone support number. I called a few times and it just rings and rings.
  • Be able to drag and drop a pic into the comment area while updating a ticket.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
Lode Bruyninckx profile photo
October 09, 2018

Review: "Topdesk upgrade succesfull at Thomas Regout International B.V."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very good incident management tool. Within one year we will be using this for almost all our departments to manage their incidents and questions.
  • Good Change Management Tool. From the incident management module we can start change management for some issues with a nice workflow beyond it.
  • The Self Service Portal is for the users an archive for a lot of procedures, users can manage their own call, questions etc. And because we are gonna use TOPdesk for HRM and Payroll all our employees will have an account and we will all be speaking the same language.
  • Because we are using the new Topdesk version just for a short time it is difficult to answer this question.
  • We will be evaluating the application all the time and will communicate any missing functionality with Topdesk.
Read Lode Bruyninckx's full review
Pieterjan vanderWerf profile photo
August 30, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk helps to organise your IT department"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a easy to use tool, with many out of the box standard utilities which help defining the IT process.
  • The CMDB module is a great way of keeping sight of hardware en software. We use it for creating reports and keeping track of our items.
  • The change process is very comprehensive and can be used for different types of workflows.
  • For us the change module is to comprehensive, and we use it only in a light form.
Read Pieterjan vanderWerf's full review
Martin 't Hart profile photo
November 14, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk a TOP application for ITSM processes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incident management and following up. The knowledge base is very helpful for us to look back to previous issues and to know what the solution was.
  • We like the plan board so much - it is easy and native.
  • Contract management is helpful for us to know when contracts are ending and with the e-mail warning, we are able to extend the contract before the contract is overdue.
  • Sometimes the interface is a bit confusing as there are parts in ettings management and other parts in the module management.
  • Here in Rwanda internet is not stable, so when there is a short hick-up the connection has been lost and will not come back automatically
Read Martin 't Hart's full review
Dennis Schanschort profile photo
October 30, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Great stuff!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Registering incidents (quick and complete)
  • Monitoring status incidents
  • Reports and overviews of incidents (for management)
  • Sometimes hard to find incidents and other items, also regarding to the configuration
  • Complicated menu structure
  • Hard to understand the process flow
Read Dennis Schanschort's full review
Wil Kuijpers profile photo
October 08, 2018

User Review: "Already for 10 years a happy topdesker"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly graphical interface
  • Good reporting tool
  • Possibility to build a knowledge base for FAQ
  • We are not using all of the modules, so I would like to be careful with comments. Maybe some functions are available in other modules
  • CSM functionality
Read Wil Kuijpers's full review
No photo available
November 23, 2018

"TOPdesk review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Self Service Portal is very powerful and easily customized with forms. Also getting results from within the knowledgebase while typing the subject of a new call, prevents some users from submitting a new call, because they already found the solution to their issue.
  • Intuitive interface for the Self Service Portal and the operators. TOPdesk is not difficult to use.
  • Inegration between the different modules in TOPdesk. For instance: an incident can easily be promoted into a change.
  • The Self Service Portal can use some more customizability. It would be great if it would be possible to drag and drop certain modules on different places on a (sub)page. For instance the location of knowledge items of major incidents and field with just text.
  • KPI's could be better. For instance a KPI that could trigger on the percentage of calls that have gone past their target date. Absolute number don't work in all situations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 23, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk as a service desk tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TOPdesk is very good in automating emails.
  • All user questions can be routed through TOPDesk.
  • Powerfull CMDB.
  • Ease of editing the CMDB.
  • Mailing updates to customers with a one click button (though that might be a local (lack of) configuration).
  • Timer for working on tickets.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 02, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Perfect tool for small and medium size businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use: TOPdesk is straightforward and easy to use for both operators and users.
  • Support: the support provided by TOPdesk is of high quality level. I have always been satisfied with support.
  • Flexibility: TOPdesk is customizable enough to allow it to fit within your organisation.
  • Security: it is not so easy to set up and maintain a different level of access to the actual data in TOPdesk.
  • Reporting: Reports are not so flexible. The new Reporting API is allowing for more flexibility but still needs improvement and focus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Great tool for the bussines"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self Service Desk for endusers works fine. Information about our services is easy to present. We use forms to guide user input and present the info to the right operator.
  • We use incident management, change management and operational managent (recurring activities). It is all presented in one tool. Dashbords can be better to give more overview but the current release is almost fine.
  • Single Sign On with Azure AD works great!
  • Topdesk offers a Kanban planning overview. Incident management uses the Kanban board. Change management does not. This is a big loss.
  • New asset managent is not completed. Reports and selections on assets are not availible. Basic function I think.
  • Contract managent version history is not always easy to understand.
Read this authenticated review
Adrie Bergwerff profile photo
May 29, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk: TOPproduct, TOPservice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support by TOPdesk is excellent. Until now, we didn't have any issues when support was requested.
  • The latest version supports ADFS/SAML authentication. In the former version, this was an add-on you should buy.
  • Continues development of the product bearing in mind the user's input.
  • Copy and paste functionality of pictures.
  • Approval by "managers" of simple changes. Currently, only Extensive Change has this functionality.
  • Rich text formatting in Change Management module.
  • Rating of Changes, currently only a rating of an incident can be used.
Read Adrie Bergwerff's full review
Bob Gruett profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk - A potentially great product currently burdened by a handful of shortcomings"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides a very nice front-end interface for the end-user community.
  • Provides a thorough web-based interface for the operators (back-end technicians).
  • Provides a great deal of flexibility concerning the organization of operators into groups, as well as delegating very granular control over what they can/cannot do in the operators interface.
  • The inventory system - while boasting some cool features such as historical modifications to a system - suffers from one core issue: It is very easy to introduce duplicate records into the system and lose connections between PCs and other objects (licenses, users, support tickets) due to TOPdesk's use of the host name as the primary key in their database.
  • The AD import system is not properly fleshed out, and requires extensive modifications by TOPdesk before it will work. For instance, it won't pull in any addressing information for any of your users by default. It will also pull in blank entries if an account lives in the OU structure you're scanning and that account has a manager whose account lives outside the OU structure in question. Likewise, similar blank entries can be created if an Exchange contact is set as the manager of a user account within your OU.
  • The knowledgebase is decent, but it lacks [A] any real formatting (no numbered or bulleted lists, making procedures difficult to write) and [B] granular control over who can do what (if you give someone in HR the ability to write/edit knowledgebase articles, they also have access to all the IT knowledgebase articles). I believe TOPdesk will be improving this approach in the future, but nothing yet.
  • The trigger/action system (handles all email notifications) is very difficult to set up. It's a powerful system in that you can compose highly customized emails, but without any sort of basic guide or templates it's a very steep learning curve to get working. In my own system I have nearly 40 triggers and nearly 70 actions just to handle who should get what, and it took months to set up - a core reason it took so long to roll out the product. These triggers are not well documented either, so many of them require trial and error to the nth degree.
  • Some aspects of the system are inherently broken. For instance, you can create a trigger to trip whenever someone posts a comment to a ticket, then have an action set up to email all the linked users of a ticket. But if there aren't any linked users then the operator gets a post-comment prompt asking who they want to send the email to, instead of the system being smart enough to know that it shouldn't try sending the email at all.
  • Linked users have no visibility into someone else's ticket. This is odd, because TOPdesk has enabled this feature for [A] users of the same location (where it isn't always applicable) and/or [B] users of the same department (where again, it isn't always applicable). What TOPdesk should do is give *ANY* linked user the ability to see another user's ticket via the self-service portal, but they haven't done this. The result would be a linked user getting an email notification for a ticket which they don't have visibility on, resulting on additional emails back and forth looking for information.
  • On a related note, the two existing visibility options listed above (location-based and department-based) can introduce security holes. Consider a handful of users at a single location or within a single department, then consider that two or three of them are basic users, then there is an assistant manager, and finally there is a manager above everyone. You can easily give the manager visibility of all of his/her subordinates' tickets, but if in order to give the assistant manager visibility over his/her subordinates, you must also give him/her visibility to the manager's tickets.
  • The mobile operators site restricts ticket visibility to only [A] an operator's own tickets and [B] unassigned tickets within that operator's group. So if you have a 10-person support team with a single manager, then as soon as the manager assigns at ticket to one of his/her techs, the manager loses visibility of the ticket. This is especially problematic if you have a manager working in the field on a mobile device 100% of the time (as I do). The only way for the manager to see all tickets is to simply not assign them to anyone, a pretty dumb approach to a problem introduced as part of a poor design choice.
  • As a general rule, TOPdesk has introduced many great ideas, but they are often burdened by the singular approach the TOPdesk designers have taken. As stated above, yes, you have an inventory, but it's borderline unusable because of their choice of primary keys. Or yes, you can link multiple users to a single ticket, but they can't actually SEE the ticket. Or an operator can use the mobile website, but they can't SEE tickets assigned to other members of their team within the mobile website. Things like that. And the most frustrating element is that when you bring these points up their response is almost always 'Why is that a problem?', or 'Why would you want to do it that way?', or something similar which avoids confronting the design issue head on in favor of putting the onus on the customer to justify why something should work the way it works in countless other help desk applications.
  • Don't get me wrong - TOPdesk is a very decent product and has the potential to be GREAT - but after 8 months of prepping before we turned it on, it didn't surprise me in the least that so many individuals (operators) in our organization reported problems and frustrations with it.
  • UPDATE: Since my first review we have upgraded TOPdesk to the latest version and found several previous problems have been fixed (so they no longer appear in this review). One such example was documents attached to KB articles, which show up out of alphabetical order (still a problem), but which previously were not returned during searches. They now are, making the misordering of the files not much of a problem any longer.
  • The point is that TOPdesk is always improving their products, and this gives me great hope going forward that our satisfaction with it will only grow.
Read Bob Gruett's full review
Karl Schuele profile photo
April 16, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Implementing a first ticketing system in our organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to enter tickets by mail from the users.
  • TOPdesk could be used directly out of the box.
  • SaaS makes it easy to setup it up and scales within the region.
  • Excellent support during and after the go-live by the people from TOPdesk.
  • SaaS implementation could be easier if it would be done by TOPdesk as an extra service. My IT department had some difficulties due to lack of knowledge in this area.
Read Karl Schuele's full review
Ian Short profile photo
April 04, 2018

User Review: "TOPdesk is a solid solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Self-service Portal is very good, particularly with the latest version. If you populate the knowledge base well, users can often find the help they need before needing to raise a call
  • Escalation and routing of calls is very straightforward which allows the operators to work efficiently when dealing with calls
  • Separation of different teams within TOPdesk works very well so that they can manage their own calls without seeing each others
  • The tools for configuring events and actions need improving, especially the tool for events which, whilst very powerful, is cumbersome to use when configuring event criteria
  • The built-in form designer within TOPdesk is adequate but could do with better features to allow for more dynamic forms. It would also benefit from being able to post data to custom fields rather than just into the Action box. There is quite a step up between the built-in form designer and the custom XFG form engine which is the only other solution which TOPdesk provide
  • Asset management could do with some improvements as it can be a little inflexible when needing to customize the data being held as well as build processes around it
Read Ian Short's full review
Dana Matthes profile photo
July 09, 2018

"Review of TOPdesk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The signaling system is outstanding. Everybody can work with it. It is clear and easy to use. Information can never be lost.
  • The new knowledge system works really well. Colleagues are able to search for items. The connections between several items make it all easier.
  • The variety of possibilities and connections between items is very nice.
  • Some features within the knowledge database could improve. Such as layout possibilities, inserting images (quite difficult), search possibilities (does not search for half words for example).
  • We would like to have more flexibility within the system. For example, we would like to be able to determine which items are obliged within the reservation module.
  • The possibility for more 'open' courses at TOPdesk would be nice. I would like to follow some courses, but most are for a team internally. I'm alas alone.
Read Dana Matthes's full review
Robert van Geenen profile photo
July 09, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "Excellent versatile service management tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's very easy for users to log calls.
  • The knowledge base is a very powerful tool to assist in self-service.
  • Since TOPdesk is based on ITIL it's very easy to grasp how the individual modules relate to one another.
  • Insightful reports are relatively easy to set up.
  • The ability to use a smartphone (or even tablet) to scan a barcode or QR-code to log a call relating to that asset would be a great improvement.
  • When logging a call, the user could benefit from instant suggestions taken from the knowledge base.
  • Integrated chat w/ internal support staff would be a nice feature.
Read Robert van Geenen's full review
Rob Hoogeveen profile photo
June 26, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk is just the way to go in the current IT Environment!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It creates a very plain system wich is easy to understand for the employees.
  • The amount of features within TOPdesk makes the sky unlimited. It is so advance that there simply isn't a "no" when you want something done in TOPdesk.
  • On the management side, it's pretty hard to find and edit specific items if you don't know where to find it. It could be a bit more organized and easy for people who have to manage TOPdesk in their environment.
Read Rob Hoogeveen's full review
Ricardo Groen profile photo
June 21, 2018

User Review: "Our experience with Topdesk is TOP"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TOPdesk provides insight into and an overview of the status of service and support calls. This gives us a good insight into whether we comply with the agreed service contracts with our customers.
  • TOPdesk has an easy to operate and clear service portal for our customers.
  • We use TOPdesk for the distribution of new software and firmware to selected customers. We also use TOPdesk to share knowledge with our dealers. TOPdesk is a perfect medium for Inepro for this purpose.
  • Keeping track of the time per incident is easy, so employees are not hindered from keeping track of this.
  • An incident on which many mutations have been made, loses a clear overview. Reports can no longer be seen completely and clearly on the screen.
  • Recognition of equal or similar incident reports could be improved.
  • We missed good interaction with modern communication tools such as WhatsAPP.
Read Ricardo Groen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (102)
8.2
Expert directory (69)
6.6
Service restoration (64)
7.4
Self-service tools (95)
8.0
Subscription-based notifications (73)
7.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (79)
7.6
ITSM reports and dashboards (82)
6.9
Configuration mangement (83)
7.1
Asset management dashboard (73)
7.6
Policy and contract enforcement (61)
6.7
Change requests repository (77)
7.8
Change calendar (67)
6.9
Service-level management (68)
7.1

About TOPdesk

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk. For more information: page.topdesk.com/tei

TOPdesk Integrations

Bomgar Remote Support Software, Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios, Okta, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft BI, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian