TrustRadius
TOPdesk is the flagship highly-modular cloud-based or installed ITSM service desk and asset management solution from the Dutch company of the same name, for enterprise companies.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/DY/sg/CARZX2SALMK8.JPEG2 Months in... People are getting enthusiasticWe [have] used Topdesk since Q1 2018 in the sales support department to monitor our delivery process; next to that Topdesk is in use by our support department, as a tool for our RMA process.,4,Gather & combine information Proactive insights for end-users Clearer insights into our process,Better help function,8,We have not gathered enough info to have a good indication, we started using it 2 months ago.,Clientele,8TOPdesk ReviewWe use our Topdesk instance for 3 business units for incident management and SLA management with our customers.,120,Incident management works well, especially with the self-service portal It is easy to add SLAs and do reporting,Measuring and reporting on response times (instead of lead time) is not yet completely implemented (under construction),8,Better service to our customer through the self-service portal; improved feedback to customers Better insight in lead time and response time,C4S, ServiceNow and Git,8TOPdesk ReviewTOPdesk is being used through the whole organization, specifically to get requests at the right service points. Topdesk enables us to follow the incidents reported, find trends and create standard procedures/solutions for re-occurring issues. Also, TOPdesk is an easy way to provide specific solutions through the knowledge base, so one described solution is enough to solve the same problem through the whole organization. TOPdesk is also a cmdb, which makes it able to follow the assets life cycle.,300,cmdb incident/problem management knowledgebase,integration with other monitoring tools to create tickets SSO with multiple domains cross platform topdesk apps,7,TOPdesk is the default pipeline for registration of incidents/problems and the follow up from start until the end.,Zendesk,8Honest quick review of the TOPdesk Incident Registration ModuleTopdesk is used across the whole company as an incident registration tool.,18,The overview of open tickets is very clean and clear Registration of new incindent is very simple and quick to do The added functionalities in the ticket/cards (cursive text, yellow marking of specific comments etc) is very well appreciated,My biggest annoyance with TOPdesk is the statistics and reporting tool, the mixture of needing to use selections and or filters plus the nearly impossible task to see employees' performance on a daily basIs is beyond comprehension. The layout of the self-service desk forms needs to be more adjustable. When hidden fields are used in forms the layout is warped.,7,The number of telephone calls has declined drastically after implementing the SSD with its full features.,HP OpenView,8Topdesk the solution for the ServicedeskWe use it across the whole organization. It is used to register incidents and requests and customer documentation.,22,Register incidents regarding defective computers Register change requests regarding creating new users Communicates with other suppliers through worcade,Easily prints Gantt charts Worcade also for changes Several other things that we have to work with further on . We are just a few weeks using new Topdesk Saas solution.,9,More organized and history for information of incidents or changes Not every customer has it and not all want to use Worcade unfortunately Provides structure for technicians and customers can see progress on an incident or change,,9
Windows, Linux
TOPdesk
223 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TOPdesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TOPdesk
223 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 223 vetted TOPdesk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-100 of 105)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Frank Bierens profile photo
March 27, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "2 Months in... People are getting enthusiastic"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We [have] used Topdesk since Q1 2018 in the sales support department to monitor our delivery process; next to that Topdesk is in use by our support department, as a tool for our RMA process.
  • Gather & combine information
  • Proactive insights for end-users
  • Clearer insights into our process
  • Better help function
  • As a service desk tool, it is ideal for 1st and 2nd tier engineers.
  • Less suited for transition from a project to service desk
Read Frank Bierens's full review
Harry van der Moere profile photo
March 27, 2018

"TOPdesk Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our Topdesk instance for 3 business units for incident management and SLA management with our customers.
  • Incident management works well, especially with the self-service portal
  • It is easy to add SLAs and do reporting
  • Measuring and reporting on response times (instead of lead time) is not yet completely implemented (under construction)
  • Topdesk is well suited for incident management in software development companies.
  • Integration of change management module and incident management has room for improvement.
Read Harry van der Moere's full review
Gerben Wolters profile photo
November 30, 2017

"TOPdesk Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used through the whole organization, specifically to get requests at the right service points. Topdesk enables us to follow the incidents reported, find trends and create standard procedures/solutions for re-occurring issues. Also, TOPdesk is an easy way to provide specific solutions through the knowledge base, so one described solution is enough to solve the same problem through the whole organization. TOPdesk is also a cmdb, which makes it able to follow the assets life cycle.
  • cmdb
  • incident/problem management
  • knowledgebase
  • integration with other monitoring tools to create tickets
  • SSO with multiple domains
  • cross platform topdesk apps
With change management, the configuration management gives a fast view on possible correlations of systems that could be impacted.
Read Gerben Wolters's full review
Jerran Melcherts profile photo
January 18, 2018

"Honest quick review of the TOPdesk Incident Registration Module"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Topdesk is used across the whole company as an incident registration tool.
  • The overview of open tickets is very clean and clear
  • Registration of new incindent is very simple and quick to do
  • The added functionalities in the ticket/cards (cursive text, yellow marking of specific comments etc) is very well appreciated
  • My biggest annoyance with TOPdesk is the statistics and reporting tool, the mixture of needing to use selections and or filters plus the nearly impossible task to see employees' performance on a daily basIs is beyond comprehension.
  • The layout of the self-service desk forms needs to be more adjustable. When hidden fields are used in forms the layout is warped.
For me it is the standard in ticket registration for and IT service desk, I've used others but none of those suits my needs as well as TOPdesk.

As I said earlier from a manager's point of view, Microsoft Bi is better at interpreting the stats and figures then TOPDesk itself.
Read Jerran Melcherts's full review
Liesbeth Huybens profile photo
December 01, 2017

Review: "Topdesk the solution for the Servicedesk"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization. It is used to register incidents and requests and customer documentation.
  • Register incidents regarding defective computers
  • Register change requests regarding creating new users
  • Communicates with other suppliers through worcade
  • Easily prints Gantt charts
  • Worcade also for changes
  • Several other things that we have to work with further on . We are just a few weeks using new Topdesk Saas solution.
For registering any type of incident or change requested by a customer.
Read Liesbeth Huybens's full review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk, good for the desktop... and so much more!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used currently in the Information Technology department, primarily for Incident and Asset Management. It is possible that we will add project and/or resource management at some point. It is also likely that use of TOPdesk will be expanded to include incident management for our Campus Operations department in the future.
  • Relatively logical and organized user interface. Although it has its quirks, the interface is practical and function with some degree of user personalization available.
  • Workflow. Ability to organize dependency related workflows and templates is a key feature.
  • Knowledge base. The centralized knowledge base is definitely a key feature for us, allowing us to collect, organize, and easily edit vast quantities of existing knowledge.
  • User interface & layout. While the user interface is far better than any of our previous products, it does have some layout issues resulting in excessive mousing around for routine tasks, and not enough keyboard integration.
  • Highly customizable. Sometimes the highly customizable nature of TOPdesk can seem daunting. Planning outside TOPdesk before embarking on customization activities is key to getting where you want to go with the product.
TOPdesk performs well, once user workflows are defined, at the daily routine of incident and change management. For our organization, the inclusion of an easy to use knowledge base has been key. The more we use and refine our use of TOPdesk the more we find ourselves taking advantage of its strengths. It takes time and commitment to really get the hang of any enterprise-class service management software, but the hard work is turning out to be worth it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

"TOPdesk review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk as our primary system at the IT service center (department). We use it for everything we do and use it in combination with our customers.
  • With the help of the topdesk, the projects, incidents and changes are billed to the customers
  • At the moment we have an improvement that we first have to make that already is already offered by the topdesk in functionality but it lacks time and know how to further refine and fine-tune this.
TOPdesk offers us a clear overview of the incoming incidents, changes and projects. It offers us the possibility to switch quickly and register everything.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk as single tool to service the organization!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Topdesk as a service management tool to support the organization and to have one tool where the IT department can do all administrative work.
  • Single source of data for administrative purposes
  • Quick tickets are real time savers!
  • Showing relations between objects.
  • No WYSIWYG editor, real pain in the ass.
  • Building configurations of different objects can consume relatively a lot of time
  • Search engine can be optimized
Your organization needs to fit in the framework that Topdesk provides, we didn't get a proper image of the framework beforehand so we made a lot of (needed) changes in the organization to make Topdesk work. With these changes in places it works like a charm.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Review: "Introducing TOPdesk in a sales environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using TOPdesk to be able to meet SLA criteria for an ICT hardware and services contract with the Dutch government. We have defined multiple services, each with their related SLAs. Every customer interaction between the Dutch government and Bechtle-Buyitdirect is logged and processed in TOPdesk. SLA performance of the contract is reported on a weekly basis for each related service. Based on the positive results we currently expanding the use of TOPdesk within our public vertical. We mainly use TOPdesk to support the RMA process for a demanding set of our public customers.

  • Easy to understand end-user interface (both internal as well as self service portal)
  • Easy to configure / maintain
  • Easy to add new developed features to your SAAS platform (marketplace)
  • Easy import facility to do relative simple data imports for base entities
  • Search for specific data in your recorded interactions (both internal as well as from the self service portal)
  • Reporting / Dashboards: There is still demand for reporting detailed lists of data. Also there is a growing demand for combining data from multiple entities and/or multiple systems (the last I understand this is out of scope of a system). Last, the output shows quite basic.
  • Using custom fields in your SSP web forms. Currently, every field you enter (despite some standard ones like objects, contact details, category, short description,...) is stored in the request field. This makes it difficult for further process this data using HTTP actions.
  • Plugin to push planned tasks to outlook is difficult to setup. Take a look at Salesforce.......
Suited for:
Provding support services in the public domain. We noticed it is really an advantage since many of our customers in the public domains also use TOPdesk.
Quick start for base first- and second line processes with less human resource effort. TOPdesk OOTB comes with ready to used first- and second line processes. There is not much knowledge and effort required to get started and keep your base configuration maintained. Also the license model is flexible to grow with your business. Overall this allows you a quick start of using TOPdesk with a minimum of exploitation effort and costs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Review: "TOPdesk is the TOP! for SMBs to manage their ITSM FSM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used within the whole organization. Supporting both IT and facilities team. The software is used to receive incidents, changes and problems. All communication over these issues are communicated through the TOPdesk platform. We also use TOPdesk for managing objects, like PCs, laptops and (mobile) phones.
  • Easy configuration for your own process
  • Continously improving with new and more advanced features
  • Cross platform integration, objects for example can be reached by several modules
  • Managing objects per person could use an update
  • It's not that easy to get reminded (without email) when there are incidents, changes and problems issued to a user. You need to check more than one module for a complete overview
  • It would be nice to have an option to use a user agreement when delivering a laptop for instance to an employee, which he/she need to sign
TOPdesk is well suited for small to medium-sized companies. With bigger IT departments it's recommended to use more specialised systems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

TOPdesk Review: "User -friendly and easy to configure & implement solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by some internal service providers (IT, facilities) to manage their services.
  • User Friendliness
  • Easy to configure and Implement
  • Self Service Portal
  • Support for procurement of hardware
  • Onboarding of employees

- Incident & Problem Management

- Basic Change Management

- Request Fullfillment


Read this authenticated review
Jasper Hebbink profile photo
October 23, 2017

Review: "TOPdesk is really good for managed service providers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using TOPdesk throughout our whole organization. It is used to register incidents from all clients. We also use it to do our sales processes. The time which is registered in TOPdesk is used to make invoices for our customers. Everyone in our organization is using TOPdesk., from our sales consultants who register their working hours in TOPdesk to our administration, who make our invoices.
  • For us it is really important to register all of the hardware form our customers. So the CMDB is really useful.
  • It's really easy to work with target days and report on that. Incidents are solved much more quickly with TOPdesk.
  • The API is really useful and powerful. We build ourselves a Kanban board which works really well and was easy to install.
  • For us it's really import to register all the working hours. It would be nice if we could combine hours from different modules in 1 overview and how many hours somebody has worked that week. In this way we could monitor if we're busy.
  • It's not possible to combine incidents. It would be nice if there are two incidents which are the same, that can be combined instead of deleting/archiving one.
  • Maybe some kind of sales module can included.
It's really well suited for IT departments which use it for the IT in their own organization. It works for use as service delivery company, but the invoice system could be better.
Read Jasper Hebbink's full review
Arjan Heuvelman profile photo
August 17, 2017

Review: "TOPdesk: Your indispensable tool for your daily work"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk in our IT department to handle all IT calls and administrate our hardware in the TOPdesk CMDB. TOPdesk is our daily work dashboard which gives us the ability to easily manage and coördinate our IT activities.
  • TOPdesk is user-friendly and easy to start working with.
  • The product gets better and better and is continuously improved. TOPdesk also has many integrations with third party applications by default.
  • The vendor informs their customers very well about new developments, etc. Their support is well organized and has a good quality.
  • It's very important that an application like TOPdesk supports you to a administrate all your data in a fast way. This is especially true for incident handling. TOPdesk is able to automate tasks you are frequently using, but out-of-the-box the system lacks default automation. You should automate your tasks in TOPdesk yourself. It would be better when the system assists you in an optimal way by default.
  • TOPdesk uses search lists in several places in the interface. Think for example of brand, type, category, etc. Currently you must maintain these lists separately in the application and cannot add new items to search lists on the fly (while adding a new object record like a call or equipment).
  • You can only save plain text in text fields. It would be better if you are able to save your content in HTML or RTF format. Then you can also save images in text fields. That's much easier then, for example, linking saved screenshots to calls.
TOPdesk is well suited for incident handling, but also has strong capabilities for change management. The product supports you very well when you want to work according to the ITIL standard.
Read Arjan Heuvelman's full review
Gerard Mensink profile photo
October 10, 2017

Review: "TOPdesk improves technical planning and communication"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used across the whole organization and it addresses mainly the technical problems and wishes of the employees.
  • Is provides a good structure for the facility management
  • It is efficient in the flow of communication
  • Endless possibilities with various modifications and modules
  • It should be less work to to enter small jobs
  • With less employees, it loses its added value
TOPdesk is best used at technical problems because it is monitored simultaneously. When there are specific smaller problems, wishes, tasks considering a few people TOPdesk is too labor intensive.
Read Gerard Mensink's full review
Arno Groenendijk profile photo
October 06, 2017

User Review: "TOPdesk is a good product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Topdesk for our maintenance and IT calls.
  • Endless possibilities
  • Good structure of the facility management department
  • Good overview of suppliers
  • Addressbook
  • Sometimes too sophisticated for small issues
  • Implementation in our website
Our Technical maintenance was a mess before we introduced Topdesk. After the implementation things soon got better and more efficient. Before Topdesk we had 3 maintenance employees. At this moment we only have one. It's also a good productivity tool
Read Arno Groenendijk's full review
leander zoet profile photo
August 09, 2017

Review: "The reason we picked Topdesk as our IT support tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Topdesk as a service desk for IT and ERP problems. We have been using it for 2 years now and are very content with all functionality. From our main office we can keep users in our and our other locations up to date on their calls. They can log and see/update calls themselves. They can raise the priority if needed, or add new information on a call. It saves us a lot of time (going through emails). It makes our job easier to administrate. Also actions done in the past are well logged and easy to review if anything comes up later. No need to search in old emails etc., to see what happened with a problem. It is easy to use, if you need to change anything just search in the menus and everything is pretty straight forward. It's so easy to set up and maintain that I only needed help once from the support desk. They helped me right away and the problem was solved. We are very happy with the way topdesk works, and will keep using it.
  • Self Sign-In portal, users can update their own calls, and see the status without contacting IT staff.
  • Knowledge base of solutions applied in the past so you don't have to invent the wheel a second time.
  • Reporting to see what kind of problems consume the most time.
  • Can't really think of any thing, the program has every option and more than we seek in a ticket system.
In every environment where you need to trouble shoot problems with multiple people on the support side it's a great tool to keep things organised. You won't forget a call that's buried under paperwork on your desk if it's in Topdesk. And another person can take over your work if absent. Happy customer/user - happy service desk.
Read leander zoet's full review
Dennie Heideveld profile photo
April 10, 2017

User Review: "Get in control, start using TOPdesk"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is being used for almost every department you could imagine within an local government. [For example,] Housekeepers, catering services, financial management, reservation management, document registration, archive employees, cleaners, and I could go on. Next to the employees that handle calls, changes and reservations, all users make use of the SelfServiceDesk that TOPdesk offers in a broad range of applications.
  • The SelfServiceDesk that TOPdesk offers is so adaptable! You can really do just about anything that comes to your mind when making good use of HTML Requests. Next to being creative yourself, TOPdesk offers a lot of prescribed functions you can make great use of.
  • Selections are an ease to use, really. Since the new reservation management [tool] that got implemented since TOPdesk 5.4, they made it even easier within this module while keeping the same functionality. Selections are the roots that our catering services rely on for their to-dos, as well as for example drafting bills and so on, so it's great this functionality is implemented in such an expressive way in making them and using them and printing them.
  • Although TOPdesk is very adaptable, there are some limitations you could come across that you will not be able to avoid. I must admit that this shouldn't be the case if your process is adopted to reformed best practices, but when getting real creative in, overall, a technical way of speaking, TOPdesk could take control over that creativity.
TOPdesk could be adopted to almost any situation as a service management (and not only ITSM) software package. For example, with the form designer, we provide the user with an easy way to register new users that they can opt-in directly to the operators. Combining a user interface with a directly attached back office flow for operators offers a very controllable, reliable and fast flow for your service management. TOPdesk is less appropriate when you just want to offer the most simple call resolving interface for users to 'simply' replace their mailbox as a to-do list using flags and marks. I experience that such users find it pretty hard to get a grip on, even after a few workshops.
Read Dennie Heideveld's full review
Alex Barnas profile photo
March 23, 2017

TOPdesk Review: "Top product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TOPdesk is used to get our IT services to a higher level. With TOPdesk we have one central place to manage all our tickets, calls and work. It is clear for everyone what progress has been made and when we expect to finish the call. The organisation had the correct expectations and we can work on our priorities more easily.
  • Easy to use, also for non-IT people
  • Easy to manage
  • Easy to implement
  • One central place to manage work
  • Nothing negative to say
  • Perfect software to support our busy IT department
  • Takes work out of our hands and gives us a higher customer satisfaction
Read Alex Barnas's full review
Ron Koelma profile photo
January 27, 2017

"TOPdesk Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TOPdesk to manage our facilities. Supported processes included building management, maintenance, contract management, reservations, and catering.
  • It is very focused on the users of the application and very user-friendly.
  • It provides very extensive management reports.
  • The support and aftersales of TOPdesk is very good.
  • There is room for improvement in the subject of recurring reservations, where adjustments were sometimes hard to make.
TOPdesk fits most organisations because it is adjustable and easy. The modular approach and user friendliness should fit almost any organisation willing to improve their facility management.
Read Ron Koelma's full review
Klaas-Douwe Zwaan profile photo
December 15, 2016

TOPdesk Review: "Complete product for all your business processes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

We are using the incident management, asset management, change management, reservation management and SLA processes. We also host TOPdesk for other organizations. In all situations, TOPdesk is the front end for [first] line service desks and the back end for other departments. We connect the CRMs to TOPdesk to get the customers in it.

We also register the spent hour registrations for our projects and connect that information to other systems.

  • The change process is flexible to use. I made different configurations for different situations. You activate only the specific processes you need. You also have the choice to choose the easy change process (without activities) or the difficult process with one or more activities.
  • With the incident process you can build this product to the rules of each organization. I operate an organization with 1000+ users. The organization is moving to different solutions and each time I succeeded.
  • You can split the groups and modules in detailed 'pieces' of each process. So if you want someone to do one thing in one process for one task, it is possible.
  • I configured a very difficult SLA with split priority times into the standard TOPdesk SLA setup and it works fine.
  • Using SLA for groups instead of categories.
  • Build standard solutions setups with screenshots.
  • A better form designer; for us, it's no problem because we use a form server.
  • The file management system could better. I hope in future it's possible to get the files into the database itself.

TOPdesk can help in organizations with a lot of departments [to] work all together in one system. For small organizations, it's good to know that the self-service desk has enough strength to get and publish the information you want.

I don't know what type of organization is not suitable for TOPdesk.

Read Klaas-Douwe Zwaan's full review
A.J.H.P. Willems profile photo
March 01, 2017

User Review: "TOPdesk: indispensable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Topdesk is used across the whole organization, including the shops.

What business problems does it address? Changes, problems and incidents and configuration management.
  • The standard modules are complete and work fine.
  • Support is excellent.
  • Easy to use.
  • The form designer is too basic.
  • The possibility to extend fields are limited.
  • Events and Actions are working fine but full rich text is missing in the emails.
Well suited for service mangement.
Less appropriate for a CRM.
Read A.J.H.P. Willems's full review
Matthijs Muller profile photo
October 20, 2016

User Review: "TOPdesk quick to setup and GO!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TOPdesk as a service management system for the registration and support of the IT ITIL processes: Change, Incident, Config, Problem.
  • It has a basic setup that can be used without much need for configuration. This way you can quickly start with the use of the tool without the need of extensive knowledge of the tool.
  • The main focus is incident management. This module is well developed and suited for the task.
  • I feel the tool is most suited for small to middle sized companies who are starting with the implementation of working via processes and would like to combine multiple supportive business units in one tool (shared service center).
  • I would change the modular setup of handling incidents, changes and problems. Currently it is really hard to change an incident into a service request or a problem if it was wrongly classified in the beginning. And due to the modular setup new features are most of the time first available in the incident module and not in the others. Therefore the modules are not uniform and different solutions, work methods, have to be implemented with is not efficient and is confusing for the users.
  • Working with templates would be a plus. So [would] changing hardware configurations in bulk, deploying rights and settings to users, changing sets of changes or incidents etc. Besides some small options this is not broadly available in the tool.
  • We use a Test, Acceptation and Production setup. Though every change of a setting has to be manually configured through the different environments. This makes it not only very labor intensive it is also very prone to mistakes. We would like to see an option where you can export a set of settings (changes in the tool) and import those, so you can easily move and test different options.
  • I find it strange that a tool that on of its core purposes is to support ITIL processes, does so badly support changes within the tool.
  • There is no intelligent syntax checking in the interface of any field of the tool, besides the database check of text, number or date. The user does not get any help with what to enter where or help with reformatting values. Something you would expect from a cloud-based web tool in 2016.

Works fine for smaller companies that would like a tool that is easy to set up and not too complicated to maintain; as long as you are willing to change the way you work to the options available in the tool.

Does not work so well for bigger companies with more complex infrastructure and more dedicated systems that have to be combined.

Read Matthijs Muller's full review
Edwin van Korlaar profile photo
October 10, 2016

User Review: "TOPdesk works great for us!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using TOPdesk for over 10 years at the moment. We are planning to upgrade to the latest version (6) at this time. At the Xcellent ICT Group, we use TOPdesk for the service delivery to our end customers and internally to support our whole organisation (75 FTE). Our helpdesk team also works with several TOPdesk instances which are in place with our large customers that have an on-premise or SaaS-based TOPdesk instance for the company they work at. TOPdesk is great for incident management and delivering a scalable service management tooling based on the needs of your organization.
  • Self-Service Desk - this great functionality sets your users in place for 24/7 incident management and delivery of a knowledge base.
  • Modular base - Based on the needs of your company you can choose which modules fit for your organization.
  • More functionability for Managed Service Providers
TOPdesk works very good for our company, so it will suit for every MSP.
Read Edwin van Korlaar's full review
Nuria Reques Waterink- de Waal profile photo
September 28, 2016

Review: "Fast and efficient implemantation of Topdesk for company wide Service Management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Topdesk was implemented to give our organisation transparency, predictability and efficiency on IT service management processes. However, while implementing, the benefits of the Service Management tooling were so obvious, that Topdesk has been expanded to support the service process of all internal processes within the organisation. This includes: Meeting Room Management, Visitor Management and Driver Planning. The success factor of this company wide implementation is a single entry for end-users on a self service portal and the integration of services and service activities across organisational units.
  • Self Service Portal: the portal is user friendly and has a modern and fresh look. By using tiles with graphics, end users can easily find what they are looking for. The search function on the Self Service Portal is very strong.
  • Workflow engine: with the embedded workflow engine, Topdesk provides you with an easy tool to create and modify workflows and their approvals. You don't need to be an engineer to create a workflow.
  • Integration of Services: it's very easy to integrate services. An example is the integration of Meeting Room Manager and Visitor Management. From creating a meeting room, a visitor can be registered in the system. Only 1 action is needed for that, instead of 2. Another example is the selection of supporting services for an event.
  • Sometimes a module cannot be used effectively without purchasing another module. An example is that Reservations Management cannot be used as it should without the module for Building Management.
  • Deployment for test to production is a manual interface. Everything has to be typed over from test to production and all settings have to be copied to the production environment. That is very error-sensitive.
  • Sometimes it's difficult to find tickets and changes. You have to know how to search or type in the numbers exactly with spaces in between.
TOPdesk is very suitable for service processes - all kinds of service process, from IT Service Management to catering services, facility management, support services, Helpdesk, et cetera.

It is not very suitable for processes were financial management comes in.
Read Nuria Reques Waterink- de Waal's full review
Ron Versteeg profile photo
September 25, 2016

Review: "TOPdesk, it provide us time to improve our service.."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We make almost the entire organization use TOPdesk. It gives us an overview of the quality of the provided support and accelerates some of our processes including the delivery of hardware in combination with a WACON tablet to digitally sign or a QR code as a service solution for coffee machines in house from an external supplier. Thanks to the application and its options, we were able to speed up the process so that there is now no effort on the part of our organization in the case of a malfunction.

The modules are easy to use and there are many coupling options such as XML. Currently we use almost all TOPdesk modules and handle about 160,000 client contact moments at our support desks every year.

  • We use TOPdesk in combination with other programs such as Q - Manage (Dutch Network Security Program). When a device status is "stolen" or "stock", it will be directly blocked by our network.
  • We use the module reservations management so we can streamline many applications. The customer can reserve themselves the necessary resources such as laptops or speaking areas. They do this themselves in the SelfService module and receive immediate confirmation by email.
  • Through cooperation with the Facilities department, we are able to handle complex issues such as department relocations alignment.
  • Due to the enormous growth of the company the customer experience from the development departments is sometimes forgotten. This is a focus point which is also seriously taken up by the program owners.
  • I would like to see a certification track. How can users prove that they are experienced users of TOPdesk?
TOPdesk fits perfectly in our company. It's easy to modify. The consultants of TOPdesk provide you a quick and solid solution for every case and they are willing to think in terms of your own processes. The support desk of TOPdesk is easy to reach. There are annual meetings to meet with other clients and there are so-called "consultancy hours" where you can speak an hour one on one with an expert for free. This can be a few times a year. There are webinars and loads of other possibilities to learn.
Read Ron Versteeg's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (105)
8.2
Expert directory (70)
6.8
Service restoration (65)
7.4
Self-service tools (96)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (74)
7.6
ITSM collaboration and documentation (80)
7.6
ITSM reports and dashboards (84)
6.8
Configuration mangement (85)
7.0
Asset management dashboard (75)
7.6
Policy and contract enforcement (62)
6.9
Change requests repository (79)
7.8
Change calendar (69)
6.8
Service-level management (69)
7.2

About TOPdesk

Excellent service management made easy
TOPdesk is a service management solution that aims to help users improve customer communication, manage workflows and keep track of assets. According to the vendor, the software is simple and attractive, making it pleasant to use and quick to adopt. On-premises and SaaS deployments are available.

4 key differentiators:
1. Easy to use, quick to set up
2. Suitable for IT, FM or HR.
3. Seamless integrations with other packages.
4. Guaranteed service excellence.
5.Attractive and flexible licensing model TOPdesk has 20+ years experience in helping 5000+ organizations worldwide deliver the best service.

TOPdesk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureResource Plan Board
Has featureOperations Management
Has featureOpen API
Has featureIntegrations Market Place
Has featureReservations Management

TOPdesk Video

The Total Economic Impact™ Of TOPdesk Enterprise is an October 2016 commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of TOPdesk. For more information: page.topdesk.com/tei

TOPdesk Integrations

BeyondTrust Remote Support (Formerely Bomgar Remote Support), Snow License Manager, QlikView, Qlik Sense, Lansweeper, Nagios, Okta Workforce Identity, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft BI, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, OneLogin, Microsoft System Center, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Ivanti IT Asset Management Suite (formerly LANDESK IT Asset Management Suite), Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), RES Service Automation, Microsoft Active Directory, UMRA Access & Identity Management, Mavim Rules, ISM

TOPdesk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

TOPdesk has a unique license model: - Modular: Select the modules you need and easily expand as your business grows - Saas or On premise - Unlimited number of assets. Successful asset management should not be dependent on the license of your product. - End users OR service agents based, whichever fits your situation best. If you are looking for flexibility in the number of agents for e.g. extra busy times of the year, the flexible end user license lets you add agents without any restrictions, no day passes needed.

TOPdesk Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

TOPdesk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

TOPdesk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Norwegian