Twilio SendGrid Email API Reviews

42 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Darcy Knapp, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Email API Solution - Easy Implementation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Twilio SendGrid Email API is well suited for WordPress websites when the contact forms are not being sent properly to the client email. We find this more with plugins like Gravity Forms, Contact7, Formidable and pop up alley pro-forms. If the test forms are not being delivered to the client, Twilio SendGrid Email API is a well-suited solution to the problem.
Read Darcy Knapp, MBA's full review
Bryan McAnulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Reliable and Easy to Setup Transactional Email API

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Twilio SendGrid Email API is not for sending email newsletters and designing email campaigns. It is meant for transactional email. For example, when you need to send out password reset emails or other notifications from your app or service. If you want a solution that is mainly worry-free, affordable to get started with, and one that provides reporting and analytics, then Twilio SendGrid Email API is for you.
Read Bryan McAnulty's full review
Jake Bodmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Twilio SendGrid Product Review: Hope it helps!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great if you have someone with a bit of technical know-how on the team to make sure you're getting the system set up properly, there is some degree of difficulty that you get with SendGrid that may not be present with other platforms that have focused on ease of setup. That being said, once that setup is completed the system is easy to use and you get get a lot done with a small team.
Read Jake Bodmer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

An easy and advanced email marketing tool.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In my department, it is very helpful to reach out to our samples for data collection on marketing research surveys. It reaches out to our targeted people at their convenience, which ensures a higher response rate. We can also schedule our emails in this tool for future deliveries.
Read this authenticated review
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Sendgrid Email API - Perfect For Startups And Fast Moving Small Teams!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SendGrid Email API, I feel, is well suited for tech companies with smaller teams. I feel as if with a larger team of programmers, designers, etc. you may have better results with a competitor and coding things yourself. But for fast moving startups with quick implementation, nothing beats Twilio + SendGrid in those regards.
Read Evan Laird's full review
Patrick Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2018

If you have used (and loved) Sendgrid's Marketing platform, Transactional is a wonderful addition.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We've been proponents/users of their marketing email platform for many years. The ease of use that we get from the marketing side is mirrored on the transactional side. This is something that other companies don't pay much attention to and they should!
Read Patrick Meyer's full review
Dan Grossman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2018

SendGrid ensures our customers get the email notifications they want quickly and reliably

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SendGrid would be my top recommendation for any company that needs to send transactional email. It's easy to integrate, with simple and well-documented APIs, and can handle whatever volume you need from day one.
Read Dan Grossman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

SendGrid - What's great & What isn't

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you do not mind the lack of some historic data for your website and need something that is cost effective, then SendGrid is right for you. Keeping in mind how cheap this service really is, the pros outweigh the cons up to a certain limit.

However if having historic data, better reporting and visibility on content of past emails is important to you, then go for something else (albeit a tad more expensive). That's the compromise that you'll have to decide on.
Read this authenticated review
Luke Abbott | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2017

Email delivery that I don't have to think about

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think it's great for transactional email, messages from your app, etc... anything sent from your server, *except* maybe newsletters and mass emails. For that, I'd rather use a MailChimp or whatnot. (Although to be honest I *am* using it for one client's WordPress website along with MailPoet, which ends up costing a fair amount less than MailChimp for her list size.)
Read Luke Abbott's full review
Jim Rubenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2017

Sendgrid offers superior deliverability and a robust API - an engineer's playground.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Sendgrid's transactional services are a great solution so long as you have the technical resources to integrate into your systems. This is the case for most any transactional e-mail system.

Sendgrid has the added benefit of having API's available to manage configurations on the account, making it a great choice to build on top of for a product like a WordPress plugin or some other product where you want to add e-mail features without requiring your user to be technically savvy and perform a lot of DNS and other configuration changes.

If your goal is just to send email newsletters to an e-mail list, SendGrid is a vastly overpowered tool for that job. They do offer Marketing Email tools, but they seem like they play second fiddle to the transactional e-mail business. I'm sure the deliverability of their Marketing Email offering is excellent, just like their Transactional service, however the interface is built more for an engineer than it is an Email Marketer.
Read Jim Rubenstein's full review

Twilio SendGrid Email API Scorecard Summary

About Twilio SendGrid Email API

Twilio Sendgrid headquartered in Boulder, Colorado offers their Email API product supporting high volume transactional email and SMTP service. Twilio SendGrid is built to solve deliverability challenges so as to help maximize inbox placement with streamlined tools, insightful recommendations, and expert services. Twilio acquired SendGrid in late 2018.

Twilio SendGrid Email API Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No