Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great Products, Good Value

10 out of 10
November 04, 2021
We use it for backups and cloud backups across the organization. For us, we have to do end-of-year processes before we can conduct …
Continue reading

Unitrends Recovery 9006

8 out of 10
May 19, 2021
We have been a Unitrends customer for many years and we will continue to be, hopefully for many years to come. Upgraded our Recovery 9006 …
Continue reading

Unitrends in the Workplace

8 out of 10
May 19, 2021
As a reseller we aim to use the Unitrends devices to address specific backup and recovery needs for different styles of business. …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 14 features

Universal recovery (301)

8.6
86%

Incremental backup identification (338)

8.5
85%

Deduplication and file compression (325)

8.5
85%

Live recovery (289)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery?

The Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliances are hardware developed for data backup and management. They cover enterprise backup, ransomware detection, recovery assurance, proactive monitoring, and cloud continuity into a single platform for organizations of all sizes.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.unitrends.com/products/recov…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for all cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a management console, the software provides backup, archival, recovery and replication capabilities.

What is Backblaze Business Backup?

Backblaze headquartered in San Mateo, California offers continuous, automatic cloud backup for personal and business use. Backblaze Business Backup consists of cloud solutions to safeguard systems and files (e.g Veeam, Servers, NAS, Workstations).

Features Scorecard

Data Center Backup

8.5
85%

Product Details

What is Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery?

Unitrends helps solve today’s modern IT data protection problems with purpose-built proprietary cloud environment that integrates with turnkey backup appliances to deliver offsite, long-term data retention and white-glove Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS). Through automation Unitrends aims to minimize manual tasks, eliminates management complexity, and delivers tested hardware and software resilience.

Additional features:

Ransomware Protection

Predictive analytics that monitor data characteristics, flag suspicious files, and alert administrators to threats.

Recovery Assurance

Recovery Assurance tool provides automated failover, recovery testing, and compliance reporting.

Monitoring & Support

Recovery Series backup appliances include predictive analytics that anticipate hardware problems and send out alerts before issues occur. Once an issue is detected, a member of Unitrends’s support team will notify users and help to resolve the problem pre-emptively.


Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Live recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Screenshots

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Video

See how Unitrends makes backup and continuity simple

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Downloadables

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Competitors

Unitrends Data Center Backup and Recovery Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesWorldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 170)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Matthew DeGrandis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Before my time, this company used Backup Exec. They purchased Unitrends shortly before hiring me. Issues were of the more vanilla, "Are the backups good?", "Have we tested them?", and the seminal "What do you mean, the backups were corrupted?"

On all accounts, after retraining with Unitrends and setting up according to their best practices these issues are solved.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using 3 external drives for file server backups being swapped daily with no true indication if they were successful. A growing company faster than the hardware we had allowed we needed better options for the growing server population. Also building up VMs to supplement the growing company were needed for backing up. We researched companies working with backing up full organizations and came across Unitrends which made it simpler and easy for our company.
Emil Neufeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used a magnetic tape cartridge system. It was unreliable and the tapes were expensive. File recovery from tape was a tedious process as the software needed to move through the tape in serial fashion to find the desired file. Then we held our breath to see if the tape drive was properly calibrated and could still read the tape.
Additionally, the Unitrends appliance gave us a central device for backing up user PC's in addition to our central server.
March 26, 2021

Great Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
we ran 5 separate tape drive units across multiple servers on nightly backups , our windows for scheduled reboots and maintenance was very limited due to time issues. with this unit we are more able to handle a scheduled reboot . with nightly backups being handles by one unit and an offsite backup to tape we feel more secure
Kelly Mumm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dealing with a tape backup system where people would forget to rotate tapes or send them offsite. Data recovery was slow and took a considerable amount of effort. We also had to keep spare servers around in case of a failure. With Unitrends you can spin up a failed machine as a VM right on the appliance.
February 25, 2021

Unitrends backs you up!

Steven Hiersche, Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were struggling with backing up to multiple storage locations and taking home small NAS devices bi weekly. With multiple locations, it was a hassle to keep track of versioning. We were also out of support on an archaic backup suite. Unitrends gave us one enterprise platform that works on and off site.
Kristian H. Larsen - IT Drift og support | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
All other solutions where either very complex to handle, use and support or did not fully support all our requirements.
August 04, 2017

Unitrends

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We did not have a good reliable backup. We were not able to archive very well. Recovery was a problem as you have to find the right tape and go to the machine and mount it, then try and recover the file which wasn't always quick or successful. Virtual machines were backing up but was not off site.


Allan Basso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had to manage a storage vendor / solution, a replication vendor / solution a backup software vendor / solution previously. Now it is all in one. That said having one throat to choke as it were is best when the target is able to overcome any issue and successfully solve the issues at hand.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Backups that spanned more then one tape and taking hours to complete top the list. Once a backup is configured on the Unitrends system I just check the emails daily to ensure that each has completed successfully. Before Unitrends I would experience around 30 percent failure rate of daily backups. Now I have less the 1 percent failure.
John Piercy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were managing 3 disparate backup/replication solutions: Veeam, Symantec's Backup Exec, and DoubleTake. The expense of maintaining coverage for these three was prohibitively expensive. We were stuck behind the curve with VMware 5.5 because our Veeam version was out of date and not covered (because they enticed us to purchase by throwing in the 'Enterprise Plus' level license - we did not realize we'd have to forklift downgrade to avoid the expensive renewal cost of Enterprise Plus). This ultimately forced our hand to move off of Veeam even though Veeam's product is solid.
Mike Addante | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The prior challenges we experienced was that our backups were on tape and it took for ever to restore a file and we didn't have a 100% successful recovery. The backups were basically useless. We could not backup a lot of data at once because of the speed of the tape. It really gave us a lot of sleepless nights.
Rob Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before UniTrends, we used Git as a backup of web XML files. We did tarballs of the entire Tomcat directory just in case. Over a period of time, storage starts becoming limited. And restoring from a tarball is not as seamless as one thinks it is.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to using Unitrends we used Windows backup which wasn't ideal, while it did the job the features are very limited! Backing up to an SATA drive felt very old school so we moved to Unitrends to use the benefits of a new backup solution.
April 20, 2017

Best backup ever!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We did not have a reliable restore process and both process and time to restore was very long. [In our] previous backup most features wouldn't work properly.
April 10, 2017

Unitrends Review

Michael Chianese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used EMC Networker, which required the network application, storage, agents, and a virtual appliance to all be in sync with each other. If you needed to update one, you needed to update all of them. The UI was a mess and there was absolutely no replication. Unitrends simplified backup, made it easy to understand, and easy to upgrade, and easy to replicate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had local snapshots through our storage vendor, and DR through another solution, but no way to effectively replace tape. Unitrends has helped us achieve all three objectives, under on platform
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On our previous system backups would randomly run or not run; when they did run there would be multiple failures every week. We were constantly running out of space because the appliance would not remove previous backups properly, however, there was no ability to go in and remove these backups manually because the interface didn't allow for it. In fact, the interface did not allow for a number of what I would consider basic functions and when we questioned the company about this we were told that the functionality was there but could only be accessed on their end so we would have to call them every time we needed it done. After almost 3 years they gave us a firmware update that was supposed to fix the storage issue by deleting the old backups that were not getting removed and after applying it all our backup jobs stopped working. It took them 3 weeks to figure out the problem and release a new firmware update, meaning that we went 3 weeks with hardly any successful backup jobs being run. That's when we moved to Unitrends and have not looked back.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As we all know.. ALL backup vendors, backup data. But with that statement.. some do it better than others. We were finding it very hard to find 'a fit' and a single vendor that 'checked all the boxes' and could be that all-in-1 solution. Months were spent proofing out others, and one by one they failed. Unitrends came in and single-handedly proved that they were the most application and OS agnostic vendor out there and could take on all our needs - and then a lot more on top!!

Márcio Isidro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The backup window was too big and the space needed was growing. There were some operating systems thawereas not supported by the other vendor.