Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 60)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 31, 2020
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also use Barracuda's Cloud-to-Cloud Office 365 backup. The installation and setup were pretty easy, much like with Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365. Barracuda's solution works as an alternative backup solution, but the interface is terrible. Troubleshooting backup issues in Barracuda's Cloud-to-Cloud backup is cumbersome at best. While the backup errors we've experienced weren't serious, I had to re-read the error and really hunt for the issue Barracuda was complaining about. When I restore, the interface is very slow to update the fact that I'm actually doing a restore.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
December 20, 2020
Joe Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I am a Veeam fan -- they keep improving, and they changed the world's expectations for how backups should work. After what they've enabled us to do with VMware, it was easy to trust them with O365.
Read Joe Stern's full review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We knew what we wanted from previous experience
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I stuck with Veeam as we had an existing relationship after using their on-prem products for years.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our research have shown that Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is the most complete backup and restore solution for Office 365 existing on the market. It has the richest set of features and integrates with a great number of cloud solution providers. Other solutions might be working well for smaller companies, especially due to the lower pricing levels.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2020
Adam Vogini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated Rubrik recently when needing to replace our current backup targets, and of course, that fell into possibly replacing Veeam as well, since Rubrik is a single ecosystem. Though their products are overall impressive, the initial cost was intimidating, and in the case of Office 365, as of the end of 2019 they were just starting to move out a GA solution. Though from what I saw the solution checked several boxes, it was clearly a v1.0 product, and would definitely need a few years before it could compete with where Veeam is already.
Read Adam Vogini's full review
March 16, 2020
Anthony Petzold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Veaam Back up for Microsoft Office 365 is amazing just like the other platforms. I would really like if it could be added to a single pane of glass to the rest of Veeam. As an administrator, it is a little time consuming to have to change form one application to another when managing our organization's backups.
Read Anthony Petzold's full review
June 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Veeam's is the only 365 backup tool we've used, and we don't see a reason to change.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have only used Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 as it was a complete software solution for our needs. Being familiar with the interface was definitely a bonus to us when choosing an option.
Read this authenticated review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Various other utilities that perform similar functions are not hosted on-prem. This makes the export process slower but could potentially lead to scenarios where the backup data is in the same datacenter as the live data. Not ideal for a DR situation where an offsite backup is mandated. By hosting the backup on our own hardware we fully control the backup process.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Considered AvePoint and some other solution. But never got to the test phase. Since I was already familiar with Veeam Backup and Replication we tried this one out and it was just as expected so the choice was easy. It was also harder to compare the other products from lesser known companies.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery
It's a much cheaper product and is a lot simpler to use. We chose Veeam because it does what we need and Veeam for 365 was needed as part of that purchase.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Chris Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Veeam gave us the most flexibility at the lowest cost. It was also the easiest to use and easiest to restore from. AvePoint had some nice features, but ultimately it was frustrating and difficult to setup. Druva was convenient and very easy, however it's expensive and only allows you to backup to their AWS instances.
Read Chris Reynolds's full review
February 18, 2020
Scott Reeves | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • For on premise we have used Backup Exec until we found Veeam.
  • For Office 365, we have not used any other product.
  • We did evaluate Barracuda and ManageEngine, but we decided to go with Veeam, primarily due to our positive experiences with Veeam Backup and Restore.
Read Scott Reeves's full review
January 07, 2020
Jason Tupeck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not reviewed any other products, due to our longstanding history of success with Veeam products, this is one we are just jumping right into.
Read Jason Tupeck's full review
January 06, 2020
Philip Bubel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We wanted a solution that allowed us to store our data on our storage. Most other products were a cloud to cloud product that wouldn't allow us to manage the data directly. Veeam backup for Office 365 allowed us to take control of a data and manage it how we wanted too.
Read Philip Bubel's full review

What is Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365?

Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 aims to eliminate the risk of losing access and control over Office 365 data including Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Microsoft Teams – so that data is always protected and accessible. Veeam gives the user secure backup of Office 365 to any location, including on premises, a hyperscale cloud, or a service provider and:

  • Protects Office 365 data from accidental deletion, security threats and retention policy gaps
  • Quickly restores individual Office 365 email, files and sites with industry-leading recovery flexibility
  • Meet legal and compliance requirements with efficient eDiscovery of Office 365 items
New in version 5 - Purpose-built backup and recovery for Microsoft Teams, to make it easier to find and restore Teams data, including entire teams, specific channels and settings. Version 5 also includes architectural enhancements that the vendor states deliver 5x the scale increase to support larger enterprises and up to 2x faster Office 365 data movement to object storage.

The vendor offers a 30-day trial and a short demo series on Office 365 backup.

Useful resources:

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Screenshots

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Video

Watch this short demo video to learn how to backup and recover Office 365 Exchange Online, SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business data with Veeam

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Downloadables

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Integrations

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Competitors

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance.

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English