Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2021
Travis Taggart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 across our whole organization's 365 footprint. This solution addresses a few items. Firstly, there is no built-in "outside of 365" backup in 365 that meets all regulation needs. Secondly, using the recycle bin in SharePoint is difficult and nearly impossible to manage; having backups of data ensures mishaps can be fixed. Thirdly, the ability to pull in Exchange, SharePoint, and OneDrive is exceptional.
Read Travis Taggart's full review
February 23, 2021
Michael Kubelka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veeam has been a lifeline to our company. What originally started out as just a data protection scenario to protect from data loss because of cloud issues or accidental deletion has become a recurring resource for recovering emails and files associated with terminated users without the need of archiving a physical copy of users profiles to local storage. We have also seen the benefits that come with SharePoint recovery when someone gets too zealous cleaning up a company directory.
Read Michael Kubelka's full review
December 31, 2020
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Despite moving everything to Office 365, Microsoft doesn't do a very good job backing up files stored in Office 365. In comes Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to the rescue. This software provides the assurance that our Office 365 tenant has the proper backups, and allows us to control our backups in a manner that's consistent with our Veeam backups for on-premises servers.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
December 20, 2020
Joe Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use VBfMO365 to backup our entire O365 suite, including Exchange Online, OneDrive, SharePoint and Teams. While we do not expect Microsoft's cloud services to disappear on us, we know they won't help us recover deleted files discovered long after they went missing. That's why we keep our own backups.
Read Joe Stern's full review
December 19, 2020
Lee Culwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office is being used by the entire organization to backup all of SharePoint files and exchange email accounts. We need to have a backup of all data that we have in the Microsoft Office 365 environment. There are some concerns with having our data in Office 365 and this helps to get past those tensions.
Read Lee Culwell's full review
February 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We recently migrated from an on-premises Exchange server to Microsoft 365, and expanded our use of Veeam to also cover that. It's used to backup all 365 content company-wide.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're new to O365. We've used Veeam for our on-prem backups for years. Having Veeam [Backup for Microsoft Office 365] in place made our migration simpler, as we had a trusted, easy to use backup in place to help us with the inevitatble mistakes that come with moving to something new . We're using Veeam Backup across the entire organization.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Veeam Backup for Office 365 is being used across our entire organization. The foremost problem being addressed by the Veeam solution is that of backup. Microsoft generally does a good job of keeping data safe, however malicious deletion by an authorized user is the responsibility of the tenant. To mitigate the risk of a departing employee from deleting critical data either purposefully or accidentally, we know we have a series of snapshots to protect the data.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 for all of our staff and students, backing up to AWS cloud storage. The backup solution is essential considering there is no backup of individual files in O365 by default. Using Veeam allows us to restore item level files quickly.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to protect our Exchange Online mailboxes and, most importantly, protect SharePoint Online content, including all our active sites across the whole organization. We were looking for the backup solution to extend basic Office 365 recovery options and selected Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365, as it totally addresses all our business continuity requirements.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to perform incremental backups of our Office 365 mailboxes and SharePoints daily. When we switched to Office 365, we needed to ensure that a copy of our data could be maintained on site for archival purposes and data recovery.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Since our whole company is using Microsoft Office 365 as the main office suite software platform it was decided that we will be utilize Veeam Backup for the whole organisation as well. Moving away from on-premise office suite solution allowed us to introduce cloud backup product which in turn enables us to have total control of our Office 365 data - that is a huge advantage if compared to the previous situation.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2020
Adam Vogini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the company as our primary means of backup for all Office 365 tenants, namely Exchange Online, OneDrive for Business, and Sharepoint sites. Since O365 does not have a built-in backup system, this is filling in that gap, and allowing us to put backups elsewhere than the Azure cloud.
Read Adam Vogini's full review
March 16, 2020
Anthony Petzold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veeam Backup for Microsoft O365 is being used by our entire organization. We have working to migrate to SharePoint online but had concerns about the best way to backup and restore items in the cloud. We had concerns about restore times and bandwidth usage with other solutions we were evaluating and Veeam's solution blew us away with how quick and easy it was to restore. This solution makes it simple to restore or just recover single documents and send them out to the person who needs them.
Read Anthony Petzold's full review
June 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is being used by our organization in several different ways, to address several different needs that we have. As always it is nice to have a way for our users to recover their data should they have an issue with deleted files. This is especially helpful when your organization is first using Office 365. We also use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to help with archiving data of users who have left our company. We use it to capture their Outlook and OneDrive for archiving.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 across the entire organization to backup our cloud resources. While we like the flexibility of Office 365, we also are not completely comfortable relying 100% on others to protect our data.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We back up our entire organization using Veeam. The recovery and search elements have proved time and time again, the value and reliability of Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365. Finding critical information and being able to restore it quickly and efficiently means we chose Veeam over Microsoft tools to find and restore exactly what we need.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Veeam Backup for MS Office 365 to backup all users mailboxes on a daily basis. It has worked extremely well for us. I am able to restore anything from entire mailboxes down to individual emails quickly and easily. This is extremely easy to use and powerful software to backup your 365 data.
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 by making a local backup of our emails, our SharePoint sites and our One Drive documents. It addresses the business continuity concern by having our data in multiple locations.
Read this authenticated review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Veeam Backup for Office 365 as an on-prem backup for cloud-based data. The largest advantage in this particular scenario is the ability to easily export an Exchange Online mailbox to a PST for archival purposes when an employee leaves the company. The current Exchange Online administrator portal does not easily allow for this. In addition, similar archival actions can be taken with a user's Sharepoint and OneDrive data.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Veeam O365 Backup to create an on-premise copy of all our O365 data. Given certain situations where we needed to recover long-deleted or misplaced emails and files, we decided to implement Veeam's O365 backup to deal with those issues. We are running an entire organization backup every hour for every user that includes their Exchange Online data, SharePoint, and OneDrive data are all backed up to a RAID drive for redundancy. We are able to browse and restore any of the backup points when needed to pull an email or file if a user deletes it. It also gives us peace of mind in case of a cybersecurity issue where a rouge program deletes or encrypts all a user's files or emails.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Veeam Backup for Office 365 to backup Exchange online mailboxes, everyone's OneDrive, Teams groups, and Sharepoint online. In order to make our move to Office 365, we needed to be able to control and protect our data. It also gives us easier access to restoring files and mailboxes without having to involve Microsoft.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We wanted a backup for our Office 365 as a secondary solution to cover the shared calendars, contact lists, and tasks that users save on their profiles.
Read this authenticated review

What is Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365?

Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 aims to eliminate the risk of losing access and control over Office 365 data including Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Microsoft Teams – so that data is always protected and accessible. Veeam gives the user secure backup of Office 365 to any location, including on premises, a hyperscale cloud, or a service provider and:

  • Protects Office 365 data from accidental deletion, security threats and retention policy gaps
  • Quickly restores individual Office 365 email, files and sites with industry-leading recovery flexibility
  • Meet legal and compliance requirements with efficient eDiscovery of Office 365 items
New in version 5 - Purpose-built backup and recovery for Microsoft Teams, to make it easier to find and restore Teams data, including entire teams, specific channels and settings. Version 5 also includes architectural enhancements that the vendor states deliver 5x the scale increase to support larger enterprises and up to 2x faster Office 365 data movement to object storage.

The vendor offers a 30-day trial and a short demo series on Office 365 backup.

Useful resources:

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Screenshots

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Video

Watch this short demo video to learn how to backup and recover Office 365 Exchange Online, SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business data with Veeam

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Downloadables

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Integrations

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Competitors

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance.

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English