Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2021
Travis Taggart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

Yes, the flexibility is great. We have a ton of local storage and the ability to leverage that is fantastic.
Read Travis Taggart's full review
December 31, 2020
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

Most of the time we restore mailbox items to the user's mailbox, however there are times we need to provide HR with a .PST file. With Veeam Backup for Office 365, I enjoy the flexibility we have for restoring files, whether they're destined for the end-user or second party.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
February 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have not explored these options beyond the restore of data back to Office 365. The option to restore to PST is potentially useful, as the innate method O365 provides is somewhat complicated.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We've tested all of the different restore features. All work as described. Simple and fast.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

In the case of terminated senoir level executives like CFO, we have exported as a PST for long term storage in an optical disk. We have also restored to a separate location for investigative purposes in the case of reported abuse.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

All our restore experience is still limited to the periodic test restore--we test it all including restore to the original file location and the whole site restore and have never encountered any issues.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have not had to do a full restore so far but we have performed tests to confirm that data could indeed be restored if needed.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

Initially we were looking into a different backup and restore possibilities, however in the end we have decided to go for cloud based backup and restore in as many cases as possible. For some use cases we are using restore to on-premises, especially if there are strict security regulations demanded by a customer using our products.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2020
Adam Vogini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have needed to export departed users' accounts to PST a few times, and this was a rather easy and painless process.
Read Adam Vogini's full review
March 16, 2020
Anthony Petzold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have had an opportunity to utilize each option. These different options are nice especially when the end-user needs the info but doesn't need it put back in its original location due to compliance requirements. We have had times where users have inadvertently put information on SharePoint Online and then found out it is not supposed to be there and someone has removed it but did not keep a copy to put in the correct location. This is nice to be able to retrieve the documents and provide them to the department in need to file away.
Read Anthony Petzold's full review
June 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

The ability to restore in different formats and destinations has increased the usefulness of Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 for our organization. It has allowed us to use the product in several processes that were previously inefficient, and made them significantly more efficient. It also gives our end users flexibility to determine exactly how they want to recover their data and meet their need in a very specific way.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We've not had to use this feature, but from prior experiences, the exports to pst can be great for things like legal findings and other data requests.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

For the most part, we restore emails back to the user's current mailbox. When an entire mailbox or a large portion of a mailbox needs restoring, we will export this backup to a zip or pst file and save this to a separate appropriate location.
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have restored Sharepoint back in place after undesirable changes. We have also exported to PST for testing and archiving, as well as recovering items.
Read this authenticated review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

The Exchange Online PST export feature is routinely used at our organization (as well as the OneDrive export to zip). By doing this when an employee leaves, the Office 365 license can be freed for another user or new hire almost immediately. This flexibility greatly reduces the number of overhead licenses that need to be maintained.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

In most situations, we typically just restore the file to its original location, since that is where the user knows the file once was. It makes everything easier that way. However, if another user needed a file after de-provisioning a user, we had to send them the file over email, which was much more convenient than downloading it into the console, moving it from there, then emailing it from my personal computer.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have not had the need to use all the restore options but we could see a use case for them all and it's great that they are available for us when we need them. The one we use the most is restore to the original location and being able to restore to a different folder on the same location.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We've yet to have to rely on the recovery so I'm unable to share too many insights other than the tests we've performed all came up trumps.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

With all the formats we can restore data it make the recovery and accessibility of the data a breeze. Send the zip file to a user, open a PST in a client in order to pull some data that is needed. Easy to scrub the data from the network as well once it is no longer needed.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We have restored to both zip file and back directly into Office 365, natively. The restore process, though it often takes several hours, is very straightforward, and largely effortless.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Restore Flexibility

We tend to use restore to 365 or restore to zip. It depends on the situation at the time but all options work very well.
Read this authenticated review

What is Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365?

Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 aims to eliminate the risk of losing access and control over Office 365 data including Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Microsoft Teams – so that data is always protected and accessible. Veeam gives the user secure backup of Office 365 to any location, including on premises, a hyperscale cloud, or a service provider and:

  • Protects Office 365 data from accidental deletion, security threats and retention policy gaps
  • Quickly restores individual Office 365 email, files and sites with industry-leading recovery flexibility
  • Meet legal and compliance requirements with efficient eDiscovery of Office 365 items
New in version 5 - Purpose-built backup and recovery for Microsoft Teams, to make it easier to find and restore Teams data, including entire teams, specific channels and settings. Version 5 also includes architectural enhancements that the vendor states deliver 5x the scale increase to support larger enterprises and up to 2x faster Office 365 data movement to object storage.

The vendor offers a 30-day trial and a short demo series on Office 365 backup.

Useful resources:

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Screenshots

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Video

Watch this short demo video to learn how to backup and recover Office 365 Exchange Online, SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business data with Veeam

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Downloadables

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Integrations

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Competitors

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance.

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English