Veeam Backup & Replication

Veeam Backup & Replication

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Veeam Backup & Replication

Overview

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for all cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a management console, the software provides backup, archival, recovery and replication capabilities.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Veeam Backup

10 out of 10
November 15, 2022
We have about 15 virtual servers in our organization and we use Veeam Backup to backup and replicate all of them. The process could not be …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

How Veeam Backup & Replication Differs From Its Competitors

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux NAS filers In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads
Continue reading

Future Workloads

Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA Cloud-hosted VMs within AWS or Azure In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

Veeam has always been my go-to backup solution. I have used this so long that other solution seems antiquated. Cost for Veeam has seem to be the best suited for my company.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

In my 13 years of using Veeam, I still have not found cloud backup has been feasible. The cost of cloud backup and replication has not been high on a cost perspective.
Continue reading

NAS Backup

We are currently have a 3rd back up of our VMs and file to a NAS. It just gives us a better comfort level that our environment is backed up.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Capacity Tier to store data within object storage for longer term retention
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

“Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted) Failover or recovery scripts/plans for orchestrated recovery
Continue reading

Most Used

“Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted)
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We didn't had a reliable backup system until Veeam Backup. They were slow executing the backup task and without so many integrations. When we changed to Veeam, everything went smooth since the beggining, and until today, we didn't had any problem whatsoever. It has been 6 years.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We don't have servers on the cloud...yet. But I'm sure that when we'll get to the cloud, we will use Veeam to protect them.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Capacity Tier to store data within object storage for longer term retention Automating test restores to validate recoverability Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability …
Continue reading

Most Used

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc)
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

Currently, all of our virtual and physical workloads are backed up by Veeam Backup & Replication. In addition, we have application workloads that are backed up, specifically SQL. These workloads are why we purchased Veeam Backup & Replication, and we anticipated that these would be done faster. …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

Before Veeam Backup & Replication, it took a long time to find and resolve issues related to backups. While our old backup worked for a month or so without major problems, it was slow, we couldn't use more modern features involving the cloud very well, and it was getting clunky. It was not easy to …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have benefited from Veeam Backup & Replication's cloud features by being able to store backups in the cloud without negatively impacting internet access for our internal customers or employees. This is an important feature for our disaster recovery if or when we need it. As we expand further …
Continue reading

NAS Backup

Presently, we do not really use this feature for unstructured data, but as our business grows, this might be something that we would use.
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

I've used Arc Server, I found it heavy and complicated, while Veeam is a little lighter and easier to handle.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux NAS filers
Continue reading

Key Features

Capacity Tier to store data within object storage for longer term retention Immutable storage to protect against ransomware
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

I had gains in cost reduction and easier backup management when switching to Veeam, when compared to the solution used previously.
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

We were using 6 VMs, which are being backed up by Veeam Backup & Replication from our Physical Server to NAS storage on site. We were planning to add some cloud storage for these Virtual Machines so that we could have some sort of resiliency. We were also planning to add a few extra VMs to get …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We had a few IT companies pitch this product to us when we were first looking to integrate it within our systems. The management took a decision, and we ended up getting Veeam Backup & Replication, and we have been satisfied ever since. The trigger point, I suppose, could be that we upgraded from …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have not used many of the cloud backup facilities of the software, but we are planning to utilise them in the future with Azure VM.
We did plan to implement Office 365 backup back in the day, but I am unsure if that was completed.
Overall I do believe when the company moves over to Cloud VMs, …
Continue reading

NAS Backup

Yes, we did use this facility. It did benefit us quite a bit as we could always have access to a readable copy of the files from wherever we went.
This helped specifically during the server outages that we had faced due to the snapshot space being full on all our volumes.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux NAS filers
Continue reading

Future Workloads

Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) License portability as your environment needs change Automating test restores to validate recoverability Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms …
Continue reading

Most Used

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc)
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

60+ Virtual servers, 10 Physical servers, a few NAS, many SQL databases, and an Exchange server.
40+ Workstations.
We planned for this many and also purchased about 10 more licenses extra.
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We were unhappy that Unitrends was not able to execute a P2V of a Windows Active Directory Server. Before the Unitrends support & maintenance contract was ended, I researched other products, and Veeam Backup & Replication met all our requirements and impressed us with the ease of setup, use, and …
Continue reading

NAS Backup

Veeam Backup & Replication's backup solution for NAS File Storage worked tremendously and flawlessly. Easy to set up and easy to use.
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We needed cost savings, and Veeam was much cheaper than that we were using for our previous backup solution, so we went this route. However, in my experience our previous backup solution was much more intuitive, easier to use, and less issue prone.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA
Continue reading

Future Workloads

In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Capacity Tier to store data within object storage for longer term retention
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

We have three production VMware hosts running some 24 VMs. We also protect two physical hosts, including a dedicated physical Domain Controller. We do not yet utilize any cloud capabilities (we found the Office 365 functionality to be lacking) but will be reassessing this capability soon. As a …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

It's been so long we've been using Veeam Backup & Replication that I can barely remember the enterprise before it. We had been using a leading small business favorite at the time, Symantec (Veritas) BackupExec. I believe we outgrew that solution, and Veeam Backup & Replication offered a compelling …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have not yet extended into the cloud capabilities with Veeam Backup & Replication as we had invested in a different solution (Zerto). However, with Veeam Backup & Replication's continued development on this front, the product has matured to a point where we are now expecting to move to Veeam …
Continue reading

Future Workloads

Virtualized workloads Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Cloud-hosted VMs within AWS or Azure NAS filers In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Utilizing backup copies for secondary purposes via DataLabs Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted) Accessing data …
Continue reading

Most Used

“Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted)
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

At this company, I currently oversee 5 physical servers on site of 3 separate locations. After extensively searching many backup options, I found that Veeam offered many options that I was looking for at a very affordable price. I also found that Veeam was much easier to use than the other services
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

What triggered my decision to use Veeam backup and replication was when I first was hired with the company I found that the IT department was poorly ran along with no backups for any of the data including SQL databases and a common share folder that many people access. Having Veeam is a big relief …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

I have not yet signed up for cloud storage yet but I have used used a trial version of Wasabi who is a partner with Veeam and plan to use their product soon
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

We currently have 15 cloud, virtual, or physical workloads that are currently protected by Veeam Backup & Replication in our organization.
This is less than when we originally purchased the product. It's less because we are activley migrating as many as or workloads to the cloud. This process has …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

I inherited Veeam Backup & Replication when I arrived at my current employ. I;ve used Veritas products in the past. Veeam Backup & Replication does all the things I was accustomed to doing with Veritas as well if not better in some cases. I think it may be less expensive too.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

Our organization has not benefitted from these capabilities. We currently store all of our backups on site. The option to do so makes Veeam Backup & Replication the best choice as we are moving towards having our backups reside in the cloud as opposed to our local SAN. In this regardss we expect …
Continue reading

NAS Backup

Veeam Backup & Replication's comprehensive NAS/File-share backup solution for protecting unstructured data has been emmensely helpful to our organization. Veeam Backup & Replication is easy to integrate with our existing and new NAS hardware.
Continue reading

Key Features

Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted)
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) License portability as your environment needs change
Continue reading

Most Used

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc)
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

I use Veeam Backup & Replication since I start working in a virtual environment. When we started using Veeam Backup & Replication in around 2010 and haven't used another product since.
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

I started working with this company recently. My predecessor was doing manual backups with robocopy jobs to NAS units. I was the trigger for changing.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have not and have no interest in it currently. Our leadership is uncomfortable with privileged information leaving our premises, so he's generally opposed to the cloud.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Future Workloads

Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA NAS filers
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Automating test restores to validate recoverability
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We had a system failure that caused us to spend a great time re-creating estimates and invoices, as well as some data in CRM just being lost. Since then, we have had a similar event take place but were able to restore from recent backups. Veeam saved us valuable time.
Continue reading

NAS Backup

We are planning on using the NAS backup functions in the future but have not implemented them yet.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX NAS filers In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We had to undergo a major IT upheaval in terms of our data and networking systems and this is the time when we decided to go with an on-premises Windows Server which required us to look at backup software. I personally researched and looked at Veeam Backup & Replication for a solution and they …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

Unfortunately, we have not been able to utilize these capabilities as of now. That is due to the lack of a full-time IT staff who will assist us in deploying and maintaining these systems. We really feel the need for these implementations but it is a future process for us.
Continue reading

NAS Backup

Yes, we have used this feature to keep files available in an easily available format in case of any disaster. We have coupled the NAS with a Linux VM which has immutable backups enabled for a certain timeframe. I believe we still need to write a company policy for these issues.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Endpoints and physical servers running Windows & Linux In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads In addition to back up, we also snapshot some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

License portability as your environment needs change Automating test restores to validate recoverability Failover or recovery scripts/plans for orchestrated recovery
Continue reading

Future Workloads

Virtualized workloads Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA Cloud-hosted VMs within AWS or Azure NAS filers
Continue reading

Key Features

License portability as your environment needs change Automating test restores to validate recoverability Integration with cyber-security tools for SecureRestore
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

I currently use Veeam on 4 physical servers from 3 different locations. This is the number of licenses my company anticipated buying but looks to expand and will purchase more as needed.
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

When I first took this position with the company, I realized there was no type of backup implemented. When I researched different backup software, I chose Veeam as the best fit because they provided security and backups at a great cost and more features than their competitors.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have not been able to explore cloud-based options yet, but it is something I plan to do soon. I've looked at several options, and Wasabi seems to be the best fit.
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted) Failover or recovery scripts/plans for orchestrated recovery
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

Veeam is currently backing up multiple virtual servers for our company. We anticipated that the software would be backing up all of these virtual environments much the same as the previous backup software had been doing. Veeam is lining right up with our level of expectation for use in backing up …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

The IT department for our company and the managed service provider that we contract, both had been working towards a new backup system to replace the outdated and troublesome backup system that had been in place for years and was slowly degrading. The push to move to Veeam was a decision based on …
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We have not yet set up our cloud storage service as we are still in the process of transitioning our backups from our old system over to Veeam. The cloud storage and protection, however, are some of the main reasons that we decided to go with Veeam backup, to begin with.
Continue reading

NAS Backup

We have not yet set up NAS/File-share backups with Veeam just yet. As previously stated, we are still in the process of transitioning our backup systems over to Veeam at this time. I feel confident that we will utilize this feature to ensure critical data is preserved on individual files.
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Enterprise UNIX servers running Solaris & IBM AIX Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) License portability as your environment needs change Utilizing backup copies for secondary purposes via DataLabs Immutable storage to protect against ransomware
Continue reading

Most Used

Immutable storage to protect against ransomware “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted) Failover or recovery scripts/plans for orchestrated recovery
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

I currently back up around 10 VMs, replicate them to another host, and copy online backups daily to tape, all with Veeam. It's very flexible and this workload was completely in the plan - Veeam makes them easy to achieve and simple to administer. Notifications are excellent - particularly the …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

The incumbent application was slow, difficult to administer, expensive, badly specified, and didn't give me the confidence I knew Veeam would. Being able to make use of the industry leader at a cost that is right for a small business is a real boon.
Continue reading

Cloud Capabilities

We're just at the beginning of our cloud transition and currently only use the more traditional applications like Microsoft 365. Veeam has given us confidence in our ability to backup cloud data with its free trials of cloud backup applications.
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Immutable storage to protect against ransomware
Continue reading

Most Used

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc)
Continue reading

NAS Backup

I use different brands of NAS for backup and the versatility of Veeam allowed me to use their full potential
Continue reading

Workloads

Virtualized workloads Enterprise applications such as Oracle or SAP HANA In addition to back up, we also replicate some of these workloads
Continue reading

Key Features

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc) Automating test restores to validate recoverability “Instant” recovery or portability between platforms (physical > virtual > cloud-hosted)
Continue reading

Most Used

Application-centric recovery using Veeam Explorers (for Exchange, SQL, Sharepoint, etc)
Continue reading

Number of Workloads Protected

We started out covering only some critical machines and coming from VDP of VMWare we thought we couldn't handle more. But gradually we included all our infrastructure some 30 VMs of which 10 are replicated on remote sites and 5 have application-level backups. It is more than we ever imagined when …
Continue reading

Needs Assesment

We have been using for some years VDP replication, which had a lot of issues and was highly unreliable for our environment. We tested out some software both free and paid but all had their quirks. When we tested the Veeam community we were surprised by how an easy experience it was and how fast we …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Incremental backup identification (171)
    8.9
    89%
  • Recovery verification (154)
    8.8
    88%
  • Multiple backup destinations (165)
    8.7
    87%
  • Deduplication and file compression (159)
    8.6
    86%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Veeam Backup & Replication, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Veeam Backup Essentials

$400

On Premise
per year 5 licenses

Backup & Replication

Contact sales team

On Premise

Availability Suite

Contact sales team

On Premise

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.veeam.com/salesinc.html

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

VAS 9.5: Architecture and Components
59:55
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Data Center Backup

8.6
86%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a simple-by-design management console, users are offered what is presented as a fast, flexible, reliable Backup, archival, recovery and replication.


Backup capabilities
  • Continuous Data Protection
  • Fast, reliable application-aware, image-based backups
  • Unlimited capacity and cost savings for long-term data retention on object storage with new Veeam Cloud Tier
  • Enterprise application support for Veeam Plug-ins for SAP HANA and Oracle RMAN
Replication capabilities
  • Instant recovery for NAS, Microsoft SQL and Oracle
  • Recover individual files easily with Instant VM and File-level Recovery
  • Easy portability and recovery to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with NEW Veeam Cloud Mobility

Recovery capabilities
  • Recover individual files with Instant VM and File-level Recovery
  • Portability and recovery to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with NEW Veeam Cloud Mobility
  • Fast, item-level and application recovery for Microsoft Exchange, SharePoint, Active Directory, and SQL Server and Oracle

Veeam Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Veeam Backup & Replication Screenshots

Screenshot of With Veeam Backup Community Edition, you can migrate a live VMware VM to any host or data store—even if you don't use clusters or shared storage.Screenshot of Reduce storage needs by eliminating redundant VM data with Veeam data deduplication.Screenshot of To enable WAN acceleration, you need to deploy a pair of WAN accelerators in your backup infrastructureScreenshot of You can quickly locate SharePoint items and restore them to the original or new SharePoint site, send them by e-mail or save to the specified locationScreenshot of You can restore virtual and physical machines from Veeam backups directly to Microsoft Azure.Screenshot of You can install a standalone console on your workstation and manage the backup server remotely over the network.Screenshot of You can restore Microsoft SharePoint items in a couple of minutes.Screenshot of You can configure a "global" media pool that can use several tape libraries or standalone drives.Screenshot of Veeam Backup & Replication does not back up "dirty blocks" on VM guest OS.Screenshot of You can even restore the database to a specific transaction.

Veeam Backup & Replication Video

Veeam SE offers in-depth technical deep dive into the architecture and engineering of Veeam Backup & Replication. It demonstrates how to protect virtual workloads with Veeam Availability Suite by diving into the deployment and technical details of components that allow Veeam B...
 Show More

Veeam Backup & Replication Downloadables

Veeam Backup & Replication Integrations

Veeam Backup & Replication Competitors

Veeam Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)50%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%

Veeam Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for all cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a management console, the software provides backup, archival, recovery and replication capabilities.

Acronis Cyber Backup, Commvault Complete Data Protection, and Cohesity DataProtect are common alternatives for Veeam Backup & Replication.

Reviewers rate Incremental backup identification highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Veeam Backup & Replication are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 360)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 16, 2022

Gleeam with Veeam

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Veeam allow us to manage M365 application data in an on-prem and off-prem data center. We found we want greater ability to backup and restore more M365 application data than Microsoft was giving us. Veeam allows the ability to pick certain users to manage rather all Active Directory users which would be much more costly.
  • Manages SharePoint data
  • Manages OneDrive data
  • Manages Teams data
  • Manages Exchange data
  • Greater Exchange data insight
  • Greater Teams data insight
  • Greater OneDrive data insight
Veeam fits our services stack really well. It manages data where we need it. It works!
Since moving enterprise M365 applications to the cloud, we feel more confident in our ability to restore file/message sets.
November 16, 2022

Veeam Overall Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company have all our backup and replication through it. From VMs to files to computer backups. We also have replication setup to our 2nd location. We need real scenario DR testing.

Support from Veeam Backup & Replication could improve a little. There are no check on company's usage.
  • VMs and Physical backup
  • Replications
  • SQL Recovery to instances, databases, etc...
  • Backup to the cloud
  • Follow-up of new implementation
  • Support to issues
A couple of years back, I had to restore a table within an instance of a database. I was able to do it with the SurBackup. It was very convenient and nice to do.
Veeam backup and replication is only protecting our virtual environment. We have other securities to protect our physical space.
November 16, 2022

Top rate backup solution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Nightly backup of primary data servers. Weekly backup of application servers. Monthly backup of static data. Cloud replication. Restores.
  • Great interface.
  • Nice reports.
  • Interfaces with my virtual environment and storage area network.
  • Can't think of any right now.
70 servers
November 15, 2022

Veeam Backup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have about 15 virtual servers in our organization and we use Veeam Backup to backup and replicate all of them. The process could not be easier and the wizard is fail-proof. Even somebody without experience could configure the backup tasks without problems.
  • Fast
  • Good compression ratio
  • Easy to use
  • Integration with many programs
  • Ransomware protección
  • More speed
  • Lower the prices
Any scenario is good for using Veeam. If you care about your data, you should use a backup system and I cannot think about any other better than Veeam. You can install it and configure it in less than 1h and have it running right away.
We have more than 15 virtual servers and more than 70PCs protected by Veeam Backup. It's lot more than I anticipated when I acquired the product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Veeam Backup & Replication for our on-premise physical servers and our VM infrastructure, including the cloud. Our previous backup software did not have many of the features of Veeam Backup & Replication, including the ease of testing restores thoroughly and effectively. The other important feature is that Veeam Backup & Replication reduced our overall backup time by over 4 hours.
  • The speed in which backups are completed.
  • The detailed information about backup success or failure.
  • The ability to backup SQL databases is very granular and easy to restore.
  • The addition backing up physical hardware servers was an important feature for us.
  • The documentation of the test lab for testing restores should be emphasized more.
  • Because there are so many features, it is important to have help in initial setup.
In the past, when I looked at Veeam Backup & Replication, it did not support physical servers, only VMs. But now that it supports physical servers, we are able to use it. We are using it to send copies of our backups to our cloud for redundancy because it is so fast; our previous backup software was very slow sending backups to the cloud, making it useless for us. The granularity of being able to save SQL backups has really helped us, so we don't have to rely on SQL native backups.
Currently, all of our virtual and physical workloads are backed up by Veeam Backup & Replication. In addition, we have application workloads that are backed up, specifically SQL. These workloads are why we purchased Veeam Backup & Replication, and we anticipated that these would be done faster. What we did not anticipate was being able to do restore testing with the SureBackup and Virtual Lab to verify our restores on an automated and regular basis. One of the major issues with backups has always been, can you restore it properly, and how fast can it be restored? It takes minutes with Veeam Backup & Replication rather than hours with our previous backup software.
Giovanni Biondi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Veeam Backup & Replication for local and remote cloud backups for all organization virtual machines, and the same important local machine or pc.
  • Backup VMware virtual machines
  • Backup managed personal computers
  • Backup copy job on external or cloud datastore
  • I have no requests for missing implementations
I think it is suitable for both small and medium enterprises. I have no experience with very large companies of more than 200 entities.
1 VMware cluster with 2 machines, and about ten servers. Before this job, I was a systems engineer for a software house.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I had a problem with one of the HOSTS servers, and it took a long time to restore using Native Windows Backup. When I switched to Veeam Backup & Replication, the speed of recovery surprised me, and also the reliability of the backup caught my attention. Today I use it daily for my VMS backups, and I wouldn't trade it for anything! I've used competing for software, but Veeam's simplicity captivated me.
  • VMS backup.
  • Fast backup and restore.
  • Backup retention.
  • The software could be a little lighter on the machines resource uses.
I think it is suitable for everything, thought about information security, use Veeam!
Today I use the community version with ten workloads.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Veeam as a VM backup solution. Its application has a relatively low learning curve and the simplicity of how things work is an excellent point. Backup and restore tasks, in addition to data integrity checks, provide the necessary support to the manager in the architecture of his solution and data security plan.
  • VM backup.
  • Data integrity verification.
  • Automated restore.
  • Managing available storage can be complex due to retention policy options.
In general, the user experience is excellent, as the system is very suggestive, which facilitates the architecture of a backup solution. Very good for those who already have experience with backup management and other information security solutions, but also a good choice for those starting out. Among the solutions of the type on the market, I believe that Veeam offers the best and most cost-effective.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
When I was part of the company, we put this software to use by making sure all our servers and virtual machines were backed up by Veeam Backup & Replication. We did previously consider the community edition to trial out, but the actual licensing was so cheap that we decided to go with the full version. We love it.
  • Very lightweight and fast product
  • Not glitchy at all
  • Consumes very few resources on the servers and works across multiple kinds of storage media
  • Licensing pricing is cheap
  • Service and documentation available is absolutely amazing
  • Use fewer resources for the different roles that we require
  • Better licensing policy for NAS backups
  • Everything else is great
It is very well suited in an environment where the customer wants to backup up and replicate Virtual Machines in the cloud or on physical servers on-premises.

Also, the Office 365 backup feature should save the customer a lot of headaches by making immutable backups of the mailboxes.
We were using 6 VMs, which are being backed up by Veeam Backup & Replication from our Physical Server to NAS storage on site. We were planning to add some cloud storage for these Virtual Machines so that we could have some sort of resiliency. We were also planning to add a few extra VMs to get some Newforma connection.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Veeam Backup & Replication is a stable backup & recovery solution. The backups are relatively quick, and the restores work successfully. Veeam Backup & Replication is very easy to set up, use and maintain. It was able to successfully backup both a physical Windows Active Directory server and several VMware VM's and successfully restore as well. It works great with Windows Servers and Workstations, both physical and virtual. We were looking for a backup solution that is stable and works consistently. That would work great with VMware and also be installed as a VM.
Veeam Backup & Replication is priced to be comparable with competitive products such as Unitrends.
  • Has the ability to allow us to dive right into the SQL tables that were backed up
  • Has the ability to allow us to extract specific backed up emails
  • Every restore we have tried worked successfully
  • The setup of Veeam Backup & Replication was very easy, and we had it up and running quickly
  • The Deduplication ratio isn't as good as Unitrends. It takes between 20% -30% more than Unitrends backup.
Veeam Backup & Replication is great in a VMware environment as well for physical backups.
It works great with Windows Server & Windows Workstation.
It also works great with backing up NAS File Storage.
We have been very happy with how it works with SQL, Exchange & Active Directory.
We are thrilled that it does not need an appliance and runs as a VM.
Its backups are fast.

Do not expect great deduplication ratios, I'm hoping Veeam Backup & Replication will improve deduplication to reduce storage.
60+ Virtual servers, 10 Physical servers, a few NAS, many SQL databases, and an Exchange server.
40+ Workstations.
We planned for this many and also purchased about 10 more licenses extra.
September 21, 2022

Veeam at K12 school

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We back up all of our Windows and Linux servers with Veeam.<br>
  • Full system disk backup
  • Virtual host backup
  • Price point is good
  • Restores of backups have been very clunky and diffcult to do successfully
  • GUI interface is not very intuitive
  • Had issues with Linux disk encryption
It's price point makes it attractive, especially for organizations with only a handful of servers that can use the community edition.
We have 7 physical windows servers, 2 physical Linux servers, and 5 virtual servers.<br>This is what we expected and sized our licenses accordingly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We've been using Veeam Backup & Replication for over a decade to back up both our multi-host VMware environment as well as a few bare-metal hosts and output to tape. While the solution is clearly targeted at virtualized workloads, the ability to include physical machines is a handy benefit, albeit with a few caveats. The flexibility and features available for backing up virtual machines and their associated application workloads have surpassed our requirements, although organizations with high-security and least privilege requirements (like ours) may find there is additional configuration required for some application solutions (SQL, for example).

Veeam Backup & Replication has proven to be a consistent, reliable solution for our on-premise backup needs. That said, we turned first to Veeam when we started looking for a solution to backup Office 365. Veeam's offering was simple to implement and operate but was unable to backup all the required workloads (Teams). It has been a few years now since we looked into this, so this likely has changed. We will be reassessing this capability soon, as well as the Cloud Connect offerings.
  • Tiered backups
  • Tape support
  • Consistent, reliable performance
  • Tape Inventory Management
  • Implementation following high-security best practices
Veeam Backup & Replication is an excellent solution for virtualized backups and is an ideal solution, from my perspective, for a tiny enterprise like ours. The ability to also backup physical machines is a great benefit, but this is not a strength. The fact that it continues to support tape is essential for our use case. I could see the new workload-based licensing model getting expensive for organizations that have many VMs to support.
We have three production VMware hosts running some 24 VMs. We also protect two physical hosts, including a dedicated physical Domain Controller. We do not yet utilize any cloud capabilities (we found the Office 365 functionality to be lacking) but will be reassessing this capability soon. As a tiny enterprise, Veeam Backup & Replication's capabilities far exceed our capacity requirements.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using Veeam backup and replication addresses the lack of company wide backups including the backing up of important information such as servers that hosts sql databases and the company ERP systems. Veeam is also used at multiple locations and allows me to provide effortless backups to various desktops as well
  • Provides backups of physical servers
  • Provides protection of ransomware
  • Ease of use
  • Integrated online backup storage
When i first started my position with my current employer and was looking over protocols and procedures. I realized that nobody previously had considered any type of backup for any of the devices or servers i found Veeam to provide much needed backups for physical servers that the company needed
At this company, I currently oversee 5 physical servers on site of 3 separate locations. After extensively searching many backup options, I found that Veeam offered many options that I was looking for at a very affordable price. I also found that Veeam was much easier to use than the other services
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to backup 15 vitual machines and to then copy those backups to an offsite SAN. These backups are shceduled daily. THe off-site backup runs nightly. This software ensures we aren;t left without options in the event of a Virtual machine failure. It's worked very well for our organization.
  • Backup virtual machines
  • Remote copies for VM backups
  • Licensing is a bit confusing
Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited for backing up virtual machines and copying them to an off site storage. We have not run into any scenario where Veeam Backup & Replication is not appropriate. It fully suits our needs. In our environment, I cannot think of scenarios where it is less appropriate.
We currently have 15 cloud, virtual, or physical workloads that are currently protected by Veeam Backup & Replication in our organization.
This is less than when we originally purchased the product. It's less because we are activley migrating as many as or workloads to the cloud. This process has taken several years.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
for regular backup of VMs and physical hosts/workstations
  • backups for VMS
  • recovery of VMs
  • backup of phys. workstations
automatic testing formerly done backups are very well - way too complicated implementation of workstation backup.
10
its exactly what was planned
no good experiences and no real help ; do this do that , i need this , i need that - until sth is not reproducable ...takes too long to get a solution.
its main scope its covering very well (backing up VMs)
but as a client backup solution this is often not working out good
6 for clients
10 for VMS

on the whole a 8 as it is easy extensible and scalable
Yes
totally without any issues
September 16, 2022

Best for Virtual Machines

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Veeam Backup and Replication for backing up or vSphere Infrastructure. We have both physical and virtual servers at our premises. Also, we use it for our cloud backup as well. I use it for the replication of servers. Veeam Backup & Replication is a good product for replication.
  • Backup the virtual servers without any hassles.
  • Restore time is surprisingly quick and easy.
  • Replicate the server in no time to check previous versions of servers without changing anything.
  • Licensing model where they change a lot for virtual and physical servers
Veeam Backup& Replication uses SQL and other client-based apps locally. It will help recover your infrastructure easily if there is a disaster happens. I probably do not recommend it if you haven't moved your setup to the Cloud and are working without any server setup.
We back up 3 virtual servers and 2 physical servers on the cloud every day.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We're a law practice with ever-expanding data sets to protect. Veeam Backup & Replication allows us to protect that data at a reasonable cost and complexity. It allows us to meet our RTO and RPO objectives and helps everyone sleep easier at night.
  • Protects our data with nightly incremental backups
  • Allows for quick restoral of data if needed
  • Can create new 'full backups' from data sets without having to perform a full backup
  • The interface is a bit clunky...I preferred it before they 'fisher priced' the interface
  • Support can be problematic, as it takes a while to get someone to respond to a ticket; that MAY be related to Covid
  • The cost has gone up considerably in recent years.
We're currently using it with physical servers, which doesn't seem to be the expected situation. It works, but all the documentation and the support people expect you to be running in a VM environment. We will be switching to VMWare shortly, but it's a bit annoying to have to keep correcting people and translating for our actual situation.

I've used other products that are better at protecting the data (faster backups, more recovery points), like the Datto Siris, but they're much more expensive. To protect the same size data set with Datto would require about $50,000 purchase and $5,000 monthly expenses.
We're protecting a single physical server with roughly 66 TB of data. That's what we expected to be protected, though the data set has grown (as projected)
  • No Training
Perhaps it's a remnant from Covid staffing issues, but it seems as though the entire support process takes longer now than it used to. It's not uncommon for a lower level support request to take more than a day before I receive the first human response. That said, I haven't had to use support often, so it's not been a major issue.
The interface is counter-intuitive and clunky. Once things are setup, however, it's pretty decent.
It's available for SaaS products, single workstations, up to VM Clusters. It's very scalable.
No
September 12, 2022

Great ROI on Veeam Backup!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I first began using Veeam on my laptop via the free version. Although we were using Windows integrated backup solutions for our servers at the time, I wanted to take my backups a bit further and test a backup solution for just my laptop. I was so happy with the performance, including when it came in clutch for accidental deletion of the necessary information. I ended up purchasing a multi-server license and began using it on our back office server, CRM, and file servers. We had since renewed our licenses when they came due. We are sold on Veeam. It is well worth the investment and provides the peace of mind we wanted.
  • Ease of use.
  • Easy restoration.
  • Simplified licensing.
  • Hyper-V backups can be a little challenging.
In regards to our usage, it is perfect for small businesses without a huge IT department. We run a few physical Windows-based servers as well as two virtual machines. It does not require a lot of setup time to get up and to run.
We have two virtuals and could possibly be adding a third in the near future to handle out VOIP needs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Veeam Backup & Replication assists us in backing up our critical IT infrastructure including the virtual machines and ESXi system. The good thing about it is that it can back up to a number of onsite and offsite including backing up our unstructured data to NAS drives and on the cloud. We have established a VPN tunnel with Meraki devices to manage the offsite backup.
  • Great interface and quick-to-find settings.
  • Amazing connectivity with cloud backups, immutable backups and NAS backups.
  • Capability to make Microsoft365 backups online.
  • Licensing could be a bit more inclusive for NAS file transfer.
  • Pricing for the NAS backups feels a bit extra.
Where a company has an on-premises server with multiple VM, Veeam Backup & Replication can be used for backing up all the machines to be restored on the same physical hardware or on the cloud in case of any issues with the current backup. This can also comes in handy if a user wants to do Microsoft365 backups of all their emails and files.
We currently have a total of 8 virtual machines with application servers and domain controllers being the most critical ones for backups. We are looking to add 4 Azure VMs; we are working with Microsoft Windows Server 2022 to create our hybrid workspace for all the users who wish to work from home.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to keep our company protected from data loss at all levels. Aside from just backing up and versioning, it's great for VM management tasks as well, i.e migrations and upgrades. The licenses for hypervisors to do live migration are very expensive. We use Veeam Backup & Replication in place of these licenses and it does a great job for us. So the savings alone on this aspect of our deployment makes the product a no-cost solution. The licensing for Veeam Backup & Replication is excellent and priced better than the competition in our experience. The universal license model is fair and priced well. I've used several disaster recovery products in the past and Veeam Backup & Replication is by far my favorite one. Veeam Backup & Replication is a little more in-depth to deploy than some other solutions, but the tradeoff is that it is extremely capable, flexible, and configurable for almost any scenario.
  • Backup schedules are powerful and very tunable.
  • Instant recovery of single files is awesome.
  • Licensing model is set it and forget it.
  • It should be easier to implement copying the entire backup repo to external storage on a schedule. This should include cloud services.
Any small, medium or large company that does not want to lose data should consider Veeam Backup & Replication. It works very well with VMware vSphere but is also good with standard client-side PCs.
No, Veeam Backup & Replication it's exactly what we designed for.
September 09, 2022

Great backup software.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Veeam Backup and Replication to ensure that there is at all times a secure back up of data within the company. I currently use the Veeam software on multiple servers, and although I have not had to use it yet, I feel I would have no issues restoring the data in a timely manner.
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Easy to navigate software.
  • numerous backup options.
  • I would like to see Veeam have its own online backup repository instead of relying on a 3rd party.
I feel that Veeam is best used for companies that are in need of reliable and safe backup software. Veeam would be great for any type of system failure, along with any type of malicious ransomware. Veeam is able to be used on multi-platforms along with using any additional licensing on PCs.
I currently use Veeam on 4 physical servers from 3 different locations. This is the number of licenses my company anticipated buying but looks to expand and will purchase more as needed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Veeam has proven to be a fairly intuitive backup software that is much easier to use than some competing products. The software is user-friendly and is incredibly helpful in file recovery situations that require fast resolution. Our company replaced an outdated software with Veeam and are pleased with the results that we have seen even in just a few months we have been using their service.
  • User-friendly.
  • Fast file backup recovery.
  • Dedicated support team.
  • Faster support resolutions.
Veeam backup is well suited for small to mid-sized companies like the one I am a part of. The price point and the functionality of the software make the program well worth the investment and provide peace of mind when it comes to securing company data. Veeam could be an invaluable resource for securing data from ransomware attacks.
Veeam is currently backing up multiple virtual servers for our company. We anticipated that the software would be backing up all of these virtual environments much the same as the previous backup software had been doing. Veeam is lining right up with our level of expectation for use in backing up our company data files. It has met the mark for our expectations in this regard.
  • no training
They provided great support on the one issue that we have had thus far. I rated them at 8 for how quickly they responded to our request for support as well as for how responsive they were throughout the process. I was pleased with how they handled their communications with all of the people involved in finding a resolution.
Veeam is fairly simple in terms of how it is set up; its not an overly-complicated dashboard that can be intimidating to less technically-inclined users. Veeam also offers good instructional videos to help users work through how to do specific functions. I appreciate that they have specific video tutorials rather than having users scroll through a cumbersome manual.
In terms of scalability for our company, Veeam was able to cover our backup needs with ease. They have options for even more individualized backup if we were to need them; i.e. if a specific workstation needs its own independent backup. We have not used these resources yet, but I am confident they will be beneficial to our company in the near future.
No
September 09, 2022

I love Veeam!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Backups are a necessary evil and for SMEs are often overlooked. A decent strategy and the necessary infrastructure are easy to overlook when there are more pressing concerns and are often only missed when it's too late. I've used a variety of backup applications over the years and they've generally been poor experiences causing headaches and frustration. Veeam is the first I've come across that is flexible, powerful, and - dare I say it - a pleasure to use. I use Veeam for a variety of types of backup (VMs, Office 365) on a variety of media (cloud, online, and tape) and even replication and It Just Works. Support, when I've needed it, has been quick, friendly, and efficient with the sense that the team loves their product as much as I do. There, I said it; I love a backup product! A first for me, and it may be for you too - why not try it? It's free - in perpetuity - for the limited use so you've really nothing to lose.
  • Day to day backup with no hassle
  • Copying online backups to tape
  • Replication
  • Support
  • Copying backup to tape for archive
  • Genuinely happy with what I've got!
For day-to-day backup (of VMs, datastores, etc.), it's easily the best I've seen just getting the job done. Replication is a nice "extra" that is way more feature-rich than (for example) Microsoft's native Hyper-V offering. As well as storing data live on our SAN, I copy it to tape for air-gapped, off-site storage - Veeam makes this a very easy process with excellent administration of new and existing backups.

I can't think of any major issues - my first experience of Veam was at a job where it was already in place. When I left there for a new job I quickly replaced the existing system with Veeam - you can't get a better recommendation!
I currently back up around 10 VMs, replicate them to another host, and copy online backups daily to tape, all with Veeam. It's very flexible and this workload was completely in the plan - Veeam makes them easy to achieve and simple to administer. Notifications are excellent - particularly the ability to email on exception only. Who needs to be told when things are ticking along nicely - emergency notifications only please!
Yes
Upgrading Veeam Backup & Replication is a regular process as the software is under continual development. Whilst new releases don't tend to be radically different in what they offer, the knowledge that the application is under continual review - and is patched and kept secure in the modern, hostile environment - is very reassuring.
Downtime is minimal with plenty of help and assistance to ensure the process is as smooth as possible.
August 29, 2022

Great free solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use this product with many clients to backup their servers' VMs and I think it is a valid software even in the free Community Edition because of its versatility and features. I've tested it with Hyper-V and using the application-aware feature that lets me recover even a single email from the on-premise Exchange Servers and it's also useful when I have to recover a single file.
  • Granular recovery
  • Instant recovery
  • Repository management
  • User interface is sometimes confusing
  • Hyper-V Checkpoints management when a backup fails
Small businesses with virtualized servers are the best scenario for using the community edition. Also when you want to centralize endpoints backup . Another great scenario is on-premise Exchange servers or other applications using databases
20
August 09, 2022

We never backup alone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Veeam is the software responsible for our ease of mind, we use it on all our sites for some years now and it is so solid and efficient that is the only infrastructure element that we do not lay a finger on, apart from updates, which we also blindly do due to the fact no issues were presented whatsoever, ever. We use it to backup all our infrastructure both locally and on remote site NASes daily, and in some cases for mission-critical services even every 10 minutes without even a glitch. Restores are a breeze and never had integrity issues. We use file level restore very often in both windows and Linux systems as well as email (exchange) and database level( not very often) The systems were tested in disaster recovery situations in order to restore servers in new hardware and hypervisor without any issues whatsoever. Even the community edition has no features cut (at least for our needs) except the VM number it can process. Overall great software and great support! Thank you VEEAM!
  • Reliable and fast backup
  • Portability and flexibility or restore options
  • Great scalability
  • Excelent stability
  • Ability to run on the Linux platform
The best way to use VEEAM is to have it handle your VM backups automatically. You only need to specify well what aspects of each workload you need to focus on (file level, application objects backup) and a good retention policy and you forget to review it again. It is also very efficient and fast when working with remote backups, its deduplication capabilities amazed me!
We started out covering only some critical machines and coming from VDP of VMWare we thought we couldn't handle more. But gradually we included all our infrastructure some 30 VMs of which 10 are replicated on remote sites and 5 have application-level backups. It is more than we ever imagined when we tested and finally purchased the software.
Return to navigation