Vembu BDR Suite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Kees Wals | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Vembu Backup with the personal touch

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Vembu Backup for all our shared and dedicated hosting servers across our datacenters for both on-site and off-site backup, and the restore of system code and respective databases on a weekly full and daily incremental bases.
Read Kees Wals's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

No frills but it works

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used across the company to provide logical separation and single-pass backups of virtualized infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Castro | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

VembuBDR Smokes Other Overpriced Backup Solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Vembu BDR Suite is used as a backup/recovery, disaster recovery solution and can also be used for Hyper-V and ESXI VM replication and migration. There's an image-based backup client for Windows/Server and Mac, and a file-based backup client for Windows/Server, Mac, and Linux. No client needs to be installed on the hypervisors for backup - you can run the backups directly from the backup server.
Read Daniel Castro's full review
Michael Pisto | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

It's Great and the Price is Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using other Backup Solutions but they really like their prices so I was looking for a different solution and I found it with Vembu. It fits my business model, my business needs, the backup works and can be exported out in a variety of forms and can perform bare metal restores. It fits my needs, it's easy to set up and the pricing is significantly cheaper than the "big guys". Look into it, I think you'll really appreciate and like it.
Read Michael Pisto's full review
Juan Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Vembu is a great backups software that allows you to use ANYWHERE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a disaster and recovery business that uses this software for our small business clients and protects their data. It has worked tremendously in being able to protect small businesses on a nightly basis and even help them out when they had a minor OR major computer/server issue. Our IT support engineers have said that it is an extremely easy software to install and provide support.
Read Juan Gomez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Vembu: a good Linux option for Home labs or SOHO

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, I use VembuBDR in my home lab, due to the free option providing a greater feature set than other free option. I am running the Vembu BDR on a Linux VM, and am using it to back up a series of VMs from a vSphere cluster to an external NAS over iscsi. This back up process is scheduled to run every few days, and seems to run pretty quickly on 99% of the configured VMs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Awesome Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Across most of our customers. We use it as a great/reliable backup tool.
Read this authenticated review
Hariesh Nair | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

How Vembu BDR takes part in our business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We really had a tough time backing up virtual machine images. We were using traditional backup tools to do the job and it was a time-consuming job. Moreover, it was not a reliable solution. When we learned about Vembu BDR, we downloaded and evaluated it to its full potential. To our surprise, it was very easy to use, faster and reliable.

Vembu really helped us with automating virtual machine backups. It saves a lot of time and we have peace of mind. Vembu meets important fundamental needs of our organization.
Read Hariesh Nair's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Vembu BDR Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by the Systems team within our IT department to handle backups of our VMs in VMWare. We backup VMs from our headquarters and our collocated datacenter, and ship an offsite copy to our DR data center, all using the Vembu BDR Suite.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Brandt | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

Vembu BDR is a great find!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We switched to Vembu BDR Suite to replace an aging Tape Backup system to perform on-site backups of all of our VM Hosts and VMs.
It has greatly improved the speed of recovery, and the time it takes to perform a backup is significantly faster than our previous solution.
This software has resolved our worries about moving away form Tape drives as a primary backup system.
Read Jesse Brandt's full review
Jesse Furr | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used by the IT department to back up all of our server VMs. It addresses the business problems of disaster recovery and continuity.
Read Jesse Furr's full review
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using the BDR Suite to backup multiple customer servers and workstations, all departments. So far we have experienced only workstation failures and the backups helped us restore the users’ data when rebuilding the workstation.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
Tom Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2018

Vembu BDR - flexible, reliable online backup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DataMirror is a specialist online backup service provider. Vembu BDR is being used across our organisation as a stable, reliable backup solution. We are also using it as the software platform which underpins our online backup service for all of our customers. It is being used to back up a mix of server and desktop machines. It is protecting files as well as backing up bare metal system images and SQL server instances. It ensures that our clients have 24/7 data protection.
Read Tom Evans's full review
Edward Morando | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

Happy with Vembu’s technical remote support team.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I recently had to engage with Vembu’s remote support and engineering teams to assist with a complex data restoration. The support teams were professional and well informed and turned a dire situation into a successful restore. My experience with Vembu’s technical teams surpassed my expectations and I am very happy with the results.
Read Edward Morando's full review
Alex Oira | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

A flash of DRaaS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are resellers as such, we support our clients. The BDR suite is used by one of our clients who specialize in healthcare services. The BDR is used across all departments of the organization. The client has 18 virtual machines being backed up to our datacentre. They are in a critical line of business as such the BDR suite addresses challenges of failure in case of a disaster.
Read Alex Oira's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (25)
8.2
Live recovery (24)
8.2
Recovery verification (24)
8.0
Business application protection (19)
8.9
Multiple backup destinations (19)
8.2
Incremental backup identification (27)
8.6
Backup to the cloud (16)
8.6
Deduplication and file compression (20)
8.3
Snapshots (20)
8.2
Flexible deployment (26)
7.7
Management dashboard (27)
7.7
Platform support (27)
7.9
Retention options (24)
8.1
Encryption (22)
9.1

About Vembu BDR Suite

Vembu BDR Suite is a comprehensive universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery and disaster recovery needs of diverse and heterogeneous IT environments. Through its flagship offering, Vembu can backup VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Physical Servers, Workstations, Exchange Items, SharePoint Items, SQL Items, Office365, G Suite, etc. – and they can back that up on-site, off-site, or even to the cloud – not to mention that most of this is done within a single UI. Also, Vembu offers one of the most complete free edition for SMBs as well. Post 30 days trial version, user can either opt to purchase the product or continue using the free edition. In Free edition user has two options to proceed with backup configurations : Full featured free edition for limited VMs or Limited featured Edition for unlimited VMs

Vembu BDR Suite Competitors

Vembu BDR Suite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No