Skip to main content
TrustRadius
BDRSuite

BDRSuite

Overview

What is BDRSuite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Best Vembu-BDR

9 out of 10
February 27, 2023
Incentivized
The review for Vembu Backup and disaster recovery solution is one the best all-in-one suite packages. It's very rare to get such a …
Continue reading

Ultimate Backup Solution

10 out of 10
June 02, 2022
It is our current go-to product for the local archival of our backup information. Moving from an old tape-based system it has proven to be …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (55)
    8.6
    86%
  • Platform support (57)
    8.6
    86%
  • Incremental backup identification (56)
    8.4
    84%
  • Management dashboard (57)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Endpoint / Workstation Backup

$12

On Premise
per year per endpoint

SaaS Backup

$12

On Premise
per year per user

VMs, Servers & Cloud Backup

$48

On Premise
per year per VM

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.vembu.com/vembu-bdr-suite…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $12 per year per user
Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

8.2
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BDRSuite?

BDRSuite offers Backup and Disaster Recovery for Small/Medium Businesses, Enterprise Businesses, and Service Providers.

BDRSuite is a Backup & Disaster Recovery software designed for Data Centers/Private Clouds (VMware, Hyper-V, Windows, Linux, Applications & Databases), Public Clouds (AWS), SaaS Applications (Microsoft 365, Google Workspace), and Endpoints (Windows, Mac).

  • The BDRSuite platform can unify the backup management of a diverse IT infrastructure.

  • Reduces Data Loss.

  • Ensures Business Continuity with the Instant Restore option that allows users to recover the backed-up machines in less than 15 mins.

  • Granularly restore Files & Application items without restoring the entire machine.

  • Store Backups Locally (DAS, NAS, SAN) or on Cloud (S3, Azure Blob, S3 Compatible).

  • Backup data can be stored on different storage mediums (Disk/Cloud/Tape) and can be kept in different locations (Local/Offsite/Cloud).


BDRSuite can be purchased in licenses per VM, per Server, per CPU-Socket, per User, and per Instance basis.

BDRSuite also offers different editions (Enterprise/Standard/Free) which businesses can choose from based on their requirements.

BDRSuite Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Additional Features

  • Supported: Ransomware Protection

BDRSuite Screenshots

Screenshot of EncryptionScreenshot of SchedulingScreenshot of vm selectionScreenshot of RetentionScreenshot of Multiple Recovery

BDRSuite Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

BDRSuite starts at $12.

Veeam Data Platform, Veritas Backup Exec, and Datto SIRIS are common alternatives for BDRSuite.

Reviewers rate Recovery verification highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of BDRSuite are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(100)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 58)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We are Cyber Security and Technology consultants. We are also partners/resellers of Vembu BDRSuite backup products. We use Vembu BDRSuite in our organization and four of our clients are using Vembu BDRSuite. Three of our clients need simplified disk-to-disk-to-cloud backups and one is using cloud M365.
March 10, 2024

Vembu BDRSuite Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use the Vembu BDRSuite for Office 365, Google Workspace, local Hyper V, local file and folder backups, and offsite replication. Recovery is very robust with several options. The product offerings are very affordable. We have been a customer of Vembu for over 15 years and have been extremely happy. The customer support and technical support are reliable and quick.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We mainly use BDRSuite to backup ESXi VMs. Creating backup is very straightforward and recovering is easy with few clicks. Backups also consume very low space on the NAS storage. BDRSuite is the best option for all in one backup needs for our company. Also their pricing is very budget friendly compare to other costly Enterprise products.
February 16, 2024

BDRSuite Review

Jeff Bowman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I run a small, one-man software development company. I have two physical Hyper-V servers hosting a total of eight VMs, three of them servers with two of those Active Directory Domain Controllers. I use BDRSuite to back up all of those VMs to local hardware nightly. BDRSuite gives me the confidence I need to ensure my essential data is safe and can be restored in the event of an unexpected data disaster.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I use BDRSuite on the servers for my clients. They are my primary go-to for backup purposes. I set up my clients' servers in a Windows Server Hyper-V environment. BDRSuite backs up each of the VMs on each of my servers and sends me reports of its successes/failures daily. When an issue comes up and I can't resolve it personally - Vembu's technical support team is prompt to respond. Sometimes it takes longer than others for them to get to the bottom of an issue but they will stay on the case until the issue is resolved.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use BDRSuite for backup purposes and provide backup as a service to our customers. By means of BDRSuite our customers don't need to handle backup themselves. Also we can keep a backup copy at our data center in case of a disaster in order for the customer to survive a devastating fire or similar catastrophy.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use BDR as the 1st solution for Hyper-v VMs backups and offsite replication. This tool has an offsite feature that is easy to deploy and can sync your backup jobs to another location without extra configurations of VPN connections. The backup function is simple to use and configure, and the support team is always ready to reply and solve when a problem appears.
February 27, 2023

Best Vembu-BDR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The review for Vembu Backup and disaster recovery solution is one the best all-in-one suite packages. It's very rare to get such a combination of features in one goes at a reasonable price, I highly recommend the BDR.Vembu is in use on daily basis in my environment, from file backup, and application backup to Microsoft Hyper-V image backup. On top of this, we also include the Offsite BDR as well which is an add-up solution that guarantees the safety of your data storage.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is our current go-to product for the local archival of our backup information. Moving from an old tape-based system it has proven to be quite effective, quick, and reliable. The support has been phenomenal, highly knowledgeable, and does not talk down to you. Would recommend it to anyone looking to transfer from tape archives or keep the tapes as they support that backup also.
December 17, 2021

My Vembu BDR Suite Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup physical servers, HyperV VMs, and workstation in a combination of the full image and file backups. We also install and manage Vembu for a number of our clients. It is a comprehensive package but has a bit of a learning curve to understand and use. A key element is the ability to boot and image backup as a VM for disaster recovery and to add a level of ransomware recovery. Recovery of individual files is fairly simple but would like to have the facility at the client level so users could restore files from backup without IT intervention. The granular recovery of SQL data is essential and supported. Vembu offers a free version that allows potential users to become familiar with the product before opting for the paid features. During the trial period, all features are available. For many small businesses and Sole Proprietors, the Free version was sufficient but now has a limitation of 10 endpoint backups which has reduced the enthusiasm. One issue we have is that the combination of Postgresql and Vembu components can make the server fragile to run in production.
August 18, 2021

VembuBDR 4.2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our organization and implement it at client sites. It addresses all of our backup and DR needs by providing a consistent console, the ability to backup bare metal, VMs, all the way down to single files and database entries. It solves an issue we had before with not being able to easily backup client data directly to our data center. Vembu BDR Suite makes this really simple and efficient.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We are a 20+ year distributor for various online backup companies over the years. We now use Vembu BDR Suite as our go to solution to backup VMware, Hyper-V, Windows image, AWS, Office 365, etc for our entire client base. Vembu is very easy to setup, easy to use and easy to support. The price difference between Vembu and our competitors is dramatic.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized

There’s a reason Vembu BDR Suite is renowned in the world of backup software. It’s capable, flexible, and rock-solid reliable. Indeed, it’s easily the most comprehensive data safety package on the planet.

Besides offering unparalleled backup functionality that’s both robust and easy to navigate, Vembu are able to backup while the worker is working, which protect against malware, ransomeware, and other threats.

Diego Alejandro Jimenez Peña | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Vembu [BDR Suite] is being used in our organization as the main backup platform for our entire cloud computing business line, thus covering all the needs, not only backup but also replication and failover.
Additionally, we support all our channels to implement it in their own infrastructures and those of their clients.
In short with Vembu [BDR Suite] your IT staff will have one less headache to think about.
February 02, 2021

Best for virtual servers

Eric Houston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Vembu BDR Suite to back up 12 virtual and two traditional servers. Each of these servers is critical to our business. When I came on with this company they had no sort of backup system for files on their servers. After some research, I chose Vembu BDR Suite to fill that need.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently used to backup all file servers on site to a NAS as an additional backup measure. Runs automatically on schedules and notifies via email job completion and errors where applicable. All managed from a simple to use web interface. Only management required is deletion of old backups. System currently running on a Windows 10 desktop PC
October 15, 2020

Vembu BDR Free Edition

Pantelis Verginadis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization is small, so Vembu BDR was used to back up all our server infrastructure but it was also used to back up some demo infrastructure that we used for product demonstration and training. Our infrastructure was all virtual using VMware's Vsphere. The main purpose was for backup and replication to recover in case we lost complete VMs or we needed to recover data that was lost from within a VM.

My main issue with Vembu and the reason why I wouldn't recommend it is because the way it manages the backup volume is complicated and difficult to use. In my case the backup volume was on a shared drive on our storage unit and at some point due to some issues unrelated to Vembu, it lost access to the volume; once remounted we could not use that volume any more and had to create a new one thereby having to redo all the backups.

There are other solutions, equally good that don't have such complications.
Return to navigation