Vembu BDR Suite

Vembu BDR Suite

Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Vembu BDR Suite

Overview

Recent Reviews

Ultimate Backup Solution

10 out of 10
June 02, 2022
It is our current go-to product for the local archival of our backup information. Moving from an old tape-based system it has proven to be …
Continue reading

My Vembu BDR Suite Review

6 out of 10
December 17, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup physical servers, HyperV VMs, and workstation in a combination of the full image and file backups. We …
Continue reading

VembuBDR 4.2

10 out of 10
August 18, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our organization and implement it at client sites. It addresses all of our backup and DR needs by providing …
Continue reading

Vembu BDR

9 out of 10
June 07, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup our ESXi VM's for our entire organization.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (45)
    8.3
    83%
  • Platform support (48)
    7.9
    79%
  • Incremental backup identification (46)
    7.4
    74%
  • Management dashboard (48)
    7.2
    72%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Vembu BDR Suite, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Vembu BDR Suite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for all cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a management console, the software provides backup, archival, recovery and replication capabilities.

What is NAKIVO Backup & Replication?

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a VM data backup solution for protecting VMware, Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV, and AWS EC2 environments. It also features replication, failover, backup to cloud, backup copy, backup size reduction, screenshot verification, and site recovery through a single web interface.

Features Scorecard

Data Center Backup

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Vembu BDR Suite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a comprehensive universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery and disaster recovery needs of diverse and heterogeneous IT environments. Through its flagship offering, Vembu can backup VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Physical Servers, Workstations, Exchange Items, SharePoint Items, SQL Items, Office365, G Suite, etc. – and they can back that up on-site, off-site, or even to the cloud – not to mention that most of this is done within a single UI. Also, Vembu offers one of the most complete free edition for SMBs as well. Post 30 days trial version, user can either opt to purchase the product or continue using the free edition. In Free edition user has two options to proceed with backup configurations : Full featured free edition for limited VMs or Limited featured Edition for unlimited VMs

Vembu BDR Suite Competitors

Vembu BDR Suite Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

Veeam Backup & Replication, Veritas Backup Exec, and Datto SIRIS are common alternatives for Vembu BDR Suite.

Reviewers rate Universal recovery highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Vembu BDR Suite are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (83)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 49)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our current go-to product for the local archival of our backup information. Moving from an old tape-based system it has proven to be quite effective, quick, and reliable. The support has been phenomenal, highly knowledgeable, and does not talk down to you. Would recommend it to anyone looking to transfer from tape archives or keep the tapes as they support that backup also.
December 17, 2021

My Vembu BDR Suite Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup physical servers, HyperV VMs, and workstation in a combination of the full image and file backups. We also install and manage Vembu for a number of our clients. It is a comprehensive package but has a bit of a learning curve to understand and use. A key element is the ability to boot and image backup as a VM for disaster recovery and to add a level of ransomware recovery. Recovery of individual files is fairly simple but would like to have the facility at the client level so users could restore files from backup without IT intervention. The granular recovery of SQL data is essential and supported. Vembu offers a free version that allows potential users to become familiar with the product before opting for the paid features. During the trial period, all features are available. For many small businesses and Sole Proprietors, the Free version was sufficient but now has a limitation of 10 endpoint backups which has reduced the enthusiasm. One issue we have is that the combination of Postgresql and Vembu components can make the server fragile to run in production.
August 18, 2021

VembuBDR 4.2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our organization and implement it at client sites. It addresses all of our backup and DR needs by providing a consistent console, the ability to backup bare metal, VMs, all the way down to single files and database entries. It solves an issue we had before with not being able to easily backup client data directly to our data center. Vembu BDR Suite makes this really simple and efficient.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu is used in backing up our data in our whole organization. The need for a better compression method for our backup data was essential and we chose Vembu BDR Suite.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a 20+ year distributor for various online backup companies over the years. We now use Vembu BDR Suite as our go to solution to backup VMware, Hyper-V, Windows image, AWS, Office 365, etc for our entire client base. Vembu is very easy to setup, easy to use and easy to support. The price difference between Vembu and our competitors is dramatic.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

There’s a reason Vembu BDR Suite is renowned in the world of backup software. It’s capable, flexible, and rock-solid reliable. Indeed, it’s easily the most comprehensive data safety package on the planet.

Besides offering unparalleled backup functionality that’s both robust and easy to navigate, Vembu are able to backup while the worker is working, which protect against malware, ransomeware, and other threats.

Diego Alejandro Jimenez Peña | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu [BDR Suite] is being used in our organization as the main backup platform for our entire cloud computing business line, thus covering all the needs, not only backup but also replication and failover.
Additionally, we support all our channels to implement it in their own infrastructures and those of their clients.
In short with Vembu [BDR Suite] your IT staff will have one less headache to think about.
February 02, 2021

Best for virtual servers

Eric Houston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Vembu BDR Suite to back up 12 virtual and two traditional servers. Each of these servers is critical to our business. When I came on with this company they had no sort of backup system for files on their servers. After some research, I chose Vembu BDR Suite to fill that need.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used to backup all file servers on site to a NAS as an additional backup measure. Runs automatically on schedules and notifies via email job completion and errors where applicable. All managed from a simple to use web interface. Only management required is deletion of old backups. System currently running on a Windows 10 desktop PC
October 15, 2020

Vembu BDR Free Edition

Pantelis Verginadis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is small, so Vembu BDR was used to back up all our server infrastructure but it was also used to back up some demo infrastructure that we used for product demonstration and training. Our infrastructure was all virtual using VMware's Vsphere. The main purpose was for backup and replication to recover in case we lost complete VMs or we needed to recover data that was lost from within a VM.

My main issue with Vembu and the reason why I wouldn't recommend it is because the way it manages the backup volume is complicated and difficult to use. In my case the backup volume was on a shared drive on our storage unit and at some point due to some issues unrelated to Vembu, it lost access to the volume; once remounted we could not use that volume any more and had to create a new one thereby having to redo all the backups.

There are other solutions, equally good that don't have such complications.
October 02, 2020

Vembu BDR 4.2.01 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Vembu BDR to backup some of our less-critical servers. It ticks all the boxes for us, in that it's easy to use, provides email notifications on the job status, is easy to install, configure, and manage, and finally, the support team (when needed) has been super-efficient to help assist and resolve the odd issue that arises.
Colin Rosario | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu BDR is used in a wide variety of ways. We use it across the whole organization to backup physical workstations and servers, files and folders, and virtual machines. It's a centralized solution that allows us to reduce downtime for our internal organization as well as our customers.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu free edition to backup a single virtual production server in our organisation, this gives us a good known backup of our company data each day. The data doesn't take up much space and when we have needed to use the restore feature we have always got back what we needed.