Veritas Backup Exec Reviews

99 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use backup exec to backup our mostly virtual server environment.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veritas Backup Exec provides good replication and compression features from a simple dashboard. We use it on exchange and SQL for mass files and folders. We find that for Exchange, SQL and even for single files we are able to restore the resource process as well.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2019
Christopher Stark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Backup Exec is used by a division of my organization that encompasses approximately sixteen servers. We use Backup Exec to perform full and incremental backups of both physical and virtual servers in our environment, primarily file and print, email and SQL servers. It provides data protection and recovery via long restore horizons and short backup windows.
Read Christopher Stark's full review
February 01, 2018
Jeff Daniels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Backup Exec both for disk-to-tape and disk-to-disk backup. We back up to a Quantum tape autoloader, doing full server backups every weekend. We also to monthly database backups also to tape. We also use Backup Exec to backup our Hyper-V virtual machines to a NAS. We need a secure and inexpensive mode to backup our data and yet still have it readily available.
Read Jeff Daniels's full review
March 28, 2018
Michael Hylek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Veritas Backup Exec for disaster recovery in our environment. We use it on a stand-alone server (R610) with a fiber channel connection to our EMC and our Tape Storage device. We use it to back up physical servers as well as our virtual environment.
Read Michael Hylek's full review
December 05, 2017
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I support numerous clients that have Backup Exec and have used every version of the software since 2009. It is a great product that is flexible and reliable. It can backup to most types of media, including external hard drives, tape drives, and network shares. It also supports many operating systems and database systems.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
February 06, 2018
Bob Gregory | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Symantec Backup Exec is being used on our server for the whole organization. BE provides protection for our data, gives us security knowing our information is being backed up safely and securely. Performance is excellent, restoring lost data is simple and accurate. Support for restoring downed servers by system recovery is a feature and process that is important to our organization.
Read Bob Gregory's full review
December 05, 2017
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Backup Exec was used initially as our Complete Backup Solution for the enterprise. Currently we only used Backup Exec for File Level Backups of Radiology Images. We moved our complex Backup Solution for Virtual Deployments to other Vendor Software (VEEAM and REDGATE SQL). Backup Exec in its current capacity still does a great job of the traditional file level Backups.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
August 03, 2016
Todd Frazier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Symantec Backup Exec (SBE) to do our nightly tape backups. I have been using SBE for 15 years.
At one time when all our servers had tape drives SBE was installed and used for all backup purposes.
Now with new faster and larger backup appliances we are now down to two servers that are still being backed up by tape with SBE. It does well in is dependable in running tape backups which we then store off site. Is very good at restoring deleted or lost files for end users who sometime get happy fingers!
Read Todd Frazier's full review
November 05, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Veritas Backup Exec has been used by our company for many years now. Our whole IT department uses it. It is extremely reliable, easy to install, configure and maintain. One of its strongest points would be that it supports an array of legacy devices. The GUI is very user-friendly, restore speeds are incredible!
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Backup Exec as one of our backup solutions. The server that the Backup Exec software is installed on has an attached tape library unit which allows tape backups. This in turn allows the backups to be taken off site. We also do off-site backup replications but network restrictions currently prevent all servers / backups to be replicated off-site. Thus, some locally based physical servers utilise the Symantec Backup Exec system.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Symantec Backup Exec to backup our Windows servers.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Backup Exec on multiple occasions, both on-site and on-customer side.
As for the on-site experience in the company where I worked, we needed to manage several local servers and we focused all backup policies on Backup Exec, as for customers we have proposed this software with customer satisfaction.
Read this authenticated review
June 30, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization does not currently use Symantec products. However, I have used it in the past for my own use as well as reselling the product. As a user, it was very effective and simple to use. The interface is very streamlined and the reputation based scanning was good at catching threats and reducing the false positives. As a reseller of the product, I always led with Symantec because of it's ease of use and the ability to manage multiple products from a single pane of glass.
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I'm not sure how it's being used in my organization, but as an IT reseller it's being used in a number of my customers environments to protect their data from threats.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (13)
7.6
Live recovery (11)
8.2
Recovery verification (14)
8.6
Business application protection (12)
8.2
Multiple backup destinations (15)
8.4
Incremental backup identification (16)
6.0
Backup to the cloud (9)
7.0
Deduplication and file compression (11)
5.0
Snapshots (12)
4.8
Flexible deployment (12)
7.6
Management dashboard (14)
5.7
Platform support (13)
5.5
Retention options (12)
5.9
Encryption (8)
8.0

What is Veritas Backup Exec?

Veritas Backup Exec
Veritas Backup Exec is a backup and disaster recovery solution. It works in virtual, physical, and multi-cloud environments and integrates with several third-party software releases and applications.

Backup Exec is designed for small to medium-sized business, not enterprise, for streamlining data backup and recovery into one product and interface. It also does not support sending data streams from multiple parallel backup jobs to a single tape drive, called multiplexing, however, Veritas’s other backup product, NetBackup, has this capability.

Key Features

  • Virtual, physical and multi-cloud environment support
  • Full integration with Azure Site Recovery for data and application availability with minimal RTO and RPO
  • Integration with most popular third-party software releases, including Microsoft® Server, Microsoft® Hyper-V and VMware® vSphere®
  • Backup Exec can be seamlessly scaled to the cloud with a range of certified, integrated cloud connectors for various cloud environments, including AWS S3, Microsoft® Azure and Google Cloud Platform Storage
  • Users can locate and visualize their data estate to support General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and other privacy regulations, using Veritas Information Map™
  • End-to-end deduplication performance to on-premise storage, as well as to public and hybrid cloud
Categories:  Data Center Backup

Veritas Backup Exec Competitors

Veritas Backup Exec Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Veritas Backup ExecContact sales team

Veritas Backup Exec Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No