Vista Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 19, 2018
Lisa Lange, CPHR Candidate, PCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We like having the control of processing payroll on site, this is new for us. The system is efficient and user-friendly. We did not have an HRIS system before and did everything manually through spreadsheets. This system has brought our department to a new level of professionalism.
Read Lisa Lange, CPHR Candidate, PCP's full review
November 29, 2017
Cody Parker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vista has been great for our business as we expand and have to add in other company information but yet still be able to provide the tailored experience for the new company. I previously worked in ADP and Paylocity, having the ability to get in on the back end and make changes is a big plus.
Read Cody Parker's full review
January 26, 2017
Marcia Fenton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Self-service provides immediate access for employees

  • Open enrollment is so easy, our HR staff love it

  • Fully integrated HR, benefits and payroll information means less errors and saves time

Read Marcia Fenton's full review
March 03, 2017
Jim McKain  SPHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think it is well suited for most any HR or PR application. The trick is to get the right orientation and training up front and then after implementation. We failed to set up several things properly and we are still playing catch up but that is most likely our own fault. Making sure companies have a realistic understanding of the resource commitment is critical. A comprehensive HRIS package is every bit as complicated as most MRP packages, but most IT managers and C-Suite executives will not agree that the resources dedicated to the success of the HRIS package may rival that of a good MRP package.
Read Jim McKain SPHR's full review
February 13, 2017
Becky Boyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for any size organization. It has employee self-service capabilities that will allow an employee to view payroll details, W2s, change their individual addresses, change direct deposit information and make W-4 elections.
Read Becky Boyer's full review
July 14, 2016
Amitai Levin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As Vista HRMS is fully customizable to suit your needs, a company should determine if they have a current employee who can do the work themselves otherwise they will need to consider the additional cost of asking PDS to do the customizations for them.
There are additional modules that we aren't currently making use of, but each company should learn about the functionality of each of them as some may be more beneficial than others.
When gathering your questions, ask all potential users of the system what they would want to see in an HRMS. We did so before selecting Vista HRMS and we got pages and pages of questions and comments and made sure that each item was addressed beforehand and was something that we would be able to incorporate into the system.
You have the option of taking the system in house or being a hosted client. Make sure you figure out what resources your IT department has available. If you have a dedicated administrator who will do all the upgrades and enhancements great, otherwise you may need PDS to help out and having PDS host may be a better option.
Read Amitai Levin's full review
January 27, 2015
Philip Mowrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For the most part, the Hosted version has all of the same benefits as the on-premise version. As a hosted client, we have direct VPN access to the database. Although access is read only, this is a huge benefit over most other SAAS or hosted applications. Bulk inserts and updates to the database are allowed, as are changes to the web front-end, you'll just need to submit your code to the hosting dept and have them review and execute it for you. The support team and hosting department are great and will help you do what you need to do.
Read Philip Mowrey's full review
January 27, 2015
Deedra Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Make sure that you truly understand the undertaking of setting up your new VISTA HRMS system. Often people forget all the painstaking processes that their company has in place which can become troublesome when developing the processes for the new system. You will need all hands on deck, to include HR, Payroll, Accounting and IT departments along with the executives that make the financial decisions.
Read Deedra Johnson's full review
January 26, 2015
Ralph Jean Pierre Lavaud | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Vista HRMS is very flexible and also very customizable, The question to ask is how far are you willing to customize the application to fit a particular set of requirements. Most of the time no customization is required except for some custom report. But at the of the day, many PDS customers have and continue to customize the application to fit niche requirements.
Read Ralph Jean Pierre Lavaud's full review
February 09, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Having options for on-site, hosted or SaaS implementations, the VistaHRMS system can meet the needs of most organizations whether the organization has IT staff or not. There will be situations where unique requirements may require customizations to the system to accommodate the needs. However, with the open architecture and the consulting of PDS, most anything can be developed to suit your needs.
Read this authenticated review
February 08, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for providing a dashboard for your employees where analytics are presented and you can drill down into particular details; when you require workflow to occur (i.e. to manage leave accrual) for recruitment and succession planning; goal setting and performance reviews; etc. If you need a tool that looks "cool" and is not so dependent on your skills to develop the system, you may not feel this system is right for you.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would ensure that the company you choose is a good cultural fit for your environment. We spent a lot of time ensuring that our culture was compatible with Vista's. It's important to build a partnership.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

You have the option of taking the system in house or being a hosted client. Figure out what resources your IT department has to spare, if you will have a dedicated administrator who will do all the upgrades and enhancements or if you will be job sharing those responsibilities. Like all software, Vista HRMS has multiple upgrades a year. You will need someone or a team of a few individuals to test these upgrades out and be able to take on a role of administrator, technology consultant or front end user and make sure these upgrades are working from all angles.
Vista HRMS really is a good product for keeping all HR and Payroll related records in one system, I just stress the fact that you have to have someone on hand who wants to own the product and be willing to learn as much as possible. The more you put into this product, the more you will get out of it.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

All in all we have been happy with the product as a whole. As with any software nothing is perfect, but our belief that the company really does strive to listen to their users in making improvements to the system is great.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The best feature of Vista HRMS, in my opinion, is the integration of data into a single database. You can easily generate reports and create metrics to compare or analyze anything that we chose to track within the system. We track everything from certification/education, drug tests, I-9 information, to position history and salary increase history.
Read this authenticated review
January 27, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As with any system/company the salesman make everything sound easy and like there will be no issues. This is not true with PDS or any system that you implement. I have been involved with implementing many different systems (including several HRMS systems) and this was a typical implementation. There is a lot of work to install the software, configure it, test it and convert all of your data. Do not underestimate the amount of work involved. The one thing that was unique with the PDS implementation is that we had one dedicated resource to assist us with our system setup and testing. It is very difficult for one person to be a subject matter expert in HR, payroll, benefits and technical aspects of the system. She did a good job of managing all parts of the implementation but was stronger in certain areas than others. We looked at in-house implementation vs. a hosted solution. I am very glad we went with the in-house solution. It may be a little more work initially to setup servers but the ability to access data and maintain control of your application is well worth it.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for a system to help you with less paper-trail and something that is all encompassing, Vista is a great system to use. Overall it is probably one of the best HR systems I have used. It is easy to access all areas (HR, Safety, Payroll) in one system. It makes working with other departments easy because everyone has the same information in front of them. It is also easy to grant different levels of access for all employees. If you are wanting to find a way to have your HR system speak with your online website in the form of recruiting, this is a great tool to use. I would ask yourself what do you need from a current HRIS system? Do you need departments to have access to similar information? If you have a large company and need your employees to be cross-trained in other areas, this system does a great job of that.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are a mid-sized company so the functionality and costs are suitable. I suggest asking if you are smaller or larger.

Also, I would ask about in-house technical resources needed. There are options to have the data hosted in-house or hosted centrally by PDS. I would explore both options.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are not going to do taxes or checking printing in house, I am not sure this product would be best. It causes lots of issues when you have a 3rd party doing those things for you.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (17)
8.3
Employment history (18)
7.2
Job profiles and administration (14)
7.3
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (12)
8.2
Organizational charting (12)
7.2
Organization and location management (16)
7.3
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (10)
6.4
Pay calculation (17)
8.2
Support for external payroll vendors (9)
7.3
Benefit plan administration (17)
8.2
Direct deposit files (18)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (14)
8.2
Reimbursement management (5)
8.2
Approval workflow (7)
8.2
Balance details (13)
8.2
Annual carry-forward and encashment (12)
8.2
View and generate pay and benefit information (17)
8.2
Update personal information (15)
7.3
View company policy documentation (9)
7.3
Employee recognition (5)
7.2
View job history (4)
5.8
Tracking of all physical assets (7)
7.3
Report builder (14)
8.2
Pre-built reports (16)
6.4
Ability to combine HR data with external data (13)
8.2
New hire portal (1)
7.3
Corporate goal setting (2)
5.5
Individual goal setting (2)
5.5
Performance tracking (2)
6.4
Performance plans (2)
7.3
Performance improvement plans (1)
7.3
Review status tracking (2)
7.3
Review reminders (3)
7.2
Multiple review frequency (2)
7.3
Create succession plans/pools (1)
3.6
Candidate ranking (1)
3.6
Candidate search (1)
3.6
Candidate development (1)
3.6
Job Requisition Management (3)
3.1
Company Website Posting (3)
3.1
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
1.9
Applicant Tracking (3)
2.3
Notifications and Alerts (2)
2.0

What is Vista?

Vista® is a feature-rich, completely integrated human resource, benefits, payroll, recruiting, and self-service software application that aims to enable organizations to minimize the time invested in administrative HCM and payroll activities by streamlining and automating those processes and facilitating strategic decision-making capabilities. Functional elements include workflow, tax management, recruitment, staffing, position and training management, OSHA, workers’ compensation compliance, and performance and compensation. In terms of benefits, according to the vendor, Vista offers important business value by furnishing vital information for strategic planning and decision-making, while self-service capabilities for employees and managers reduce the administrative burden on HR and payroll departments and increase productivity across the entire workforce.

Vista Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset return

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featurePerformance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Additional Features
Has featureNatural Language Query Tool
Has featureConfigurable Analytics, Dashboards and KPIs
Has featureConfigurable Workflows
Has featureOn-Premise or Cloud deployment

Vista Integrations

Ceridian Tax Service, ADP Tax Service, EMPTrust, nettime solutions

Vista Competitors

Vista Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

License pricing is based on the number of full and part-time active employees within bands (e.g. 751-1,000). SaaS pricing is based on PEPM.

Vista Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
27%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
73%

Vista Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Vista Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:U.S. & Canada
Supported Languages: English