VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Reviews

15 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 26, 2019
Kevin Staley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It uses a thin, low-performance consuming, client.
  • It constantly monitors endpoint activity and processes, efficiently, and effectively blocking harmful apps.
  • It not only identifies and blocks apps known to be harmful, but prevents unknown, suspicious processes/apps from executing unless allowed in a defined policy.
  • It does not offer a way to scan individual files on your endpoint. Some users like to be able to do this. Personally, given the effectiveness of the agent, I don't see a need for this, but it would appease some users.
Read Kevin Staley's full review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Affordability was a huge factor in our decision to purchase this solution. The level of protection and the feature set provided was well above any of their competitors in the same price range.
  • The ability to quickly triage alerts and to see the process-trees are what helps Cb Defense to stand out from their competitors. The process-tree helps us to immediately see what actions are taking place in the offending application and what responses were taken (or are needed).
  • The agent is very light-weight and does not affect system performance of our clients.
  • At times (depending on how your policy is configured) the system can be a little "noisy" in the sense that you can get many false positives. However, this is not so much of a "con" as it is a result of an overly-aggressive policy configuration.
  • Configuring the policy will take some time to really "fine tune" it so that you strike a nice balance between false positives and letting questionable actions take place.
  • Getting the software deployed via SCCM can be a pain.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cb Defense does a great job of monitoring the endpoint activities in great detail.
  • Defense is a cloud-based offering and has an easy to use centralized interface.
  • The alerts are very definable, and as such are easily refined to avoid getting too many extraneous alerts.
  • The Cb salespeople have been very accommodating to get to price points that we as an SMB (with tight budgets) could afford.
  • We have only needed support on a couple occasions (which is a positive), but they weren't able to really resolve either issue.
  • This brings me to my second con, which is that we have only used three sensor packages (the installed client) and have had issues crop up with two out of three.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2018
Brody Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • History of Process Execution, really anything that happens in the system is easily seen within the Dashboard. I can determine if a bad actor has infected the system, be it malware, backdoor, rootkit, Trojan, then from that point, I can put the system into Quarantine.
  • Being able to quarantine the system from the Dashboard. With these type of tools, pulling the power and running a hard drive image is not needed. Put the system in quarantine, start the analysis. A year ago, the network engineer might move the system into a VLAN that has no access to anything, except the system performing the remote analysis... Now I do not have to rely on anyone to move a system, power it down, pull the drive, or image the drive. I can just start the analysis right from my workstation.
  • The Live Response, again goes hand in hand with the quarantine feature.
  • By now, I am sure you see a process. Its simple, and easy and all done from a cloud-based console, called the dashboard. .. deploy the agent, create the policy, and active live response, set up email alerts, and monitor your endpoints... you are now ready to perform a triage in the event of an infection. We have step 1, step 2, step 3... but, just remember, things do happen, nothing is perfect, but this product has its advantages.
  • I would like to see better integration with Alien Vault, other SIEM products such as Splunk has detailed instruction on the setup, but since we have 3 USM appliances within our organization, the integration would be key for us.
  • Some say that data leakage occurs from collecting information being sent to the cloud. The way the system works is it basically looks at a system and decide after time what is normal process execution, then uploads this data on port 443 to the cloud. I have read that this data can be seen by 3rd parties, but I haven't seen it myself.
  • ref: https://www.directdefense.com/harvesting-cb-response-data-leaks-fun-profit/
  • Sometimes I get some crazy alerts like Outlook has scraped memory due to Ransomware. Other times it's Word or Excel, even Chrome. I could go into the policy and start whitelisting, which by the way, whitelisting can be done within the alert, but who has time.
Read Brody Wright's full review
June 13, 2018
William Bocash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's Cloud based. Has reduced our on premise server footprint. Has also reduced all the management overhead. Specifically, frequent updates/upgrades. Mobile devices don't need to be connected to our network.
  • Threat hunting and analysis. We are able to see a ton of forensic information.
  • Management interface is intuitive and easy to use.
  • Tighter integration with its other products like Cb Protect.
  • More specific controls for FIM.
Read William Bocash's full review
June 06, 2017
Eric Samuelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cb Defense was simple to deploy and set up. We used our system management appliance to deploy the agent to all Mac and Windows endpoints.
  • The reporting features are great and have recently been improved. You can trace the activity to see what parent application is triggering the event and how it was done.
  • Cb support has been really helpful tracking down issues and helping us to resolve them.
  • Cb pro services was great working with us to deploy the agents and set up policies.
  • Policy management can be cumbersome. It is simple to set up a single policy but you have no way to apply the rules to multiple groups. If you need to set up the same rule to multiple policies, you need to type it over again.
  • Agent updates can be very slow to deploy. We use a mix of rolling out updates via the web console and our management appliance. It can take several weeks to update all agents.
  • We can be confused on why a rule will apply to a file. Sometimes something is blocked but we don't understand why.
Read Eric Samuelson's full review
June 02, 2017
Christopher St.Amand | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide analysis of where the the threat actually took place and how it worked it's way into the environment
  • Stopping unknown threats and reporting on them appropriately
  • Carbon Black support is a responsive team
  • Reporting for C-Level information
  • Tailored email alerts templates
  • Installation of the product needs third party tool for mass deployment
Read Christopher St.Amand's full review

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (3)
9.4
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (3)
9.7
Centralized Management (3)
9.4
Hybrid Deployment Support (1)
9
Infection Remediation (3)
9.7
Vulnerability Management (2)
9.5
Malware Detection (3)
9.4

What is VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense)?

The VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard solution (formerly Cb Defense) is an endpoint security and "next-gen antivirus (NGAV)" that uses machine learning and behavioral models to analyze endpoint data and uncover malicious activity to stop all types of attacks before they reach critical systems. Endpoint Standard captures and stores endpoint activity, enabling a comprehensive view of any suspicious activity on endpoints, including visibility into the entire attack chain, so users can understand the impact of any attacks and take action.

VMware acquired Carbon Black October 2019.

Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Screenshots

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Video

Cb Defense Demo

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Downloadables

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Competitors

Symantec Endpoint Security, Sophos Intercept X, Trend Micro Apex One (formerly OfficeScan), McAfee Antivirus

VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English