VMware Workstation Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Virtually head and shoulders above the rest

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We briefly tested Virtualbox but found that Workstation had better performance, had a proven track record and the features that we were looking for. Workstation was also easier to install at the time we tested both. Workstation is also easier to configure, and the documentation has always been more superior than most IT vendors I have come across.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware Workstation - Running many VM's on one server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

This version of the HyperVisor is similar to other systems, but like most, it has its own twist on things and how it works. One of the essential functions is the tabbed approach to listing VM's which allows multiple servers to be running and allowing access to each using keyboard shortcuts to do so without the need for a listing of servers or having to use the mouse. VMware Workstation is also well established in the marketplace with a reputation for stability and performance, which works well for my situations.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

VMware Workstation, still the best one out there.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

VMware Workstation offers several other handy new features specifically for Windows-based and Unix hosts. It supports a RESTful program interface for virtual machine automation using standard JavaScript Object Notation over HTTP or HTTPS. Using the same application programming interface framework introduced in the Fusion product, the API provides more than 20 controls for manipulating virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

VMware Workstation is a great compliment to your VMware environment.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't compare Workstation to other alternatives and we haven't used any other products like it. I guess you could use Workstation in conjunction with ESX and without vCenter, but I'm not sure and we have always had vCenter. We chose Workstations because it was a known tool that works well in large VMware ecosystem that already had and because it was inexpensive and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Stefan Trbojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

There is no Image that VMware Workstation cannot handle.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

VMware Workstation is among the pioneers of virtual machines, every option and every feature is well thought out and implemented, there is no image that it cannot run. It doesn't require that much setup, unlike similar software.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Workstation: great for home use and development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While I'm not very familiar with other offerings, I think Workstation is a tier one solution. It's top of the line. While there are free options out there, none are as robust and easy to use as VMware offering. I don't believe you can find a solution that does the same thing as Workstation for the price. While Windows does have a virtualization solution, it's nowhere near as easy to use and not as mainstream.
Read this authenticated review
valentine leamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Throwing up Virtual Machines like a magic trick

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

By far better than Oracle Virtual Box. If you want to create a similar environment for your team members working around the globe in order to work on the same project, this is the best solution available, or else you can go for some online editors like on Cloud9 and have the headache of creating a similar environment. Very good software for using a different OS image on the same OS. I have used Mac image, Kali and Ubuntu image on VMware using it on Windows and it works perfect for me.
Read valentine leamy's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Virtual machines made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used just about every Virtual machine software on the market from Oracle Virtualbox, VMware Fusion, KVM for Linux, Microsoft Hyper-v, and the Google virtual machine software, and even though I love Virtualbox none of them come close to the ease of use and the quality of VMware Workstation It is the fastest virtual machine for Windows, and also the most feature packed. The "cherry" on top is their top notch customer support. VMware is not cheap, but the quality and service that comes with it is priceless.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Bert Scalzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

VMware Workstation is a truly must have tool for modern IT professionals

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • VirtualBox
VirtualBox is not bad for free. It might even be slightly better than VMware Player which is also free. But VMware Workstation offers so much more for under $249 which makes the purchase decision simple - it's worth every penny. Especially since newer versions make it easy to inter operate with the ESX version as well.
Read Bert Scalzo's full review
Evan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

VMware is where it's at!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much better. Ease of integration and driver management was way better than the other free product we tested. The full features of VMware Workstation, in my opinion blow any competition out of the water for the purposes we use it for. Yes, there are free solutions out there but when time is against to get a virtual environment up this ease of use is key.
Read Evan Miller's full review
Ramandeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

VMWare - A must have virtualization tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • virtual box
I like using VMWare as it is really easy to configure, very much user friendly. I also like to use the additional features it have for migration like import export in different formats, clone of the virtual machine. I really like using VMware Workstation user console and ESXI at my college.
Read Ramandeep Singh's full review
Ben Liebowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2017

My Experience with VMware Workstation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I personally haven't used any of these other tools, but one thing they have over Workstation is price. They're free and Workstation is not. However, If you're used to working in a VMware environment, then using VMware Workstation will come as second nature to you. Also, being able to use the VMware Converter and export VMs from your vSphere environment to use in Workstation is VERY HANDY!
Read Ben Liebowitz's full review

VMware Workstation Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (10)
9.0
Management console (13)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (11)
8.6
Live virtual machine migration (11)
8.4
Hypervisor-level security (12)
8.2

About VMware Workstation

VMware Workstation is virtualization software which allows running multiple x86-based operating systems on one PC.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware Workstation Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No