VMware Workstation Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Virtually head and shoulders above the rest

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have used VMware Workstation to virtualize old servers/workstations operating systems that are running on really ancient hardware. By doing this we are have reduced our hardware maintenance cost, power consumption, and cooling costs. It also does well when you are testing the deployment of new software packages or operating systems. This allows IT computers to be free of the bloatware that comes with so many software suites, upgrades for us just requires moving files around.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware Workstation - Running many VM's on one server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The ability to deploy a server to test a specific piece of software is of great benefit, and if you mess up with an install, as long as you have a copy of the machine you started with, you can quickly delete an OS and start over. The same works if you need to share a single image among many people.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

VMware Workstation, still the best one out there.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We utilize VMware Workstation to connect physical USB devices to a virtual machine and running a testing and development of code with network architecture. We utilize it with Windows 10 and Linux virtual machines using secure shell (SSH).
We also connecting it to a remote vSphere host, to create inventory tree, that now shows as a hierarchical arrangement with two different views: hosts/clusters and VMs, with a simple toggle between the two.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

VMware Workstation is a great compliment to your VMware environment.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When you use the vSphere client to open a remote console you have what appears to be a slimmed-down version of Workstation. The full version can be used in that same role, but instead of going to vSphere first you can directly get to your VM tree through Workstation. This makes it quick to move from VM to VM. Sandboxing is where Workstation is especially well suited. You can run test apps, difficult apps, and deprecated apps/OSs in a sideways fashion that is not dangerous to your production environment. If you're not a VMware shop, this product could be used but would be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Stefan Trbojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

There is no Image that VMware Workstation cannot handle.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

VMware Workstation is well suited for literally anyone, be it for a private project or for your work, It is usually being used for testing purposes or perhaps for virtual servers, whatever the task may be VMware Workstation can handle it with ease. As previously mentioned multi-monitor setup is something that needs to be worked on for the product to be fully implemented and usable in your environment.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Workstation: great for home use and development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're a remote user for an organization, specifically for development, VMWare workstation is hard to beat. It's great for home use or even inside organization BOYD type solutions. It is not a replacement for a private or public cloud. It is not intended for production level scenarios; it's more intended for small solutions like classrooms and home use.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Virtual machines made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

VMware is not just well suited, but it is a necessity in a thin client environment. Other virtualization software can be used of course, but none of the others that I have used come with the customer support that VMware does. It is also perfect for a PC environment that uses FOG for imaging, because building images is so much faster on VMware than on a live machine.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Evan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

VMware is where it's at!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Windows Imaging - using this to build and test images prior to being rolled out to a production environment is a key point of this software and how I use it. With the multiple feature updates with Windows 10 OS it is ever more important to properly test everything (virtually).
Read Evan Miller's full review
Ramandeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

VMWare - A must have virtualization tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Very suitable for creating virtual operating systems, as it offers a lot of options. Very easy to install any kind of LINUX distro, doesn't matter if it is Debian or whatever, QNX or any. I even installed Yosemite once, just for testing, it was perfectly running on VMWare Workstation. I also use virtual box but I strongly recommend VMWare Workstation.
Read Ramandeep Singh's full review
Ben Liebowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2017

My Experience with VMware Workstation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I really like VMware Workstation for a dev/test environment. I'm able to test changes and upgrades outside of my production environment with little to no impact. I've also used it in order to access my work environment from home on my personal PC. I'll create a bare VM and VPN from that as to not install extra software on my personal PC, etc.
Read Ben Liebowitz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2018

A Perfect VM Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scenarios in which this product is useful are if:
  1. you are a developer or you are often interested in new products
  2. you want to carry out extensive tests on certain products or features particularly impacting products that are already used in the company
  3. you have the intention to make particularly risky changes
  4. you can create specular environments and test everything on the virtual. machines
Read this authenticated review

VMware Workstation Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (10)
9.0
Management console (13)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (11)
8.6
Live virtual machine migration (11)
8.4
Hypervisor-level security (12)
8.2

About VMware Workstation

VMware Workstation is virtualization software which allows running multiple x86-based operating systems on one PC.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware Workstation Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No