VMware Workstation Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

VMware Workstation - Running many VM's on one server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create test systems to validate specific builds.
  • Allow for a separation of duties as well as keep network traffic segregated.
  • Some changes could be made to help with multi screen support.
  • VMware Workstation is difficult to span between different host OS (Windows vs Mac).
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

VMware Workstation, still the best one out there.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allow IT professionals to run multiple, isolated Operating Systems.
  • Users can network together sets of operating systems to complete the testing and development of server architecture.
  • The frequent update of VMware tools gets a little tiresome.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

VMware Workstation is a great compliment to your VMware environment.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides a great remote access tool for accessing and managing servers in virtual environment. With the security risks surround remote desktop this provides a good alternative to do the same functions.
  • The app itself is very lightweight and easy to install/maintain.
  • Sandbox testing can be a time consuming thing to setup and do. Workstation makes this easy to create, use, and put away. This make you more willing to put new things in the sandbox and test them before production usage.
  • The cost of workstation is very affordable for the functionality that you get and you can try it for free before you buy it.
  • We use it to run apps that can be difficult to setup or conflict with other apps. We just spin this app VM up run it, and then shut it back down. The startup and shutdown is very quick.
  • It's not free? With all the money spent on a VMware environment, they could easily give this product away as a tool to use with the overarching products.
  • Initial licensing can be a bit of a challenge as with any VMware product.
  • We have never needed support as the product is very easy to use, but VMware as a company doesn't provide the greatest support.
  • As you read the three things above, you will notice that we really don't have any ideas on how to improve the product as it works very well over all.
Read this authenticated review
Stefan Trbojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

There is no Image that VMware Workstation cannot handle.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mounting and creating multiple images.
  • Creating restore point.
  • Managing your PC resources efficiently.
  • Multi-monitor setup can be a problem.
  • Some random problems with the mouse cursor not clicking where it should but on some other spot.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Workstation: great for home use and development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • VMware Workstation is very easy to use and learn. Little to no knowledge of virtual computing is needed to operate Workstation.
  • The price point is not that bad. While there are free solutions out there that provide simple and basic virtualization solutions, VMware Workstation is definitely worth the money. Also, they offer educational discounts.
  • While being easy to use it has advanced options, it can integrate into remote clouds as well.
  • The snapshots offered on Workstation is a great feature many of the free virtual tools do not have. This allows you to save a live state or dead state of a machine. Allowing immediate rollback or roll forward to points you've saved.
  • Making it easy to export VMS is something that Workstation struggles with; exporting to OVA which is the primary type of VM we export to is cumbersome and can be difficult without proper knowledge on how to do this.
  • Management of VMS could be a little bit more in depth.
  • I think the networking portion of Workstation could use some slight improvements, more in-depth segmentation to support containers, however, this is a small issue and not something many people will miss or need.
Read this authenticated review
valentine leamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Throwing up Virtual Machines like a magic trick

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love VMWare Workstation because it is software that is fairly easy to use. The most exciting use of VMware Workstation is that it allows anyone to create a virtual machine in order to prevent viruses.
  • Able to install any operating system you want quickly.
  • Able to customize the machine operating system with RAM, Hard Disk, CPU, etc.
  • Audio can be a bit on the laggy side.
  • Having to reboot for every update and VM reboots for VMtools updates.
Read valentine leamy's full review
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Virtual machines made easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely fast image creation.
  • VMware allows the user to boot into bios, unlike some other virtualization software.
  • Customer support is remarkable, always willing to assist with even the smallest issues.
  • VMware to me is a little too simplistic during setup, and this has led to me having to go back through and change some of the options afterward. This, however, is subjective.
  • Occasionally after an update, I have experienced freezing.
  • I have had issues when backing up a VM to another PC, I would get an error when I start the machine on the new PC.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Bert Scalzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

VMware Workstation is a truly must have tool for modern IT professionals

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent tool for creating, running and sharing virtual machines
  • Straightforward and easy to create and manage numerous virtual machines of different types
  • Has the ability to deploy from VMware Workstation to the VMware corporate product - ESX
  • Better built in and automated support for keeping virtual machine file growth to a minimum without 3rd party tools user must download and install
  • A simple wizard for exporting a complete working VM from VMware Workstation to Oracle Virtual Box with minimal user effort and expertise
  • A simple wizard for importing a complete working VM from Oracle Virtual Box to VMware Workstation with minimal user effort and expertise
Read Bert Scalzo's full review
Evan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

VMware is where it's at!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Managing multiple virtual machines. I can have many virtual machines open and the resources it utilizes puts a minimum drain on hardware it is running on.
  • Snapshot management is great in this software. Being able to take snapshots before a major update or software install is great to rollback to when or if something goes wrong.
  • The interface for the software is pretty intuitive. Not a whole lot of things buried in menus that you have to dig around to find.
  • Don't have much negative to say about it. The GUI could maybe use a little more modernization but that's really pushing it.
Read Evan Miller's full review
Ulf Thornander | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2017

VMware workstation virtualizes your problems - and helps you solve them

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Network Connections.
  • Mounting images.
  • Smooth and easily configurable interaction with the host.
  • The networking part could benefit from a more visual view so you see what is connected to where.
  • Some sort of tool so you can easily understand what is causing slowdowns of your guest OS such as your hosts I/O or too little memory provisioned for the guest.
Read Ulf Thornander's full review
Ben Liebowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2017

My Experience with VMware Workstation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It uses the resources of my laptop to create virtual machines that I'm able to use on my PC.
  • It allows me to isolate VMs off the network if necessary.
  • I'm able to take copies of VMs off of our production environment and load them in VMware Workstation to test configuration changes, software upgrades, etc.
  • If your PC doesn't have a lot of resources, it can drain your PC and cause a lot of slowness.
  • Upgrading to new versions usually requires multiple reboots, which can be annoying.
Read Ben Liebowitz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2018

A Perfect VM Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • immediate rollback speed with VM Snapshot
  • connection with VSphere
  • no risk of unwanted impacts
  • requires a minimum of system knowledge
  • different VMs running at the same time can use a lot of resources
  • the machine running VM Workstation must be very high performing
Read this authenticated review

VMware Workstation Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (10)
9.0
Management console (13)
8.5
Live virtual machine backup (11)
8.6
Live virtual machine migration (11)
8.4
Hypervisor-level security (12)
8.2

About VMware Workstation

VMware Workstation is virtualization software which allows running multiple x86-based operating systems on one PC.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

VMware Workstation Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No