TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/LM/Ix/W82DZIMK096C.PNGWindward Studios -- A Great Reporting SolutionWe use Windward Reporting solutions to help with reporting needs. We wanted the ability to create dynamically generated content, but also allow non-technical individuals to be able to edit and maintain the static content within the report. Windward allows us the ability to provide data friendly reports to our client's and design them with our own branding and style to make them easy to read and review. We use Windward's solution for our whole organization.,Allow business users to modify and update report content without the need for engaging a software developer. Create user-friendly, content-rich reports that help to support the dynamic data we wanted to present to the client. We initially purchased Windward to help build reports related to disclosures to our clients. Windward was the perfect solution for solving this issue.,Some functions in Word related to graphics do not always translate when producing the Windward report. We have overcome these by tweaking the design of the report at times. This issue is more common on reports that have many graphics and complex layouts. Some reports rendering to PDF to not render like the original report. We have found it is important to stay current with upgrades. Sometimes a report would have to be reworked when moving up 3 o 4 version of the software.,10,Allow cost savings to allow business users to update reports without involving a developer. Ease of maintenance for developers to help minimize their time writing reports. Cost effective solution for our organization on a reporting engine.,8,Windward provides the ability to personalize our reports, which is very important to our company. We need the ability to create static content and integrate this easily with dynamic content. This has increased the professionalism of our reports and the end result is an easier to understand document for our clients. We use the Windward reporting tool in many aspects from proposals to disclosures and the quality of our reports is very high using this tool.,Windward allows us to use familiar design tools for developing reports. This is very helpful for our business users who can use Word or Excel to create the report. They do not have to learn another design tool, they can use tools they are already familiar with. Once they develop the report it is easy to involve a developer to help add the dynamic content where they designated it on the report.,We did not replace another reporting solution with Windward when we originally purchased it. Our initial setup was easy and we were able to start using the solution within days of purchasing.,Windward Studios RocksWe have selected Windward Studios as our replacement for Oracle Reports. Finding a product that allowed users to easily change their own text and graphics content on correspondence was the main focus. With Windward Studios, users can use Microsoft Word to integrate their report templates with our database application to generate high-quality documents. With very high volume printing requirements, speed was also a critical factor. Windward Studios easily met our expectations. We are very pleased with this product.,Easily integrates MS Word templates with database tables or views. Generates high-quality output at great speeds. Produces output in several formats for a variety of uses.,We had difficulty loading the jar file for the Java engine in our Oracle database. Calling reports using the command line worked fine.,9,With Windward Studios we can expose the data needed for the report (i.e. build a view), and perhaps build the initial template. After that users can manage the document themselves, saving money on maintenance and implement changes more quickly. Changes to reports are so easy, users expect the same capabilities of our application. I only wish it was that easy.,9,Changing report content and layout with Oracle Reports was difficult and had to be done by developers. Now users can change text, graphics, or database values on their own. Clients don't like to have to pay for minor changes. Now they don't.,We weren't able to use any of the templates so far. However, generating new reports is so easy it didn't really matter to us.,We replaced Oracle Reports with Windward Studios because creating and maintaining reports was very time-consuming. Users could not maintain report formats and managing report content was difficult to support.,Document Generation made easy!We have embedded Windward Studios in our Loan Automation Solution and provided a document and report generation module with ease. Given that the design is totally done in MS Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), we prepared the templates for 40+ legal agreements and 20+ reports within weeks with minimal coding.,Design documents and reports with MS Office (WORD, EXCEL, POWERPOINT). This can be done by the business and not only be the IT. Template maintenance, which is usually mostly on content, can be done solely by business users. Insert tags and business logic within documents to show/hide paragraphs depending on data or user input. Integrates easily with 3rd party applications and it can also be used as the document and report generation engine of your software solution. It can pull data from multiple sources (SQL, XML, OData, etc).,Better and more updated documentation. There is a wealth of functionality and the knowledge base does not reveal this much. You must be very specific in what you are looking for. Web service consumption besides OData to pull data from other systems directly into the template would have taken Windward to another level. User support in European timezones. :-),10,Windward Studios is value for money. It is packed with features at a fraction of the cost compared to other tools. Windward Studios is business friendly. The designer is Office applications (WORD, EXCEL, POWERPOINT). This limits the function of IT in the preparation of data sources. If the data architecture is done correctly, then you can have business users changing data tags as well. Embedding Windward into existing applications provides a DocGen and report module and gives a new life to even legacy applications. Sometimes the drive to modify/change an application is the lack of reporting/visibility in the operations. With Windward, you can have a query and analysis module developed with ease and even act as a BI tool.,10,Building intelligence with documents is a must in that it helps avoid developing multiple templates with minor differentiation. A super template can be developed and with the use of conditional logic, you can have it presented on a case by case basis.,This is the biggest advantage of Windward Studios: the learning curve is almost non-existence. The time it takes to describe Word to a user, is the same time it takes to explain Windward to an advanced key user and IT personnel.,Windward Reports - The Best Solution for our BusinessWe use the .NET Windward Reporting engine across several of our applications. It is our primary tool for generating sales proposals, automated presentations, orders, industry specification documents, and reports. The main reason we use Windward is the ability to not only design our reports right within MS Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files, but also the reliable recreation of these same documents at runtime. We receive very detailed forms from our customers who want their data merged into an exact representation of that document, and Windward has reliably provided us with this functionality.,If you have an existing Word or Excel document that you need to populate with data, then Windward is the right product for this functionality. It will reliably recreate this document in the same format (.docx, .xlsx, .pptx) or in PDF (there are other formats as well but this is what we use primarily). The use of office documents as report templates allow us to have non-technical people submit reports to us and then we have a report writer who can tag the document for use in Windward. All of this is done without any specific programming knowledge other than AutoTag which is pretty easy to use. This allows us to free up valuable programming resources for other tasks. The flexibility of Windward Reports allows us to generate data sources that are formatted around our business logic knowing that we don't have to worry about some rigid data specifications or requirements from our reporting tool. However, our data is structured so we're able to pull it into AutoTag and get exactly what we need for our reporting requirements.,I know we have wanted some more robust features in the powerpoint presentations, but to be honest we haven't looked at the update in the last two versions. So, a criticism of this wouldn't be fair because I'm not up to date on their more current PPT offerings. One of the issues we've had in the past is getting the licensing correct. The licensing structure is a bit strict and can be a little unwieldy at times. Once it's set up we don't ever have issues, but when upgrading or migrating servers we've had issues in the past, and if you have licensing issue it can shut down reporting on your server until it is resolved. I will say that their support team is responsive and has always helped us to work through our issues. If I were recommending Windward to someone I would mention our problems with licensing so they would pay specific when setting up their configuration, but it wouldn't keep me from recommending their services.,10,The main positive impacts are providing quick turnaround on customized customer documents, and the ability to have non-programmers design our reports. We also enjoy the flexibility in data source and output that Windward provides. Also, once we wrote our initial reporting library, most of our work now is just report designing and passing in different variables for different report types. Outside of regular version updating there really isn't much maintenance other than constant report design. The only negative impact is the yearly subscription/support contract and cost increases that have to be weighed against ROI with any software subscription service.,10,This is the main benefit that sold us on Windward. Our business is all about customizing data output specifically to customer needs. Whether it's technical specification documents, sales proposals, or excel data feeds, we're able to quickly generate exactly what our clients want. We want to give them their data in the exact format they want, and Windward allows us to do that. The challenge we faced before that was converting business documents (Word, Excel, RTF) into reports in more standard programming reporting interfaces. This never produced output that was reliable enough to meet our customer's needs. The other route would be office automation, and Windward has done all of that plumbing for us to free us up to work on other higher priorities in our development cycle.,This is the main benefit it has provided for us. I believe I've covered this pretty extensively in this review.,Honestly, it's been a very long time since we moved over to Windward, and I don't even remember the name of the reporting component we were using. We went through a couple of them (including Crystal Reports way back when). I just don't remember the process it was so long ago.,Windward Studios Report Designer ReviewWindward Studios is a vital component of our organization's flight planning service and gives us the capability to generate customized flight plans to pilots around the world.,Windward's Report Designer provides instant ease-of-use and a sense of familiarity by being integrated into Microsoft Word. The overall application is fairly user-friendly and intuitive by itself, but Windward Studios also offers a full array of user guides, training sessions, videos, step-by-step tutorials, and other resources that allow users to truly learn and understand the program in order to utilize its full capabilities. Windward Studios has truly unparalleled support. Every question or support request I've had has been responded to in a timely manner, and immediately addressed. Regardless of the complexity of the problem, they've been able to find a solution to generate the document output that I needed.,It would be greatly helpful if I were able to run two (or more) ForEach tags simultaneously. The POD feature is great for applying identical template sections across multiple documents, but there should be a simpler/easier way to update it globally across every template. The error messages could be more descriptive -- I sometimes get an error when generating the output and don't know exactly what's causing the problem.,10,Windward Studios will allow us to duplicate templates from our current system into our newly built nextgen software application. This continuity of service is crucial to our customers. Having a user-friendly application allows us to train non-technical employees on how to create and revise templates without the need to utilize our developers or engineering resources.,8,Customization is very important to my organization since our customers often have very specific preferences and/or regulatory requirements for how their data output is displayed. Aviation is rarely a one-size-fits-all industry, and having the capability to display the right information in the right way is vital to safe flight operations.,The main benefit thus far has been from the familiarity of using Word, Excel, and Powerpoint on a regular basis already. The Microsoft Office design and format capabilities far exceed the previous software application that we used to generate templates. With further integration in our system, we look forward to being able to offer our customers the benefits of creating templates within Word.,Ecrion
Windows, Linux, Mac, Anything that has Java
Windward Studios
16 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Windward Studios Reviews

Windward Studios
16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 16 vetted Windward Studios reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Greg Snyder profile photo
February 20, 2019

Review: "Windward Studios -- A Great Reporting Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Windward Reporting solutions to help with reporting needs. We wanted the ability to create dynamically generated content, but also allow non-technical individuals to be able to edit and maintain the static content within the report. Windward allows us the ability to provide data friendly reports to our client's and design them with our own branding and style to make them easy to read and review. We use Windward's solution for our whole organization.
  • Allow business users to modify and update report content without the need for engaging a software developer.
  • Create user-friendly, content-rich reports that help to support the dynamic data we wanted to present to the client.
  • We initially purchased Windward to help build reports related to disclosures to our clients. Windward was the perfect solution for solving this issue.
  • Some functions in Word related to graphics do not always translate when producing the Windward report. We have overcome these by tweaking the design of the report at times. This issue is more common on reports that have many graphics and complex layouts.
  • Some reports rendering to PDF to not render like the original report.
  • We have found it is important to stay current with upgrades. Sometimes a report would have to be reworked when moving up 3 o 4 version of the software.
Windward is a great reporting tool that provides a lot of flexibility. It is very helpful in production reports that have other static content mixed with dynamic content and are client facing. We may or may not use Windward on reports that are strictly data centered, as other tools are available for this use.
Read Greg Snyder's full review
Randy McLachlan profile photo
February 07, 2019

User Review: "Windward Studios Rocks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have selected Windward Studios as our replacement for Oracle Reports. Finding a product that allowed users to easily change their own text and graphics content on correspondence was the main focus. With Windward Studios, users can use Microsoft Word to integrate their report templates with our database application to generate high-quality documents. With very high volume printing requirements, speed was also a critical factor. Windward Studios easily met our expectations. We are very pleased with this product.
  • Easily integrates MS Word templates with database tables or views.
  • Generates high-quality output at great speeds.
  • Produces output in several formats for a variety of uses.
  • We had difficulty loading the jar file for the Java engine in our Oracle database. Calling reports using the command line worked fine.
Windward Studios is perfect for maintaining letter or statement templates. It's easy for users to do this themselves, saving development time and costs. Generating tabular reports is probably better using other tools. We use Oracle Application Express as our development tool, and it does a better job for that.
Read Randy McLachlan's full review
Constantinos Tsiartas,  CIMP profile photo
February 01, 2019

Windward Studios Review: "Document Generation made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have embedded Windward Studios in our Loan Automation Solution and provided a document and report generation module with ease. Given that the design is totally done in MS Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), we prepared the templates for 40+ legal agreements and 20+ reports within weeks with minimal coding.
  • Design documents and reports with MS Office (WORD, EXCEL, POWERPOINT). This can be done by the business and not only be the IT. Template maintenance, which is usually mostly on content, can be done solely by business users.
  • Insert tags and business logic within documents to show/hide paragraphs depending on data or user input.
  • Integrates easily with 3rd party applications and it can also be used as the document and report generation engine of your software solution.
  • It can pull data from multiple sources (SQL, XML, OData, etc).
  • Better and more updated documentation. There is a wealth of functionality and the knowledge base does not reveal this much. You must be very specific in what you are looking for.
  • Web service consumption besides OData to pull data from other systems directly into the template would have taken Windward to another level.
  • User support in European timezones. :-)
Windward Studios is best suited for document and report generation. Where the design of output is required, Windward Studios is a must.

Windward Studios is less suited where lots of input fields are required, such as for electronic forms. Windward is not a UI platform for data capturing. It is for presenting data.
Read Constantinos Tsiartas, CIMP's full review
Larry Grady profile photo
January 25, 2019

Windward Studios Review: "Windward Reports - The Best Solution for our Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the .NET Windward Reporting engine across several of our applications. It is our primary tool for generating sales proposals, automated presentations, orders, industry specification documents, and reports. The main reason we use Windward is the ability to not only design our reports right within MS Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files, but also the reliable recreation of these same documents at runtime. We receive very detailed forms from our customers who want their data merged into an exact representation of that document, and Windward has reliably provided us with this functionality.
  • If you have an existing Word or Excel document that you need to populate with data, then Windward is the right product for this functionality. It will reliably recreate this document in the same format (.docx, .xlsx, .pptx) or in PDF (there are other formats as well but this is what we use primarily).
  • The use of office documents as report templates allow us to have non-technical people submit reports to us and then we have a report writer who can tag the document for use in Windward. All of this is done without any specific programming knowledge other than AutoTag which is pretty easy to use. This allows us to free up valuable programming resources for other tasks.
  • The flexibility of Windward Reports allows us to generate data sources that are formatted around our business logic knowing that we don't have to worry about some rigid data specifications or requirements from our reporting tool. However, our data is structured so we're able to pull it into AutoTag and get exactly what we need for our reporting requirements.
  • I know we have wanted some more robust features in the powerpoint presentations, but to be honest we haven't looked at the update in the last two versions. So, a criticism of this wouldn't be fair because I'm not up to date on their more current PPT offerings.
  • One of the issues we've had in the past is getting the licensing correct. The licensing structure is a bit strict and can be a little unwieldy at times. Once it's set up we don't ever have issues, but when upgrading or migrating servers we've had issues in the past, and if you have licensing issue it can shut down reporting on your server until it is resolved. I will say that their support team is responsive and has always helped us to work through our issues. If I were recommending Windward to someone I would mention our problems with licensing so they would pay specific when setting up their configuration, but it wouldn't keep me from recommending their services.
I don't know where it wouldn't be appropriate, I just know it works well for us. We've looked for other products that provide the same features that Windward does and I just don't think one exists.
Read Larry Grady's full review
No photo available
February 12, 2019

"Windward Studios Report Designer Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windward Studios is a vital component of our organization's flight planning service and gives us the capability to generate customized flight plans to pilots around the world.
  • Windward's Report Designer provides instant ease-of-use and a sense of familiarity by being integrated into Microsoft Word.
  • The overall application is fairly user-friendly and intuitive by itself, but Windward Studios also offers a full array of user guides, training sessions, videos, step-by-step tutorials, and other resources that allow users to truly learn and understand the program in order to utilize its full capabilities.
  • Windward Studios has truly unparalleled support. Every question or support request I've had has been responded to in a timely manner, and immediately addressed. Regardless of the complexity of the problem, they've been able to find a solution to generate the document output that I needed.
  • It would be greatly helpful if I were able to run two (or more) ForEach tags simultaneously.
  • The POD feature is great for applying identical template sections across multiple documents, but there should be a simpler/easier way to update it globally across every template.
  • The error messages could be more descriptive -- I sometimes get an error when generating the output and don't know exactly what's causing the problem.
Windward Studios would be well-suited for creating any kind of dynamic documents, letters, or forms that can utilize the design layouts and capabilities of the Microsoft Office applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 15, 2019

Windward Studios Review: "Windward Opinion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across several departments. It allows us to design reports, including a big variety of data: Text, tables, images. It has a flexibility for design and helps people to export reports to Word and PDF.
  • Managing well the tinyMce fields content
  • user friendly in the design
  • allow the export to word and PDF and is plugged to word
  • Supporting HTML 5 format.
Well suited: User-friendly, easy to use.
Less appropriate: The number of reports generated by day is limited to 500 reports per day.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2019

Windward Studios Review: "Easy template building through Windward"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windward helps us to generate letters during the origination and servicing phase of a loan.
  • Easy integration: there is no steep learning curve to get started with WindWard.
  • Template buiding is easy because of the Word integration.
  • More detailed documentation that addresses some very specific problems.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
April 13, 2017

Windward Studios Review: "Get the same as the traditional, but much better!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windward Java Reporting Engine is a wonderful tool for reporting for Java applications. Currently I use it for the rapid elaboration of reports with special requirements, which allows to have a formidably fast engine to elaborate all type of reports without the wastage of time that involves the elaboration of reports in other engines more generalized in Java.
  • Fast and direct report engine, using friendly templates through an add-in for Microsoft Word.
  • Adequate support and documentation to ensure a quick integration
  • Your template designers dont need to learn Java at all. They can work through Microsoft Office
  • The learning curve can be a nuisance, considering that currently Jaspers is the antonomic engine for Java
  • There is a price (not so expensive) so yeah thats always a cons.
  • Many customers currently use Jaspers, so migration can become a point to consider
If the project is currently new and has no business interfaces to deal with other systems areas, developing at WindWard can greatly ease development costs. On the other hand, where a culture of using other reporting tools already exists, change would probably not be the viable option for me and my people.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
No photo available
March 30, 2017

Windward Studios: "Java Reporting Engine Review from Java Developer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Java Reporting Engine to capture and process data we receive from USD. The we return the data using a HTML format which is easy to view for analyst to judge the input data. This data is then integrated into our process to create our final product.
  • Flexibility. The ability to modify the reporting engine to what you are exactly looking for and what you expect back.
  • Speed. Extremely quick page generation.
  • Overall it leave a very small footprint and does not burden too much on our system.
  • I found the API documentation to be rather lacking and descriptive.
  • Initial setup can be a little more complication due to the above confusing documentation.
For us it is well suited to retrieve data from our sql database [to] create a report of the data type, information, and attributes, format this report and then send it over to an Analyst who can go over the exact change that has taken place when a new batch of USD has come in.
Read this authenticated review
Brent Rossow profile photo
January 07, 2016

Windward Studios Review: "For native Office output, AutoTag really delivers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoTag designer to build reports for our customers to use internally and with their own customers. It is one of several report design tools currently in use, and we selected AutoTag specifically for its native Microsoft Office output for which there simply is no comparison against our other tools, which technically create Office-type output (RTF, DOCX, etc.) but not in formats that are easy for our customers to adapt and modify after the reports are generated. AutoTag output behaves exactly like Office documents because they are Office documents. Certainly this isn't the answer for every reporting scenario, but when native Office output is required, AutoTag delivers exactly that.
  • Native Office output -- not nested tables and/or horrible RTF like other tools generate.
  • Ease of use -- once the data sources are set up, creating tables is as simple as drag and drop (okay, maybe not exactly that simple, but you can certainly create a table of data using drag and drop, then format it and manipulate it as needed).
  • Responsive developers and support -- when I've had questions, they've been addressed VERY quickly and professionally.
  • Limited in terms of customizability -- this is a double-edged sword. Other report tools we use support anything from limited to incredibly complex JavaScript, for example, and we often use a combination of JavaScript and complex queries to pass and manipulate data. AutoTag can do some of this, but it wouldn't be our go-to solution for complex reporting.
  • Limited drag and drop -- while you can easily create tables with drag and drop, you can't drag and drop individual fields, which really isn't intuitive
AutoTag is a brilliant solution for less complex reports where native Microsoft Office output is required. This is where AutoTag really shines. It's also appropriate in situations where our customers want to develop and maintain their own reports but don't necessarily want to commit an experienced data person or report developer to do the work. For complex report requirements that need JavaScript or considerable data manipulation inside the report templates, we will continue to look at other tools in our kit.
Read Brent Rossow's full review
Anthony Vengrofski profile photo
September 17, 2015

Windward Studios Review: "WindWard in my sails"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the most important parts of our printing deliverables are audit reports. These reports go to both internal and external clients and are used in everything from order verification to marketing materials. Before AutoTag creating the reports involved a lot of manual data collection and editing. This was a time intensive, error prone, and frustrating process. WindWard's AutoTag report creation made it easy to recreate the reports into templates. Whenever we got stuck there was a Wiki based user guide and top notch tech support. The reports now take a fraction of the time to create and are finally consistent in layout and content. With the success of the report generation in our department we have been tasked to review and identify more reports that could benefit. THANK YOU WINDWARD.
  • AutoTag can easily be connected to virtually any data source. The wizard walks you through all the needed steps. This is very helpful in getting reports from multiple sources or departments.
  • WindWard has put together a Wiki based user guide and has the best tech support I have ever worked with. For the rare occasions that we get stuck trying to convert a report the help is plentiful.
  • AutoTag is built within the Office suite and is therefore able to leverage all the familiar features. This is very useful when you need to make reports useful and appealing.
  • It is hard to pick out the tags if they are mixed in with a block of text.
  • Using report variables in select statements causes the selection list of available fields to not show anything.
  • The color themes do not match the office selection and it feels very disconnected.
AutoTag has a feature called POD. With PODs you are able to save sections of reports to reuse elsewhere. If your reports have several pieces that are common between several reports, or reused many times in the same report, making a POD is perfect. Once made the POD can be dragged and dropped into any report for instant use. PODs are not limited to just tags, we have several just for document styles and database connections. This makes adding a new datasource very simple.
Read Anthony Vengrofski's full review
Adam Murray profile photo
September 23, 2015

Windward Studios: "AutoTag Template Designer Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTag Template Designer is used across multiple departments in my organization. Our development team uses it to build and fix templates, and our product support team uses it for basic troubleshooting when clients are experiencing issues, or are looking for basic enhancements.
  • Using Microsoft Office capabilities to format templates.
  • Integrating SQL queries into a template.
  • Tagging specific datapoints to display from a SQL query.
  • Conditional formatting.
  • Sometimes using foreach tags can be confusing.
AutoTag Template Designer is well suited to create a template that uses basic concepts (clear locations to insert tags). It is a little more complicated to use if needed for more complex situations that include more logic than just inserting x data point to this tag.
Read Adam Murray's full review
Gregory Bosko profile photo
September 23, 2015

Windward Studios Review: "This is the one!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The AutoTag Template Designer is used between multiple departments, including the development, quality assurance, and support team. This allows anyone involved in the template process to be able to see exactly what is being added into any report at any time, without having to consult with another department and take away from their work.
  • Lets you easily pull in data points
  • Allows you to validate a query before saving it to make sure that it works correctly
  • Easy export to most common formats so you can test out your template with real-world data
  • When dealing with large queries, the system tends to slow down.
  • Nested for each queries have issues validating
As long as the user has at least a small background in using any kind of SQL commands, this should be near effortless for them. Windward's support page on their website has an immense amount of knowledge available for free, and has saved me from pulling my hair out several times.
Read Gregory Bosko's full review
Christopher Thorndike profile photo
September 18, 2015

Windward Studios Review: "New to AutoTag - it helps to have a strong Excel and SQL background"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTag Template Designer is currently being used within a couple different departments. It is designed in Dev Ops and used by people in accounting and also in the field by our brokers.
  • Allows for customization of existing templates
  • Connections to several types of data sources
  • Very intuitive in conjunction with the tutorials
  • Allow users to modify the Excel file while in the AutoTag editor. I find myself taking screen shots and referring to them.
I definitely recommend AutoTag Template Designer to anyone looking to improve their reporting services.
Read Christopher Thorndike's full review
Jenelle Cooper profile photo
September 18, 2015

Windward Studios Review: "User of Autotag Template Designer"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotag Template Designer is being used across the entire company and by several departments that specialize in reporting. It's being used as a tool to create templates that run in conjunction with the software out company has created. It allows our company to [access] extra data being stored in our software and generate it into specific documents that our clients need.
  • The set up of the product is fairly easy as long as you have the right version and license key. It's also fairly easy to transfer licenses between users.
  • Once you have the main queries down, the tagging of the template is fairly easy and you can reuse templates instead of starting from scratch each time.
  • If you are having issues with a template or a tag type- the help documentation provided is helpful to provide examples. The webinars are also a good stepping stone to get knowledge quickly.
  • Sometimes the formatting within the Microsoft Word documents can be tricky. That's where most of the time comes from is making sure the tags don't mess up the formatting of the actual template itself.
  • Error messages can be vague. For example if something is wrong with the query or a tag, it can be difficult to find the issue within the query or identify the offending tag easily. This means the whole template won't work because of one minor issue.
If the end users are going to be proficient in SQL, then they are already light years ahead. Most of the time learning the product comes from figuring out the queries. After that, tags are fairly easy! It's great for clients that don't know SQL too that will just need the initial template built and will update the wording or static text.
Read Jenelle Cooper's full review

About Windward Studios

Windward Studios aims to enable users to produce quick data-powered documents that are visually rich and error-free.

The vendor promises the following capabilities and differentiators:

Visually Outstanding Designs

Users can create designs and attractive layouts. The only boundary is your creativity.

Smart Document Logic

With a conditional logic feature, you can personalize the content of your document to suit a wide range of audience. Enter the new age of Smart Documents.

Easy Template Creation

The vendor says their platform is fast and user friendly: in under an hour, any ordinary business professional can have their templates completed.

Do it Faster for Less

You do not have to spend a lot on developing templates and documents even if you are trying to get them done fast. The vendor says their software can simplify the process of creating tailor-made templates and documents which will let you significantly save time and money. There is nothing stopping your business idea now with the saved budget.


Categories:  Document Generation

Windward Studios Features

Additional Features
Has featureVisually Stunning Designs
Has featureSmart Document Logic
Has featureMassive Time Savings
Has featureIncredibly Intuitive Interface
Has featureStreamlined Cost Savings

Windward Studios Screenshots

Windward Studios Video

Windward Studios Downloadables

Windward Studios Competitors

Docmosis, TIBCO Jaspersoft, Eicron, Sql Server Reporting Services

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pay per document$209per month
Pay per server$496per month

Windward Studios Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Windward Studios Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Windward Studios Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Anything that has Java
Mobile Application:No