Wix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
210 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (26-50 of 63)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Good, but sometimes glitchy, software for website development.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix is much cheaper but is very similar to Instapage's system, however, it is certainly much 'Glitchier' than Instapage, which is a relatively significant downfall of Wix's advanced drag and drop platform. However, it is worth it for the cost savings and is still a nice software product for when designing websites.
Read this authenticated review
Marian Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Best place to design a website for your business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix is more simple to use than the other products, which is important when sharing administrative access to users or managers of a business because they need to be able to make changes without having a steep learning curve. However, Wix doesn't come with a lot of functions that the other products provide.
Read Marian Lee's full review
Benjamin E. Jerew | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2018

Wix Website Builder and Hosting - All the Best Tools for a Stunning Website

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I had a website previously on Google Sites (the free version), which wasn't very user-friendly. Google Sites was also all-online but didn't include tools for building sites, at least nothing as nice as Wix. Wix is just so much easier to understand and use, and the results speak for themselves. For a novice, I'd definitely suggest Wix over Google.
Read Benjamin E. Jerew's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2018

Wix - Great Power, for Better or for Worse

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix is more flexible and more powerful. But it's also got a steeper learning curve. For our organization, it is the right combination of power, low cost, and allowing do-it-yourself.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Wix: a very dynamic website creator for us coding dummies!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix just has a better repertoire of templates, default design formats for displaying images and video, and a wider control over what I can tweak to make the site truly my own. I love Wix’s simple to grasp user interface and speed with which it works to upload my images. It also contains just more options in templates and plug-ins in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Kalyn Hoffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2018

Complete customization from start to finish

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

GoDaddy was not user-friendly enough for our needs. Unfortunately, we did not have control over direct editing as we had no coding experience. Additionally, it was much more expensive and we found loopholes and additional fees at every turn. Wix's ease and transparency have really helped us improve in this area.
Read Kalyn Hoffman's full review
Olivia Capizzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2018

Wonderful wonderful Wix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix is better. Squarespace is more expensive for a more rigid platform. WordPress is good for more in-depth websites but is very confusing and requires constant upkeep and time. Weebly has a less fun user interface and seems to lag behind Wix in terms of variety of templates, etc.
Read Olivia Capizzi's full review
Ai Ashe | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2018

Wix for education

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix has more features for customization; especially when replacing template images. The pixel sizes are displayed. It is difficult to get the exact dimensions of preset images in Weebly's templates. This was a feature Weebly removed.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Mandy Cramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

Cleanliness is Godliness, and this is not clean.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Squarespace is cleaner and has a better overall interface which is important to me when I'm working. I can't have a cumbersome, bulky website that looks childish while I'm designing. I need clean themes, clean layouts, clean design. Wix isn't necessarily a worse option, just not the one for me. I feel the look is overall quite clumsy looking and doesn't appeal to minimalists.
Read Mandy Cramer's full review
Emily Westergaard | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

Wix Makes Web Design Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I consider myself a reasonably smart person and technologically above-average, but I can't understand WordPress works. The design forms are difficult to use and not at all intuitive, and small changes require what seems like superfluous steps.

Wix solves all of the problems I had with WordPress, and makes me not want to hide from our website.
Read Emily Westergaard's full review
Amy Molthan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2017

Easy and user-friendly - Wix.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is also another alternative for website creation. It requires a lot more general knowledge and understanding of plugins and programming. It has its pros and cons over WIX. It is probably better for blogging as far as content and exposure. It does a good job for basic sites too but WIX can make things look better far easier IMO.
Read Amy Molthan's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2017

Great product for beginner or when you need a beautiful website quick.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The setup of a WordPress is effortless but you have to understand how WordPress works and the plugins aren't always the best, you have to do some searching and research to make sure they will work for your version and not break things and the templates can be hard to work with if your trying to make changes. With Wix, it is as simple as finding a template then adding data where the example data is and then dragging and dropping stuff you need like videos and pictures. You end up with a great looking website with little technical knowledge on how to do it and a lot of time saved.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Luciano Gardesani Marques | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2017

My experience with Wix

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In fact, we evaluated both providers and found them very similar. The decision of the client was made based on their impressions about design, features, and ease of use (administration) after a pilot. Wix seemed to be more interesting in terms of templates but at the same time offers no flexibility to replace an old template with a new one (may become an issue to the client in the future).
Read Luciano Gardesani Marques's full review
Lou Covey | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2017

Need a website quick and not so dirty? Wix is a good choice

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is not for the amateur and it has significant security holes that need patching constantly. I have to update it weekly. Wix does the security updates themselves. Squarespace is comparable in cost and ease of use, but there is not as much variety in the templates. Web.com just makes crappy looking sites.
Read Lou Covey's full review
Victor Fernandes | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

Welcome To Website Building - Start With Wix

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Wix has the best WYSIWYG design method, since all others we tried showed not to reach anywhere near what our intentions towards the design were. It doesn't provide the best pricing if compared to, let's say, WordPress, but then again it fulfills basically everything we expected in terms of design and functionality.
Read Victor Fernandes's full review
James McQuillin | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

Wix makes great websites, but editing is really slow after a few pages!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Squarespace and Weebly
Squarespace felt more advanced when I first began my comparison research. It seemed like it could potentially make the best looking websites but required a little more base knowledge or a higher learning curve for someone new to web design. Weebly seemed like a very worthy competitor but I enjoyed the Wix interface more so I went with Wix. Now that I have been exposed to Wix for a longer period of time, I actually would be very interested to try both Weebly and Squarespace again to see how they stack up now.
Read James McQuillin's full review
Lesa Brosch,SHRM-CP, MPA, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2016

Wix - For Small Business and Non-Profit Organizations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have selected to utilize Wix on many occasions depending on who the customer is. Wix is very user friendly, cost effective and provides a large number of templates to get you started. Wix is great for small business owners and churches who do not have a lot of money to advertise their business but have a great service or product to offer.
Read Lesa Brosch,SHRM-CP, MPA, PHR's full review
Suzanne Douglas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

Good value, but slow and has room for improvement

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Weebly seemed very similar but slightly less professional in my opinion. This was judged based on the interface not the output. Squarespace seemed much more professional and almost geared toward those with an eye for design. It would make very modern looking websites but felt much more complex for a layman to learn.
Read Suzanne Douglas's full review
Colin Hong | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

Wix - a great website generator!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is more well known and offers a greater suite of features and tools. However, WordPress is slightly more expensive than Wix so I rather use Wix since I do not need many of the Premium features in WordPress. Wix provides enough for me to create a decent looking website!
Read Colin Hong's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (45)
8.3
API (30)
8.1
Internationalization / multi-language (21)
8.4
WYSIWYG editor (64)
8.7
Code quality / cleanliness (52)
7.9
Admin section (66)
8.4
Page templates (73)
8.4
Library of website themes (71)
8.2
Mobile optimization / responsive design (73)
8.2
Publishing workflow (60)
8.4
Form generator (57)
7.7
Content taxonomy (50)
8.0
SEO support (58)
7.1
Bulk management (35)
7.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (52)
7.7
Community / comment management (40)
8.1

About Wix

Wix is a free hosted website builder, designed to be user-friendly and highly customizable without requiring coding from the user. It is well-known for its eCommerce solution, which allows users to build an online store.

Wix includes customizable HTML5 templates that can be used with its drag n' drop website builder. The vendor also offers 24/7 support and an App Market with over 200 apps. (These paid apps, as well as professional services offered by Wix, allow the company to make money while keeping its hosting service free.)

Wix Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No