TrustRadius
Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers, and a content management system, known for its simplicity and modifiability. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3s/tM/BG448UBIK1SQ.PNGThe safest content manager on the market.I use WordPress as a content manager to develop the pages of my clients because it is the best way to deliver a complete and fully self-managed website.,for developments of web pages that need to be delivered quickly. dynamic websites where information will be constantly loaded. (Manageable Auto) if you need a secure solution and a development that you can start with a theme or a template.,is not very good with very elaborate developments as e-commerce, in my opinion, there are more complete alternatives. free websites because they fill the advertising site. mobile apps.,6,productivity increase. Increased response times. greater autonomy when managing your site.,Joomla!,Joomla!, Wix, Slack,Developer,1-10 pagesBest CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of codingIt is used by the department to maintain blogs. To make a different type of websites which are describing small and larger business of people. With the help of WordPress number of online stores, websites are being made every day to provide best and stylish experience to the users of the website.,Wordpress is an open source CMS system that provides plethoras of free features. There are varieties of plugins by installing them. We can add new functionalities to the website without any knowledge of coding. Wordpress is the best platform for customization of websites and millions of free themes are there.,The security of WordPress websites is not up to the mark. This should be improved so that we can overcome the threats and attacks on the websites. Premium version of plugins is more costly. Plugins are making websites slow.,8,Well income from making websites Income by adding new functionalities in existing websites Pro version of plugins are very costly,,Azure SQL Database, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Amazon API Gateway,Developer,1-10 pagesWordPress - I'm Impressed!I have used WordPress in various capacities, both in its original implementation as a blog on an otherwise larger site and to host entire sites with posts (such as products and blog posts). I have created themes for these sites to customise the appearance and features of the CMS on the front end, and have contributed to the content, so have used it as both an administrator and author. WordPress provides a relatively easy solution to put a platform in place to create and manage content, with its large number of plugins to add functionality and features to the end product. I have found the availability of plugins exceptionally useful in filling in gaps within the original CMS, and have also found the availability of tutorials and documentation very useful in modifying the platform in-house too.,Quick to set up Highly customisable, especially with the regular updates the platform receives A large number of available plugins and themes Extensible and versatile Relatively simple to manage,Relatively open to hacking (if not properly maintained and set up) Plugins can break with platform updates or clash with each other Can be overkill if inappropriate for your project Some themes are slow to load,8,Excellent solutions for professionally displaying content Robust contact form plugins have generated leads Quick development on a low budget have saved cost,elucid and glob,Qubit, Google Analytics, Rackspace,Developer,10-100 pagesWordPress ReviewWordpress is used to build smaller sites that we need to look good, and be able to create within a timely manner. Wordpress also allows us to create great looking content/websites for our clients, and it's easy to hand over the editing capabilities to them with little training on the CMS.,Interface ease of use. Ability to train clients to use the CMS to edit their own content. Endless amounts of themes and plugins available to use for customization.,Regulations of who can create themes/plugins. There seems to be many glitchy themes/plugins created. Although there's a huge online community/forums with support, it would be nice to have a chat feature and be able to talk with an actual rep. Security. I seem to hear a lot about being easy to hack.,7,This CMS makes it convenient to edit content from writers, to clients and approve content to the blog. Helps launch content by nearly anyone, and in a quickly manner. It's simple enough that a non-developer can pick it up and create a website/blog.,ion interactive,ion interactive,Content Author / Administrator,1-10 pagesCome for the Price, Stay for the CommunityWe use WordPress to create and maintain websites for multiple universities across the country. These websites are used to capture prospective students contact information and inform them about our education programs. We also use WordPress for some of our internal websites. This is our main source for any public facing, robust website we created for ourselves or our school partners.,WordPress is quick to implement and have up and running. The combination of the quick installation to the user-friendly interface of the back end, makes WordPress a great tool for experts and novices alike. There is a huge community of developers and experts to provide customization and tips for any website. A quick Google search will find numerous solutions to most WordPress and website issues that may arise. Plugins everywhere! This is great because there are options for plugins. Some other CMS solutions offer one or two options for different features, but WordPress has multiple options and allows you to find free and more premium options. Because it is built using free and open source platforms, there are no additional software or specialty hardware costs needed to get a website up and running. Just a basic website package will do.,Security can be an issue, because you are dealing with both core WordPress code, and any plugin code. WordPress is usually quick with updates, and does a good job of keeping up on any possible security issues. But, plugins can be a different story. Add to that, as one of the largest CMS systems around, it is often a target of attackers. The plugin marketplace can be a minefield. While there is a review process, we find that we have to be very vigilant in looking for plugins that are actively being patched and updated. The extensible of WordPress can make it slow. If we are not careful with our plugins and customizations, we can sometimes create sites that do not perform up to web standards.,8,Zero/low up front cost. (Depends on plugins we choose to buy.) Loads of talent to help us create and maintain the site. Quick turnaround when launching new sites and updating existing sites resulting in less downtime. Need to monitor for updates and verify updates don't break plugins or customization.,ExpressionEngine, Joomla!, Adobe Experience Manager and ASP.NET,CakePHP, CodeIgniter, WooCommerce,Developer,10-100 pages
Unspecified
WordPress
1675 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

WordPress Reviews

WordPress
1675 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 45 of 1676 WordPress ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 45)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 10, 2018

WordPress Review: "The safest content manager on the market."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer WordPress because it has a larger community of users that support it.
Read Richard Molina's full review
May 28, 2018

WordPress Review: "Best CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of coding"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are a number of alternatives to WordPress which has same features such as Drupal, Joomla, Go Daddy website builder, Wix, Jekyll, and Ghost platform. These are all Content management systems providing varieties of features same as WordPress. Drupal is much better from all these alternatives of WordPress and becoming popular day by day.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

User Review: "WordPress - I'm Impressed!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • elucid and glob
Relatively simpler development and admin sections in comparison with other CMS solutions I've used, I would overall recommend using WordPress if possible on a project. As there are so many plugins and themes available, I have found that WordPress sites are much easier and quicker to extend and/or modify when compared with ones based on other systems. The relative ease of managing the full stack of WordPress's scope also gives a better feeling of control over a site built on it, with just the usual concerns of security and performance, which you get with all sites and systems.
Read this authenticated review
January 26, 2018

"WordPress Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's similar as in a WYSIWYG editor, however, it has its vast differences in the way you build and edit content and the themes/plugins you can use.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2018

WordPress Review: "Come for the Price, Stay for the Community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected WordPress because of the community, flexibility, and cost. With the main reason being the community and support system that exists. This means we can find talent to make custom plugins, customize themes, and maintain the website easily and on a reasonable budget.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
September 20, 2017

User Review: "WordPress - the choice for most!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Squarespace is great to use if you do not want to do any coding and do not particularly care about SEO, but you are paying for convenience. WordPress it is likely you will need to purchase hosting and will want to invest in a theme that you can use as a base of design and development, but you own your content, so it can easily be duplicated/transferred and you do not pay a monthly fee.
Read Shelle Pourmanafzadehardabili's full review
January 16, 2018

WordPress Review: "Gotta love open-source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Joomla in a previous role. I found editting to be cumbersome because modules were managed in a different window than the main content. Whereas in wordpress, the entire page's copy is managed within the same window. It makes content edits simple & quick.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

Review: "WordPress is a great content management system for marketers and bloggers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I personally prefer WordPress after using ExpressionEngine and Craft CMS. The ease of getting a site up and running quickly far exceeds the other two. Plus, deploying a site from my local environment to staging to production is much simpler. WordPress is also more flexible out of the box than the other two.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2017

Review: "WordPress is the Website Software to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I went straight from html website coding to using WordPress and it’s php functionality. I choose WordPress because of its reviews and scalability. Learning WordPress was an invaluable decision for me.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2017

Review: "WordPress works for most smaller clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is a bit easier to use than Joomla and Drupal, but lacks some features of these competitors. If you want to build out a truly custom site, Drupal is a strong choice, but you better have some coding experience. Whereas with WordPress, you can pretty much drop and drag a majority of your site and still end up with something nice.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2016

Review: "WordPress Can Save You Thousands Of Dollars On Web Development Costs And Put You In The Driver's Seat Of Your Online Vehicle!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • xsitepro,frontpage,dreamweaver,joomla,blogger
I started out using regular web applications to build websites until I discovered WordPress is 2006. All of the sites I have built since then have been WordPress. Knowing all I know about WordPress now, I wouldn't recommend anything else for most business owners. WordPress allows me to build sites that can do almost pretty much anything I can imagine - e-commerce sites, membership sites, provide customer support, integrate with social media, etc ...
Read Martin Aranovitch's full review
September 08, 2015

Review: "WordPress is the Democratization of Personal Publishing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress offers a combination of power and ease of use that no other system matches. For 98% of all small business websites it is completely capable and is going to be easier for clients to use, resulting in fewer support issues. In the rare cases where something is needed that WordPress simply isn't suited to, I find that Drupal usually provides a solution that works.
Read Dane Morgan's full review
April 14, 2016

User Review: "WordPress from developer point of view"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They have a great community and a lot of people improving the CMS every day, so the other ones don't have this big community and this is a problem when you want to find a lot of plugins that will help you to increase your development of your web page.
Read Cristian Vitales Muñoz's full review
July 13, 2015

Review: "WordPress - a User-Friendly Blogging and Content Management System (CMS)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's been a while, but I have also used Typepad and Blogger. I ended up with WordPress because it was easier to customize and tweak it so it met my needs. It is user-friendly and search engine friendly, which is a winning combination in my book. Blogger has become easier to use and has the advantage of being a Google tool, but being able to install WordPress with a single click from many web hosts gives it the edge.
Read Sharon Hurley Hall's full review
July 07, 2015

User Review: "WordPress FTW! ...most of the time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

My CMS journey started with Drupal, then Joomla, then moved on to WordPress. With Drupal I felt like it was built by software engineers for other software engineers. Its dashboard was cumbersome and felt needlessly complex. Joomla's dashboard on the other hand, felt like a scattered mess of organized chaos. Our company took on a few Joomla clients the past year and even with familiarity, we spent an inordinate amount of time hunting and pecking through various pockets of content to find where to make changes. Not to start a flame war, but if anyone reading this thinks that Joomla's dashboard is in any way superior to WordPress, I can assure you that it's due to a lack of familiarity, a state of denial, or an unwillingness to consider what the other camp has to offer.

Dashboards aside, all three are modern CMSes with comparable media abilities, themes, third-party integrations, plugins, custom post types, etc.
Read Ansel Taft's full review
September 11, 2015

User Review: "WordPress - A Love Affair and more"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There is not another product that compares.
Read Judi Knight's full review
January 05, 2015

User Review: "Stress Less with WordPress"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Magento,Drupal,Joomla!
When it comes down to it, WordPress has a larger library of Themes and Plugins that are circulated around the community than any other CMS on the market today. Magento would come second in terms of quality and use out of the other CMS products that are out there on the market today, however, the ease of install, cost of themes, and development work are priced a lot higher than WordPress, and you won't get anywhere near the variety of custom plugins that are created for WordPress. Drupal and Joomla have systems that are similar to WordPress but again, there's nothing that beats the WordPress community.
Read Mathew Riexinger's full review
July 29, 2015

Review: "Business owner perspective on WordPress"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ExpressionEngine 2 is the main other CMS I have used and I really like it. WordPress wins over it because it has a cost of 200 dollars. I very much dislike Joomla and Drupal - not even options in my book. I have been interested in flat file CMSs like Kirby but haven't used them for projects yet.
Read Jake Smith's full review
September 23, 2014

WordPress Review: "The best incumbents web devs have ever had"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SquareSpace,Wix,Weebly
WordPress is superior to most of the "quick website creation" tools, including Wix and Weebly. In my opinion, SquareSpace will be better for first time websites and Shopify for first time ecommerce websites, due to their excellent out of the box templates. However, both of these platforms are closed-source SaaS applications, which means there is a limit to how much you can customize them.
Read Michael D. Bower's full review
August 30, 2014

Review: "CMS-Lite: while WordPress is the best of open source options, it just can't handle all the needs of large institutions"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Drupal,Joomla!
With Drupal and Joomla as the only open source blogging products we considered (those many years ago when the web was in its relative infancy), WordPress was the clear winner as a turnkey solution with relative ease of use.
Read Christopher Davis's full review
December 19, 2014

Review: "WordPress Really is the Best Blogging Platform Out There!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'ved used Blogspot, Blogger, Tumblr, and custom made blog platforms that I've built. Nothing really compares to WordPress. It really has every feature someone needs. It has administrative functions, media, links, keywords, videos, I mean you can do everything on this platform. It's a no-brainer when it's time to choose a blog platform.
Read Jason Sherman's full review
September 02, 2014

User Review: "WordPress is just about right for us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sharepoint has some limitations in terms of page layout and adaptability to different page layouts. WordPress beats Sharepoint hands down in that area.
Read Al Schoneman's full review
April 12, 2014

Review: "Ordinary and Extra Ordinary People Choose WordPress for a Reason"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used some of the free blogging platforms such as Blogspot, WordPress.com and Weebly. You don't have the same control over your files and website like you do with a self-hosted WordPress site. I migrated over to WordPress.org and never looked back. I've worked on some client sites who were moving over from mundane static html sites and there's such a huge difference in the amount of connection they are getting from using WordPress. I personally love that so many other products and services interface with WordPress, such as email marketing services, schedulers, shopping carts, etc. It makes sense to me to use it.
Read Rebecca Olkowski's full review
March 31, 2014

User Review: "Alert the Wordpress!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • LiveJournal,TweetDeck,Hootsuite Free
Wordpress is more user-friendly and immediately accessible than interfaces like TweetDeck and Hootsuite because it isn't dense in its presentation. The other tools are functional but busy, whereas Wordpress allows a user to focus on one meaningful task or message at a time. It's a more sophisticated version of a simple recording tool such as LiveJournal, and it can be adapted to fit many different styles and business approaches.
Read Nick Bachan's full review
March 01, 2014

User Review: "WordPress serves... everybody."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • dreamweaver,html,bbedit,frontpage,indesign,sharepoint
WordPress has become my favorite web-content environment because it resides on the server, requires no offline software installations, get updated regularly at no cost to users, and does not depend on a high degree of technical expertise. No one needs to learn HTML or CSS (style sheets); though if you have these skills you will find WordPress does let you 'run with it' by giving you full access to the back-end if you want it. I've gone from being completely dependent on the sofware and source files I'd stored on my laptop -- and the clients being completely dependent on me for every little edit to their sites ... to being able to deliver a fluid web-presentation environment that allows the client to manage the content, and lets me refine the content from wherever I am -- regardless of what software I might have installed on the nearest computer.
Read Dan Oblak's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (23)
8.0
API (16)
8.1
Internationalization / multi-language (14)
8.4
WYSIWYG editor (23)
7.7
Code quality / cleanliness (23)
7.9
Admin section (24)
8.3
Page templates (24)
7.6
Library of website themes (24)
8.5
Mobile optimization / responsive design (23)
8.3
Publishing workflow (24)
8.1
Form generator (21)
7.6
Content taxonomy (21)
8.8
SEO support (22)
8.5
Bulk management (18)
7.6
Availability / breadth of extensions (22)
9.2
Community / comment management (21)
9.1

About WordPress

Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers and a content management system. The appearance of a Wordpress site and many of its functions are managed through themes, and further customizable through altering code, though altering code is not required; templates and plugins to expand its capabilities are plentiful. Wordpress features integrated link management, and a search-engine friendly permalink structure. WordPress now allows multiple blogs to exist within one installation. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.

 

Wordpress is popular due to its simplicity and modifiability. Furthermore implementing Wordpress costs only time. Two paid versions exist. The $99 premium plan allows a user an ad free custom domain with 13GB of space and advanced customization. The $299 Business plan allows unlimited space and supports eCommerce as well.

Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

WordPress Integrations

WordPress Competitors

WordPress Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No