TrustRadius
Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers, and a content management system, known for its simplicity and modifiability. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3s/tM/BG448UBIK1SQ.PNGCome for the Price, Stay for the CommunityWe use WordPress to create and maintain websites for multiple universities across the country. These websites are used to capture prospective students contact information and inform them about our education programs. We also use WordPress for some of our internal websites. This is our main source for any public facing, robust website we created for ourselves or our school partners.,WordPress is quick to implement and have up and running. The combination of the quick installation to the user-friendly interface of the back end, makes WordPress a great tool for experts and novices alike. There is a huge community of developers and experts to provide customization and tips for any website. A quick Google search will find numerous solutions to most WordPress and website issues that may arise. Plugins everywhere! This is great because there are options for plugins. Some other CMS solutions offer one or two options for different features, but WordPress has multiple options and allows you to find free and more premium options. Because it is built using free and open source platforms, there are no additional software or specialty hardware costs needed to get a website up and running. Just a basic website package will do.,Security can be an issue, because you are dealing with both core WordPress code, and any plugin code. WordPress is usually quick with updates, and does a good job of keeping up on any possible security issues. But, plugins can be a different story. Add to that, as one of the largest CMS systems around, it is often a target of attackers. The plugin marketplace can be a minefield. While there is a review process, we find that we have to be very vigilant in looking for plugins that are actively being patched and updated. The extensible of WordPress can make it slow. If we are not careful with our plugins and customizations, we can sometimes create sites that do not perform up to web standards.,8,Zero/low up front cost. (Depends on plugins we choose to buy.) Loads of talent to help us create and maintain the site. Quick turnaround when launching new sites and updating existing sites resulting in less downtime. Need to monitor for updates and verify updates don't break plugins or customization.,ExpressionEngine, Joomla!, Adobe Experience Manager and ASP.NET,CakePHP, CodeIgniter, WooCommerce,Developer,10-100 pagesThe safest content manager on the market.I use WordPress as a content manager to develop the pages of my clients because it is the best way to deliver a complete and fully self-managed website.,for developments of web pages that need to be delivered quickly. dynamic websites where information will be constantly loaded. (Manageable Auto) if you need a secure solution and a development that you can start with a theme or a template.,is not very good with very elaborate developments as e-commerce, in my opinion, there are more complete alternatives. free websites because they fill the advertising site. mobile apps.,6,productivity increase. Increased response times. greater autonomy when managing your site.,Joomla!,Joomla!, Wix, Slack,Developer,1-10 pagesBest CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of codingIt is used by the department to maintain blogs. To make a different type of websites which are describing small and larger business of people. With the help of WordPress number of online stores, websites are being made every day to provide best and stylish experience to the users of the website.,Wordpress is an open source CMS system that provides plethoras of free features. There are varieties of plugins by installing them. We can add new functionalities to the website without any knowledge of coding. Wordpress is the best platform for customization of websites and millions of free themes are there.,The security of WordPress websites is not up to the mark. This should be improved so that we can overcome the threats and attacks on the websites. Premium version of plugins is more costly. Plugins are making websites slow.,8,Well income from making websites Income by adding new functionalities in existing websites Pro version of plugins are very costly,,Azure SQL Database, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Amazon API Gateway,Developer,1-10 pagesGreat for blog managementI used Wordpress at a marketing agency to manage and post blogs for various clients. It was is an integral tool for the content team to ensure that content is published across clients' websites. Posts could effectively be uploaded by the agency content team and reviewed by the client before publication.,Flexibility of design Ability to check drafts Ease of use,One Wordpress account I have been locked out of and can't get back into despite requesting reset email,9,Enabled business to demonstrate thought leadership through blogs Increased SEO visibility Driving leads through form creation,Canva, Buzzsumo, Slack, Hootsuite Enterprise, Oktopost, Dropbox Business, Evernote, Google Analytics,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesGotta love open-sourceWe use wordpress as a lightweight microsite CMS for our clients. It is used by our entire marketing department. The different user roles gives each individual within our department access to the appropriate level of editing without creating a workflow bottle neck. It also gives us a great platform for our content markteing efforts with the built-in blog post type. And with it being an open-source CMS, there are several great plugins that are easy to add onto our sites.,User roles. Plenty of variety here that gives different people appropriate access. Easy to write your own plugins. Or if you're not that tech-savvy, there are several great, free plugins out there that are easy to install & easy to use. Multisite support, which is great if you have several locations or subdomains to manage. You can use the same install across all of these.,Security. Being open-source, it is a big target for hackers. The folder structure is very predictable. Page speed. It is relatively lightweight, but there are a few script files that are built into the CMS that makes compression tricky at times.,9,We launch new sites regularly throughout the year for new clients. Using wordpress has literally zero impact on any associated costs.,Joomla!,Box, Moz, Salesforce Analytics Cloud,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pages
Unspecified
WordPress
1670 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

WordPress Reviews

WordPress
1670 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 56 of 1670 WordPress ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 56)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
January 18, 2018

WordPress Review: "Come for the Price, Stay for the Community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Zero/low up front cost. (Depends on plugins we choose to buy.)
  • Loads of talent to help us create and maintain the site.
  • Quick turnaround when launching new sites and updating existing sites resulting in less downtime.
  • Need to monitor for updates and verify updates don't break plugins or customization.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
May 10, 2018

WordPress Review: "The safest content manager on the market."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • productivity increase.
  • Increased response times.
  • greater autonomy when managing your site.
Read Richard Molina's full review
May 28, 2018

WordPress Review: "Best CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of coding"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Well income from making websites
  • Income by adding new functionalities in existing websites
  • Pro version of plugins are very costly
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2018

WordPress Review: "Great for blog management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Enabled business to demonstrate thought leadership through blogs
  • Increased SEO visibility
  • Driving leads through form creation
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

WordPress Review: "Gotta love open-source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We launch new sites regularly throughout the year for new clients. Using wordpress has literally zero impact on any associated costs.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2018

Review: "WordPress is one of the best open source CMS platforms available."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress has had a positive impact in our organization saving us hours of development time.
  • WordPress allowed us to have standardized websites by creating a boilerplate/starter theme and customizing the theme based on each unique functionality of each project.
  • WordPress has helped us focus and spend more time on generating leads and improving our SEO.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

User Review: "WordPress - I'm Impressed!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Excellent solutions for professionally displaying content
  • Robust contact form plugins have generated leads
  • Quick development on a low budget have saved cost
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2018

Review: "Wordpress is good for quick and dirty projects"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress works great when it does. When it doesn't, it can be a nightmare for those who aren't technically proficient.
Read this authenticated review
January 26, 2018

"WordPress Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • This CMS makes it convenient to edit content from writers, to clients and approve content to the blog.
  • Helps launch content by nearly anyone, and in a quickly manner.
  • It's simple enough that a non-developer can pick it up and create a website/blog.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

Review: "WordPress is a great content management system for marketers and bloggers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress is a large part of our business. With the use of SEO plugins, we're able to generate ample amounts of organic traffic.
  • Altering content to perform better for search engines is extremely simple.
  • Blocking traffic to sites we don't want crawled is as simple as checking a box. It is surprisingly helpful and works well.
Read this authenticated review
September 20, 2017

User Review: "WordPress - the choice for most!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress itself is free and a great option for content management.
Read Shelle Pourmanafzadehardabili's full review
December 12, 2017

Review: "WordPress is the Website Software to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress is a reliable sorftware and worth any investment.
  • It had allowed my company to take control of their website. Previous versions of the site had left the company in the hands of coders every time an update or change needed to be made.
  • It has lowered the cost of upgrading and maintenance of the code.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2017

Review: "WordPress works for most smaller clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We sell websites. Whether we like it or not sometimes. We are a marketing firm, but we seem to always have a website in the product mix when a client comes to us. WordPress is a good goto for our smaller clients. The sites build out fast, and, although there is not a ton of money in WP sites, they still pay OK.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2016

Review: "WordPress Can Save You Thousands Of Dollars On Web Development Costs And Put You In The Driver's Seat Of Your Online Vehicle!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • A WordPress site can be professionally set up and fully configured in hours at no cost, other than the cost of purchasing a domain and web hosting.
  • A WordPress can be run and managed by users with little to no technical skills.
  • I have built WordPress sites for previous clients that quickly outperformed their existing static websites and continue to deliver new visitors from search engines and social media networks with very little work required other than adding new content on a regular basis.
Read Martin Aranovitch's full review
January 05, 2016

WordPress Review: "Easy to develop, easier to use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allowed quick development of the site (about a month).
  • Training for the the content producers is low, since the UI is excellent.
  • Future development time is low and cheap, because we can do it in-house.
Read James Pautz II's full review
September 08, 2015

Review: "WordPress is the Democratization of Personal Publishing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Faster website development cycle
  • A thousand hour head start on basic functions such as user and file management.
  • Large community of active developers willing to help with issues and ideas
  • Ability to rapidly prototype sites
Read Dane Morgan's full review
April 14, 2016

User Review: "WordPress from developer point of view"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Faster lead conversion
  • Faster development
  • Won't give you the best image
Read Cristian Vitales Muñoz's full review
July 13, 2015

Review: "WordPress - a User-Friendly Blogging and Content Management System (CMS)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • One positive aspect of WordPress is that posts appear quickly in search engine results. It's SEO friendly and can be made even more so with the addition of plugins like WordPress SEO by Yoast. That makes it easy for people to find your site. In my own case, that equates to more leads from potential clients.
Read Sharon Hurley Hall's full review
July 07, 2015

User Review: "WordPress FTW! ...most of the time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our customers' ROI has been excellent. The local businesses we serve are able to be found by the business name and generally rank well for a variety of local search terms. We are also able to build out landing pages quickly and easily and then marry them to a variety of direct mail, social media, and PPC campaigns.
Read Ansel Taft's full review
September 11, 2015

User Review: "WordPress - A Love Affair and more"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • My whole business is WordPress and I employ five people.
  • I have grown my business using my website, doing content marketing. I write a blog post and send it out to my list each week in a newsletter. The entire opt-in conversion process is on my site.
Read Judi Knight's full review
January 05, 2015

User Review: "Stress Less with WordPress"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • A positive impact is that it can create a great customer to business communication system by implementing live chat, help desks, support ticket functionality, contact forms, etc... If you want your customers to know they have your support, you can easily do this within WordPress without any issues.
  • Another positive impact can be your ROI (return on investment) by using WordPress. With the framework being free to use for anyone that right there cuts the cost of creating the frame of your website and the basic functionality needed. Themes and plugins are cost effective as they are nowhere near the pricing you would pay if you hire a developer to do your website from the ground up because it saves on time by utilizing all the tools WordPress has to offer that's already created and easily can be plugged into almost any theme that's out there today.
  • A positive impact that would also help cut costs for businesses would be the ease of use for employees to update the site with content, or provide any type of customer to business type of work utilizing the themes and plugins that give user interface experiences that are tailored for anyone without coding or development work to be able to use.
Read Mathew Riexinger's full review
July 29, 2015

Review: "Business owner perspective on WordPress"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • WordPress is free so ROI is pretty high, I think the math works out as infinite ROI.
  • WordPress has been my go to for building client sites and between their features and me becoming familiar with it, I have saved a lot of time not writing a website from scratch.
  • WordPress security issues have affected a few of my clients and then I feel obligated to fix the problems. That is my biggest pain point with WordPress today.
Read Jake Smith's full review
September 23, 2014

WordPress Review: "The best incumbents web devs have ever had"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Because the WordPress platform is free and hosting is not expensive, WordPress usage can positively impact maintenance cost of running a small ecommerce website or a medium-sized blog.
  • Many software companies release free WordPress modules, making it easy to assemble a site with basic functionality quickly.
Read Michael D. Bower's full review
August 30, 2014

Review: "CMS-Lite: while WordPress is the best of open source options, it just can't handle all the needs of large institutions"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Happier faculty and staff that feel constrained by the necessary but often misunderstood need for administration to control the look, feel and function of the primary institutional site
  • Hand-in-glove opportunities for feeding easily and automatically generated WordPress xml to other sites (i.e., those sites that are managed by a more robust CMS), thus integrating and sharing content across disparate sites
Read Christopher Davis's full review
December 19, 2014

Review: "WordPress Really is the Best Blogging Platform Out There!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We get a lot of hits on our blog mostly because of our topics of interest, this results in eyeballs to our homepage, as well as app downloads & new users.
  • WordPress helps our writers create content faster, and more often.
  • Using the platform makes it convenient to edit content from writers and approve comments from users.
Read Jason Sherman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (23)
8.0
API (16)
8.1
Internationalization / multi-language (14)
8.4
WYSIWYG editor (23)
7.7
Code quality / cleanliness (23)
7.9
Admin section (24)
8.3
Page templates (24)
7.6
Library of website themes (24)
8.5
Mobile optimization / responsive design (23)
8.3
Publishing workflow (24)
8.1
Form generator (21)
7.6
Content taxonomy (21)
8.8
SEO support (22)
8.5
Bulk management (18)
7.6
Availability / breadth of extensions (22)
9.2
Community / comment management (21)
9.1

About WordPress

Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers and a content management system. The appearance of a Wordpress site and many of its functions are managed through themes, and further customizable through altering code, though altering code is not required; templates and plugins to expand its capabilities are plentiful. Wordpress features integrated link management, and a search-engine friendly permalink structure. WordPress now allows multiple blogs to exist within one installation. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.

 

Wordpress is popular due to its simplicity and modifiability. Furthermore implementing Wordpress costs only time. Two paid versions exist. The $99 premium plan allows a user an ad free custom domain with 13GB of space and advanced customization. The $299 Business plan allows unlimited space and supports eCommerce as well.

Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

WordPress Integrations

WordPress Competitors

WordPress Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No